501 responses to “Barbados Budget 2013”

1. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

This is the first time that i can CLEARLY say that a government has ASSAULTED and RAPED the pockets of poor in this country. If it was veiled between 2008-2013 it is clear as day now. I should not be suprised when the DEMs got a PM that could go on a political platform and make a RIDICULOUS statement say it is not about putting money back in people’s pockets. As a voter i would ask Fumble what it is all about then?. The DEMS, a party that has always promoted itself as a party for the “poor people” ????!!!!. Well i hope the “poor people” that voted for them in February can now see that dem really get trick just to get their vote. I should The same people that get fool by a ridiculous bus add about NO PRIVATISATION can now see what the DEMS had in store. You had to be really ignorant to get fool by a party that says the economy and their MTFS was “on track” in Feb to now hear in July that there was a $400m problem, the GOCB says the MTFS was off track and cuts in expenditure now have to be made. You would really have to be STUPID to the highest degree to think that what is going wrong in the economy only happened in the last 6 mths. Well if the MTFS has failed so spectacularly, how can anybody have any confidence in the BGDS???.
    The DLP is employing smoke and mirrors tactics on a spectacular scale!!!!!The latest bunch of ignorance now from Stinkliar is that govt spends more on UWI that the rest of the education sector combined. Added to this forex has declined by $300m in 3mths and Chris can’t tell us where it went. I will say now that Barbados is in SERIOUS peril as long as Chris is the MOF and by extension Fumble remains PM. This CRISIS is a MONSTER of the DLP’s creation and are continuously hiding behind the “global recession” to destroy Barbados’ Economy. Plain and simple, if Barbados has an expenditure problem then it can’t be the US, UK or the European Union that is spending Barbados’ money.
    This DEMS govt is insulting the intelligence of people and is now even more assaulting the pockets of poor people.On top of a Vat raise to 17.5% near 3 yrs ago this gov’t will in one fell swoop wants cut the Reverse Tax Credit ($1300.00) by 50%. Mind you the intent of this reverse tax credit was to relieve the effect of the VAT on the real POOR (<=18,000/yr). The irony is that the poorer you are the more you are "taxed" because the cut in the RTC is absolute relative to people's pay which is variable. The real effect of reducing the RTC is like implementing a new "tax" (or will reduce real income) that starts at ~3% for someone earning $18000 with the percentage increasing the less you are paid!!!! This is ludicrious!!!
    This policy of having Barbadians pay tuition fees at Cave Hill is a serious reverse to the concept of "free" education and is a DETESTABLE measure. I cannot understand how a party with members that benefitted from this will want to live in infamy as part of a party that is SLAMMING the door shut to tertiary education to the real POOR of subsequent generations. The reason why education is "free" is so that people with brains are not limited by how much they earn. It means now that the POOR cannot a least get a 1st Degree anywhere. I cannot believe the DEMS, a so-called "poor people" party would have the guts and tell Barbados they support this measure. This is a party that has really lost track of Barrows vision. I want to tell the DEMS that as a TAXPAYER i am paying to have my health and my education as free as i can get it. I am not paying taxes so that a party of incompetents can continue to get full pay in an economic crisis of their own CREATION!!!!. I am not paying taxes so that a party can continue to support a public sector with people that does come work to lime after half day!!!! I am not paying Taxes so that CBC can continue to be a MONOPOLY and be subsidized by gov't or for the TRANSPORT BOARD to continue to be inefficent when i got to now pay for a 1st DEGREE. The DLP have their priorities wrong !!!!!

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 15, 2013 at 7:25 PM |
    “…And with the same results as one would expect…a soft, weak, gutless individual incapable of looking after its own affairs…far less looking after a family or providing national leadership.”

Sounds as if you have painted the perfect picture of the Cabinet headed by the eponymous political Mr. Magoo.

Keep it up as the more you talk the more you reveal the canvass of your deep thoughts and paint a mental picture of your political friends.

3. David,

From what I am getting, the MOF in an effort to shield the DLP from being blamed for sending home people are using a kind of back hand way by allowing the various heads to do the cutting. The BWA rep said on VOB this evening that they will go to the board on Monday. It therefore unclear who gave the final decision….Caswell would know.

At the Chamber’s breakfast yesterday, Dr Robinson said that he as a Director of the CBB, received an email daily with the position on the foreign reserves. Mia said that each morning the MOF receives the email from the CBB.

So for the minister to fake ignorance in not knowing how 300 million “disappeared” is unbelievable. We all know that to send foreign monies out of Barbados, you have to go through the CBB. So how 300 million was sent out unknown to anyone?

This is unbelievable and near impossible. I tend to believe that the figures were manipulated for the sake of the election and now they had hoped that no one would pick up on it. Judging from the CBB governor’s behaviour ever since took up the position, he has no qualms being used politically and if one judge from Toppin’s contribution tonight, the minister is a big liar.

And by the way, all the temporary workers from Immigration were told today that they have been taken off the payroll. The workers exploded today so this will be in the news tomorrow. Yet two workers who Harry Husbands brought on were not taken off. Workers were screaming that they have bills to pay and car loans.

The people were warned! But the Dems bragged today that the people of Barbados voted back for them because the people are satisfied with their performance!

4. @ Bushie
    The world does not revolve around Barbados and God is not a Bajan.

5. THE WORST GOVERNMENT
    THE WORST PRIME MINISTER
    THE WORST MINISTERS OF EVERYTHING
    THE WORST INDIVIDUAL REPRESENTATIVE

THE WORST BUDGET EVER IN THE HISTORY OF BUDGETS ANYWHERE, ANYTIME

6. ! | February 4, 2013 at 11:58 PM |

Arthur is basically a bullshitter – hear him at the meeting saying that it was up to the Supervisor Of Insurance to act on CLICO -”The minister don’t get involved in that” – you hear BS, that is BS. If you believe that , You also believe that pigs fly.

WHO IS BULL SHITTING WHO NOW ?

JUST ASKING !

7. David
    Are you aware that these 30 workers from the BWA were home 3- 6 months ago and 3 – 6 months before that .I wish the delegate to enlighten the BWA staff if his son is one of these temporary workers who came on similarly like the above workers and are paid higher than persons who were there for 7 years and longer.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

DLP (formerly CBC) TV | August 15, 2013 at 7:32 PM |@

We are Glad that a few other see these points,
    We have warned the BU members on the street that are dealing with CROOKS and LIARS,
    But BU Yard flows think that Plantations Deeds on something other than TRUTH.
    Yes we gave your words a 5 stars .
    Look now who want to buy land from the UDC when now other tax bills were 200$,bds a year now 1900$ a year reported today to Us..
    Crooks getting land for 0.0005 cents a square foot and then sell it back in the UDC for 15.00BDS$ and VAT paid the rest ,
    Who in the hell will go to UDC to move from land RENT OF 500BDS TO LAND TAX NOW ,, We here at DEEDS hope you all getting a good picture of the MASSIVE FRAUD BY THE VAT AND UDC NOW CLEAR TO ALL FOOLS . Your pocket will show you who is who .
    We have been looking at these so call crook for years and our words will not change until both parties are removed by VOTE or 1937.
    When the Bajan wake up and see the Ministers will be running to there offshore accounts on other Islands.Never to return .EXILE
    S&P and Moodys rating warned the people with money and the money was removed from MOF Mother of Fookers tax on their accounts ,
    YES MOF warned his self and the other Ministers , We need to see who moved their FUNDS before the reading of the Budget on the 13th August 2013. CAN you say inside trading?
    Let get back to the ROOT CAUSE ,,, LAUNDERING OF THE PLANTATIONS DEEDS, BAD TITLE , GOOD TITLE NO CLEAR TITLES TO BE BACK BY BANKS.THAT MEANS THAN CANT EVEN BE SOLD TO RAISE MONEY, FIRST CARIBBEAN CANT MOVE THEM VIOLET BECKLES DEEDS, DOWN DOWN GRADES AND MORE DOWN GRADE WILL COME WHEN EGYPT IS AT THE DOORS OF BARBADOS.
    WHEN YOU HAVE MASSIVE FRAUD LIKE PONZI , YOU HAVE TO FEED IT ALL THE TIME ,, ASK COW FOR HELP ALL WHO LOOK TO HIM AS YOUR GOD.

9. Europe has come out of it’s recession, there is still a debt problem but DLP can’t use the Euro recession anymore as an excuse, will have to find another excuse.

10. UWI students, I hope you all here…..Payne is a top notch attorney…not liker some dross…..DONT PAY ONE F_ing CENT……stand up to DEM….dis is bare foolishness man….even Baffy now gone quiet……Now even a 6 months grace notice….no judge would dispute this madness….NO ONE CENT….all ya hear!!!

11. I gine repeat…..

UWI students, …..Payne is a top notch attorney QC den…not like some drizzling lingoed dross…..DONT PAY ONE F_ing CENT……stand up to DEM…. bare foolishness man….even Baffy now gone quiet……Not even a s grace period?….No judge worth his salt, would accept this madness….NOT ONE FING CENT….all ya hear!!!…..show dum D FINGER

12. Plantation…………….all that money that was moved offshore may very well be frozen sooner than you think……………take time Barney.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“It is just mind blowing how every DLP MP can get up and support the paying on tuition at UWI”

I think what is mindblowing to you and others like you is the fact that MAM begging DLP parliamentarians to vote with her against the budget proposals is not going to happen.

That is why you are ranting and raving.

14. They tell me to forget
    That most of the caterers in Barbados are owned by Black.
    Central Bank din’ know…
    Alright, I say I shall go ..

They tell me to forget
    That all but one of the installers of PV panels are Black..,
    The Governor din’ know…
    Alright, I say I shall go

But I hope you understand
    The insult Black business must withstand
    In this land, my homeland. my homeland

And I hope you know its true
    Black business just can’ un’stan’ you
    No dey can’, no they can’, You be damn’

15. So the recent iteration of……. no workers gine is what……BARE CRAP den?

Man this worse that duck shiite in white bread…..nasty nasty!…stupeess no kinda shame at all………….

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Onions

I like you and PAIN real bad.

Don’t pay the tuition, take it to court. And pay PAIN top dollar to represent them. you are saying that they don’t have money to pay tuition fees but they have money to pay BLP lawyers.

17. wait George Payne tell Uwee students not to pay their tuition fees? Is this the short runt that Hinckson took a turn in at the leadership meeting? Is this the same non entity that saddled this country with his look alike in vertical challenge and bulginess the foreigner Barrack? This bastard has real gonads though you would think based on what Hickson told Barbados about him he would be quiet or surprise us with a bit of sanity in the Uwee debate. Hell no the cretin is advocating disobedience and law breaking that could possibly lead to confrontations and violence. My daughter is at Uwee and I expect her to dismiss the effluvia from a man long discredited in this country. Glyne Clarke a guy with an equally bad reputation as the Hats jester made a reasonable counter proposal of graduates giving back a little to offset costs. If Payne is a graduate of Uwee with his lousy attitude wuk for wuk better not look to him for support.
    Who is the leader of the BLP anyway? Is it the Payne/ Marshall sinister duo? Is it MAM what about Owen and the shifty eye wife beater Simmo? Could anyone shed light on who has the inside track given the mafia like in fighting for the Adams family party.

18. Now turn on my TV ……
    And what did I see..
    (yeah you in Parroment now reading dis…
    PORGIE and MURDOCK…
    Skinning DEM teet at we….
    But waana ent got no shame at all?
    Shoite man….

19. Aarson…doan B a shirt HOLE…..even a final year student could win this case …..if you ever read law, you too would understand….precedent is there..but for obvious reason dis fisherman won’t quote….SITE !

Devin put a cork in it….. all we UWI students alumni love to oppose you ent know DAT ?…Ask Ronnie Dj…placards cant done…..U watch!!

20. Anybody saw the very strange motion about okaying the MOF seeking a 1 billion BDS $ from an overseas Commercial bank tonight on CBC TV? I am told it seemed to have shocked members on both sides? I didn’t see it.

Does Miller or anyone else know what is going on?
    Does it look as if there might have been an enhanced loss of FX recently over and above the 300 M mentioned earlier? What else could that 500 million Us be about? Why so much money at what must be usurious rates?

perhaps we might hear some more on this situation tonight.

Help!

21. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

I, like most Bajans, do not have the nature to call for protests against a gov’t of Barbados but I think that time has now COME. The DLP is using their “mandate” to SAVAGE the POOR in this country and it has to STOP. The DEMS are starting by attacking the notion of “free” education. On this path they may attack the notion of free Health care next. We are entering the point of no return under this DLP administration. They got a MP that says that George Belle’s statement is “treasonous” when he has a right to free speech. This is after they have another joker MP that says that they may have to “crack heads and shoot people”.

22. steupse barbadians would spend thousands a dollars on car and complain about paying tuition fee, wunna full of sh,,,t. where in the world would wunna BLP yardfowls would get such a privilege of such low tuition fee

23. Donville Inniss exposed Mia Mottley today as the fraud that she is. All of the tears that she is shedding while raking in Millions off of these government projects.
    Little wonder that Arthur continues to tell all who would listen to him privately that Mottley cannot be trusted and is a fraud.

24. To compound this , when one examines how Mottley and former commissioner Darwin Dottin abused their power and trust of the people of Barbados, it is clear that Barbados cannot afford to give Mottley any more power.

25. @Check-it-out
    I am at a loss to understand why the 2 new motions were introduced during a Budget Debate in progress, one dealing with a loan of US$500 million from CIBC and the other to supplement the Estimates so early in the fiscal year(The Estimates were just brought to Parliament and you mean they are already supplementing them?)This 500M loan is telling me that the Government is experiencing a flight of capital and is seeking to shore up Christmas purchases by the private sector.

26. This needs to be forwarded to the real racists out there, Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson!

Well Amen to this!!!!! Somebody finally said the words out loud – loud and clear. It’s a bit overdue.

The White Side of the Story of Negroes

This is the reason CNN has dropped Buchanan. It’s like Newt G. said, “You’re not supposed to bring up uncomfortable Facts.” (verified on Buchanans website)

BUCHANAN TO OBAMA

Finally………….It is Said Publicly. I have never seen the white side explained better!

Pat Buchanan had the guts to say it. It is about time!!

BUCHANAN TO OBAMA

By Patrick J. Buchanan

Barack says we need to have a conversation about race in America .. Fair enough. But this time, it has to be a two-way conversation.. White America needs to be heard from, not just lectured to…. This time, the Silent Majority needs to have its convictions, grievances and demands heard. And among them are these:

First, America has been the best country on earth for black folks. It was here that 600,000 black people, brought from Africa in slave ships, grew into a community of 40 million, were introduced to Christian salvation, and reached the greatest levels of freedom and prosperity blacks have ever known.. Jeremiah Wright ought to go down on his knees and thank God he is an American.

Second, no people anywhere has done more to lift up blacks than white Americans. Untold trillions have been spent since the ’60s on welfare, food stamps, rent supplements, Section 8 housing, Pell grants, student loans, legal services, Medicaid, Earned Income Tax Credits and poverty programs designed to bring the African-American community into the mainstream. Governments, businesses and colleges have engaged in discrimination against white folks — with affirmative action, contract set-asides and quotas — to advance black applicants over white applicants. Churches, foundations, civic groups, schools and individuals all over America have donated their time and money to support soup kitchens, adult education, day care, retirement and nursing homes for blacks.

We hear the grievances. Where is the gratitude??

Barack talks about new ‘ladders of opportunity’ for blacks. Let him go to Altoona ? And Johnstown, and ask the white kids in Catholic schools how many were visited lately by Ivy League recruiters handing out scholarships for ‘deserving’ white kids…? Is white America really responsible for the fact that the crime and incarceration rates for African-Americans are seven times those of white America ? Is it really white America’s fault that illegitimacy in the African-American community has hit 70 percent and the black dropout rate from high schools in some cities has reached 50 percent?

Is that the fault of white America or, first and foremost, a failure of the black community itself?

As for racism, its ugliest manifestation is in interracial crime, and especially interracial crimes of violence. Is Barack Obama aware that while white criminals choose black victims 3 percent of the time, black criminals choose white victims 45 percent of the time?

Is Barack aware that black-on-white rapes are 100 times more common than the reverse, that black-on-white robberies were 139 times as common in the first three years of this decade as the reverse?

We have all heard ad nauseam from the Rev. Al about Tawana Brawley, the Duke rape case and Jena . And all turned out to be hoaxes. But about the epidemic of black assaults on whites that are real, we hear nothing.

Sorry, Barack, some of us have heard it all before, about 40 years and 40 trillion tax dollars ago. This needs to be passed around because, this is a message everyone needs to hear!!!

OK………..will you pass it on ?

YES. I did but will you?

Because I’m for a better America

I am

Not racist,

Not violent,

Just not silent anymore.

27. This monologue represents the epitome of crypto-racism on every point.

28. Tell Dr.Estwick theory and practice are two separate things and CONTEXT too!!!

29. For those who do not know, Pat Buchanan is an out and out racist and has never hidden his intense hatred and distaste for black people.

30. David wrote “Up to now the subject of ‘free’ education has been a sacred cow.”

Even though we have had to pay for our children’s education in Canada, I am sympathetic to Bajan students have to pay to go to UWI but may not be able to afford to do so.

In Canada parents can work at 2 jobs and students can work part time while studying if is necessary.
    You can’t do that in Barbados so Government has to find a way to ensure that all motivated young Bajans have the opportunity to go to UWI.

This may also be a good time to place an emphasis on degree and diploma programs that make graduates employable.

I have already called for an Industrial Design program at BCC, SJPP or UWI.

31. Hants…………students in Canada also have access to grants depending on what they are studying.

iabingy……………you are a very destructive fraud.

32. @ Hants

Industrial Design to do what? Do you know we have Industrial Designers in Barbados?

33. Some of us in the diaspora look back with envy at our brethren who were able to send their offspring to UWI without having to worry about where “de money coming from” while we (not including “Moneybrain”) have to scrimp and save to ensure our charges have a chance to succeed in this dog eat dog world. Today as many high students are entering or preparing to go back to University I heard a sobering report on the radio that students in this province have an accumulated debt of $20,000-$30,000 on completion of their studies, if they go on to graduate school the debt burden is worse.

Anybody with half a brain would (or should) know that any B’dos Gov’t whether B or D couldn’t afford to finance public education at University level indefinitely without catastrophic results, that it has continued for this long is a minor miracle and this proposal is a small sign that sanity is returning.

The noise emanating from certain quarters about these fees reminds me of the chatter when allowances were taxed, but Bajans have this peculiar trait of wanting to milk the cow but don’t want to feed it.

34. What bothers me is this DLP is always spouting their rhetoric that Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. Pray tell me how they can now come and destroy the society by putting so many hardships on the same society?

If as we saw tonight, the Dems seem to be doing a slight back back based on the public outcry, if the lack of money is the problem that they have to charge fees……………..then where the hell are they going to find the money to loan to students to on lend to the UWI? They think we are fools? Ever since the dead king first budget, he said that the loan ceiling was to be raised to 100,000. It aint that yet.

We will soon have a broken society at the rate these thugs are going.

35. @ Sargeant
    Are you serious? Stuuupse

36. @Sargeant,

Some in the diaspora will have to send tuition fees instead of barrels.

The various Ex-Bajan organisations in the diaspora can create Scholarships for some of the students who need help to go to UWI.

37. Deep, Beautiful, Statesmanlike speech from Owen Arthur. Poor and inappropriate one so far from Freundel Stuart.

38. In 2013 with the our economy in the toilet the level of debate is also in the toilet. NOT impressed.

On 16 August 2013 03:42, Barbados Underground

39. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

David ,@ They all the same crooks on both side of the floor. One will talk and the other will appear to be on the people side ..
    BLP/DLP do the same thing and now there is loud mouth crook MIA acting like she cares? Oh Please , She took many from Violet Beckles, so hard at times she could not even pay he water Bill, But how sweet for MIA to pay it for her after taking so much ,
    These people dont look the way they look because they care , The look of the Devil is upon them . Source of Funds and Fraud will let you see clear why there is no FOI just the MOF.
    Both PARTIES is still having a Party in the peoples pockets, It seem more like they making a power move for more cash for self , Lets hope the feed like goldfish and eat till they burst ,Remember they pay them self more money in these so called hard times.
    David the PM must be rolling over in his grave and what is his Wife Not saying? Someone need to put a mic in her face, Love to know what was Davids words before he died?
    David at BU, People send in their comment base on what they know or think .
    What is comment ?and what do you think? or know to what you are not saying. . Many comment may repeat it self , for We dealing with the same crooks saying the same thing over and over with no movement not protest of any kind.
    Now after the vote buying we can see they have a fraud mandate to F-up all things. What do you think we need to do Mighty David @ BU? Dont ask me for if i post it you will just Block it.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC
    Authorities seize more than $500,000 from vessel in USVI

ST THOMAS, USVI — US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) marine interdiction agents early on Thursday seized $$580,917 from an abandoned vessel near Brewer’s Bay. Two individuals on board the vessel absconded.

Near 2 am, a CBP Midnight Express interceptor vessel crew approached a vessel with two persons on board as it moved toward Brewer’s Bay. As the marine unit came near the vessel, it failed to heave to and fled, impacting the beach at a high rate of speed.

On impact the two individuals absconded and ran from the scene. The CBP agents inspected the vessel and discovered several duffle bags containing a large quantity of US currency currently estimated to be in the vicinity of $500,000.

CBP agents, in conjunction with the Virgin Islands Police Department SWAT team, conducted a thorough search of the area but were unable to locate the vessel’s occupants.

Homeland Security Investigations (HSI) received custody of the seized vessel and currency for further investigation.

41. @Prodigal Son

then where the hell are they going to find the money to loan to students to on lend to the UWI?

Isnt it a revolving loan scheme? You trying to out foolish onions and miller

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Karma | August 16, 2013 at 7:40 AM |
    “Isnt it a revolving loan scheme?”

That statement definitely shows up your ‘idiotic’ ignorance about the student loan funding scheme.
    FYI, the current scheme would have to be recapitalized or topped up with a major injection of money equivalent to at least 3 years tuition fees for students entering the UWI.
    The revolving “balancing” mechanism to maintain the integrity of the massively expanded system would only kick in when the students graduate and start to repay the loans plus interest.

So the question is rather pertinent and its validity still stands:
    Where would the government get this additional capital from to up the scheme?
    From the Consolidated fund? From UNESCO? From IADB? From Scotia?
    Or from a bond floated on the local financial market so that rich and well-off loyal sons and daughters like you can subscribe?

You can pick sense from that foolishness or continue to believe in the lies peddled by this administration headed by the hypocritical turncoat man at the top.

43. Karma

Yes we all know it is a revolving loan scheme but have you not heard the same loan administrators lamenting how much money is owed and that people were not paying back the money. So much so, they were thinking about going to publishing the names of the defaulters to name and shame. So with the government so cash strapped, loans not being repaid, tell me how much money will be “revolving” to be available for thousand of poor Barbadians.

You all dont think, just attack anyone who dare to present another view.

So much for the silly phrase………..Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. These wild boys did not realise that without a good economy, there will be no society! Bunch of jackasses!

44. Thank you miller, I did not see your post before I responded to the karma elite.

I heard the PM last night saying that he has to pay for his daughter. The man is such a blasted liar…….what he did not say is that his daughter already has a first degree which she took many years to finish and that since he became PM, she decided to go back to UWI to do law. It has always been that you pay for a second degree.

He who always claimed that his mother was a maid and had not for EWB, he could not have become a lawyer. The same obnoxious Donville Inniss, his parents had a lot of children, he claimed his father was a fisherman and had not for EWB, he could not have gone to UWI. Now all of them are denying the same sons and daughters of maids and fishermen a university education.Talk about kicking down the ladder.

No one in their right minds would deny that something will eventually have to be done but not in these hard times when the same school leavers cannot find jobs to save to go later………and dont tell them to become entrepreneurs…no one has money to buy anything other than pay bills and buy food.

We always knew that the DLP had a problem with a graduate in most households as let’s face it, there are some homes where education is not a priority.

Will someone please teach Stinkliar to how to use standard English? Heard him using some bad grammar on the 7.30 news this morning!

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

We wonder what is ac’s position on the massively large National Debt that the BLP is alleged to have left with the DLP holding the moneybag containing its repayment burden.

Now that the government intends to borrow US $500 million (with the possibility of reducing the net future liability by US $250 million by the early retirement of two issues due in 2021-22 but at a higher interest rate) does this mean it is OK to borrow to shore up the foreign reserves which, based on reliable reports, will almost be depleted by Xmas?

We also wonder what effects this unusually massive increase in borrowing for consumption purposes would have on the financial analysis ratios used by the credit rating agencies and IMF to assess the fiscal and monetary health of Barbados.

This government can use its slender majority to railroad this resolution to significantly increase the national foreign through Parliament in the dead of night surreptitiously aided and abetted by a rather physically tired and oratorical worn out sleepy Opposition and from the sleeping eyes and ears of the naïve public but it will NOT get pass the sharp probing minds and prying eyes of the credit rating agencies.

Go ac, sing for your supper tonight by justifying this breach of promise not to saddle future generations with large financial millstones just to satisfy the conspicuous consumption habits of very materialistic Bajans of today.

The young people of this country have received a lifelong double whammy of strangling debt burden in just 3 days.
    Their own future debt to pay off for their own investment in tertiary education (quite justifiably worthwhile) and now the national debt to shoulder because of the conspicuous consumption opulent high living of their shortsighted fore parents.

We also wonder if Bush Tea the Mr. T of BU would agree with this one or he would show his true hypocritical yellow colours and back this massive DLP initiated foreign loan that is solely designed to further sell out the country to “foreigners” forcing black Bajans to be economic serfs just hewing political wood and drawing culturally contaminated water.
    Let us quote Bushie for the sake of clarification just in case we are accused of “misunderstanding” him:

“Even if Bim was wealthy and rolling in cash, Bushie would end the free education shiite. It is an exercise in MENDICANCY, and is the CAUSE of the LAZY attitude of graduates – which is why Trinidadians, Canadians, English and others own and run every shiite in Barbados.
    It is creating a bunch of lazy, retarded, “Gimme Gimme” citizens who are UNABLE to compete – because they are accustomed to getting everything provided.”

Over to you ac & BT!

46. IT IS AMAZING THAT WE HAVE SO MANY GRADUATES IN BIM AND THE POOR OUTPUT WE ARE GETTING. TELLS ME ERROL BARROW WAS RIGHT IN HIS MIRROR IMAGE SPEECH AND HIS TALK YEARS AGO WITH ME THAT HE FAILED THE MOST IMPORTANT PART OF HIS MISSION. THAT FAILED PART WAS TO IMPART A SENSE OF HUMBLE LIFESTYLE THAT LEADS TO THE POSITIVE DEVELOPMENT OF BARBADOS IN ALL AREAS OF LIFE. WE KNOW HAVE SELFISH SELFCENTRE LIFESTYLES THAT ARE TAKING THE COUNTRY DOWN THE DRAIN IN ALL AREAS.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The miller does not refer to the man as a lying hypocrite because he (the miller) is perceived as anti-DLP but because he knows this man and the same by his own actions and reactions has proved the miller to be right.

His volt-face position on the funding of university education is sufficient evidence to convict the man as a stranger to the truth.
    He made it convincingly pellucid that he knew all along that the government, past and present, was untenably incapable of funding free university education into the future.
    Yet the hypocrite, previous to the recent elections, was unassailably defending his party’s commitment to this DLP sacred cow and bastion of DLP electoral success knowing full well this was a unrealistically untenably impractical position given the facts of the fiscal state of affairs and advice received about the dire consequences of the current UWI funding arrangement.

He has selfishly achieved his personal power driven objectives so scruples and principles can be castaway from their philosophically abused political moorings and can be shamefully sacrificed on the altar of lies and hypocrisy.

Truth and knowledge will always be my sword and guiding light.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“You trying to out foolish onions and miller”

I like what you told PRODIGAL SON. They are all birds of a feather.

49. karma got made shame when miller and I presented the truth and that he/she knew not of what he/she wrote. So he/she is the one who got shown up as the ignorant one!

Ha, ha!

50. Don,t make me laugh this early morning. Wait u think this balloning debt happened overnight. U should shut to f .. up u F..king hypocrite u lambast the govt for asking people to pull the country out of debt most of which was atrributed to the BLP 14years of vodoo economics . now u proceed on a tirade using the “poor” to whip up frenzy amomg the populace. now talking crap about govt putting more debt on country by additional borrowing. Who de f.. going pay these bills.