2013 General Election Media Campaign

The 2013 General Election is behind us and the analysis is  being processed by those interested to determine the factors which led to the final result. There is surprise that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) ran a media campaign which was more effective in persuading voters. One DLP TV Ad capitalized on the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) blunder of introducing the privatization issue to the campaign. BLP supporters have accused the DLP that the Ad misrepresented their position.

There is the reality in Barbados that we have an ineffective media which is not sufficiently organized and respected to challenge fact from fiction which is spewed by political parties. There is no independent agency which the public can repose its confidence to get a credible view on issues disseminated by political parties during a campaign. The Ad was crafted to play on the fears of the public who rightly fear for their financial security in uncertain economic times.

Should Barbadians be concerned?

0 thoughts on “2013 General Election Media Campaign

1. It’s going to be a short term government.If this Dems govt last 2 years that is a long time.History will repeat itself.In the lead up to the 1991 elections Henry Forde told the electorate the truth;the IMF is on the doorstep and public sector workers going home.Sandy said Henry was talking nonsense that the economy was sound firing on all cylinders.The Dems won the election and the rest is history.

2. Prodigal Son and Tackle,
    You two have been banished to dump heap of Doom and Gloom. Your inglorius rant and rave was the same between 2008 – 2013 ( and you still find yourselves on the opposition benches)

You find yourself in that position because over 2 years ago Prof. Neville Duncan asked you BLPites…what NEW approach/policies will Owen Arthur bring to the PM position ?

The BLPites gave no coherent or honest response. Barbadians waited with bated breath as well.

In 2013 under Owen Arthur , the BEEs lost , many now belated reflect that if Mia Mottley had led the party into the 2013 elections the BEEs would/might have won.

Such is the behaviour and thinking of….SCALLYWAGS !!

3. In response to Prodigal Son on 7th March 2013 at 7:31 pm
    “I cannot get over how John Boyce could have won CCS. He who is so unpopular, who is not well thought of, with a swing in 2008, he won by 358 votes, now in 2013 with a swing away from the government, as unpopular as he is, increased his lead, beating Jerome by 606 votes. This is inexplicable! Unbelievable! But his supporters will tell you, they did what they had to do! “

The Facts

In 2008 Mr. John Boyce, the DLP candidate for Ch. Ch. South polled 2591 votes compared to 2133 polled for Dr. Jerome Walcott. This was a difference of 458 votes. In 2013 Mr. Boyce polled 2663 votes compared to the 2062 polled by Dr. Walcott. A difference of 601 votes.

Mr. Boyce has contested the seat on five occasions commencing in 1994 and the votes received over the period (1994 – 1999 – 2003 – 2008 – 2013) were 1544 – 1776 – 2118 – 2591 – 2663. This represents a steady, consistent improvement over the period.

In comparison the votes polled for the BLP over the same period were 2456 – 2659 – 2177 – 2133 – 2062.

I believe the data speaks for itself.

With respect to the concept of the swing:
    In 2013 the BLP received 74,027 votes and the DLP recorded 78,566 votes.
    In 2008 the BLP received 69,720 votes and the DLP recorded 78,698 votes.
    In other words the DLP recorded 132 fewer votes in 2013 than it did in 2008.

The details of the votes cast in Ch. Ch. South are provided below for the record.

BLP Walcott: 2062
    DLP Boyce: 2663
    Difference: 601 DLP lead

BLP Walcott: 2133
    DLP Boyce: 2591
    Difference: 458 DLP lead

BLP Walcott: 2177
    DLP Boyce: 2118
    Difference: 59 BLP lead

BLP St. John: 2659
    DLP Boyce: 1776
    Difference: 883 BLP lead

BLP St. John: 2456
    DLP Boyce: 1544
    Difference: 912 BLP lead

4. For the record,
    Thanks for providing an irrefutable presentation of the facts with respect to Christ Church South.

I now believe Prodigal Son and Tackle would be mentally challenged to comprehend your lucid analysis.

But remember that is how IMBECILES like those 2 were socialised !!!!

5. The electorate gave the BLP an increase in its seat take in the House by 57% and concomitantly punished the incompetent DLP by reducing their seat take by 24%.With that margin,the DLP’s stay at the “hellum”might be shortlived,therefore uneasy rests the head that wears the crown.Don’t croak you Dems…..don’t croak.

6. I can’t believe how some of these BLP stalwarts expect to move forward by looking in the rear view mirror to the Elections of 2008 and 2013. Someone should try to catalogue the number of reasons that some of them come up with to account for the loss, do these folks sit around and try to outdo each other with suggestions for the loss?

Poor Pat she has been on these pages lambasting the DLP but because she didn’t like the BLP candidate in her constituency and said she would vote against him she has now become a part of the DLP contingent that was flown in to cement the win. That DLP sure is efficient to announce an Election and get all these people to fly in at short notice to vote in all these constituencies no wonder Wickham didn’t pick up that “wobble”
    When did that meteor land in Russia again? That is as good a reason as any for the loss (along with Mia, Arthur, Gangs, Cost U, Lynch, Money, Fumble, Sinkliar, Valentines Day, Red, Yellow, Blue, Wickham, Bribes, The Sun, Moon & Stars, Clico, Parris ) hope I haven’t left anyone out.

Have a happy Friday night.

7. The Barbadian Society is declining fast
    The election of 2013 is the worst in the history of elections in Barbados
    That statement -wunna loss -by one Gingerbreath Girl above is indicative of the kind of persons that inhabit this place nowadays. We have a person today in Barbados who does not know anything about what our forefathers did to bring this country to where it is. They know nothing about Slavery, emancipation, 1937 riots. adult suffrage, chiggers, lice, stand-pipes, burning cow-dung for fuel—nothing so.
    Some of these things I did not personally experience but I grew up in a household with old people and I heard the stories. I am appreciative of people because of these stories. When I hear these stories, I realise that we all came here to the Caribbean with nothing and that we as a people were treated like dirt by the white slave masters and their descendants even after freedom . This simple fact makes me empathise with the unfortunate person who is struggling out there. I understand the need for us to be our brothers keeper and with this in mind, I want to see a political party put the people first.

I was happy therefore with the Barbados Labour Government for the 14 years that they were in Office. I was happy that they were able to bring Barbados from a very dark period between 1986 and 1994 to which the demise of Errol , the adamant and stubborn nature of Sandy and the nastiness of Cammie plunged this lovely country.

I remain eternally grateful to the Right Honourable Owen Seymour Arthur and the BLP for restoring my confidence, as citizen in Barbados. I wanted the BLP to have a 4th term in 2008. A lot of ignorant people including people like Harold Hoyte did not want Owen to get a 4th term because this would have made him better than Errol.

Enter David Thompson with his brand of stinking dirty nasty politics and with a big set of lies they won the election in 2008. I maintain that there were no reasons to change the Government in 2008 –none. There were more reasons to change the Government in 2013 than they were in 2008.

But getting back to David Thompson who had a brand of politics that I simply abhored. His was a politics that would mow down anyone who he saw in his way of becoming Prime Minister. That is all he wanted. He salivated after this position from his days at Cawmere and his admiration of Tom Adams. The cheque waving thing that he was so obsessed with was a direct copy of the Sidney Burnett Aleyne cheque waving stunt by Tom Adams..

David Thompson brought a brand of politics that was dirty and nasty and a win at all costs approach. Nothing therefore was sacrosanct and if it meant destroying Mascoll or erecting Billboards illegally and jumping in bed with whoever, going to Penthouse, a known drug den, drinking Vodka or whatever, it was done.

If you want to talk about a legacy , this is the legacy of David Thompson. It has therefore culminated in what we have seen in the 2013 elections, a kind of nastiness unseen in Barbados before this time. The legacy lives on in people like Chris StinkLiar and his ilk who would do anything to win or theif an election. This is the new benchmark. It deserves a study

8. JUST ASKING on March 8, 2013 at 9:58 PM

I was happy therefore with the Barbados Labour Government for the 14 years that they were in Office. I was happy that they were able to bring Barbados from a very dark period between 1986 and 1994 to which the demise of Errol , the adamant and stubborn nature of Sandy and the nastiness of Cammie plunged this lovely country.
    ———————————-
    JUST ASKING,

The questions below are from a young BLP female supporter who asked me to put these questions to you after I drew to her attention what you wrote above :

1. Does your reflections above include GREENLAND ?

2. Is the GEMS / EASTERY HOUSE fiasco in there ?

3. What about how Mia Mottley was sidelined by the CO LEADER comments so as to promote Clyde Mascoll ?

4. What about the $ 6 million St. Joseph hospital inquiry ? Conducted before 1999 and the report never laid in Parliament till the DEMs came to office in 2008 ?

5. What about the US $ or BDS $ 700 million dollar prison ?

5. Why would a Minister of Finance – whose responsibilty it was to regulate the banks – be cashing a personal cheque made out in his name from the same bank he is supposed to regulate ?

6. You sure that this is the record of 14 happy years you want to promote ?

• @Fractured BLP

Surely you are aware the St.Joseph Hospital Report was laid in parliament you say BUT was the said report made public? BU’s recollection is that a ministerial statement was delivered.

9. David on March 9, 2013 at 12:54 AM
    @Fractured BLP

Surely you are aware the St.Joseph Hospital Report was laid in parliament you say BUT was the said report made public? BU’s recollection is that a ministerial statement was delivered.
    ————————————-
    That whole episode was handled so sordidly by the BEEs that if they responded , as you said , it did nothing to erase from the minds of thousands of Barbadians the putrid nature of the entire exercise.

But let us both agree with JUST ASKING… OSA was the greatest PM and administrator in Barbados between 1994 – 2008 !

It just seems as though it is the young BLP female supporter who is referenced in my previous post , who is not so convinced.

10. Now that elections all across the English speaking Caribbean have been completed since 2006, here is one fascinating trend:

Kenny Anthony of the SLP – lost in 2006 came back and won in 2011.

Portia Simpson of the PNP – lost in 2007 came back and won in 2011.

Keith Mitchell of the NNP – lost in 2008 came back and won in 2013.

Owen Arthur of the BLP – lost in 2008 came back and LOST in 2013.

WHY…….oh great Owen ???

WuhLOSS….. I forgot you and that damn $ 75,000.00 cheque that you stole !

The other leaders won because they never STOOPED so low .

11. Brain Less Pimp,
    You are such a blasted low life, it is not funny. Gutter politics is all you know. You very well know that the only reason the DLP won was because you bought the election. The 2013 election was won by the DLP on the very day. You nasty Dems who are supposed to be lawmakers became law breakers on February 21, no wonder we have a problem with law and order.

You Dems were so desperate and had to win at all cost that you brought in DLP supporters from your overseas branches, you transferred Dems from St John to St Michael constituencies, you went into all the drug areas and gave the barons of the block thousands of dollars to give to the rejects of society to vote……….those who feel that Barbados owes them a living from the cradle to the grave……………these people who do not care if Good Friday comes or not, these are the people who pay no taxes, no light bills, no water bills as some stupid mother shields them…………….these are the ones who decided this election.

You should be ashamed to brag that the DLP won the election.

• @Prodigal

Let us begin a discussion by saying both parties engaged in vote-buying. If as you say the DLP did it better i.e. had more money to spend the next step is to prove it.

12. Hi Prodigal,

Here is a good example of how you are a brainless pimp. The $ 75,000.00 cheque that OSA cashed on election day in 2003 was clearly carried out to buy votes.

Where is your irrefutable proof that the DEMs cashed a cheque to buy votes ? For surely $ 5.00 cannot buy a vote………unless it is a starve out pot starver like you !

You better take David’s good advice……if you have evidence of vote buying/ selling …….find the police !

Or remain the blasted BLP pimp that you religiously prove yourself to be .

13. David,
    I dont have to prove a thing! The PM and AG said they saw it! They are the ones who need to deal with it.

Brain Less Pimp,
    Why dont you deny the transfer of St John voters to St Michael constituencies or the bringing home of overseas DLP supporters. You are the DLP pimp feeding at the trough not me. I depend on no party to exist and let me tell you this, I want for nothing, so get lost!

Talk about the34 million of CLICO policyholders monies the dead king had to spend in 2008. You dont talk about this but talk about a measly sum OSA got. Talk about the 3.333 million of the CLICO policyholders monies the dead king and his wife laundered!

14. Prodigal you and miller will have heart attcks if you dont cool down. The Dems won the elections the BLP lost. Nothing can change that. Deal with it.

Granted it hurt and gutted BLPites afterall you were so sure you had won even Duguid chose the house in Ottowa for his residence as High Commissioner to Canada. Imagine how fatboy feels. He crying like you and miller too. Wickham crying all now but for other reasons his pole fell down. Recall that Wickham said he is never wrong Barbadians mash up his boast.

So cool it prodigal do like Hants hit a few single malt scotches buy one for miller. The BLP are extraordinarily ungracious losers.

15. @ waiting | March 9, 2013 at 10:52 PM |

Don’t you think we both rationally know that the DLP is the party forming the governing administration?

What we intend to do is to make sure you are not given any honeymoon period. You are just a continuation from January 2008.
    Now get on with the mandate and take your licks and praises when earned.
    We will watch you stew in your own no privatization no layoffs juices.

We will be turning up the heat one day at a time while you wait for the pain up your political asses starting in the new fiscal year.

Now go pluck yourself yardfowl to be ready for the stew pot. We shall soon see who will be waiting to get heart attacks when many taken on this year hoping for a job for life are sent packing and many of those are chosen to attend the Hill wouldn’t be invited to or can’t attend.

16. Because you stole the election. Correction , bought the election. Used drug barons to get out the thuggery element of this society. This victory is a stain on the DLP! I am cool and I will live with it, dont you worry!

17. @ David | March 9, 2013 at 5:21 PM |

Do you know the reasons or causes why the Electoral & Boundaries Commission are expressing concerns over the integrity of the last general elections?

18. millertheanunnaki | March 9, 2013 at 11:21 PM |
    @ David | March 9, 2013 at 5:21 PM |

Do you know the reasons or causes why the Electoral & Boundaries Commission are expressing concerns over the integrity of the last general elections?
    ——-
    Chairman Nobby Estwick is displeased at flagrant breaking of the law mostly by the BLP(he didnt single out a party) of defacing the countryside with postres/flyers and not taking them down by midnight on Feb 20 as the law specifically dictates. Nobby as is rational citzens is horrifeid that even now posters and flyers are up as they were in the heat of the campaign.

The political paraphenalia is mostly BLP because the Bees paid goons to tear down Dems posters from the first week hence the Dees unwittingly are not the chief offenders. Interestingly the Dees did not organize any concerted effort to destroy BLP posters. The BLP yardfowls like you miller and your sidekicks, should think on these things.

19. Really? Chairman Nobby Estwick is displeased at flagrant breaking of the law? you are kidding me right? what a fcuking joke.

EBC laws state that all election material must have who printed it and for who. i’m positive they are still DLP posters up as i see them daily. go look and come back and tell us if that requirement was met by the DLP. Chairman Nobby Estwick and you waiting could really shut wanna ass and go and hold a chair in a corner.

if we can get real for a min. both party’s supporters pull down posters and place poster over the party’s. to attempt to single out one party or the other just shows the lies you stinking DEMs would go to AND the same would follow if the BEEs tried to do the same.

HOWEVER, one party (DLP) broke the rules as it relates to printed material and the proof is there for all to see. so let Chairman Nobby Estwick and the EBC deal with that and stop talking shite which persons like waiting eat up and think its a five star meal.

blasted jokers.

• Yes we are ” Stinking DEMS” and “Blasted Jokers”, But you know what? The people prefer us over wunna to run this country. What does that say about your sorry bunch? Think bout it. Continue to lick wunna wounds. Wunna got at least 5 more years to grieve. SORRY BASTARDS.

20. @Prodical

having read your rantings and ravings, i would like to suggest that you see a Psychiatrist, you are as mad as Miss Carter’s cat. Save your self and admit your self before I send a Mental Nurse to admit you and it wont be nice beacuse they will give you some injections up your behind and you might plaster this blog with it.

21. the same way parties pay to put up posters, they should pay to take them down. i have seen posters remainig from both parties, but i would admit that those i am seeing mostly belong to the blp, but that does not mean that they should not be taken down.

I wonder if the bl&p could pay to have them removed and bill the respective person on whose behalf they were put op for the cost. I bet this migh be an option that could be explored.

• I keep hearing and reading about some requirement to take down posters by midnight before the polls open. Where is that written? As far as I know, the posters should be taken down within the 100 yard limit on Election Day.

22. @ Caswell Franklyn | March 10, 2013 at 9:32 AM

Do you know if that teacher from the Combermere School pretending to a bus driver in the DLP ad has been disciplined for his blatant breach of the Public Sector Workers Act or whatever it is correctly titled?

How can the Electoral & Boundaries Commission insist on the removal of harmless posters (except being a blight to the environment) that everyone ignores and where there is no legal control (except in the case you sighted), but a known civil servant can breach his terms and conditions of service with impunity just because he is an ardent DLP supporter?
    Tell us Mr. Lawman, why these double standards? Is law enforcement in Barbados represented by a one-eye political bandit or are we only running after the fellas as easy targets on the block for smoking marijuana?

23. @ millertheanunnaki | March 10, 2013 at 10:08 AM |
    “(except in the case you sighted)”

Sorry Caswell, we know you have the eyes of a legal eagle but the above should read “cited”.
    It would be most helpful if you could refer us to the specific provisions of the Act governing the political activities of civil servants.
    We shall see if the test of Integrity can resist further investigation.

24. Miller and Prodigal

Here is your problem for the next 5 years :

On Friday the 8th of March ,2013 over two thousand 15 year olds were at a function as part of International Women’s Day. At the end of the function the children all broke out in song
    “DEMs now….DEMs again”

And to demonstrate their acute undersatnding of Barbadian politics :
    1. They all said DEMs gi we free bus fares…DEMs again !
    2. They all said DEMs gi we more schools…DEMs again !
    3. They all said DEMs helping the mothers and fathers who turn up to court for child support…DEMs again !
    4. They all said DEMs enact legislation to protect workers….DEMs again !
    5. They all said DEMs building houses to shelter our families…..DEMs again !

It was so wonderful to see those young minds and voices at work……your headache Miller and company……..they will be voting DEMs for the first time in the next five years .

25. @ David | March 10, 2013 at 11:23 AM |

What you said is a very sad reflection on the politically moribund state of affairs of this country whose citizens like to boast self-righteously of their unparallel Christian values and unique educational achievements.

As far as it is known the BLP never canvassed on a moral high ground platform. It never sought to portray itself or the leader as a man of unquestionable integrity and impeccable “Christian” character but as an economic guru and saviour of Bajan capitalism and commerce.

And as a man who always take the national moral high ground you should- with the greatest of respect- be concerned about this wanton abuse and exploitation of our citizen’s thirst for good governance.

What you ought to promote is a system of governance in which political parties vie for office to serve in a morally uplifting fashion undergirded by a non-negotiable respect for the law and its implementation in fair and unbiased ways.

Now if such ‘Christianly’ wise character is displayed by any governing party then any claim to integrity and moral superiority should be upheld as valid and worthy of support from an enlightened citizenry.

I could really be talking out of turn seeing that we are talking about “BU babaydus” where adherence to the laws of the land is seen pari passu as a popular past-time equivalent to open and stark law breaking with impunity from top to the middle and lower of the criminal food chain in this fast becoming banana republic.

26. Yes the DLP has won the last general elections, but with such a slender advantage, and with Mia leader of the opposition, they will be under serious pressure for the next five years, if the DLP government last than long. Remember, the DLP can’t blame the BLP any longer, they have to find the money for Barrack, the UWI, give civil servants a salary raise, plus they cannot continue to fork out $ 17 million dollars monthly to pay additional civil servants and other government workers employed just after 2008.

27. millertheanunnaki | March 10, 2013 at 10:08 AM | wrote”Do you know if that teacher from the Combermere School pretending to a bus driver in the DLP ad has been disciplined for his blatant breach of the Public Sector Workers Act or whatever it is correctly titled?”

Same old same old. The “ordinary man” is vilified for a “bad act” that benefits the extremely well paid politicians.

Why don’t you all work really hard to scrutinize the contracts awarded by Government to ensure that politicians and those on the stairs and bannisters are not enriched.

Since you are all in the middle to upper echelons of Barbadian society you have access to a lot of wheelings and dealings so step up.

Integrity legislation and Freedom of Information.

Stop talking shiiite an focus.

28. I’m waiting to hear when the P.M will declare his assests and invite his M.P’s to do the same, then he can ask the opposition to do the same. Failing to do this, any defaulter should be discilpined. The FOI legeslation should be passed and adhered to so that we can get a true picture of what our political people are conducting themselves. It is time this country get serious and demand more from their political people whether from the DLP or the BLP.

29. @ Hants | March 10, 2013 at 3:17 PM |

Well Hants, if you can find ‘nothing wrong’, either legally or morally, with an University-trained teacher allowing himself to be exploited and abused in the breaking of the law to further the political objectives of a political party that can easily be turned out of office by a hair’s breadth of a fickle electorate or through the realization of circumstances reminiscent of 1994 then may your god have mercy on your intellectual soul.

BTW, your implied slur by reference to Glyne Banny (and you know who he is since he is the same financial prostitute servicing both parties with Hutson and Boyce being his most recent clients) is in total contrast to the openly made absolution- by the current PM, a man of the finest Integrity- of all politicians who served in the last Parliament. You accusations of previous corruption are totally out of order and discredit the present PM, absolutely.

30. How can any FIRST TERM government boost victory in a second term witrh such a slender majority? Truth be told, the electorate on which of the two evils was “better”. It shows there is dire need of a serious THIRD party in Barbados, any such party emerging on the stage right now, stand a good chance of winning the 2018 general elections.

31. june boy on March 10, 2013 at 3:58 PM
    How can any FIRST TERM government boost victory in a second term witrh such a slender majority?
    ——————————
    A.K.A June Plum,

Why you don’t go and rest your weary soul? Parliament have not had it first sitting post the 2013 elections and you can predict the outcome of 2018 general elections ?

You ought to see how that arant BLP chant of ‘ one term government’ from 2008 – 2013 , could not even allow the BLP bastards to present credible proposals to the Barbadian electorate…..and when the BEEs chose PRIVATISATION…..the DEMs put that nonsense on a bus…..and BUST their ar$e !

It is DEMs now……..and DEMs again !!!

Mia Mottley leading the BLP will be just as easy to beat…….after the DEMs produce another boss ad starring some of her female ‘ victims’. Actually George Payne is at this moment compiling the footage !!!

32. David wrote “Is it too much to ask if both sides would take a time out”

Why David. What difference is it going to make.

Millertheannanuki and his BLP comrades are suffering withdrawal symptoms by being so close…….

33. @ Hants | March 10, 2013 at 6:50 PM |

Same thing goes for you and your ilk.
    Just a reminder so that when things start to go further south you want to jump your cowardly yellow ship:

“And if I found that kind of news about the son of a DLP politician I would certainly would not expose it on BU. I am a partisan DLP supporter but you new to BU so you may not know that.”
    From the cover up mouth of Hants a man for Freedom of Information and exposure of corruption and vice now indelibly etched in blue BU stone.

34. millertheanunnaki don’t waste tummuch venom on me because even though I does pelt rocks I live in a glass house.

tobesides i ent nuhbody important.

35. the miller

the more the monkey climbs the more he shows he tail. Even if the dlp campain on moral grounds, does it mean that the blp could be immoral. lord have mercy what a logical man.

Was cyntihia forde a public officer when she ran for elections, was she a public officer when she used to canvass for tom adams. was the then deputy chief education officer a public officer whe she used to canvass for wood.

a drwowning man will catch at straws. That what the miller and prodical are doing.
    Remember what is good for the goose is good for the gander.

• I am not the one to be defending Cynthia Forde, but in order to set the record straight, there was no law preventing a public officer or teacher from canvassing or running prior to December 31, 2007. Barrow amended the Constitution in 1974 to give Parliament the power to pass a law to restrict public officers; other than a judge, DPP and Auditor General who were already restricted, from taking part in politics. Parliament only passed the relevant law in 2007. She first ran in 2001 and Tom Adams died on March 11, 1985: both dates were prior to the coming into force of the law.

36. @TTP
    Are you implying that if the fish dives deep then it is ok for the fowl to stoop low too?

Just observing

37. @TO THE POINT | March 10, 2013 at 7:28 PM |
    ” a drwowning man will catch at straws. That what the miller and prodical are doing.”

No TPP, we are not clutching at straws but burning down the straw man of Integrity you are trying to hold up as a paragon of virtue and law abidance.

We shall soon see how well stacked he is when the whirlwind of truth comes along in a few months propelling a chariot with the spiked wheels made by the IMF labeled Privatization on one side and cost reductions and operational efficiencies on the other.

Hope you will be brave enough to gather together the pieces flung hither, thither and yon.

38. Today Caricom most astute and adoring Prime Minister , Hon. Freundel Stuart, held his ‘Thank you’ motorcade. Thousands lined the streets or joined the motorcade.

You can imagine my utter amazement to notice that Miller, Onions, Observing, Prodigal and Tackle were gathered on the back of one of the motorcade trucks dressed in DEMs yellow shirts……and singing Freundel is the MAN.

What a DAMASCUS moment for these BLPites in the Bayland, St. Michael today.

39. I offered an olive branch when i beseech david to see if he could get his bloggers to stick to the topic, but it seems like, the miller, the hust asking, the prodical et al are hell bent on heaping fire and brimstone on the dlp. So we are duty bound to protect the integrity of this wonderful party which has done so much for poor barbadians.

40. ‘Fractured BLP | March 10, 2013 at 8:02 PM |
    Today Caricom most astute and adoring Prime Minister ,
    ‘———

Are you smoking something? You really think the rest of Caricom really have such opinion?

Stop posting nonsense.

41. millertheanunnaki | March 10, 2013 at 7:00 PM |

@ Hants | March 10, 2013 at 6:50 PM | Just a reminder so that when things start to go further south you want to jump your cowardly yellow ship:

The only “ship” I could be jumping from is a fishing boat…painted yellow and blue.
    Actually at my age I will have to roll over the side not jump.lol

42. @Fractured
    That truck would have had to be going to jenkins and I would be in a straight jacket..never,never me and that lieing dlpee, 6 for paddy and 4 for knight,sparks will fly by Tuesday night…

43. @ TO THE POINT | March 10, 2013 at 9:20 PM |

Caswell has some goodies of knowledge sharing away @ Caswell Franklyn | March 10, 2013 at 9:26 PM | .

Le us see how you deal with that either by way of your obfuscating counter arguments or walk away with your beaten tail between your legs confirming that you are not really a man of integrity but a boldfaced law breaker.

But you can always say that since the law was passed by the BLP you as a DLP politician are entitled to break it. What is one BLP man meat is another DLP poison; right TPP upholder of law and order and firm craft man of the country’s fate.

44. Caswell,
    While there was no law , there was the General Orders providing rules and regulations against public officers taking part in activities for political office.

Before Cynthia Forde there was Glynne Clarke ( who was alsvo a teacher ). Indeed Glynne Clarke lost at the polls at his first try. Did he go back into teaching ? If so, why not ? It is there that this issue can be seen for what is is ?

• The General Orders in this regard could not be enforced because they were seeking to overrule a constitutional provision. The Constitution is the highest law of the land therefore no ministerial order, as the General Orders happen to be, can overrule the Constitution. That is why the Constitution was amended in 1974 to give effect to the intent of the General Orders. However, Parliament never passed the required law until December 2007.

45. Crusoe on March 10, 2013 at 8:30 PM
    ‘Fractured BLP | March 10, 2013 at 8:02 PM |
    Today Caricom most astute and adoring Prime Minister ,
    ‘———

Are you smoking something? You really think the rest of Caricom really have such opinion?

Stop posting nonsense.
    ——————————
    Hi Crusoe,
    I said PM Stuart. Not the low – life cuss bird Owen Arthur that no one misses from around the Caricom Prime Ministerial gatherings. The very same Owen Arthur – the $ 75,000.00 cheque thief !!

46. @Fractured BLP

Can you be more civil in your comments. Why do you have to try on a daily basis to discredit the work and contribution of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur? Let us behave in a gentleman like manner and give people their due. The former minister was and is still respected throughout the region.All our former Prime Ministers have contributed to the nation in their own ways.

47. Caswell Franklyn | March 10, 2013 at 10:40 PM |
    The General Orders in this regard could not be enforced because they were seeking to overrule a constitutional provision. The Constitution is the highest law of the land therefore no ministerial order, as the General Orders happen to be, can overrule the Constitution. That is why the Constitution was amended in 1974 to give effect to the intent of the General Orders. However, Parliament never passed the required law until December 2007.

Well in the third edition of the General Orders of May 1997, Owen Arthur as Prime Minister at the time giving the Foreword in the that document said ” Under section 72(1) of the Constitution, I have been assigned responsibility, inter alia, for the conditions of service of public officers and employees. I therefore make the following General Orders pursuant to the relevant sections of the Constitution of Barbados, and every other power enabling me to do so.

Several amendments have been made to these Orders since they were last published, and those changes have been incorporated into this third edition.

While the Public Sector Reform Programme may result in changes to these administrative arrangements, I felt that having copies available to officers was necessary since their provision still govern their functioning in the Service. I am aware that some provisions in the Orders are still in need of review but I am confident that further modifications will be made to this document in the future.

At section 3 .18.1 states that Officers and employers of Government are expressly forbidden to participate actively in politics, including the following:

(a) being adopted as a parliamentary candidate;
    (b) canvassing on behalf of any party or candidate for election to the House of Assembly;
    (c) acting as agents or sub-agents for any candidate for election;
    (d) holding office in party political organisations;
    (e) speaking at political meetings.

Where does the roles of Cynthia Forde and Glynne Clarke square with the above with regards to their activities as teachers ?

• Fractured BLP

Would you stop misleading yourself and subsequently others on BU. I am very aware of General Order 3.18.1. What you failed to understand is that the General Orders cannot override a constitutional provision. Section 44 (1) of the Constitution only barred three categories of public servants from seeking political office: judge, Auditor General and DPP.

In 1974 the Barrow Administration passed an amendment to the Constitution that would allow Parliament to pass a law to restrict other public servants. The law was only passed in December 2007 and came into force on December 31st.

As Minister responsible for Establishments, Arthur had power to make rules to regulate the Public Service, but he had no power to make General Order 3.18. 1 since it would have been unconstitutional and therefore it would have been void and of no effect. You must be aware that the General Orders were not passed in Parliament and therefore could not meet the requirements of the 1974 amendment which is now section 44 (2) of the Constitution.

You would do well to stop you political crap trying to mislead others to score cheap political points. You are clearly wrong!

48. Caswell

The mumbo jumbo you passing off as an authority on the Constitution is designed to confuse some people on BU.

The question remains, what was the role of Cynthia Forde and Glynne Clarke as BLP political activists, while still employed in the teaching service ? Glynne Clarke failed on his first bid for political office , why he had difficulty going back in the teaching service ?

49. @ Fractured BLP | March 12, 2013 at 6:52 AM |

So you take great pleasure in describing Caswell’s explanation of people’s Constitutional rights and responsibilities as mumbo jumbo?

Well, well, and you continue to repeat issues that the people of Barbados already ruled on in January 2008 and February 2013.
    The people (some of them at least) displayed their gullibility by entrusting confidence in your promise to make a difference and voted against the same stark and shameless law breaking by our leaders but you continue to insult them and laugh in their faces by perpetuating this arrogance and dictatorial behaviour.

The BLP broke the law and ignored our conventions so we DLP can outdo them to show the people who is really boss.
    Never mind we fool the people into believing that we the DLP and its leaders are people of Integrity and sworn to uphold the laws of the land.
    Carry on my friend. Time longer than twine.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.