The following is a critique of the Alexandra Inquiry matter by Senior Law Lecturer at the University of the West Indies Jeff Cumberbatch and a BU family member.

Senior Law Lecturer Jeff Cumberbatch - reproduced from the Barbados Advocate - 04 October 2009
Senior Law Lecturer Jeff Cumberbatch – reproduced from the Barbados Advocate – 04 October 2009

There is an English equivalent, but the French, in their own inimitable way, put it so much more elegantly: โ€œPlus รงa change, plus la mรชme choseโ€ โ€“ the more things change, the more they remain the same. This might have been the exact sentiment of more than a few objective bystanders after the public release of the report of the Waterman Commission of Inquiry into the Alexandra School. From all accounts, those who were, before the report โ€“ see WATERMAN REPORT, in favour of the censure of Mr. Jeff Broomes, the principal, for his alleged misdeeds, now feel a sense of vindication by the report that has recommended, inter alia, his โ€œseparationโ€ from that institution. On the other hand, those who were firmly in his corner previously and of the view that he had done nothing wrong, have chosen to reject the commissionโ€™s findings in that regard. These opinions are to be expected. But what of the report itself? Has the commission really achieved its objective after the comparatively substantial sums spent on its production?

First, we have to appreciate the limitations of a Commission of Inquiry. Already cribbed, cabined and confined by the provisions of the statute under which it is constituted and by its stipulated terms of reference, the commission is not in itself a punitive body, even though it does have power under section 15 of the Commissions of Inquiry Act, Cap 112, to report certain forms of procedural misconduct during its deliberations to the High Court, which may inquire into the matter and, after hearing the relevant evidence punish the offending individual as if he or she had been guilty of contempt of the High Court.

Read full report in the Barbados Advocate

1. caswell dense in comparison to your simplistic approach to a complicated issue i take “dense” any day.

2. Inkwell! i return the same likewise when it comes to your comments.No hard feelings . just saying!

3. So far the outrageous quip of the election season:- “The prison should be named after Owen Arthur”

Top shot Sinckler lol lol.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | December 3, 2012 at 8:05 AM |

Was the Ax report discussed or any light shed as to the final outcome of this embarrassing and costly exercise in futility designed only to line the pockets of the instigator’s lawyer friends?

BTW, Carrion, did you take a stroll down the President Kennedy drive to see the ghastly state Barbados is deteriorating to? Maybe you saw only beauty and a state of cleanliness
    to reflect your own mirror image of filth and disgust.
    Barbados has gone to the dogs as far as the environment is concerned thanks to the lowest of the Low(e).

5. caswell glad you not PM if not the strike would still be going on and the parents and teachers would be fighting in the street. dude stick to unions.cause PM material you are not.and your instuctions would have caused war among the varying parties. right now there is a measure of civility but that you can,t see. Too bad.

6. Miller speaking of cost. did you not hear that the BLP Led by OSA left a staggering 30million dollar debt payable at the beginning of every year. think of how much that money could have done for a cleaner enviroment.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 3, 2012 at 10:27 AM |

If the old prison was not “burnt down” and a new one built in St. Philip the entire water catchment area in the Belle would have been polluted with a possible outbreak of Cholera to destroy the entire tourism industry. What about that, ac?

BTW, ac, we are still awaiting your pronouncement on the sale of the old BNB shares. Now that is what you call full divestment and selling of the remaining family silver! Or should we say ‘Paro’ economics in its truest form?

8. @Checkit-Out

We are all waiting on your review of the Waterman Report.

9. @Inkwell
    Thanks for the page down option! Will definitely use it more often. lol

@Miller re BNB shares
    Talk bout grabbing at opportunity. Does anyone notice that this new movement towards overseas investment is designed to bump foreign reserves up a bit? If only our leaders were more forthright with us.

“.the fact is that it was apublic institution which the PM as head had aright to intervene giving the nature and those affected by the ongoing strike in process which had also affected other schools with teachers involvement”

Where do we (begin to) draw the line?

Just Observing

10. Observing before waiting for all hell to break out. therby using good wisdom and commonsense and not waiting and for the irrational suggestions like those of caswell to take root while the house goes up in flames as in the AX.

11. Miller talk about “fearmongering” in reference to the prison.

12. @laughing
    No problem with renaming the prison The Owen Arthur Prison.

It would have been interesting to have the Dead King, David Thompson spend a long holiday in the Presedential Suite at the Owen Arthur Prison.

13. This government is made up and supported by the biggest bunch of liars and stupid people who think that Bajans cannot think for themselves.

How could the same people who are condemning the BLP for daring to raise the issue of privitisation or divesting some statutory bodies, now divesting the valuable BNB shares just so while telling us that the NIS is awash with money.

Dr Justin Robinson, this does not make sense even to Gear Box if he were alive. If the NIS is awash with money, why sell the shares now and then talk about investing in other territories? Does this makes sense? Especially when the Trinis have said that the Barbados government are the ones who came to them and that they were happy with the way things are.

The things Sinkliar and Dr Justin said do not add up. Sinkliar and the DLP have been trying to scare Bajans for the last few weeks that the BLP is going to sell everything and leave them jobless yet behind the scenes, the lying Dems have been doing privitising all by themselves.

What this all tells me is that this country is in a serious mess and it will all come out after the election. Why the mad rush to sell if the NIS does not have many investment options? 1991 all over!

A word to Dr Robinson, the DLP is a party that destroys people slowly, remember what Hartley Henry said at the dead king’s funeral, they will use you and spit you out. Stop lying for the DLP.
    By the way, where are the NIS financials you promised? Phoney Marshall promised them too, do you see what they did to him? Food for thought, Dr Justin!

14. @ Prodigal Son
    The very best thing to do with those republic shares now, is to SELL THEM.

Owning MINORITY shares in such an institution is even more FOOLISH than relinquishing control in the first place. You are just helping to fund your own embarrassment.

If there was ANYONE with any sense in this matter Barbados would simply launch a new bank with the proceeds of the sale and immediately transfer all dealings away from Republic.
    ….but there is no fear of such a thing, since we all know that such a new bank would be doomed to failure for lack of competent management.
    ….and we continue to spend $400M per year on education…..

Pathetic people! But this is what we get when we turn away from God and focus on tourism, FOREX and “Education” as our keys to success…

15. Bush Tea,

You should stick to things you know something about and leave country finance alone. The Government initially sold its majority shareholding in the BNB to Republic Bank because it found that BNB could not be made to operate efficiently and profitably.

The two main reasons for the inefficiency and unprofitability were:

(1) Government interference in policy setting and operations of the bank.

(2) Government because of its well known interference in the operations of entities in its control was unable to entice any good quality professional bankers in critical positions.

As a result Government found itself losing money on its investment and opted to divest a majority share of its equity to Republic Bank. Sensible move. Republic Bank thereafter ran the BNB professionally, efficiently and profitably, primarily because they knew what they were doing and Government could no longer interfere with the bank’s operations.

In short order, Government began to see dividend income from its remaining investment in BNB where is had previously seen none. And not only dividend income, but capital appreciation. Government’s 30% (opprox, combined with the NIS) share of Republic Bank became worth more than its 100% share in BNB.

Likewise the NIS, which had not been receiving any income from its BNB investment prior to RB taking over control, began to see good returns, the ideal situation in an economic landscape where good investments are acknowledged to be few.

It does not make sense in this situation where you have surplus cash for which you have limited investment avenues, to sell your stake in a profitable and stable entity unless your owner, the Government, is desperate for the cash and has instructed you to sell.

So much for the independence of statutory boards and its chairmen.
    So much for the Government’s opposition to divestment.

Is the Government so desperate for cash that is willing to sell the family jewels?

16. @Inkwell

Agree partially with your last comment. You may recall the government removed the large sugar/agricultural debt before the sale to BNB. And under the $100,000 man BNB was making profit.

The last part of you comment we can agree. Why would a liquid NIS sell off the shares at this point? We look forward to hearing a coherent response on about the decision.

17. @David

What was the amount of the Agricultural debt that was removed from the liabilities of the BNB to accommodate the sale to Republic Bank? I wonder if the size of those non current loans was part of the reason that the BNB was making little or no profit? Of course the Trinis smart businessmen they would jump at the opportunity to buy an asset devoid of any liabilities, meanwhile the Bajan taxpayer would still be responsible for picking up the tab for those non current loans which remain on the Govโ€™t books. Idonโ€™t know much about these things but me granmudder wuld say something bout cutting off yuh nose to spite yuh face.

Inkwellโ€™s theory? is among the many Iโ€™ve heard but as a Bajan I would be ashamed to admit that with all de education and knowhow that we couldnโ€™t run a commercial bank properly and profitably.

Time to set up a Sperm Bank

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Inkwell | December 4, 2012 at 8:54 AM
    ” It does not make sense in this situation where you have surplus cash for which you have limited investment avenues, to sell your stake in a profitable and stable entity unless your owner, the Government, is desperate for the cash and has instructed you to sell.”

Same thing applied to the BL& P divestment and sale to Emera another foreign owned entity.

The then Chairman of the NIS tried to put up a fight as penance for his CLICO mistakes but was shafted by the Minister of Finance using the Doctor to carry the blame for nasty piece of work.

Justin Robinson will never be brave enough to openly oppose the current Republic Bank sale.
    He will sell his soul to the political devil and keep mum and dumb before giving up his little pick and salvage his intellectual integrity.

19. Sargeant

I still have a little left: Could I make a deposit?

20. @ Inkwell
    Your statements re BNB are totally false. Have a look at the Bank’s 2002 Financial Statement and you will see that before the majority of its shares were sold to RBL in JULY 2003 BNB had made a profit of $18.6 Million in 2001 and $26.1 Million in 2002.As at SEPTEMBER of 2003 the Bank had made a profit of $18.0 Million (see the 2003 Annual Statement). With respect to the Agricultural Loans they were effectively removed from the Bank’s portfolio in the early 1990’s with the setting up of the Barbados Agricultural Credit Trust. These loans were a drag on the Bank and with their removal the Bank immediately began to make profit.

21. Thank you Sargeant.
    How any self respecting man could argue that it makes sense to sell a family asset “because he is incapable of managing it himself” – and still expect to be respected as a man, is beyond a simple bush man.

How any leader could decide to separate the bad debt component of a bank, only to SELL OFF THE PROFITABLE portion to outsiders – and then to keep the BAD DEBTS himself could only be described as deranged.

…..but then again such has been the accepted trend by those in leadership bout here…..

If the people on Boards don’t have the BALLS to reject political interference OR TO RESIGN, …then perhaps Inkwell’s solution is correct…..”bring in capable outsiders to look after us.”

Bushie will not even comment about the logic of owning minority shares in an institution controlled by OUTSIDERS…..perhaps Inkwell may wish to sell Bushie 55% shares in his house, and trust the bushman to call the shots with his daughters…?

In such circumstances, Bushie prefers to sell the WHOLE house and go and look for a little 20X20 chattel house for his daughters…. Where Bushie is king…..but then Bushie has some pride left…

22. Bush Tea,

Your thinking re minority shareholding is archaic, just as I suspect you are, with all your BBE nonsense.

Are you not aware of the countless fortunes that have been made by minority shareholders? by owning shares in successful businesses and raking in the dividends and maybe increasing your original investment 100 fold when the share price increases?. You simply have to have the knowledge or perceptiveness to tell which is which.

I most certainly would not risk 55% of my house with you, because you have clearly demonstrated an ignorance of good business, but I would certainly be tempted to take a chance if Butch Stewart made the same offer. See the difference?

To the other person:

If you want to call getting into the black by creative accounting profitability, that up to you.

23. The question which needs to be answered is whether the NIS has a concrete plan to invest the proceeds of the RBL sale which yields the same or greater yield. If there is no such plan it means like the Four Seasons matter the support of the respective Boards were coopted/persuaded by central government policy.

There goes the independence of the NIS Board if this is the case.

24. Inkwell
    If you need someone else to make your decisions for you, and you are prepared to look around for competent persons to whom you can attach yourself in order to achieve success ….so be it.

You may not have picked this up before, but personally, Bushie is NOT A HAND TO MOUTH fellow. In fact, you can say that Bushie “got money like bush”…. ๐Ÿ™‚ . MORE IMPORTANTLY, BUSHIE GOT PRIDE, …..and BT IS NO PARASITE! So your snide presumptions about the bushman further reflects your quality of judgement.

You would not risk 55% of your house with Bushie (who is both ethically and financially one of THE most successful men in Barbados without any doubt – Ask David!! ), but you would risk 67% of our National Bank with Trickidadians?

You shudda resigned earlier…..

Bushie likes your persistent optimism. – TRULY!!
    But do you REALLY think that any of the Boards appointed by our suspect politicians are Independent?
    ….what do you not understand about PUPPETS? If more of these Board members had the GUTS to resign on PRINCIPLE, AND SPEAK OUT when the politicians intervened we would see some change…..
    …but first we would need some principle….

25. my problem with the cumberbatch”s and the mcaarthy’s is that rather than give the unbridled truth to a yearning for the truthy public tend to skirt around the issues as if they have a political axe to grind. where was mr cumberbatch when layman mr franklyn was informing the public about the uselessness of the commission of enquiry because it had no teeth under the laws of barbados.

26. McCarthy has an interesting article in today’s paper. Smells like a huge shot across the bow.

Just Observing

27. And the crap continues at Alexandra and this is with the Waterman Reort laid in parliament for more than two weeks:

By Yvette Best | Sat, December 08, 2012 – 12:09 AM

A number of teachers at The Alexandra School walked out of the annual awards ceremony yesterday morning.

In what appears to have been a quiet, orderly protest, the majority of teachers represented by the Barbados Secondary Teachersโ€™ Union (BSTU) filed out of the school hall as soon as principal Jeff Broomes was introduced to give his report.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/walkout1/

28. What a bunch of blasted idiots. They seem intent on crafting their own doom.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | December 4, 2012 at 6:38 PM |
    “where was mr cumberbatch when layman mr franklyn was informing the public about the uselessness of the commission of enquiry because it had no teeth under the laws of barbados.”

And this type of parasitic bandwagon hopper has the unmitigated gall not to at least mention the visionary erudite contribution of Caswell Franklyn to public debate and enlightenment. Mr Cumberbatch follows this blog and would have benefited from Caswellโ€™s well researched and reliably informed contributions on the futility and waste of resources of the Ax inquiry. Not even a reference to Caswell as academic decency and publication guidelines would require.

These academic parasites only come out of the woodwork when everything is settled and they can lay claim to any informed debate on national issues leading the public to believe that โ€œMr. Cumberbatch said this and he advised thatโ€.

Why should they come out early and save the taxpayers a lot of money?
    I suppose these โ€˜johnny-come-latelysโ€™ need to protect the little picks on the boards and commissions and donโ€™t want to be crossed off the various invitation lists on the cocktail circuit and free food functions. He might even have found out early in the game that any article critical of this administrationโ€™s exercise in Ax expensive futility and submitted to the Advocate would not have found favour with the self-proclaimed Murdoch whose role is to ensure the only revenue stream keeping his media empire afloat is not dried up.

30. A Ministry of Education,with an interest in maintaining order at AX would move to immediately discipline those teachers who walked out of the function,and transfer all of them to other teaching locations including Dodds and Summervale.EWB would have done it via a fireside chat on TV.

31. Another reason Broomes should be removed sooner rather than later .all respect Loss a smoldering lightning rod with remants of a past

32. @david
    And the crap continues

Boy (or girl, lol). You aint see nutten yet! Fasten your seatbelts ๐Ÿ™‚

The only thing that may “save” this AX saga right now is elections. We’ll see.

33. @Observing (…)

It is obvious the BSTU plans to take this issue to the bone Waterman Report or not!

> New comment on your post “Alexandra Dispute Matter Revisited: The Waterman > Report” > Author : Observing(…) (IP: 141.0.9.63 , s21-01.opera-mini.net) > E-mail : observing@hotmail.com > URL : > Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/141.0.9.63

34. So who called the Nation newspaper? BU understands that the protest by AX teachers was hardly noticed by anyone attending the function, the Nation photogragher had to be prepped. The games that people play.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It does not appear that it was Mary who called the Nation.

36. The stereotype of Caribbean people espoused by North Americans is that we are “never in a hurry”.

The Alexandra impasse is incontrovertible evidence that some of us have no concept of “timely” dispute resolution.

nuh problem maaan…. de children can chill.

37. Uncle Jeff transferred to Parkinson!

Stetson Babb’s Facebook Page
    Starcom Network News is reporting that as many as 22 teachers from the Alexandra School including Principal Jeff Broomes were to be handed transfer letters today. Mr. Broomes was to be transferred to Parkinson Secondary and the Parkinson Principal transferred to Alexandra.

38. Broomes boy, my grandmother say the longest day has an end boy.We await the court injunction. Broomes gine fight this one. Let he go and fight in the Pine and get he f^cking head crack by them Parkinson bad boys.

We want Broomes for policeman of the Pine. LOLOLOLOL. tek dat

39. I am sure that if it is true that 22 teachers are being transferred that this is not the outcome they envisioned.

So much for wanting to bring down Jeff Broomes!

40. What about the vaunted belief for the last several years that certain headmasters, Broomes included, could NOT be transferred?

Perhaps we are about to see this matter tested in Court.

41. Looka how the DLP gine lose the government easy so!

42. E2; I am wondering if you are thinking the same way I am.
    Freundel Stuart had the option early on in this matter of sitting down with his Minister of Education, discussing the matter and arriving at a conclusion to transfer Mr. Broomes. Instead, he chose to embarass his Minister, take up the BSTU’s firerage and institute an expensive COI which as Caswell told them rubber teeth only.

If the report above is true of this Stage X of the matter, it is a huge continuing show of the quality of decisions made by FS.

The result (as reported above) could not be worse for the image of the PM.

But perhaps this is just a testing of the waters. Surely the wise heads in the DLP as a party would not allow this non-decision and ridiculous action be taken on the cusp of an election.

This looks like FS going it alone again.

I think that FS would have disqualified himself from leadership of the DLP if he has sanctioned this denouement and its timing.

43. This probably ties in with what I heard from an education official at a Christmas do. The person said they in the ministry expected the teachers to strike as no one in the ministry was touching this AX matter.

The officials in the ministry feel betrayed by the PM. They felt they were embarrassed when testifying and that since Freundel had taken the matter out of their hands, he could not just toss in back in their laps.

So who acted? Is it Freundel under advice from the worst education minister we ever had?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Checkit-Out | December 28, 2012 at 5:07 PM |
    “Instead, he chose to embarass his Minister, take up the BSTUโ€™s firerage and institute an expensive COI which as Caswell told them rubber teeth only.”

You really think that this was a naive faux pas by FS? Think again, mate! This move was a deliberate act to feather the financial bed of some of his cronies from the legal brotherhood. The lawyers chosen for the CoI are either workmates from FSโ€™s early teaching days at Princess Margaret or his practising colleagues in the profession of subterfuge.

Check and see that each and every lawyer employed by the CoI is a pal of FS. What a brotherhood there is. Even miniature Michael is in the game with Hal as in the CLICO/LP nexus.

45. @Anon

sesible people like you and I know that the bank was profitable when govt started to divest itself. It was foolhardy not to have a national bank and a national insurance company, with that control, the banks and the insurance companies licking corp. It was the socalles economic guru who has never contributed to any economic journal that got rid of our silver. May he remain in the wilderness with his economics.

46. @Prodigal Son

Didn’t the PM state in his last public utterance on this matter that the Waterman Report had triggered certain actions and that other departments of government would have to respond? In other words – if we understand him correctly – he has washed his hands of the matter as far as post-COI activity is concerned.

47. @david 5:43
    Agreed.
    Regarding transfer, that was ALWAYS an option. Caswell put it well when he sad new laws render old appointment conditions null and void. In the case of a transfer the only “recourse” is to argue the validity of that appointment letter, which would have to be tested in a court of law…gee, I think we said this exact same thing a full year ago. Lol.

What will be interesting, is the mix of staff to be transferred….is greaves in there? The deputy? Other BSTU people? The x-factor isn’t Freundel nor Jeff…it’s actually the instigators of the strike in the first place…as well as the people who’ll be transferred into Alexandra……I’ll be listening with bated breath ๐Ÿ™‚

48. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The Revolution is nigh
    Peaceful or not we decide
    Take Warning !

49. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

i think many of u are really being naive and short sighted here. the earlier article mentioned the transfer of mr broomes as well as the discipline of some teachers. now this other article mentioned that Broomes will be transferred but as usual with bajans they ignored the fact that it also mentioned that other teachers will also be transferred…so even if alexandra loses mr broomes, thank God those menopausal people who assumed the school was theirs, will also be transferred too . so no one can claim that the teachers got what they wanted without noting also that mr broomes got what he wanted

(i am back but not for long)