Submitted by Wolsley Grannum , Atlantaย  GA
Stuart and Arthur, political leaders of the DLP and BLP

In 1992 independent Presidential candidate Ross Perot dropped out of the presidential race, citing dirty tricks and scare tactics by the Republican Party, as the reason for his decision. Twenty years later, the Republican Party continues to practice dirty tricks and scare tactics on the American People. The just concluded Presidential elections here in America clearly showed up the Republicans for who they truly are. This once great party of Abraham Lincoln has lost its way.ย  This Republican Party did everything in its power to defeat President Barrak Obama. From voter suppression to smear campaigns, personal attacks, media manipulation and negative campaigning, all supported by billionaires who had one agenda. That agenda was to defeat the President. In spite of all they did Barrak Obama won re-election with 52% of the vote.

In Barbados the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has come to the end of its first term in office and general elections have been called for February 21, 2013. Weeks ago in anticipation of the pending announcement, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) like the Republican Party had already resorted to dirty tricks and scare tactics to defeat the DLP. This once great party of Grantley Adams has lost its way. It has been taken over by right- wing conservatives who will lie, cheat, manipulate the media through negative campaign advertising, and through bogus manoeuvrings (like boycotting parliament) intended to scare Barbadians into voting for them.

Boycotting of parliament was a ploy intended to force the Prime Minister into calling the elections, so that they the opposition will have something to talk about during the election campaign. Prime Minister Stuart is no fool . He is a brilliant lawyer, an educator, a serious and honest politician and a great orator who makes it clear that he will not be side tracked or thrown off course by the political machinations and political chicanery of the BLP. He must and will remain focus to the task of making Barbados a better place for all its citizens. The DLP does not have to resort to dirty tricks and scare tactics to win the election. Its record over the last five years will be enough to convince the people of Barbados to give them a second term. The BLP like the Republicans will try to make this election a referendum on the economy, and they will fail.

The American economy which is the biggest in the world is going through some serious challenges. Unemployment is up by 8%.ย  The prospects of a full economic recovery will not be realizedย  untilย  the year 2020 according to the experts. Things in America are rough for everyone. I have some friends living here in Georgia who tells me every day that they plan to go back to Barbados, because things In Barbados are better that in America. Some of them have been unemployed for more than two years. Unemployment benefits have dried up for them. They have no health insurance for their families, and some are on welfare and food stamps.ย ย  One of them in particular has his bags packedย  to return to Barbados but he is waiting for the outcome of the elections. He assures me that if the DLP is returned to power he will make the move. If the BLP wins he will stay in America and ride out the economic storm. Can you imagine that in the wealthiest nation on the face of the earth there are persons with Masters Degrees working as cashiers at store all across the USA? How many Bajans in Barbados with mastersโ€™ degrees working as cashiers or flipping burgers at Burger King or Cheffette?

I hope that Barbadians like the Americans will understand that politics is not only about the economy alone, but it is also about being a part of a society that cares about their welfare. That is why the Americans rejected Mitt Romney and the Republican Party. The DLP has demonstrated over the last five years that it is a party that cares about people. It has passed some of the most progressive social legislation in Barbados since the 1960s when it was in power. In spite of the downturn in the global economy, there has not been any major dislocation in the society. No retrenchment of worker in the civil service, no massive layoffs in the private sector, the hospital is not closed, Houses are being built, Roads are being repaired, the polyclinics are open daily, the schools are open and Barbados is still functioning at full throttle.

The people of Barbados cannot return to the failed policies of the BLP. The policies that got Barbados in this mess in the first place. During the years of plenty they wasted the taxpayerโ€™s money on riotous living. As the date of election draws closer and closer the BLP will continue to resort to trick and scare tactics to win the election. I call on all the foot soldiers of the DLP to do what myself and others in the Democratic Party here in Georgia did to reelect President Obama. We knocked on doors for him, put up posters for him, worked in the polling stations and proclaimed the message of the Democratic Party here in America. You the supporters of the DLP must do the same. Your mission is to make sure that the DLP is returned to power on February 21, 2013. โ€œWeeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morningโ€. Boycotting parliament was trick no.1which did not work. Donโ€™t be fooled there are many more tricks still left in the BLPโ€™s bag.ย  Beware!

286 responses to “Say NO to the Return of the Barbados Labour Party”

1. Propaganda , both sides !
    Who will stop the rape of Barbados lands and the destruction of their agriculture and heritage !!!???? Who will make more lanes so that some A-holes cannot block and slow down traffic so commerce can flow!
    Who will sop the big boys from taking all ! Too many Cars and Trucks ! Not enough police to keep the criminals under control !!! Rent control and Food prices 1!!/? These are the things that matter , OVER POPULATION /Family planning , where all of those kids going to work ! Clean up the littered and nasty beaches and lands , stop illegal dumping ! And chemical waste disposal and sewage Illegally dumped !

2. Things are bad all over. Barbados is not an isolated case. The BLP knows this but they will never admit it.

Tonight the Ottawa Hospital announced the lay off of 290 employees:
    90 nurses,
    100 administrators,
    100 health care professionals.

It is my opinion that this is only the start. Last year the Federal Government laid off and forcibly retired some 1900 employees. More in the private sector have been let go and others are on reduced hours and job sharing. Everyone is bleeding. I don,t see how the BLP can do a better job. What will they do it with?

I will be arriving on the island on the 21st of February. I intend to go to the poll with my ID and place my X. May the better party win.

3. Tonight’s DLP meetings was a lot of huff and puff with mor substance promised in the weeks to come. The key take away for BU is the fact Prime Minister Stuart repeated the statement that Opposition Leader Owen Arthur sent a note via his friend Hal Gollop that he would like the DLP to relieve the BLP of Mia Mottley. He added to the charge that Mia told him in parliament a while ago that he (Stuart) should call elections to put the BLP out of its misery (word to this effect). The time has come for Arthur and the BLP to respond to this revelation by Stuart because it is likely to gain momentum if let unchallenged given the DLP’s strategy of going for Arthur’s head.

For those who missed the mass meeting:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dlpbarbados

4. Big rally of thousands at the DLP meeting in Bay street last night. If the BLP crowd in Heroine Square as Donville called it was as huge then we are set for a ding dong battle. Donville had the crowd bawling when he mused Jerome Walcott in a tight red bodice attacked him at the BLP meeting in Heroine Square. The Dees came out swinging and as a neutral on sober reflection they have done wonders with the hand they were dealt. They deserve another term.

The haymaker for the night was an uncharacteristic remark from the PM in reply to Muscle Mary Noel Lynch constant refrain that he ( Fruendel) black, broad nosed and ugly. The PM told the massive Muscle Mary is the only woman who ever said he was ugly.

That unexpected belly searcher at nuisnace candidate Muscle Mary Lynch left the massive in stitches for several minutes. Even policemen were seen bent over in laughter.
    The battle is truly joined.

5. Fractured BLP on January 31, 2013 at 4:20 AM
    Listening to Onions , Observing , David of BU , Enuff , Miller et al , we always wondered what is the BLP concept of UNITY.

Well before the BEES can host a political meeting for this 2013 campaignโ€ฆ.they have to first explain to the people of Barbados what does UNITY between MIA and Owen mean .

Before a stunned crowd of 14, 000 persons in Bay Street an attacking PM Stuart challenged

1. Mia Mottley to deny that she asked him to call polls to get rid of Owen.

2. PM Stuart repeated his call a SECOND time (outside the floor of Parliament) for Owen to deny he wrote to Stuart begging him to tek Mia off the hands of the BEES.

Well before the people โ€ fire Freundelโ€ , Mia and Owen have to explain to Barbadians why they both want to FIRE each other !

And to think those crooks claim to be UNITED !
    We ready fuh de pollsโ€ฆ.we readyโ€ฆwe readyโ€ฆwe ready .

DEMS all the way.
    ——————————————
    Hello david ,
    If you HUFFING and PUFFING already….then next time bring out the SNUFF…..because we gine lick out the STUFFING of Owen carcass early ENUFF !

He wanted the general elections called….before we answered his call we ask him to come CLEAN on :

The Bridgetown Pier head project !
    The Jamaica Pegagus Hotel deal !
    The “tek Mia Mottley offa muh” note to PM Stuart fiasco !
    The ” I was not at Cabinet ” fuh the Dodds prison contract !

It is about CREDIBILTY stupid !

But no here of late….Owen down wid the FLU !

Forget Lying Useless – FLU

Tek that
    !!!
    The BEES can keep OWEN ARTHUR .

6. Now the bell has been rung, the DLP will not be found wanting. They will step up to the plate. The avalanche of froth emitted by some who should know better and others with axes to grind is now at full tilt.

This nonsense has reached such a level, that ordinary BAJANS who look like BAJANS are being derided for so being. Yet “some” BLP supporters are appealing to the same ordinary BAJANS to vote for the BLP. It is a disgrace that some could use such tatics.

There was a time and I remember it well, when corn beef and biscuits were offered to induce voters to vote. . . that is no joke. I recall as a young man hearing Errol Barrow addressing a crowd in the bus stand in 1961. I whispered to a friend. “I could vote fuh he”. A man of some years, overhearing my remark said in a loud voice. ” What he got boy, stupse, can he gi me corn beef and biscuits?”

Some even here (BU) Barbados Underground: THE PLATFORM OF THE PEOPLE, have resorted to that cesspool hole at the back of the pig pen, looking for detritus to smear all and sundry, I will not go there.

The harbingers of doom and gloom, shouters of collapse and decimation. Relying on POLLS, plying a poxy message, will not hold sway.

The DLP will hold its nerve and march forward with an over-arching arm enfolding all its people, as one country, one NATION and for the good of “ALL”. They will slice through this wall of froth to VICTORY.

7. And to believe this lilliputian Owen Arthur can parade his arrant nonsense across Barbados.

His latest gimmick…

Arthur accuses PM Stuart of not using the floor of Parliament to announce the elections…..but breaking with “custom” to use a GIS release to do so .

Would you know :
    Tom Adams , Bree St. John , Erskine Sandiford …..and Arthur too….at different times used the same GIS to announce elections ?

The PARO….are correct….Owen not WANTED .

8. @Fractured BLP

Why don’t you make your point and leave BU out of it? BU is not the Barbados Advocate. Didn’t the PM say last night that the party will address matters of the economy in the weeks to come? Is it not true that the same CADRES which DLPites embrace in 2007/2008 suggest that 75% of Barbadians are concerned about the economy?

Political rhetoric is designed to sway party members, the DLP did this well last night.

9. David,
    When you find Owen Arthur and get him to answer your 4 week old question about his note PM Stuart….then you would be taken as serious blog.

It is about CREDIBILTY stupid !

Both you and CADRES would take a while to understand that !

10. @Fractured BLP

BU’s understands your penchant for name calling, you have done it well on the blogs for the last 5-years.

11. the projects accomplishmed in five years with limited finances is a test of the determination of this govt to show its will through strength and the intestinal fortitude to lead this country in a postive direction given the hand it has to deal with.

12. and did that well they did. it warned my heart to see them putting Coverley on the big screen as a project which was completed and was successful.

Given the fact the DLP really has nothing, it would be stupid for Arthur or Mia to reply to the FS stupid comments. FS could repeat it every night all night for the next 21 days, its not going to change the fact that its stupid and will only make sense to DEMs.

as i stood in the crowd, what was funny apart from FS comment about Barney, was that they had a video presentation to show and could not even get that right.

that right there sums up this govt. incompetent to a tie.

sad really.

13. Fractured BLP? you sure you want to me it about CREDIBILITY, stupid? is that really where you want to go? really? LOL!!!

14. David on January 31, 2013 at 6:29 AM
    @Fractured BLP

BUโ€™s understands your penchant for name calling, you have done it well on the blogs for the last 5-years.
    ——————————————–
    Hi David,
    Do not prove yourself to be so thin skinned. You are my favourite blog moderator / owner . Do not let me down now.

You defend your party….I”ll defend mine….and never the twain shall meet !

By the way……you believe Owen Arthur gine produce a copy the note he wrote to Stuart.

You could start a new thread on that one and let us vote to predict the outcome.

Enjoy your breakfast !

15. PS. for anyone who miss the meeting last night and would like an update of what was said, close your eyes and remember 2008 but without David Thompson.

16. These insulting name callings politicians use on each other is a weapon to inflame and mislead the electorate, they are so aware that the public love to see each other ridiculed and laughed at. THE ECONOMY IS NO LAUGHING MATTER. IS it me or did the news about the british tourists being savagely stabbed since last Friday seem to be only now hitting the nation newspaper today, after being in foreign newspapers and online for days???

17. @skippery “OVER POPULATION /Family planning , where all of those kids going to work”

Dear skippery: Barbados has one of the lowest population growth rates in the world. Barbados has no shortage of work. Note that foreigners continue to come to Barbados and are able to find work, often well paid work. Barbados has a shortage of people with the appropriate education and or training to do the work that needs to be done.

We need to craft our education/training to fit the jobs that need to be done.

18. After 14years of having a PM who has allegations level from shady dealings to immorality barbados can be proud of the fact that PM Stuart named will not be associated with such charges, He has performed with the greatest of integrity even when pushed to the edge by his detractors. why would barbadians want to go back to a BLP government which has been tainted by scandals and immoral conduct .VOTE DEMS. PM STUART a PM BARBADOS CAN BE PROUD OF>

19. @Pat “I will be arriving on the island on the 21st of February. I intend to go to the poll with my ID and place my X. May the better party win.”

Shame on you Pat.

We have to moral right to vote here.

You pay little or no taxes here.

You do not have to live with the result of your vote.

My father a moral man did not vote in the last election. He knew that he was dying and when both parties came to his house to persuade him to vote, he said to both of them “I will not vote because I know that I will not have to live with the result of my vote”

He died soon after the election.

A highly principled Bajan of the old school.

Do we have any of them left? Or are they all dead?

20. David (not BU)

Try as hard as you might the BEES are not UNITED….they are FRACTURED.

Their 2 head honchos are at each other throats and foolishly appealed to PM Stuart with hard evidence to relieve them of each other.

No use pretending it is not so.

It is about CREDIBILTY .

And thousands will see the EVIDENCE revealed.

You should follow what happens when there is a public spat between a leader and his deputy…as is happening right now in St. Kitts.

Unfortunately, for you, the one between Mia and Owen was going on in the public since October 2009 at the Owen Arthur UWI press conference. Go back and review that episode !

Barbadians not stupid….so your encouraging both Owen and Mia to keep their mouths closed over the next 21 days on their FRACTURED relationship…..is priceless !

You can continue to wish your NIGHTMARE to go away.

21. Fiddler on Roof Avatar

@ David (no BU)

I know you are upset, I can detect the disappointment in your contributions. The massive crowd at the Espanade spells doom and gloom for the BLP and you know, albeit you can’t understand why.

The BLP will not even get off the mark, they cannot stop this DLP train which is running smooth under the steam of The Clean Captain, Fruendel Stuart.

22. @Wolseley “Donโ€™t be fooled there are many more tricks still left in the BLPโ€™s bag. Beware!”

All politicians are tricksters.

We are aware.

Thanks.

23. Why do Bajans have to travel so far to vote? There are systems allowing citizens to vote where they are domiciled, again they don’t ever copy the positives, i will pass on this one.

24. Pat..I have to agree with Simple Simon on this one. For someone who does not live here, does not contribute to income tax and NIS at this present time and for several years and will come here just to vote you are making a mockery of the system.

How can any local government impact your life and livelihood in Canada? You said that you will be coming to help keep the BLP out of office…did you stop visiting Barbados for the 14 years they were in office? You haven’t lived here in recent times so you wouldn’t know how the extremely high cost of living has impacted on many of us down here. Water, land, road and VAT have all gone way up, yet we are hearing revenues are still down so the tax man will pull out his whip again and flog the middle class and the poor.

How much more do you think the people of Barbados will be able to bear under this administration? You don’t have to choose if you will pay your utilities or pay for food for your family. You now have to choose whether to repair your house or pay your bills. House materials for repairs have gone up since the VAT went up. How do you think retirees are living on a fixed income with all the increases. You really don’t know the hardships that the man on the street going through.

25. Right now hardships are everywhere, it has only been compounded in Bim because no one, including the governments wanted to believe the recession could affect Bim, they all turned a blind eye and told the people lies. Now they see the effects.

26. @Fiddler on Roof

“The BLP will not even get off the mark, they cannot stop this DLP train which is running smooth under the steam of The Clean Captain, Fruendel Stuart.”

you really want to go down that road? really? REALLY!!! look around you? who looks more ready for the campaign? who? the DLP? if you say so, that bubble when FS called the elections without telling his members.

@Fractured BLP

“its about the economy stupid.”

you really want to talk about who give who what? This is just between you and me, so don’t tell nobody, ok? ok? one of your 30 candidates is a Judas. Let break it down for you. He sees the writing on the wall and he has a family to feed. he knows he can’t be back in the woods for to long, so he is saving his ass and he is talking out the DLP business. so persons know full well who fighting and who cursing who at cabinet meeting and in conference rooms. look sharp, they may even be audio.

so Mia and Owen could fight, don’t fight, kiss make up or don’t kiss and make up. end of the day they will lay out a plan to recuse Barbados’ economy. a economy which was crippled by the policies of the DLP in these hard times.

now i know i could talk to the wall and get a reply before your guys understand but you have been warned. what you do with that warning is up to you.

27. If true, it’s scary PM would call elections without notifying members = lack of trust. I remember when international agencies were warning both parties before and after 2008 to put a viable plan in place to deal with the pending fall out, they cussed the people, now everyone has to suck it up and deal with it.

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

This heading alone is the main reason for most to all things lead to the down turn IN BARBADOS and it goes on. Land is the issue and the BLP is the main reason. Most with titles and office of trust is the Problem .Lawyers first problem ,,,, only a duty to their bank accounts with other peoples money.No CLEAR TITLES FOR THE LANDS BANKS HOLDING WORTHLESS PAPERS,, AUDIT NEEDED TO CLEAN AND CLEAR UP ACCOUNTS.S&P AND MOODY’S IS THE WARNING THAT OTHERS KNOW ALSO..
    LEAVE THE HYPE AND GET THE FACTS. WHAT ARE THE FINDINGS? THE POLICE NEED TO SPEAK.
    VOTE TRUTH NOT PARTY… CAN NOT FIX THINGS WITH LIES

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 31, 2013 at 7:04 AM |
    “And thousands will see the EVIDENCE revealed.”

And we shall be waiting with bated breath for this electoral coup de grศƒce to put the final nail in OSA’s coffin both figuratively and literally to be interred at Greenland along with his eternal enemy in Pain. Because after such clear written evidence OSA will certainly be a mortally wounded political animal that needs to be taken out his complete misery.
    However, the bard of a note must be genuine (if that is possible with the known liar Freundel). No type-written missive without a signature. No printout of a text msg since the lying fumbler confirmed it was a note manually transmitted via his friend the AG in waiting.

So here is the deal:
    Save Bajans from all the harangue, theatrics, personal vilification of the clowns on the other side, and a repetition of the DLP filth and rotten red herrings contained in the repertoire of their lying songbook of unrealistic promises titled Dรฉjร  vu January 2008.

Just come straight and in a timely manner, for once, show Bajans the note and literally kill two birds with one throw. First to stop OSA- the lying cockspur in fits of drunken stupor- dead in his tracks and second to stop the DLP yardfowls from bottling night dew until the election date.

The DLP will also be setting a worthwhile example (unlike the BLP) by saving a lot of scarce money that can be put to more productive and vitally important use instead of spending it on unnecessarily on expensive ads, flyers, and posters trying to impress an electorate that have already made up their minds.

Just remember we are living in trying economic times and a โ€œpenny saved is a penny gainedโ€. And by Jove we really need every cent in the coming months given our pending collapse of the tourism industry caused by our own misdeeds and criminal actions against visitors from our favourite source market.

But (piece of the rock your indulgence is craved again) remember also this piece of advice before proceeding with the disclosure of this closeted note of a well-kept secret by no other than the Judge of the Law of High Morality Hal the PM pal of a messenger and note carrier to put Hermes or Mercury to shameful flight. For if the claims made by the Fumbler the god of Lies are denied and he is unable to โ€œprosecuteโ€ both accused by way of hard incontrovertible evidence the following maxim will apply to his damned lying party:
    โ€œDe mortuis nil nisi bonumโ€.

Little children, in their refreshing state of moral innocence, have a way of removing the fig leaf of hypocrisy and truthfully revealing the nakedness of fumbling liars.

30. Look out for my overview on the meeting. Please, that crowd was under 10,000 and the majority of the crowd start leaving. I give it 3 points.

31. Some of us will continue to wait for the issues to be discuss and ideas to surface which is necessary help Barbados confront the challenges by informing optimum strategies.

32. islandgal246 on January 31, 2013 at 7:25 AM

—————————-
    Island gal hardships my foot !
    When and the short runt from St. Peter and you did bilging out taxpayers scarce funds on Greenland , Gems , Nigerian Solar project , Kensington Oval , Al Barack and the like

Where was your voice of ” REASON ” then ?

That is debt this government and taxpayers have to repay…..TIMES AND THINGS BOUND TO BE HARD !

Get real and get ready…….we ready fuh de polls !.

33. I would bet my last dollar that most Bajans, politicians included are totally unaware that there was a recession that lasted 29 YEARS, alot of the ones prancing around now will be long gone or doddering if this one lasts that long. People are now becoming aware that recessions are part of the economic system and are unavoidable like the damn flu i have now.

34. David
    You will have to be fair, the DLP said it was a report card on the things they have done and the meeting met that objective.
    Michael Lashley and Chris Sinckler were outstanding in showing what they met and where they moved to.
    It was not all huff and puff.
    David Barbados political meetings were always like that where speakers take a turn in their opponents.

David would you not agree that the BLP is altering the image of Owen Arthur to make him look younger than he is.
    Go to the next BLP meeting and see that he is not a strong man at this time

35. Well over 10,000 at the DLP rally last night and thousands by all reports watching the stream on line. Sinckler’s presentation was brilliant as usual as he masterfully outlined what this government found and how they have guided the ship of state through an economic category 5 hurricane that no Barbados governmnet has had to face.
    One interesting revelation which I myself was wondering- the BLP graphic artists have used photo shop to airbrush the poster of Owen Arthur. Anyone who has seen Arthur recently knows that the picture was manipulated.

36. That’s the main reason the international agencies were practically begging the two parties to protect the people and the country by coming up with a strategy to cushion the current problems, none of these agencies, IMF, World Bank, etc have a clue when or even if the recession will end anytime soon, it’s cyclical but with some current disturbing factors. Pity they did not care to listen. AS devastatingly as the recession has hit some there are countries in the world who listened and had a plan and are not feeling the economic ruin as badly.

37. The other thing of note is that a BLP platform is made up of three platform speakers and not a soul of any quality there after.

The reality is that the offerings being presented as options to a well educated and hard working bunch of DLP Candidates is simply a poor slate of candidates being presented to the public as serious options for them to choose from and consider serious.

Some like Sandra Husbands is an unemployables entity but yet she is being foisted on the people as a candidate and she is not unique in this department as they are others like Gill a waste of space and an idle. Person.

The reality is that the quality off the candidates being presented by the BLP is no where near the quality that one would risk or want to represent the people’s interest in Parliament of this island or in any parliament any where, the BLP offerings are piss poor.

38. All I know is Saturday will tell much…..People usually do not come out so early for the opposition (victimization wearing RED at CBC etc…) as at the BLP meeting in town …they come out after the bell is rung and the opposition looks like the winner….The ruling party usaully would get most supporters out early as they are in power. Fear is a factor..time will definitely tell…..

39. Conditions Matter. The BLP never had the Barbados economy growing and our major trading partners were not also growing. Tourists and foreign capital inflows do not come from Mars.
    It is like two banana farmers – one enjoying good weather,moderate rainfall and adequate sunshine. The other farmer has to cultivate in an environment of a severe weather system,catergory 5 hurricane conditions with destructive winds,gusts and excessive flood like conditions all of which make planting extremely difficult but manages to keep the farm from going under while bigger well equipped farmers and farmers all around him are collapsing.
    Give Farmer #2 credit. He must be judged on the conditions under which he had to operate. A fact that the BLP would like us to conveniently ignore. Bajans are not stupid. The DLP has done well under the circumstances.

40. What is amazing is that the BLP yardflows keep talking the same ole crap and has not even said what solutions their party has for the economy. i am waiting to hear. the DLP has a record of stopping the barbados economy from falling over the fiscal cliff wether one agrees or not with the methods .the same cannot be said for the BLP who has never govern a country under such hostile extreme economical conditions. An issue the BLP has somewhat avoided in the past months after saying they had all the answers

41. I copied this from a post on facebook which I thought was interesting given that the BLP is lying to Barbadians telling them that everybody else in the Caribbean is doing so well.
    “FACT – The DLP has done a remarkable job in an extremely tough economic climate led by sound and competent leadership.Consider this about our friends around us- St. Lucia, Grenada, Jamaica and St. Vincent all have higher unemployment rates. St. Kitts has a debt to GDP ratio of about 140%,Antigua in the hands of the IMF and Barbados building houses,investing in education,alternative energy, restructuring agriculture and not one public servant get send home. That is performance! – We voting DLP all day on Feb 21, 2013.”

42. Fiddler on Roof Avatar

@ David (not BU)

The issue is not whether the PM told his party before announcing the date for elections, the issue is did he inform the people? The answer is yes.

The Prime Minister confirmed that Mia Amor Mottley asked him to call the elections in 2010 to prevent Owen Seymore Arthur from ‘taking root’ in Barbados. Mia you must address this.

The Prime Minister also confirmed that Owen Seymore Arthur asked him by way of a note to relieve the BLP of Mia Amor Mottley and subsequently sent a message by Hal Gollop to remind the Prime Minister that his (OSA) offer to give the DLP Mia Amor Mottley was still on the table for acceptance.

These are highly, highly damaging accusations which only continue to magnify the division in the BLP as they go unanswered by OSA, MAM and the BLP.

The DLP also hinted that an audio tape will be revealed at Passage road next Wednesday.

43. Well who is it next Avatar
    Well who is it next

The BLP war seems not only to be with the DLP and with the voters but it extends to within their own camp with fighting among their own people, take for example the call received by a close friend yesterday from Mottley to tell that person to let a candidate know that she has taken a lot of stick from the the public and Arthur for her deviant sexual appetite but that it should be told that one of her candidates in the person of Hinkson is one who takes his enjoyment with working girls those especially from Jamaica and has had to be rescued from assault charges as it his liking to beat up on these working girls after he has his sex for money he then enjoys inflicting the pain and suffering onto his worker for his own pleasure.

44. @Burning Red
    “The reality is that the quality of the candidates being presented by the BLP is no where near the quality that one would risk or want to represent the peopleโ€™s interest in Parliament of this island or in any parliament any where, the BLP offerings are piss poor.”

I have made that point time and time again. This is the worst group of BLP candidates that I have ever seen assembled. The late Sir Harold St. John and Tom Adams must be turning in their graves.Muscle Mary only came back because he could not get a job elsewhere, Arthur came back for power and to stop Mottley, to give back the housing Ministry to Gline Clarke is a backward step for Barbados and Jerome Walcott was a disaster as Minister of Health.
    No wonder all you are getting from this group is radio jingles and full page propaganda ads.They are intellectually bankrupt.

45. I can’t even laugh!!!

46. Well who is it next Avatar
    Well who is it next

The other fact is that in addition to be a corrupt bastard Arthur is a tired old man who should have left politics when the people charged and found him guilty for corruption and fraud of Taxpayers payers monies he should be residing in HMP Dodds doing hard labour.

47. THIS ROLL IS JUST THAT FULL STOP……..wOSSLEY WHO FROM wHERE?… Man you need to be in tune wid D goings on brudds.
    WE DUN WID DEM…….. (Not to be distracted)…….Last night Mr. Molasses went in over-drive, we almost dead wid laughter…..cuddear if you never see “a drowning man clutching at straws”….and you were not there or streaming…..you miss out….on a belly FULL.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 31, 2013 at 9:26 AM |
    “the DLP has a record of stopping the barbados economy from falling over the fiscal cliff wether one agrees or not with the methods”.

Just identify one instance when that was so?
    Yes we can! Remember the 1991/92 situation when Barbados had almost zero foreign reserves. Yes Ba liar, the BLP was indeed in power during the period 1986 to 1991 and the entire World was in more serious economic meltdown as we have today. Then like the son of a Knight in shinning armour the DLP came along and rescued the country from the arms of the killing arms of the BLP ready to throw poor Bim over the economic cliff of potential devaluation.

Is that true, ac? It seems you are becoming daily the perfect student of the art of Pseudologoi; being well trained by the Master Dolos now apotheosized as a god and saviour of Barbados.

49. Well who is it next Avatar
    Well who is it next

And then we have being foisted upon the electorate ones like Hinkson who thrives on sex for money and then inflicting pain and suffering onto these innocent working girls it is sad that at this stage in our development the BLP are unable to provide class options to the electorate. Of Barbados that people would be willing to consider.

50. @To the uninformed writer of this article

“The people of Barbados cannot return to the failed policies of the BLP. The policies that got Barbados in this mess in the first place. During the years of plenty they wasted the taxpayerโ€™s money on riotous living. As the date of election draws closer and closer the BLP will continue to resort to trick and scare tactics to win the election.”

First of all, when I am finished with this post, you can say what you want.

Next thing I want to tell you is that your article is a load of what is in the toilet pit. You live in Georgia, not in Barbados. So stick to US politics. I would not debate you with the lies in the post about the last election, the Republicans told lies so did the Democrats. Have you forgotten the ad where the man said that Romney killed his wife, it was a blatant lie and the Democrats and the media peppered the Republicans with the lies. I would not blame President Obama, it was his nasty white campaign team.

Now on to Barbados. Your article is fill blatant lies. So the BLP did nothing for Barbados, you blasted liar.

When the dead king walked out of the House with his troops in 2007 after he disagreed with a ruling from the Speaker, you saw nothing wrong with that, right?

The BLP does not have to justify anything to the likes of you. Their record speaks for itself, it is the incompetent Dems who are now trying to put together a so called list of achievements.

At the end of the day, my belief is that the people of Barbados have been hurting so badly, they will remember that in the days of the BLP, they had money in their pockets and jobs. They will then make up their minds! Not from the drivel you wrote about, you dont live here!