Submitted by Adrian Loveridge

‘He (Geoffrey Roach, CEO of the Bridgetown Cruise Terminal) reported cruise ship passengers arrivals to be 760,000 for the last financial year, and projected a six percent growth in the next financial year’.

‘But he said passengers were spending less, as evidenced in a recent Florida Caribbean Cruise Association study which put the average spend per cruise passenger in Barbados at US$69, down from US$111 in 2006.’

So despite the declared increases in cruise ship passenger arrivals, actual per capita spending is down by a staggering 38% or US$30 million for the last ‘financial year’.

I wonder if this US$30 million figure was factored in to the $100 million loss in tourism revenue recently quoted the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association?

So what measures to redress this situation have been put in place?

What investment has been made by the Barbados Tourism Authority and who is monitoring its cost-effectiveness?

35 responses to “Cruise Arrivals Up, Revenue Down”

1. Barbados needs attractions that the cruise ships cannot offer…hmm… got one, an all day Strip Club, one for men and the other for women…! We can be the Sin City of the Caribbean..lol

2. election of DLP always bring some hardships-why ?

so sad very sad !

3. The world is still in recession.

Barbados Tourism will continue to suffer until the recession ends.

North Americans are cutting back on personal spending even when they travel.

Next year is looking better.

4. By the government’s own admission when we were discussion the stats around the immigration mess there is not a good culture of statistical analysis by many government departments. The ease with which Barney Lynch was able to shout statistics at Barbados and NOT be challenged by the media et al as to their veracity is proof. Recently it was highlighted on BU that 901 thousand plus was listed in the newspaper as unused by a government by a local bank. Recently the minister of health lamented that there was over 5 million in an account unused for several years. If the accounting and analysis in government was up to scratch such significant errors would not be so routine.

5. Barbados must realise , tourists are mainly average people too with cash constraints, therefore a cut back in spending is expected in a recession. However, a few innovative way should be found to squeeze a few more dollars out of their pockets.

6. Dry Land Tourist Avatar

Have any of you ever checked the prices tourist are asked to pay?

Visit any of the restaurants, shops or bars that cater to tourist and then tell me if they are getting value for money?

What makes a bottle of beer sold in a (tourist) bar different from the one sold at the rum shop, service and ambience?

No wonder spending is down.

Is the same thing occurring in other regional destinations.

7. Dry Land Tourist Avatar

Moderation for what?

Gi me ah break do!

8. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

I recognise that we want to spring excuses where none exist. If truth be told, Barbados has always been a high end destination, so those comments about prices on beer are more our speculation than reality. Maybe, just maybe, the very Barney Lynch that David suggests was throwing figures at us over the counter, we should ask him what made tourism appear more attractive and workable. It is obvious Sealy is out to sea, and for the past two years.
    Stop looking at regional destinations as if we are on all fours. What are our niche markets?

9. This point about niche player we have never understood and do you agree we need to improve our analysis?

10. Dry Land Tourist Avatar

Niche markets?

What does this high end destination have to offer tourist, that they cannot get for less, throughout the region?

If you insist on maintaining the high end (read expensive) tag, then Tourism players have to believe in the Bajan brand and market that.

It makes no sense, to me at least, to attract tourist who can afford to spend and then take the majority of their money to import stuff for them. As much local products as possible should be utilised in the industry and players that offer a totally Bajan experience should be encouraged and assisted by the powers that be.

Until we can keep most of the money that tourist spend here, Barbados having a Tourism Industry is nothing but an illusion.

11. DLT
    I am with you completely

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/emma-forbes-sir-philip-green-simon-cowell-chloe_green_and-company-make-barbados-home-for-the-holidays/#comment-130585

But here is where we may part as friends, I BAFBFP, believe that for ALL workers in the tourism industry, except the Property Owners and their carriers of secrets the Financial Controllers, service IS servitude…!

12. Off topic

Over at Barbados Free Press there is a video showing some students of St Leonard School being beaten unmercifully by a male teacher.

I have a son 17 years of age and if I had to see my son being brutalized the way I saw those students being brutalized by that wretch for a teacher,I would had being charged for assaulting a teacher.

David,I do not know if you would consider the contents of that video news worthy, but I think maybe you should take a look at the video and consider if it is worthy of discussion on this blog.

I think the brutality our children is expose to on a daily basis from some of the wretches we have as teachers & principals in our school system needs to be exposed.

The days of brutalizing Black People should long be eradicated from our society. Unfortunately that is one aspect from the legacy of slavery that is still very present & real in Barbados today.

Brutality against fellow human being especially children should be a definite no in any modern society.

13. Negroman

Wait, dah blog still runnin’? And wah you doin’ cross dey…? Dat fah White people like Living in Ba’bados, you d’in know dah..?

14. That video is newsworthy because it is showing the unmerciful brutal beating of two schoolboys by a teacher.

I know you fellows over here are not friends of BFP but this story is important.

I watched it once and will not watch it again.I am really angered by what I saw.

I hope and pray that those boys are not related to me.

15. Had a look at the video and at this point it is difficult to determine its veracity.

16. Thanks David
    I watch the video three times and is not convince that this is in a school setting in Barbados. There is a comment in the background saying he could not be his father. Maybe it is the boys father. Making a video like these is very easy. Which teacher will be flogging students like that and have boys with cell phones filming as seen in the video Please let us verify first before it is taken as gospel.

17. @ Negroman

We dont fraternize with the enemy. They gave this blog and its family Hell o’ hell and then cut the links. If that was not enough, they had the gall to slander one of the BU family.

No, Siree, we dont go there.

@ Hants

Ditto.

18. @ Pat,

you don’t have to fraternize.

You can use that blog for information and only comment in the manner prescribed by them.

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. ha!

I have chosen to comment on any blog until I get banned.

19. @ David,

I understand you reluctance to “jump in” but I am disgusted by any depiction,
    real or fake, of children being burtalised by an adult.

I would be pleased if it is proven to be a fake.

20. spell check…brutalised

21. Even if this video is authentic, to think that that fat ass would seek publicity for his web-site by publishing it on Utube. This ain’ ’bout brutality nah more, this is about hangin’ out dirty laundry that would affect the image of the country so as to extract some personal gain…! How desperate can one become…?

22. Does anyone know if the video is confirmed as legit by the websites which published? The video BU understands has been knocking around Facebook, within the walls of the social networking site is one thing but to publish on the wider Internet we hope all concern would have confirm its veracity, the reputation of a school and its teachers is at stake.

23. BAFBFP

I got news for you, we are on the cusp of 2010 and there is no more hiding of dirty laundry anymore. If Barbados and Bajans can take pride in the plaudits that are heaped on the country, they must be prepared for the occasional barb that is directed towards it. Some of us take delight in shooting the messenger rather than listening to the message. My spidey sense tells me that this video is authentic and the question we should be asking is “what the hell is going on here?”If Bajans continue to stick their heads in the sand they shouldn’t be surprised when they get a swift kick in their backsides

24. BAFBFP // December 24, 2009 at 8:38 PM

Even if this video is authentic, to think that that fat ass would seek publicity for his web-site by publishing it on Utube.

So BAFBFP, I dont visit the other place that “should not be named”, so tell me, who is the ‘fat-ass’, etc., etc?

25. I would like to wish eveyone a Safe, Peaceful, Happy and Positive Christmas and an even more wonderful 2010.

God Bless you all, the Prime Minister, the Govenor General, the Opposition, the clergy and all those that offer to serve their country in one way or the other, may gods blessing be shed upon you all, that even is meant to include the Paro in a Suit Greenidge.

26. Pat
    Even though Barbados Free Press lambasted Barbados Underground and even had as one of it’s topic the postings from many of BU commenters including Yours Truly,I am mature enough to visit that blog occasionally to read some of the discussions taken place there.I must admit some of the topics that are discuss at Barbados Free Press are indeed interested and are worthy of a read.However,I do not post any comments and will never post a comment at Barbados Free Press.

I agreed with Hants,the brutality of our children should never be entertained or supported.We tend to ignore these things until relatives of our are involved.

If that video can be authenticated,I believe the Police should be notified and criminal charges should be brought against that “teacher”

I shed some tears for those little boys that were brutally beaten by that monster.

27. @Sargeant

Are you saying that you know the video to be authentic?

28. Pat

I only hear that it was published. Awright awright I deserve that…! Good day to you too…!

29. Sargeant

The messenger is one fella dat deserve what you say that I delight in lemmetellya. My spidey sense also tells me that the video is authentic but the question I ask is “Why de fat ass chose to advertise his website along with the message?” Speaks to motive.

Now look Negroman is right of course, no corporal punishment period, in deference to our past, but there is a standard way for corporal punishment to be administered in Ba’bados and this clearly was not followed. To tell you the truth dah strap look like it was made ah clof ‘cause dem boys din feelin’ a sh#te…!

30. BACK ON TOPIC:

The reality is also that Barbados has to compete with a lot when it comes to cruising.

Other ports like St. Maarten, Antigua and Puerto Rico offer better shopping, amenities and activities and hence as “The Scout” said when people are budgeting whilst on board they may say “We’ll save Barbados for our ‘beach day’” where all they do is go to a beach and back to the ship for lunch/dinner.

31. When I was a boy I watched my friends being beaten by their mother and I cried.

At primary school black children were beaten with a strap that would produce welts.

Teachers always gave me a talking to but no licks. I believe it was because I was a “little brownskin boy with good hair”.

When will you black bajans stand up for your own. You should not continue to trivialise this video whether it is real or fake.

Don’t tell me about white children getting licks. I am sure it does not reach the level that we saw in the video.

We should use this video to try and change our acceptance of brutality meted out to our children.

32. I feel Negroman now workin’ BFP or de Fat Ars…!

33. I feel Negroman is intelligent enough to source his sources of information from multiple venue.

BU appears to have the best educated bloggers but there are pearls of wisdom emanating from other blogs.

34. Looks like there is a SALE on seats to the Caribbean including Barbados in one of the coldest winters in recent time, says alot.

Caribbean Airlines

Updated on: 12/26/2009

Currently CheapOair is offering sale on Caribbean Airlines reservations for a limited time only, take advantage of these special offers by booking now.

Limited Seats, Book Caribbean Airlines Flights today!

Hurry, Book by December 29, 2009

Travel must be completed by March 31, 2010

** Fares are round trip, Fares incl. all fuel surcharges, ad valorem tax and our service fee. Excl. gov’t. taxes.

Sample Fare Deals for Caribbean Airline Flights

From To Sample Fares**

Fort Lauderdale
    Port of Spain

$292

Miami
    Port of Spain

$322

New York
    Port of Spain

$402

New York
    Bridgetown

$460

Fort Lauderdale
    Bridgetown

$480

New York
    Georgetown

$480

Toronto
    Georgetown

$491

Miami
    Georgetown

$500

Fort Lauderdale
    Georgetown

$500

New York
    Caracas

$750

Book Caribbean Airline Flights on CheapOair! Caribbean Airlines (BW) is the national airline of Trinidad and Tobago. With its main hub at the Piarco International Airport in Trinidad, the airline operates international services in the Caribbean and to the United States, United Kingdom, Canada and South America.

Caribbean Airlines In-Flight Amenities

A wealth of products and services are offered in Caribbean Airline. Whether you are traveling by economy or business class, the airlines ensure to make your flying experience a memorable one. Business travelers can get benefit of dedicated check-in; relax in business class lounge offering privacy and comfort. The airlines serve a wide variety of food from ethnic preferences to vegetarian, even hamburgers for the kids. Book Caribbean Airlines flights and save big on Caribbean Airline tickets with CheapOair!

Caribbean Airlines Web Check-In

Web Check-In is available on the airlines. Persons who wish to check-in between 4–24 hours before the scheduled departure can avail the services with ease.

35. Some cruise line are having hard times like carnival, not too many people booking..