Peter Caddle

BU’s Note: Local media has reported that Pedro Caddle turned himself over to authorities in the company of his Attorney at law on Friday 30, 2013. Given the nature of this matter BU withholds the name of the person who submitted this writing two days ago which was not picked up by BU.

Once again, the police are seeking public assistance in locating Pedro Caddle, who is wanted in connection with a number of “serious criminal matters”.  Pedro has been recently released from prison, where he has been held since 2011, following a May 2011 request for public assistance in locating the man, then too being sought in connection with a number of “serious criminal matters”.

Of course, Pedro’s venture into “serious criminal matters” began well before 2011.  The readership may recall that Pedro was a victim of a shooting incident while at the QEH in 2002.  Public transcripts on the ensuing trial state, “Pedro Caddle, a person who by his own admission is constantly in trouble and always being shot, went to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital on that day in question for dressing for one of his numerous gunshot wounds, and was shot again by an unknown assailant.”

Without fully being aware of the total number of charges and convictions made against Pedro during his lifetime of crime, I cannot say definitively what he is and is not guilty of, however, a minimal amount of investigation would  reveal that the number of reported burglaries in St. Joseph increase significantly during the periods when Pedro is not incarcerated.

His criminal activity has targeted locals and tourists alike.  There have been allegations made against Pedro with respect to an armed robbery at the Round House in 2011 and again this very week at Sea U guest houses.  In fact, Pedro was indicted in a burglary made against my own Canadian family while on vacation in Barbados as far back as 2001.

The above was offered to provide some context.

How many times does Barbados intend to arrest, charge, convict and release this seasoned criminal?

Has any assessment been done on the destructive economic impact Pedro has had on Barbados in missed tourism opportunities, lost marketing dollars, or the cost of his many runs through the legal system.

Is any consideration made for the long-standing emotional trauma he has caused his many victims?

Lastly, and what I really want to know is, when, Barbados, is it enough?

MAXIMUM SENTENCING

125 responses to “Pedro Caddle, Maximum Sentencing Please!”

1. Yeap there is nothing of worth to celebrate of a man who all.but held some of society underside
    Meanwhile boasting and daring on other social media platforms
    His own actions against others gave cause for his vigilante style demise

2. We are focusing on the wrong thing. It is the environment breeding anti social and illegal behaviour that we should be concerned. The outcome from the environment is only symptomatic.

3. This is why nothing is improving in our 2×3 society, on basic common sense issues we have to be polarized and confrontational.

4. But dah is wha we likes to talk bout.

5. @David October 29, 2024 at 12:47 pm “This is why nothing is improving in our 2×3 society, on basic common sense issues we have to be polarized and confrontational.”

David I hope that you do not mean me because you know that I am never confrontational.

As for polarized. Right and wrong are natural opposites.

Stealing and so forth are wrong.

Being judge, jury and executioner=wrong.

Extra-judicial executions=wrong.

I hope that the police do good investigations and are able to bring charges against the people who beat Pedro to death.

And that a case is heard before a jury of their peers.

Pedro was a certified bad man, but we can’t have vigilantes killing all who are believed or known to be bad men or women.

Next thing you know a woman believing or knowing that her husband is a bad man, who drinks, smokes, gambles and horns will feeling justified in killing the bad man.

That too=wrong.

6. @Simple Simon

The blog master’s point stands, we need to focus on why the vigilante behaviour reared its head this instance. We have the symptom of the beating what provoked citizens to behave the way they did.

7. @ David
    What did Bushie advise about arguing with women, children or simpletons?

We live in an increasingly complex society which challenges even the few intellectually gifted among us to navigate its elaborate labyrinths…. what do you expect from a simple Simon ..beyond emotional gobble?

The management of a modern society requires hard, decisive, wise actions that are designed with the BEST OVERALL interest of the society in mind.
    Any sensible farmer, on finding an infected specimen within his flock will take immediate and decisive ACTION to protect the herd… usually cull and burn.

Even when growing tomatoes, SS knows the importance of PRUNING the dead and dying stems from the plant -IF SHE WANTS A GOOD HARVEST.

Emotional shiite talk about ‘poor fella’, ..’Cuhdear’.., and the lotta crying and belly holding may impress the effeminate and the bullas among us, … but not stinking Bushie…

Also PLEASE KNOW that when the BIG BOSS calls the final Court to session – in the last judgment, wunna will hear a lotta weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth then too… BUT the hammer will STILL come down on all wicked donkeys just the same…

As was said earlier…what he sow, his donkey reaped….
    Simple Simon is free to gnash her dentures…

8. You are too harsh Bush Tea. In your analogy there is the need to enforce relevant laws (remove the bad apples) and at the same time invest in nurturing a healthy environment to ensure there are avenues for economic and social growth/opportunities. It seems everything these days is about using a hammer to solve problems.

9. So are you one of those who want us to be a ‘Singapore’ …
    BUT you want to…
    – Cut out the laws about hanging drug traffickers?
    – Remove the penalty for chewing gum in public and dirtying up the place?
    – Stop Firing and CHARGING everyong involved in bribery – ESPECIALLY ministers
    – Relax the uncompromising rules on waste management…
    Boss, If you want to REAP national development and success
    you have to plant the required seeds…

10. @Bush Tea October 29, 2024 at 3:21 pm “what do you expect from a simple Simon ..beyond emotional gobble?…immediate and decisive ACTION to protect the herd…usually cull and burn…Emotional shiite talk about ‘poor fella’, ..’Cuhdear’.., and the lotta crying and belly holdin”

Methinks that Bush Tea is the one displaying emotional gobble, talking nonsense about culling and burning. Human beings, even bad behaved ones are not infected chickens or tomatoes and we must not cannot cull and burn a human being who has stolen etc. We cannot condone the extra-judicial execution of bad men who have not committed murder.

I am not a cryer, not a belly holder, and no where did I say nor imply “poor fella”

11. David
    October 29, 2024 at 12:45 pm

We are focusing on the wrong thing. It is the environment breeding anti social and illegal behaviour that we should be concerned. The outcome from the environment is only symptomatic.
    Xxxc
    After three times of vigilante justice
    The homeless man beaten by a business owner because the homeless man stole his computer
    The death of a man caught on a farmer residence
    Now Pedro

All three combine sends messages of a weakened justice system to whom the people look forward for justice and a people looking inward at the lackluster performance of a justice system which take years to bring a criminal before the law courts
    Resulting in a fed up broken and disgusted society who no longer trust how justice is dispensed

12. When ac becomes the voice of logic on BU, then we should KNOW that the end is near..
    ..and it is not just three examples that she gave above…

If we had a WORKING justice system, that effectively and efficiently dealt with the ‘badboys’ that they ALL KNOW OF, then we would not have devolved into the lotta reprisal killings that we have been seeing almost daily.

If praedial larceny was dealt with PROPERLY, then farmers would not feel inclined to be judge, jury and executioner…. but then we always have the ‘goody two-shoes’ who can be relied on to justify the lotta crop thieving – and say ‘cuhdear…’

So we listen to the weak-kneed emotional simpletons, and show extended mercies and patience with these bad-boys – CREATING IN THE PROCESS a situation where rogue sections of the society then feel forced to take the Law into their own hands.

Steupsss…

There IS a reason why the Bible insists that women (and men with like tendencies) keep out of such matters as national leadership, the (true) church, …and (Bushie suggests) off BU ….
    Murda!!!

13. @Bush Tea at 7:16 AM “There IS a reason why the Bible insists that women (and men with like tendencies) keep out of such matters as national leadership, the (true) church”

Wasn’t much of the Bible written by men?
    So what are we to expect? Men will put themselves and other men a the head of the line for all leadership positions, whether or not such men are honest, sensible and capable.

Just like what is happening in West Asia right now, A bunch of menght saying that long, long ago their god said that the land is theirs in perpetuity and they have the right to kill and run out all others.

You Bush Tea can chose to believe such nonsensical lies.

I do not believe anybody’s lies.

14. @SS
    You making any conkies next month?
    Mek some with cherries fuh Bushie….

15. @Bush Tea October 30, 2024 at 10:25 pm “@SS You making any conkies next month?”

Me and the grands enjoyed some conkies this evening.

We didn’t leave any for you.

16. Cherries in conkies are an abomination. nobody will ever catch me putting those horrible ‘plastic’ cherries in conkies.

17. “Me and the grands enjoyed some conkies this evening.
    We didn’t leave any for you.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Now you see dat kinda ting dey!!!
    This is EXACTLY what is wrong with this world… wid wunna women now in charge.

Back in the good old days, NOT A GRANCHILD touching a conkie..
    til the old man get his…

Or it would be – as Dacosta Allamby would have said..
    Endorse the conkies..
    and put them back in the pot..
    dem children too blasted rude
    and Bushie aint standing fuh dat.

OK
    lef out de cherries – put in some raisins in mine – but not too many.

18. Probe ongoing into driver’s death

POLICE ARE continuing investigations into the death of 43-year-old Pedro Caddle.

That was the word from acting communications and public affairs officer Sergeant Liesl Gabriel when asked yesterday if there was anyone in custody or assisting police.

Caddle, who had a long history of being on the wrong side of the law, was involved in an accident at Jackson Tenantry Road, St Michael, on Monday. Police responded to the scene after reports that the driver attempted to flee the scene and that a group of men beat him after giving chase.

His body was discovered in a dirt road in the area, badly beaten and bloody, with his shirt around his waist.

He was pronounced dead by a doctor. (SAT)

19. Taking matters into your hands, ‘a no-no’

Police are concerned about the increasing cases of intentional homicides, including revenge killings.

Acting Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce says if there is not a three-pronged approach, the situation is likely to continue.

Those approaches include intensified community policing, an improved judicial system and people taught to value life more.

Boyce said he was concerned, even though he declined to speak on the incident where Pedro Caddle died at Jackson, St Michael, after he was beaten on Monday.

“First of all, I would not be commenting on the current death investigation, because that is a very active investigation and while we might have perceptions and views, we have to wait for the outcome of the investigation,” he said.

His comments were made on Thursday night as part of a panel on Zoom where the evolution of crime in Barbados from the 1980s to the present day, was discussed.

Boyce said cases of intentional homicides were worrisome.

“Obviously, any death by unnatural means is a concern for the police service. We believe in the rule of law and we believe in fairness and justice and we believe that if there is a matter that warrants an investigation, then it ought to be investigated and the outcome determined by the institutions that are established to come to the conclusion.

Active investigation

“So whether it is intentional homicides, whether it is interpersonal relationship homicides or not, there remains that concern from the Barbados Police Service. So all I can say in relation to the question posed … that is a very active investigation and we would want to see what is the outcome from an investigative perspective. Secondly, we are very concerned about intentional homicides and those homicides that demonstrate a level of vengeance, revenge in the execution,” Boyce added.

Criminologist and University of the West Indies Professor Corin Bailey, who weighed in on the matter, said violence was cultivated in society for many years, noting this contributed to vigilante justice.

“We have been teaching our young people that violence is an accepted means of solving disputes. Vigilante justice is often borne out of that kind of sentiment and culture. When you add social and economic frustrations and in some cases a feeling that the system is not working, it creates an environment where that type of activity occurs.

“If we allow citizens to take matters into their own hands if it is not dissuaded . . .it will grow if it is not dealt with,” Bailey said.

While making it clear he was not suggesting any harsh punishment or specific disciplinary actions be imposed on the individuals involved in the Caddle beating, Bailey said some measures still had to be taken.

He, however, also stressed that the judicial system should be more efficient and that community policing needed to be strengthened.

“In Jamaica, for example, if someone commits a crime, the likelihood that they are going to be arrested for it, is not as high as in a country like Barbados. Barbados’ issue is the length of time that cases take to go through the court system. I know that is not an easy situation to correct and I know steps are being taken to do that. However, it is not an excuse.

“Barbados is pretty good with community policing but those levels probably need to be intensified because if part of the reason for this is a lack of trust in security apparatus, then we need a better relationship between the community and police. They have to make community members feel encouraged if not compelled, to seek redress through them rather than taking matters into their own hands,” Bailey added.

Community violence

He said limits must be placed on the amount of violence the youth was exposed to.

“We need communitylevel interventions that seek to address community violence that our young people are exposed to. Vigilante justice is a form of that.

“You are fooling yourself that you are on the right side of it because you are attacking somebody who is allegedly guilty of an offence,” he added.

Psychologist Shawn Clarke, who is the Chief Executive Officer at Supreme Counselling for Personal Development, also suggested that vigilante justice could continue if not nipped quickly.

“We are seeing our people acting irrationally in a way that we’ve never seen before. We are not necessarily putting the systems and mechanisms in place to combat this kind of behaviour. So [vigilante justice] is something that we can see continuing,” Clarke said.

He said more must be done in the homes.

“It has to start from in the home. Unless we return to that feeling of being our brother’s keepers and to that place where we empathise with the people, the behaviour will continue. We have to teach our young people the values of life, instil that sense of morale, self-belief and love.

“We have to teach people that life matters and you must not take the law into your own hands and do as you choose to. There is a system in place and you have to work the system,” Clarke added.

(MB/TG)

20. Steupssss!!

This is like asking Petra Wicky to evaluate the 11-plus exam.
    Every shiite is to blame EXCEPT the fact that Brass Bowls fail to do what they are required to do.

The problem DOES NOT LIE with the public, who have shown EXTREME patience over decades of putting up with incompetent, dishonest, bribe-taking and just plain careless officials, whose ROLES are to deal with Law, crime, punishment, rehabilitation etc.

It has LONG been documented how these morons have failed – possibly with the exception of the Police, who however MUST now be frustrated with the shitty political and judicial systems that DO NOT WORK.

What the Hell do they want the public to do?
    Hold their bellies and cry?
    Pay more consultants?
    Lock themselves up in their homes – while the bad-boys run free?

Lotta shiite!!

What the public probably SHOULD do is take vigilante action against those useless clowns who are being paid, and can’t seem to botch a damn peg…

Perhaps that is what is coming next. So no wonder those useless officials are calling for the public to get more vaseline and bend over a bit more, in the face of criminals doing more and more shiite bout here…

Steupsss again…

21. https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/11/06/trio-charged-with-pedro-caddles-murder/

Trio charged with Pedro Caddle’s murder

Three young men will appear in court this morning charged with killing Pedro Caddle last month.

Daniel Ezekiel Forde and Tyrone Ricardo Roach, both 29, and 23-year-old Nicholas Teynold DaCosta Roach, all residents of Jackson Tenantry Road, St Michael, are scheduled to appear before Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes in the District ‘A’ Magistrate’s Court on the charge of murdering Caddle on October 28.

Caddle, 43, of Bissex Housing Area, St Joseph, died after being beaten by a group of men in Jackson Tenantry Road following an accident in which he hit an elderly woman with his car.

22. @Simple Simon

This is a classic case of how a dysfunctional system turns ‘good’ employees into bad.

23. I never comment on cases which are before the court.
    So “NO COMMENT”

24. Three on murder charge

THREE MEN APPEARED in the District “A” Traffic Court yesterday before Magistrate Alison Burke, charged with the October 28 murder of Pedro Caddle.

I wonder if any of the 3 is nicknamed “Bush Tea”?