As incredible as it may seem to some, the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2012 has passed the Lower House on its journey to being proclaimed. Hopefully this will be done before the Prime Minister rings the bell for the next general election. One suspects though that Prime Minister Stuart will deliver on this piece of legislation, this is the stuff legacy is built. Perhaps the one regret is that yet again Hansard will NOT record a contribution from the leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur.

A listen to the debate disappointed yet again. Members of parliament on both sides joined hands to paint a picture of a courageous group who has had to bear the brunt of vilification from the public. References were made to the #16 ranking which Barbados holds on Transparency International. The Prime Minister referenced the need to recognize that there is a perception that many in public life engage in questionable behaviour, therefore the need to have integrity legislation.  The listener was left with the impression that the government although tabling the legislation, has done so kicking and screaming.

To state the obvious integrity legislation serves many purposes. In private enterprise rules governing code of conduct is routine. It ensures that all employees are aware of the consequences of certain actions. It helps to feed a culture of excellence. BU posits that many practices which currently fly under the radar may be discontinued or forced into the open with the advent of integrity legislation. Should we remind the Attorney General that Transparency International’s ranking is based on a perception index? It is known how PSV permits were procured by may as a good example. A read of the Auditor General reports from 2006 also helps to form positions unfavourable to politicians and others in the public sector.

Finally a word to Minister Ronald Jones who spent some time attacking Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press. Other members of parliament made veil references to social media. BU freely admits that some commenters abuse the cloak of anonymity. We take the opportunity to remind them that to whom much is given much is expected. to One of the greatest ironies is those most culpable are members of the House and their surrogates.

Mia Mottley is on record of the need to censor the blogs and it seems Minister Jones is so minded. It is only five years ago when the blogosphere was DLP friendly and of course Jones had no such worries then. Good news maybe coming for local politicos who want the blogs monitored. The draft Communications Data Bill is currently being circulated for comment in the UK. The bill proposes that “internet providers having to retain records of all their customers’ online activity for 12 months.” Further that the authorities would have the authority to access “email and the internet. The authorities would be able to see details of who communicated with whom, and when and where, but they would not be able to see the content of the message.” BU will continue to monitor this matter closely given the implication for Barbados adopting UK legislation.

Despite the comments from the government side that this legislation is complex which explains the time taken. BU believes it is the lack of will which is responsible. The government cannot win a political debate on economic policy therefore it is forcing other pieces of legislation through parliament to shape their election platform agenda. BU could care less. Proclaim the damn legislation. All the same kudos to the government for moving the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2012 through the Lower House. We will continue monitor its progress.  It is unfortunate the Freedom of Information Act is not in the frame. One would have imagined this is an easier piece of legislation to enact.

282 responses to “Government Moves Integrity Legislation Pass the Lower House”

1. @ David

Your commendation of the Stuart led DLP administration seems a bit diluted given 1.) the importance of such a piece of legislation for Barbados and 2.) BU’s very existence is partially to lobby/pressure the GOB to pass these kinds of legislation.

We can do better than that, we should all tip our hat to PM Stuart and hope that he is around long enough to transform Barbados politically, economically and morally.

2. BU will show some more enthusiasm when the legislation completes its constitutional journey.

3. More than 1600 days late but at least they made it. Only proves the constant cry about the recession preventing them from governing was, as many said, nonsense. The proof will be in the eating. All I will say is look out. Any chance of the other non-financial promises being delivered like the Agriculture Protection Act?

4. @ David

Encouragement produces more result than cynicism. Do the right thing man congratulation Mr. Stuart cause even if this is all he does, he’s still done more than anyone else.

5. Read the last paragraph:

All the same kudos to the government for moving the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2012 through the Lower House. We will continue monitor its progress.

6. @ David

Its kinda like Duguid apology, sounds like one but it aint. You can do better.

You appreciate this backs the BLP and more importantly its leader, in a very tight corner?

7. @Hitman

Take it how ever you want, it is what it is. Enact the legislation i.e.operationalize it and BU will offer that fuller praise you are asking for.

On 5 December 2012 01:46, Barbados Underground

8. Better late than never, the proof of the pudding is in the eating so I hope that those responsible for the administration of the proposed laws would not let scofflaws fly under the radar.

It would be a travesty to have a law on the books with very weak or nonexistent enforcement.

9. @Sarge

The DLP’s responses in the debate today is that the BLP promised it 30 years ago and it was still born so what if they are four years late…lol.

10. PM Stuart is a man of integrity not one who should lie!

11. “You appreciate this backs the BLP and more importantly its leader, in a very tight corner?”
    @ Hitman
    This makes it sound like a purely political move in an effort to outmaneuver the BLP. This should be promoted as a statesmanlike move to improve GOVERNANCE.

Does that not justify David’s skepticism?

12. this will certainly be a part of Stuart’s legacy. It has been a while since a PM has made any significant change in B’dos for the better.

13. @ Bush Tea

What will matter to Barbadians and what will redound to their ultimate benefit is not the reason for doing it but more because it has be DONE, finally.

Right about now it should become to you the folly of a former Prime Minister trying to lay the blame for a corrupt deal (HMP Dodds Prison) on his a fellow BLP minister, namely Mias Mottley. The result is that during the coming election the BLP will be saddled with a leader who is widely believed to be corrupt and a ‘deputy leader’ who the popular leader of the party claims to responsible for a corrup deal. Oh what a tight web we weave.

14. @Hitman Hearnia – No apology for Fumble unless Act is passed, is that clear enough? As for the Duguid issue, what inspired the semi-Canadian dentist to be so acid as to forget protocol? Things which make you go…

15. The video is February this year, it begs the question if Gov’t of DLP is 21 and Opposition stands at 9 – how can 9 put 21 on pause? Fumble has 2/3’s majority easily just ramrod the Bill, nicht wahr?

16. @ Ian D’Idiot Bourne

Don’t be a nitwit boy. Provocation is not a blasted excuse for un-parliamentary behaviour. Have a look see:

17. David you and Bdos Free Press screamed and threw hissy fits for this bill for four years now its here you cursing PM Stuart. Fair minded folks are noticing your obvious hypocrisy.

The PM is steadily delivering on DLP manifesto promises within the adverse confines of the worse economic crisis in history yet you condemn him.

Your fraudulent protestions of Stuart’s every move paints a picture of you not as an honest broker but as a chronic complainer.

Stuart is performing and solid citizens are taking note. Meanwhile your great friend Owen Arthur continues to collect taxpayers money under false prenteces missing a game changing parliamentary sitting for the umpteenth time.
    Question- has Arthur surpassed ten hours in parliament since voters kicked him into opposition in 2008?

18. The bill needs to be proclaimed and operationalized. What about that you don’t get?

On 5 December 2012 03:32, Barbados Underground

19. Another brilliant achievement by a tenacious and honest leader, take a bow PM Freundel Stuart. Your name will be forever etched in the annals of Barbados.

You kept your promise….before the 2008 – 2013 parliamentary term – ITAL will be passed.

Frauds like Ian Bourne and other BLP opportunists will always be standing by to heap cold water on your achievements.

Here is a classic example why:
    1. Ian Bourne worked at CBC for months and years reading the news (both radio and TV)….that Owen Arthur will take Barbados to REPUBLIC STATUS – during the BLP campaign in 1999 – John King was commissioned to compose and sing a “REPUBLIC SONG”

2. The BLP won the 1999 general election with the largest parliamentary majority in Barbados (more than 2/3) ……and remained in office 9 nine years after and no DAMN REPUBLICAN status…..ian Bourne still continued to work at CBC reading the news and NEVER asked OWEN ARTHUR and the BLP …..where is the promised REPUBLIC ?

3. But in DECEMBER 2012…..big gut Ian Bourne coming on BU to chide PM Stuart and his team for fulfilling a 5 year promise !

What a BIG GUT….moojin !

20. $600,000 on an Inquiry the Public Service Commission cannot use, then the Molasses Pits – laws are BEFORE Parliament not passed into Law, what about River Bay and the Bagatelle Shredder?

David was not cursing he simply said he’ll believe it when it happens, something wrong with that? Tough, Jefferson said better a free press than no press!

As for the Bees, they too laid waste… Greenland NOW NEVER USED, the $60 million cruise ship when Carnival sold cheap trips for Bajans in CWC 2007 bth sides have raped Bajans, it’s time we did the same to both sides…

BAJANS, SHOW YOU ARE SICK OF TWEEDLEDUMB & TWEEDLEDUMBER SPOIL YOUR BALLOT AND SEND A MESSAGE!

21. I love the personal insults, it means my arguments make too much sense… BTW? Of course while at CBC I am not going to question Arthur, d’you think I wanted to get Fired? Now at bajanreporter.com I can light the fire under both DEMs & Bees and neither can ask the Editor to tone down or else!

22. Finally, I am not hiding and you snipe under a pseudonym like the callous mealy-mouthed coward you are, any response from you only has credence if you are willing to stand in the open like me!

23. Your fraudulent protestions of Stuart’s every move paints a picture of you not as an honest broker but as a chronic complainer.

Hi David of BU,

I told you recently ( as a matter of fact ) when you blatantly refused to publish those photos that were sent to you by a fellow blogger ….showing Owen Arthur lying down in mud blind drunk outside John Moore shop….I called you out on not being professional to your journalistic cause.

I can since imagine if those photos were Freundel Stuart’s or any other DLP member we in blogsphere would have been unable to contain your exuberance !

That is why we are not alarm by your undivided interest in what is happening inthe UK Parliament (as you have stated below)
    ” Further that the authorities would have the authority to access “email and the internet. The authorities would be able to see details of who communicated with whom, and when and where, but they would not be able to see the content of the message.” BU will continue to monitor this matter closely given the implication for Barbados adopting UK legislation.”

Publish the damn pictures about Owen Arthur….as a demonstration of your self – acclaimed ” journalistic balance “

24. Ian D Bourne on December 4, 2012 at 11:45 PM
    I love the personal insults, it means my arguments make too much sense… BTW? Of course while at CBC I am not going to question Arthur, d’you think I wanted to get Fired?
    ———————————————-
    Thanks Ian,

I just wanted you to publicly confirm that you are a coward….who worked and lived at CBC in constant fear of Owen Arthur and his CRONIES.

You dared not asked Owen to explain his dubious promises for fear of losing your ” lil pick” at CBC.

Just imagine if Bajans were to make the mistake and put him back in Bay Street….what mayhem would occur throughout Barbados.

As for my using a pseudonym on BU…..it is for the same reason why you DARED not question Owen Arthur while wukking at CBC !

Good night….that is our TRUE…..CONFESSION.

25. If you have copies of the alleged pic’s then why not post them yourself? WordPress & Blogger have free platforms? Or are you desperate to create a myth so near to elections?

26. @Fractured BLP – do you bite the hand of who signs your paychecks? Call it what you like then you admit you are a COWARD, L8R!

27. Where are my BLP comrades ?
    Onions , Miller , Enuff et al wha’ happening ?
    Just the other day on BU I was imploring my BLP comrades to encourage Owen Arthur to lift his game.
    Why on such an important piece of legislation being debated in the House Owen failed to make a contribution ?
    Why , oh WHY ?
    Is there something going on that Owen trying to hide ?

P – lease
    A – nswer
    C – omrade

????????????????????????

28. Before I jump on the bandwagon and start singing; how great thou art Freundel, I will wait for the final result. My problem is and continues to be that the DLP promised a code of conduct for ministers, and that they would have to declare their assets. This was supposed to have been done within 100 days of being elected to office. My honest belief is that there were too many paupers elected and they did not have anything to declare, so they are now passing the legislation when some of them have amassed fortunes that they could not have achieved in the presence of integrity legislation. I am therefore not so quick to heap praise on anyone. I would like them to declare what they acquired during the last four years.

29. @ Caswell Franklyn wrote “so they are now passing the legislation when some of them have amassed fortunes that they could not have achieved in the presence of integrity legislation.”

Ok Caswell. If you know who has amassed a fortune in the last four years why don’t you wickedleak it.

Post it under a different handle like “Frankly Casual”

30. Caswell Franklyn,

Remember everyone is not a scamp like you .

You tief a whole car from the Gov’t of Barbados and Mia Mottley had to chase you down to recoup the money.

You stole your wife , Rhonda’s joy , by impregnating a Guyanese young girl while stiil being married to Rhonda.

So INTEGRITY….is not your forte !

THIEFING…..CAR and A$$…..is your area of expertise !

Stick to them.

31. @David, Ian Bourne, Casewell etc. I would ignore the outpourings of Hitman Henrietta and her(his) spin group. The delay in tabling the legislation certainly is grounds for caution in assessing what sort of delay will occur in its implementation —–and the nature of said implementation. So if there is a percieved lack of enthusiasm in congratulting the government on passing the legislation, it has everything to do with the government’s lack of enthusiasm in pushing the legislation through. Note that I do not identify any party, but the GOVERNMENT.

32. PM STUART is not a man who should LIE! INTEGRITY! think about it

33. @Amused

Agreed!

Some of us believe that we should be easily satisfied with medicrity. If BU wanted to go further we could say where is FOI that was promised, where is the amendment to the defamation act etc. We have to begin to hold our politicians and public servants more accountable.

Imagine successive government have ‘padded’ the ranks of the public service and now we have the debate about a bloated public service. Inagine we have a problem with public transportation and one of the problems is corrupt way licenses are dispensed to PSVs etc.

Imagine we have a government that has over the years ignore the Auditor General including this one!

No, BU will wait until this legislation complete its journey.

On 5 December 2012 09:47, Barbados Underground

34. fo fear and half years the political scamps pounded their fist as they hollered at the Dlp for not delivering a corruption bill now the bill is on its way to be passed the naysayers are holding on to the hope that the bill would not be PASSED in effort to say “I Told YOU SO” nothing more nothing less .a bunch of disingenuous hypocritical disgruntled displeasers.

35. @ac

Your credibility is waning the more and more you comment on political issues. All the observers are saying is that we will rejoice in the streets when the bill is proclaimed. Thirty years ago now Sir Henry moved this legislation on behalf of the BLP and it remains outstanding. Try to be reasonable for godsakes.

On 5 December 2012 10:26, Barbados Underground

36. @ David
    In all fairness to ac, it is not right to chastise her for being guilty of political comments that are “waning”….
    The fact is that ALL ac’s subjects are similarly affected 🙂

37. all i am saying that in this instance a positive was done in parliament yesterday and when one read the comments by some it as ‘a so what response’ “let”s wait and see” fuh god sake there comes a time to give credit where applicable and not continuing the decry or downplay of a bill with a measure of significant porportions under the disaguise of “wait and see”. a more positive response should have been applied especially having to wait for such a long period of time to see this legislation make its way into parliament. The BILL will be come law there in no doubt about it!

38. bush tea say what you like i will “WANE ON”

39. all kinds of frigging excuses in an avoidance to guve credit to PM STUART !bull s…t!!

40. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

Wile the Bill was being debated in our ” poorrakey ” Parliament I saw Owen Arthur driving S 3862 , a white Audi SUV ,happily through Bridgetown going away from Parliament seemingly on his own business . Given his record of attendance that did not surprise me . It was just another act of the non-playing captain .

41. It is evident Arthur does not intend to contribute to debates in any serious way. It is also evident that civil society could care less. A sad commentary but there you have it. It is up to the House to amend archaic rules and demand the MPs participate in debates unless out of country.

42. Rate This
    David | December 5, 2012 at 6:34 AM |

Your credibility is waning the more and more you comment on political issues.

Not ac, its your credibility waning BU you were furious since the Dems become government over their lack of bringing integrity legislation. They have now brought the laws but you persist as if its business as usual. The legislation is on the books in the House you could try to be reasonable and give GOB a pass mark for granting your wish.

43. Just Saying

A law is only said to be on the books when the Governor-General signs it into law and it is published in the Official Gazette.

Don’t get too excited there is integrity legislation and then there is integrity legislation. The devil is in the detail. I want to see the end product so forgive me if I am cautious.

44. The article is a blatant attempt to divert attention from the first passage of the bill and to refocus attention on the Bill as not being passed in an attempt to plant seeds of doubt about the Bill final passge Where is the credibility in such a disengenuious response just for once truth and ethics in journalism should have been displayed on BU

45. stupse
    ♫bajans don’t know what they want♫

46. Listen to Caswell mealey mout respond trying to lecture people about law. Political yardfowlism at the highest level. Caswell seem to think everybody is Dumb including the PM.he knows everything and the rest of us dummmies need to be schooled at his “school of expertise”in political science.

47. Caswell Frankly you pay back the government of Barbados for the car you stole ?

What about the baby you made with the Guyanese young girl (while still being married to your wife Rhonda)

Did you ever apologise to Rhonda for bringing shame on her ?

I am not surprised that you would admit to us there is INTEGRITY…..and…..there is INTERGRITY !

In your case it is…..INTERGRITY – BABY…..Guyanese STYLE !

48. ac
    Do you know how many bills were passed in the lower house that only became law YEARS afterwards …. Or never at all?

This is only phase 2, there are many more phases to go before we actually have a law.

Are we so mediocre that we start giving awards before the baby even conceive? The initial act just done…Remember the WI cricket team was to white wash Bangladesh in the 1 day series too….

WHEN the PM gets this through to LAW, we will collectively KNIGHT HIM and elevate him to national hero status….. Until then, hopeful skeptics..

49. We will still have a lack of integrity as some where along this road I believe that loopholes exist and some smart lawyers and others will be making plenty of of non-productive money. We already have more than enough laws in Barbados that we fail to monitor and end up in confusion and people being hurt. This will just be another one that will not be used unless we have people with horrible motives going after people they do not like. We will have the strong going after the weak. I would like governments to get on with the job of running the country to the benefit of all and stop all of this game playing.