Ram_BoolaniUnderstandably the focus on BU and the wider public has been on the government and its travails managing the economy, or should we suggest the society. It is only fair however that from time to time we peep into the world of the Mia Mottley (MAM) lead opposition. After all the opposition is the government in waiting and therefore deserves our attention.

The reputation which the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) had for not washing dirty linen in public has been dispelled in recent terms (refer to the ridiculous matter brought before the Court by George Payne and Edmund Hinkson). To compound the matter Barbadians learned this week about the appointment of Kerri Symmonds to Deputy Leader of the BLP. One has to wonder about the wisdom of the appointment on several fronts. Especially when there is no legal reason for MAM to have to appoint a deputy in a situation where she is clearly struggling to exert control.

Symmonds has developed a dotty reputation in his political career so far. Unlike the US media who would have placed Symmonds and the BLP under pressure to explain his resignation from the Senate over a domestic matter which caused him to slash the car seats of his former wife, there was no appetite by the local media. There was no din raised by women’s groups. Symmonds has been allowed to reenter the political arena without undue pressure. It is now a matter record he was able to win the St. James Central Seat from a weak incumbent. Some may suggest this speaks volumes about the political maturity of the Barbadian public.

In the lead up to the last general election DLP surrogates repeatedly asked Symmonds to explain the details about how he consorted with Johnny Tudor (a former B, a former D) to show that his car was of an incorrect age to ensure a buyer obtained a loan to purchase the car. There is the well publicised marital dispute which led to his resignation from the Senate. And what about the document posted above? It is never too late to ask for explanations. The time has come to demand answers to questions from our politicians. The free rides both figuratively and literally are over.

If this appointment were to backfire on MAM she has no one to blame except MAM because she requested the document posted above from then AG Michael Lashley which she used to persuade Symmonds to resign from the Senate.

129 responses to “Kerri Symmonds Should Have Been Yesterday’s Man”

1. Ooops!!!!!!!!!

2. Wuhloss!!! Now watch the BLP political spinners descend here on BU to tell us that we do not understand the “context”.

3. Well, well, it’s terrible bout hey

4. HEE! HEE! ROFLMAO HEE! HEE!

5. cheese on Bread………..

6. No. The opposition is part of HM government

7. Hamilton Hill Avatar

The above article speaks to the political maturity of the barbadian populace or the lack thereof, but my question as usual goes to the heart of journalistic integrity in Barbados. How can an uninformed public be expected to make informed decisions in a climate where one telephone call chokes all access to legitimate news stories? There is any number of similar stories involving these politicians of which john public knows nothing. These are the anointed hands gifted the strings of the public’s purse, for as we were recently told there is no real corruption in Barbados. The same can be said for journalistic integrity, especially as it relates to the print media.

8. Stupse.

What a waste of time publishing this trite. This has NO substance or EFFECT whatsoever.

9. Hamilton Hill Avatar

The unbridled attacks continue without abatement from the cesspool that is the newsroom of the Barbados Nation. Why because there is no competition. The Advocate continues to languish for hard to find in a country with a literacy rate of 98% is A Few Good Men.

10. @lol10 | July 27, 2013 at 6:49 AM | Why not just try to tell us that it “lacks context”? Or is that what you mean? Remember, we are cattle and very stupid and we need guidance from people like you so that we can recognise the noses on our faces.

@ac. For once I will actually encourage you. Crow away.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

MAM ought to be wary of the people she entrusts with authority. This is one of her major political and moral character weaknesses which she needs to always be very much aware of.
    She made a similar faux pas with Smiley and was rewarded by a stab in the back.
    She should follow Freundel’s position of not naming a deputy and operate on the principle that ‘a deputy is NOT essential and any number can play as Acting Leader’ when I am not available.
    Kerrie has every legal right to be a sitting member of Parliament but if we are going to assess his moral qualification or suitability to be a leader in whichever capacity then we would have to be fair and ask if Donville Inniss has the moral qualification to be a Minister of the Crown.

She also ought to be aware (and take a measure of comfort and security) that the BLP under Symmonds or any other “anti—MAM” conspirator would not impress the ‘thinking’ electorate as was demonstrated by OSA’s (and his horse-trading note of political betrayal) bid to make local political history since Independence.

She needs curry no favours or kiss anybody’s backside sitting on the Opposition benches with the concealed objective of replacing MAM to be leader when this DLP administration falls in the coming months.

This will not be another use and abuse and overthrow of Mia as took place when the BLP smelled the blood of political victory on the then pending demise of DT.
    She should also be wary of the duplicitous nature of those ‘agent saboteurs’ who might smile with her but are only waiting if given the chance to work an “Et tu, Brute?” act of disloyalty to undermine her growing nationally appealing leadership. We are willing to bet that if a poll was carried out (even by Peter Wickham) today MAM would come smelling of roses at top of the dung heap of the “most mediocre” set of leaders Barbados has ever had.

So here is a message for all of those who might be seeking to or would like to see MAM removed: It will NOT work this time; even if Estwick crosses over or some one takes gravely ill on the other side to trigger another DT moment of a political palace coup.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Wow, this is ground breaking for Barbados Underground.

An article actually showing a Barbados Labour Party member in the correct light.

I am wondering what it took to get this publish here on this blog and I will wait and see if there is more in the mortar than the pestle.

Is it someone in the BLP trying to get rid of this guy in favour of MAM. After all he is Seethru’s pick for Leader of the opposition.

13. Political Parties and by extension Politicians, are in business. They do what they do to make money. Sorry if that offends some, but the facts bear this out. My only request is that they are treated like businesses and be forced to be registered entities that can be held responsible for wrong doing, no matter whether they remain in office or not.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

offtopic

Miller(uncle tom)

Here is another guy for you to curse black is white.

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE what say you about this?

“A HISTORIAN is charging that the work permit system is being manipulated to reserve jobs for white foreigners.

Trevor Marshall said yesterday that “elite whites” were being allowed to come into Barbados to take up top positions under the guise that employers could find no suitable candidates here to fill the positions.

An unapologetic Marshall, who also took issue with whites being allowed to sit in Parliament without facing the electorate, spoke against “job reservation for elite whites” as he delivered the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) lunchtime lecture on the topic 175 Years of Emancipation: How Free Are We?.

“We are going through a recession and there is talk about our laying off people and yet . . . so far for this year I have counted in our newspapers 14 notices headed ‘work permit’,” he said. (DP)”

Historian Trevor Marshall

15. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar
    Let them gather for they shall soon scatter

This boy Symmonds is unfit to sit at a table of honest decent people further more to sit in The Parliament of Barbados the man is a thief and he is fraud
    When he had a car to sell that could not be financed by the loan agency who did he turn to for help in his dishonesty none other than another dishonest bastard of Johnny Tudor to change the age of the car to make it appear newer than 5 years old, now in my books both of them should have faced the courts but DPP Leacock thought better, I wonder why? A friendship of sorts?

Amazingly and sadly so in my books for Mottley to be aware of this fraudent act by this fraud and for her to concoct this arrangement to foist this vagabond and crook onto Barbadians as some one that Barbadians should entrust with matters that require honest and sincere judgment for this island it will not come from this dishonest fraud of Symmonds made worse by Mottley knowing fully well what she had on her hands and for her to pass him of as suitable second in command is just dishonest of her.

It maybe time that Marshall opens his mouth as a senior member of a BLP Parliament and for him to lead the charge. At least I think he has some honestly from within and for Arthur to speak openly about what he has left behind as leadership of the BLP and what needs to happen to bring a BLP person to the fore who is not tarnished by the odour of CORRUPTION and FRAUD as Symmonds, Arthur and Mottley so clearly are touched with.

16. Wuhloss ! follow Fruendel POSITION………….qoutable quotes miller…….Now i crying……………Wait i about to jump out the window………somebody push……

17. Don.t expect a reply from Adrein he is on BU record as saying that the working class in barbados has not contributed anything on the same level as those who have invested in Barbados. in other words the the poor black working bajans should be eternally grateful to the white elist. i have asked him for clarity be refused so i will interpret his comments as i see fit

18. ac

HA HA HA HA … I ain’ want nabody push … I gun be pun de ground to ketch yah and I really don’ know how much you weigh …

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 27, 2013 at 8:19 AM |
    “A HISTORIAN is charging that the work permit system is being manipulated to reserve jobs for white foreigners.”

Remind us again, Carson, which party forms the ruling administration?

Are you by a fat chance of a red herring suggesting that the DLP administration is in cahoots with the manipulators (white shadows) of the system which by coincidence happens to fall within the portfolio of who again?

Don’t you realize or can you fathom the gravamen of self-ridicule and damnation of the same party which you claim is the party for Black Bajans?

Or is that asking too much of you like the $64 million cut in payroll question?
    Even your man Fumble is distancing himself from the poor beleaguered Doctor Governor of the Central Bank with his prescription of a sharp swift dose of bitter economic medicine costing $400 million to be paid before fiscal year-end.
    Now when will he be thrown from his Ivory Tower in Church Village where he practices ‘voodoo’ economics?
    Now there is a real Uncle Tom for a Doc back stabbing his PM with bad advice!

20. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar

Also of interesting and significantly so the boy Symmonds obviously intended to steal this man’s money when one looks at the date of the transaction on the day before of the election of 2008, he knew exactly what he was doing on the14 th January 2008 when he met with Mr Boolani the sad thing was that Mr Boolani was not aware that when he handed his money to Symmonds that he was dealing with a CRIMINAL and a FRAUD who should be locked away behind bars at Arthur’s and Mottley’s VECO Dodds Prison.

This actually is quite clever and cunning of Mottley to elevate Symmonds to put him in the limelight only to be exposed in short order that he is a criminal and a fraud so she can be seen to have embraced him but by his own actions and his Criminal behaviour she had to set him adrift and set him free.

21. @ Let them gather>
    another dishonest bastard in Johnny Tudor

A superfluous comment you don’t have to say dishonest bastard and Johnny Tudor in same sentence. Tudor means dishonest if you get my drift. Saddle head Symmonds feeling he oats he sound more pompous and arrogant than ever. He gripping Mia by the short and presumably curlies. With scumbags Payne and Hinckson battling to the finish as to who is the bigger thief Mia has nowhere to turn. The BLP deserve wife beater. The affidavit at the top confirms what we know about knifeman Symmonds. This pretentious joker should be banned from holding public office. BLP pimp miller say a Wickham pole would show Mia leading. Leading what or who ? The only things Mia leads are ex prisoner Bayley the taximan and a jet ski she breakdown with mass.

22. Both the DLP and the BLP needs to be watched very carefully at this point…………….all corrupt and fraudulent

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sickout-at-CLICO-217188141.html

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 27, 2013 at 8:58 AM |
    “Wuhloss ! follow Fruendel POSITION………….qoutable quotes miller…….Now i crying……………Wait i about to jump out the window………somebody pu”

You are really pathetically intellectually challenged, indeed! What position is the PM holding? One of a vacillating court jester trying to appease the audience? The man is more malleable and subject to changes in the buffeting economic winds than a dumb weathercock.
    Can’t you see there is utter conflict between the PM and the Governor of the Central Bank. Come on, ac, that is as clear as the muck you wallow in at George St. at Friday’s feeding time.
    The Governor says one thing which the PM agrees with. Sir Frank disagrees. The PM changes his mind about the whole shebang.
    Then where is the real MoF in all of this?
    Who is the real piggy-in-the-middle here if not the PM?
    Will the genuine heavyset buffoon passing off as the little (intellectual runt) Napoleon of the Animal Farm litter be weighing in to further muddy the waters on this Sunday Brasstacks on VOB? Will we seethe return of Dr. Snowball to take his rightful place as chief of the Piggy Bank?

Just one soap opera of a comedy of errors performed by a troupe of monkeys on the farm reminiscent of Bumba’s calypso parody of Sandie’s stubbornness of rocking to the left and the others mockingly moving to the right and the entire Cabinet start laughing at one another like a true barrel of monkeys.

Lord please help Bim in all of this confusing monkey business called public administration under this complex complicated conundrum called Stuart’s management style!

24. old onion bags Avatar

…Tell ac and Carson….tah cah dey Brassbowl n some…. of pot shots and pimpology thats what….don’t they have enuff on the economic plate come August 13th than to come wid monkey nuts as distractions? Tell Dem to tell us who next gine home and how they plan to address the $400 Mill….I knew DEM did quite TOO LONG….Dis is just annnuda Tourism Conference Call tactic ( No Vat scenario) stunt to distract all of what is coming…Wanna bald pooch CATS !..tell we bout dez things dat we gota deal wid come August 14th

25. @Old Onions

Do you think it is possible to talk and chew gum at the same time?

What is your position on the matter raised?

Even if it serves to try to distract is there merit is putting our public figures under the microscope?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Passing by | July 27, 2013 at 9:33 AM |
    “BLP pimp miller say a Wickham pole would show Mia leading.”

It would be more fittingly appropriate (if you can appreciate the redundancy by looking in a mirror) to refer to me as “MIA’s Pimp”.

Well if you don’t trust Wickham then do your own but after August 13th.

BTW, “Passing by”, ask the godmother of Dr. Estwick child, whose shoulder the politically abused John cries on if not on the mother harlot’s?
    Being torn between two Johns (Big Buffoon smelly John and the politically used and abused gunslinger shorter John) who hate each other’s guts and are in a permanent state of political war is not easy, not even for a professional prostitute who has also been used and abused.

Now figure that one out and report back to the Superfly Daddy of a pimp called Uncle Tommy Miller.

27. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar

David the onion sack will only agree once it is a one way street that is when the DLP are under the microscope does not work when the BLP has to be asked tough questions about honesty or Corruption by that lot.

28. Did somebody in thev peanut gallery shout “POOR JUDGEMENT” unbefitting of good leadership…………………..I agree………….

29. There are many more instances of shady dealings by those who occupy the seats of our parliament that have gone unnoticed …..or should I say unreported. Tic for tat it seems for if we shine the light on Kerrie somebody shouts Donville. The time is now for barbadians to recognize the fact that our parliament functions as a fraternity. One member will never out nor expose another. Forget the grandstanding they do from time to time, like the convention of that P A C, an extension of parliamentary privilege which really stands for Protection Against Conviction. The time is now for us to accept as fact that while they Rub Shoulders with some, while their palms are greased by others. The time is now for the Millerthewhateveryouarenow to tell us exactly where do we turn “when this DLP administration falls in the coming months” since the government in waiting has been as secretive about its multiple internal fractures as the current government has been about our true fiscal position.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was an immigration officer and it never ceases to amaze me why persons seeking any immigration status in Barbados would have to get a lawyer. There is simply no role for a lawyer in the process except he wants to play postman and deliver the documents. The forms are straightforward and do not require any input from a lawyer. Even so, the rules for non-contentious business sets a fee of $1,200.

The only time a lawyer might be required is in a situation where the person’s application for permanent residence or immigrant status has been refused, or where the person is appealing against a deportation order.

I will address the issue of the appointment to a non-existent post in a separate post.

31. Good comment HH, we always seem to focus on the symptom at the expense of the cause. And around and around we go. To think this morning we have another blog which addresses the intelligence (or lack of) of the human species.

32. @Caswell

If we interpret the writing of Boolani the matter appears to have been a simple application.

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This type of application does not require a lawyer, but sadly I don’t know of any lawyers who would say that to a client. I have assisted at least 100 prospective immigrants with their forms and have never charged a cent. Mind you, I have also done a few appeals to the Immigration Review Committee for which I charge but nowhere near $1,000 as compared to the $5,000 quoted above.

34. REPORTER: hi you guy in the red shirt………….what is your name. ,.Miller!.. REPORTER: may i ask you for your honest assesment of the fire storm surrounding this issue…..YES! most deserving of a NO CONFIDENCE VOTE … REPORTER: thank you for your forth rightness and honesty……..MILLER you are welcomed! boy do i need a drink! a bunch of jackasses ! what were they thinking when they made her leader!

35. BAFBFP “Political Parties and by extension Politicians, are in business. They do what they do to make money.”

You are wrong BAFBFP.

They do what they do out of the goodness of their heart and the good of the people and their country…..If yuh believe me….
    I got piece a land for sale. It is about half mile west of Beachlands pun a place call Dottins.

36. Since it is unlawful in Barbados to offer or to receive a bribe and since Ram Boolani has written under oath that he offered a bribe, Ram should be prosecuted.

And poor me. I’ve never been offered a bribe. I wonder why people don’t come to me with handfulls of cash.

And another thing I don’t offer nor give bribes either. If I can’t get the thing lawfully (what ever the thing is) I do without it.

And yes “the thing” includes “the thing”

37. @David,
    what proof do you have that Mr.Boolani is truthful?

People does go before a Judge and lie.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Ram was not offering a bribe: he was paying for a service as I understand it. The only problem is that he should have paid $1,200 if he engaged a lawyer. Mind you, he did not need a lawyer.

39. The authorities in the United States may also want to look to see whether Dr. Hermante Boolani is up to any tricks now that he is with them.

We have a saying in Barbados, “The fruit don’t fall far from the tree”
    or “like father, like son”

40. @Simple

Did Symmonds have the authority to authorise immigration matters?

That is a matter for Symmonds and Boolani.

41. @millertheanunnaki,

Your love for Mia Mottley and desire to have her as Prime Minister of Barbados is laudable.

Keep up the good work. Kathleen would be impressed.

42. David wrote “That is a matter for Symmonds and Boolani.”

True. but it is also a matter worth of investigation by the appropriate “entities”

Heard about the Senate scandal in Ottawa?

43. Let them gather at 9:29 p.m. “the sad thing was that Mr Boolani was not aware that when he handed his money to Symmonds that he was dealing with a CRIMINAL and a FRAUD”

But when Mr. Boolani handed over the money, he Mr. Boolani knew that he was committing an unlawful act.The elder Boolani can’t be nuh fool. He smart enough to got a doctor son.

He had to know that offering a bribe is ILLEGAL AS HELL.

44. @passing by “He gripping Mia by the short and presumably curlies.”

Nabady don’t carry short and curlies nah more, especially in this heat.

Everybody carrying a Brizilian. Ask Richard Hoad what is a Brazilian.

45. @Hants

We want just ONE to be brought to the Court, just ONE. Then ONE will be MANY and boy will the yardfowl brigade crow.

46. David

I was an immigration officer and it never ceases to amaze me why persons seeking any immigration status in Barbados would have to get a lawyer. There is simply no role for a lawyer in the process except he wants to play postman and deliver the documents. The forms are straightforward and do not require any input from a lawyer. Even so, the rules for non-contentious business sets a fee of $1,200.

The only time a lawyer might be required is in a situation where the person’s application for permanent residence or immigrant status has been refused, or where the person is appealing against a deportation order.

That also applies to any country worldwide, people are warned incessantly that lawyers can be unscrupulous and charge for immigration services that are free. Some lawyers have no soul.

47. @ Simple Simon
    Nabady don’t carry short and curlies nah more, especially in this heat.
    What are you trying to tell us SS? Does that mean women of a certain age are getting “Brazilians”? Is that where the phrase “bald pooch cat” came from?

Anyway if anyone down there is thinking of getting a “Brazilian” I will nominate them for a Barbados national award e.g. “The bald Pooch Cat Award” for bravery under torture in the service of ………

http://www.thestar.com/life/fashion_style/2013/06/19/my_first_brazilian_wax.html

48. I have an admission to make and in order to make some of these points i find that i am revealing alot bout myself and risking getting lock up for my acerbic tongue, getting read out the church and wus of all, de madam leffing me.

De madam is what we Bajans call a low-islander. I ent going say what island or dat gine give way a nex clue.

Pun weekends i does have to learn a nex language to be able to speak to all de scunts dem en dis banner going home back. It is a linguists’ heaven to be at we house.

But back to de point.

I wonder how many of you holier than thou, believers in de system bloggers really know the highway robbery that CARICOM citizens wh “ent right” wid Immigration, going to lawyers and getting fxck by this so called legal fraternity?

If the St. Lucians Jamaikis and all de rest was to come pun dis site and tell you how certain lawyers does charge dem $15,000 and end up doing nothing, and hold them under threat that “since the process start Immigration got your papers and if you dont come in and pay a little pun de account, i doan know what going happen if dem pick u up” I have not Commission g nuhbody nor Khan any of you say i give anybody name here.

If de Ombudsman were doing his job, or the Bar Association, de Disciplinary Committee or any of the brotherhood, all uh Dodds wud be full up.

Imagine the irony of this, de same lawyers who defending peeple who dem f**k up, rob dem in fees, misrepresent and get dem lock up, get de lawyers as cell mates to really show dem the knitting in the pillow when de night come.

I

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

Only Guyanese go home back. The others go back home.

50. Piece………….i nearly collapsed, we know who they are, it’s just to get them into Dodds to see the knitting in the pillow.