501 responses to “Barbados Budget 2013”

1. Bush Tea pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease. You and Observer are being disingenuous.

You can’t afford free bus fares but you can afford tuition fees? You can’t afford summer camps but you can afford tuition fees? We speak as if UWI students are from Mars and not Barbados. We can’t sell SSA because you will be charged a user fee..wtf is the Municipal Tax? We can’t privatise TB because fares would go up and subsidised travel stopped but we cut the amount by $15m, where will the deficit come from if not increased fares. Are we no longer more than a society? If there was opportunity for DLP yardfowls to suck UWI dry the tuition fees would remain.

@ Miller

What online what!!! Video conferencing is the better option. Online education lacks the type of interaction and engagement that is necessary to grooming the type of work force required.

2. Miller unless video conferencing is the ‘online’ you refer to.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

well well

“money for refurbishment of hotels should not be spent buying overly expensive BMWs and Mercedes nor sending their offsprings to expensive schools abroad,”

You hit the nail on the head.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tell me why

You mean to TELL me that Dr. Agard was actually awake for a change, and I miss that?

5. Maxine McClean –GET OFF THE F.ING RADIO

YOU ARE AN F F

F********* FRAUD

6. Bare crap
    from Maxine McClean

FRAUD !!!
    FRAUD!!!
    FRAUD!!!

7. Carson…………i do know what has been happening to the taxpayer’s money for decades when handed over to the minorities, it is just fair to cover every avenue, no one should be allowed to dispense with taxpayer’s money with self-serving intents and that includes the politicians, if the taxpayers are no longer allowed to fund tertiary education for their own kids on the island, the minorities should also no longer be allowed to feast on taxpayers money like it’s an entitlement or a right deserved for them only.

Moneybrain………where are you, why are you so silent, ya sweet woman missing ya.

8. we need people like the kiffin simpsons, cow williams, and david seales to run this country, because it seems like this crop of modern-day black politicians cannot do the job. i am a black, black bajan man.

9. Earl Lashley…………….who have you think been helping to run the country into the ground, don’t get tied up, that is half the problem on the island, like Harriett Tubman of the slave Underground Railway to freedom once said so many decades ago, she would love to help thousands more slave escape slavery, if only they knew they were slaves……..

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

earl lashley@ the same names you calling for is the same dam crooks that got us here with the help of some unnamed crooks in the back drop.
    You have a master and you looking from help from the same masters to fix what they have planned,, that is working so well for them? These crooks make money on both sides Fraud or not, So we still dealing with the fraud,
    In order to see the truth , you must look deep at the people you think you trust ,

Trust me not @@@@ we need people like the kiffin simpsons, cow williams, and david seales to run this country@@@ Oh MY God , We are so sorry to see first hand how deep this is , All the way to your SOUL,, But there is help.

Beat you and blame you for the beating , rape you and said you need not dress like that ,Bring drugs and sell and blame you for you habit .
    over tax you and blame you for not working harder to pay it , WOW

11. how much did david seale pay for Four Square Plantation when he was the Chairman of BDB/BNB? Was it Bds$10,000.00 for 400 acres??

12. @Adrian

Can you expand on the decision to buy Silver Sands?

Is this the same hotel when drawdown on the relief fund and quick folded?

Did you hear that young bright Barbados on the afternoon show today who expressed her frustration at being rejected by government after she shopped around some ideas and proposals?

13. @Don Marshall

Just make your points and forget about anonymous people.You have BU’s respect.

14. Bds$0.0005/sq foot?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

saint Pavlov

Some figure like that.

16. @ Enuff
    Bush Tea pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease. You and Observer are being disingenuous.
    OK
    Bushie is presuming that you wish to engage in an intelligent discussions as opposed to the childish banter started by MIa in response to a half hearted attempt by the MoF to be realistic.

Education is an interesting construct. It is about the DEVELOPMENT of a people.
    Back in the 1950s when Bushie was first exposed to ‘education’, ordinary Bajans were trapped in a cycle of poverty and ignorance, to the extent that we needed expat teachers to show us the way.

The decision to provide free education AT GREAT EXPENSE paid by the state, then was a VISIONARY move.

Fast forward 70 years to 2013.
    Bushie is now millionaire and all his children have at least one degree each.
    Barbados is high in the development index
    Barbadians enjoy free education, free health care, National insurance coverage and pensions…..benefits that are not even available in MOST rich countries.

There is a downturn in economic fortunes – and you have a problem with asking those Bajans who benefited from 70 years of free education to contribute to their children and grand children’s education….!?!?….when those who have so far failed to benefit after 70 years will still have access to special assistance?
    Sick!

Even if Bim was wealthy and rolling in cash, Bushie would end the free education shiite. It is an exercise in MENDICANCY, and is the CAUSE of the LAZY attitude of graduates – which is why Trinidadians, Canadians, English and others own and run every shiite in Barbados.
    It is creating a bunch of lazy, retarded, “Gimme Gimme” citizens who are UNABLE to compete – because they are accustomed to getting everything provided.

With respect to bus fares, camps and constituency councils, Bushie is neither here or there.
    If free bus fares cause fewer persons to import expensive cars and fuel, then maybe all bus fares should be free…
    If camps reduce juvenile crime in the carefree Summers, reduce drownings, and encourage positive relationships among youth – then bushie would increase that spend
    If constituency councils allowed more Bajans to get involved in community work, to develop as leaders, and provided more access to citizens then all hail to them….
    After 70 years of expensive educational development, if we still need to do what Barrow did back there, then we are even bigger BRASS BOWLS than Bushie had calculated….

17. Who is listening to Boyce? Gesus.

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Scaper | August 15, 2013 at 8:38 AM |

“I fail to see how asking students to pay 16% of the cost of university education in a country at barbados’ stage of development constitutes a major setback to access”

Forgot to add that if you do the maths that comes out to 19% and not 16%. Just for reference the full cost would have been US $52140
    @
    If your numbers work out , are you saying that the govt put a price on the education and then the student pays the VAT on the price cost the govt comes up its value ? 17.5 is really 18%

19. You call that intelligent and contradicting yourself Bushie? Why not apply the cost-benefit analysis to both scenarios rather than just your preferences? Is it the free education or what is being taught? Stupse

20. Bushy said:

“It is an exercise in MENDICANCY, and is the CAUSE of the LAZY attitude of graduates – which is why Trinidadians, Canadians, English and others own and run every shiite in Barbados.
    It is creating a bunch of lazy, retarded, “Gimme Gimme” citizens who are UNABLE to compete – because they are accustomed to getting everything provided.”

It is also obviously creating very programmed people who are still not able of seeing that the tertiary education is to assist in them efficiently becoming capable of managing their own country THEMSELVES, their own lives, their own future and those of their offspring for generations to come and not sit idly and lazily by and agree or wish for or let anyone else on the island or off the island do it for them.

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Saint Pavlov | August 15, 2013 at 2:22 PM |

how much did david seale pay for Four Square Plantation when he was the Chairman of BDB/BNB? Was it Bds$10,000.00 for 400 acres?? @
    Saint Pavlov@ Foursquare Acreage 1067 , 2 Roods, St .Philip ,Dr .J owner. We can only see how he can get a good price like that is the owner died and they took over the estate , We know David Seale a good crook. Who sold it to him unless he sold it to his self ,,

22. WONDERING HOW THE STUDENTS AT ALEXANDRA PERFORMED

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff | August 15, 2013 at 2:42 PM |
    “You call that intelligent and contradicting yourself Bushie?”

He just can’t help himself. He is just afflicted with this form of intellectual schizophrenia and when it is drawn to his paranoid attention resorts to condescending cussing and crass innuendo. If that is his style and MO he can carry on smartly. But it does not change the fact that he is contradicting himself.

Is Bushie arguing that Education period should not be free or is he referring to tertiary/university education only? He is given an escape path and is allowed to inveigle his way out of this one.

Can Bushie tell us when free access to education was introduced across the board were there summer camps provided by government along with free bus fares?

Would he agree to the elimination of free school meals, uniforms and books and the introduction to a means testing for only those children in need and easily earmarked as socially inferior whom Bushie very well remember from his school days including park food provided as largesse by the same childish Mia Grandpa practicing rotten borough politics as is currently done with the constituency councils?

Is Bushie suggesting the other social and community organizations like the Church, Scouts, Girl Guides Lions Club, Rotary, YMCA, Red Cross etc have been a waste of time and the Constituency Councils would do a much better job?

24. The DLP destroyed Barbados
    Tuesday night

From 2008
    Taxes Taxes Taxes
    Hardship Hardship
    …..and the people returned them to GOVT Feb
    serves them right
    jokers !!!

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, sadly I didn’t hear the young lady, as I was listening Parliament.

Silver Sands Resort.

Yes! they received close to $1 million in TIRF monies and then closed, laying off 130 plus people. What concerns me, is WHO will make the decisions as to how it will be upgraded and re-positioned in the marketplace. Which consultants will be brought it to decide and direct the Chinese?
    It didn’t work with GEMS, so what additional Government ‘expertise’ is available now. At this point of time I can see it further destabilising the private hotel sector, but I will try and keep an open mind, just in case.

26. Enuff
    Education is not like selling fish cakes.

It is about National DEVELOPMENT, so what is needed – and even expedient at one stage, may be a HINDRANCE at another stage.

It requires intelligence and wisdom to see this…(so we must excuse Milller 🙂 )

For example, in the development of a child, it is wise and expedient to provide toys and encourage play at the infant stage….. Doing so for a 20 year-old is not very smart.

It makes sense to provide everything to an infant; encourage a per-teen to earn an allowance; expose a teenager to holiday work; and expect an adult to support themself….

THAT is development.

Where do you see a 40 year old crying to be housed and kept – except in Barbados’ educational development?
    This is how brass bowls are created….
    No wonder they can’t run one shiite….

Tell us Miller, what have you ever run successfully? 🙂

27. Ministers doing chyte
    and justifying it
    with pretty talk
    hear
    Donville Inniss

——————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaagga !

28. @ Due Diligence
    Where are the rapidly growing manufacturers today

Not members of the BCCI if they have any sense

29. You Donville Inissssnake
    Stuart
    Chris
    and all ah wunna
    get degrees free
    wunna dogs
    He descends low
    Donville Innisssssssnake
    to say that MAM’s fees could pay for the degrees
    really ?

30. Tired of the talk
    Donville Inniss
    foolish talk

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 15, 2013 at 3:33 PM |

My success is not in this country so any comparison with yours is justifiably irrelevant.
    But to bite at your red herring let me ask you how much foreign exchange have you ever earned for your country?

However, let us get back to the meat of the matter.
    You still have NOT addressed the issues raised about the level of education you would like to see “privatized” and the possible abolition of the other forms of DLP encouraged State sponsored mendicancy. Remember the refrain: Barbados is Not an Economy, it is First and Foremost a Society
    Just remember Bushie, it is your uncompromisingly philosophical stance against the privatization or outsourcing of any social services (including education) currently provided by the State. Unless of course you want to be a turncoat hypocrite and boldfaced liar like ac and her political boss man.

What about your suggested preference of supplanting the traditional community-based social organizations with that of the partisan politically controlled Constituency Councils?

32. @ Bushie

No Bushie the earning of the stipend is NOT the objective, it is about building competences through volunteering as has always been the case prior to the DLP camps. That is DEVELOPMENT!! You are an intellectual fraud.

33. Up to now the subject of ‘free’ education has been a sacred cow. Now that the government is broke which has forced it to touch the subject makes it as good a time as any to debate the subject.

34. @ Enuff
    HUH?!
    You talking ’bout the same thing as Bushie….?
    Help a humble bush man to follow ya….

@ Miller
    You off with your ‘straw man building’ again…? LOL!!!

35. The United States in 2007 entered a recession and existed it in 2009. It, the United States bailed out its auto industry, banks and successfully tamed Wall Street. President Obama has in its face a deficit, the largest of any country. The deficit bloomed from two wars during the Bush Administration. The deficit and or the wars had nothing to do with Obama but both became his problems. Obama but must keep his eyes on the prize but yet has a job, he has work to do. North Dakota is booming oil. The housing market, Silicon Valley and the auto industry is again vibrant and strong. Retail, though, sings to the tune of a different song. North Dakota maybe singing Love and Happiness but theThe Retail Industry song says “The Thrill is Gone” It’s struggling. Obama yet has work to do.

Governor Rick Snyder took office in 2011 and immediately pushed for more powers for the state to intervene in distressed cities and schools. After voters repealed PA4 in November 2012, he ignored critics and signed another one because detroit and other cities in michigan were near death. Snyder is not well liked but rushed to rescue Detroit. Problems in Detroit are accumulative of several decades and had nothing to do with Snyder. But he is state governor. He has a job. He has work to do. Detroit is at risk of losing its billion dollar art collection and more. Blame and shame belong to its elected officials who didn’t know what in the hell they were doing. Blame and shame likewise belong to its citizens for tolerating them.

The DLP many not be liked but making effort to salvage Barbados. Alike Detroit, problems in Barbados are accumulative of several decades and had nothing to do with Sinckler. Blame and shame belong to elected officials who didn’t know what in the hell they were doing. Blame an shame likewise belong to its citizens for tolerating them.

The Nation News (08/15/2013) says government is now ready to pay Al Barrack. Owen Arthur in June 11, 2012 tells the Nation News, it [the economy] is a mess right now but we will fix it. The Barbados Labor Party sees it as a duty to remove Barbadians from the grips of this current government”. The Al Barrack problem then had not been resolved. His administration could have fixed it but didn’t. The BLP left office in 2008 but left fires burning that are still burning: Violet Beckles, Al Barrack, etc. Days later, after June 2012, Mottley on July 11, 2012 shows face at the Nation News tells it that government owes more than $100 million to the University of West Indies (UWI) Cave Hill Campus and called for an “urgent” permanent solution to the mounting debt problem. Laugh. Go ahead and laugh. Laugh, laugh, laugh. Government at then still owed Al Barrack millions, a mounting debt problem that occurred via Owen Arthur and the BLP.

That BLP group I tell you is thrilling and suspencefull. Film maker Michael Bay and or Jerry Bruckheimer should consider them for movie making. Box office hit for sure.

36. Bushie

“encourage a per-teen to earn an allowance; expose a teenager to holiday work”

I interpreted this to be the reason why you support the summer camps. Even if I were wrong my point remains ref pay vs volunteering. You don’t see the parallel between wanting everything FREE and wanting to be PAID for everything?

37. Wait, this parade of fools is best Barbados can do!

38. Donville Inniss was correct in his speech just now. Anyone who wishes to go to UWI can still go. The Government still pays the economic costs and tuition costs which are not a lot can be financed via students revolving loan. He showed the repayment amounts and justified why it is the right thing to do. He also admitted that without free university education he could not be where he is today. He was honest and candid. I love his expose on Mia. See is crying crocodile tears whilst making millions of dollars in legal fees on Gov’t projects via the private investors. His analysis was spot on.

39. Bear in mind Donville and Mia are also best friends, this is all for the benefit of their yardfowls to argue over and keep the division among the people intact, we can ask Donville what are the private investors he is reaping millions off that passes through government projects, their past wheeling and dealing is catching up with all of them now they have been forced to officially acknowledge that the island is broke.

40. That should read:

Who are the private investors.

41. Donvile Inniss unlike his colleagues speaks with a freedom because he is comfortable financially.

42. Just heard that Dr. Malcolm and the late Carol Grant’s son is a Barbados Scholar for 2013……….congratulations.

43. where is Owen Arthur”s contribution in this debate ?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Is it true? | August 15, 2013 at 6:20 PM |

Where is the PM’s contribution to this debate?

We await with ba(i)ted breath his explanation for his volte-face regarding his unassailable position on the sacred cow called free university education.

45. It is just mind blowing how every DLP MP can get up and support the paying on tuition at UWI after each one except Steve Blackett received an education at UWI.

I agree with Trevor Prescod, the minister could have gone for an education tax so that every working person would pay.

These Dems are coming over as rattled like the gorilla now on. Heaven help Barbados. I am amazed that these Dems have the nerve to say that the people of Barbados returned them to office……………….shouldn’t they say that they bought the election.

Wuhloss the gorilla just said that they were returned based on their performance! They like jokes…they have been skinning their mouths at every thing! Shameful!

46. Like vat this too shall past.the people would getover it and life would go on .just listening to these blp yardfowls want to nake me throw up. in any event this education plan was enforced by a DLP govt and now it is up to the DLP to make any changes necessary in the best interest of the country. the few yard fowls that talking crap today would be the same ones cussing the govt ifthey had instead closed the the doors of THE University. steupse……Wunna really take bajans for fools.

47. Why is it that these boneheaded Dems cannot understand that people have a problem with them keeping the constituency councils while asking students to pay tuition fees.

Up to now Barbadians do not understand what is the purpose of the constituency councils other than to be used as the fatted calf for their yardfowls to feast on, chief here on BU one CCC.

If the minister had said ……………….for the 19 months, we will disband the councils and use that funding for the UWI tuition but no we had a foreigner in our Parliament who does not have a thing to worry about moneywise……backing this measure. And to boot…next few weeks, they will have money to fund a football tournament to honour a dead fraud.

48. Two questions:

Can someone explain the 36 temporary staff sent home from the BWA today?

Are we concerned about the lack of explanation of the 300 million in forex which has dissipated in 3 months.

On 15 August 2013 23:08, Barbados Underground

49. Man wuunna need to go get alife wunna sound like a greedy selfserving bunch of negrcrats .what de hell is wrong with people sharing some of their children.s tuition. after all the govt didn.t abandon these people .the govt still going to share the biggest load. man wunna really showing some bajan stupidty fuh real

50. Thanks for the explanation Enuff….Bushie’s bad…

By ““encourage a pre-teen to earn an allowance; expose a teenager to holiday work…and expect an adult to be self-supporting”, Bushie was trying to demonstrate the DEVELOPMENTAL process as applied to a child.
    The parallel for a young country is similar. In the early stages, free access and some spoon-feeding is good and needed. As the country develops, more RESPONSIBILITY should be given to the pre-teen and teenage citizens so that by adulthood, that child is well prepared to look after itself, eventually a family, and hopefully to provide a level of leadership for future youths.

Insisting on continuing free education after 50 years of independence, and after two generations of graduates have been deposited in the society,and after the level of education has become a bragging point of the country…is clearly the same as babysitting a big able hard back adult child.
    …And with the same results as one would expect…a soft, weak, gutless individual incapable of looking after its own affairs…far less looking after a family or providing national leadership.

One does not produce diamonds by cuddling the raw source materials in wool….