Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

From an entirely tourism perspective, what can the Minister of Finance do next week to help kick start a beleaguered sector that has been systematically smashed to the ground with unbudgeted massive increases in operational costs, while attempting to survive in a dwindling market? It is a very big question and clearly for a Government that is experiencing the most challenging fiscal malaise for decades, the options are limited.

There can be few hoteliers who fail to recognise that much of our plant desperately needs to be re-vitalised and upgraded. But with 15 consecutive months of declining long stay visitor arrivals, widespread discounting of rooms and escalating expenses, how can this be achieved?

In the recently announced Ten-Point Plan, those tourism partners who qualify, will welcome the small rebates in electricity and water charges, but realistically how far do they compensate for previous increases of 72 per cent and 60 per cent respectively. Let alone a 50 per cent increase in land taxes, 16.6 per cent hike in VAT and prolonged delays in re-paying agreed VAT refunds.

The proposed APD Voucher, seemingly unique to any tourism driven Caribbean destination, was cleverly linked to a minimum 14 night stay ‘at participating hotels’. It is still unclear after declaring that ‘villa type accommodation will be available for marketing’, if this segment will benefit from any subsidised voucher. After all, these guests also eat in our restaurants, rent cars, shop and patronise the attractions.

So two weeks after the ‘media briefing’, the lack of implementation has created a vacuum of unanswered questions, rather than produce a unambiguous marketing tool to stimulate additional bookings. Our policymakers seem to have forgotten that Barbados is largely a tour operator driven holiday island and that it is critically important to fully inform the travel trade of any conditions of use, if you wish to maximise potential business. Put your yourself in the place of the average ‘Brit’. If you were even contemplating a package holiday to Barbados, after reading about this ‘proposed’ initiative, would you not delay booking, until the financial benefits of the voucher have been enunciated?

Also posted on the BTA website is the re-launch of the Barbados Island Inclusive programme from 8th –23rd August (depending on which market) until 21st December. So are there going to be two subsidy initiatives operating at the same time, which could have a combined cost of over $1,200 per visitor?

One thing for sure, whatever is proposed in the 2013 budget, it will be absolutely meaningless, unless the measures are actualised in a timely fashion. What became of the previously described ‘newly established’ Hotel Refurbishment Fund contained in the 2012 Budget ‘in which $50 million has been earmarked for hotel refurbishment for financing to refurbish and/or upgrade their hotel plant.’ And to make it clear, we are not talking about grant monies or hand-outs here, but loans at commercial interest rates.

Sadly, to date, this particular fund does not appear to have become a reality and you cannot fail to speculate, that if such a fund was effected two or three years ago, that it may just have prevented the closure of some hotels, notably, Almond Beach Village. It brings back into focus, yet again, that while all sorts of possible aids to recovery are discussed, proclaimed and paraded in the media, ‘we’ dismally fail to implement potential solutions to the problems.

178 responses to “A Beleaguered Tourism Sector”

1. BU understands the following:  Despite predictions  JULY 2013 long stay visitor arrivals are DOWN 6.5 per cent. This makes 16 consecutive months of arrival decline.
    http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/sealy-upbeat-about-arrivals1/
    Last year the same predictions were made by the Minister, BTA Chairman and tourism policymakers and JULY 2012 saw a long stay visitor decline of 12 per cent over the previous year.
    How do we get our politicians and policymakers to tell the TRUTH?
    http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?NewsID=31756

2. The following link will land you on some of the LOWEST fares to be offered out of the UK for sometime, especially out of Manchester.
    It would be absolute madness the BU family believes to offer any APD Voucher subsidy to UK visitors while these are available.

This is important because we understand that the BTA is not paying its current outstanding bills.

http://dmtrk.net/1R1D-1QVTC-8E9Z7ZABAB/cr.aspx

3. Piece………good comment, yall have real patience with the likes of ac, i stopped reading her nonsense about two days ago, it takes up too much space in the brain that can be used more effectively and efficiently…………two more hotels for sale in the books of the blind means everything is wonderful in Bim…………obviously a wonderful mirage created by the ac’s.

4. It should be noted those two hotels have been in receivership for a while. Why it is now making the news is another story.

On 8 August 2013 17:55, Barbados Underground

5. Barbados July Tourist Visits by Country
    By Ainhoa Goyeneche – Aug 8, 2013 10:45 AM GMT-0400 Facebook Share Tweet LinkedIn Google +1 0 Comments
    Print QUEUEQ
    Barbados tourist visits fell 6.5% in July from the same time last year, according to the Barbados Statistical Service in Bridgetown.

================================================================================
    July July Net YoY YoY%
    2013 2012 Change
    ================================================================================
    TOTAL 47,935 51,253 -3,318 -6.5%
    U.K 14,228 15,104 -876 -5.8%
    U.S.A 12,825 14,266 -1,441 -10.1%
    Canada 4,162 4,179 -17 -0.4%
    Germany 503 538 -35 -6.5%
    Other Europe 2,167 2,163 4 0.2%
    Trinidad & Tobago 3,903 4,299 -396 -9.2%
    Other Caricom 7,504 7,686 -182 -2.4%
    Other Countries 2,643 3,018 -375 -12.4%
    SOURCE: Barbados Statistical Service

To contact the reporter on this story: Ainhoa Goyeneche in Washington
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-08-08/barbados-july-tourist-visits-by-country-table-.html

6. Now let us see what is happening in Grenada who must be 50 years behind Barbados:

Sandals Grenada hotel sees record bookings ahead of opening
    Four months before its much-anticipated December opening, Sandals LaSource Grenada has already made its mark after Sandals Resorts International announced record breaking bookings that have seen 70 per cent of rooms at the resort already sold until February 2014.
    The newest addition to the Sandals hotel chain is creating a buzz amongst consumers and the travel trade – both excited about the chance to enjoy a spectacular new Sandals resort in a fantastic destination. With construction plans on schedule, excitement is mounting and driven by a robust marketing campaign, Sandals LaSource is being showcased on the international stage.
    Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart, Chairman of Sandals Resorts International, commented, “We’re thrilled at the response we’re receiving from both guests and the trade. Sandals LaSource Grenada is seeing the best pre-launch sales figures of any resort in our company.”
    http://www.breakingtravelnews.com/news/article/sandals-grenada-hotel-sees-record-bookings-ahead-of-opening/#.UgQHmwkrZnY.facebook

7. “With construction plans on schedule, excitement is mounting and driven by a robust marketing campaign, Sandals LaSource is being showcased on the international stage.”

I wonder if those words resonate in the empty skulls of some people.

8. Here is what Vice President Sue Springer has to say about the outlook for the rest of the tourist season (compliments of VOB)

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/untitled.mp3

9. wait in every country business fail u guys act as if Barbados alone have business failures ,even countries fail, the hotel industry is not immune to business failure, if these owners invest in their stock sufficiently they would reap substantial rewards enough to keep them thriving in rainy days, this a free market and volatility and unforeseen circumstances are inevitable, nothing is guarantee .it is up to owners to pull out all stops to make sure their business thrive, in a capitalist system the market determines not govt. the most the govt can do is give a helping hand but can’t hold both hands at the same time. the failures would go and new and different enterprises would replaced them ,nothing surprising or nothing alarming. like everything else in life the good seeds when properly nourished survive ,the undernourished fall by the wayside, govt can”t be expected to be the daddy of all.

10. Jesus Chrict AC I can’t believe that you are still hammering this thread! You are like a pit bully!

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Good morning Islandgal. You got the appointment for your plastic surgery yet? I could recommend an excellent specialist. He’s been known to do miracles and you need one.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | August 9, 2013 at 12:17 AM |
    “Jesus Chrict AC I can’t believe that you are still hammering this thread! You are like a pit bully!”

More like a pit(iful) bully!

13. You got the appointment for your plastic surgery yet?

The one that did a botched job on you and your wife? No thank you. As Amused said she nor you can’t hold a candle next to me. I pity the poor people who are members of your union. Going by your conduct here I am surprised that you haven’t been indicted for sexual harassment. You and Leroy exhibit the same predatory traits. Those women who are members of your union and read this blog,I am sure you are not well respected by them. As I said before you are sadly lacking sex appeal and even my dog won’t even bark at you. You remind me of a pervert, didn’t someone refer to you as one on BU?

14. Cease and settle Islandgal
    Cease and settle
    There is a time when enough is enough. Chill out and cool yuh head -Please !

15. Hi bajanlucians nothing good happening of recent in ST.lucia .as a matter of fact i just returned from that sister islands but if one asked me if i would reside their permanaetly .well u guesed… anyhow i like the food. but home sweet home is my place of preference.

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac,
    thank you for adding to the St. Lucia arrival numbers. And there is me thinking that you would support the Barbadian economy by taking a Staycation. How wrong we can be about people.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Adrian Loveridge | August 9, 2013 at 2:44 PM |

Adrian, we are surprised you weren’t profoundly aware of ac’s deep hypocrisy.
    Not putting her money where her nasty Bajan mouth ‘lies’ is par for her course.

Now you can take with a pound of salt everything coming out of that windbag.
    Hopefully she would stop allowing herself to be used as the DLP BU attack dog against you leaving just Carson the racist.

Watch and see how she waxes lyrically about the brilliant soundness of next Tuesday’s chest thumping about things previously announced but never implemented including the recently announced 10 point rescue plan for the tourism industry.
    But then she might just surprise us and take another staycation away from BU compliments of P&Q for exposing her to the light of truth.

BTW, Adrian in the June 2012 budget the following proposals were announced to:

“Establish a “Hotel Refurbishment, Energy Efficiency and Food
    Production Fund” as part of its investment portfolio. The fund will
    initially be capitalized with $18million of the NIS surpluses. For the
    next twelve months, in every month where the NIS earns a surplus of
    more than $10M, $1M of that surplus will be directed to further
    capitalization of the fund.
    A further $50M of financing will be provided from the receipts of the Government’s divestment programme for a total fund of $80M.”

“50 million dollars will go to a Hotel Refurbishment and $10M to the
    National Alternative Energy.”

“The “Hotel Refurbishment, Energy Efficiency and Food Production Fund” will
    have a board comprised of two members from the NIS, two members of BTII,
    two members from the Enterprise Growth Fund and a representative each from
    the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Energy and Ministry of Agriculture. The
    board will have the mandate to commission analyses of proposals and decide
    on the proposals that will be funded.”

Can you tell us Adrian if the proposals directly dealing with the hotel refurbishment sector have been advancing to the satisfaction of the industry?

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Miller,

Sadly I cannot.
    It is the subject of the next Tourism MATTERS column and the continued lack of implementation. I suppose next Tuesday, it will be repeated again and we will wait another year for any progress.

19. Miller said:

Hopefully she would stop allowing herself to be used as the DLP BU attack dog against you leaving just Carson the racist.

Carson has been declawed and defanged.

20. Given the history of Four Seasons, can I take bets please on how long it will be before Heywoods becomes a working operation again? The Sandals LaSource experience shown above has indicated how stupid it is to try and do something yourself when experts all around are ready and willing to do it for you. Sealy has claimed that we can’t wait the length of time it takes for a major chain to re-furbish Heywoods. My bet is that under the current plan we will not see the first visitor staying there for at least three years, so what’s the difference? Any takers?

21. @peltdownman

But he promised!

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Peltdownman | August 9, 2013 at 4:38 PM |

That is one bet where the odds are far more remote than those of winning the Euromillions lottery.
    As you said, given what took place with the Four Seasons project and the government’s current and projected fiscal emasculation we can’t see how this property can ever be upgraded for accommodation in the foreseeable future unless a cartel foreign investors can take over the property on a 100 year lease arrangement at peppercorn rent with the investors upgrading and running it under a well known brand name with a private beach, casino and private club.

In the absence of such an extremely ‘laissez faire do-as-you-please’ operational framework it is almost impossible to see how this property can be resuscitated to rival the Port Ferdinand.
    According to its principals Port Ferdinand is expected to provide accommodation along with its marina facilities (spelling the death of the proposed Pierhead competitor) to hundreds of high net worth visitors at any one time and employing about 1,000 locals within three years.

Clearly this upscale development just north of would take precedence over the ‘sunken’ Almond Beach Resort project and would be entitled to great ‘whatever you want’ concessions including private gaming facilities.
    Just remember the owners of Jada get what Bjorn wants and demands. Who pays the political campaign financing piper always call the tunes. Ask Leroy Parris!

23. WOW boy Adrian you are brazen ., sending me a thank you note for adding to ST,Lucia tourist numbers Wuh Dam you jump right ahead of the minister , or is it his job you are after, Boy some dawgs surely know how to bite,

24. Caribbean Lover Avatar

ac, when exactly did you travelled to St. Lucia? And where did you stay? When did you return to Barbados?

ac, you have been here blogging away everyday, criticizing St. Lucia at every opportunity; ac, you never left Barbados; you are a LIAR.

25. There is a continued state of denial. ‘He (the PM) further stated that he was very pleased to hear from the Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy that the visitor figures looked very good during this Crop Over season’

DOWN 6.5 per cent = ‘very good’

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=31835

26. ‘He (the PM) further stated that he was very pleased to hear from the Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy that the visitor figures looked very good during this Crop Over season’
    So can YOU explain again David, how it is possible for an intelligent blogmaster NOT to see that the end is near…?

Here we have a PM that is EASILY the most suitable practicing politician to hold the post at this time…

…and who ALSO clearly qualifies to be called “DAFT” as per the colloquial English meaning… “He was told that Crop Over generates $85 million and no one has questioned it..(news report).” – (SO OBVIOUSLY IT IS A FACT AND IS MEANINGFUL…)

…he must be the ONLY one who don’t know how much shiite Sealy does talk…..

And you continue to wrestle with “possible solutions” from these people…?

When you ready to to explore the epistemology of the whole thing,…check in with Bushie about the BBE reality… 🙂

27. @Bush Tea

Given the audience the message has to be made relevant. Soon.

28. Beleaguered Tourism Sector

What Beleaguered Tourism Sector?

In a March 8, 2015, Advocate article dated titled Sealy: Increasing room stock must be looked at seriously, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy said that hotel stock must be addressed.

“Many of our hoteliers are quite comfortable with the arrangements they have in the United Kingdom and they don’t always make inventory available for European operators, so we also have to make sure as well that they are with us because we do not want to be out there lobbying for increased business and then we simply do not have the room stock,” he said.

Pointing to the record number of visitors to the island during this winter season, Sealy explained that this clearly illustrated the need to increase the number of rooms available.

“We have just come out of a winter where it was near, if not impossible, to get a room anywhere in Barbados, so we have to continue to address the inventory question and making sure we get it at the right price point,” he stressed.

Business is so good potential visitors cannot book a room because they are all sold out?

Talk cheap, but building new rooms is not cheap.

Where is the financing going to come from to build this new rooms.

From the banks?

Based on the recent Globe and Mail story “Trouble in Paradise: Inside Canadian banks’ billion-dollar Caribbean struggle” the banks’ loan portfolios are weighted down with impaired or non-performing loans after years of reckless lending to the tourism sector.

Does the Minister believe the banks are going to turn on the taps again because of the “record number of visitors to the island during this winter season”?
    to
    It will take more than one season of “record numbers” restore the banks’ confidence in the tourism sector.

In a recent Nation article “Beaches resort start delayed”, Butch said SANDALS RESORTS INTERNATIONAL’S proposed Beaches hotel in St Peter will not be starting this year.

Could it be that delay is because the banks are not prepared to extend financing to Mr. Marketing Might to build the 426 room Beaches Resort at Heywoods.