Submitted by Charles Knighton
Harrison's Cave
Harrison’s Cave

This being Barbados, where legitimate forewarnings are ignored until the warned of disaster is upon us, e.g. the recent budget proposals, emulating Cassandra is a fool’s errand but perhaps, just perhaps, Priam will pay attention.

In their attempt to earn more money by attracting more visitors, those who have dominion over the fragile ecosystem which is Harrison’s Cave stand a good chance of destroying it. While I always had reservations about the increasing amount of carbon dioxide more visitors would produce, those reservations pale when considering the amount of damage the “Eco-Adventure Tour” (pages 20-21, Aug. 24 Saturday Sun) is likely to create.

As depicted in the accompanying photographs paths, stairways, ladders and guides now make it relatively easy to access the Cave’s depths. As one who has large ponds about my property, I know the devastation the introduction of a pathogen can cause to a pond’s flora and/or fauna, so I found myself appalled at the thought of these “eco-tourists” wading in the Cave’s pristine waters, as depicted in the article’s photographs. But most appalling of all was learning that such tours are being heavily promoted to all comers.

I am reminded of another of Earth’s great pristine wonders, where paths, stairways, ladders and guides also made access relatively easy. After all; the more visitors, the more money. If the ecological disaster that is today Mount Everest is not prophetic, then Cassandra has failed once again.

69 responses to “What Will Be the Price of Encroaching On Mother Nature?”

1. We have jumped unto the Eco Tourism band wagon without much thought to our fragile eco system. We have very few pristine areas left and these areas will be exploited for the sake of a dollar. When those areas have become contaminated they will still continue to be flogged to get every penny they can generate. Is it worth it?

2. This has become another ‘what the f*#^* is wrong with Barbadians blog. I say no more. Tired.

3. The SIDS conference will be held tomorrow at the Hilton. Here is an opportunity for the Future Trust to leverage this event to promote a cause.

4. Charles Knighton “As one who has large ponds about my property,”

The workers at Harrison’s Cave have ponds too ……around their little houses when it rains.

Therefore the compromise is to regulate and manage the caves in a sustainable manner.

You could also shut down the cave so it can stay pristine and the workers can find other jobs….oops…There are no other jobs. Barbados is in a continuing recession and only the middle and upper class with fat bank accounts can ignore it.

The only ecotourist attractions Barbados have is a cave and a gully.

5. “The only ecotourist attractions Barbados have is a cave and a gully.”

Hants what was fly doing before dog ear got stink?

6. Hants you are soo thick that you have missed what the author is saying. I see his point, why are they extending the caves to further wreck the fragile ecosystem than what is presently there. To have humans walking through our underground water system is unconscionable. Can you imagine what that can do our water supply?

7. Eco Tourism is a CAVE and Gully, cheeeeeez we have those by the thousands in North America, we missin out on a lucrative/profitable tourist trap, not likely.

8. @islandgal246 who wrote “To have humans walking through our underground water system is unconscionable.”
    So is shiittin in pit toilets and using suckwells .

Thankfully you have waterworks department to purify the water you drink it.
    But you probably can afford bottle water.

9. @Hantsie

What you had for breakfast?

10. Hants
    You are of course correct
    Water samples are collected weekly allover the island to look for PATHOGENS, and the water treated.

Carbon dioxide dissolves in water to give H2CO3, which dissociates into HCO3……….HARMLESS, THIS HAPPENS .IN THE BODY DAILY

Hear the novice ” As one who has large ponds about my property, I know the devastation the introduction of a pathogen can cause to a pond’s flora and/or fauna,”

Now tell us Sir about the pathogens and flora and fauna in the cave.
    Entertain me some more Sir Moron, you AC-esque twit.

is the water in the cave a stagnant pool?

is the water filtered in the aqifers still?

as Hants correctly opines is not is shiittin in pit toilets and using suckwells .worse?
    watch now Hantsie, watch

11. Even though I find this article a bit ‘nit-picky’, the author does has a point. If we go on tours of the cave, we are all told we cant touch certain parts of it. And there was also the issue waste water from pig farms in the area affecting the cave negatively.

12. @ David
    Never mind Hants….
    LOL…you better find out what GP had for lunch yuh….!

13. GP still frothing at the mouth because AC blew up that asinine concoted theory about some old man was airborne by a chariot and lives in heaven. some christian he is !

14. BT
    lets face it
    here we have a few sentences thrown together in which the author pretends he know science talking about flora and fauna and carbon dioxide and pathogens

hants and I have just asked a few relevant questions
    i had the task once to test those water samples at the public health lab

i know of what i speak
    Kevin | August 25, 2013 at 2:02 PM | also makes a more relevant point about the waste water from pig farms in the area more likely to affect the cave negatively.
    that water definitely contains potential pathogens

15. every time this guy writes an article GP always there to kick it down on the grounds that they guy doesn;t know what he is talking about, just bare foolishness ,The guy makes a relevant point as to the carbon dioxide that would in time damaged much of the natural and pristine of the caves environment.How many have given thought that in the event the govt can no longer source funding for maintaining the natural quality which must be sustained at high levels and good quality a requirement for the longevity ans sustainability of the caves natural environment that the caves would in due time suffer direct and irreversible damage,i meaning it is alright to compare but this is much bigger than a pit toilet or water pond to reverse.Nature has ways and methods of doing things and when govt or any one invest in these projects it must be for the long haul taking in mind the long term effects and cost to managed cause once started cannot be stopped as the damaged done can be devastating,

16. @ac

Do you do the same when Caswell and Adrian post?

17. look island gal. i am wid you all the way. as for the articles it is a good one and should be an eye opener as to how the enviroment should be careffuly monitiored and managed especially when human proceed in taking control of nature,

18. David

Do you do the same when Caswell and Adrian post?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Yes and with GOOD REASON………one is a hypocrite, that being caswell! cause the same people he crticised have some of the very faults he is gulity of of,,,,,,
    then there is Adrian…….Wuhlosss ..there are many adjectives whic ac can attach to his name but after the few articles i called him Judas ISCARIOT. yeah. sell OUT…

19. @ ac
    We follow (?) what you are trying to say, unfortunately, when one delves into science, there is a small requirement that you should understand a bit about that of which you speak.
    While this convention does not apply to you, (else David gotta ban ya) the general expectation is that a writer knows at least the basics of which he speak…

For example on what basis do you come up with the idea that “carbon dioxide that would in time damaged much of the natural and pristine of the caves environment.”?
    …you know of course that carbon dioxide is 1/5 of the air that we breath in and even more of what we breath out…

However, as it is you , Bushie will continue to breath normally – notwithstanding the damage that can be done to the Bushman’s nasal cavities….. 🙂

Moral of the story….. If you have to write shiite, at least wait till GP busy nuh….!!

20. When the laws of nature and the laws of man are in conflict everybody suffers this little blue marble we called home is speciffically constructed and defined by the laws of nature that are to protect and preserve our enviroment. i am always amazed at the christians would always talk about gods laws but are ignorant of the fact that this earth was as they say designed by god and yet they show very littlte respect for it, One should take note that very lilltle is said in teaching about taking care of the earth in christian teaching although God had commanded first man to so do.

21. The presence of humans in any pristine environment like the caves will upset the ecological balance there. Many of the living creatures and organisms found there will be affected and how long can they survive with the human bombardment they call eco tourism tours? Brass bowls like GP Hants and Bushie who believe in the crap that their god man in the sky will return on a flying chariot soon will ridicule someone who actually cares about our fragile environment. What a load of hypocrites! You men are empty vessels!

22. RE The guy makes a relevant point as to the carbon dioxide that would in time damaged much of the natural and pristine of the caves environment.

LOL POOR THING. CARBON DIOXIDE WILL DAMAGE THE CALCIUM CARBONATE OF THE WALLS OF THE CAVES. MURDAH WUH LOSS MA BELLY!

RE the caves would in due time suffer direct and irreversible damage …….FROM CARBON DIOXIDE?

RE ,i meaning it is alright to compare but this is much bigger than a pit toilet or water pond to reverse.
    HUH? LEACHATE FROM pit toilet WITH E COLI? SALMONELLA? SHIGELLA? AND OTHERS

THIS IS ABOVE YOUR HEAD DUMMY LOL
    BOUNCE AGAIN I WAITING FOR YOUR LONG HOPS

23. @ GP My long hops could be any longer that your twisted belive that a man can be elevated in the sky airborne and never falls back to earth. what happen to gravity u foolish old man. nutting u say going resonate wid ac cause i am convinced that after u flooish encounter with elijah that u are indeed still feeling the effects of the whirlwind.

24. TO ALL
    CARBON DIOXIDE WILL NOT DAMAGE THE CALCIUM CARBONATE OF THE WALLS OF THE CAVES.

BUT LEACHATE FROM pit toilet WITH E COLI SALMONELLA SHIGELLA AND OTHERS WILL

WE HAVE TO CONSIDER ALSO
    Entamoeba histolytica – cyst/trophozite spreads indirectly (fecal-oral) & directly (venereal); GIliver, lungs, & brain; amoeba
    Mode of transmission – contaminated water/food, insects (flies & cockroaches), & sexual contact (anal-lingus)

Clinical Presentation – amoebiasis/amoebic dysentery  GI discomfort, diarrhea, pain, blood, mucus, & weight loss
    1. Invasive – causes flask/tear-drop shaped ulcers in intestines
    a. Abcesses – liver, lungs, subdiaphragmatic, & brain
    i. Pericarditis – complication of liver abcesses

Giardia (lamblia, intestinalis, & duodenalis) – cysts via fecal-oral route (food & water); flagellated (4), looks like a face
    Mode of Transmission – drinking unfilted water camping (beavers & muskrats) & daycare centers
    Epidemiology – worldwide most frequent cause of nonbacterial diarrhea in U.S.; 50% are asymptomatic
    1. IgA deficiency – malabsorption and infection occur more often with low IgA
    2. Lactose Intolerance – dairy products can exacerbate infection
    3. Other Flagellates – Dientamoeba fragilis & Trichomonas vaginalis
    B. Clinical Presentation – foul-smelling, watery diarrhea, abdominal cramps, flatulence, & steatorrhea; 10 day incubation

Balantidum coli – cysts passed via fecal-oral route (food & water); is ciliated and has cystosome (primitive mouth)
    A. Mode of Transmission – common in animals, especially swine on farms, spread is fecal-oral; just like Giardia
    B. Clinical Presentation – colitis with or without blood and mucous and no extraintestinal spread

Isospora belli (LARGE), Cyclospora cayetanensis(Small), & Cryptosporidium (smallest–parvum & hominis) – oocyst via fecal-oral
    A. Epidemiology –
    1. Cyclospora cayetanensis – central American raspberries & basil carry it & is 2x size of Cryptosporidium
    2. Cryptosporidium – from poopy pool water, 4-5μm cysts & arc-shaped merozoites under normal mucosa
    a. Intracellular infection of brush border  lysis of cells, diarrhea

25. Negative impacts from tourism occur when the level of visitor use is greater than the environment’s ability to cope with this use within the acceptable limits of change. Uncontrolled conventional tourism poses potential threats to many natural areas around the world. It can put enormous pressure on an area and lead to impacts such as soil erosion, increased pollution, discharges into the sea, natural habitat loss, increased pressure on endangered species and heightened vulnerability to forest fires. It often puts a strain on water resources, and it can force local populations to compete for the use of critical resources.
    Attractive landscape sites, such as sandy beaches, lakes, riversides, and mountain tops and slopes, are often transitional zones, characterized by species-rich ecosystems. Typical physical impacts include the degradation of such ecosystems.
    •Trampling Tourists using the same trail over and over again trample the vegetation and soil, eventually causing damage that can lead to loss of biodiversity and other impacts. Such damage can be even more extensive when visitors frequently stray off established trails.

26. now GP go read about the Enviroment and man threats and harm that has been done and irreversiable. science has given us knoweldge things which we can all learn from , apparantly u still in the dark ages even though ur god says to come out from darkness and seek light,

27. twenty or more years from now all this” Nowwe can do” talk about the enviroment would be another nightmare when nature unleashed its revenge and those who have all the answers to the problems being created as a result of man’s influence or lack of knoweldge to where this all will lead would be dead and gone leaving a new generation to fix and repair without having the means with which to do it., Nature has been fined tuned in the same way man has been genetically designed and it beehoves any one to think that they can removed or redesigned any thing that nature has in place for our protection.

28. YOUR LACK OF BASIC INTELLIGENCE HAS THE DIMENSIONS OF AN ABYSS

ANY JACKASS CAN CUT AND PASTE STUFF FROM THE NET
    BUT INTELLIGENT FOLK DEAL WITH FACTS RELEVANT TO THE DEBATE

INTELLIGENT FOLK AND SCHOLARS APPLY RELEVANT KNOWLEDGE TO THE ISSUES AT HAND

KEVIN HANTS AND I HAVE CORRECTLY OPINED THAT LEACHATE IS MORE LIKELY TO DAMAGE THE CAVE ECO SYSTEM THAN HUMANS BREATHING CO2

FROM HOLY INNOCENTS CHURCH ALONG MOST OF WELCHMAN HAHH MAIN RD ALL BRYAN AND ALLEYNE VIEW HAVE HOUSES THAT LIE ABOVE THE CAVES

KEVIN CORRECTLY POINTED OUT THAT MANY FOLK IN THIS AREA RAISE PIGS

ANY JACKASS CAN SEE THAT THIS IS MORE LIKELY TO BE THE RELEVANT PUBLIC HEALTH HAZARD.

THE RELEVANT CHEMISTRY AND MOST OF THE MICROBIOLOGY THAT IS SPECIFIC TO THE ISSUE HAS BEEN PRESENTED. I HAVE DONE MY BIT TO BRING SOME TRUE SCIENCE TO A LOUSY ESSAY.

THE AUTHOR OF THE ARTICLE SEEMS TO HAVE A DYSFUNTIONAL BRAIN AS HE WRITES DYSFUNCTIONAL ARTICLES. AND HE HAS DUMMIES THAT THINK THEY KNOW TO DEFEND HIM.

I GONE
    YOU CAN NOT TEACH THE UNEDUCABLE

29. yes u GP when last u took u knowledge about the enviroment and put it to good use teaching ur christian brothers and sister about the importance of taking care of Gods Universe . i didn/t think so,uh too busy propagating make belive stories and looking for that freebie in the sky,, u knuckle head.

30. @GP

That makes u the NO1 JACKASS OF ALLL JACKASSES CAUSE U HAVING BEEN CUTTING AND PASTING BOVINE CRAP ON BU IN THE NAME OF SCRPITURAL THEOLOGY FUH YEARS !WUH JACKASS PYHSICIAN HEAL THYSELF><

31. Not too many years ago soap suds were leaching into the caves, at least that is what it said in your paper so what about the toilets??? .A lot of talking eco but you cant even get people to pick up their garbage and put it in the bin. Over tourism doesn’t seem to be a problem in the foreseeable future, so what can we do to better your environment. We could mate motorcyclists with African snails to get them to slow down. Or politicians with green monkeys…. at least if you see a politician jerking off at the side of the road he may be too tired to screw you when he gets to work. How about urinals that look like walls so there is a chance they may be used.

32. David | August 25, 2013 at 11:54 AM |
    @Hantsie
    What you had for breakfast?

Oatflakes, a banana and a cup of coffee.

Georgie Porgie has done his usual job of stating facts to educate those of us who choose to listen.
    Thanks GP.

33. charles knighton Avatar
    charles knighton

Perhaps even GP will be able to extrapolate and reach a proper conclusion, though Hants has no chance. A recent study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention shows that 58 percent of community pools contain E.coli, a bacterium present in faeces that can cause serious gastrointestinal problems. Most of the germs apparently come from faecal matter present on people’s bodies. It seems the average person has about 0.14 grams of faeces on their rear end. (Who measures such things? Perhaps a job for GP when he retires, as he seems to wallow in faeces whenever I post a comment.)

Of the 161 pools in Atlanta that CDC researchers tested, one also contained cryptosporidium, an organism that causes diarrhoea, and two had giardia, a parasite that can cause stomach pains and nausea. To claim that leachate is a worse threat so we should not concern ourselves with such a small amount of contamination is akin to saying we should not worry about crime in Barbados because crime is much worse in Trinidad. GP reminds me of the spoiled and spiteful child who acts out when his favourite toy has been purloined. Please pardon the metaphor, but has the rumour about me sleeping with your woman possibly reached your ears? Well, seems you will always have Hants.

34. uknow every time GP says something. the BU brigade like HANTS and BUSH TEA comes a running wid cup in hand to collect some of the shit GP dispense, anybody who dares to hold their noses because of the stench bush tea or hants called foolish ,, neva mind them the ones holding the cup full of sh..t. …

35. AC LOLL true true……Hants ….Baaaaa you are so sheeplike you couldn’t even say which God you believed in when asked. Your response was ” the same as GP”. Now GP is another two faced idiot. I have heard him on BU claim that there was nothing much to do and see in St. Lucia I read it with my own eyes and now he is singing a different tune. Blasted liar he is. He and Hants do make a well suited couple. I wonder who is the hen? Hents? LOLL

36. islan gal i know GP is a liar cause i remember asking him when the story of LIAT financial problems was topic on BU regarding the high airfees and taxes included and GP acted as if he had first hand information as to why these high fees were included stating that a flight engineer had informed him as to how these charges and fees were implemented ac ain’t no fool but i knew GP was telling a big FAT stinking lie. LO and behold soon afterwards one of the head honcho was relating to the media about the cost and what GP told was far from truthful in comparison to what was told to the media, and that man calls himself a christian, another thing his foul mouth left much to be desired with that kinda of foul mouth he fuh sure not entering them pearly gates unless he see a dentist for major extractions,

37. charles knighton | August 25, 2013 at 9:37 PM |
    re A recent study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention shows that 58 percent of community pools contain E.coli, a bacterium present in faeces that can cause serious gastrointestinal problems. Most of the germs apparently come from faecal matter present on people’s bodies. It seems the average person has about 0.14 grams of faeces on their rear end.

HANTS POINTED OUT CORRECTLY THAT SUCH IS FILTERED IN THE CORAL STONE. WE TEST FOR THIS WEEKLY AT THE PUBLIC HEALTH LAB. OR AT LEAST WE USED TO.

GP wallows in faeces whenever YOU post a comment, BECAUSE YOU POST FAECES.

RE Of the 161 pools in Atlanta that CDC researchers tested, one also contained cryptosporidium, an organism that causes diarrhoea, and two had giardia, a parasite that can cause stomach pains and nausea.

YOU WILL OFF COURSE REALIZE THAT I HAVE COVERED THESE ORGANISMS ABOVE
    YOU WILL OFF COURSE REALIZE THAT THE AMOUNT OF LEACHATE IS MORE THAN FOUND IN A COMMUNAL POOL USED BY THOUSANDS .

DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA OF THE NUMBER OF ANIMALS RAISED IN THE AREA OVER THE CAVE?

WHEN YOU CAN POSSIBLY TEACH ME ANYTHING IN CHEMISTRY AND MICROBIOLOGY I WILL RETIRE

EVERY TIME YOU POST SHITE ON BU I WILL RESPOND AND TEACH THE BU FAMILY PROPERLY.
    YOU ARE A WANNABEE BUT YOU LACK STRUCTURE SEQUENCE AND SUBSTANCE AND YOU ARE hopelessly UNEDUCABLE.

YOU EITHER DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU READ CUT AND PASTE OR YOU ARE UNABLE TO ARTICULATE IT.

38. who de hell want to teach u GP any thing u are the last remaining dinasour walking this planet. can any body tell a dinosaur like urself that u are extinct. lol.

39. It seems that both GP and Charles have points to make. There is the danger of swill and other pathogens entering the eco-space of the Cave and equally there is the danger caused by the daily trekking of humans. We expend so much energy for naught.

40. There are about 280,000 people shiitting 2 or 3 times a day into the suckwells in Barbados and wunna greatest concern is people wearing boots and gloves walking through a cave.

Gallons of gas,diesel, motor oil and huge quantities of pesticides seeping into the ground in Barbados. Remember Gibbons boggs?

Thankfully it appears that the Waterworks department and the public health department are doing a good enough job to save wunna from boiling the water before wunna drink it.

41. David wrote “both GP and Charles have points to make”

David are you a politician?

42. No one is writing about the massive increase in land taxes which is essentially to pay Bizzy Williams for the solid waste recycling operation at vaclause. Property owners are not the only people generating garbage.

43. To have humans walking through our underground water system is unconscionable. Can you imagine what that can do our water supply?

because they in the know recognise that there is nothing worse that can be done to a water system already contaminated by years of excessive use of chemical spraying.

44. It seems the average person has about 0.14 grams of faeces on their rear end. (Who measures such things?

have this information been communicated to those like ac who support the homosexual agenda without giving a thought to nature’s divine use for the rear end

45. No Hants, just that BU recognizes we all have our interest based on how we are socialized. It is up to the manager of our scare resources and formulating policy to prioritized.

46. what a revelation David states that Charles has a point. NOt SO! says GP, This bombastic neanderthal has an opposite opinion that Charles Article is totally irrelevant, In GOP mind the ecosystem should be ok and left up to trial ! error and experimentation borne on the fact that what ever damages that are inflicted can be traced or simply corrected. After all GP is in a business that practice Cure <Prevention is secondary,

47. AC you must realise that GP is a very unhappy man, an angry man and an uncharitable oaf. For some one who calls himself a Christian he has clearly demonstrated what a Christian is all about….HYPOCRISY, ARROGANCE AND LYING! Hants has him up on a pedestal and worships him. Poor Hants don’t even have one original thought in his head and must consult GP before he opens his mouth. GP appears not to have a happy family life so he is angry ALL the time!

48. Lawson …you are a scream…LOLL

“A lot of talking eco but you cant even get people to pick up their garbage and put it in the bin” that is soo TRUE and dem talking bout eco this and eco that!

49. Balance said …”because they in the know recognise that there is nothing worse that can be done to a water system already contaminated by years of excessive use of chemical spraying.?

Balance that is so true…. I was told that someone did a study of our water and can’t publish the results here. High levels of nitrates are present and that is contributing to the high incidences of cancer.

Look at Martinique and Guadeloupe…their soil has been contaminated by the Banana Industry. All their root vegetables in the contaminated areas have high traces of chlordecone and there has been an increase in prostate cancer. It is the dark side of these beautiful islands. This is probably true for all Banana producing islands in the Caribbean.

It was first detected in drinking water on Martinique in 1999, then in sweet potatoes and cassava, but strangely not in bananas. It has since been established that it has infested the whole food chain, including beef and chickens, with high concentrations in eggs. It is even present in the milk of nursing mothers.

The contamination has caused a major upheaval among poor families who derive part of their livelihood from market gardening. After a two-year study to identify the most severely polluted areas, a special team in charge of allotments launched an information campaign in 2009. They have visited the homes of over 10,000 families. “We tell them not to plant root vegetables and to eat less of them. We also explain that they can grow tomatoes and fruit, but they are still sceptical,” says Johann Agrapart, one of the team leaders.
    http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2013/may/07/guadeloupe-economy-theatened-pesticides-pollution