Submitted by St.George’s Dragon
Facebook is the largest social network site.
Facebook is the largest social networking site.

According to an article in the Jamaica Observer, the Barbados Government is the only one in the Caribbean to have asked Facebook for information on its Bajan users. Apparently the Government has made three requests for information in the last six months. It’s not a high number of requests but why are we the only ones to be making them?

The original of the article can be found here: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Barbados-govt-asks-Facebook-for-info-on-users–data and the Facebook report is here https://www.facebook.com/about/government_requests. Interestingly, Facebook denied information in all 3 cases.

184 responses to “Barbados Government Begged Facebook to REVEAL Three Users”

1. The nerve of the government to avail itself of disclosure laws in another country which accommodates transparency yet Barbadians after being promised FOIA six years ago, we continue to wait.

Is this something the government, in this case Prime Minster Stuart who is minster of information, should issue a statement?

2. They have been bugging Bajans so routinely since World Cup that they probably think that it is routine to have access to such information…
    …so the fancy equipment at Central can’t crack Facebook….? 🙂

3. much ado about nothing. many criminals are caught because of facebook and if govt needs the basic or necessary information about one with a criminal bacground in order to file charges so what’s wrong with going to the source for information that would help find the criminal .god forbid if anyof your relatives was hacked to death and it was well know that the killer was actively engaged on facebook and the govt did not pursue such avenue to get necessary or basic information on the killer . then all like u David would be hanging and troturing the govt for negligance in allowing a known criminal to roam free. Can’t win fuh losing,. Dam if u do Dam if u Don’t

4. What is bothersome is that the DLP government has time for such nocturnal and sneaky activities but don’t have any time to deal with the island’s financial meltdown nor the implementation of transparency legislation in Barbados.

Hope they learned their lessons that transparency laws and freedom of information acts in other countries mean just that and it’s a two way street, you can get the information you need assuming you are not trying to invade taxpayer’s rights to privacy for retaliatory purposes or their civil rights and the people you try to get information on will also know that you tried to get it. HA!!

5. ac
    As usual.Long stopping for this the WORST GOVERNMENT IN THE SHORT HISTORY OF AN INDEPENDENT BARBADOS LED BY A CLUELESS NONDESCRIPT ACCIDENTAL POLITITIONER.

6. ac…….really, stop trying to insult people’s intelligence, before there was facebook there was/is and always will be Interpol, who are still quite adept at getting international warrants or whatever information they need as it relates to criminal cases. If it was of a criminal content the DLP knows the protocols, they were playing petty politics as usual and it backfired, they got exposed instead. GOOD!!

7. wunna wont listen to me..tek dah!! The Dems have craftily characterised OSA as exctly what they are, and while the population busy focusing on OSA and the BLP the Dems doing as they wish.

8. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

This proves nothing other that the country Barbados requested the information so how do the knuckleheads on here attribute that to the Stuart administration?

Clearly all the free eduction has been wasted.

9. It was not Jamaica or T&T or Guyana or St. Lucia, in had to be Barbados. We have truly descended to where none has gone before. The ONLY island in the Caribbean to beg Facebook to reveal the identity of individuals.

10. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

What is a government data request?
    Governments make requests to Facebook and many other companies seeking account information in official investigations. The vast majority of these requests relate to criminal cases, such as robberies or kidnappings. In many of these cases, these government requests seek basic subscriber information, such as name and length of service. Other requests may also seek IP address logs or actual account content. We have strict guidelines in place to deal with all government data requests: https://www.facebook.com/safety/groups/law/guidelines/

Does this report contain every request you have received from every government around the world during the time period stipulated?
    Yes. This report contains every request for user data we received for the first six months of 2013.

Does this report contain requests related to criminal matters, or national security matters, or both?
    The report contains the total number of requests we’ve received from each government, including both criminal and national security requests.

Why did you report the numbers for the United States in ranges?
    We have reported the numbers for all criminal and national security requests to the maximum extent permitted by law. We continue to push the United States government to allow more transparency regarding these requests, including specific numbers and types of national security-related requests. We will publish updated information for the United States as soon as we obtain legal authorization to do so.

Will Facebook start releasing these reports regularly?
    Yes. It is our intention to release these reports regularly in the future.

11. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Stop making an ass of yourself and just admit you scared as shite that they locate you and victimize your ass.

12. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

The fact that the GOB and or the Authorities are using every avenue possible to solve crimes should make you sleep comfortable at night knowing that state is trying protect you and all others by ensuring criminal are brought before the courts and the law.

We ain’t studying Jamaica, Guyana or Trinidad, them ain’t anybody for Barbados measure itself against.

13. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

You ain’t see that a lawyer representing somebody at Commission of Enquiry for CLICO ger assisinated today in broad daylight in a car park in Trinidad?

14. Cuffy
    If the report above says the request was from the Government of Barbados during the last 6 months,which administration would it suggest,not this the Stuart administration.Before such a request on behalf of the GOB would it not be cleared beforehand and by the Minister of National Security.It would be a shame if such an embarrassing request is made in the name of the GOB when the Minister is unaware of it.And who would the Minister be,pray tell.

15. Hahahaaaaaa @ Cuthbert what criminals what!!! Stupse. Again I ask do wunna see a trend?This government and its operatives take us for fools. Jesus take the wheel.

16. This would make an excellent talk show topic. Who has the balls to do it?

17. What next can we expect from this wicked, inept, incompetent government?

18. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

It should be the topic for Brass Tacks but you will need someone who knows the ins and outs of these kinds of issues.

19. Cuffy
    Which ministry you hold?

20. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Gabriel

Knucklehead how do you know the request we all or any of them National Security related? What about requests from the Police or even the Courts?

An idiot is dangerous thing you know.

21. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Gabriel

The Ministry of Nobody Ain’t Own Me

22. Cuthbert said:

Cuthbert of England | August 28, 2013 at 9:06 PM |

You ain’t see that a lawyer representing somebody at Commission of Enquiry for CLICO ger assisinated today in broad daylight in a car park in Trinidad?
    __________________________-

They been taking out the CLICO thugs in Trinidad for some years now, last one i knew about was in Central when i was there last year, i do believe they are more than a little justified.

23. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Gabriel

You didn’t one of the clowns bout BU before the last GeneralElection claiming the DLP was going to get a wash pan of licks?

24. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Well Well

But he was representing someone giving evidence against the CLICO executives I think your premature and wrong. Wheel and come again.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | August 28, 2013 at 8:42 PM |
    “David: This proves nothing other that the country Barbados requested the information so how do the knuckleheads on here attribute that to the Stuart administration? Clearly all the free eduction has been wasted.”

What are you trying to say here Cuffy? That Stuart was not in charge of his administration forming the government of Barbados during the period the request covered? Are you blaming OSA for this one too or the international recession?

Lookie here, Foolbert of Little England, we notice how you tried to discredit both Deeds and Caswell for exposing information of public interest. We were NOT impressed. However, we are indeed most impressed with your attempt to discredit yourself with the above asinine statement clearly confirming free “education” has been wasted especially on those who went to Brumley (not Bromley) school in August.

Before you attack the miller let us agree to assume that the requests to Facebook were intended to gather information on the many tax dodgers that Sir Frank told us exist in Barbados. Or they might even be related to gathering evidence to identify those “investors” who moved out $300 million in foreign reserves without the Guv’s permission during the same period. What about that, Charlie?

26. Cuffy
    You are more dumb than I thought.The Courts and the Police?They won’t have the balls to go to Facebook without top clearance from the Ministry.Then again anything goes with this poor rakey excuse of a vote buying and merchandise give away government which is bringing their pigs(pun unintended)to a fine market.

27. @AC I doubt any of the requests were legitimate investigations. Because the Facebook would not refuse a request which is legal and which the facts/circumstances warrant such a disclosure. The refusal tells us that in this case it was more likely that the Govt wanted to find out who a particular account belonged to for malicious reasons.

That’s why I applaud facebook’s privacy fight, so that these kind of abuses are caught and stopped. Hell Caswell even had trouble getting an election return which the law says is legal for him to have.

28. “Knucklehead how do you know the request we all or any of them National Security related? What about requests from the Police or even the Courts?

An idiot is dangerous thing you know.”

this makes it even worst because you are saying the courts and the Police, the Law, could not follow the rules to get information from Facebook? once again showing these jokes dont have a clue.

Barbados is over the cliff and the car is falling and you clowns still pissing on about the win, well let me say it then, congrats on the DLP’s election win. i hope that helps the country get on track.

29. I want the face/photo on the banner removed please. It is scaring me.
    —————————————————
    That said I must say that this Government is the worst worst worst Government in the history of Governments anywhere in the world and other places . This Prime Minister makes Sandy look like Sir Winston Churchill.

This wicked Government has cut Public Servants salaries without warning. Introduce tuition fees without warning , increase water rates , increase vat and even tax bicycles but I think they are really asking for trouble after cutting the people in the public service salaries. Some people would have planned to put aside money to send their children to UWI having to pay the Tuition Fees. These latest cuts will now cancel all of that. This Government aint got no heart though ! Heartless people . But you all aint own Barbados. Wunna ass can get skin out . You all holding position at the behest of the people. You all are not Gods.

This Government wants to DESTROY BARBADOS
    and now this Facebook thing.
    I said sometime earlier this year that I had seen Protests and other things coming. Carson Cadogan wanted to hear none of it but you see people like Carson Cadogan , it is dem so who are going to get people real angry when people think about the amount lies and excuses such people make to cover the nonsense of the DLP.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | August 28, 2013 at 8:47 PM |
    “David: Stop making an ass of yourself and just admit you scared as shite that they locate you and victimize your ass.”

Assbert, is that a veiled threat you are making to David? Who are “they” to do the locating and victimizing ? Are you part of them?

31. The GOVERNMENT does not conduct criminal investigations. Cuthbert you are a cunt. If there was a legitimate need for info to solve a crime through which only facebook could provide and ALL other avenues of obtaining such had been explored, then the matter would be dealt with through the local interpol bureau.

Barbados is a member of interpol and each country has a local bureau staffed by the national police of that country. Requests for legal assistance in criminal matters goes through the bureau.

If you know anything about it, you would know that only the highest calibre officers staff such positions such as interpol bureaus. So they put all the other officers on the street for you to encounter! (just joking no offense intended to our men and woman on the streets).

Have a look, this is the public page for the Barbados Police via interpol

http://www.interpol.com/

click on member countries, then americas, then select barbados from the drop down.

32. whey dis Cuntbert of England come from now ?
    What was your name B4 ? Was it SUPERCUNTBERT ?

JUST ASKING

33. three request for the same individuals and as usual the same three BLP yarfowls like chicken little screaming. “the Sky is falling””” wuhloss, can’t imagine if it was thirty three. but anudda story if it was one of you family members killed by said individual and govt trying to find the killer. wuunna can balk all wunna like but facebook has been used several times to find criminals, Moreover nobody knows if this information was being sought by another govt for a Bajan living outside the country involved in criminal activity, . Anyhow leave it to BU to start a controvesry where there is none and for the BLP yardfowls to jump !Whine!and Scream ,Seems like kadooment Day all year round on BU

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | August 28, 2013 at 10:03 PM |

He sounds Just like “Fractured BLP” using another moniker. CoE probably arrives from your favourite Parish the land of “SUPERCUNTBERTS” .

35. ac
    My Lord!Don’t you give up?How do you know its 3 requests for the same
    individuals!You are worse than Tony Marshall in his moderating daze.The fatted calf brigade hard at work defending crap!

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 28, 2013 at 10:09 PM |

But ac, the requests were for information on Prodigal Son (aka Pat Parris), her husband Miller and her brother Just Asking
    Are these people criminals too?

37. loo shut up posh u don’t know a dam thing about how govt interact with other countries to get varying information on individuals and for what reasons. the refusal to give barbados could be hinged on many probabilties one such that the person could have been one of many such names and facebook could not legally released any information without substantial proof that whom the govt was requesting was one of the same,

38. And Gabriel how do u know that they were three different individuals, it is more likely than not that the same request was giving for the same person ,

39. Bangladesh has a population of 150,million, Russia has a population of 146 million. Japan has a population of 126 million. .Bangladesh, Japan and Russia each made 1 Facebook request.
    Barbados has a population of 274 thousand and made 3 Facebook request.

Is it that we 274,000 Bajans are more wicked than these 422 million (half a billion) other people?

Or is our government more interested in malicious-ing up in we business?

And if so why?

If our government wants to ask us questions, why can’t they come and knock on our doors (with a search warrant of course) and ask us those questions face to face?

40. @David “Is this something…Prime Minster Stuart who is minster of information, should issue a statement?”

But David we have a Minister f Information who don’t like to talk to we.

Maybe we should rename him the Minister of silence.

41. @ac ” many criminals are caught because of facebook and if govt needs the basic information so charges can be laid so what’s wrong with going to the source for information that would help find the criminal .god forbid if anyof your relatives was hacked to death”

Dear ac: do you have any evidence that Bajan axe murderers are posting details of their crimes on Facebook?

42. @Cuthbert of England August 28, 2013 at 8:46 PM “Governments make requests to Facebook and many other companies seeking account information in official investigations. The vast majority of these requests relate to criminal cases, such as robberies or kidnappings”

So Cuthbert who was kidnapped in Barbados in the first 6 months of the year?

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | August 28, 2013 at 10:40 PM |

We wonder if the same Minister is still entitled to be called Mr. Integrity the clean man of high moral Christian principles.
    You were all warned about the man!

44. simple simon do u have any evidence that they are no axe bajan muderers posting on facebook. . facebook is a social network and any an everbody pass through there, then again because barbados was seeking information on an individual it doesn’t necessary have to be bajan. everthing being said is only speculative with out proof or fact.

45. Dear Cuthbert and ac:

You do realize don’t you that Facebook has would have carefully reviewed the users postings and would then have told the Barbados government “no” because in Facebook’s judgement the request was an attempted unwarranted intrusion on the users privacy.

2 ah ya all is a couple of crackheads.

Sorry David I know I am not supposed to curse other users.

46. @Cuthbert of England August 28, 2013 at 8:47 PM “David Stop making an ass of yourself and just admit you scared as shite that they locate you and victimize your ass.”

But Cuthbert surely our recently elected DLP government would not victimize anyone?

We know that they would not shoot some people nor crack some heads either, in spite of what we jonesing say?

47. simple SIMPLE how simple can u be.. Don’t know such thing All SPECULATION on YOUR PART. BUT what we do know as oulined in the FAQ that govts use facebook to acess information one of which can be pertaining to criminal activity (FACT)

48. @ Cuthbert of England |August 28, 2013 at 8:42 PM “so how do the knuckleheads on here attribute that to the Stuart administration? Clearly all the free eduction has been wasted.”

The current government of Barbados IS the Stuart administration. What should we call it then? The Simple Simon administration (don’t put dat on me)

The free education has NOT been wasted. It is being skilfully used.

Maybe that is why this government is trying to cut the guts out of tax paid free education.

49. Tired of this silly Government
    TIRED !!!!!!!

50. @Cuthbert of England August 28, 2013 at 9:05 PM “The fact that the GOB and or the Authorities are using every avenue possible to solve crimes should make you sleep comfortable at night knowing that state is trying protect you and all others by ensuring criminal are brought before the courts and the law.”

I duz get real frighten den when the state and especially when the “Authorities” take too much on an interest in me.

When they do so it is mostly because they want to hurt me,, not to protect me.

Except for a cop patrolling my village 3 or 4 times a year I prefer that the state and especially the “Authorities” keep outta my business.