His ExcellencySir Elliott BelgraveGCMG KA CHB QC
His Excellency
Sir Elliott Belgrave
GCMG KA CHB QC

BU listened with interest to DJ and others at Voice of Barbados (VOB92.9FM) extending best wishing to Senator Tony Marshall on his appointment to the Upper Chamber of the Barbados Parliament as an Independent Senator. BU on the other hand withholds all plauditory remarks until Tony Marshall shows respect to the public he pretended to serve while he was  afternoon talk show host and Chairman of the important National Insurance Scheme.

Some will see the irony of Senators Marshall and Byer-Suckoo being members of that Chamber in the current term. It was the then Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo who refused to renew Tony Marshall’s appointment to the National Insurance Board. The usually loquacious Tony Marshall has not issued a public statement that we are aware of on the matter. There was rampant speculation at the time on BU about the ‘optics’ he would have exuded as Chairman of the NIS Scheme given his former role as a director on the CLICO Board. There was the other camp who believed it had to do with matters arising from the NIS on again off again decision to fund the problem plagued Paradise Beach Development Project (Four Seasons Project). Whatever the reason the public, taxpayers, are none the wiser.

Tony Marshall given his roles to date BU regards him as a person of public interest and we are within our right to place the former banker under the microscope. As the talk show host in Barbados he never used the VOB92.9FM bully pulpit to speak out about CLICO from an insider perspective. Contrast his position with Tony Hoyos who resigned on principle from the Barbados National Bank Board (now Republic Bank) to express his disagreement at the time about the share price government was willing to accept from RBL (how this matter finally was settled is fodder for another blog).

The other issue- alluded to – which continues to concern some Barbadians was the abrupt way Tony Marshall was jettisoned by Minister Byer-Suckoo and government as Chairman of the NIS Scheme. The Minister at the time felt comfortable explaining that Marshall’s contract was not renewed BUT does the public deserve a fuller explanation Senator Esther Byer-Suckoo?

Senator Tony Marshall has a chance to redeem himself in the Senate BUT we will not hold our breath. One can only wonder what was the criteria used by the Governor General to appoint Marshall to the Senate. Was it a backroom understanding? Is it the ‘fraternity’ raising its head yet again? Rest assured if the status quo remains the public will never know. Hurray for democracy!

Another probing of the Governor General’s picks for the Senate has been the ‘dropping’ of Dr. Francis Chandler. Again one wonders the rational used by the Governor General.  Dr. Chandler has been one of the most vocal and active members of the last Senate. The fact that she is top of her field in the world of agriculture did not count Sir Elliot? Bear in mind Barbados is expected to focus more than in the past on this sector and environmental matters. Who better a person to have in the Senate than Dr. Chandler, a truly independent voice. If this reason is not good enough, the Governor General has not appointed one damn woman to the Senate.Should we expect Leader of the Opposition to be vocal on this matter? What about Santia Bradshaw MP, Maria Agard MP, Cynthia Forde MP, surely they have a vested interest? Needless to say the same inquiry can be directed at Deputy Speaker of the House Mara Thompson.

On this issue social commentator Agyeman Kofi posted the following to his Facebook page this morning:

“Are no independent thinking woman existing in Barbados? How in 2013 a Governor General of a developing democracy appoint a senate and not one female is among appointees? What is even more appalling is the deafening silence of the woman organizations or perhaps they too may be compromised in their quest to remain mendicants to government largesse. Some may say I am an alarmist but hindsight is always 20/20 vision. Barbados is fastly becoming a place where the ostrich and sheeple syndromes are pervasive and excuses for mediocrity is now commonly accepted. Why are few willing to speak out and offer honest feedback? Too many are licorish and now place ethics and morality on the back bench to ensure cocktails invites continue. Thus,will a few honest unselfish Bajans stand up and be true craftsmen of our fate for future generations? Two Barbados will always exist if the current social order is not challenged and the bottom up approach is not taken in our need for social justice and equality. Long live Dr Francis Chandler a true independent woman!”

How can we have a democracy which is suppose to encourage participation but our leaders continue to make decisions which depart from commonsense?

1. I have to say that the Governor-General is probably more discerning than all other Barbadians. He alone believes that Tony Marshall is independent or appears to be independent of both political parties. Mind you, we always call them independent but there is no provision in the Constitution that requires the the so called independent senator to be independent. The Constitution only requires that the GG appoints them acting in his own discretion. He is therefore free to appoint whichever DEM he wishes, and it seems that he has.

The GG is only obligated to appoint interest that he considers ought to be represented. It is obvious to me that the GG without stating it considers that the interest of the DLP ought to have more representation in the Senate.

2. One was recently Chairman of the NIS and another delivering the DLP lunch time lecture.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Great move, she was a nuisance.

I SUPPORT DROPPING HER 100%. She was serving no purpose at all and she seemed to have a real problem with Black people.

CASWELL
    I see you have at last found the courage to show your face once again after the DLP gave you a good cut ass..

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CASWELL

You will have to sing for your supper a little longer.

5. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Caswell – Would you have considered Sir Allan Fields an independent?
    There were countless examples of previous “independent” senators who were BLP supporters but now you are raising a red herring about Tony Marshall.
    There are BLP supporters writing in the Nation newspaper every day lambasting the government including you but you might claim to be “independent”.
    This is a non issue

6. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

the GG’s choices in whom he appointed to the senate i.e. their age range, their sex etc leads me to believe that they belong to some kind of lodge, fraternity, or secret order.

i am wary of living in a country when one’s economic status must be encapsulated within

1) a lodge fraternity
    2) a political party, especially the one in power
    3) the family name and
    4) the colour code.

can we not have a really decent and trustworthy government anymore? this kind of selected management of our various sectors etc will have to come to an end someday and may God help us who will be caught up in it. the US system is one that should be admired because it cares not about who u are, infact it relishes just exposing anything that could remove u from public office. but here in Barbados, we have people holding high positions that have been embrawled in all kinds of ugly events and nothing happens.

– Donville Inniss, being owner or whatever of a filthy pornography website, Sparman etc.
    – michael lashley, his money laundering and his cousin Bounty
    – Chris Sinckler and Leroy Parris
    – Esther Byer-Suckoo telling all about her bedroom affairs with her lover, humiliating Rex in the process. why complain about his penis size when he was able to produce 3 children with the same penis? makes me want to puke…and yes she is now a senator after losing in the elections.

Barbados will never be any better economy wise because this selected group of perverts, those mentioned and the many are choking our society to death

7. Trouble…Big trouble.

“Two British women who helped free a man accused of raping them have had their case taken to a British minister for Caribbean affairs.

Furthermore, one of two MPs, who have met the minister on the issue, has questioned the safety of British tourists on the island.”

8. I did warn carson c, on another thread to keep an open mind.

9. @smooth chocolate
    “makes me want to puke” – As a BLP yardfowl , you should look at the glass house the current opposition leader sits in before you start smearing DLP MPs about so called bedroom affairs.
    If you want to make values and a proper example for our children an election issue, you might want to take another “bite” at the cherry of BLP leadership. However, I am not surprised because as we saw in the last election the BLP will throw any nastiness out there in an attempt to win votes and the people will reject it. Keep it up and you will help Owen Arthur in his effort to keep Mia Mottley away from high political office in this country. Ask Owen- he knows why she cannot be trusted.

10. Hants do you think anybody cares? Most of Barbados is unaware or insensitive to what is happening around then. BU blog comments expose the rot which has set in at the core of our society. Our inability to engage in dispassionate debate without framing it in a political prism will be the death of us yet.

11. With the Byer-Suckoo drama, I think people detest her primarily for her arrogance and her favorite words since getting winning a seat in 2008, “Do you know who I am”??? I saw her at supercentre warrens one day eyeing us to come bow and scrape, I gave her one of the nastiest NY looks I could muster. These clowns do have nerves.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Smooth Chocolate | March 9, 2013 at 12:15 PM

Give it a rest.

The DLP beat you at the real polls not the PETER WICKHAM Polls.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hants | March 9, 2013 at 12:20 PM |

“Trouble…Big trouble.”

What big trouble, this episode should be used to get rid of dottin. Square peg in a round hole.

14. And if Dottin knows where all the bodies are buried………………….

15. @Carson
    YES!!!!! 100%
    along with his equally dangerous but totally NOT STUPID sidekick .
    DPP CHARLES LEACOCK
    The most damaging influence EVER on tourism and Barbados as a whole.

Remove the ” DAMAGING DUO”
    Is now the prime objective.

16. And if Leacock also knows where all the bodies are buried………………………

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Dont worry there is going to be some house cleaning pretty soon.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

they would have to know about BLP bodies.

19. Ha, Ha,…………….it would be interesting.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

NationBLPnewspaper

I have never considered Allan Fields to be independent, and I have said so many times. What made it worse, he was appointed some type of ambassador to China. But are saying it is okay for this GG to breach the people’s trust because another has apparently done so?

This country is going nowhere fast because stupid people hold a party line no matter what. They behave as though their party can or has never done wrong. The GG is supposed to carry out his functions as though he is above politics. This single act has led me to conclude that he can’t separate his politics.

21. These disputes will come about because they refuse to get rid of that navel string attachment to buckingham palace and the inability to stay neutral.

22. @ Carson C. Cadogan,

Until there is a replacement for Tourism in place, bad press in the UK is trouble.
    Note that BBC TV is on Rogers channel 45 in Toronto.

I would like to think that a fellow DLP supporter is not so intellectually challenged that danger to the Tourism industry is just beyond your comprehension.

@David Last night there was TV coverage of the March break exodus from Toronto and the two destinations mentioned repeatedly were Mexico and Jamaica.

23. Trinidad and Guyana terminate their constitutions local and what?

24. @Hants

The profile of the Barbados product and strategy is one where there is not a great appetite for March Break business.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hants | March 9, 2013 at 12:58 PM

Barbados needs to stop putting all its eggs in the Tourism basket.
    Pumping too much money into tourism is stifling growth in other sectors. Such as fishing. By now Barbados should own a number of factory ships producing for the export market. Etc, Etc, Etc, you wont hear Adrian Loveridge encourge divestment in the Barbados economy. It is not in his interest. But you would hear Black people lamenting about the Tourist industry. In case you dont know they are other areas of economic activity that we can focus on. It has to be done. Moving from a one crop economy(sugar) to a one tourist econmy is doing no one any good.

26. Don’t knock it till you have tried it…………we see in both instances where the quality of leaders is always to blame for the problems we experience in any event.

27. Gotta agree with Carson here…………..but, who will actually start the ball rolling…………which of the leaders will have the guts and back it up with intelligence action??

28. That should read, intelligent action

29. And he is correct,the present batch of hoteliers will never want to hear about any diversification from tourism in Barbados, more the reason to find other more lucrative ways to earn foreign exchange, and successfully put the wealth in the hands of the majority. Which leader will have the strength to do it??? I hope to be pleasantly surprised one day.

30. The Governor General reports to the White Elizabeth Mountbatten Windsor, not the people of Barbados. Wunna expecting to much from the servant.

@ Smooth Chocolate
    Where is the information to be found about this talk about Esther Byer-Suckoo’s lover and her husband …?

31. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@! | March 9, 2013 at 12:28 PM AND
    Carson C. Cadogan | March 9, 2013 at 1:06 PM

“.. am not surprised because as we saw in the last election the BLP will throw any nastiness out there in an attempt to win votes”

THANK YOU – YOU HAVE JUST CONFIRMED EXACTLY THE POINT IS WAS MAKING

i have never belonged to a political party and never will. i will never make statements here unless i know for a fact there are correct.

it seems that here in Barbados an individual has to belong to some political group etc and if you are guilty of partiality and ‘biasism’ if u make negative comments about any of them. most of u who are guilty of this are mature and very mature adults. it is time u get lost… we are really tired of this cocoon that u people have place this society in….

it is a pity that u mature adults cannot see beyond some group because ur heads are pulled so far up their rectum cavity that all u do is see, sleep in, drink, and consume their pure unadulterated faeces, excreted from their bowels. i do not and will not subscribe to any organisation, i do not need to and i will continue to say what i believe to be true

32. Chocolate wah is all this talk about Byer-Suckoo … This is de first I hearing ’bout it… Which paper it in?

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Smooth Chocolate | March 9, 2013 at 1:41 PM

Even though you are wrong!

34. David, can you tell me what the ponderously slow and largely irrelevant Dean Critchlow doing in a Barbados Senate in 2013?

35. The venerable Dean is obviously respected for his the wisdom he brings to the redundant august chamber.

36. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA A HA HAH AH HAHA MURDA … HELP MA LARD HA HA HA HA

37. Some of us will be following Senator Tony Marshall’s contributions with great interest. We know rumours of his DLP Ambassadorship fell through but his independent voice as the #1 talk show host appeared to be a contingent position. Yet another VOB personality who has made the political cut.

38. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Carson
    Don’t think for one half of a second that fishing could replace tourism. Our fishermen are too lethargic to exert themselves to undergo necessary training, or undertake ventures that would profit the. Have you ever examined the cost of obtaining th enecessary vessels? Have you any idea of what it takes to obtain and operate a factory ship? Have you ever examined the fish export market? Are you aware that we alreadh export fish to North America? do you have any idea of the difficulty of exporting to the European market and the obstacles to this export?Investigate and then talk with me. I have bee associated with BARNUFO as a member of the Board for the last four almost five years. I can answer your questions.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Alvin Cummins | March 9, 2013 at 2:53 PM

Dont get tied up, that was simply an example of other areas of economic activity that we could vigourously persue.

they are many others and we would not have to rely solely on Tourism as we do now.

And why is it that people are always focussing on how difficult it is to do this or the other?

The simple answer is that it can be done, others are doing it what is wrong with us?

40. smooth chocolate at 12:15 p.m.
    “Why complain about his penis size when he was able to produce 3 children with the same penis?”

How you know?

You do know that 5% of us are not the children of the man we call or used called daddy.

Just saying.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bafbfp

“@ Smooth Chocolate
    Where is the information to be found about this talk about Esther Byer-Suckoo’s lover and her husband …?”

You will ask her where the information is to be found and she will never supply it because it does not exist.

She is a BLP joker.

42. !@12:38 p.m. “Ask Owen- he knows why she cannot be trusted.”

And Owen can be trusted?

43. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Smooth Chocolate
    1) a lodge fraternity
    2) a political party, especially the one in power
    3) the family name and
    4) the colour code.
    ………………………………………
    #5 Older secondary school tie

44. Oh dear I will never get one of the plum picks
    Don’t belong to any lodge fraternity
    Don’t belong to any party
    Nobody knows my name
    I am black
    Didn’t go to any of the old school tie schools

Back to work for me. Real, real work, not symbolic work as in the House or Senate.

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Simple Simon | March 9, 2013 at 3:20 PM |
    You do know that 5% of us are not the children of the man we call or used called daddy.
    …………………………………………………………………
    It is often said that if you want to know who is your real daddy,and where you were conceived, forget DNA test . Just run for a seat in our parliament. So I guess that Mrs B-S husband is the true father, other wise it would have been revealed in the recent no- holds -barred election campaign.

46. Anybody looking at the Senate appointments would be convinced that Barbados is composed of real, real old black men.

Where are the women?
    Where are the young people?
    Where are the white people?

I said to a friend the day after the election, that the DLP is a buncha old fogies.

I said that Freundel and his buddies is fellas who dies think insida de box.

I lie?

47. Colonel Buggy Avatar

If I can rightly recall, Barbados back in the 1960’s had a fleet of shrimp boats, which used to venture into the Amazon,I was told. When I came back to Barbados in the late 70’s all that was evident of this fleet was a boat that was converted to Coast Guard use,with the name of either Marshall or Fergusson. Are we in a better position today to maintain and keep fully occupied a fleet of fishing and processing boats? Christ ,at present ,we have problems keeping an ambulance or a bus on the road.

48. @ Carson cadogan

I wrote “Until there is a replacement for Tourism in place.”

Barbados already has the components required for a successful Tourism Industry.
    The basics are FREE. Sun,Sand,Sea and hot weather all year. It currently has existing established Hotels and infrastructure.

The only problem is the inability of the decision makers to make it vibrant and profitable.

Finding new Industries and diversifying is important but you don’t throw away an Industry. You make it work.

If there is one Industry that will thrive in Barbados in the future it is Agriculture because again you have a starting point. Arable land, knowledgeable farmers and an evolution of farming methodologies that make farming possible on rab land.Hydroponics,greenhouses and Fish farming.

Fisherfolk have served Barbados well. In 1980 I went fishing every day except Sundays for 6 months on a day boat. It was one of the most enjoyable things I have ever done and I was able to learn how that aspect of the Fishing Industry works.
    Fishing as a business requires a lot Investment by the boat owners and is a very high risk venture.

The Barbados government should assist in the CONTINUOS development of Agriculture and Fisheries.

49. David
    I heard the program on VOB but I saw it different from you. Peter Wickham congratulated Mr. Marshall but he had a tone that was coming over as sarcastic. No doubt today the political spin is placed on it that the Governor General is being political. I do not understand because the Governor General is selected by the Prime Minister and therefore I saw all Governor Generals as political.

The BLP bloggers must get over the fact that although there is only a two seat difference they are in the opposition. All things being equal the government can run things for five years as the PM believes you should serve your five years.

It is the BLP bloggers fundamental right to continue crying but at least give it rest for six months before you start saying that the government will collapse.

Now David can you tell me why Miss Mottley did not place a woman in the Senate. There is Lynette Eastmond, Sandra Husbands ,Margo Callender. Oh I now see she already did (lol)

50. @Clone

BU’s position is simple. Why Marshall not Chandler, why anyone of the others and not Chandler.

MAM’s response is that the BLP has a few women in the lower house. Barbadians need to begin to be more strident in asking questions.