Exposed by the Deloitte’s CLICO Forensic Report is the fact a 3.3 million dollar invoice was generated by CLICO and eventually made its way into the account of Leroy Parris. BU finds it is ironic the leader of the opposition Owen Arthur was able to produce, at a political meeting last night, the 3.3 million dollar CLICO cheque and supporting invoice. Can anyone guess why? Here is a hint.

Unfortunately BU was unable to monitor the meeting until the finish which proceeded late into the night but here is a summary from Tony Hoyos’ Facebook page.

So an invoice for $3.3million was issued by Thompson & Assoc to Clico in Dec 2008 (while D Thompson was PM of Bds). Maurice King who was named on the invoice as providing some of the legal services billed on that invoice says he didn’t do any such work. The partners of the firm say it wasn’t their invoice. But Leroy Parris, head of Clico back then, authorised payment to T&A and the Clico cheque for $3.3m was deposited in a bank acc’t that the law partners say was not the firm’s. Then the same amount of $3.3m was paid from that acc’t back to L Parris as a part of his “gratuity”. And a few weeks later the public learned that Clico was broke. And nobody has been prosecuted yet for this? What am I missing?

1. If this is true, it is a prima facie case for police investigation – and they do not have to be called in formally. The public statement is itself enough.

2. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

3. WELL! WELL! what you are missing is the TRUTH! OSA produes a check for services rendered to DT and associates and DT not her to respond. in the meanwhile OSA receives a check from CLICO for 75 THOUSAND dollars put it in his personnal account and has never in five years respond to what he did with the FUNDS. OSA is a liar.BAJANS would not be FOOLED>

4. By-election in St John…in March 2013

5. @ac

Think!

This matter does not die because David Thompson is dead. Mara Thonpson the former office manager of Thompson Associates is alive. Also remember this is politics and the DLP will suffer collateral damage based on how the public perceives its role in the whole affair. This is not only about David Thompson.

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

The Matter dont died for Violet Beckles is dead
    Sir Ham and Sir COW , MIA and Owen Checks over the past 14 years is much bigger , the Clioc Fraud is more Massive Fraud and more and more checks went out the door ,
    trust me there is much more check and this is a small check.
    Billions of dollars , So Owen and MIA bring your checks .,With Sir Ham and Sir COW

7. Will be keeping a very close eye on this one. My friend ac will have a lot of explaining to do. Why are your friends paling around with this guy?

8. …and the smoking guns appear.

Looks like game and possibly set. Maybe match tomrrow?

West Terrace is the new Haggat Hall.

Just Observing

9. Thompson in 2008 and Arthur in 2013 and the people caught in the middle.

10. @ ac
    Please, wake up! Or are you like “the sleeping giant” who was asleep for the last 4-5 years and only just got woken up to hear that an election needed to be called?
    ac, it is no longer about privatisation by the Bees, it is no longer about the joke between Owen and Fumbles over MAM; it is about $3.3 MILLION (BLENZERS) that the taxpayers will now have to pay back in to the CLICO policyholders to cover that amount that was defrauded (in everyday words, STOLEN). It is about the EAGER ELEVEN who have stated quite clearly in black and white writing that FUMBLE will cause the DEMS to lose this campaign and therefore the election. They stated they no longer had any confidence in him as PM. It is about a Minister in the cabinet of government being involved in heinous illegal sexual activities involving young children. And, his boss, the PM, doing nothing about it! It is about the fact that the DEMS for the last 4-5 years instead of trying to guide this country properly all that we could hear from them was ” blame Owen not us, it is Owen’s fault not ours”!Blame, blame, blame! that was the name of the game for DEM. And, according to one, Fumbles, he now wake up! Well he could just as well go right back to sleep. He and Tillman will have a lot of time in RETIREMENT to discuss all their mistakes. When FUMBLES was causing all the unemployment to rise little did he realise that he and the other 19 would soon be on the breadline too.

@ David can you try to wake up ac and all the others like her on this site? Otherwise when they awake they will be shell-shocked from the NUCLEAR bomb that will hit tomorrow night.

11. @ ac

Furthermore, 5 long hard years after Haggatt Hall you still want to know about the “$75k cheque! OSA has made it CLEAR over and over again that the cheque was made out in HIS NAME. And like most normal people, when a cheque is made out in their name, he deposited it to his account (quite a normal procedure) and then he paid the $75k back to the party account. So, where’s your beef, ac. At least Owen can give an explanation for that cheque but what about that cheque for $3,300,000.00 (3.3million blenzers) from the CLICO account. Tell us, ac and any other DEM, explain that one to us!

12. Stupse – Innuendo , I predict that this political fluff will go nowhere. It sounds salacious but as the BLP yardfowls like to say ,if there is a crime ,prosecute somebody”. The BLP unfortunately will wake up one morning and realise that they can stop running against David Thompson now,If he were alive he would be more than able to defend himself. It will not move one vote. Maybe if Owen Arthur was not the person making the statement, it would.
    Next!

13. @ the exclamation mark

Man, you like you still sleeping too, just like ac. Man, WAKE UP, nah! This is not about Owen or DT now. This is about the fraud perpetuated on an entire population, including you, who will now have to repay all that money (maybe lots more that we don’t know about yet!) This is about a Minister of Finance getting on a public forum and vilely referring to a member of the general public as “A BARE POUCH PUSSY”! Is that the kind of intellect that we want from a government minister in this proud country called Barbados? Did he not take advantage of the free university education and use it to uplift his mind and thoughts? Or, did he use the opportunity just so he could keep his mind in the gutter? Because those kinds of statements could only come from someone whose mind is tainted. Or, are we to continue to tolerate government ministers who would go into Parliament and question another MP’s paternity?! Questioning whether another man is really the father of his wife’s children. How much lower can one get? If that was not hitting well below the belt (pun intended) then what is? If you were placed in that position what might have been your response? You may have only given him an answer with Ri RI’s famous, or infamous, word, I believe you would have wanted to knock his mouth off at that point. Ah LIE?? And, what importance in that to be mentioned in Parliament anyway? So, WAKE UP and smell the roses or, in this case, the fumes from the NUCLEAR bomb that Owen exploded last night in West Terrace.

@ AMUSED
    So, you still voting fuh DEM now???Wheel and come agin man!

14. What I can’t understand, even ignoring the moral aspect, is why the DLP refused to deal with the CLICO/BAICO matter KNOWING that there are 35,000 policyholder/voters ready to vote for whoever gives them hope of some recovery. It boggles the mind that they would not only ignore these people, but insult them as well.

15. Know what folks?No one will go to jail.As David said to me in relation to Owen ‘s check these things happen all the time.My guess is We Like It So.

16. watching and waiting Avatar
    watching and waiting

Arthur delivered a knock-out punch to FS and the DLP. Let’s hear how they deal with these allegators:

17. SAME OLE SHOITE BY DLP CROOKS who good at fooling poor people DEM HANDS clean. The man Parris should be locked up for robbing those poor ole pensioners…. some of them who have also passed by now. ‘MURDERER’…..But we hear of “he is my friend”..”is he a leper?”… from our man in charge Feunmauge ( at least for 1 more day)….Now Yardbroom you were sayin about INTEGRITY?….IT STINKS !

LIZ Thompson also drop her NUCLEAR NUDE BOMB on Donville last night…LIZ is CLASS ! ….West Terrace crowd of about 5,000 really were well served.

18. @H Hill

Like it so, you say! When I can barely pay my mortgage for my l’il tinnin’ boodoo here by the Bridge? Only the Good Lord knows how much longer I am going to be able to do that and feed my family as well! With all the burdensome taxes that have been placed on us over that last 5 years. I now paying $465.00, instead of $265.00, a year to keep my 16-year-old Suzuki legally on the road My land tax increased, my food is now costing me 17.5% in VAT, my water bill increased by 60% my light bill! well, lets not mention that! Soon have to start lighting “de ol’ smut muh ded mudder gone an’ leff muh wid” and hope de ol’ wood house doan ketch fire! I ain’t even mention de cost of gasoline fuh de same Suzuki and many of the other burdens that has been foisted on us these last 5 years by DEM so! And, to make it worse I am a senior citizen on a very limited income. My wife has not heard of, much less seen, a salary increase for the last 5 years either!
    So, wheel and come again, Mr. HH! Like it so nah! Try that stunt on a little 4 yr-old child, not on big hard back, mature people who are crying out under the huge oppressive situation!

19. @ David

You are missing a significant point here, on the 15th January, 2008 (election day) David Thompson resigned from the partnership of Thompson & Associates.

20. @Crystal

He did but yet monies were still able to reach Parris via Thompson & Associates. Questions which need answers.

21. @Crystal Lantern | February 20, 2013 at 9:04 AM |
    OH YEAH! So you think that was the end of his involvement? So check it out and come back and tell us who was the OFFICE MANAGER after that date?? Wheel and come again!

22. @ David

Did I not suggest to you last night that you were missing the explosion in West Terrace?

You like you fell asleep at the wheel that time. 🙂 🙂

23. I thought this was public knowledge already. What’s so new about this?

24. @ David

But Dave, what has suddenly happened to the voices of all the “big-up” DEMS who were so loud and vociferous all along on this blog until now? DEMS gone back to sleep already? Man, try and wake DEMS up and let DEMS know the election is tomorrow, it is not time to sleep yet. Tomorrow Dave! They are behaving as if they have a few more weeks to sleep!! They still playing “catch up” with the Bees. 🙂

25. @kevin

Go to the youtube link and give it a listen you will find out what is new. Somebody will be charged for sure !!

26. @Kevin | February 20, 2013 at 9:12 AM

Hard evidence in black and white writing. That is the difference. Before now it was just allegation and innuendo. So now the DEMS have to deal with it UPFRONT and BOLD. Wish them luck in trying to explain all of it!

27. LIZ now has certainly put a BIG DENT in Donville’s Husbands , West Terrace, Warrens Husbands votes…..Sandra definitely looking UP and Up after LIZ’s EXPOSE’ last night……AGAIN she was excellent ….the woman is class at attacking like a true pitt bull…..A night to be remembered….

28. If BU understands correctly the 3.3 million was issued by Thompson & Associates to an account at CIBC which was not owned by the new owners of Thompson & Associates at the time?

29. Talking about DESPERATION. didn.T the POLL give the BEES the momentum .see.s likev wunna going squander it stomping all over DT grave. may he REST IN PEACE………………but back to the living. can somebody tell OSA that his greasy palms collected a 75 thousand check from CLICO for campaign funds. whereas DT once worked for CLICO and he was entitled to be PAID. anybody who is a thief is OSA and And his band of pirates looking again to raid the treasury . DT is dead everybody knows that except OSA.

30. Just heard from a reliable source that when the Ds get knocked out tomorrow the USA will be filing documents for Pornville, no diplomatic passport = no immunity. heard the same will apply to Michael Lashley, and they are questioning why he was not locked up. it gets even worse. To all I say GOOD LUCK!!!! Day can run, but night will catch it. HA!!!!

31. Wunna BLP yardflows got a lot of nerve to crticise anybody about money. for one the DLP still looking for the stolen money from the rainy day account and OSA comfortable lives off the taxpayers money receiving a check and never shows uop for work. It is TIMe OSA stop stealing the taxpayers money under false pretenses. HE need to pay it back OSA is the only person i know that gets pay for playing dominoe instead of showing up for a job he was paid to do. i want a refund. no empty promises. THIEF OSA

32. Musing | February 20, 2013 at 8:27 AM |
    Wickham’s second poll in two days is a puzzle here is why. Wickham posits that the swing remains at 7% against the DLP where it climbed to a long time ago. If this is the case we can draw the conclusion that the entire three week campaign by the DLP had no impact whatsoever. In other words despite government’s excellent performance in five years in the face of history’s worst recesssion the swing needle did not move.

Despite outstanding articulation of solid creative proposals by the DLP to take Barbados forward during the campaign nothing registered with the public. Wickham’s second poll in two days “to right the wobble” and the now infamous “outlier” means there was no push back from the extensive hard fought battle of ideas coming from the DLP.

The long hard grind of the election campaign based on Wickham’s poll was absolutely unecessary. Producing manifestos was a waste of time.The people of Barbados according to Wickham’s poll are dense. Nothing from the DLP influenced Barbadians despite more than half of them being mass based DLP supporters. The swing needle did not flutter by even one percentage point in the three week campaign although the PM moved from single digits in popularity to draw even with Owen Arthur.

Wickham’s poll postulates that in the face of a multitude of revelations which umasked and showed the BLP as a disunited discredited institution they marched serenly onward. The obvious in fighting in the BLP, Mia Mottley’s destruction by Arthur and his cronies, the condemnation of the BLP’s economic proposals by respected neutral economic analysts counted for nothing says Wickham’s second poll.

As a humble university graduate I find Wickham’s second poll in two days hard to believe. It is an affront to my intelligence. Wickham’s second poll is a puzzle. The mother of all polls is Thursday 21 February. I will accept the results of Feb 21st poll not Wickham’s.

33. Onion rings…

We heard of gambling on our waters
    Senator Emeritus not a tweet
    Now later, time of elections
    He begging for a second sweep.
    Redd Plastic surely had put it right
    Politics from D pulpit….. bare shh..

Corruption rambunctious
    Porno suit a whale
    Clico like a muskoo..
    Stench obnoxiously real
    What sayeth our collar?
    Have you not heard..
    Hear no evil , speak no evil
    See no evil, when there is green

People are suffering like hell in silence,
    Don’t know daily, where to turn,
    Juggling bill fixes, no money to spend,
    Holding on frailly, amidst chaos and churn,
    What MTFP plan what….
    Call a spade a spade man…..
    DLP is nuff boondoggle
    Boot DEM to damm

34. Both parties are guilty of misleading the taxpayers and abusing their trust and the offices taxpayers allowed them to hold. However, I don’t think anyone from the BLP is being sought by any foreign government just yet, for breaking multiple international laws. Their turn too shall come.

35. Wunna BLP yardflows wunna think that people going to entertain that kind of slander coming from all people OSA THE GREATEST THIEF OF THEM ALL. STUESPSE………..thursday soon come. You guys would see that bajns not STUPID……

36. Donville Inniss is being reported in the news this morning that he denies all that was thrown at him last night by Liz and the BLP.

37. @ Hants and BLP supporters. What does it take to make you UNDERSTAND that the CLICO issue is not a Government issue. It would becdome an issue when the COURTS finish their examination and releases its VERDICT. CLICO is an INSURANCE company, NARSHAM was an INSURANCE company, DT and ASSOCIATES is a PRIVATE company. LEROY Parris is a PRIVATE citizen; a BARBADIAN. LAWRENCE DUPREY is a TRINIDADIAN businessman, the OWNER of CL Financial, the PARENT company of CLICO.As BU said THE CHEQUE WAS ISSUED TO AN ACCOUNT AT CIBC BEFORE DAVID THOMPSON AND ASSOCIATES DID NOT OWN. Even before David Thompson died; the BLP has been trying to pin these charges on the DLP. The present government had nothing to do with CLICO. The forensic report thich has been available since last year lists the fincancial activities and accounting practices of the company. How die government get involved in this? Owen Arthur was MINISTER OF FINANCE, boss of the SUPERVISOR of INSURANCE years before the DLP were elected to office. Where was his oversight? Why was the cheque issued to him in his name and not to the account of the Barbados Labour Party, didn’t they have an account at the time? Didn’t they have a seperate election expenses account? Why did’nt Owen IMMEDIATELY instruct CLICO to change the payee from his name into that account? Why did he deposit to his account, and if even he deposited it to his account is there any indication that the money was taken from his account and paid into that of the BLP account where it should have been issued to in the first place.
    When David Thompson and his law firm were working for CLICO they were a PRIVATE LAW FIRM, working for PRIVATE clients. what fees they charge and the terms of the payments had nothing to do with the DLP GOVERNMENT. When BS&T were sold to the Trinidad companies were the details of payments made in the ransactions, the conditions of the sale etc. any business of the people of Barbados, or the government of the day (the BLP) and revealed.
    This so called bombshell is just like some of those penny bombs that we used to buy as children that only fizz when you throw them.What people do in their private capacity before they are elected to office, more often than not do not affect the general population. By the way CLICO insurance is not broke
    More later because I have to get people to separate the PRIVATE from Government; what goes on before and what goes on after, and the attempt to involve a DEAD MAN and his WIFE in this life and death strugggle of the BLP shows the depths to which that party will go. They MUST BE REJECTED at the polls.

38. @ac

Okay ac, you win hear! If you could call the case of the $3.3MILLION SLANDER, you can go right ahead and brainwash yourself that it is SLANDER. But the proof of the pudding is in the eating and people like Sinckliar and Pornville going eat DEM words that they spewed out of their mouths like vomit! Imagine a government minister calling a member of the public “a BARE POUCH PUSSY” and another one questioning the paternity of another MP in, of all places, Parliament! What nerve these DEMS have! And, those are the people that you want to continue to govern this country? Lord help us! Have we not eaten enough of the bread that was kneaded by the devil already? Marie Antoinette of France, so long ago, lost her head at the guillotine for less. So, yes ac, you win. I just hope you do not happen to have to reap the benefits of your sentiments!

39. Layoffs looming
    Added by bteditor on February 19, 2013.
    Saved under Local News
    by Emmanuel Joseph
    The party that forms the next Government of Barbados after Thursday’s elections, is likely to soon face its first major reality check — “serious” layoffs in the hotel industry.

A frustrated Executive Vice-President of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, Sue Springer, told Barbados TODAY this afternoon that the sector may have to brace for “problems”, if the current state of the industry did not improve this summer.

Springer warned that the first quarter of this year was already looking bleak.

“We were down eight per cent in January over last year. There were declines in all three of our key markets of the US, the UK and Canada. Looking ahead, we in the hotel industry are predicting a five per cent decline for the first quarter, up to March,” the BHTA executive reported.

“If we are down five per cent in the first quarter, which is the period (Winter) when we make our money, we have a problem,” she declared.

Springer told this newspaper that the repercussions of that situation would mean earlier and longer layoffs for the summer season.

40. @ Alvin Cummings
    ……CLICO is not a Govt issue”

Why don’t you put down your yellow paint brush….you sounding STUPID-DDDY mannnnn !

41. @ David | February 20, 2013 at 9:56 AM |

Downfall Inniss is being reported in the news this morning that he denies all that was thrown at him last night by Liz and the BLP.
    Ok Dave, lets for fairness sake say that Pornville is right. That being the case, would he not be able to stop the Bees in their tracks with all the legal avenues open to him. Why is he not in court this morning, bright and early, trying to put a stop to these so called lies and innuendos (so he says) like an average intelligent law-abiding citizen would do? But Dave, all I have to say is this. . . . . .”The pen (or in this case the keyboard) is mightier than the sword”. Ah Lie??

42. Roverp, This is the inevitable price ‘we’ all pay for allowing the wrong people to be placed in policymaking positions that they are NOT qualified for.
    WHOEVER, is elected tomorrow, if they are allowed to put their friends and cronies on critical boards like the BTA, they will never be forgiven again.
    The BTA is starved of money, but there is still enough to buy or lease an AUDI luxury SUV Q5, only for the CEO to leave weeks later.
    Sue of the BHTA is absolutely right and I hope that the politicians FULLY understand the implications.

43. The writs to be served on Pornville from the US, look quite real.

44. watching and waiting Avatar
    watching and waiting

@Musing

What you are missing in your analysis is that the BLP was allowed several months without any responses from the DLP. Their numbers were allowed to rise without any intervention from the DLP.

When the election was finally called, the DLP did not take the initiative so it was still the BLP that seemed to be leading in terms of issues and even the fact that the BLP had posters up for 48 hours before the DLP responded.

So whatever can be said of the DLP’s campaign, the BLP was placed in a position where it could play defence and still win. But the BLP played offence all during the campaign, and basically beat the DLP at every turn – with advertising, crowds of 25k, 18k and 20k, manifestos, and the final bomb releases.

So essentially the fact is that even if we said the DLP ran the most effective campaign, you would also have to admit that even if the BLP ran a worse campaign, then it wasn’t that far behind and in my view, it actually ran a superior campaign.

Now, if the BLP did not run a campaign and were sleeping for the last 3 weeks, then your argument would be correct. Unfortunately that was not the case.

Tomorrow will be about the ground game – getting your vote out. If the BLP runs a superior ground game, it will win as many as 22 seats, but even if the DLP runs a superior game the most they will get is 13 seats – not enough to for a government. If they run similar “on-the-ground” logistical operations, then it’ll be a 20-10 victory for the BLP which some would say is the likely case.

FS is a really bad leader, incapable of listening and he has surrounded himself with people who speak his language and who he thinks are lesser mortals. In that situation there is no value-added and everyone including FS will be shocked by the outcome even though people with some level of objectivity were telling them this – they kept shooting the messengers and looking for people who would say what they felt.

The DLP has the leadership it deserves. What now should be the focus of the debate is who will be or should be the leader of the opposition.

My own view is that we could end up in a place where Dennis Kellman could be the Leader of the Opposition or even Mara Thompson – because the key first string leaders – Chris Sinckler, Donville Inniss, and Freundel Stuart are quite likely to lose their seats.

This likely DLP defeat is grounded in poor leadership and finds its genesis in the decisions made while David Thompson was ill and all the various steps that were taken during and after his death.

FS if he considered himself the DLP leader should have been firm about becoming the member for St. John and he should have been equally focussed on the timing of the general election.

@ac – take your head out of the sand. A new dawn is coming!!!

45. I am always against taxpayers money being spent on expensive vehicles, only to see them being used to draw more corruption. What do civil servants need expensive vehicles for, more waste of taxpayers dollars.

46. @Alvin

You have made the same mistake this government has made. There is the legal position which you outlined but then there is the political dimension which HAS to be managed. It is too late now.

47. Pornville had a good four or five years to sue everyone for slander over these allegations, so what took him………………………

48. Poor ac;poor!.poor Boots Cummins;all sick dems destined for the appendages of the book soon to be released “The DLP.The rise,fall and collapse of a Barrow legacy”,a lesson in visionless politics in Barbados 2008-2013.

49. @ ac

Girl, I am so sorry that you and CCC tekking so mucha lashes but you have only yourselves to blame! You DEMs were warned not to pull the tail of the TIGER! Now you see what you have gone and done, the TIGER is now in a ROARING agitated state and the giant only now trying to wake up! The giant is now defenseless against the TIGER because he still rubbing his eyes from that long 4/5 year sleep that he was only lately awoken from!! Ah Lie? The giant said it himself, ac. He told us to wait and see what was going to happen when he awoke from his slumber! Well I wonder how is he going to survive (politically!) from the Nuke that exploded last night?