Updated 05 September 2013
Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

Barbados Today published the story that former COP has formally handed over to COP Griffith and withdrawn from court matter against the Police Service Commission.  Included in the report is alleged authorization of wiretapping by Dottin.

Read report: Darwin Dottin officially hands over reins of police force

• Letter sent to Commissioner Darwin Dottin by the Police Service Commissionparts I,II

Submitted by Fedup Cop
Letter sent to CoP - see links inserted blog
Letter sent to CoP – see link inserted in the blog

Let Mr. Dottin tell the public why Sgt Boyce aint get charge for assaulting a Junior Officer whilst he was investigating an accident. Is it because she is his staff officer and his cousin Mr. Corrupbatch woman?

Let him tell the public how is it that civilians witnessed the onslaught of that officer and gave written statements all of which have disappeared. Insp Margaret Stephens was given the matter to investigate but out of common sense or fear said that the officer is her subordinate and she goes to church with Ms.Boyce and asked for it to be reassigned. Then the problem started. Supt Grafton Phillips who is one of Mr. Dottin pimps was given the mater to investigate and here are his recommendations to Mr. Dottin. That his Junior officer and his Sergeant be charged. And the biggest nonsensical recommendation that the civilian and independent witnesses account of what transpired not be taken into consideration. And to make matters worse, Lisa Cutting who is Corruptbatch’s son woman all of a sudden was in the vehicle with Ms.Boyce and gave a statement to that effect.

• Letter sent to Commissioner Darwin Dottin by the Police Service Commissionparts I,II

The civilians stated in their evidence that a man was in the vehicle and we all believe that it was Corruptbatch but allow a sudden Lisa Cutting Con 1363 was there.  She is the same Lisa Cutting who stated that she was not working until she be returned to the major crime unit and ent break a sweat till DM put she back there. Went on sick leave when she get transferred and did not work until she was returned to that post by the Sam Darwin Dottin with whom she had some kind of affiliation be it political or otherwise.

Mr. Dottin got what he deserved and the morale of the force in the last week is at an all time high. When was the last time that police week was held?  Dottin and Pussyard Cumberbatch are two wicked men and the force will be better served seeing their back.

153 responses to “Police Investigation Involving High Ranking Officers Questioned”

1. It seems that many of you are missing the point. This is not about what Dottin did: it is more about how the Police Service Commission performed its functions. Even if Dottin were the most corrupt cop that ever squeeze pass a labia, he is entitled to due process. What the PSC is doing is an embarassment to the country

2. @Caswell

Your point is taken. It should not be a PR battle but one where procedure/protocol is followed. We don’t want a repeat of the QEH saga where the losers are the taxpayers.

3. Caswell you ought to be a Pope you are the last word on every subject. You are an authority on all issues. Well I’m not impressed by you or with you. I think you are a disgruntled hum bug who ought to take a break from BU and let ordinay folk discuss the topics. You are a pain the rear with your arrogant comments. You try to dominate and control debate. You usually fail because most of us who can think dismiss your crap arguments. Please get lost for a year or two. The BU and you would be better off for it.

4. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

I believe we should allow those in the force who have no where else to turn to tell their story.

5. Disc Jockey

I can tell whenever I have a point that ruffled political feathers, fools come on and are abusive to me. Welcome fool.

6. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Disc Jockey, you summed the fraud up right, a man that heads a Union of one person he himself, a man that Mottley sent the police to for theft of a car a man that has been successful at NOTHING HE HAS FAILED IN EVERY ASPECT OF HIS LIFE, but comes on this site pretending to be A FOUNTAIN OF KNOWLEDGE that he surely is not and wants to be the sole authority on every matter discussed under the son, I expect very shortly he will publish his journal on the procedure for Brain Surgery as he is that stupid.

7. The normal medication Mr. Franklyn for all truth is a dose of character assassination to be taken as regularly as possible and one is to ignore the amounts that are written on the instruction label.

It really does not matter that your advice is correct sir, the neophytes are loose and you will now be subjected to the virtual TonTOn macoute who will unfurl their flags of dishonour and seek your death and in this case, exile for 2 years.

But this is a good sign, sir, as you note that it is NOT the usual suspects, and as unfortunate as it will be that every that you have done, every nook and crannie that you have visited, and even those that you have not, will now be attributed to your records, in similar fashion of the Royal Barbados Police Force, assign every breaking to some idiot criminal who gets caught in one robbery, drop all the rest on him and the % cases solved decreases overnight even if the robber fraid uh heights and one uh de crimes demanded that he scale a wall 30 ft tall, in de darkest night, climb up a roof and remove galvanise and enter the building in question.

THe days of “big, black, ugly and ingrunt” being the qualifications for enrollment to the police force are over. In fact the ingrunt part needs to be removed too cause udderwise when dem get in front of de judges, dem attorneys-at-law gine catspraddle de police evidence.

Jes as an aside Caswell, dey is a particular officer a speedcop at Holetown who got a sprained radar device dat evey time he report a body at Lancaster Gully de body does be doing 90.4 miles per hour!! Evey time Mr. Franklyn. You would tink dat de ingrunt swine would have de foresight to realise that if evey body doing de same speed pun he report dat it gine cause a suspicion but he, being one of dem big, black, ugly and ingrunt” polices cyan unnerstan dat. En neider does de judge who fine’ing all uh de speeders …

Remember though, when you cant find anything wrong with a proponent do the next best thing, insult de way dat he does dress, or he coke bottle glasses, or how when de girls dat he say he foo* report pun he dem say dat he doggie did small or someting pertinent like dat, do what de politicians does do, divert de attantion wid de inconsequential en whaplax, you home safe.

I gine bet you, dem idjits so hell bent pun dis Dottin ting dat none uh dem gine pause a moment, recalibrate de weapon like you is advising en den leggo de killer shot, ingrunt swine dat dem is

8. A read of Caswell, he is questioning the procedure used to remove Dottin and not whether he should have been removed.

9. cawell is no position .caswell does not have all the facts. caswell sounds like a disgruntled employee . not a person having or knowing what happened .he was not privy to the details before or after the decision was made, .AS usual he like to starts fire and leave them smoldering. this is just another round of frustration casell is unleashing on the govt, did I read were he say he saw the letter. Caswell operates on rumor and innuendo, like when he said govt sending home thousands of workers,,,,,,stupse,,,

10. @Casewell. IF you are correct and procedure has not been correctly followed, then I agree with you. I am not privy to the process used to rid us of Dottin the Dolt, but have to say that I sincerely hope the correct process was followed. Imagine having him back as COP? Disaster. I also roundly condemn the ad hominem abuse levelled at you. It is completely out of order and the ONLY people who have the right to so abuse you, apart from myself, are Bushie, the Miller, Islandgal and Baffy. Oh, and Piece Uh de Rock. Bottom line, if proper procedure has not been followed, then Dotty the Dolt has a case and you, Casewell, are right.

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Police Investigation Involving High Ranking Officers Questioned, When someone dies or killed the investigation stops? Do we look in to things , just to hold out over others heads, No less than 4 Fraud Squad Police on the Violet Beckles case for near a year and it all stops when David PM died.
    ESQ, QC, SIR, JUDGE , CJ , Ministers, PM ,AG, Workers and so called well known So called People in this Massive Fraud.
    We dont care at this point why he is gone as long as he is gone and plenty more need to go. Violet Beckles is dead and the nation still pays for the crime on going.
    Only when the so call big people want some thing done , the work maybe done.
    What ever is being done to Dottin is what he did to others, Many cases he dump to the side , when he cant get his name in the papers or got paid off one way or the other.
    Dottin want the system to work for him and did not work it for others , to pick and to Chuse what is and what is not a case , with people hurt or dead , He set his table and let him eat crow.
    The Nation has paid and will pay for a long time with him at the helm , Better to pay him out of office than to keep him in office and pay even more.His case need to be put on the pile of back cases and let him wait 27 years to be heard.

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Casewell @ Yes , by the law you may be right , By Dottin own way of law and Justice this way maybe right . “Do unto others” , from his book of doing things,
    With Dottin out the way , the right person in the right place may get back to law.
    If some one charge him with cover up in the case of Violet Beckles then he may just go home ,
    We still await the FINDINGS of the VIOLET BECKLES Massive Fraud case.
    Let the DPP look in to Dottin case , look to see what mess he was in .
    We will wait for others to post before we add what little We heard or know.

13. For sheer nastiness on BU this post so far takes the biscuit. Caswell: what feathers have you ruffled? And for one accurate and inoffensive remark?

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

I am not bothered by the abuse: if I were, I would not publish a single thing on BU. Apart from those you mentioned, the others that abuse me are just mindless idiots.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Robert Ross

I really don’t know whose feathers but one thing for sure, they’re desperate.

16. Respect please . Avatar
    Respect please .

@ Amused
    Dont you understand that a know-it-all like caswell Franklyn would always attract abuse? Have you ever seen him treat anybody whom he disagrees with with any kind of respect ? Everyone besides Caswell is an idiot , brainless, stupid , ( even our Prime Minister) etc, etc, etc . Check his posts and see what I mean . The man is totally disrespectful , a strange characteristic for one who has failed to keep a job of any sort in this country.

17. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

David & Caswell

Even if the procedure was flawed Mr Dottin’s remedy lies in damages against the Crown. The PSC would not have knowingly set out on a flawed procedure, I believe they tried to do the best but may have made some procedural error along the way.

All that notwithstanding it is clear the PSC have reasons for retiring Mr. Dottin and surely those facts remain, procedural error or not. No Court is going to impose upon an employer, public or private, the continued employment of an employee which the said employer has terminated or attempted to terminate.

Mr. Dottin you may have a case for wrongful dismissal and that’s the best case scenario cause you ain’t getting reinstated.

18. Based on what we have been reading on BU it is obvious there is a crisis in confidence in the CoP being expressed in the PSC’s decision. We will find out soon when the matter is heard.

19. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

This is a fight to keep certain information buried. The political consequences for a certain non-male has some, including the same non-male, losing a lot of sleep.

20. Respect Please

But everyone on this site is a “know-it-all”. The one-eyed-man rules. OK? What IS your beef?

Dummy

I’m sure you’re right.

21. Irony Irony Irony!!
    Oh how I love it!!
    “Dottined” poetic justice.
    Shafted by the very corruption you supported and supplied.
    Halelujah!
    There is a GOD(?)

22. @The Dummy

What you have said re the employer not wanting the employee and being able to summarily dismiss said employee as it relates to the PSC and its age-old procedures is incorrect.

If the procedure used is wrong, the person dismissed has the recourse of a court of law and unless the court is in cahoots with the party doing the dismissal, it would have no other option than to reinstate the person dismissed.

If you doubt me then check with Seethru Arthur and Marva alleyne former Director of the Bureau of Womens’ Affairs. You cant just fire people, there is a process as the CoP himself recently realised.

Maybe I am getting dottish, I said dottish not Dottin, but what i dont understand in my old age is how, yesterday, in a department just down the road from me, a head of department (i) fires someone (ii) feel up the pouch of another (iii) tief money from the coffers of his department or de Wilkie Cummerbatch school safe (iv) award a contract to he wife unner a nex name (v) tex de department hard drive information home at heself and all dese udder tings and get ketch discipline, ridiculed by the public and forced to make restitution or retired, or both, and I, hearing all of dis palaver yet, because GOD is a Bajan, and i does go to church and sit in de row wid the saints and de saved, I decide dat as part uh my Public Services Reform i gine feel up my big botsie secretary and get way wid it!!

Man it boggles me ole mind sumtimes when i does hear dese ingrunt incidents every week.

You mean to tell me dat we Bajans so “big, black, ugly and ingrunt (de qualifications for the Police Force) dat dem does do de same ting en expect dat dem special en nuffin gine happen to dem??

De same way dat Whitey start AIDS to kill de black man, I feel dat de man at de Water Authority putting a dose uh “Stupidity WD40” in de water en it being pump directly tuh de houses uh dese public service managers en agency heads evey morning befo’ dem does cum to wuk!!

Fuh dose who ent drinking watah it is being applied to labias (and botsies) and being imbibed at night and pun a day when de managers got de young uns in dey offfice teking diki-tation!! I even feel dat David Seale in pun dis Stupidity WD40 conspiracy en he lacing de Cockspur en Platinum wid de mixture!!

I going have a few words wid Baffy pun dis conspiracy theory dcausing all unna know dat Baffy is a high science man in de Conspiracy department. Mr. Franklyn sir, you wun know bout dese tings causing you does deal wid reasoned arguments en ting, i need to get to speak to Batty…

I gone de madam coming in from de garden en i suppose to ha’ do de breakfast en de watah de eggs di in dun boil out de pot (not to be confused wid cannabis or marijuana)

23. @Plantation etc.
    Let the DPP look into it????

Whaaaaaaa!!!!
    That object is Corruption personified.
    The worst TURD that ever floated down the Essequibo and washed up on the fair shores of Barbados.
    PLEASE somebody pull the chain and flush This TURD into the sewers and the past of Barbados.
    Another PRIME candidate for “Dottinisation”
    Mr PM !!
    If you are AWAKE and listening,wipe this “Klingon” from off the ARSE of our COUNTRY!

24. Every one thinks so highly of Dr Carmichael, wow, I mean every one!.. I had the opportunity to hear him speak and found him tedious as hell. Maybe he’s just not cut out for public speaking. But then again so is the PM. Anyone that has come into contact with him in private is impressed at his humility and forthrightness … but in public and on a stage he appears … different …!

Caswell

de’ got some real jackasses houndin’ you nowa days … I glad, cause it seems to be bringing Amused, Ross and you together on a common understandin’ … HA HA HA

25. Piece

I taught you did my friend …

26. BU endorses the comment posted by pieceahderock. Bear in mind this government has championed Employer Rights legislation to prevent the dismissal of employees without due process. Based on the letter (which is in the public domain) there is legit concern about whether due process was followed. We will see on July 10.

27. Caswell i know that u and Mr. Dottin may drink from the same cup and sit in similar chairs but i know u to be a fairly sensible person once you want to be. Do you know the amount of wrong Mr. Dottin has done to members of the RBPF without following procedure. I guess you do not otherwise you would not say what you said. Look at Insp Bowen. Do you remember that Dottin reduce Mr. Bowen to supervise the backyard workers that is the general workers of the force. That is a post which is taken up by a senior constable or sargeant. Was that not humiliation and then when he spoke out he was on suspension. Lets not talk about procedure not being followed or this chat will end when we are old as the hills. Also dat one pusstard Cumberbatch who believes that he will not get a fair shot at the post because his cousin is no longer at the helm. He should be that last to talk about unfair advantage or disadvantage. He should remember that he put his son in the major crime unit and he went there and found persons acting as Sgt. However his son after doing about five years in the force found himself being promoted ahead persons who were acting for longer periods that his son was in the force. If in disbelief call the north and ask recently promoted 249 Browne. If procedure was followed Bertie Hinds would have been the commissioner of police when that ninconpoop was elevated to the post. Want to talk about procedure talk about the taping of conversations without the persons being made aware that they were being taped. Let the commissioner of police, oops uh mean let Darwin Dottin tell you about the procedure he used to take the money from the police welfare fund and paid Ralph Thorne to represent the earger 15. Let him tell you about the procedure he used to take the money from the police welfare fund which is supported by members of the force and gave to his cousin pusstard Cumberbatch and then when an inspector applied for assistance from the same fund he told him that he cold not help him and when the Insp made noise he gave him back his contribution to the fund. Ask Mr. Dottin about the procedure he used to unceremoniously remove Nola Sobers and Graham Husbands from their postings as handwritting and firearms experts and further went and wrote the governments down the islands and tell them that these two officers who he spent thousands of dollars on to have them trained in their respective fields and be qualified as expert are no longer experts. Ask him why Sgt Mayers the expert accident investigator was removed from his posting and no longer deemed an expert because he refuse to change his report in favor of his cousin who killed the newspaper man in Jackson last year. These are persons who expertise took them to neighbouring islands to assist with criminal investigations. Imagine you would go to this man on a charge of lets sy neglect of duty and he will always find u guilty. please do not ask him to explain or guide you as to how to proceed in the event that you find yourself in a similar situation Because he cold never help yuh. Happy to see your back side. Will drink a smirnoff ice on your departure. And i hope if God forbids and the lawcourt bring you back that the police put on softwares and leh we walk.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dummy

Like the PSC you are blending two different procedures. There is no “wrongful dismissal” in the Public Service. That is a concept reserved for private sector employment. If a person is wrongfully terminated in the Public Service, he can appeal to the Privy Council or depending on the circumstances, he can seek a judicial, review. The remedies in such a case could include a ruling that the decision of the service commission was null and void and of no effect. In which case the officer returns to duty. Before anybody misunderstands, I am referring to the Public Service and not public service: there is a difference.

29. Caswell site the relavant clauses/sections in the PSC charter that would in your opinion bring the dismissal process COP as we know it, into disrepute.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Fedupcop

I am sure if you have grown up in Barbados, you would be familiar with the saying: two wrongs do not make a right. If Mr. Dottin has done all the things that you said, he should have been charged for breaching the rules and tried. The PSC should have charged him and if he wanted to avoid any embarrassment, he would have retired quietly. If he were found guilty, he would have lost his gratuity and pension. With his service, his gratuity would be 25 months pay and, his pension would be half of his salary until he dies.

If what you are saying is correct, the PSC would be giving him a way out and some money. I hope you realise that the PSC has not accused Mr. Dottin of wrongdoing.

31. @ FEDUPCOP
    You mean to tell me dat we Bajans so “big, black, ugly and ingrunt (de qualifications for the Police Force) dat dem does do de same ting en expect dat dem special en nuffin gine happen to dem??
    a paragraph from a comment made by Piece Uh De Rock, Yeah Right!! | June 24, 2013 at 8:13 AM
    Look at that comment and see how the majority of Barbadians feel about you. (fedupcop)
    If you are that fed up then u should go along home, make yourself happy and stop airing your dirty clothes in public. You don’t see other Departments bringing tales out of school. You don’t know the reason for no decision made by the Commissioner or the Deputy.
    Ok, the Government made a decision to send home Commissioner Dottin. What are you getting from all those comments you are making?? Nothing!!!! Tell me something…. Are you feeling any better after posting that article??? I doubt it!!!!
    I think that you should be more concerned with the procedure because if its flawed then whats the purpose of having rules. You could be a victim at some point too.
    I am willing to bet that you are Constable with no ambition who complains about everything, because you are so “fedup” that you are very abusive to the public. You also wanna stay in the station and sleep at nights and you are vex when the Sgt details you for duty. As a matter a fact, vex wid the world for all your short falls.
    Instead of marketing yourself you are around for the sole purpose of annoying others. Who knows if it’s the truth…

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Adrian Hinds

I don’t know what you know but I have a copy of the letter which purports to send Dottin on leave. That letter is all that Dottin needs to secure a victory in court.

The letter which was signed by the Chairman of the PSC stated at four different points that the GG either advised the PSC or expressed some view. In these matters, the GG does not have a view at this stage and he certainly does not advise any service commission. The GG is the head of the body that would determine Dottin’s appeal.

All the GG was required to do would have been to act on the advice of the PSC and send the matter to the Chief Personnel Officer who would have written to Dottin and inform him of the decision and also of the time for appeal. I am sure that her letter would not have let the cat out of the bag that the GG did what he aught not.

I am away from home and do not have access to my books, so forgive me if I am off but the relevant sections would be sections 96 and 98 of the Constitution. I will double check when I return home.

33. The problem I am having with all of this is why these allegations of alleged wrongdoing was not publicly made part of the ‘complaint and reason’ why the commissioner is being dismissed, no one is dismissed without a valid reason, yet everyone was silent on the why for the dismissal like it is some big state secret, time to let it all come out and let the chips fall where they may, the government needs to start not only pretending to be transparent but actually be transparent with taxpayers money and stop trying to protect the reputations of cronies, lodge members and family members. It is ugly and will only continue to stain the island’s reputation

34. @ fedupcop
    My layman investigation into your comment about legal services being paid from police fund….. soooo not true.
    But it sounds juicy and nice so there goes the gossip.

35. @Caswell they are two Letters? one sending him on leave and one informing him that he has been retired?
    Whatever became of the four charges of professional misconduct laid against Dottin back in 2010 I think?

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Adrian

I know of and have seen one letter. It purports to send him on administrative leave, which does not exists in the Public Service, and it also told him that the PSC has advised the GG that he should be retired. The letter then went on to set out the procedure that would have been used if he were charged with an offence. He has not been retired as yet. That is the first flaw in the procedure.

37. *The following is the letter from the Police Service Commission to Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin. The letter is dated June 17, 2013*

*Re: Recommendation of retirement of the Commissioner of Police*

I write to inform you that His Excellency, Sir Elliot Fitzroy Belgrave, GCMC, KA, Governor General of Barbados, has been advised by the Police Service Commission to exercise the power conferred upon him by section 11 (1) (a) of the Pensions Act, Cap, 25, and requested that you, in the public interest be retired from the office of Commissioner of Police.

His Excellency directed the Police Service Commission to provide you with copies of all statements and other evidence which was considered by the Police Service Commission in reaching its decision that you should be required to retire in the public interest, within 21 days of today’s date, 17 June, 2013.

His Excellency has further advised that within 28 days thereafter, you may provide him with any statement or other evidence or document which, in your opinion, with cast doubt on, or completely rebut the case presented to His Excellency by the Police Service Commission and which is capable of showing that His Excellency should not act on the advice of the Police Service Commission, that you be should be retired from the office of Commissioner of Police.

His Excellency expressed the view that when he is fully satisfied that all the rules of natural justice as they apply to your case have been satisfied, he would be in a position to determine whether or not you should be required to retire.

His Excellency is, however, of the view, that you should be placed on administrative leave with immediate effect, today June 17, 2013, until further notice.

I am further advised that on the advice of the Police Service Commission, after consultation with the Prime Minister, His Excellency has appointed Tyrone Griffith, Assistant Commissioner of Police to act as Commissioner of Police with effect from today, June 17, 2013, until further notice.

You should conduct yourself accordingly.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/dottins-removal-letter/

38. Caswell is this the letter that was in the papers? I didn’t read it then, but would like to see it now! There is accepted practice in past cases involving the PSC and gazetted officers were suspension was recommended pending completion of an investigation. Would not the term “leave” be used instead of suspension given that the applicant is the COP

39. Caswell is this the letter that you have? I see nothing in it with which Dottin can deny the PSC the right to suspend or send him on leave.

There seems to be evidence to substantiate the PSC recommendations:

1:His Excellency directed the Police Service Commission to provide you with copies of all statements and other EVIDENCE which was considered by the Police Service Commission in reaching its decision that you should be required to retire in the public interest, within 21 days of today’s date, 17 June, 2013.

Dottin is given an opportunity to keep his Job!

2:His Excellency has further advised that within 28 days thereafter, you may provide him with any statement or other evidence or document which, in your opinion, with cast doubt on, or completely rebut the case presented to His Excellency by the Police Service Commission and which is capable of showing that His Excellency should not act on the advice of the Police Service Commission, that you be should be retired from the office of Commissioner of Police.

*As I have said before there is precedent for “removing a Gazetted officer from their position pending an investigation.

See Griffith vs. COP and AG

Held: (i) Section 17(1)(b) of the Service Commissions (Police Service)
    Regulations, 1964 gave the Police Service Commission the power to recommend the Governor-General. The applicant’s subsequent suspension was done in the interest of good administration and was not done to punish him, but was merely a holding operation until the Commission determined whether or not disciplinary
    charges ought to be instituted;

40. @Adrian

Caswell’s letter has been updated to the blog.

41. Oh! for de non-lawyers (I don’t want to be accused of “amusing” anybody) LOL

HELD: means
    hold (Decide), verb abjudge, abjudicate, ascertain, come to a conclusion, conclude, decide legally, decree, find, fix, judge, make a decision, pass judgment, …

42. To add to Adrian’s comment the big question is why has the COP decided to go to court if he is aware that there is a weighty case against him.

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Adrian Hinds

His Excellency cannot direct the PSC. Further, he cannot hold any view that any public officer should be sent on leave. His job at this stage is just to sign. If he expressed those views in private, they should not have made their way in print.

We are not reading and understanding what I wrote, maybe that is my fault. The PSC has every right to interdict (suspend) a public officer who is charged with an offence or is under investigation. The letter purports to do neither. All I am saying is that they got the procedure wrong.

If I were dealing with the matter, I would have interdicted Dottin and charge him with whatever offence they allege that he committed. This was not done. Let me repeat, they have taken steps from two different procedures and applied them to Dottin.

44. LOL @ David
    How many times have you heard of urgent pending legal action in the heat of issues……and then nothing…

It worked like a charm in the “sub judice” days BEFORE BU(BBU) ….. LOL

45. @Bush Tea

Correct 🙂

Was blown over a few week back to hear David Ellis explaining how cases before the court may still be discussed within certain parameters compared to earlier times which producer Michael Browne would bring down the hatchet one time.

46. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

What Caswell is at pains to point out to those who are intelligent to discern is that the PSC appears to have been so hasty to move Commissioner Dottin that they now stand accused of misfeasance.The PSC appears confused in reading and thus in applying the law and has done so such a manner as to be accused of not being clear of its role and functions.Not for the first time as we recall the Eager 11 ran to Govt House more than once when they thought 11 of 20 was a majority,only to be told more than once that they should know that it has to be 16 of 30.DLP dunces I’m afraid,only its embarrassing to bajans once again.

47. Caswell you are hoping that the letter is accurate in the inferrence you are drawing from certain words contain therein. We all know the law that the GG signs the recommedations from the PSC. The wording in this letter doesn’t change that, and correcting that might be the only thing Dottin’s suit achieves.

48. @ Adrian
    you have a way of cutting right to the heart of the matter…..
    If there are three REALLY major problems with barbados, then one of them would have to be LAWYERS.
    Those (insert any bad word here) have put us in a position where whatever we do is WRONG!

EVERYONE agrees that out public service is BAD…..but not a boy can be disciplined unless lawyers make $10m.

Everyone agrees that the education system is shot…but it takes $600,000 to lawyers, to move a good man from st James to st Michael

Everyone can see that the whole police force was shot…but these lawyers are vexed because another lawyer (a traitor to the legal cause?) did what ANY MANAGER WORTH HIS PAY would do…
    Bushie now recommends that Guyson be promoted to a REALLY serious role where he can get rid of even higher Brass Bowls….
    …and the more Caswell and Gabriel complain, (and Amused hymm and haws) the more likely it is that we are dealing with that particular ‘top three’ problem that Barbados face…lawyers (and ‘bush lawyers’…. 🙂 )

49. Bushie boy I long realize that many make loads of money off of us by making life and things thereof so complex to boggle our minds away from trying to understand. I have made it my business to untangle the web of complexity first for my benefit and secondly to expose, the deceitful, and the wicked, all of whom have highjacked the title of respected member of the community. 🙂

50. In the right direction Avatar
    In the right direction

Caswell came on bu more than once to claim he’s in possession of official letters and secret information eg inside scoop on the sending home of 6,000 gob workers. He even claim it was he who stop the 6,000 from joining the bread line. Its difficult to believe anything Caswell posits because of his past indiscretions and unrelialbe “facts”..

He did say MAM cause BLP to lose and George Payne mouthings as reported by Hinckson supports him. The problem is Caswell’s reason for MAM causing the BLP to lose was not that she was running a covert campaign againt Pain and Gail as Hinkson says Pain said. Caswell’s premise was based on factors he never fully aired.

Something smells in Denmark because many bloggers identify Caswell’s grouse with Mia is her calling the police for him something to do with him allegedly stealing a car.

Franklyn to be frank lacks credibility Like Dottin no one seems to know anyone who likes or respects him. In the case of Dottin at least the dislike was from the rank and file of the RBPF not necessarily john public.

John public cant stomach Franklyn’s behaviour and history hence no one joined his unity union..