Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Tonight is shaping up to be a victory for the people and for Barbados. I am pleasantly surprised and quietly proud. We have defied all polls, expectations and political/election stereotypes. BU has been a great conduit for it to begin. Let us move ever closer towards that much needed tipping point and let’s hope that those who lead us wake up and realise that this is a wake call to do better for all of us

– Observing(…)

A result which the most ardent of DLP and BLP supporter did not predict. Barbadians have witnessed a 16:14 result in favour of the Democratic Labour Party. The result also blew the Wickham CADRES model to smithereens, made all the more interesting that Wickham performed two polls leading up to the general election. BUs one regret is that even as the country faces unprecedented challenges – posed by the global economic landscape – we have a parliament which will struggle to do business given the result.

Here is an opportunity for earth changing decisions to be made to the current system. BU hopes the actors in  our democracy do not allow this moment to slip. This is a victory for Barbadians.

1. Having a legal degree would not have stopped some lawyers from stealing 42,000 anyway.

2. what about the gang of owen rodny hallam going after donville

3. That particular crowd has been embedded in the political landscape for over two decades and see what they have done to the taxpayers as an entitlement, unfortunately again, there is no legislation in place to lock them up. I have been saying for the last 10 years that no political party should be giving more than one term to be allowed to take root. Regarding Donville, all of these guys are colleagues and friends and we do not even know if they are business partners, I would not go painting Donville as a victim until we hear he is free from any writs or indictments that may very well be served on him.

4. The next 6 weeks will be crltical. The composition of the cabinet. The estimates. The continuing rollout of current projects. The fight to tackle the economy. The willingness of Parliament to work together. How long Owen takes to step down.

Vote buying is worrying and should be publicly and constantly denounced by all candidates and each party prior to the next elections. The DLP supporters should pray for their leader. Leading in this climate with a razor thin majority will not be easy, even for the best leader. The BLP would do well to quickly regroup, consolidate the new candidates and start a 3-5 year plan. These 14 in Opposition have more “power” than we may want to admit and can easily “create” conditions to shorten the 5 year cycle. We ewill see..

Just Observing

5. @Observing(…) | February 23, 2013 at 11:06 AM |
    Your posts are all the same you start off sounding fair and forward looking then degenerate to scolding the Dees and wishing failure upon them.

6. I keep saying that, if the opposition genuinely has the country’s welfare as a top priority and not only self-serving interest, this would go down in history as the election with the wobble to topple. we shall see.

7. who is the person that won a blp seat and want to go over to the dems.

8. Adrien i suspect that they are those who believe that the govt has abandon them and feels a sense of real threat that “-IF” govt diversify by manufacturing and industry the movers and shakers within the hotel industry would lose the control and power which they once enjoyed in the control of barbados economy. However that feeling should be well spent in helping govt moved forward in a positive way including the Cultural iindustry by way of their views and entertainment. Those days of exclusion are over.

9. While we DEMs have all the right to celebrate our glorious victory at the polls – because in a tight election race – we won the:

# popular vote of the Barbadian electorate
    # all of our winning candidates were able to increase their margin of victory over their 2008 showing

Let us spare a thought and our fervent prayers for Dale Marshall and the BLP that they would be able to:
    # sell enough SUGAR CAKES , SWEET BREAD and PONE

To pay back their ‘ CORPORATE’ sponsors for the $$$15 million they got to try and BRIBE the electorate !!!!

Oh what a tangle web they weave ….when at first they try to DECEIVE !!

10. @Clone | February 22, 2013 at 5:48 PM |
    A person could be popular in a positive way or a negative way. So to say that Arthur is not popular is incorrect

11. Congrats to the returning government and to those from the opposition party that were reelected.

12. Congrats to those from the opposition party that were elected and reelected

13. @musing
    You would have to be really musing (or dreaming) to see where I criticised the DLP or wished failure on them in that last post. I just call things as I observe them. Both good and bad. Both B and D. Country first.

The new “philosophy” and focus of the Opposition will depend on who emerges as leader. In a 2 party state both parties need to be strong for reasonable governance so I would personally prefer if that were resolved soon. DLP supporters should accept the reality that it would only take 2 by-elections or crossovers to be sent to the opposition benches. Celebration is justified. Over confidence and exuberation is ill advised.

Time to govern, oppose, lead and communicate in the interest of the PEOPLE. The people have spoken. We wait to see how our leaders perform now that they have heard our voices

Just Observing

14. @musing………………………that is observing way of wanting to see failurem. his postings have been pretentious with hidden bias which were as observant and obvious as his monkier

15. @Observing(…)

We have an example in Guyana where the Executive has bee hamstrung because the opposition forms the majority in the House. Stuart will obviously have to make decisions which fact his parties tenuous majority in parliament. It will test his leadership. As you have stated the type of government we get will depend on the position which a strong Opposition takes.

16. What about Irene Garner as a Senator, that is if she so desires? I really thought she would have pulled through as the night progress.

17. @Piece…………….maybe you can bribe gittens wid one yuh book and she might fall face down then yuh get yuh pick at the nation. your satire is hysterical.

18. So if in good times, with overwhelming government majorities and clear mandates, … our governments have been unable to lead any kind of serious meaningful restructuring of ANYTHING…..

What nonsense are you people talking about achieving anything now…. with a worldwide depression, high energy costs, high unemployment and unrealistic expectations from our idiot sheeple who seem to be blissfully ignorant of their predicament?

Stupseeeee

Our ass is grass! SIMPLE.

The good thing about PM Fruendel’s election is that he will take long and do nothing…..which may well be the best available tactic. With our options limited and dim prospects, the last thing we need is some idiot talking about CSME and importing Guyanese in droves…..or bringing the clown Clyde Mascott with his moronic research theories to accelerate our demise.

The damn Titanic is already on its way to the bottom. Bushie is happy with a Captain who will keep a low profile and let the damn boat sink peacefully – rather than the lotta confusion that the alternative promised….. At least it will be easier to launch the lifeboats when the time comes… 🙂

19. When it came to the popular vote the DLP got close to 6 thousand more votes than the BLP. Now that surprised me.

20. @Kevin
    The BLP everytime throughout the campaign were claiming they had thousands at their meetings.

Given that the BLP still finds itself in the opposition……I believe they were photoshopping the crowds from the Grenada elections!!!!.

By the way, the BLP should never forget PM Stuart 2 famous quips of the 2013 campaign:

# PM Stuart disclosed that PM Tom Adams after the BLP 1971 General Elections defeat ‘ Tom said the people followed us in their thousands but ONLY voted for us in their….HUNDREDs !!! ( The DEMs won the popular vote )

# A race horse at the Garrison training by himself looks good…….until another horse join him on RACE DAY !! ( As soon as the DEMs joined the 2013 race…….the BLP looked feeble……..and FORLORN !! )

21. @ Fractured BLP

Agreed. As I said on this blog before I knew the BLP were exaggerating their crowd size after I went to their 1st meeting in Bay Street, I would say 7 to 8 thousand were there. And then the next day, I read in Nation the BLP advert: “Thanks to the 20 thousand who showed up in Bay Street”.

22. It is conceivable in our first past the post system for a Party to retain majority of the seats with a minority percentage of the votes cast but how does one account for the DLP gaining a larger percentage of votes than the BLP when all the Polls showed that it was lagging behind.

Perhaps Wickham should be asked to explain this, wobble or no wobble.

23. Well I am here at BLP headquarters following the post 2013 elections development for the Associated Press (AP). It is with much dismay that I now report that the first salvo of the post 2013 debacle for the BLP has been fired.

The BLP is in caucus trying to elect an opposition leader to inform the GG of Barbados.

Mia Mottley a few moments ago just held Owen Arthur in a ‘throat hold’ and threatened to out his lights if he tries to stand in her of becoming opposition leader.

George Payne openly declared, ‘she should kill he…he had no damn right trying to sell she off to the DEMs’. ( By George….Imagine that !)

Thank goodness fuh Santia Bradshaw…she was able to get Mia to cool down.

Police were soon summoned to the scene.

Well I am not surprised…….the FRACTURE widens !!!

24. Sargeant wrote “Perhaps Wickham should be asked to explain this, wobble or no wobble.”

There is nothing to explain. Polling is not an exact science. It is not pre programmed robots they are interviewing.

I think the undecided voters probably did not buy into the BLP thesis that the problems in Barbados have nothing to do with the world wide financial problems.

Polling should end two weeks before elections.
    Mr. PM …..Hurry up an fix it.

25. For those of you who think things sweet in Canada.

http://www.thestar.com/

26. David (befo uh fuhget muh manners) I would like to say thanks for creating and maintaining this blog.

So far it has given me a forum to communicate with Bajans. I hope we will all continue to blog on BU as Barbados faces very difficult times.

The new government ministers would be wise to keep track of the views of bloggers.

27. @ac
    Why you don’t leff me before I bite ya???

@david
    Test of leadership is an understatement. Time will tell and we will see.

@hants
    You really think Freundel will “hurry up” and do aything? Lol

@bushie
    Man why you so pessimistic yet got so much faith in Freundel????

@brekfoot blp
    Ya win already. Give it a rest nuh!

Just Observing

28. @Fractured BLP

Are u serious? LOL.

29. Observing(…) wrote”You really think Freundel will “hurry up” and do aything? Lol”.

Yes I do. It is obvious to me that the PM is smarter that he appears to be.

I am not fooled by his measured response to problems. I think if he believes a problem requires immediate action he will deal with it promptly.

Oh shiiiiite .Just saw this.

from BBC,

The UK has lost its top AAA credit rating for the first time since 1978 on expectations that growth will “remain sluggish over the next few years”.

30. @bajantoy
    It is Trevor Prescod. Remember he crossed the floor to join the BLP with Hamiie La. He is a supporter of Mia so he has considerable power in calling the shots of who should be Opposition leader.

As a pan-Africanist, he may be encouraged to cross and feel more at home with the DLP but rest assured, he will be quartered next election if he does. A double power in Patrick Tannis and Hamilton Lahsley were not enough to defeat Santia Bradshaw.

As much as I am an Owen-supporter and am of the opinion that this was a serious uphill battle to defeat a party after one-term with so many new candidates and serious propaganda from CBC, I think he should start handing over his St Peter seat to Clyde Mascoll and be shadow minister for Finance. There is no disputing that Clyde Mascoll who is not even a parliamentarian has national appeal. He was even more popular than Dale Marshall who was Deputy Opposition Leader. He is not an outright politician but his handlers can develop him as they did with Owen.

Kerrie Simmons or Clyde Mascoll WILL NEVER CROSS back. They hate the DLP and the DLP hates them.

31. During the election campaign I bought into the BLP narrative that things were really bad in Barbados especially since I was personally disadvantaged by a number of elements in CS’ strategies against pensioners over the last 4 years or so.

Today, I really have to wonder where Bajans are getting money from. The huge crowds and big trollies at Cost U less, Pricesmart and Supercentre and the traffic Jams at the roundabouts connecting these business places had to be seen to be believed. Did the people all get some of the money that the politicians were alleged to have been giving away in the last week or so? Nah, Impossible! Relief at the outcome of the elections? or buying goods now for the coming storm when the DLP have to cut expenditures of 150 Million from April? orsomething else?

Bush Tea or Observing or best yet Wickham; One of you could probably explain this very noticeable uptick in economic activity. Pay day is still a few days away afaiK.

32. Political Perspectives – The people have spoken and while ordinarily the rest of us should shut up, there are a number of issues which really warrant discussion in both the Bee and Dee camps. Both Parties now have to say the S-Word, Succession. The BLP can be proud of their performance. They increased their numbers in Parliament which now include some fresh young faces and names, amongst whom are two women, who will be part of the political future of the Party and country. The BLP received the majority of the votes cast in the election but are still in Opposition. This raises the question of whether it is time to consider changing the first past the post system for some kind of proportional representation. On the Dee side there is much to worry about. The DLP’s numbers have now been reduced to an unworkable parliamentary majority. They lost seats including those of 2 Ministers and a parliamentary secretary. A second parl sec who lost narrowly last time and was expected to win, was soundly beaten. Freundel does not now have the elbow room to deal with the eager 11. The question here is whether we should have 31 seats to reduce any possibility of an even split in seats between the 2 parties and to allow for a larger majority?

33. @ FED UP

What national appeal Clde Mascoll has? Please go and come again.

34. @Kevin
    For preferred leader in the Cadres poll (before it was proven wrong), Mascoll was at 2-3% while Dale Marshall was at 2%.

35. Just for the record was Wood declared the winner and then a second statement made ? Or is this only rumour?

36. princess red.

Neither party or its leaders want an election right away.

If any of these politicians think they have a choice other than to solidy their parties and get back to working for the people of Barbados they will pay a huge price next time at the polls.

The eager 11 better be the eager 16 and the BLP must focus on quality representation on the opposition benches in parliament.

This is not the time to experiment with any drastic changes to our political system.

The focus must be on creating jobs and import substitution.

37. @Princess Red
    The BLP received the majority of the votes cast in the election but are still in Opposition
    That statement is incorrect, the DLP received the majority of the votes cast 525 to 48% .

38. @true to form

Nothing sinister occurred at SPS with the result.

39. S/B 52%

40. It took a simple majority among the BLP members for Owen to be elected as LOO. If Owen resigns could a simple majority drop a bombshell and elect someone like Kerri Symmonds?

41. David
    You asked the DLP supporters to cut down on the rhetoric but since the elections the BLP Doom and Gloomers have ben bombarding the blog with bare negativity and must be responded to.

Princess red like she did not read the papers with the stats or she could have gotten a calculator and add up all of the votes and see that the DLP won the popular vote.

There was never an eager 11 but a concerned group who wanted the PM to become more visible. He did and nearly half kill Owen Arthur. He said that you never pull a sleeping lion tail (lol)

Now I agree with you that they should be 31 seats. My proposal would be create a new seat by removing Orange Hill and Diamond Corner from St. Andrew because they are in St. James and St.Peter. Place the new constituency in St. Philip between North and South and call it St Philip central.

Check it out Barbadians were shopping like that since the DLP came into power. If Barbadians would just share some of their wealth with their poorer relative we could survive any world recession. They are living way beyond what is required in serious economic times.

Most of Cost U less products will suck up foreign exchange.

BU family must put their thoughts together on what are the things the government should do to cut back on unnecessary expenses without hurting the most vulnerable in the society

Mr. Stuart Please go back to having a monthly or quarterly press conference to keep the public inform of what is going on and your government will get its third term

Become creative go into villages and hear the opinions of the average citizen and how to get this society living in a sustainable way until the recession breaks.

There was young lady on Brass tacks with David Ellis talking about getting Agriculture going. Invite her in for a chat, place her in the Senate and make her Minister of Agriculture.

42. @clone

while i agree with most of what u said, be careful, we have some smooth talkers and when it come to putting the talk into action, they are helpless.

43. @Clone

Agree 99% with your last comment. You know that there is a difference between gloating and being negative or pessimistic.

44. @Sargeant

It took a simple majority among the BLP members for Owen to be elected as LOO. If Owen resigns could a simple majority drop a bombshell and elect someone like Kerri Symmonds?

Well somebody seems to be monitoring FB. If Symmonds is appointed leader then we can resign ourselves to the fact there is no morality in politics.

45. Final results to the 2013 General Election in Barbados.

46. @David
    Sorry I don’t have Facebook (call me a Luddite),there is a ABM (anybody but Mia) group in the BLP. BTW what’s going on on Facebook?

47. Tpp
    I am not an active farmer but has an interest in agriculture and must tell you that all of the Ministers of Agriculture in Barbados for the past twenty years were bare talk.

There is too much idle land right now in Barbados. A creative policy would be to take half of the NCC workers and retrain them in agricultural production. Place them to work on acquire the plantation lands that are idle and waiting for sub division which they should not get.
    Crops of lettuce, cabbage, sweet peppers, beans, onions, carrots, sweet potatoes and yams would be planted and none imported.

Scotland district should be replanted with fruit trees such as breadfruit, mangoes, golden apples and cherries. I think that the defense force would also have to shoot a large percentage of monkeys because they are affecting our food security

A follow up policy would be set up an agricultural protection wing in the Defense force to guard these lands from praedial larceny at night. This is like a war for our food security

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

There is indeed no morality in Barbados politics when a known pornographer could be elected and with so many votes.

49. ‎This is a rumour on facebook
    48 hours after the bees were rejected by the Barbadian public and the fighting start for leadership of the Opposition already .Roebuck Street was in a uproar today .With Mottley getting 6 votes ,Kerry Symmonds 5, Dale Marshall 3, and the outgoing leader Arthur is backing Symmonds to be leader as he plans to step down on Monday .Cynthia Forde is contemplating sitting as an Independent as she does not support Arthur’s move to back Kerry . Thank god these pack of wolves not leading Barbados . We all know there was no unity just a put on show to get in Bay Street. More fighting to come ,stay tune to PARO!!!!!

50. HEE! HEE! Donville Inniss must be laughing at What dat woman name that allowed OSA to make a complete nincompoop of herself trying to ridicule Donville Inniss! what a Fool ! donville gets the last laugh!
    i also heard her with some asine comment on CBC Tv the night of the election saying some crazy foolishness about why dennis Kellman not going to regain his seat. Gheez whiz i think i will buy her a leather shoe to chew on. cause she seem to have nuff teet and need something to chew on. Oh! i think she name Lizzie Borden! or something like dat whatever i like the name Borden fuh she.