Submitted by Concerned Registry User

RegistrationI am a frequent user of the Registration Department.  Often, I have to stand in long lines for several minutes as the Government Guards search, harass and ridicule my black brothers and sisters before they can enter the said Department.

They are made to push in shirt tails, take out ear-rings, if the skirts are too short or my brothers are wearing shorts they are sent away business and or transactions not completed or done.

But I was most shocked and surprised when today I was in Registration Department there was this white boy sitting in a shorts, I was shocked to say the least that this white boy was allowed to enter the prestigious building and further to venture up the elevator to meet with the powers that be. When my brothers dressed the same way are ALWAYS turned back.

I took the picture (see attachment). I went down stairs to the first floor and showed the Government  Guard and I informed him that my brothers are turned away when dressed the same way. The guard informed me ” that the shorts is below the knees and not considered shorts”. I just told him thanks for the explanation  and walked away.

I just find this situation a perfect example how in our eyes the “white people” in this island can do no wrong

105 responses to “Dress Code at the Registration Department Should Be Consistent (“Massa Day Nah Done”)”

1. Sad…but not surprising. I visited one of our local banks and a white lady came in and was able to transact her business whilst the other folks were in the line. The more things change the more they remain the same.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

While in the air port coming in i was the only Moor on line, All the white went past all check points just waving their nothing to declare ,
    When it was my turn they told me to get in the line to be checked , So i did , A next full load of Whites came did the same again , As i looked on i moved back in that line, I was told again to go back over when it was my turn ,
    I stop look hard that the officer , and then i said out loud ,to him , DO I HAVE TO BE WHITE TO GET PAST YOU , AFTER A MIN OR SO , STILL LOOKING AT HIM, HE TOLD TO TO COME BACK TO HIM AND I WENT ON JUST WITH MY PAPER.
    Always speak up when you are treated different at home or any where if you dear.
    GOOD POST.

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Anne @ IF YOU HAVE MONEY AND THATS ALL THE BANK CARES ABOUT , THEY WILL LET YOU BEHAVE HOW YOU WANT, THEY DONT WANT TO LOSE YOUR ACCOUNT , AND THEY MAY KNOW WHO HAVE MONEY AND WHO DONT.
    In Barbados bank , I have been given coffee by the tellers while waiting at the counter ,

4. @ David

Two points I would like to make here.

1. The writer says the person is a white ”BOY” I understand he means a young male child? Is that correct, David? So we can safely conclude the subject of the article is a child. Now lots of boys, young males, usually wear short pants as a daily mode of dress in Barbados. So where’s the beef, David?

2. Now where do we find ”WHITE” people in Barbados, David -and I exclude foreigmers- after nearly 500 years of all the interracial mixing on this little rock that we call a country? Am I to understand that he really means, ”bajan white”? According to Dr. GP, AH LIE?

5. @de hood

This is White in the Bajan definition one must assume. The other point is that the author is not questioning the shorts but that the code whatever it is should be administered in a consistent way.

6. @Anne at 8:1 p.m. ” I visited one of our local banks and a white lady..”

How do you know she was a lady and not just a woman? Does her whiteness make her a lady in your eyes?

7. Plantation…………I have decided that i am so sick of the crap that goes on in the heads of black bajans toward each other that i will just pass through Bim on my way to Trinidad. Can’t believe you can feel so much more welcome and comfortable in an island that is so cosmopolitan, high murder rate aside. than in a majority black country with people who are so ‘highly educated’…………you really do get sick and tired of telling them off and pointing out their inadequacies and slave mentalities, now that boy in the photo is no child, he is at least 22 yet no black guard in Bim would have the balls to tell him he cannot enter.

8. Robin

Listen man … stop wid this “one drop” campaign … You do NOT have to be one hundred percent White to be White … You mekkin’ dis species of people too special now. … and further more a picture of the “boy” is there fah all to see … He is a’ adolescent … Is this suppose to mek a difference …?

9. The rules in the registration department are foolish rules.

Tell me why I would have to wear a sleeved garment in odder to pick up my mother’s birth certificate?

10. Tell me why I can pay my income tax wearing short sleeves, or shorts or slippers, or maybe nothing at all.

And I can’t walk over to the registry and order a copy of my birth certificate while I wear the same clothes?

Is it maybe that the government (both parties) just like us for our money?

11. Tell me why I can pay my land tax wearing short sleeves, or shorts or slippers, or maybe nothing at all.

And I can’t walk over to the registry and order a copy of my birth certificate while I wear the same clothes?

12. Tell me why I can pay my road tax wearing short sleeves, or shorts or slippers, or maybe nothing at all.

13. I feel that the government (both parties) just barely tolerate us because we give the government money.

The rest of the time they just push us around like we are nothing and nobody.

14. These things are allowed to happen because the people allow it to happen. I too was in a bank and two white people walked in and murmured that too many people in here and that they can’t wait and the security said to them hold on I will get someone to attend to you. I waited until that someone came and I said in a very loud but not shouting voice that I was in the queue for 30minutes and if they can’t wait neither can I and I went straight to the someone that came to attend to them and I gave her my slip and money. I then turned to the people in the queue and said that you all are responsible for this nonsense. It has to stop. They all thought that I was mad because I had an English accent but that is the truth! We cause that on ourselves. Learn to speak up and don’t be pushed aside for anyone.

15. anthony chase Avatar

Like guards everywhere Whites no problem….

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

A few years ago I was sitting in one of the law courts ,and just happened to cross my legs. I was immediately admonished by, a person who I believed to be an officer of the court,telling me that my actions were a gross disrespect to the Magistrate. Five minutes later, an asian looking young lady, in a short skirted business suit,sat in the very front seat,and crossed her legs. The same man who admonished me, was seen joking and laughing with her.
    So whats new ? Are we forgetting the old adage of the three shades of white, brown and black, just like the Gold ,Silver and bronze classifications of the Panama Canal project.

17. What is the issue here? Is this about race, inferiority complex or what?

18. @Colonel Buggy (:48 “an asian looking young lady”

How do you know she was a lady and not just a woman? Does her asia-ness make her a lady in your eyes?

19. I’ve never heard anybody in Barbados use the term black lady.

Are there no black ladies in Barbados?

20. Stupidity …!

21. White ladies and Black Mamas … Yeah

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

One day I was transacting business , at the company where I work,on behalf of the same company. I thought it unfair to push ahead of the queue or even go behind the counter ,but rather joined the fairly long queue. In came a white man, saw the queue, wormed his way into the back office, without any challenge, and emerged a few minutes later holding his paid bill.
    Only in Barbados.

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Simple Simon | June 27, 2013 at 9:56 PM |
    @Colonel Buggy (:48 “an asian looking young lady”

How do you know she was a lady and not just a woman? Does her asia-ness make her a lady in your eyes?
    ………………………………………………………………..
    In my book every woman is a lady, until she has proven otherwise.

24. Simple Simon ……..In Barbados Lady is reserved for whites and Woman is reserved for Blacks so there are no Black Ladies bout hey LOLLL! Stupes. In Martinique every woman is a Madam and dem doan have a problem wid dat! LOLLL Seriously some black people need their heads examined. We have two sets of unspoken rules, one for white people and one for black people. That is why the Black man with his white God will always put white people above black people.

25. Island

Black people have been genetically re-engineered … !

26. JUST WATCHING

DONE WITH BLOGGING
    Carson Cadogan – ac- and their ignorance run me
    Cant believe two people could be so biased

27. Simple Simon | June 27, 2013 at 9:57 PM |
    I’ve never heard anybody in Barbados use the term black lady.

Are there no black ladies in Barbados?
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    Probably not today. But a generation ago, it was common practice to refer to our women as ladies, regardless , if they were hawkers, conductresses, needle workers or nurses,or politicians. i.e It was common to describe a person,as ” the lady who sells bread at Castle Grant or Mount Wilton.” or the ” lady who sells at the corner of Busby Alley.” Perhaps the term black was never used to describe a lady , but “brownskin” was”
    I remember once like a good lil Bajan boy telling a fellow “like yah muddah!” The older boy , who is related to me, turned and said, ” well I cannot say anything at all about your mother , because she is a lady.”

28. BAFBFP | June 27, 2013 at 10:15 PM |
    Island

Black people have been genetically re-engineered
    ……………………………………………………….
    Genetically? I thought that it was “bullpistle and dog hunter “

29. @BAFBFP

Thanks. LOL.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jennifer | June 27, 2013 at 9:35 PM |

I don’t doubt you for one minute. I have witnessed similar events.

But what do you expect in a plantation-type society where slavery has left some deep wounds and serious scars on the psyche of a people who have been indoctrinated since 1834 in a religious book of stupidity, myth and ignorance that has reprogrammed their minds and makes it abundantly clear that the white man and his ways are both Lord and master and must be followed without question?

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | June 27, 2013 at 10:15 PM

Welcome back, JA! Your absence was a bit of a disappointment.
    Why would you allow idiots and lightweights like ac and the J & R of a CCC to run you away?

Never mind JA, their asses are grass from now on. A 1991/92 replay but this time three times worse. The PM, in true Sandie fashion, is being forced into a corner to spill the truth given what the Guv of the CB told them.
    We can just hear him in his sycophantic voice: ‘Please Sirs, we have received communication from the rating agencies S&P and Moody’s, and worst still the IMF, that unless we do as we are told in the next few weeks we will be declared bankrupt’.

Come back to the blog and have your field day but don’t cuss the naive simple people of St. John like the Negroman. Just forgive them for they know not what they do!

32. The ‘dress code’ nonsense transcends colour. I have seen white folks told to push shirts in, white folks told to uncross their legs, black folks apparently queue jumping, white folk manually pushed by security people from Cave Shepherd at closing time while black folks were allowed in………..and so it goes on and on……..

On banks…..the writer doesn’t give details. Under some bank arrangements ANY person is entitled to get priority service in exchange for a monthly fee.

Then consider dress codes in churches. On Easter morning I visited Verdun Roman Church. What I noticed was that white folks particularly were very casually dressed (eg in jeans); black folks tended to dress for the job. The point is that no-one seemed to care either way – wonderful! And then cf the dress code debate following the funeral at St Lucy Church.

Then compare District A Magistrate Court on Saturday morning. You will see attorneys in jeans and flip flops. What made Saturdays different from Mondays?

Why are we SO obsessive about dress codes anyway? If you have these silly rules, there are bound to be inconsistencies of execution.

33. Tribal Unity 4 Liberation
    Both the black man and woman have been so psychologically condition that consciously they believe they love each other; however, subconsciously in the back of our minds the seed of enmity has been planted, water and carefully nurtured by the former slave owners. So well nurtured in fact that we are passing the seed of enmity set between that black woman and man to our children.And until we read off our whiteness,and educate ourselves of WHO AM I is when we will begin to see that we are not each others enemy, rather, we are each others ally in this psychological warfare waged upon us under the system of white supremacy.

34. An acquaintance of mine is a white Englishman. About 20 years ago he was visiting the island on holiday and he went into a nearby police station to get a visitor’s driving permit (which gave out the visitors’ permits in those days). Trouble is that he went into the station without a shirt, wearing only shorts and sandals. A policeman on duty gave him a dressing down and told him in no uncertain terms he would have to leave and put on a shirt before he could conduct business in the police station.

Black Ladies

When I was growing up in Barbados it was common to hear black females being addressed as “my lady.” White females would generally be addressed by a black person as “mistress.”

Even today if I am addressing a middle aged or older black female with whom I am unacquainted, I lapse into the habit of addressing her as “my lady.” E.g inquiring about the price of goods from a female running a fruit stand in the market: “Good morning my lady, How you selling them bananas today?”
    Asking for help with directions: “Good morning my lady, I am looking for Mr. Bynoe the joiner. I understand his work shop is somewhere along this road. You could direct me to it?”

35. Simple Simon | June 27, 2013 at 9:32 PM |

Tell me why I can pay my income tax wearing short sleeves, or shorts or slippers, or maybe nothing at all.

Maybe we should do everything online and stay indoors!!

That way we wouldn’t make ourselves so miserable over imagined slights.

I have been at the Registry and seen a tourist couple, white and just married, … and I imagined looking to register their certificate on their way to their honeymoon …. turned away for “violation” of the dress code.

In fact, I have seen all colours turned away as I get to visit the folks at the various Registries on each floor quite regularly!!!

I felt at the time they could have made an exception for the couple on humanitarian considerations.

Every week new mothers frequent the Registry with their babies. How is the dress code enforced when those babies get hungry and look for food? I am sure no one gives it a second thought.

I don’t have any problem with a dress code humanely implemented and I would expect to see exceptions granted on that basis.

36. Many are straying from the point of this submission. Why wasn’t the dress code administered i this case? We need to speak out when we observe unexplained indiscretions. If we need to relax the dress code this is another issue.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Hahahaha

Unlike Mia and her “rub shoulders wid de man on the street, while hoping for insurrection” crew de ole man will suggest this

@David [BU]

You are the most competent among us and might lead the charge. It is a lot uh wuk doah fuh its moderator. Maybe you cud get some uh dem young UWI students to wuk wid it.

Shadow Blog – called a Bajan picture speaks a thousand words or something catchy lik Keep dem Honest.

Simple concept blog with topic lines but for pictures and 1 minute videos only

If you see a f up or ministerial indiscretion, wastage of public funds, thing of public interest, social injustice, solely thing related to the management/mismanagement of Bim, upload it, so for example, if I want to show how an Indian woman, i did not say Mrs Ram for example dresses to come to court in a backout sarong, I take a picture and blog it in the appropriate blog space under Dress Code for Court for example

If I want to show how people dumping dey garbage illegally at de end uh my street or how de Minister car up by dat sweet 16 year ting in Brighton at midnight instead u by he wife in St Philip, tek it an blog it, pictures and videos only.

If I want to show how 25 MTW workers round one drainage hole fuh an hour wasting de government time tek a 1 minute video and post it.

Picture and caption, video (with or without sound)

We the people been begging them to be honest for too long. When they know that their dirty Linen up in front de world, maybe dem will be less inclined to do it, or get caught doing it.

Rambling again, time for the insulin, not penicillin

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Far too many BLACK PEOPLE have an inordinate fear of WHITE PEOPLE. They bend over backwards to please WHITE PEOPLE, INDIAN PEOPLE AND ASIAN PEOPLE. But they have little or no respect for their own BLACK PEOPLE One see THIS around Barbados on a daily basis.

Even here on BARBADOS UNDERGROUND it is alive and flourishes. I have lost count of the times when comments I made on this blog are in favour of my own BLACK PEOPLE and I am cursed and vilified by others BLACK PEOPLE ON THIS BLOG and called RACIST. MILLER, OLD ONION BAGS, PRODIGAL SON, ISLANDGAL246, THE BLOG OWNER are in the vanguard in attacking me for defending BLACK PEOPLE here on BARBADOS UNDERGROUND. Anyone who reads this blog for more then ten seconds can see that 99% of articles are written to disparage other BLACK PEOPLE. While people of other races get a FREE PASS no matter what they do or say.

Just as an example, let point out the folly of anything WHITE ADRIAN LOVERIDGE writes and all hell breaks loose. His BLACK defenders rush to his defence and I am castigated no end.

Far too many BLACK BAJANS have a serious problem of self hate.

39. old onion bags Avatar

@ Balaam’s Finest
    I am cursed and vilified by others BLACK PEOPLE ON THIS BLOG and called RACIST. MILLER, OLD ONION BAGS, PRODIGAL SON, ISLANDGAL246, THE BLOG OWNER are in the vanguard in attacking me for defending BLACK PEOPLE here on BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.
    ——————-

…You need to get a grip son…..since when I called you dat?..Dumb, Dumber maybe….but not dat……(ch)…lol

40. that black security guard is a perfect example of the mentality of poor black people whose ancestors were slaves. I have been witnessed to such, i would never be expose to that kind of harassment since my skin is white, my family is white and sad to say black people with his same mentality give us lead way

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I cant remember the last day when I saw any article on this blog praising anything that a Black man or woman has done HERE IN BARBADOS.

I guess that I can be forgiven for believing that BLACK BAJANS don’t do anything worthwhile. If BARBADOS UNDERGROUND is anything to go by.

42. old onion bags Avatar

Carson
    Plain n simple…you maybe suffering from an inferior complex…..and feeling insecure….what not praising blacks on the blog what….like you forget..BU is the official Attack Dog Court..( time to change its name too..to The KENNEL)…white,black, any shiite,..Um TEAR UP….mekkin sport!

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I recall recently when our Central Bank Governor had to make some pertinent comments to the head of the IMF, WHITE woman from France.

Frequent commentator MILLER was livid. How dare a BLACK BAJAN speak to a WHITE person like that. According to MILLER the Governor should know his place.

All this in the twenty first century. Have we really come a long way?

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry David wrong blog space

There are several issues here but to your posit I will comment that while there is a seeming disparity between how and to whom the rules are being applied, I think that the dress code thing is a challenging topic.

Let me explain. Ole men like me in pretending to be hip and conscious of my blackness, tend to wear dashikis. Imagine my utter horror when I went to the court and the not too informed security guard said that I was to put my “short” into my pants!!!

Green monkey dates themselves by use of lady and gentleman for all persons to who one speaks or refers to in conversation.

These younger folk have not been brought up to render such verbal deference to one’s elders and the Americanism of calling one’s elder by their first name is the order of the day and has bred this unwelcomed familiarity.

Take for example the differentiation between Madame and mademoiselle or señora and señorita or Ms. And Mrs.

That is lost on these peeper sweakers forever. So for us to talk about black woman or lady is a cultural diminution that is a casualty of the passage of time and people NOT TRAINING their children because they abdicated the old way OR JUST DID NOT KNOW IT. it was not part of their broughtupsy.

What if the tourist who was at the police station bareback had just been robbed? You see how the attitude of the Big Black Ingrunt RBPF officer (remember that was/is the qualification to be in that institution) speaks to applying a rule sine examination of circumstance?

When you home or pun de road, at Kadooment en ting anything goes, but if you dressing to go to Guverment House you is not supposed to wear pum pum shorts, you think?

You preaching anarchy and sedition and I gine sen We Jonesing fuh you to brek some heads and kill some people

If you are going to the court or any public place their is appropriate attire this is not club 360 and dem wet fete.

I cannot for the life of me understand why you would dress up and go some place to get your nice clothes hose down in water

One rule to bind us all

45. old onion bags Avatar

@CCC

When that nit wit rooast…..recently called me a transistorite….(doan know what dat meant)..you din see me complaining…and dat everybody should send me hate mail….I din welp like a lap dog and lick my wounds in a corner..NOOOoooo…I bounced back attacakeeeeeeeeee…bite ee back and Hard as Rass tooo ……You Baffy,,,you next watch…mekkin sporet….sharpenin my teet and waiting boss…ya brekk up!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

I would never encourage anyone to send hate mail to some one because they disagree with what the person said.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 28, 2013 at 7:36 AM

You are not going to win this one by playing the racist card and playing the role of victim just because you are black. To hell with that!

We call you racist because every time you try to put down anything coming from Adrian you have to refer to his race and ethnic origins. Why do you, along with others, always have to make disparaging remarks about him returning to England and his racial status?
    Adrian is most likely a permanent resident of Barbados as is perfectly entitled to express his views and concerns which, by the way are coming true and playing out every day.

If you were to keep within the bounds of reasoned debate without reference to a person’s race or gender or sexual orientation then you would have nothing to fear from the likes of the MILLER.
    Even if you call Adrian a Dumb ass that would be acceptable but to refer to him as a white dumb ass who should go back to England gives us every right to call you a black stupid person whose head should be cracked and maybe even succumb to one of your fellow black gunslingers directed by Jones the ugliest of them all.

If you don’t have any respect for your fellow black Bajans how do you expect others to respect them and by extension you?
    Look how you recently referred to the passing of Dr. Richard Haynes, a most distinguished black son of the soil? Look how you continue to refer to Owen Arthur a man who was the leader of this ‘black’ country for 14 years?

Doesn’t that give others the same licence to pull down and denigrate people that you uphold as paragon of virtues and of the highest moral rectitude like Leroy Greenverbs and his pals?

48. old onion bags Avatar

Look how you recently referred to the passing of Dr. Richard Haynes, a most distinguished black son of the soil?

Spot on Miller……Ya got ee…..!!