- Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
- Share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window) LinkedIn
- Share on Telegram (Opens in new window) Telegram
- Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
- Share on Threads (Opens in new window) Threads
- Share on X (Opens in new window) X
- More

501 responses to “Barbados Budget 2013”
Waait who squeezing Richard Sealy’s balls?
what level of debate on BU. Stupse…….. the debate in parliament should have been more concern to YOU than any thing the political yardfowls say. and David to be truthful Mia add nothing or brought nothing to the table, you must be disappointed,,,
“To clarify, BU’s disappointment is directed at BU commenters”
Please teacher, do you like my comments?
ADRIAN LOVERIDGE
This news is going to upset you. Dass says she is happy with the measures in the budget with regards to the Tourism product.
You and DAVID will not like this at all.
I await your response as to why she is mistaken.
I wonder if the jackasses which sit on the side of the governing party ever thought of God and Country and Family.Poor lot.What can one expect out of nothingness!The Fatted Calf Brigade can only think of uh food bwoi.Tek it now!
Gabriel Tackle
Go and take a rest and stop brown nosing Mia, it is unseemly.
Carson
This is not proud about or even celebrate. This is going cause a lot of discomfort for Goverment MP’s when they retreat to their constitutencies.
It is this constitutency pressure could cause a defection. Be careful son, pride goes before the fall.
As long as the government manages the money efficiently they are pledging to tourism and not let the Dass’, Springers’ and the hoteliers just casually get their hands on it to waste, making absolutely sure something comes out of it this time since they once again insist on sinking millions in a product that no one really cares for right now because of the overpriced destination, they should at least make absolutely sure that the taxpayer’s money is not squandered, i realize you have to keep reminding everyone that the money in the treasury belongs to the taxpayers, most of whom are poor. Any loans Barbados receives on the international market has to be repaid by the taxpayers, most of whom are poor.
Twistorian
“It is this constitutency pressure could cause a defection. Be careful son, pride goes before the fall.”
So I am to take it that only the Hon. Chris Sinckler was aware of the contents of the budget? No other member of the DLP , whether Prime Minister,Minister, backbencher knew what the Hon. Minister of Finance was bringing to the House?
@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 14, 2013 at 7:35 PM |
“Theatrics man, Theatrics!!!”
Reminds you of David Thompson?
What has become of the Pegasus Hotel tapes? What about the evidence of wire tapping you and your friends have against Dottin and Mottley, aren’t these props stowed away for the same stage at the DLP nook and cranny bar?
Miller
“What about the evidence of wire tapping you and your friends have against Dottin”
Stop telling lies. What “evidence of wire tapping ” I have?
@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 14, 2013 at 8:31 PM |
Have you found the solution to the $66.4 million payroll adjustment yet or are we to look for it written in the MoF handout?
We believe you should be more taken up with the pending ‘discharge’ of the Minister of Labour E. Byer-Suckoo who has fallen out of favour with the BWU top brass and trusted DLP lieutenant. Maybe she failed to satisfy the little tin pot cretin for a G S.
The question to you CCC the know-it-all in the DLP camp, which “P” is more powerful: Pussy or Politics?
Well Well. | August 14, 2013 at 8:23 PM
Well Well your most sensible post ever or did someone steal your handle.
Passing………don’t worry, it’s me.
Miller
I know that you are a BLP die hard but write something sensible every now and then!
wait all this talk about mia respond and no compliments from the big mcgafee gorilla miller. i hear she struggling to explain tourism wait now it is aruba vs barbados, the little pitbull got more bark than bite RUFF !rough…
From FACEBOOK
So suddenly evah body in B’dos wanta go to UWI but de budget stop dem. Boy I love this place. Anyhow hopefully those who will now have to “pay” will take university education serious; attend group meetings, do tutorial projects and hand in projects in a timely manner, turn up for lectures and tutorials, sit exams with a goal of passing them, and the often heard sentiment of “I aint care if I fail dah” would become a thing of the past.
eRIC lEWIS
Carson………..with all that talk you are giving, i understand that the same ministers in the DLP who put an end to taxpayer funded tertiary education in Barbados themselves took nearly forever to get their degrees at UWI and some have questionable degrees, say it ain’t so, tell me that is not true.
Harlem
BY LANGSTON HUGHES
What happens to a dream deferred?
Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore—
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over—
like a syrupy sweet?
Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.
Or does it explode?
What’ s a “questionable degree”?
either it was issued by UWI or it was not!
Imagine Carson trying to insinuate somebody ain’t bright. Wow just hilarious. I remember a story, a donkey walking behind a elephant. The donkey started to talk to the elephant bottom saying ” you is de biggest ass I ever see” the elephant turn around and ask the donkey “Really? You don’t own mirrors”. Carson by how you typing ignorance you remind me of that donkey.
The likes of Carson are part of the problem. Here he is supporting tuition fees at UWI, but collects/ed a stipend for doing jack shyte as a Councillor.
There is only one thing left now for Dr. Estwick to do and that is cross the floor
You did not answer my first question Carson, but some people believe that the level of intelligence displayed by some of the ministers seem like their degrees were bought rather than earned, not to mention the fact that some of them took an extraordinary length of time to finish their programs at UWI…………can you confirm or deny, be warned that other people attended UWI with some of the same ministers.
DLP (formerly CBC) TV
You BLP supporters like you all cut from the same bolt of cloth. Let me tell you what I just told “Miller”:-
“I know that you are a BLP die hard but write something sensible every now and then!”
Carson………….by the way, some of these female US ambassadors ain’t too bright themselves, their hair is just filled with peroxide and leaking into their brains, i would not put too much stock in what they say regarding someone from the Caribbean being not too bright.
@miller etc at 2″11 pm…”We are sure that if Leroy Parris was made to pay the income tax on the millions he laundered via David Thompson business it would more than make up for any revenue loss from a few reverse tax credit cheaters.”
But miller etc. how you can say so?
Leroy Parris is not a leper. He is the Prime Minister’s friend.
the Prime Minister said so himself.
Carson C. Cadogan | August 14, 2013 at 7:35 PM |
I really had to laugh.
Mia pretending to sift through a million pieces of paper to make her points. I
———————
CHECK THE DLP AND SEE WHO EMPLOYED THE SAME TACTICS
JUST ASKING
I thought you hated estwick, now you want him to cross the floor? “Wunna iz sumting else”.
The same thing happen with Mascol, he was the worst thing on Earth for the Barbados Labour Party until he joined your ranks, mind you he is still the same man!
Mascol was even pushed in front of MIA and called “Co-Leader”.
GEORGE BELLE wait late to see that this DLP GOVERNMENT is the WORST.
I have been saying so for a long long time
I was the first to say so. Bow to me George and give me half of your gratuity and pension
@islandgal246 August 14, 2013 at 7:40 PM…Waait who squeezing Richard Sealy’s balls?
He got balls????
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Carson I along with other people on this blog have been talking sense on this blog but it either goes over your head or you can’t comprehend what “sense” is. My joke was intended to reach your level of understanding
Carson smokin’ … ha ha ha… Really I don’ how you manage to do wah you do with such ease … HA HA HA
@ac August 14, 2013 at 8:28 AM….u child education is important and it should be an unselfish need on your part to ensure she /he is prepared and equipped academically for a future .the govt role is to provide necessary schools or universties…beyond that the govt owes you nothing.
So ac, can I say to the government “I owe you nothing?” Shall I withhold my $25,000+ a year in taxes from a government that owes me nothing?
“Cause I ain’t owe the government nuffing niether. I didn’t trust nutting from this government.
Where I ever said that I hate Dr. Estwick ?
It is a very uncharitable of you Mr. Carson Cadogan to suggest such
I was touting Dr. Estwick to take up the leadership of the DLP.
I am a supporter of Dr. Estwick and Mr. Kellman.
I might not like the shite the DLP doing but I have nothing against these gentlemen and some others in the DLP. Just because I might rant against the foolishness, the DLP doing, I would not for one moment entertain the thought of hating. I am not that biased. I left that for people like you Carson Cadogan and AC two of the most biased people on this blog.
I am happy that we in Barbados can change a government and the country continues even though the DLP destroying a lot of what we know. The attack on Education is shameful !! But we have an option and the DLP can do the best and honourable thing –Go back to the polls.
The DLP does not have a mandate to do what theya re doing . The man I heard on Brasstacks today who Nefetari told to cool down sounds as though he could put the whole DLP before the Firing Squad.
It would be good if we had fair and balanced coverage of the debate with varying opinions shown but unfortunately the Nation newspaper, the public relations department of the opposition BLP will subject its readers to the biased opinions of Pat Hoyos, Albert Branford, Sanka Price, Harry Russell and the UWI fraud Tennyson Joseph.
Mark my words, the same people who were calling for the government to make big cuts to expenditure are now the same “journalists” who will be cursing the government for making the tough decisions.
@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 14, 2013 at 9:28 PM |
Here is something you can do to further impress Baffy.
Why not get you black brothers and sisters inside the DLP administration to consider an alternative way of funding the UWI?
Here is what to do. Why not swallow your pride the way you did to renege on your unassailable commitment to keeping tertiary education free at point of access and Demand from Britain some reparations for nearly 300 years of slavery and economic exploitation?
Part of the reparations should be in the form of paying for Black Bajans’ attendance at the UWI for the next 50 years.
That would be very visionary of you or do you have such black pride that you will never demand such repayment from your white masters like Adrian Loveridge whom you still adore in your schizophrenic love-hate relationship.
Of course CCC you will never consider such an idea coming from the miller the chief of staff in the BLP yardfowl brigade.
If only the PM had cut off the ear of the English Archbishop during his recent visit to Bim and held it for ransom Baffy would have been most pleased!
1. The government is meeting 84 percent of the cost of uwi education. That is a massive subsidy.
2. If you are going to have a phased program of 19 months with limited layoffs then the package needs to attack structural measures like uwi and ssa if its to be credible.
Do we want to fix the deficit and the reserves or not?
@ NationBLPnewspaper | August 14, 2013 at 10:58 PM |
We would agree with you if this DLP administration was not one-sided in its expenditure cuts aimed at easy targets.
If only the DLP administration had cut the constituency councils, free bus fares, summer camps, football tournaments and the size of the obese Cabinet we would have been only too willing to tell those Nation columnists to get lost.
But sadly we can’t and like you will be forced once again to read that lying newspaper at its BLP yardfowl columnists.
You see how it feels and looks having to break a pledge of not doing something like reading the same lying columnists in the Nation? Can you imagine how your PM feels and will look in the eyes of the ‘nation’ who backed this hypocrite and peddler of terminological inexactitudes in the last elections?
We will not be surprised if he chokes on his own big lying words and faints if and when he tries to justify his volte-face on the university education commitment. If the PM can sell his very moral soul on the altar of political expedience why can’t the Nation newspaper engage the services of paid BLP liars to satisfy the devil call Profit?
@ Observer | August 14, 2013 at 11:02 PM |
“Do we want to fix the deficit and the reserves or not?”
Yes indeed! But only when the parties involved stop with the lies and cover ups and come clean with the people by first admitting they misled the people.
Unless you too, Observer, can explain the disappearance of the $300 million in foreign reserves since April that the MoF himself hasn’t got a clue about we will continue to treat you rather suspiciously unreliable as we do regarding your failure to provide details on the “other” bond issue that was allegedly clashing with the Scotia /UWI funding arrangement.
Mark my words, the same people who were calling for the government to make big cuts to expenditure are now the same “journalists” who will be cursing the government for making the tough decisions.
Those who are opposed to the measures should tell the public what are the easy alternatives.
The Nation BLP newspaper is one sided and predictable. Over the next seven days, Barbados will see articles lambasting the DLP from
Clyde Masoll – Thursday Nation
Sanka Price – Friday editorial
Photo, Question Time, Eff I wuzz – Saturday Sun with Sanka Price
Pat Hoyos, Peter Wickham and Albert Branford Sunday.
Harry Russell on Monday
Tennyson Joseph on Tuesday
Sanka Price anti Sinckler column on Wednesday
There you have it – a week of one sided lambasting of the DLP in the Nation BLP newspaper to sway public opinion. The cycle would be repeated the following week. A disgrace.
Too many lawyers in Parliament …!
@Baffy. How can you say there are too many lawyers in Parliament. Wash your mouth out with soap (joking). If a country insists on not limiting its production of lawyers; if a country produces lawyers that are either unemployed or unemployable; if a country promotes some of those unemplyed and unemployable lawyers to the judiciary and other high functions within the justice system (like the DPP and the Sol Gen); mostly, however, if lawyers are encouraged to have a sense of entitlement instead of study and hard work; then where else can you expect them to fulfil that entitlement and to exercise their incompetence except in Parlaiment? After all, they have to find a way to get rich quick and it sure isn’t going to be from a dedicated and long-serving study and practice of law.
As I am sure you will agree, it is vital to have SOME lawyers in the executive. But there are a disproportionate number of lawyers (on BOTH sides). And unfortunately many of these lawyers are incompetent/unsuccessful as lawyers and venal and incompetent as members of the executive. While lawyers of the calibre of Errol Barrow (DLP), Tom Adams (BLP), Sleepy Smith (DLP), Bree St John(BLP), Henry Forde (BLP), Maurice King (DLP), Freundel Stuart (DLP) et al (in other words, lawyers who left highly successful and lucrative practices to serve their country – and took massive pay cuts in so doing) are most necessary and vital and we owe a great debt to them, we could well do without the also-rans.
And problem with competent and successful lawyers extends to the judiciary. It seems to me that with the sole exception of Mr Justice Randall Worrell (who had a highly successful criminal practice) I cannot think of a single judge (and I am willing to be corrected on this) who has had a successful and lucrative law practice.
Miller yuo just seem far more interested in scoring points, particularly political points than dealing with the point the country is at. The MOF came as clean as any MOF would have done in a crisis situation.
People are speaking about kicking dwon ladder, if these actions are not taken there will be no ladder at all
The government has already made a major concession by going for a phased program, to program would lose all credibility with investors and others if there were no tough measures and if there was any scaling back.
should the MOF have sent home more parents or ask for a 16% contribution to uwi which can be financed from the student revolving fund?
@Observer
The MoF has lost a lot of credibility because of the length of time he took to administer the bitter medicine. This is why independents/observers are pissed. Part of recovery is engendering confidence in the publics.
On 15 August 2013 09:43, Barbados Underground
@ Observer
Your party’s policy approach is illogical and inconsistent.
You have structural issues yet the likes of TB and SSA etc are sacrosanct but attack your most vital asset? How can government-owned public transportation and garbage collection be more important than an educated work force in Barbados? Absolute idiocy!! Mind you during the election the same DLP was busy telling the public they would have to pay for garbage collection and higher bus fares if the BLP won. What is the municipal tax and how will TB deal with the $15m cut–increased bus fares, no more free rides for the elderly?
After 19 months we will be back at square one–large deficit and little to no growth….deja vu!! How many ‘policies’ from the previous five Budgets have been implemented and have actually achieved their objectives?This government is clueless about prioritising and crafting effective policies.
Not sure where the my party thing is coming from:
I fail to see how asking students to pay 16% of the cost of university education in a country at barbados’ stage of development constitutes a major setback to access. For the vast majority of students the entire degree will cost US $7,500. The vast majority of students should be able to raise the financing at attractive terms from the revolving loan fund, credit unions and others. The university, the ministry of education and society at large should provide scholarships for those genuinely unable to raise the financing.
The SSA has been addressed with the 0.7% land tax, transport board’s budget has been cut by 15ml and qeh cut by 35ml so uwi has not been singled out.
@ Observer | August 15, 2013 at 5:29 AM |
Well Observer if you consider a call for telling the Truth and to come clean with the people a game of political point scoring, then I am guilty of scoring a home run or doing like Sir Gary and hitting six ‘sixes’ in an over.
If a call for a PM and his administration to lead by example and demonstrate their understanding of the crisis, and empathize with the people by cutting back expenditure in areas that are not vital to the running of the economy or society- even as a token gesture of their commitment to the country’s recovery efforts- then I am guilty.
If you, Observer, can justify why this administration have to continue funding constituency councils and football tournament and as a result marginalizing and compromising the government’s primary role and responsibility to maintain good public health and to ensure a working public transport system then I am guilty of scoring cheap political points.
If you are prepared to put aside your yellow partisan political blinkers and for once ask the PM to explain himself to the nation why he has climbed down from his previously unassailable position of never demanding of Bajan students direct payment of tuition fees to attend UWI in spite of the fact that he was fully aware of the financial crisis facing the UWI as a direct result of his administration’s failure to meet its annual funding obligation.
If you can explain on behalf of the MoF what exogenous financial and economic factors in the international arena have deteriorated to such an extent as to cause an almost meltdown of Barbados economy within such a short period from the presentation of the 2013-14 Estimates to the subsequent revelation that the country’s foreign reserves have fallen off dramatically with approx. $300 million inexplicably disappearing and triggering the immediate need to cut public expenditure back by $400 million then I am guilty of scoring political points.
Once you can address these matters of integrity and confidence then we can move forward with the restoration of investor confidence.
You already know the miller’s position on solutions to assist with the country’s economic situation starting with a programme of privatization to create more room for the private sector and young entrepreneurs.
Just remember, Observer, Barbados is first and foremost a Society over above an Economy and we should have decent and honourable men running both.
Over to you to score economic points not grounded in facts but to win a political argument based on lies and cover-up.
“Do not repeat anything you will not sign your name to.”
“Better keep yourself clean and bright; you are the window through which you must see the world.” ~George Bernard Shaw