His ExcellencySir Elliott BelgraveGCMG KA CHB QC
His Excellency
Sir Elliott Belgrave
GCMG KA CHB QC

BU listened with interest to DJ and others at Voice of Barbados (VOB92.9FM) extending best wishing to Senator Tony Marshall on his appointment to the Upper Chamber of the Barbados Parliament as an Independent Senator. BU on the other hand withholds all plauditory remarks until Tony Marshall shows respect to the public he pretended to serve while he was  afternoon talk show host and Chairman of the important National Insurance Scheme.

Some will see the irony of Senators Marshall and Byer-Suckoo being members of that Chamber in the current term. It was the then Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo who refused to renew Tony Marshall’s appointment to the National Insurance Board. The usually loquacious Tony Marshall has not issued a public statement that we are aware of on the matter. There was rampant speculation at the time on BU about the ‘optics’ he would have exuded as Chairman of the NIS Scheme given his former role as a director on the CLICO Board. There was the other camp who believed it had to do with matters arising from the NIS on again off again decision to fund the problem plagued Paradise Beach Development Project (Four Seasons Project). Whatever the reason the public, taxpayers, are none the wiser.

Tony Marshall given his roles to date BU regards him as a person of public interest and we are within our right to place the former banker under the microscope. As the talk show host in Barbados he never used the VOB92.9FM bully pulpit to speak out about CLICO from an insider perspective. Contrast his position with Tony Hoyos who resigned on principle from the Barbados National Bank Board (now Republic Bank) to express his disagreement at the time about the share price government was willing to accept from RBL (how this matter finally was settled is fodder for another blog).

The other issue- alluded to – which continues to concern some Barbadians was the abrupt way Tony Marshall was jettisoned by Minister Byer-Suckoo and government as Chairman of the NIS Scheme. The Minister at the time felt comfortable explaining that Marshall’s contract was not renewed BUT does the public deserve a fuller explanation Senator Esther Byer-Suckoo?

Senator Tony Marshall has a chance to redeem himself in the Senate BUT we will not hold our breath. One can only wonder what was the criteria used by the Governor General to appoint Marshall to the Senate. Was it a backroom understanding? Is it the ‘fraternity’ raising its head yet again? Rest assured if the status quo remains the public will never know. Hurray for democracy!

Another probing of the Governor General’s picks for the Senate has been the ‘dropping’ of Dr. Francis Chandler. Again one wonders the rational used by the Governor General.  Dr. Chandler has been one of the most vocal and active members of the last Senate. The fact that she is top of her field in the world of agriculture did not count Sir Elliot? Bear in mind Barbados is expected to focus more than in the past on this sector and environmental matters. Who better a person to have in the Senate than Dr. Chandler, a truly independent voice. If this reason is not good enough, the Governor General has not appointed one damn woman to the Senate.Should we expect Leader of the Opposition to be vocal on this matter? What about Santia Bradshaw MP, Maria Agard MP, Cynthia Forde MP, surely they have a vested interest? Needless to say the same inquiry can be directed at Deputy Speaker of the House Mara Thompson.

On this issue social commentator Agyeman Kofi posted the following to his Facebook page this morning:

“Are no independent thinking woman existing in Barbados? How in 2013 a Governor General of a developing democracy appoint a senate and not one female is among appointees? What is even more appalling is the deafening silence of the woman organizations or perhaps they too may be compromised in their quest to remain mendicants to government largesse. Some may say I am an alarmist but hindsight is always 20/20 vision. Barbados is fastly becoming a place where the ostrich and sheeple syndromes are pervasive and excuses for mediocrity is now commonly accepted. Why are few willing to speak out and offer honest feedback? Too many are licorish and now place ethics and morality on the back bench to ensure cocktails invites continue. Thus,will a few honest unselfish Bajans stand up and be true craftsmen of our fate for future generations? Two Barbados will always exist if the current social order is not challenged and the bottom up approach is not taken in our need for social justice and equality. Long live Dr Francis Chandler a true independent woman!”

How can we have a democracy which is suppose to encourage participation but our leaders continue to make decisions which depart from commonsense?

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lool! | March 11, 2013 at 7:40 AM |

Let us say up front to you that we are in total unison with you regarding the importance of not pulling down our institutions. And that is a clarion call that all law abiding and concerned citizen should be keen to hear and observe.

But before you go on your idealistic quest for any control of utterances of criticisms from those who don’t subscribe to your view of “society” let us first accept that there must be a clear distinction between institutions and people heading those institutions at any point in time.
    Institutions are based of laws, rules, accepted norms and conventions. Leaders are temporary appointees selected to guard the adherence to the modus operandi fashioned and determined by the same laws, etc.
    Leaders must therefore, by their very actions and commitment to those rules and norms, earn the respect and admiration of the very citizens they are there to serve.

The acid test of the integrity of the validity of those institutions is whether the people in charge are leading by example.

You should therefore ask yourself before pontificating from your altruistic pulpit whether the leaders are leading by example by adhering to the dictates of the law and the accepted norms and conventions of society.

Have a close look at our premiere institution the legal justice system and let us know if this state of affairs should continue in continuous breach of citizens’ Constitutional rights to justice in a fair and timely way.
    Why should a citizen have respect for a system that allows a member of his or her family to be on remand for 4 or more years without a fair hearing regarding that relative’s guilt or innocence?

What about our leaders giving succour to law breakers and known swindlers because of their “friendship” with the same wrong doers? Meanwhile young men caught with marijuana- a god-made plant that Mother Nature provides without capitalist profit making involvement as in the case of alcohol and cigarettes- are forced to pay huge fines or sent to prison to blight that person’s character for life.

Why should we turn a blind eye to a situation where a person is arrested for alleged voter fraud and the matter is swept so far under the carpet?

There is a lot more that can be said about our institutions and their leaders but you get the point. Let the change come from the top and you will see those living underground will respond positively to those efforts.

Those who are without sin, cast the first stone.

Now if you plan to respond, please attack what was said and not the anonymous person saying it

2. There can be an argument pro or con of the relevance of the Senate as is constitutionally required in these times.

However the case is framed in such a way as to question the appointment of a new Senator seemingly against the rejection of another and impugn the motives and character of the GG.

As is with the norm on these matters political partisans of both stripes chimed in to continue the post-election rhetoric with one partisan implying that the GG ‘begged for this pick”

A Senatorial appointment is not lifetime tenure, the political Parties recommend their candidates and no one bats an eye when the Parties select candidates who have been rejected at the Polls. The GG can similarly exercise his discretion in selecting his choices; a mature audience would accept this and move on.

It’s time to move on.

3. @ ac
    “@lool………………..absolutely correct well said.”
    Why don’t you stick to beating Miller’s bowling nuh? …with all the other BU bowlers you are misreading the pace, spin and bounce.

“Lool” should be named “stool”

The whole point of BU is to support and encourage free discussion. Stool is trying to make a case for David to control what bloggers say when it does not suit a certain agenda…… Dat is Shiite.

Obviously David will just flush that suggestion, …..but you jump in supporting stool….

The woman served her time and made her contribution. To bushie, this discussion about her “right” to be reappointed is Shiite anyhow….. On what basis? …because she say a few things that every intelligent bajan says everyday?
    If anything , it is our Persistently Pissy Press to blame for its failure to highlight these SAME suggestions when they come from other sources…..they should say why…..perhaps the phd….?

This whole BLOG is a non issue
    Dr Chandler is a non issue
    Tony Marshall is a non issue

….but if someone wants to bring it up and vent their feelings, it is better that we face the REALITY of feelings out there and do something about them, than to hide them with censorship and let them simmer in the background.

BU is the best thing that has happened in Barbados in 10 years, and Bushie especially enjoys TO THE POINT constant harassment of David – testing his obviously superhuman patience…. 🙂

David, – don’t change one Shiite.

4. Gotta agree with Miller……………………the leaders cannot be seen as above anything and everything, particularly criticism, when it comes to holding up to ridicule the same institutions they represent, particularly at the expense of the taxpayers. I however, agree with the GG on his decision.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | March 11, 2013 at 8:38 AM |
    “BU is the best thing that has happened in Barbados in 10 years, and Bushie especially enjoys TO THE POINT constant harassment of David – testing his obviously superhuman patience.”

The miller humbly goes along with your view here.
    It’s a surreptitious way of driving the wedge of censorship in BU.
    Politicians can get up in Parliament and say things that are patently untrue and disparaging of ordinary citizens without impunity except for the rare “censure” from a sleepy Speaker.
    People on this blog who express concern or disapproval of the GG’s choice are not in principle question his right to exercise his discretion. They are presumably questioning the quality of the decision and it is their democratic right to do. They can’t do anything about it the same way Bajans can’t do a thing about what the British Monarch or government says or do. But we have a right to criticise and complain and even whinge.

You cannot expect to educate your people many University level and then require them to submit like sheep to the dictatorial demands of those in charge of institutions with their misplaced notions of their own importance in the grander scheme of society.

BTW, if you were a really effective captain of the Frankie Worrell calibre youshould know when a bowler should be changed from one end to the next and be able to judge the strengths and weaknesses of any batsman (in this neutral gender case, batter).
    Can’t you by now tell the difference between ac’s batting and her husband’s?
    Next time your vice captain would draw it to your attention.

6. @Bushie

BU respectfully disagree that this is a non issue. Using Marshall is just to exemplify how certain people are able to bounce around our system with unanswered questions in tow. In the case of dropping Chandler BU has issue with the prima facie decision, the real issue is the lack of transparency how these decisions are made. We are passed the days of the dark ages. We live in an information age. We live in a society which presumably is more educated. Why should we not be able to ask the GG the rational behind his picks? Is the only reason one of observing conventions?

7. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

I cannot disagree with you that we should be able to ask the GG the rationale behind his picks. However, we would first have to change our constitutional arrangements which appear to permit the GG full discretion in this matter.

Further, the interest ostensibly represented by Dr Chandler is not expressly listed as one of those that the GG has to consider for representation in the Senate…”to represent religious,economic or social or such interests as the GG considers ought to be represented… [s.36(4)].

It is his call!

8. @Jeff

Thanks for that elucidation. One therefore has to wonder why Barbadians (taxpayers)are not operating within a right to be concerned that the GG – who operates mainly in a ceremonial capacity- should not be obligated to select independent candidates which are aligned to national strategic priorities. We need to have a system which more accurately achieves this objective and not have to accept the ‘discretion’ of a GG. Where is the disrespect by being curious about this matter?

9. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

Ignore the accusations of disrespect, David. They are misguided. We are no longer ruled by the “divine right of kings”, [monarchy] but by the will of the people [republic].

10. @ Miller
    Man don’t feel anyway about Bushie’s captaincy, what captain what?! You really think a bushman can captain a team with the lotta BU intellectuals bout here?
    ….the point is that ac has now reached the stage where she is seeing your balls like the preverbal breadfruit, and apparently your “foot” of much repute has lost its legendary impact.
    Moving you to the other end is a waste of time, as the other batsmen like fractured BLP will simply juck a ‘single’ and bring ac to face your sugar puffs again…. Just take de little time off and rest ya self in backward Square nuh….! 🙂

Which part of throwing pearls to swine do you not grasp?
    The SYSTEM is broken.
    Trying to get transparency in a mud hole is a sign of madness. The very thought of the GG giving reasons for his appointments is wishful thinking.

You may be an unrepentant optimist, but surely you can see that unless there are FUNDAMENTAL AND REVOLUTIONARY changes in the shabby SYSTEMS that we have in place, we are just spinning top in the mud hole..

11. Bushie how can one agrue with the basic tenants of tool comment. tool has eloquently discern the facts by analysing the article intent as reference to Dr. Chandlerand has been able to decipher the tactics used by those who wish this democracy harm.

12. @Bushie

Here is a sliver of hope.

PM Stuart if we accept the argument of the DLPites won the integrity vote.

Opposition leader MAM has stated publicly she is willing to discuss how the country can improve governance in the country.

Is there an opportunity for our leaders to step up you think?

13. Then again bushie when we hear the likes of you and baffy talking about change or bowels churn and we get this uncomfortable sickening feeling in our stomachs cause we know that your heroes are the benevolent dictators/like chavez and castro .

14. @ David
    You have hope in Freundel and Mia….?
    You are a glutton for punishment…. 🙂

@ ac
    Don’t think because you hit Miller for that six that you is any top class batter now…. That was a fluke swipe, and you are still a batting disaster……

First of all the blogger is LOOL not TOOL….and you know what happens when you start wrong…

Secondly, the blogger is CORRECT for the most part about the fact that this is a storm in a teacup……

HOWEVER
    What Bushie objected to was the call for David to censor some of the nonsense on BU.

Now ac, if David was to do this then you done know that your blogging career would be HISTORY.
    ….so you see Bushie trying to help you…. 🙂

Now …back to face Miller (and call the husband to vet the post before you hit send…)

15. Well bushie except for where lool finds disagreement offensive and call for some form of monitoring via director. his overall coments were pluasible i will give you that.

16. What is clear is that the anti-BU rhetoric will rise in a DLP second term. No worries, the script is being followed based on our expectations.

17. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The GG should be an elected Official if he has so much say.

Who the hell is the GG anyway ?

Republican status will take care of the GG

I say please make the GG position one of an elected official
    GG plus Senate—Waste of Tax-payers money

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DR. THE HONOURABLE | March 11, 2013 at 2:18 PM |

Your wish might soon be in the offing when a certain inevitable event occurs.
    We shall see how brave and forward looking educated Bajans really are.
    Or will they be weighed down so heavily by 360 years of irrelevant pomp and conservative circumstance to be the laughing stock of the World when the withdrawal symptoms of enforced umbilical separation occurs.

Do you, Doc, know if these QC’s will have to be “re-titled” KC’s or can they continue living in a Queen Dom instead of a King Dom.

We shall, see dead or alive, whether Barbados does the “honourable’ thing and sever its aping ties and finds its own grown up independent footing or remain like an unwanted child that has physically grown up but still wants to suckle like an puerile monkey at the very sore breast nipples of its mother country.

“There is a tide in the affairs of men.
    Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune;
    Omitted, all the voyage of their life
    Is bound in shallows and in miseries.
    On such a full sea are we now afloat,
    And we must take the current when it serves,
    Or lose our ventures.”

19. @ Miller
    Your anticipation of the exit of QEII and the re entry of a King is highly exaggerated.
    All that will happen is that some money will be spent on changing stationary and other paraphernalia.

What do you not get about ” the queen is gone, long live the King”

@ Dr The Hon
    “Republican status will take care of the GG”
    All that would do is change our ire a”President” instead. Very likely the same extravagant, Lodge member, Old School, traditionalist as has been the GGs.

The required change is much more fundamental.

20. Cyprian La Touche Avatar
    Cyprian La Touche

@miller re: post 10-03-2013
    Why thank you for your kind words,how did you know that I always wanted to be a Senator?… and after giving it some serious thought,I have come to a decision. I am going to be a Senator! I herby accept your nomination for the post. Furthermore I now do declare, that the election has been duly called and given no opposition, I have won and am now the first Senator appointed to the Shadow Senate of B’dos!

My first official act as leader of the Shadow Senate is to appoint YOU, and all the fellow contributors on BU as my fellow senators!
    I think that this shadow senate is already perfectly aligned to the real thing. There are DLP members, BLP members and some like myself representing the independent component. Just like the leader of the bricks and mortar senate, in this virtual version, and as your self appointed leader, I too cannot see you. And of course we even have a speaker of the house in David, who brings control and order to this august chamber.

And as to the constitution that I have decided upon, let it simply be this:
    WE THE PEOPLE,the Bajans of this our B’dos do herby vow to illuminate,elucidate and fully ventilate ALL the PUBLIC issues affecting WE the peoples of this our fair land. SO HELP US GOD!

Finally let me say to you all, my newly appointed fellow senators, I so do look forward to free,frank and fair discussion. And to working with you, to bring with quiet resolve, ultimate resolution to the many challenges we are bound to face, in this the year of our Lord 2013.

Sincerely
    S.S. Cyprian La Touche’

21. President Cyprian la Touche;

Nice!!!!

22. david

Opposition leader MAM has stated publicly she is willing to discuss how the country can improve governance in the country.

what took MaM so long to figure out that good governance and sound leadership was lacking. well excuse me! as .one who has been instrumental for the past fourteen years in the development of this country she should have been aroused and alarmed by the amount of cost overruns and unaccounted missing funds accredited to the party which she is now leader..why did she not take a stance then ? and also why didn’t she not take a moral and philosophical stance when te issue of the 75 thousand check was attributed to illegal activity by her then leader OSA. Really she had more than enough time to speak about ” good governance” unfortunately it is too little to late to be preaching from her bully pulpit to a audience. she had the optimum opportunity to do so which now would have lend credence to the credibility when her party was in power,.

23. Cyprian

You got space fah atheists like me… in this year of your Lord?

24. Miller

There is a harsh reality to all of this. Should I for instance seek to run as an independent and against every odd imaginable “Win” a seat in the Lower House, I will NOT be permitted to enter until I swear allegiance to a White Christian Queen. Now suppose for the sake of argument I was representing a constituency that had become populated with a majority of Muslims.

25. cyprian latouche

god help us all. do you read the crazy sh,,t that comes on BU from the likes of miller ! prodigal! justasking! bush TEA ! Do you have some military boots ! cause belive me as there are stars in the sky you gonna need them.

26. OOPS! before i forget . Then on the other side you got ac! Fractured BLP ! TTP! NATIONAL BLP! Sargeant ! Hamilton! now yuh really playing wid fire.
    OH! the anti american atheist guy BAF! you better think again. cause it seems like cat piss and pepper might be “STANDING ORDERS” everyday!

27. @ac

Politicians will make decisions based on expediency. If you want BU can come up with something which shows an inconsistency on Stuart’s part.

@baffy

You need to flip your scenario: you the candidate and the Muslims would have knowingly participated in a system of government with a constitution which repatriates our rights to London…lol.

28. @Well Well | March 11, 2013 at 6:44 AM | .
    ——-

I do not need any lesson from you, you are just a racist jackass.

29. lool! | March 11, 2013 at 7:40 AM |
    ——-

What a load of nonsense. I know that many of yopu politicians do not like ‘social media’. Because it is something that you cannot CONTROL.

Loss of control… there lies the rub for the likes of you. Disrespect and national destruction what. Absolute rubbish.

I note that the electoral and boundaries commission mouthing nonsense about soical media impact on elections. What, they want to control it too?

The real problem is that the dearth of ability in candidates in reliant on party politics and support by specific groups and factions.

If the ability of candidates could stand as a point for election, there would be no issue. But social media opens the way for citizens, who have the irght of vote, to discuss freely and openly.

That is a direct rebut to the brainwashing offensive by policial parties.

What are they going to do, shut the internet down for the two weeks prior to elections?

Anyone say welcome to Siberia, or ‘heil’???

The biggest threat to any nation is authoritarianism.

I do see though that you captain is walking about with a skipper hat on his head now. He feel he is Barrow (albeit Barrow is still winning his St.John seat)?

30. David @ ac

Politicians will make decisions based on expediency. If you want BU can come up with something which shows an inconsistency on Stuart’s part

go ahead if it shows him being part and parcel knowingly condoning recklessness by his party and the allegations which i leveled at mam during a period of time in which she could have speak out.,.

31. ac

Who is this anti-American fella that you referring too …?

Being Barbadian can sometimes be a shameful burden …

32. Cyprian La Touche Avatar
    Cyprian La Touche

@ BAFBFP
    Of course all are welcome! I too practice the politics of inclusion and in my house there are many mansions and room for all! The straight, the gay, the undecided and totally confused. To all those who don’t ever have a clue. Be you a doctor or lawyer, without car or with a pretty face. You could be a moderately retired preacher for all I care! ALL ARE EQUAL IN MINE EYES!
    Belief in nothing or everything, it is the common belief in the truth of SOMETHING that matters.

33. BAFBFP
    @ acWho is this anti-American fella that you referring too …?

well i did mention his name no need for explaining if you don’t know him .or maybe you do.

34. Look La Touché,
    …if you know what is good for you,….. you would keep a low profile, get a nomme de plume, and leave the chairmanship of this war called BU to David.
    …a word to the wise is sufficient.

For one thing – you like you think that the Annuniki fellow Miller praising you up pretty….. When he start to cuss you, ya will not even know what God you serving…

ac is the blog mascot.
    She understands nothing, is a direct relative of Mrs. Malaprop, has an erroneous opinion of everything, but makes one (1) good point every other Sunday when, by coincidence, the husband is home from Arizona.

One last point.
    Bigger fish that you ran from the BU kitchen when the heat was turned up…NOT BY BUSHIE (one of the nicest chaps you could want to meet on BU 🙂 ), but watch out for Caswell, BAFBFP, Miller and ESPECIALLY a certain Islandgal……she downright dangerous.

….but if you insist on suicide….good luck, we will see if you last as long as Peter Wickham….

35. Bushie …..looks like pot calling the kettle blark. ME Dangerous? Mr La Touche please do not believe anything Bushie says about me. I am one of the gentlest people here on BU, in fact I am getting real tired of AC and Well Well. Dem gots to be at every cock fight and getting beat up every time.

36. islan gal Ac get “beat up” wuhloss ac the one holding the Victory torch while you and miller and Bush ie standing in the dark. LOL!

37. Just like I said “At every cock fight”!

38. I should clarify something I said earlier ”Crusoe | March 10, 2013 at 7:48 PM | Do you need more explanation than that. And re GG choices, do you really think them independent????”
    ———–
    What I mean is, the GG, like us all, makes choices on perceptions of people and their environment. Thus, he will assess on HIS subjective view of what things should be. Instead of independent, I should have used ‘objective’. as the term. I apologise.

Point being, while he sees a need for specific people, likely many of us will disagree and see things from a different viewpoint.

From my viewpoint, I agree that the lack of a woman appointed is unfortunate and particularly one with a lot to offer.

39. Was -in- Deany Avatar

So is like Dr. Chandler was sitting down twiddling toes and thumbs right? Bare jokers. I bet the lady agronomist could not wait to exhaleand pass the baton on to the dearly Dr.Professor to eloquise – \- less we faget,Jasper to feathery Iriene.Guess what? the lady can now go home and feed the cat and water the lillies as she pleases \ and don’t have to dressup.I think she glad now, really now too.

40. I had intended to stay out of this debate but I think that I should at least attempt to clear up some of what I feel are misconceptions about Senator Frances Chandler. Dr. Frances Chandler has contributed significantly to agriculture in Barbados; through her professional and indefatigable inputs in research on Onions and the early development of a local Onion industry here (which has since floundered); through her significant contributions to vegetable farming systems; through extension efforts to marry use of locally produced crops with improved utilization of those crops in the tourism sector; through consulting with predominantly white farmers to improve their production techniques and also their access to marketing of their products with the predominantly white controlled supermarket sector; and through working closely, beneath the radar, with past Governors General on initiatives to improve the inputs of youth in Agriculture, inter alia.

But Dr. Chandler is a white woman and she appears to have generally seen things through the prism of the white planter and mercantile classes. This is perhaps understandable, but it did not endear her to the technical professionals in the Ministry of Agriculture who she seems to have gone out of her way to condemn and confound, often unjustifiably, even though she worked as a scientist in that Ministry for a number of years early in her career and knew the constraints under which they generally operated. She also did not endear herself to those individuals (even on BU) who could sense an aura of haughtiness and speaking from a perspective that rankled with that of the majority of the population.

I therefore have some sympathy with aspects of the debate on BU that sees Dr. Chandler as a technically good spokesman on Agriculture in the senate but I also can appreciate the sentiments that suggest that perhaps someone else should have been brought into the senate to speak on aspects of agriculture. Sterile though those arguments are at this time. That no one identifiable as a spokesman on agriculture matters was listed in this new senate suggests that the GG perhaps did not read the throne speech before finalising his list of independent senators since the throne speech clearly suggests that Alternative Energy and Agriculture will be the prime foci of the parliament in this new term and should therefore have seen the need for someone to be in the senate who could speak authoritatively on those matters.

Clearly, the choice of independant senators, is the GG’s alone, despite a DLP poster suggesting on BU that since the GG was chosen by the DLP, that he should be expected to be guided by that fact. But, imho, room should have been found for placing someone like Dr. Chelston Brathwaite in the senate to speak on Agriculture and other related issues. Dr. Brathwaite’s, wide ranging experience, scholarship, wisdom, foresight and expected freedom from any hint of political partisanship, would have made him an excellent choice as a senator.

I have no concerns about the elevation of Tony Marshall to a senatorial position. He is probably a DLP sympathizer, as many on this thread seem to suggest. But the failure of the past Minister of Labour to extend Marshall’s membership of the NIS and his not speaking out publicly on that and any other aspect of the functioning of the NIS suggests that he could be relied on to make the right decision that puts country first in matters of high national concern.

41. The Chandler person will not be missed listening to her submissions in the Seaate was difficult she said nothing which resonated in poor black commnunities.

She spoke as if the only people outside her ethnicty she dealt with were gardeners and maids.Nothing was heard from her to propel agriculture forard unless her point that a dose of starvation would be good for Barbados has a hidden meaning.

I dont know the woman it appears though she would not be out of place in those southern states renowned for wonderful race relations Alabama and Mississipppi.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | March 11, 2013 at 7:56 PM |

Why don’t you leave my e-protégé alone? The fellow is from fine Afro- Caribbean Francophone stock with his dad’s photographic memory. He is from La crème de la crème via his grand-père and will not be discouraged by any hot air coming from the bush man.

If this guy can outtalk BAF and “out-argue” Dennis J on the radio he would make minced meat of you and turned your ramblings into canned soup of the Campbell’s variety instead of bush tea for island gal to serve to ac and TPP to cure their intellectual sickness and add beef to their contributions.

The young fellow is class and he will smoke you out of the bush like grass.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Checkit-Out | March 11, 2013 at 9:00 PM |
    “But, imho, room should have been found for placing someone like Dr. Chelston Brathwaite in the senate to speak on Agriculture and other related issues. Dr. Brathwaite’s, wide ranging experience, scholarship, wisdom, foresight and expected freedom from any hint of political partisanship, would have made him an excellent choice as a senator.”

That is the kind of change that most right-thinking intelligent fair minded-Barbadians would go along with. A change with clear justification instead of one perceived to be smacked of political retaliation for being outspoken.

Agriculture is always promoted as a very important sector of the economy. So why not treat it so by having its interests permanently represented in the Upper House even if the voices have to be rotated or changed often.

44. @Checkit-out

I have no concerns about the elevation of Tony Marshall to a senatorial position. He is probably a DLP sympathizer, as many on this thread seem to suggest. But the failure of the past Minister of Labour to extend Marshall’s membership of the NIS and his not speaking out publicly on that and any other aspect of the functioning of the NIS suggests that he could be relied on to make the right decision that puts country first in matters of high national concern.

A reward?

45. Ok Miller, bring him on…..so far Bushie is impressed, but knowing your propensity to attack,….. and ac’s tendency to frustrate, Bushie was just forewarning the chap… 🙂

To forewarn is to forearm…

46. waiting | March 11, 2013 at 9:10 PM |
    The Chandler person will not be missed listening to her submissions in the Senate was difficult she said nothing which resonated in poor black communities.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    And those who say the things,we like to hear , which resonate in poor black communities,are the very ones who are responsible for keeping those communities just what they are,Poor Black Communities. So its six of one and a dozen of the other.

47. Was -in- Deany Avatar

Tony Marshall as a wha? Awrite dennnn. True to form.true to form.Ship shaped men every one of them.A good package down to the last baking soda.All thats left is the rain.

48. @ Checkit-Out | March 11, 2013 at 9:00 PM |
    “But, imho, room should have been found for placing someone like Dr. Chelston Brathwaite in the senate to speak on Agriculture and other related issues. Dr. Brathwaite’s, wide ranging experience, scholarship, wisdom, foresight and expected freedom from any hint of political partisanship, would have made him an excellent choice as a senator.”
    …………………………………………………………………..
    Inappropriate old school tie.

49. Waiting and others;

Perhaps we need a discussion on general relationships between the “whites” and “non-whites” of barbados. I suspect that Dr. Chandler is a typical “white” who has quite strong relationships with several “blacks” of various backgrounds. I do not see her as “racist” as seems to be suggested in your “She spoke as if the only people outside her ethnicty she dealt with were gardeners and maids”. I think she is just a typical white bajan of her era who interacts with black people in the time honoured tradition of strong, almost exclusive, fraternizing with her kith and kin and necessary, political correct and even sensitive, interactions with black people who she has to work with on a regular basis.

I don’t know if such relationships have changed significantly over the years. e.g. Has there been an increase in the proportion of “whites” here who have true friendships with “blacks” of similar status? I suspect there might be some positive changes in that regard, based on seeing an increase in bajan inter marriages or other related alliances but some research may need to be done to demonstrate this. In that regard are the examples of Busy Williams and some others bell wethers of a changing society?

Its an interesting topic and perhaps there are many UWI social science studies that could give us some insight into the current status of this matter.

50. Colonel Buggy;

Your “inappropriate old school tie” comment might seem to be superficially apt about Dr Brathwaite who is a graduate of the Modern High School, but I think that Dr. Brathwaite’s evident stellar accomplishments should far transcend that concern by any objective GG.