Submitted by St.George’s Dragon
Facebook is the largest social network site.
Facebook is the largest social networking site.

According to an article in the Jamaica Observer, the Barbados Government is the only one in the Caribbean to have asked Facebook for information on its Bajan users. Apparently the Government has made three requests for information in the last six months. It’s not a high number of requests but why are we the only ones to be making them?

The original of the article can be found here: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Barbados-govt-asks-Facebook-for-info-on-users–data and the Facebook report is here https://www.facebook.com/about/government_requests. Interestingly, Facebook denied information in all 3 cases.

184 responses to “Barbados Government Begged Facebook to REVEAL Three Users”

1. @Miller

What is a troll?

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Multitude | August 29, 2013 at 3:16 PM |
    “You are trying fuse the office of the Attorney General and Mr. Adiel Brathwaite as always being in possession of all of the same information all at the same time.”

What are you saying here, chappy?
    Are you saying Mr. Brathwaite doesn’t know what goes on in the Office he is in charged of?
    Now that is a political point! Or you don’t understand the meaning of the word “political”?

3. Countries with 0% Sucess Rate with FaceBook Request

Bangladesh
    Barbados
    Botswana
    Bulgaria
    Cambodia
    Costa Rica
    Crotia
    Equador
    Egypt
    El Salvador
    Ivory Coast
    Japan
    Kosovo
    Malaysia
    Mongolia
    Montenegro
    Panama
    Qatar
    Russia
    Serbia
    South Africa
    Thailand
    Uganda

23 out of 72 Countries making request of FaceBook had 0% sucess. Thats 32% of all those Countries who applied failed totally.

4. Miller……….the bottom line really and truly is that they believe the little tin pot titles they hold put them in the big leagues, contact FB for information on alleged criminals who are operating in Bim, but also operating in international countries making the laws allegedly broken fall under international jurisdictions as well, they do believe they can bypass FBI/Interpol and solve the crimes themselves, or they are entangling themselves in more lies to cover up something else.

5. Miller

You are playing politics. Admit it. You want to use this FB non-issue as a way to make the GOB/DLP look incompetent/more incompetent.

6. Well Well

“information on alleged criminals who are operating in Bim, but also operating in international countries making the laws allegedly broken fall under international jurisdictions as well……”

Where is the evidence of this twisted presumption come fact come evidence???
    Laughable really.

7. Again…….before FB, these countries governments were/are aware that they are certain protocols and agencies you contact to access information, so because 31 other countries were fool enough to try invading citizen’s privacy that makes it okay for Barbados to be just as stupid and jump into the act, they were refused for a reason and if they try again without using the correct methods, they will be refused again.

8. This government is behaving like a petite dictatorship and it should be crushed, by the people.

9. David

What is scary is that not another Country in the Caribbean even approached FB during their criminal and national security investigations.

Jamaica want to run that story as if Barbados got something to be ashamed of or if Barbados snooping on people. Jamaica is easily one of the most criminal societies in the WHOLE world and yet their Police Force ain’t get around to using FaceBook in their investigations? Backward-ass country.

10. Multitude if these guys were using a proxy and had a link to FB what makes the Police think they were not accessing FB via Proxy as well?

The point Miller is making is valid, the AG should have been briefed on this matter, certainly since the news broke.

11. Multitude said:

Jamaica want to run that story as if Barbados got something to be ashamed of or if Barbados snooping on people. Jamaica is easily one of the most criminal societies in the WHOLE world and yet their Police Force ain’t get around to using FaceBook in their investigations? Backward-ass country.

To Jamaica’s credit, they do not pretend they are not criminal, now if they had not run this story, there is no way the citizens in Bim would have known what Bim’s government has been up to, once again hiding and doing things in secret, lying and keeping information from the taxpayers, information that would and does affect the population… when will you people learn. It appears Jamaica is smart enough to know they cannot use information from FB to solve alleged crimes, and for very valid reasons.
    So now the Barbados government knows that as well………hope no taxpayers money was involved to learn that lesson.

12. David

Check out the Clovis Toon (Editorial Cartoon) in the Observer at http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/tools/cartoons/ed-cartoon-aug-29-2013.

Change the and it could be in The Nation.

13. OOPs

Change the FLAG and it could be in The Natiion

14. @Due Diligence

All of the Caribbean islands are sailing on the same ship DEBT BURDEN.

15. I am thinking the present government of Barbados now spends all their time on Barbados Underground (BU) instead of trying to figure out ways to generate forex before it completely runs out in a couple months, or better still make sure the NIS funds don’t run dry or even better, generate jobs for all those who are now unemployed or will be very shortly.

They have totally become obsessed with this site, maybe David of BU should consider hiring them as monitors or moderators.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Well Well. | August 29, 2013 at 3:58 PM |
    “Multitude said: Jamaica want to run that story as if Barbados got something to be ashamed of or if Barbados snooping on people. Jamaica is easily one of the most criminal societies in the WHOLE world and yet their Police Force ain’t get around to using FaceBook in their investigations? Backward-ass country.”

It is statements like the above that is making Barbados the laughingstock of the Caribbean and creating poor relationships and growing animosity among its fellow territories.
    Imagine a “backward-ass country” that has so much influence and control over the young of the so-called educated Bajans youths. Can you imagine how “backward-ass” Barbados is becoming then? If Jamaica is so “backward-ass” how come it has a higher profile in the world than a “lickle” backwater place called Bar-bad-os?
    BTW, Usain Bolt is from the backward-ass land.

Go to many parts of the world and ask the people there if they know where Barbados is and 9 out often would tell you some part of Jamaica.
    If you want to see how backward-ass Jamaica is just check the many Bajan educated” high profile men and see to whom they are married. You can even go into the supermarkets and see how many products are made in that “Backward-Ass” land.

Multitude’s “arroignorance” and xenophobic small-island mentality is typical of the damned lying party supporters and it will be their undoing. Time is longer than twine!

17. Robertson O. Beckles Avatar
    Robertson O. Beckles

Three questions
    1) Why would the government be trying to getting information on private citizens from facebook, especially with a suddenly and with no explanation firing of the Commisioner of Police, are we becoming autocratic or communist?
    2) How can government provide bailout money to the owners of Almond Beach in the budget while bajans are hit with taxes, upon taxes? Yet no monies could be provided to Cilco depositors nor to Four Seasons that only wanted 50million compared to the 800 million BIG dollars intended from the budget for Almond and Silver Sands??? Why would ANY government buy a hotel for way over and above what three private investors want to buy it for, how did the bail out decision come to be?
    3) Who is the new ‘Investment Commisioner’ whatever the hell that is?

18. Miller………that last dumb statement made by Multitude is what prompted me to write the comment above yours, it is so plain to see that as a supposedly ‘highly intelligent’ opposite of backwardass politician who in his impotent frustration was just on here trying to mammaguy and hoodwink us lowly commenters who are incapable of understanding how international law agencies function and what FB can and cannot do and the Barbados government who are world renowned as the most ‘intelligent’ government in the world, because they were educated at the best schools in the world which happen to be in Barbados have all rights in the world to access user’s information on facebook, violating said users rights so they can solve crime in Barbados………..did i leave anything out??

19. @ROB

How can government provide bailout money to the owners of Almond Beach in the budget while bajans are hit with taxes, upon taxes? Yet no monies could be provided to Cilco depositors nor to Four Seasons that only wanted 50million compared to the 800 million BIG dollars intended from the budget for Almond and Silver Sands??? Why would ANY government buy a hotel for way over and above what three private investors want to buy it for, how did the bail out decision come to be?

Simple – Dem borrow money from CHINA, who will no doubt have security over the properties they are financing.

See
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/tools/cartoons/ed-cartoon-aug-29-2013

20. Multitude, so much is wrong here.

I’m not talk off my ass here so listen. as a private citizen i can (AND HAVE gotten) information about Facebook users. I can also get any Facebook pages shut down. There are two main ways to do this but the fastest way is to provide any legal court documents (FROM BARBADOS) to support the claim or request.

That the police force of this country does not know this is shocking. If what you outline was the case, I can tell you all the police would of have to do is to provide the court documents and they would of have the information or request done in about 6 hours or less.

Don’t believe me? Flow’s facebook page was removed by Facebook and Scott Weatherhead got it done, Twice, in 48 hours. How was this done?

so for me (and me only, knowing what I do, I call BS on your story)

The government of Barbados over stepped their reach here and it reflex how they conduct business. The AG may have been telling the true about what he knows as fact but then on the other hand it really shows he does not know what is happening under his roof.

21. If that is in fact the request sent to facebook, and I seriously doubt that, its obvious it would be turned down. If it is so that you are to be believed as credible and that is what was sent, two things are possible 1) the person responsible for the actual drafting of the request never read and understand what facebook requires 2) the person is an idiot and didn’t think to check what facebook requires and that he/she could just make a request.

Such a request must be accompanied by facts of the case sufficient to show a case exists.

I see no mention of the offence under investigation, I mean WOW…

If I was making the request maybe it would go something like:

The RBPF is investigating a case of (X CRIME). I would then detail what this crime is and what it involves. I would then put forth the facts and evidence surrounding the grounds on which it is reasonably believed that the 2 persons are involved. I would then relate exactly why the details would be needed, in order to establish what etc, because all other avenues of trying to obtain this information has failed.

But to simply say, we want details on so and so….?? How lazy and inept. Multitude which department prepared the request for facebook from the RBPF?

22. Where Cuthbert gone?Has he been replaced by Multitude?Are these the kind of people Bdos must rely upon to save our country?Both write a lotta balls; they wont get a pass in Management Accountability 101.

23. Btw the AG said he has no PERSONAL knowledge of this matter.If we are to believe that the RBPF made this request of FB..and I don’t believe that…they
    should have had the sense to pass it by the Ministry of Defence and Security in which case the PS might have given them an earful of advice which they were free to accept or reject.

24. I did tell Multitude to quit while he was ahead and while there were still a couple people leaning toward listening to his nonsense, but no he had to go the whole hog and prove that he was lying.

25. Workers at the Post Office laid off
    Policeman salaries to be cut
    What/the shit
    hit the fan
    Stuart and his band
    Robbing/hoods -reverse
    GOVT in trouble
    Crack some heads/ now we know why
    intentions /clear
    Bdos under attack
    DLP malfunctions

Oh Gosh

——————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaaagga –again

26. I wish you all would really find something profitable to do. This thing is nothing but hogwash. Barbados Labour Party operatives misrepresenting themselves as the Barbados Government trying to bring the country down low as usual.

Move along.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 29, 2013 at 7:25 PM |

Move along to where? The Post Office where another breach of promise has occurred? Who are you are going to blame? The Barbados Labour Party operatives inside the Post Office management for dismissing the workers? Carson the Carrier of Carrion news about blaming the BLP for every blasted incompetent mistake made by this blasted lying party called the destructive league of pirates. You have upset the police. What’s next on the agenda? An announcement of the dreaded devaluation to be blamed on the BLP and international recession?

28. Carson……….reality is reality, hear is another reality, post men/women, police and teachers have salary/job tonight problems compliments of the DLP, are you going to say that the BLP misrepresented themselves and cost these people their jobs?? Explain yourself Carson, who is doing it, smart stream or BLP, since the DLP don’t take responsibility for anything.

29. Well Well

BTW I see that your beloved Trinidad has a travel advisory issued against it by the British Government, I am sure that really hurt your heart.

British tourists being told Trinidad is a dangerous place.

30. We aren’t far behind, when crimes against tourists rise, since they have the lowest detection rate (they leave the island never to return) we’ll be in the same boat. Trinidad has oil. When we lose strong tourism what we got? We’ll be Haiti 50 years ago.

31. Posh

Is that what you are hoping for?

32. Carson C. Cadogan | August 29, 2013 at 7:50 PM |

Well Well

BTW I see that your beloved Trinidad has a travel advisory issued against it by the British Government, I am sure that really hurt your heart.

British tourists being told Trinidad is a dangerous place.

Carson………..you really feel that is stopping me from enjoying Trinidad?

If you know anything about Trinidad you would know they do not depend on tourism for their bread and butter so that advisory means diddly squat. Wait till carnival next year and you will see the same travel advisory writers in TT wining. Travel advisory my foot, have you checked out the murders in the US recently, they are beyond horrendous and you still go there.

33. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

People clearly had too much in the results of the elections. Some can’t move on so its time to bring it down.

34. @ David
    You can’t muzzle Carson C. Cadogan? Good Jeezus now!! People going home and this cretin repeatedly trying to divert attention from such a serious matter. What makes it even more repulsive is that he collected taxpayers money for 4+ years for doing absolutely nothing but making promises to the elderly.I find his behaviour offensive.

35. Carson……….that should also read………..have your checked out the crime rate in England lately? the kind of crimes also being committed in England makes you wonder what the world is coming to and you will still want to pretend you are british and be oh so proud.

By the way, i were you i would be more worried of what will happen here in the next couple months now that the BLP is misrepresenting themselves as the government of Barbados and slashing salaries, sending home workers and whatever else bajans will wake up to tomorrow all because the DLP are not the ones actually do these things. Carson, do you really look at yourself in a mirror.

36. @enuff

Do like what we do and use the scroll and or delete button.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | August 29, 2013 at 8:08 PM |

That is what enlightened intelligent educated people do with lying hypocritical incompetent managers whether in the private or Public sector. Remove them from office for the sake of the business or the nation.

The same way you want the BLP to move on you too must move on.
    The first step to redemption begins with your administration stopping with the lies.
    How can a Minister of Health get up and say that an almost 24 % cut in the QEH budget will have NO impact of the delivery of health care at that institution?
    If there are $35 million in efficiency savings to be gained why retain a CEO and a Board that have wasted $35 million in taxpayers’ money every year for the last 5 years?

Until the administration, you Cuthbert the Liebert represent, comes back to the people and admit it misled the people who voted for them based on their promises and commitments to “No Layoffs and No Privatization” it will remain morally illegitimate in the eyes of the vast majority of the people.

Step one:
    Stop the lies. Stop blaming the BLP and computers. Stop feigning ignorance of not knowing what is happening under your ministerial watch including the AG.

38. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Millertheannuaki

…………..but of all there people on here you know only too well that you are dealing with politicians not Sunday school teachers. What do you expect, that they’ll say sorry and call fresh elections? Stupse!!

Man if you waiting for Bajans start marching in the streets then you are newest sucker in town.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | August 29, 2013 at 8:50 PM |

You really think the miller cares if the people march or not? That is their business to accept what is around the corner. To be frank, the miller doesn’t give a hoot when the shit hits the fan as the forex runs out. It might just be the best thing for your country to bring about an environment of self-reliance, thrift and hard-work like previous generations. Life is not a bed of roses as you guys will soon find out.

The miller’s only concern is one of morality which you seem to have hidden where the monkey stuff the nuts. Unlike you CoE, the miller holds no brief for Liars, Hypocrites and Crooks, in that order.

40. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

So you hold not brief for any politicians for the Bee’s or Dee’s ?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | August 29, 2013 at 9:12 PM |

If you are referring to my comment let me reiterate:
    ‘The miller holds no brief for Liars (including you), hypocrites (again you are included) and crooks (maybe you are one).
    Capiche?

PS: Do yourself a favour and drop the word “England” from your moniker. It’s most unbecoming to use someone else’s name of whom you are ignorantly unfamiliar.

42. wait enuff talking about pople not working and receiving a paycheck. lol. wait did not your former leader OSA do the same for over five years almost or never showing up in parliament and when confronted said that he worked from his office. concealing the truth put out of fear for public scruntiny

43. Robertson O. Beckles Avatar
    Robertson O. Beckles

‘The Government of de people???? Dem???

Plenty bailout money for Almond owners, but hospital cut, reverse tax credit for poor cut, school milk and local farmers cut, more taxes for anyone earning over 50,000 and education cut.

Errol Walton Barrow would cry….. if he knew what that his Democratic Labour Party had come to be the Demolishing Layabout Party.

And none a wunna don’t come here an talk bout DEM dis and DEM dat, wunna AINT GOT A CANDLE to Barrow…jokers.

44. Enuff, miller,

Have you both notice that these Dems cannot blog for too long under one name…………….shifty, crafty people.

Cuthburt of england the latest one
    To the Point
    Objectivity
    uncommon sense etc etc

We just cannot keep up with them. The war room in George Street is a busy place. Losers.

My concern is for Barbados. These pirates are now very wealthy and can pick up and go, we are the ones who have to stay here after they have destroyed our fair land.

45. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Millertheannuaki

Unbecoming? Only you got sense, got brains?
    But fact is you cannot know whether I am familiar or unfamiliar with my namesake, you do not know me so that’s an unknowable from where you are sitting or standing as the case may be. Put down the handbrake and put the brain in gear before letting your feeble fingers run off Ole Boy.
    You are fairly long in the tooth these days but tell us Millertheannuaki, did you cry on that fateful day in February when all your dreams were shattered with another 60 month term?

46. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Millertheannuaki

Sic eloquence as thay in Erschry use,
    In sic is sett thy thraward appetyte.
    Thow hes full littill feill of fair indyte.
    I tak on me, ane pair of Lowthiane hippis
    Sall fairar Inglis mak and mair perfyte
    Than thow can blabbar with thy Carrik lippis.

47. Cuthbert alter ego Multitude now Bhaltair Cinneide quothe he!Still a confounded political jackanapes.

48. @ac
    Only Jesus can help you. High attendance and productivity are not mutually exclusive yuh hear. The Dems have been proving that for 6 years now.

49. Carson, I am at you again. You said….
    Carson C. Cadogan | August 29, 2013 at 7:25 PM |

I wish you all would really find something profitable to do. This thing is nothing but hogwash. Barbados Labour Party operatives misrepresenting themselves as the Barbados Government trying to “BRING THE COUNTRY DOWN LOW” as usual.

You said it (see capital letters). We now realise why the country is in problems. Too much drinks at night that causes you to speak the truth. Continue……

50. Soon Carson will not be enjoying any more free taxpayers money, you know that right Carson, you better start counting the days until the gravy train stops running………….the DLP politicians will then have to spend even more time on BU’s website instead of doing the taxpayer’s business. What a waste.