Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In the case R. v. Sussex Justices, ex parte McCarthy I1924), Lord Chief Justice Hewart, in quashing the conviction, said: “Justice should not only be done, but should manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done.”

On November 8, 2008, 16-year old Anna Druzhinina died a horrible death at the hands of Omar McCollin and Teereth Persaud, who received 16 and 21 years respectively for their crime.

I have heard this case discussed by several persons, all laymen, and all of them, like me; believe that this child’s killers have gotten away with murder. As I understand it one will walk out of prison in 12 years and the other in 15 years and 9 months. That is a small price to pay for such a gruesome killing.

They were originally charged with murder but pleaded guilty to manslaughter. While I have the highest regard for both the judge and prosecutor, and personally believe that their integrity is beyond reproach: I am of the view that one or both of them should have recused themselves from taking part in the case. My belief has nothing to do with any wrongdoing or bias on the part of either the judge or the prosecutor, who accepted a plea and did not allow a jury to deliberate on the evidence in a murder trial. From the layman’s perspective, it has everything to do with the appearance that justice was not done in this case. One of the killers, the judge and prosecutor are all Guyanese. For that reason, and only that reason, there is an appearance that justice was not done in this case.

224 responses to “Murder or Manslaughter? Depends on Who is the Killer”

1. PS
    DPP LEACOCK actually said to me “JOHN ITS GOING NOWHERE YOUARE GETTING NOTHING, WALK AWAY FROM IT”
    I was try to type to fast Sorry.
    Also my typo gaffs. Sory This computer cant spelle.

2. @John

You said the DPP blurted his statement at you in front of many others?

3. @david
    Clarification:

David we are talking of a man that got where he is by useing his intelligence and stays where he is by any means he has at his considerable disposal.
    Do you really feel he would “BLURT” anything.
    No he was alone.he spoke in a tone that was audible from a few feet NOT the whole bank
    I only said I sat next to him,where does it say or infer “many others”
    The only reason I saw him so easily was he was at the end of all the empty seats seated with his right side to the column.facing into the cashiers some 20 feet away

JJ

4. @John

So I put my two cents worth in as i had just employed them to do a renovation for me and they had robbed me.Started work got me to pay and then disappeared to do the Government Building at Warrens for MILLIONS so my mottley job was History,.
    So I tolf my little bit and how theywould only do the job if I paid in cash of shore into 3 nmaes Chinese accounts in NEWYork.
    Well as I finish “Shorty” across and up the table declares in a huge pompous voice “I CAN HAVE YOU ALL PUT IN PRISON” and directed at me.

See the quote above. This is the clarification requested about Leocock blurting.

5. @mash up and buy back.
    How you get that handle?

Mash up,
    BE SURE of ALL I say LIKE your LIFE depends On IT.
    I got nothing to gain, and I already lost everything in this world I held dear.
    Even now my wife been diagnosed with early onset Parkinsons.
    NOTHING going bring that back or my Anna..
    Whatever else I got you want it ,its yours.
    I aint for sale.
    And what they got is too dirty for me to even look at.
    I shut my mouth on this for years ,cos I dont like trouble.
    If its only me BRING IT ON but I had loved ones Bit by bit they destroyed all.
    Now I got no one to worry about .So I tell it totally as it was..

6. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Fine John.

Charles Leacock is a short,guyanese jackass that got what he never expected here in Barbados.

We bajans are too docile,that is why Myrie and leacock and Mccormack and shields searles could do what they do with such confidence.

steupes.

7. @david
    The first of the two statements he made .Now I understand.Thanks foir the clarification.
    Yes 100% must have been at around 15 people heard him.He just outed with it like he was addressing a person in Court
    I dont think it was my handsome face that hushes them to silence:)
    jj

8. David I just read a report of alleged comments by COP Dottin.

It is worth reading.

9. Hants;
    Point us to the report.

10. BarbadosToday.bb page 14&15

11. ‘e’s a lil’ pieca man in truth.

12. @Mash Up
    I was in court in the early 90’s when John Knee,the lawyaer for the defence in a murder trial for a guy called hammy charged for the murder of a guy called fishy with Her Majesty’s representative presiding and the prosecutor was this guyanaman.The guyanaman made reference to the implement used in the act and called it a chopper whereupon John Knee pounced on him and to the court said”Ya see he talk bout a chopper,that is a guyana term,not a bajan term,he is nothing but a canecutter from BG”.Later there was talk outside the court that the lil fella from guyana was the protoge of the benchman that the benchman teach he how fa prosecute,so the benchman does believe what im say is gospel.So the accused get turn down,appeal and get sentenced to 5 years instead.Since then the prosecutor driving a benz at we taxpayers expense and the jokers in the big church mek this short man chancellor of the church ‘o england in buhbaydus!!We gine to de dawgs,slowly but surely.

13. Actually chopper, Collins, sword, whompa,[cane]bill are all Bajan terms use for a large sharp implement used for cutting sugar cane, bush and rarely people.

So I don’t know what Mr. Knee was carrying on about.

Mr. Knee may know law, but methinks he come up lil short on linguistics

14. @John

What is next for you after all you have had to suffer?

15. @ David.

I am torn ,as I do not wish to cause trouble,but to get these people like Charles Leacock brought to book means I have to go to the international press.The Goverment of Barbados are scornful of its inhabitants,taxpayers and workers.
    Because I think you can clearly see ,for me, that there is not any Law in Barbados,that cannot be broken ,twisted or rendered useless by any one connected enough.Therfore pointless, a futile exercise to ask for its protection and Justice.
    These atrocious attacks on me,ranging over many many years; were not by accident ,they were vicious ,retributional and totally premeditated, as was the Murder of our daughter ANNA.
    Please some body explain to me what I did that was against and real written Law of Barbados.?
    How LEACOCK is still employed as DPP of Barbados is Obscene and an affront to all of the honest everyday Barbadians.
    The police, as in the person of Stn Sgt Brewster ,late of Blackrock, now I understand after the British High Commission intervention; transferred to District A,was a terrorist, an enforcer ,his actions were no more than an orchestrated attack on me ,to close what was then my business, and have me put into prison without cause and as a delayed punishment from those I stood up to when they tried to destroy my family and take away my daughter.

.Further gun related charges were; after the murder of my daughter ; put on me by Sgt Brewster, and he knew the person he used, to support the charge of assault, was a life long habitual criminal.
    Brewster then put me in a position to be threatened and blackmailed by this individual on ,this mans release from Dodds.
    Like he had by his previous actions placed all my families lives in jeopardy, the result of which Anna was tortured and murdered.
    This can be directly laid at Sgt Brewsters door.If he had applied the Law of Barbados and not followed retributional actions under instruction.Anna would be alive today.
    I doubt Brewster EVEN cares.
    When I had to attend Blackrock Police Station EVERY OFFICER,gave me support and condolences EXCEPT SGT BREWSTER he ignored me.

Is this really how Honest hard working persons in Barbados can be treated with Impunity.
    Well GOD help us all.
    Doesent it make any reader of these words uncomfortable , fearful lest they to incurr the wrath of these ego inflated individuals , who regard us as merely disposables,like the Nazis looked at the Jews.
    These people knew if their plans to have me incarcerated in Dodds; had come to fruition ,I would be DEAD by now. It was a planned execution of me so that no fingers could ever be pointed at them.
    Where does this vary from the actions of the Nazi regime.??
    All Citizens of Barbados serve a purpose but do not have any real unaproachable rights..
    They are good people they do not deserve this.

16. @John

Yours is a sorry tale. It is difficult how to advise except to say your battle if you decide to go ahead will be a tough one. Many of our public officials and by extension government appear to be impervious to public pressure. Who knows if your assault will be the tipping point.
    Barbadians generally are unaware of what you talking about.

17. @David
    I would be obliged it you or any readers have legal knowledge of how best I should proceed. Whom to direct my requests at/ to.
    I have been advised to ask the AG for a Judicial revue of the DPP.
    As if proven his actions would be cause for his removal.

Hard struggles I have had over the last 15 + years , so strucggling hard will not be a new experience.
    If it results in the exposure of these people then I am at least to have the satisfaction,that my Duaghters Murder was not just trodden in the dirt and made worthless.
    Many Thanks
    Also any readers :if you have ever been theatened by the DPP please come forward

18. John, it might help people to contact you confidentially if they have an email or phone or intermediary person they can contact to share info with you. I am happy to relay any confidential information. I am easy to find online.

19. Bush Lot woman tortured again by masked attackers
    -heels of feet cut
    By Stabroek staff | 1 Comment | Local | Monday, December 31, 2012

A 37-year-old woman was yesterday badly tortured when two masked men and a woman barged into her Bush Lot, West Coast Berbice home around 9:45 am, one month after she suffered a similar attack.
    Devika Prettipaul sustained cuts to her lower lip and ears with a pair of scissors. The assailants also used the scissors to cut off the balls of her feet and then showed them to her.
    They wrapped her wounds with pieces

Remember where the killer of my daughter was from.
    Not easy people.
    Where is the DPPP Charles Leacock from?

Seems compassion is something in short supply among that Nationality.
    Frankly I would be worried having one as Guardian of Law and Order in Barbados.
    He certainly did not have compassion for my daughters suffering and was reported to have changed all of his evidence to the Courts for what can only have been to get lighter sentences for these torturing Murderers.
    Are you aware of how these two killers made my daughter Anna suffer?
    The DPP Charles Leacock COULD NOT find them guilty of Murder.
    Next Joke Please!!

20. I love what you guys are up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

21. @ John Johnson

“I cried because I had no shoes, until i met a man that had no feet”

We ole men have alot of time on our hands while waiting on the Harbinger that is going to take ALL OF US.

Someone called Gustavo reactivated this thread yesterday and I, wanderer forlorn sojourner and latecomer to BU that I am, spent some time reading this travesty of justice.

That there are Madame McCormicks and Charles Leacock’s who thread this earth is nothing new, they incarnate at a rate that is frightening.

That they are here entrenched in our society with such power and exercising it with such venom leaves a bile in the mouth of the reader.

I really feel your pain Mr. Jackson.

I always say that GOD, Deity, The Causeless Cause, the BBE know who to test with what because each man or woman has a different response to every stimulus.

I quote from Martin Luther King to put a context to my ending remark below.

“He who passively accepts evil is as much involved in it as he who helps to perpetrate it. He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

This ordeal, particularly that horrendous act that ended the life of your daughter Anna, would have been my threshold and mine would have been a different Columbine response. One of my grans was at St. Winifred’s and spoke of the fact that this “white” girl who she respected and loved had died in this way. She was distraught during that time and in recounting the incident remarked that Anna had seemed strangely “pensive” in the days leading up to her death.

More than 5 years would have passed and Anna for many of us, like Tiffany Harding, Kelly-Ann Welch, Shanna Griffith, Nikkita Belgrave ; Kellishaw Olivierre and Pearl Amanda Cornelius (Campus Trendz 2010) are all memories that 99.9% of the population will have forgotten.

Mr John, very few of us give a shoite about these young lives truncated by SEVEN criminals and scum of the earth like Omar McCollin, Teereth Persaud, Jamar Dewayne Orlando Bynoe, Renaldo Anderson Alleyne, SSgt Brewster, Madame Justice McCormick and Charles Leacock

Ecclesiastes 3 King James Version (KJV)

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:
    A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;
    A TIME TO KILL, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

22. My gran called me and said that I had misspelt your name twice

Was typing too fast Mr Johnson, forgive the mistakes, no insult intended

23. One more time Mr John Jackson wow

24. Its not my first time to visit this web page, i am browsing this web page dailly and get
    fastidious facts from here every day.