Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In the case R. v. Sussex Justices, ex parte McCarthy I1924), Lord Chief Justice Hewart, in quashing the conviction, said: โ€œJustice should not only be done, but should manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done.โ€

On November 8, 2008, 16-year old Anna Druzhinina died a horrible death at the hands of Omar McCollin and Teereth Persaud, who received 16 and 21 years respectively for their crime.

I have heard this case discussed by several persons, all laymen, and all of them, like me; believe that this childโ€™s killers have gotten away with murder. As I understand it one will walk out of prison in 12 years and the other in 15 years and 9 months. That is a small price to pay for such a gruesome killing.

They were originally charged with murder but pleaded guilty to manslaughter. While I have the highest regard for both the judge and prosecutor, and personally believe that their integrity is beyond reproach: I am of the view that one or both of them should have recused themselves from taking part in the case. My belief has nothing to do with any wrongdoing or bias on the part of either the judge or the prosecutor, who accepted a plea and did not allow a jury to deliberate on the evidence in a murder trial. From the laymanโ€™s perspective, it has everything to do with the appearance that justice was not done in this case. One of the killers, the judge and prosecutor are all Guyanese. For that reason, and only that reason, there is an appearance that justice was not done in this case.

224 responses to “Murder or Manslaughter? Depends on Who is the Killer”

1. @Brutus
    What evidence was there in this case that was not gleaned from the statements of the accused? How likely would a conviction have been if they had not cooperated?
    Have you ever heard of circumstantial evidence? How about fingerprints? The accused didnโ€™t strike me as Mensa candidates in any event pitting one accused against the other is a common prosecution gambit, they are questioned separately and each is told that the other has fingered him for the crime.

2. Persaud left his muddy shoes under the balcony when he ran off. McCollin had the Jackson’s flashlight in his possession when they picked them up two days later. Both confessed to being there for robbery, for about 6 hours. They signed confessions. The question is not whether they were at the house or murdered Anna, but whether they had INTENT to murder her. I think hanging anyone shows pretty clear intent. “I didn’t mean to hang her” … now what could that possibly mean?

3. One has to wonder about the sanity of most Bajans. It is probably not polite at this Christmas season to be referring to whole nationalities as brassbowl idiots, so Bushie will use the word naive.

This common attitude typified by Observing of “life in the tropics” and by Sargeant of “we can’t change that” is naive. It is how we will lose our democracy…..and REAL soon.

How can such SERIOUS signs of national decay as seen for example recently in:
    -The AX affair
    -The tourist rape fiasco
    -The DEEDs travesty
    …and now this worse possible murder scenario….be dismissed by bloggers as ” life in the tropics?” Or “the LAW is the law?”

The REAL danger to our democracy comes from those of us who are naive enough to ask us to blindly trust our leaders, our officials and our Judges.
    Bushie says that we MUST EXPOSE, QUESTION, DIG INTO, and DISSECT every aspect of our national business.
    WHO DON’T LIKE IT CAN GO INTO PRIVATE PRACTICE.

If we don’t, we should all be prepared to be …..well sexually assaulted.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gabriel

Yes it is a fact that the GG and DPP worked together. However, the GG is not required to make any decisions. He is required to act on the advice of the Judicial $ Legal Service Commission if they decide that a tribunal to inquire into the conduct of the DPP. If the tribunal finds him guilty of misconduct and advises the GG to remove him, the GG must comply. The appearance of any conflict would not arise unless Justice Crane-Scott did not recuse herself from the meeting of the Judicial & legal Service Commission that would have advised the GG.

5. As i read this story i get more of a feeling that foresenics at the crime scence was not collected or improperly collected at the murder scence to give a clear and unreffutable evedience surrounding the crime .hence we have the legal grus using the law as a way of extracting evidence from the criminals for a lesser charge of the crime. so unfortunate

6. As a victim of an aggravated robbery myself, I find the removal of the felony murder rule has emboldened criminals to “take a chance”. When a criminal is beating you over the head with a piece of greenheart, he knows that he can hit you harder and more times to get his desired result. If you die as a result, then he will claim that he didn’t mean to kill you, just subdue you. Where is the borderline without the felony murder rule? What I am very uncomfortable with, is the fact that the DPP can second guess a jury as to whether a conviction can be obtained. This is not the first timw in recent history that this particular DPP has made such decisions, and it makes you wonder if it has someting to do with laziness, or the huge case load before the Courts. Either way, a uge miscarriage of justice has taken place.

7. BT
    Merry Xmas to you, I noticed that you didnโ€™t send the BU folk any greetings but yuh get up acid and attacking me an Observer, from his postings I get the impression that Observer wouldnโ€™t hurt a fly..

But wuh I do you dis morning? Wasnโ€™t Santa good to you? I donโ€™t know where you got the impression that in my opinion โ€œwe canโ€™t change thatโ€ but isnโ€™t โ€œthe Law the lawโ€? Bush I try to deal in reality not fantasy but the genie is out of the bottle and no matter what we try we canโ€™t get it back in again. I donโ€™t want to rehash my earlier posts but I did clearly indicate that a case could be made for a murder charge, I also said that the investigation was โ€œless than overwhelmingโ€ and that in some judicial settings Prosecutors could be dismissed for prosecutorial errors but it wasnโ€™t likely to happen in Bim.

Perhaps you could point out the areas where you disagreed with me and I will be able to give a more concrete response as it is could you send me some of what you are drinking.

8. @Caswell

you get an ipad for christmas, i aint get none, you could lend it to me? Merry xmas and healthy New Year.

9. Man Bushie I ain’t understanding you on this one….

On one hand you denounce the “trivial” because of BBE’s greater plan which renders almost all of what we do and fret about null and void. Yet, in this case you call us naive, which isn’t true because we (lemme speak fuh muhself at least) accept and agree that our society has become a cesspool (or perfume parlour depending on where you stand) of incestuous relationships and connections which strike heavy blows at the concept of justice, fairness and equality. Furthermore, some may argue that the democracy and freedom that you say we may lose by thinking like this,is nothing but a fallacy . But, this is human nature…our nature…and sadly our “culture” here in Bim.

No one (speaking fuh muhself again) is blindly trusting the authorities or believing they will always do right. Actually they have given us every reason NOT to trust them! On top of that, we’re not dismissive of the murder case. It is an absolute travesty that deserves attention and ventilating as a general issue which plagues us as a society. Thank God for David that we can at least even have this open and free discussion (or polite cussing). This is a step in the right direction and much further than we’ve ever been at any point in our history.

As to the specifics, Jeff laid it out his rationale pretty good. A man can be right (legally)…and wrong (morally or ethically) at the same time.

Perspective is important but balance is paramount.

Such is the nature of “The Way”

Jjust Observing

10. ‘I do not care to comment on the merits of this matter since the DPPโ€™s prosecutorial decision is largely discretionary [that is, whether he thinks a verdict of murder will be reached by the jury of laymen].
    But surely the ground offered by Caswell for any recusal is absurd. Does it apply also if they were all black; which they were? Or all graduates of a given University? Or all West Indian? When does it end?
    I am sure this is what Amused was referring to @4’

YES, WHILE I AGREE THAT MR FRANKLYN’S INTRODUCTION OF RACE INTO HIS COMMENT MIGHT SLANT HIS VIEWS SOMEWHAT; YOU OUGHT TO USE YOUR LEGAL EXPERTISE TO FORMULATE A DEFINITIVE OPINION AS TO WHETHER THE KILLERS AS MR FRANKLYN AND OTHERS SUGGEST GOT AWAY WITH MURDER RATHER THAN APPARENTLY SKIRTING AROUND THE ISSUE.
    I have heard this case discussed by several persons, all laymen, and all of them, like me; believe that this childโ€™s killers have gotten away with murder. As I understand it one will walk out of prison in 12 years and the other in 15 years and 9 months. That is a small price to pay for such a gruesome killing

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Observing(…) | December 26, 2012 at 10:44 AM |
    “Thank God for David that we can at least even have this open and free discussion (or polite cussing). This is a step in the right direction and much further than weโ€™ve ever been at any point in our history.”

Carl Moore the sniper assassin in the open will take umbrage to the above statement. How can we convince the old slave to the dying Fourth Estate that we are a serious bunch of warriors for justice and truth?
    Until we see FoI, and revised defamation legislation in this 2X3 country very few of us would be prepared to push our heads above the parapet.

12. @ Observing & Sargeant
    Bushie don’t do Xmas. ….Bah Humbug!…..another distraction from reality for the sheep…

..the problem that the bushman has is with the LACK of righteous outrage and INDIGNATION from you two – who Bushie respect so much.
    There are some situations which call, not for intellectual rationalization, but for “pissing indignation”…..
    …when we are confronted with a SERIES of such circumstances Bushie does not expect intellectual assessment and rationalizations, but emotional and righteous horror and outrage….

In more mature civilizations, citizens would gather in the streets and call for action from authorities….. WE…talk shoite (and Hants fires two drinks…)

– have you not noticed that is was two white ENGLISH WOMEN who stood up for the poor man who was set up for rape…?

– have you noticed that it is a white Englishman who is calling out the DPP over this clear travesty of justice….?

– does Amy L Beam sound like a typical Bajan to you?

These are obviously people who understand what a mature society is, and how to respond to shoite…. This SAME jobby has been happening to Bajans for YEARS now….and bright people like us here on BU have been intellectualizing it away – because we can’t dare question if three Guyanese would conspire – even unconsciously- to bend the rules for a fellow countryman….
    ….we cannot question the competence of a DPP who now has a long history of doing shoite….
    …we can’t question the honesty of a politician who takes a bribe…

Stupseeeee….
    Bushie vex because, while Rome burns, wunna talking a bunch of shoite….

13. @ balance,
    I imagine that your comment was directed at me, but you must understand that my so-called legal expertise is such that it cannot come up with a definitive legal opinion when I am not in possession of all the facts necessary to form that opinion.

In fact, to do so would demonstrate a distinct lack of legal expertise, although it would indicate a clear expression of emotive sentiment.

I am not here to second-guess the DPP. He made a judgment. It might not accord with what a majority on BU think, and it might have been wrong but, if it is, there are legal means of correcting it as I sought to show. You have already stated your view of the facts, why should mine matter?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | December 26, 2012 at 11:23 AM |

It seems you are firing on all cylinders with guns of justice and truth blazing all around.
    How unfortunate can it be that it requires “foreigners” from our former colonial master country to fight for justice and fair play in a fast becoming banana republic where there is a “burilifant’ of lawyers. What a sad reflection on our legal and justice system!

We await Sarge & Observing reaction to your outburst and call for justice and their spin to explain this sordid state of affairs.
    The DPP must resign or be fired immediately for this parody of errors and miscalculations.

15. Bushie …I am with you all the way. It had to take white people from outside to show up the shoddy justice system we have and no one in Barbados kept any noise about how shabby the system is. What have we become? I know, a bunch of greedy COWARDS always waiting with our hats in our hands looking for handouts! MENDICANTS!

16. @Bushie
    Rome done burn long time! We strolling around in ashes mistaking it for concrete. lol

“Bushie does not expect intellectual assessment and rationalizations, but emotional and righteous horror and outrageโ€ฆ.’

you ever see dis in Barbados?? on account of anything ??
    and lemme remind ya that my second post on this thread was

“the drop to manslaughter given the facts of the case and nature of the crime was ridiculous borderlining travestyโ€ฆ regardless of judge, jury, nationality or lawyer.”

David put it aptly. We are only now approaching the tipping point where people wake up and contemplate taking action. Action is the next step hopefully in months/years to come.

The DPP may have did jobbies as my nephew might say, but the only place people seem willing ta call the faeces shoite is here on BU and maybe the rum shop. Not the paper, not the radio, not Parliament, not the political platform, not the universities and colleges.

That is the problem!!

The voiceless need a voice. The minority need a say. Justice must be seen to be done. The people must be heard.

That is Democracy.

I’ve asked for months and I’ll ask again….Will the real leaders please stand up????

Just Observing

17. BT
    I beg to disagree with your point that there is a lack of outrage about this issue by some of us, if you want to spout righteous indignation at every ill in this society GP will soon be shaking his head and calling the Coroner and the rest of your family and friends will gather in some quiet setting to sing sad songs, โ€Abide with meโ€ comes to mind.

I am not nor will I be part of any Pitchfork Brigade imploring my fellow citizens to burn the place down because things are not going our way but I try to make my point quietly and effectively in the manner of others many of whom are much more articulate than I can ever hope to be.

I think that approach is working (despite what Carl Moore thinks) do you think that David Thompson would ever mention words like โ€œTransparency, Declaration of Assets or Freedom of Informationโ€ without the Blogs? (Thompson told me face to face โ€“ no he didnโ€™t know me from Adam- that he reads the Blogs). Do you think Freundel and Mia and others are unaware of what we are saying? Donville even pokes up his head from time to time to respond to something and God knows (or David) how many others post under nom de plumes. We are now on the cusp of having legislation passed addressing Declaration of Assets; Freedom of Information canโ€™t be far behind no matter what Govโ€™t is in power but we have to be ever vigilant that those in power having passed legislation donโ€™t try to circumvent the rules.

Some of us may see things different politically but we all have the welfare of the Nation at heart, speaking for myself I can find other things to do with my time other than comment on the blogs but I know that change is happening, it may not be as quickly as some of us hope but it is coming.

18. @Miller & Bush Tea
    Wunnah say dat wunnah donโ€™t celebrate Xmas but couldnโ€™t you spare a bit of โ€œChristianโ€ charity? OK in Millerโ€™s case omit Christian from the language but perhaps he would describe it as a โ€œSaturnalianโ€ bacchanal . I had to go back and read what I wrote and my first post spoke to โ€œpremeditationโ€ and wondered why a murder charge wasnโ€™t laid. Then I wrote about an underwhelming presentation of the facts by the Prosecutor. I also commented about Prosecutorial error and that some people have lost jobs because of this. In response to a bloggers suggestion that without the evidence from the accused there would be no case pointing out that the accused didnโ€™t strike me as โ€œMENSAโ€ material.

So I suppose wunnah problem is that I also wrote that I donโ€™t think there is any conspiracy between the Crown and the Judge because they and the accused shared the same country of origin. Is that the issue? If that is the issue Caswell surely has led you along the garden path just when I thought that you were men of the world but it looks like yuh canโ€™t see the forest for the trees.

19. as ajurist i believe that without hardened evidence mthe case might have ben hard to prove so aplea bargaining was necessary in order to get a confession. however one must be careful how one views this case taking everthing into account a case can only be won on good and airtight evidence and maybe the DPP did not have all the necesary factors to connect the dots to those involved in order to win. it appears to be more complicated than one expect.

20. @ac

If you read Amy Beam’s very clear and easy to folly account of several inconsistencies in the DPP’s prosecution of the case you would side with bloggers expressing outrage. It seems you love to take positions which are unnecessarily provocative.

21. John Jackson.
    Firstly I thank you all for your concerns and deliberations.Further for your wishes of increased health and courage in the future and for the future…
    Secondly I would ask you to bear with me as I try to precis around the last 16 years and my life on(sometimes but not long, off) Barbados.
    Sometimes I have to ask myself where did this matter startand more importantly where and HOW will it end?
    . I am a simple man, I do not require a lot to be Happy,I work hard ,I am Honest and approach life with 69 years hard won experience. As I am older I am not afraid of as much as I used to be afraid of,I value people and not possessions,I have no pretentions of being extraordinarly anything;,rich, famous, Inteligent.
    I pray for the courage to always be able to “Stand up and be counted” not to count my posssesions before I decide my obligations.
    I love people and try to have love and compassion for all humanity.
    I am a life long socialist and beleive in the rights of the common man and the greatest good for the greatest number.
    I do see in life that are very many people below me in wealth or inteligence Equally there at least as many above .Neither stations dismay or impress me, we are all equal in the sight of God.
    I came to Barbados around 32 years ago, but admit to living “sweet” and the years ran away,so an exact count is really guesing.
    I saw in this small island a wonderfull land of Opportunity .
    No not financial, but myriad opportunities, Freedom.Dont ever think that just because we are white we have never eaten “Shoite” or suffered humiliation and choked on both.
    But Barbados then, was where you just BREATHED in Freedom, self expression, common sense, individual values.
    Yes there was $ to be earned especially ,as a European , you had seen it all before and knew the way the ball was going to bounce.
    So after a few years of learning how to “Go wid flow” I was and enjoying every second. I was in Heaven, I loved this rock ,I was human in a human environment,everything was scaled to people not pretense and arrogance.
    I met a very beautiful bajun girl, and we set up together, and as things were so sweet,life just rolled along and she got pregnant.
    Of course as my head was not yet entirely bajun,I still thought a little European. So I thought to myself.This child of mine needs to have DOORS OPENED for her(I ididnt know that it was a her then) or doors that SHE could open as she got older.
    So I re embarked for UK and my child was born there so as to be a British Citizen.
    After all was completed and we knew the child was good and healthy , we jumped on the first plane “Home”.
    Where we arrived gratefully and set up to live and love as a family. In holetown in first street.I had bought an old ramshakle house Cliff Cottage and spent soem months personally pulling it down and putting it back up as pretty as I could for those I loved.
    Now about here,fate moved in and life started a “rough patch”
    My Lady became very ill and lost weight rapidly.Of course I took her to doctors, QEH, anyplace that we thought could make her well again.
    But to me we were getting a runaround.Every few weeks we were given a different reason why my lady was not improving.
    Also around this time I reasoned that I needed to have securuty for us and them after I was gone, so I purchased a plantation on the east Coast.
    We moved in . It was a massive old place and just held up by sheer inertia and termite dung.Which I spent about 20 years and a lot of what money I had.renovating.
    Fate did as Fate does and moved me to where it wanted me to be.
    My lady became sicker and sicker and finally one Monday afternoon when she had been to the doctors at QEH,,I had come into the house from ploughing to get a bite and i saw her walking up the gap to the house and obviously crying very hard.
    I ran down to her and she could barely talk,thro her sobbing and tears.

22. I did finally calm her enough to ascertain ,what had her so offset.
    The doctors had told her she had 4 weeks to live. She had liver failure and THEY SAID ,there was not a treatment.
    When someone you care for tells you that ,life stands still for a minute.
    But then reality kicks at you and your brain whirrs like a broken spring clock.
    What ?How/Who?
    Questions just fly around in your head .Then you get angry.Why her? What did she do? In the end ,deflation ,misery a sense of destruction.
    How could this be ,We had been to every place its possible to go .How could they have missed it.
    They hadn’t, they knew.they just had waited and One black girl just was not worth what needed to be spent.
    This was my FIRST Introduction to the Dark side of paradise.
    How do I know they knew?
    I will explain in a moment.
    Of course as is my character,”I have to thrust my hand in the wound”
    I need to know and know all
    .WHY is there this INJUSTICE.
    I have found that is a very dangerous thing to ask in Barbados.
    If something stinks an is covered over,those that covered it take matters as VERY PERSONAL if the covers are “Pulled at”
    I got a stone wall.
    So I concentrated on the priority of not letting My Lady die..
    I telephoned some people I knew in UK Medically connected and posed the question of how or IF I can save her.
    Amazingly, the reply came back YES, there was and how was to have a liver transplant.BUT It was hugely exspensive and was only available thro/via government request from Barbados(who would then OF COURSE have to pay) the cost at the time when I enquired was 150,000ยฃ
    But as ,Fate moves again.my taking my lady to UK for the baby to be born had another extension.She had a MEDICAL record and registration there.
    I was advised IF I can get her to UK within two days, she can be seen and treated. This treament then was so speacialised that it was ONLY given on a real as needed basis.She being 23 and a mother of a young child was at the VERY TOP of the list.
    The same day I had tickets for the mother and child on BA to UK,I had to stay for a few more days to get things shut down and secured.

23. 3 rd page
    When my child and her mother arrived in UK,they went my house there and the next day to the doctors where i had already booked an appoinment
    The day after I arrived.
    When I met my Lady,as ill as she was she was angry and i mean angry.
    She said “those bastards KNEW I was dieing and left me to die”
    It transpired that as she walked into the doctors office ,the lady doctor said to her
    “Where have you been, you are extremely ill and have liver failure,we must get you to the Royal free Hospital in London.There is a specialist there who can treat you”
    The symptoms had been picked up on blood tests after she had the baby. But we anxious to get “home” had jumped on the plane to “paradise” so the Hospital calls and letter we never saw or heard .
    Thats when It dawned on us that she had been considered disposable in Barbados.
    I mean what young black bajun girl is worth 150,000ยฃ the cost of the operation.
    I knew then she was right and had been left to die. I mean after all in normal course events she would be dead and dead dont talk.
    The darker side of Barbados then really did come into focus..

I took her to The Royal Free Hospital where she saw the most eminent surgeon in Europe ,a Mr Burroughs I counted 14 doctors , specialists and nurses round her bed.
    Mr Burroughs and all of the team examined her took blood and Mr Boroughs took her hand and said to her that He was sorry but hse had left it so late,that he could not offer a choice.He said my dear you have to have the operation or you will die .
    Before he had really finished she stopped him and said” PLEASE let me live”
    Mr Burroughs called a nursing sister over and said get Miss ******N onto the active list and fit her with a receiver.
    He told her this receiver transmitter will get you wherever you are in the UK.
    When it buzzes answer it immediately as we have a new liver for you.
    The following Sunday it went off at around 4 in the afternoon.
    We called in and were told Poste haste to the Royal Free. a young woman had been killed in a car crash in Scotland .she has signed donation papers for her organs.
    A team of Surgeons were on hand and removed all the vital organs and the liver was helicoptered to Royal Free wheer my lady was already sedated shaved and on the operating table opened from vagina to her throat and one side of her back around and across her stomach back to the spine. Her stomach and organs removed as the liver and on life support.
    The operation lasted till around miday next day.

24. The operation was so massive that when she came out of theater she was on a green plastic sheet on a trolley and ,so many pipes tubes gadgets.I tried to touch her to comfort her even tho she was totally unconcious and on life support,I could NOT find a place to put my hand..such was the array of equipment keeping her in this world.
    She was in only what I can describe as Ultra intensive care.,they let me sleep by her side in a chair for the two days before she came back to real life without the help of machinary.
    They told ne to watch her eyes for movement and to listen when she broke wind as her stomach went into spasm as they removed it and as it relaxed so she was acutually coming back into the world and passing wind was sign.They gave me little bowls of broken ice I was asked to put just one Small piece in her mouth at a time and let it disolve till I put in the next..
    As she revived she opened her eyes and looked straight up at me,the nurses had sauid to be absoltely calm and dont let her panick.
    For she wouldnt know if she was opening her eyes here on earth or in Heaven.
    As she focussed, I just told her.”You are ok , you are fine” she just gave a great sigh and collapsed back into sleep.
    Amazingly, the human body is so resiliant, not over a week later she was up in bed Rosie cheeks and sparkling eyes on the way back to health.
    The following weekend they surgeon said she could come home for the weekend.I collected her late Friday as they requested and collected a shopping bag from the Pharmacy .
    The Pharmacist said .DO NOT LOSE THIS HER LIFE DEPENDS ON IT and IT IS VALUE FOR 1600ยฃ that was the 6400 Barbados $ for medication From Friday night to Monday midday when she must be back.
    6400B$ .Her actual care in British pounds was above 6000ยฃ a week for drugs at the beginning,
    Not long after they allowed her home in my care.
    Around that time I called a freind in the next door plantation and asked how things were .he said” Man you are in serious trouble , your new truck hit a guy in the back of his car an injured him ” Police looking for you evetwhere ”
    I called the police in Dist C and reported where I was and when i had left,They told me I had to come back as this was serious and I was involved and that if I did not they would confiscate the new vehicle ,I had jsut bought for 86,000$
    I was amazed my truck was locked when i left, parked in my yard no insurance as I stopped it and MTW informed it was off the road for the duration..
    It transpired some local guys knew i had gone away and had got in the house took the truck keys and got away and got drunk and smashed into this poor guy.
    So I had to arange a nurse and leave for Barbados.
    As it always is , especially up at dist C , chaos.I was going to be charged and I was not to leave the country etc etc.
    It acutauly took so long and never got sorted,that the doctor had given my lady permission to fly to Barbados and bring the baby to me as I could not leave.

25. If yiu read my earlier postings i have said that simething is amist. however i find it inconceivable to believe that the DPP side with the muderer because of race. there is/aslo a lot missing from the puzzle and as a layman iam only given opinions by what have been told here . i am trying to make sense out of all this .

26. AC……Why don’t you shut to france up and get off this blog and let Mr Jackson tell his story. Stupse. You interrupting a riveting autobiography.

27. @islandgal

Revittimg is not the word!

28. David that is the best I can do it has me spellbound. John you should write a book and have a screen play done for a film. This is the annals of Barbadian society.

29. 5 th page
    As she was on the way over and we were a family and wanted to be that way, she asked me to see is the medicines she took would be available to her in Barbados.
    I knew the then Chief Health officer so i went ask his advice..He gave me straight from the shoulder.
    Roughly he said ,was i some sort of idiot, to think when they thought she would be dead they are now going to stump up 6000ยฃ a week to keep her alive.
    Dont waste your time and trouble,in 3 months you will be abck in this office exactly where and as you are now. He was 100% correct.
    So after two weeks my lady got back on BA and flew into UK,where UK taxpayers paid for the next 19 years to keep her alive .She died two years back after a THIRD transplant.
    But at the time when she got back to UK and I was there on my own in Bim trying to earn a living farming and at the same time raise a young girl child.
    She was living with my sons inlaws ,but didnt get on with the woman,and without telling me she left and when I next heard of her she was In London living with a man and his wife who had known her mother in Barbados.She wrote few times and then stopped. After that she wrote agaiin as he had a problem with immigration and begged me to fly to Uk and make it Ok for her which I did.
    I took our daughter with me, when we had left British immigration, i asked her if she was coming to see the baby , she said” NO” Just to drop her at the rail station she was really busy.
    I did and I never saw her again for around 3 or 4 years.
    I went back to Barbados.
    In Barbados, a lady a probation officer that I knew well, helped me in bringing up my daughter and this brought us quite close and she was an intelligent sensative person.This brought us closer together and we started a relationship and she became the Mother my Daughter had never known.My daughter grew to love and trust her and all for a time was fine.My daughter was very balanced and happy.When she asked me as she could think and talk about her real mummy.I told her that she was very sick in Egland and loved her but couldnt be there because she needed doctrors.The child accepted that and was happy growing up and getting along.

30. It never occurred to me to be angry or upset at the actions of my daughetrs mother I saw everyting she had been thro.Left to die by her own Government , survived just by days,Chopped like meat on a butchers slab,injections pills tablets.GOD she must have every night been on her kness in thanks and praying for it to last
    The Specilaist Mr burroughs had told her that she needed 5 years intensive treatment to know she would survive.I just cannot imagine what is to live in same room as death for 5 years.the agony the pain the false dawns.She went thro it all. Athe beginning there were only two anti rejection drugs and both she had and they STOPPED working and she started to die again. There was in existance one other drug,BUT IT WASNT PASSED, they had to ask for some special permission to use it.THAT was the one that Saved her.It worked.
    So life rolled on she totally focussed on surviving and me in my way the same altho I didnt have death as a failure .
    Janie grew into a young girl and started nursery school and treated her surrogate mum as Mummy and the two of them were close.
    She always called her Rosie mummy or just Mum.
    Then Fate came up with some new trials and tests of faith.
    Late on a monday at 6.30 .it was dark and I had got in ,washed and about to eat some food and the Phone rang. Janie of course , young busy body picked up the phome cos answering the phone was fun,.her little face clouded over and she pushes the phone at me and said “Its my Mummy from England”
    I was taken aback to say the least.
    I was frightened something in me has always maneged to sense trouble.
    I said the usual ,hello what a surprise it is to hear you .Why that you did not let me know you are here?
    She just said “I want MY CHILD BACK when can you bring her to me!!”
    She was in Barbados with her Boyfreind at a south Coast hotel.
    My stomach just twisted and the world stopped.My mind went blank and I was just dumb.
    I asked where she was and made a date for the next day to take my daughter to Accra beach where her mother would be with her boyfreind ,so we can let my daughter and her mum meet.
    But my senses were in total disarray as I knew in my mind from her demenour and speach that this was not to be a pleasant meeting

31. What I hadnt counted on is the the dark side of Barbados is inhabited by some very vicious , arrogant,self opinionated, dreadfull individuals that have had their bloated egos fed for years by the poor black people who know they have to say Yes’um ” to these indivduals or suffer a serious consequence.
    These people forget they simply translate the Law and uphold the law and really Beleive THEY ARE THE LAW. They are GOD.Never speak back to GOD or you are STRUCK DOWN.
    My daughters mother had been to a Jamaican lawyer called Dawn Sheilds Searle.who from information I gleaned thro the following years of harrowing torture I was put thro by the Trial Judge Mc Corrmack. ,
    Ms Searle was close to a Judge called Marie MCCorrmack and Sheilds Searle KNEW that this judge had a son who she had left for some considerable time with another woman,so long her son called the OTHER WOMAN MUMMY>
    The case had been arranged that it was heard by McCormack, as she was to be suckered I presume by Sheilds Searle as she was open to it as she had had the same experience with her son as Shealds Searle was putting my Childs mother as having had with me and her daughter.
    It worked admirably and I must admit that even tho at the time I was angry I realized they Sheild Searle played to win regardless of the human resutts..
    The court case had been started without me, it was set up from start to finish.
    My daughetrs mother has started all the proceedure and then asked for her daughter.
    I never did get a summons to attend the hearing which McCprrmack would only have in her Chambers.On almost every occcassion.
    I guy truned up in my yard and just shouted from his driving seat.MR JACKSON. I looked over the balcony and said ”
    WHO’s asking”.
    A whole pile of papers were just thrown out into the windy yard.
    A voice said ! AM. YOU’RE SERVED.
    The car drove off.
    I scrabled about in the yard and colected most and saw it was a statement from my daughters mother that her child had been kidnapped and she was looking for her allover and found her in Barbados with me and some Court papers of which some hhad blown away..
    I called the court to find that the trial had already been started and got the date of the next hearing that I went too.
    The mother had also informed the Court in the course of the hearing that she and her BOYFREIND were earning the equiviant then of 2000B$ a week so she could quiote easily manage to keep her daughter after she took her back from me in a very nice fashion.
    TO MY AMAZMENT MCCORMACK gave her LEGAL AID.
    How can you have 2000$ a week and get legal aid.?
    But she did and the case went on for YEARS and I am told that it became the MOST EXSPENSIVE LEGAL aid EVER GIVEN.
    I would like to ask a question .IF you are the keeper of the PUBLIC purse and you KNOWINGLY allow someone for personal reasons to claim and get legal aid aren’t aiding and abetting some sort of illegal action?

32. Sorry this is getting me very stressed and my hnads are shaking I cant type so good

33. When does one seeking answers or asking questions become provocative it seems to me that unless one”S opinion is in sync with the majority , their freedom of speech is labeled Provactive so what if i am “provocative ” so be it

Island gal. Are you the blog police Now. Don;t get on my bad side.

34. John take it easy. Tomorrow is another day.

35. When I did enter the Chambers ,McCorrmack informed that I was “reprehensible” a few other choice words and that she McCormack had experienced the same anguish my daughters mother was experiencing.That do I understand what suffering a mother goes thro when her OWN CHILD runs past her with his arms out calling for the other WOMAN as MUMMY.She kept fussing round my daughters mother , was the seat ok was the Aircon Ok did she want anything?She said to me YOU have let this happen in this case and I (McCorrmack )will not tolerate it.I am going to break your relationship and put this child back with its natural mother.That this had happened to her and it WAS NOT going to happen in this case.
    I stood up and protested .Mccorrmack “sit down and shut up you we have let you say too much already”.
    I had done nothing ,she had me virtually arrested.I say that because she confiscated my pasport told me I cannot leave the country and said I must take my Passport to the British Embassy accompanied by an officer of the court and that he would wait out side while I had my daughter STRUCK OUT of the British pasport and that she McCormack, had arranged a Barbados passport be ready at immigration and I must then go an fill in the forms and pick it up.
    I complained to the British High commission .McCorrmack refused to let the High Commission person in Chambers.
    I then started getting phone calls at 9 pm and 10 pm from the Child care saying they had been ordered by the Judge to take away my daughter and put her in a childrens home and I would not see her again,UNLESS I got the Barbados passport that was waiting at immigration at that moment.
    Where the lady worked that gave me help thro the years with my daughter care,McCorrmack called her boss and asked that Rose should be dismissed from her Job..
    What I relize now is that McCorrmack could do any of what she did to me legally,she couldnt touch my daughter she was aBritsh citizen ,this terror regime by McCorrmack on mke was to try to make my daughter a BARBADIAN so Mccorrmack could then do as she wishes..
    McCorrmack terrorized me and used means that were not legal to try to acheive her ends.
    (does that rinng any bells about what is happening at this moment how the DPP is reported to have changed everything to suit his purpose??)(also the DPP writing the Judge dealing with my bail while I am In UK in Medical care and trying to getmy bail revoked?)

36. Small island that has been broken in too many places, mess on top of mess. Since independence, didnโ€™t know which way to go, still donโ€™t.

37. @John

As Simple Simon suggested please take a break if this is hurting

There is something called being sensitive to a situation.

38. My daugheter got very sick stressed and screaming at night ,pee’d the bed and got skinny and skinny.I was in fear of her little life ,They showed her NO MERCY,McCorrmack I am sure would see my child dead rather than get down from her bloated ego.She gave her mother an order that she could take my daughter away from me friday thro Monday.My daughter went berk,when her mother came she tried struggle away andt he mother cought her byu the throat in an arm lock , and squeezed and my daughter fell unconcious.The mothers cousin Rrusty who had brought her in his car to pick up my daughter shouted at the mother “I gone You kill the Fucking child jus so he cant have her” Then she let go and my daughter fell in the dirt and her mother got in the car and went.
    The next weekeend Mcorrmac still allowed the Friday thro Monday, my daugher was just terrorized.It didnt seem to matter to McCorrmack or Sheilds Searle in the Court yard in that week I told sShields Searl how sick my daughter was and please leave her in peace to recover ,that the child was at that momnet in bed unconcious with a fever and temperature of 101 Sheilds Searle, said and in front of my Lawyer.GET IN OUR WAY AND WE WALK ON YOU.
    They did come to my house at 10 oclock at Night and were trying to drag the unconciuos child out of bed and take her.
    They were accompanied by the police.
    I spoke with officer in charge and asked did the Police Commissioner know what he was aiding and abbetting,I gave him the doctors note I had shown Shields searle that my daughter MUST not be MOVED.
    When the police man read this he asked if they were crazy and to leave the child in peace and get out of my house.

OK simon you are right.I am too overwrought.I take a break and get some sedation.
    I want to finishthis I have carried this for years and I am sick of it.

39. david you call me insensitive. OH! well’

40. Oh this is good, this is good. I know that Jeff and the others will be snarling about calling names in public and only hearing one side of the story, but I is a man that would not normally read comments that go past four paragraphs …

41. I want to hear the other side of the story or at least see some documents. This would make a good movie. Two best sellers in just a few weeks! David, BU is on a roll.

42. @Checkit-out

As TB would say, you can’t make this stuff up!

43. Problem # 1
    White man + Black woman

Problem # 2
    Men are presumed to be the villain in cases like this unless proven otherwise.

Given the allegations, John should produce some physical evidence, court orders,transcripts etc.

First and foremost he should try and take care of his health.

44. It is a pity that John did not have the chace to talk to Denis Johnson when he was going through these horrors.

45. Quoting John Jackson “Where the lady worked that gave me help thro the years with my daughter care,McCorrmack called her boss and asked that Rose should be dismissed from her Job..”

Wait!!!so the Jamaican woman felt so powerful that she felt she could have a Bajan dismissed from her job

Well, well. It is high time that our Bajan young men stopped rescuing young Jamaican women.

Let dem ah stay in (West) Kingston

46. Same woman give me grief when she was in charge of legal aid and I applied for assistance. She told me “you working for enough that you can afford your own lawyer”

I could not.

And “N” she had not examined my expenses, which at the time exceeded my income.

And no I am not spendthrift or extravagant.

Was just dealing with a difficult, long term and very, very expensive family situation.

So no legal aid for me.

But since I am a Bajan and a lot smarter that any Jamaican I got through without her.

And yes without the legal aid paid for by MY TAX MONEY.. My TAX MONEY was also paying the Jamaican woman’s salary, and my TAX MONEY is currently paying her pension.

Barbados can be a bad, bad, bad place in truth.

47. @ David,

But Dave is this really about the Barbados of which I am a citizen? If this story is true I would really have to hang my head in shame for this country!

48. Asides:
    This retelling is cumbersome.So much gone on and so long it has gone on for.But it relates totally to what happened to me in the last 6 years and particularly the death of Anna.
    Documents :I was kept starved on written information,and after all this was thro,I just was glad. I will have some documents left ,I am in UK and they will be in Barbados.
    Mcormack had most of the meetings in Chambers .I did not ever see any transcript taken
    .Did I know that Damaged ego would raise its retributional head 12 years later and still not have sated its requirements for” slap down” on the trangressor.That I might even NEED documments.I thought it was OVER.
    How many documents have you got from 12 years ago?
    But like I said earlier ,you do not argue with GOD and escape retribution at some point and as I understand the old adage”Revenge is a dish that should be eaten Cold” and they ate theirs and no doubt enjoyed it and will call at some point in the future for “seconds”
    I did nothing but any father would do and try to protect his daughter from damage.For this even now ,satisfaction is required from who ever has perceived a personal slight or a dirt mark on their reference in the History of Barbados.
    I did not instigate one iota of what went on,looking back now detachedly,the only thing I did that was wrong , was standing by my daughters mother and NOT letting her die.
    Many of her own colour advised me “to just walk away” They knew Barbados life better than I, but its easy to be wise in retrospect.I live by my concience and I could never look my daughter in the face knowing I took the easy way out and let her mother perish.
    Yes it has been a long and very painful road but ,the one person you can never lie to is yourself,I can look back at myself in the mirror and not feel shamed.
    Margo Greene ,God Bless her , stood in the way of a lot of colateral damage that should have hit me.At the finale of this egostistical nightmare Fiasco,McCorrmack called Margo in for a tongue lashing and as Margo related to me ,words like “Having been made(Mccormack) to look like a fool internationally”.
    If I remember anywhere near what Margo said ,it was “she tried to take the skin of my”(anatomy). I appologised to Margo for putting her on the spot and asked her what she replied to McCormack.She said “Nothing ,she knew she got involved where she should not have” .
    Hal Gollop, stood his ground and told McCorrmacks side kick The Honerable Fredric Waterman ,they he would “come for him” if one hair of my daughters head was hurt. This was at a hearing ,where Mccormack handed things over to The Hon Freddy and kept her head down.
    Whether Margo and Hal would be willing to relate what they saw and heard ,only they can answer

49. De Hood

If you plan to hang your head in shame about the atrocities being perpetrated in the name of justice in this country; you will walk about bumping into things because you would never hold your head up.

My heart also goes out to Mr. Jackson in the episode with his daughter: I feel his pain. I, too suffered while trying to have access to one of my daughters. In order to try to keep me from having access to my three-year old daughter, a Government Minister took her to a doctor and tried to convince him to write a report to suggest that I had sexually assaulted my child. Luckily for me, no one had ever violated my child and I lived to fight them another day.

On weekends when the little girl was spending time with me, the police would constantly turn up at my home saying that they were ordered to check on my child. I would refuse them and suggest that they should come back with a warrant. Eventually, one constable confided in me that a particular Minister would call a senior officer who in turn gave instructions that he was obliged to carry out.

I wrote to the Prime Minister, Owen Arthur, about the behaviour of his Minister: I am still waiting his reply.

50. Reading John Jackson’s story fills me with so much anguish for him and his daughter this has brought tears to my eyes. As I have stated before this is the makings of a blockbuster film.

AC you are one insensitive Shoite and I make apologies for saying that. Why can’t you shut up and open your ears for once.

@John we will wait for you to continue, please take your time.