Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Taxation, not surprisingly is a very controversial subject and while most people accept and understand the need for Government(s) to raise taxes, they also reasonably expect that collection and subsequent spending of them is equitable.

The revelation that American based Starbucks Coffee retailer, globally the second largest restaurant or cafe chain (after McDonald’s) had paid less than 1 per cent in corporation tax, despite generating US$4.5 billion of revenue from over 700 United Kingdom branches during a 14 year period, shocked many.  Over the last three years, Starbucks has reported no profit, and paid no income tax, on sales of US$1.8 billion in the United Kingdom. Apparently, the company has broken no laws, only making every possible use of existing tax legislation.

But you don’t have to travel 4,000 miles across the ‘pond’ to find similar examples, they exist right on our doorstep. Carnival Corporation, the world’s largest cruise operator with its 12 dominating brands, is a classic case in point. Despite declaring a profit of US$11.3 billion during the last five years, Carnival paid no US Federal taxes at all last year, even though, in essence it is headquartered in the United States.

In fact over that same five year period, while using the services of twenty Federal agencies such as the Coast Guard and Customs, it paid an average of 1.1 per cent in federal, state, local and foreign taxes. For a hotelier or other land based tourism business, that must seem like an unattainable dream become true.

Even if you chose to ignore all the one-sided advantages the cruise ship companies have, then you cannot escape the ultimate commercial option. If the going gets tough, they just move the ships to where they can extract higher revenues and profits. The shipping companies will argue they pay lots of other taxes, but do they in reality?

While in many cases port fees are now included in the purchase price, but the operator merely acts an intermediary collecting them from the customer. Certainly with any Carnival group product it clearly states, but not government taxes which are an added extra, payable again by the cruiser. You also have to ask the question, what taxes are paid on the items consumed by the passengers, like food and beverages. Absolutely none, I suspect.

Do they pay the majority of their staff National Insurance contributions or any portion of any applicable personal income tax? I am also pretty certain any form of land tax doesn’t enter into the equation.

Then look at pay and working conditions. I cannot imagine any reputable trade union, either in the USA or Caribbean allowing the commonplace practices that crew onboard have to endure on many of the ships, to be tolerated here on land. Of course, they largely depend on nationals from poor and developing countries, like the Philippines, where an agricultural worker may earn as little as US$4 a day. The very low wages paid are the norm, hugely enhanced by gratuities, again, in the overwhelming number of cases, by the passenger.

This week is one of the busiest of the year for Bridgetown Port, with their website indicating some 22 ships arriving and departing. Boxing Day alone could welcome up to 9,000 passengers based on the individual ships capacity. Hopefully, some taxes will be left here on Barbados while visiting our attractions, activities restaurants and shopping. This may in some way, help sustain our disadvantaged land-based tourism players who unlike Carnival Corporation, already pay lots of taxes.

1. Can you imagine this guy (with 40 years Bajan experience) replacing the Jack Ass with an MBA as chairman of the BTA …? Think about it for a second … No right minded person should have to think about such things

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Oh boy, here you go again.

I nominate ADRIAN LOVERIDGE for PRESIDENT of Barbados.

We are so lucky to have you here among us.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge:
    “This week is one of the busiest of the year for Bridgetown Port, with their website indicating some 22 ships arriving and departing. Boxing Day alone could welcome up to 9,000 passengers based on the individual ships capacity. Hopefully, some taxes will be left here on Barbados while visiting our attractions, activities restaurants and shopping.”

Could you please send (with the help of David BU) an SOS message to the Sanitation Authorities to remove the garbage from the streets of Bridgetown as a result of the Xmas shopping?
    Why are we making Barbados and in particular “Heritage Bridgetown’ look so bad in the eyes of the visitors. What kind of impression are we conveying if the streets and alleys of our capital are full of garbage and litter both solid and liquid?

A clean up on Xmas eve would save us some unneeded criticism as a dirty place to visit even if overtime has to be paid to the workers.

4. The submission is timely given it was reported that they were 11,000 cruise ship passengers in port yesterday.

5. Clear and to the point Adrian. Would be nice to quantify revenue lost or potential revenue gained.

Was also interesting that some persons are trying to lump “pass through” air to sea (and vice versa) passengers as concrete arrivals. What was that they said about statistics half of the time again?

Observing

6. Myself and a couple of doo-gooders have donated our time to assist in cleanup along the highways and byways. miller wouldyou like to assist.talk is cheap it does nobody any good. in addition i see an all out effor by govt in placing extra colorful garbage bins on the streets of downtown . miller when are you going to do your part instead of holleruing maybe you can ask the RTHON to help out .

7. @Miller

The country has a problem with waste, garbage, environmental maters etc. It is not only about cleaning but more about how do we inculcate in our people the need to be sensitive to respecting the environment. A behavioural change is required. Yes we have laws which are not enforced all will admit but these matters must be managed in a more holistic way. The suggestion by ac can be classified a band-aid.

8. Bandaid maybe but it beats all the long talk and an overall attempt by miller to embarass the govt. band-aid maybe with action in an attempt to lead by example hopefully others would follow including you david. acountry success is dependt on the whole not part and not always waiting for govt to do everything and this epedmic in barbados where all and sundry big and little always waiting and expecting govt to pull the load while they sit in the backseat doing absolutely nothing but complaining.

9. @ac

To repeat, we are looking at a holistic solution which does not negate citizen responsibility. i.e. there is a dead dog dumped on the highway? There is a fridge or washing machine dumped in Waterford’s bottom. The problem must be approached in a systematic way, not simplistic.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | December 24, 2012 at 8:32 AM |

You are behaving as if the miller is on some one-man band mission to embarrass the government for not cleaning up the place and enforcing the laws. Why do you think people pay property taxes and environmental levies?
    Aren’t Colonel Buggy, island gal and Hants calling for the same thing?
    Why not attack them too?

The miller is concerned because of what he sees and hears from visitors to the Island. Why are we spending so much of our national budget is education if a simple civic responsibility like keeping our country clean can’t be inculcated in the people?
    The miller is a partially crippled but is willing to participate in any clean up drive if Patrick Todd the MP for the City and the other MPs are prepared to remove their collar & tie and fancy business suits and go on a clean-up outing.
    So ac let me hear you make a call to all in the talk House including those in the Senate instead of just “fingering” your bugbear OSA.

11. So miller we all know what is your agenda. stop being a hypocrite. an uneducated public over the past 14 years about the environment versus quality is in apart to blame for all the ilklegal dumping and garbage around the city. now you come to lecture people and govt give me a break how about doing your part all of what one see is systematic of over the years the past govt didn,t have a plan or pay much attention to enviromental issues.now you expect the currant govt to solve these problems overnight.

12. And yes/david there must be a systematic plan.one which present govt is tackling. the enviriomental issue has been talk about for a long period it is evedient showing from the illegal dumping that an effort to educated the public was not executed well by past govt and as a result we have a public who doesn,t give any thought to such issue since to them it does not affect them personnally compunded by a lack of understanding.

13. The BSS has recently posted NOVEMBER long stay visitor arrival figures on its website (P):

USA – DOWN 14 per ecnt
    Canada – DOWN 11.3 per cent
    UK – DOWN 18.7 per cent
    Trinidad and Tobago – DOWN 28.9 per cent
    Other Caricom – DOWN 25.4 per cent
    Other Countries- DOWN 28.5 per cent
    Germany- UP 16 per cent (153 more)
    Other Europe- DOWN 9.5 per cent

Overall – DOWN 17.3 per cent

When compared with November 2011.

14. drian

You need to give comparative numbers for the region for us to make some more sense of it.

15. @david.

Agreed

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

To give those numbers I would have to have had them from the various tourism reporting agencies around the Caribbean and in most cases that depends on when they report and when the CTO puts the figures of their website.

Sadly I do not have that sort of influence.

I do have to remind you though that unless a ten month trend has been dramatically changed for November , then all the CTO reporting countries (apart from Montserrat) have so far reported better performance than Barbados for 2012.

17. @Adrian

Of the CTO reporting countries which can be considered our peer group? ie. Market mix UK40%,US25%,CAN15%,other

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN, ADRIAN, ADRIAN

A one eye man is king in blind man land.

Let me see if you can tell who is the one eye man?

19. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

David, I really don’t think its as simple as that. We have lost market share in EVERY listed market during November with the exception of Germany.
    Who do we (Barbados) compare ourselves with across all markets?

20. I wish the bta instead of putting a big ad in the advocate wishing everyone happy holidays they had used the money to put an ad in one of my local papers promoting the island.( their job actually)

21. @Adrian

Understand your point that across the region seem to be trending in a direction different to Barbados and we are playing in the same market. What we are trying to pinpoint is which regional markets have a heavy UK focus to make a better comparativeA 5 per cent rise in 2012 across the region.

Barbados a 6 to 9 per cent fall.

http://www.plenglish.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=828701&Itemid=1

22. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

lawson,
    or something. I was just looking at the virtual postcard part of the Isles de la Madeleine (Quebec) tourism website and a clever use of images, which probably costs next to nothing.

http://www.tourismeilesdelamadeleine.com/magdalen-islands/atrim-ang-753-virtual-postcards.cfm

23. ac | December 24, 2012 at 8:32 AM |
    miller when are you going to do your part instead of holleruing maybe you can ask the RTHON to help out
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    Readyyyyyyy!!! Take aim. Watch and shoot the messenger

24. @ac .And how would you suggest a way of education the public on the question of illegal dumping. Back in the ‘good ole days’,when we had ‘igrunt” people running things,the local public health inspector used to visit regularly schools and give lectures on sanitation. Many headteachers, at that time believed that the hands- on method was the best form of educating his charges on keeping the surroundings clean and tidy. Each form was allocated a particular area of the school grounds to maintain each morning. This simple exercise,like many of the other “stupid things” we were put through, followed most of us throughout our lives. We do not have to wait until Christmas to clean up around us , or when someone is visiting our home . But today, dare a school head to ask a student to contribute towards keeping the school property clean. And you dare ask the Miller to put his hands to the plough and help in a clean up campaign. The mantra by many, is that the SSA are paid to clean up after us and if these same individuals do not litter then some of the SSA employees would be out of work. Of course when these same individuals visit Noo York, London or Toronto,they comply immediately.
    We need to prosecute all those who litter,and especially those who used vehicle to dump piles of garbage in cart roads, and infrequently used back roads. Do not fine them or jail them. Give individuals community service attach to the SSA. For drivers of trucks, seized the vehicles and turn them and the driver over to the SSA to do community service as well,for a specific period.
    It seems to me, in spite of the festering and unsightly garbage in Bridgetown and all over the island in general, many Bajans still take offence when the island is described as dirty.
    When visitors come to Barbados and return home they are not going to report that Barbados is an unclean place, except for village A, and Terrace B. Or that Bajans are a dirty people ,except of Mike, Andrea or Philip. We will all be lumped together, period.

25. We have a problem with the stinking dirty members of the public who see nothing wrong with throwing out litter on the roads. The SSA has problems with the collection of garbage. Barbados has a dirty image problem. WHY can’t each person who live in Barbados practice cleaning up their country. Today I cut the grass in between the rain, many of our highways are in a deplorable state. Grass covering the verges, bush growing taller than the signs and litter along the road sides. The only time we see some action is when some member of the Royal family coming to visit. AC stop trying to blow your own trumpet. If everyone attempt to keep their surroundings clean Barbados will be a cleaner and better place . If the SSA will fix their trucks and have a reliable schedule Barbados will be a cleaner place. Bunch of nasty people we have.

26. @Colonel

We are products of society. If in the home u cant socailse the kids to be responsible, what do u expect. We want the state to do every thing for us. including weeding in front of our houses, i mean the portion by the road side.

we are just producing a lot of savages and the school system has failed us. And the thing that anger me is that some of the socalled educated people are involved in such dastardly behaviour. No amount of legislation will have and impact, public shaming will help to some extent. We have developed, but a pig in lipstick is still a pig.

27. @Adrian

I dont know what your point of posting this article, but I must point out to you we have bo control over which cruise liners use flags of convenience and what wages they pay. Thus we can only concentrate on collecting the cost of using our facillities, developed with taxpayers’ money.

I am not aware that we give the cruise liners any concessons like what the land based tourism sector receive. The registration of cruise liners is synonymouse to those industries which have been given a number of concessions and when their tax break status ends they uproot and go to cheaper sestinataions. Such is the nature of capitalism.

Land based tourism operators need to invest in marketing their products and come up with creative ways of mareketing their products. They want govt to do everything for them, in addition to the massive assistance their receive.

You need to recognize that it will not be business as ususal, as like u said the cruise liners look to places for cheap kabout, so too are the tourists who are looking for chepaer destinations. The hoterliers need to refresh their brand instead of stop playing politics. the largesse is no longer available, and threats by the industry, by then Jordan and now Das will not work.

The mature toursim market is taking a beating, we can become cheaper to the tourist, but would you like us to be like jamaica where the wages are so depressed because of the constant floating devaluation of their dollar that they have to husle to survive. Only two weeks ago, I was speaking to some one who works with wayward children and the pay is 45 000 a month when converted to Barbados dollars at the time about 1000 dollars monthly and maids in govt receive twice that amount.

28. If the Queen of England was visiting.
    If the President of the USA was visiting.

Garbage pick up and street cleaning is the job of the SSA. If they are overwhelmed and understaffed sub contract the cleaning of Bridgetown to a private company.

I remain a DLP supporter who lives in a clean city in Canada and would like to encourage my Canadian acquaintances and colleagues to visit a clean safe Island.

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

To the Point,

‘I am not aware that we give the cruise liners any concessions’

You may not be aware but are you forgetting the two 3 year agreements where the BTA gave $1.2 million each time to Carnival to ‘guarantee’ 400,000 cruise passengers each year. Are you also not aware of the BDS$30 million loan, plus interest, plus arrangement fees to charter Carnival Destiny for CWC2007 while many of our hotels stood nearly empty. What the former Minister of Tourism described our finest hour resulted in generating a net gain of just 44 long stay visitors for the first 4 months of 2007 after spending hundreds of millions of dollars on the event.

http://www.broadstreetjournalbarbados.com/opinion/2007-05-07/was-this-really-our-finest-hour

30. @Adrian

I am aware of the corrupt prastice with cwc, i was not aware of the other action, but u seemed to have conveniently missed my point, and that is the hotel sector continues to receive massive assitance from government directly and indirectly
    It is time the sector stop being so mendicant and look at ways of having an integrated approach to development, like stop serving foreign products and give the jobs to local chefs and encourage them to use local produce and products., amomg oher things.

31. To the Point,

I one thousand per cent agree with you regarding local products and local talent and its something that we have practised for the near 25 years owning and operating P&Q. We have in fact gone way past that with hiring local musicians up top three times a week and many other examples of putting money back into the LOCAL economy.
    You mention all the various Government subsidies and hand-out hoteliers get, well I can say without ANY hesitation WE have NEVER received a single cent from any Government,. In fact, currently this Government is putting our survival in jeopardy by owing up nearly $30,000 , with a substantial proportion outstanding and unpaid for over TWO YEARS.
    Payment of that $30,000 due would have given the option to stay open for another two months and employ 11 people.

Contrast that with just two of our local hotels that were given nearly $3 million in TIRF taxpayers monies (that we help generate) and that months later closed down and put over 600 people on the breadline. Another constant critic of my views on this website who holds a senior position in another hotel, BEGGED and received another almost $1 million of TIRF (taxpayers) monies but has the audacity to criticise our achievements.

We must also try and understand around 30 plus per cent of our hotels (around 50 in number) and a far higher percentage of our other REGISTERED accommodation providers are NOT members of the BHTA and therefore are not even eligible for ANY Government assistance.

32. corrections:

1) owing US nearly $30,000 in unpaid VAT refunds………
    2) hiring local musicians for up to three times a week………….
    3) You must also try and understand……….

33. Adrian you just reinforced To The Point’s statement that “the hotel sector continues to receive massive assitance from government directly and indirectly.”

It does not matter that you don’t take hand outs from Government but others in the Industry do.

I believe the sector needs Government support but Hoteliers need to help themselves too.

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Hants,

I agree. Hoteliers do need to help themselves too.
    And many (probably the majority) do but don’t assume that all of us are getting handouts. It’s usually the chosen few and it is time their real net contribution was measured for all to see.

35. @Adrian

Dont get we wrong, i am no attacking you personally, i have always been impressed with how you manage your hotel. I am quite aware that u r very interested in the hotel industy, i dont want to see my tax payer money wasted by some these vagabonds masquarading as hotelies and sucking the taxpayers, driving about in fancy cars and adding little value added to the econmony and then hoding the government to ransom.

I have a serious problem with people like the Das woman trying to pressure the govt. The hoteliers need to get up off their bottoms and work. Those hotels that dont belong to bhta need to get together as a group and lobby their cause.

I thinks that any concessiosng given to the hotel industry should be measured against bench marks, for example, you have to provide evidence that you are purchsaing x percent of local furniture, produce and empoying local chefs, among other things, Govt should not be giving grants to the hotel but providing soft loans which should be considered as a secure loan and ranked in the case of liquidation.

36. mr sealy minister, let me ask u ah foolish question are u really aware bout de tourism club that was created by ah young man cant remm his name think he from eden lodge y u never invited he or one of them to sit pound de tourism advisory council. do u no this boy did nuff wuk on community tourism and created a the tourism club, u must do ur research, or ask dr hall, or may hinds,,,,, any to all of my bu fan merry xmas, this old can eat to much ham, cause de dr ask ma to watch my size,

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Here is some news which will give ADRIAN LOVERIDGE heartburn

WINTER HIGH

………Sharon Hugh-White, general manager of the Bougainvillea Beach Resot, said they were experiencing a full house for the Christmas and New Year’s periods.

In fact, Hugh-White said while they had “an incredibly good” winter season last year, they were so full this year they had to REFUSE SOME RESERVATIONS.

“We were sold out” she said yesterday.

Well, I guess she didnt check with ADRIAN before she made her statements, he would have told her how she was.

There is more………..

38. I would like to add my two cents to this very sensitive discussion. Now, as far as illegal dumping is concern, there are many ways I believe, to
    heighten the public awareness with respect to the detriment of the environment. And illegal dumping is one such issue.

I do agree however, that the task to sensitize the collective conscience of the public; to the problem of illegal dumping is going to obviously take some time and effort on the government part.

Nevertheless, if the problem is such that it impacts the daily existence of the public, then obviously the public is going to take notice. Nonetheless, in the era of health awareness, the public is more acutely focus on the kind of issues that will impacts environment in a detrimental way. So therefore, this is the angle the government must take in order to heighten public awareness to this issue. With that being said, we all know that irrespective of the laws which govern such behavior, that the problem will continues.

Finally, Colonial you have obviously taken a negative position with respect to this issue. And a defeatist attitude is the wrong approach to mobilize an ill-informed public to the reality of illegal dumping. Mahatma Gandhi once said that, “If you want to see true change, you have to be the change you want to see.” Change has to start with you and me my friend, and more importantly, with the posterity of the country.

39. @Carson
    “One swallow does not a summer make”. If hotels were not full at Christmas, it really would be a disaster. The statistics tell it all, and even up until last Friday, some retailers were telling me they “ain’t seen Christmas yet”. You keep living in cloud cuckoo land, Carson. I know it hurts, but Adrian’s got it right, and unfortunately, you know it.

40. @ Adrian

Dont let the racist Carson Cadagon phase you or stop you.
    Keep doing what you are doing by informing us about what you know.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Peltdownman

read my earlier comment,

“ADRIAN, ADRIAN, ADRIAN

A one eye man is king in blind man land.

Let me see if you can tell who is the one eye man?”

That says it all!

……

42. @Carson
    We all know how “accurate” the Nation is with its headlines and how “balanced” you are as a blogger so I’ll pull a few quotes from the same article for ya.

Divi Southwinds – “occupancy close to 80%, pretty close to last year
    Accra – about the same
    Intimate hotels – bookings not as strong as previous years.

While Bougainvillea and Sandy Lane balance it out so that we do not have a “low”….all things considered…would you say we have a “high”??

and based on our economic/fiscal position, will “average” or “about the same as last year” be good enough for Messrs Worrell, Sinckler and Sealy?

oh, just a reminder from Moody’s ”

“tourism expenditures continued to decline to just 80% of 2007 levels”

Just observing

43. @Observing(…) | December 26, 2012 at 2:34 PM |

The big players Hilton and the Crane bursting at the seams but that wouldnt fit into Loveridge and your Xmas wish for Barbados tourist industry to implode.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Observing(…) | December 26, 2012 at 2:34 PM

I feel sorry for you and Adrian and the Barbados Labour Party.

Much to your chagrin we have an economy that just refuses to collapse. You all were predicting its demise since Jan. 2008.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observing

“oh, just a reminder from Moody’s ”

The White man say so, so it has to be so.

The black man dont know what he is saying.

why do some like you hate your own colour so?

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I visited the Seabreeze Hotel the other day. The place full of Tourists and yet more were checking in on a regular basis. The poor Bellmen were tired.

I had to say to myself that the Seabreeze Hotel cant be in Barbados, because Adrian Loveridge say that things real brown in the Hotel Industry.

47. @carson and investigaor
    Don’t shoot the messenger. Deal with the facts 🙂

Btw, if only you knew what my wishes were. Lol. You might actually start writing things that made sense to most and not a few 🙂

Let’s chat again after the report in January!!

Observing

48. @carson
    Hilton + crane + seabreeze – Almond et. al = ???

Btw, which Black man disputed the rationale for Moody’s downgrade??

Remember the quote. “I am not surprised”

Which Black man said and showed that tourists are spending the same and/or more to dispute the White man’s claims??

I’m all ears whenever ya ready!

Just observing

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observing

you and the other Barbados Labour Party doom and gloomers have a real job on your hands.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Nothing will stop you from occupying the Oppostion benches for another five years.

Not even ADRIAN LOVERIDGE who your BLP said “was not indigenous enough to speak on tourism matters” will save you.