Submitted by Check-It-Out (not to be confused with Checkit-Out)
The Club Barbados

The IMF’s Barbados 2011 Article IV Report includes the following – on page 17. In referring to the 2.6% increase in tourist arrivals in 2010.  “Overall the growth i arrivals was enhanced by intensified marketing, air lift capacity expansion in source markets, due partly to the introduction of low-cost carriers, and a number of sporting events in Barbados.” It later states “Barbados needs to continue to reinvent and expand its products, while engaging more in marketing”.

I am happy to report that there is a 1/4 page joint Elite Island Resorts Caribbean/Air Canada Vacations ad on page A12 of the Toronto Star today, which features 2 properties in Antigua, 1 property in St. Lucia, and The Club Barbados. The price for 5 nights at The Club Barbados in mid January, including a spa credit and 3-day car rental, is CAD$1,499.00 plus $117 taxes and fees.

So, I went to Elite’s website to check out The Club Barbados, and discovered that Elite has reinvented the Almond Beach Club and Spa as The Club Barbados.  They could not have done any major reinvention work in the short time they have had it, but it looks like they have spruced up the tired old Club; and they have presumably done some staff training so their guests will feel welcome. And, they are engaging in marketing. As the Barbados Flying Fish logo does not appear in the ad, it suggests that BTA has no involvement.

I may just book the deal – and be able to walk to the Sandy Lane beach and hang out with the rich and famous on a pauper’s budget. It has been suggested by some bloggers that the hoteliers in Barbados should stop depending on BTA to bring guests to Barbados’s shores and their properties, and do their own marketing. It seems that Elite is doing just that.

In surfing around Elite’s website I came across the following page:

Elite Island Resorts are delighted to have our own dedicated office based in the UK, managed by our associated company, Resort Marketing International Ltd. We even have our own European Managing Director, Paula Whitehead, based at Resort Marketing International’s Chelmsford office. Resort Marketing International are long standing members of ABTA ‘Travel Industry Partners’

On Elite’s behalf, Resort Marketing International manages the European sales, marketing, reservations and payments for the Elite Island Resort’s, including our group, direct and valued repeat customer bookings.

Reservations made through our Resort Marketing International office are booked directly into the Elite hotel’s reservation system. Please note that credit card payments for UK & European reservations are taken by each hotel and are shown on your statement as the hotels full name. Offering complete peace of mind and security of booking.

On Elite Island Resort’s behalf, Resort Marketing International Ltd. are Members of ABTA’s ‘Travel Industry Partner’ programme. Plus our dedicated team based at Resort Marketing International are intimately acquainted with each of our charming properties.

Thank you for taking the time to learn about our UK operation. If you would like to contact our UK office, please find the details below:

Resort Marketing International Ltd.
17-19 Richmond Road
Dukes Park,
Chelmsford
Essex, CM2 6UA
United Kingdom
T: +44 (0) 1245 459900
E:
elite@resort-marketing.co.uk

I wonder what Butch would do with the Almond Village. Perhaps some of the other hotels may consider following the Elite marketing model

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, some very interesing points. I am not sure many hotels on Barbados rely on the BTA to market their property. From a small hotel perspective during my short time on the board, I fought for ten months to get a marketing budget. Finally a annual sum of $150,000 was agreed out of a then budget of BDS$92 million. This equates to around $60 a room or $1,260 per small hotel (based of average size) per year. In our near 25 years, if we had relied on filling the hotel through BTA marketing efforts, we would simply not exist, let alone have won so many internationally recognised awards. And how could they effectively sell our small hotel when the vast majority of BTA staff have never visited it. The BTA has lost its declared mandate and objective. It has to be restructured to become a lean, mean professional marketing machine and NOT yet another Government administration department.
    Philadelphia, Atlanta and now Dallas, critical airlift all gone because no one follows through.

2. @Adrian

We have not heard the minister of tourism recently. We are at another election and no tourism master plan. Is this our number one industry or not?

3. Former CEO of the BTA David m Rice needs to update his Linkedin profile.

4. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, after the heady predictions by the Central Bank Governor earlier this year, the distastrous long stay (and cruise) visitor arrival figures for July and August (and wait for September) and The PM’s final agreement to meet with the BHTA (from no meeting to meeting every six weeks) I am not sure that is much credability there any more.
    The private sector sent some very strong signals earlier this year and for some reason the Minister, PM and Government didn’t take them seriously.
    We are paying the price. No MasterPlan, No head of the BTA (end of this month) and no direction.

5. have any body noticed that “Spring break ” is a big motivator for international youth who saves their last dollar to travel places like brazil! mexico and fla. fuh god sake barbados havethe same attractions that draw thousnds of kids to those places why can’t the BTA think outside of the box for just one minute and be innovative this goes too for the hotel industry who for one reason or another ignores the cultural industry and the valuable input that can be derived in heping barbados tourism market grow the “spring break” concept has generated million of dollars in big tourist markets and could be used annually to promote our dying industry and as such would be ideal for a place for barbados to have promoting our culture our island and beautiful beaches .,

6. @ac
    have any body noticed that “Spring break ” is a big motivator for international youth who saves their last dollar to travel places like brazil! mexico and fla. fuh god sake barbados
    SPRING BREAK………= DISTANCETIME = MONEY….kids don’t have

We would have to put up a special package…..

7. onions

have any body noticed that “Spring break ” is a big motivator for international youth who saves their last dollar to travel places like brazil! mexico and fla. fuh god sake barbados
    SPRING BREAK………= DISTANCETIME = MONEY….kids don’t have

ac@onions
    go tell that to the tourist industry in markets like FL and brazil and mexico. your kind mentality is prevalent through barbados that is why we stay suck and content on letting things remain the same instead of moving forward. the ” spring break concept has worked and continues kids love fun and where there is fun they would follow example RHI RHI concert, recession did not stop even the poor from attending now onions go back to sleep too early to talk crap in the morning

8. Barbados is confirmed to be a high priced destination which makes it a challenge to advertise a spring break product.

9. LOL

10. “Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
    That struts and frets his hour upon the stage”

Macbeth

11. Whats wrong with you people don.t you guys have a brain that marketing startegises consist of compromises which includes all kinds of packages geared to specfic group fuh christ sake can.we not use other peoples ideas that have worked for them and incorporate them with some of ours instead of sitting back and doing nothing.BTW not only would such an idea attract international markets but right here in our own backyards . don.t pay onionsno mind he also is against casino on cruise liners what does he know.

12. @ ac
    We cannot compete with low cost destinations..in terms of distance with Mexico or Santo Domingo….peso .v dollar…people go on some these breaks for as little as $350 US…can we beat that and still make it feasible? We don’t just want beer drinking studs running amok exchange in for gum and peanut reminds.

13. bajans have become lazy mentality and “naysayers” preferring only to rely on outsiders to direct them instead of using ideas of those who have “been there” and “done that” generating income cannot begin by starting with a” negative approach by getting a hold of that whichhas worked for others and finding ways to make it work for yourself .leave it up to onions his idea would be to SELL barbados in hope to generate CASH. POOR FOOL that he is

14. Hello Hello….before one makes a decision it must be deemed feasible. Unless you want to say…just seeing people is successful tourism. It the bottom line that is important and not just a body count. Whats the good in having 30,000 broke students mashing up the hotels in exchange for peanuts? Certain hotels in the US don’t do ‘Spring Breakers’ for good reasons. Then one must remember the Sandy Lane clientele….”Spring Break ? Oh we are not going there this year…Geves call the travel agency.”….Think on it ac…..maybe more bad than good in attracting SBers

15. Cancun, UP ..a well adorned SB destinations ..records a decline because of high air fares…just imagine flying to Barbados
    snip……per blogger #6
    6. Re: Spring Break Tourism Down
    Mar 08, 2012, 8:45 AM

I think it is airfare. Cancun is still a good value for spring break but people can’t afford to get there. If I didn’t use points for my May trip, we may not have gone to Mexico.

The problem is airlines don’t want tourists – they want business travelers. Routes like Detroit to Cancun are not very profitable for airlines.
    Also, many of the old charter companies went under or have stopped serving tourists. For the most part, Ryan International has stopped working with Funjet and is focusing on military charters. USA3000 is gone and ATA is gone. In the past, you would see all of the airlines at DTW but Spirit and Delta are the only non-stop options to Cancun from DTW. They have cut back on flights are they are charging more than twice as much as they charged a few years ago. Other airlines with 1&2 stop options are also more expensive. Two stops on American was $100 more than the cost of a non-stop ticket two years ago.
    Sure, the crime worries make a difference but I don’t think it is the main issue. The economy (remember, tuition is more expensive now and student employment is harder to come by) and airfare are probably the main issues. Unfortunately, there is little they can do to change these issues. Dropping resort prices and a good PR campaign can only do so much.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g150807-i8-k5225572-Spring_Break_Tourism_Down-Cancun_Yucatan_Peninsula.html

16. Our tourism product is simply tired and this is one of the biggest problems, whether it is marketed or not. We sat on our laurels of beautiful beaches and seas with some sex thrown in, and we figured it would weather the storm. We allowed our product and service to deteriorate to horrible proportions thinking all would be okay.

We also never never really looked at the biggest tool in the tourism industry and one that I have been screaming about since 1999 when my first book came out – Culinaria: The Caribbean – and that is the importance of culinary tourism.

And not American or European culinary tourism but our own…our traditional culinary traditions as well as our ‘up a notch’ possibilities using local products. One just has to look at Oistins and see what we have done…allowed US ready-made chips and US Barbecue sauce to come into the equation and take over our tastes. Sorry…but I have tried and tried to love Oistins and I am disappointed with it all…why did we ever get rid of our coal pots and traditions for the American Barbecue grill…that’s why I take all to Baxter’s Road…those who have been to Oistins never go back after Baxter’s Road.

We have also ignored the biggest area that would go hand in hand with such ‘advanced’ thoughts (never mind the rest of the world got it…even the rest of the Caribbean!) of culinary tourism and that is the agricultural sector. How about ‘clean’ organic agricultural sector (the latter not only feeding the people and their culinary arts but reducing the health bill enormously!). We have also ignored what should come with both these things and that is free solar power for all and recycling.

Now having ‘suddenly’ and I say suddenly because whilst many would like to ignore this fact, it was I who first placed the idea of such a venture, we have a Food & Wine here but what has it proven?… that we are still not understanding culinary tourism. It is not just about having Celebrity Chefs peoples, big names from foreign, but it also about showing that our local foods can be made into culinary delights..and what better way to showcase same but to have local Chefs made into Celebrity Chefs (US and British Chefs are in their own countries…what the hell is wrong with us) as our big call-card… with invited Celebrity Chefs playing a big part too but having to use local…yes! I said local produce and products to showcase their expertise, teaching our cooks and chefs also how to take a simple traditional dish and take it into levels that would surprise the gourmands of this world. And what is wrong in inviting Caribbean Chefs here too??? As Chef Peter Edey cries (into the wilderness) we can use the techniques from the big guys abroad because we cannot afford to go where they are taught…but for crying out loud use those techniques with out local and traditional foods.

So okay as I said above… we have a Food & Wine & Rum festival….but a festival such as this should not be one that cannot be afforded by the average Barbadian. I have been to the Food Network South Beach Food & Wine Festival many times…and for US$100 (maybe it has gone up of recent) anyone can spend a whole day tasting and drinking of the best, getting to understand the culinary arts, interacting with Chefs, feeling good service with a smile, being part of a real show with musicians and circus acts and and and…from champagne to caviar to everything the US and other countries produce, sold in the US. Of course one has special nights at higher costs to dine with a Celebrity Chef but there is a definite hype and interaction on all levels of the pocket throughout South Beach during these festival days. And the media carry it daily too. Actually the whole festival becomes a festival of the people and for the people attracting thousands from ALL over the world! And important is the showcasing of foods from all over also…but it is a sideline. I have met and covered for the Jamaica Gleaner (and other magazines) so many Celebrity Chefs from Ferran Adria (Spain) to Jean Georges to Nobu – all doing their own cuisine… and they walk around freely enjoying and interacting with people, putting on shows and seminars…talking food….the excitement is huge and heavy. Why do I not see Caribbean Chefs invited up as Celebrity Chefs to Food & Wine up there….’cause if we do not make them Celebrity Chefs down here they will not be Celebrity Chefs period…and if we do not have them as using local produce to showcase our food, then we have no other food but what they have already! Geez.

We do not get it.

Jamaica does. One only has to see what the simple ‘Observer Food Awards’ has done over the years…giving local Chefs a chance to win awards – great awards that are showcased in the media over and over again…that makes their restaurant special for years to come…one only has to see how ‘the Awards’ has grown too and the mileage that is given to local Chefs…. the level of sponsorship etc etc. And Celebrity Chefs are invited to seminars and special nights. Oh! Yes! But we think that it is major major to have our Culinary team come home from the U.S. with a gold or a silver. Yes! it is important but we should have our own amazing awards here too…and please…not one for only the special few flavours of the month but for ALL.

Then there is Kingston Week based on the culinary weeks all over other lands. This is when restaurants have a prix fixe for small money so that people from all walks of life can be encouraged to understand the culinary arts. Why? because if the people of a country understand the culinary arts, so will the country grow as a culinary destination. This week has also grown into a tourism product. Foodies are big spenders. Foodies will travel the world looking for the new and the most exciting of culinary destinations…taste being the optimum blessing. They do not go to Italy to taste New York food. They do not go to China to taste European…and so on and so on!!!

But you see…we do not also realize that for everything one has to work hard and push on a constant basis…not give up because the first or second year did not make us millionaires overnight. I remember how The Observer Food Awards started and see where it ‘reach’ today – to get a ticket now is like looking for gold. To get a booth to showcase one’s product, the same. Kingston Week – the lady who began that fought hard, almost mortgaged her house, to finally see after years of pushing and pushing, the rewards…now people come from overseas for this. Bu we? here in Barbados? think we know it all. We had Taste of Barbados happening here…and it would have grown and grown but no! it suddenly was stopped and in came the U.S. Food & Wine instead…okay so we added Rum…big deal!

Now, understand me well, the problem is not having a U.S. based Food & Wine Festival here…that is good…as I said I put the idea ‘out there’ in the first place…but Taste of Barbados – an idea started by Michelle Smith-Mayers of the BHTA – should nevah have been put aside to be forgotten but grown to levels that both Festivals would have worked for this country as they should and would have. Ah well…what can I say? Where ignorance is bliss, ’tis folly to be wise.

And I need not say anything more than I have said over and over again about agriculture.

Today I am exhausted by preaching to ears that will not hear and eyes that do not see. I have a 500-page + book on the culinary arts of Barbados, filled with amazing photos, and information, meeting the people of this country, visiting farms, restaurants et al…parish by parish…even got old onion bags in there…yes! onion ah surprising you hey!!!…I have put all my savings into it..and now that I need a last monetary push…one that I am willing to pay back for, in cash, once the book is out (and selling and it will) for I do not want anything for free…I cannot get one single soul to even see me and promises have gone behind the bush…peeking out every now and then to give me hope, only to dash them away over and over again. My last book on Jamaica has won awards as far as Paris where the head of the Gourmand Cookbook Awards said the book should be made into a documentary….but instead of remaining there, in Jamaica, and pushing this book further than it has gone all on its own…even going to the Olympics “this book cannot be left behind” was the cry from government agencies there…I instead left myself and left all behind to follow my dream of producing an Encyclopedia Caribbean on our Culinary Arts.

And I chose Barbados (lawd have is mercy) because of the enthusiasm shown to me by many over this decision…I could have gone anywhere….but I chose the land of my grandparents (by birth) and my parents by virtue of having lived here since the 60s. And today I stand depleted and tired. Exhausted by the fight. Still able to nearly finish the actual putting together of same said book but with almost no hope of getting it out there unless a miracle happens. Those who have gotten me all excited about even making a documentary, seeing better possibilities in silly badly-acted foolish sit-coms. Those who said they would help giving thousands of dollars to other areas such as ‘entertainment’ and ‘designer clothing’ in the way of ‘grants’ and ‘funding’ never to be paid back or seen again….hmmm…even, as I have been made to understand, to people who already have tons of money in the bank, and also to companies that clearly know somebody who knows somebody. All of it is a crying shame. Not just for me sitting here with an amazing product but for many, many creatives who live here and go beyond the usual. I mean last night I sat and watched the news…and there a gentleman whose name I cannot recall…was going on and on about how this ‘new’ idea of using Heritage to push Barbados is now going to be used in a most innovative way and a way that will help tourism…and guess what that was….a fashion show at the Museum! Excuse me? Like we do not have a million fashion shows almost monthly!

Yes! I put my name to what I say. Yes! It is like committing suicide. But until we the people can come out and say what we have to say with impunity and strength, and let all know who we are – the people yes us the people – we will never go much further. Put your house in order Barbados. We can do it. We are a small island with huge possibilities. But we are sadly missing the boat.

And, finally, please note I say all the above, not to be felt sorry for…I have never cared much about anyone doing that over me…I am just speaking the truth here…and who doan like it can knock me down as many love to do on these blogs…I know without a doubt that the work I have done on this book will be completed and this book will come out one way or another no matter what the odds because I am a fighter. But to say that I will continue the fight in other areas that could save this country from losing all of its tourism thrust (and losing itself too), I ent know ’bout dat. I far too old for the stress.

But I will repeat…the two things that are ignored totally on this island… Its food and its agriculture…are the very things that could help to save us big time. Yes! we have lots of other problems….bi-partisan and incestuous behaviour…digging out each others eye for the last dollar being another…putting good money into bad projects again, another…a disdain for service and a smile…drugs all over the place…our health in a mess..and a cost of living that is by far becoming a huge cross we have to bear… and we could have done it better by just paying attention to food and agriculture. Oh! And free solar energy paid for with the wasted monies in other foolish projects…and of course, recycling.

The way of the future has been for a quite awhile eco-sustainable culinary tourism…have we missed the boat? Perhaps. Our own fault if it has but I do believe it is never too late.

Just my myopic chuped and ignorant opinion.

17. At the end of the day feasibility studies must be carried out to decide what will make money, works well, and not displacing other worthy opportunities. In the end,a final decision will be made, given all risk and cost considerations…..Solid sound management decision making, while welcoming all ideas and attempting to avoid the risk of mistakes. Tourism is filled with risky decisions and failure to make adequate considerations can be costly.

18. As we have seen old onions, as we have seen. But tell me that we have tried food and agriculture. Tell me that we have not ignored all the signs for eco-sustainable tourism and that includes food. I am sure there are many, many other very worthy causes that will help tourism…but the above are very very important and i will ask the question, again and again, are we too late? Perhaps. And as for studies, we should have been doing these long time ago and we would have also come to the same conclusion as I have…and by now we would still be okay economy wise – why? ’cause even if travelling to Barbados was too expensive, we would be keeping a lot of money at home, useful for bad times.

19. By the way…I ran a hotel in Negril and when the Spring Breaker lot came down to have us lower our rates and sign agreements…I put my hand up in a cross and said no way. However, said I…I will welcome them. I will not lower my rates…I will give a discount…because this is a special place. And..each of your ‘well-behaved’ Spring Breakers will leave their credit cards at the door. I will not remove all furniture out of the room. Everything will remain the same but one little tiny piece of vomit on a plant will incur a cost. The organizers filled my resort with those who had credit cards. I had one boy vomit on the verandah, he cleaned it all up on his own whilst I watched with so many ‘sorries ‘it was not even funny. I made a lot of young friends. They loved our resort and chose to return the following year. And yes! they behaved ’cause they knew, the witch was watching.

Spring Breakers need sometimes, sorry, a lot of guidance…and go home the better for it. It is good money, should only be allowed on the south coast perhaps, like how Negril is for Spring Breakers…although to get out of Negril is a far longer cry than from south to west coast ’cause yes! they do cause a lot of commotion at party places, there is no doubt…the laws of our land would have a lot of them in jail unfortunately because they have their own laws. Would I like to see spring breakers in Barbados…??? Not really. Sue Yellin (long left our shores and living in New York) had a good thing going with Spring Breakers until Barbados became a high-end destination on the west, and therefore everywhere. So it has been tried. We are now too expensive and doubt could handle the madness. We can hardly handle what we have already.

20. @ Rosemary
    Agreed.
    Spring Break = Sprung Horrors

21. Speaking of madnees next crop over would be label as such another event that attracts tourist to or shores in the same way “SPRUNGBREAKERS” woul do IN ODER FOR Barbados to have a high profile and sustains it in international markets it must be able to attract all until then barbados would be like the dog and the shadow.

22. Like any other project there would be pitfalls and obstructions but the trick is how one handles those roadblocks by removing them and not letting them immoblised or paralyzed our efforts as a country looking for forex we must not let nuances or small matters hinder us from trying.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2012 at 12:25 PM

What an epiphany! A damascene moment on the road to privatization! Ac has now seen the light and the vital importance of earning forex. My friend ac, only the private sector earns forex. Not the government unless it is borrowing money on the int’l market which must be paid back with high interest on junk bonds. So it follows that the bigger the private sector operating in the forex earning sectors the greater forex earning capacity and opportunities.
    Sounds like commonsense or are you going to respond with the OSA curse book open at page 1,000 with another 1,000 to go before a change in government in 3 months time.

24. Very well said Norma, regarding the culinary arts and the agricultural sector. Another area totally misunderstood by the tourism marketers is the visual arts. They cannot conceptualize that our Caribbean visual art in all its manifestations can attract an entire new group of visitors to our shores. The cultural tourist is perhaps the most sought after profile in the tourism market. They travel to a destination and not only patronize the arts festival but they enjoy great meals and spend money once the get there on art and other merchandise created by artisans, musicians, etc. Full disclosure here…I’m founder of Caribbean Fine Art Fair Barbados, the English speaking Caribbean’s only Fine Art Fair. Visual art and literary festivals need to be encouraged and supported by regional tourism planners and the private sector. Our indigenous culture (not just “wukking up”) needs to be marketed to the world. Similar to the realisation that sports tourism is a sector unto itself, arts festivals are an economic boost waiting to happen. They not only generate revenues for the hotels, taxi drivers, and restaurants, but local artists and artisans will benefit from the sales and exposure when international collectors, academics and culture lovers visit the country. One just has to look at the economic impact that an event like Art Basel Miami has on the local Miami economy every year in December. Also the impact that such events have on the economies of Central and Latin America which have engaged in promoting the visual arts as an international marketing tool. It’s time for our tourism marketers to think “outside of the box”. Competition will continue to increase in the race for the worldwide tourism $ and we need to focus on integrating sectors that differentiate the region in the global marketplace.

25. Anderson…as a visual artist myself I am with you fully. Kathy Yearwood for instance has devoted her life to the visual arts as well…only to be given no respect from those who should know better. And I will not mention names but heads should roll…anywhere else in the world, they would have.

As an author I can also add Literary Festival to another of the arts that would bring people in from all over……there is no doubt that the Calabash Literary Festival in Jamaica has shown the immensity and deep reverence for such…it has worked as an encouragement for not only Jamaicans but Caribbean authors living abroad to come home and share and for publishers to realize that we do have loads of stories to tell and the world is ready for them.

As a lover of music dare I ask what ever happened to our Jazz Festival? Our dance groups? Where did our theatre go?…we have playwrights like Patrick Foster…he happens to have an amazing theatre piece that all that is required is money to produce…something like nothing else ever seen in the Caribbean..a play/musical that is so us and that not only can bring people to this island but can also be exported. Why are the Empire and Queen’s Park theatres in rubble?

The Arts…they all carry with them sensibility and class and they can all do well for the island…however…we also need to be able to share these with people from ALL walks of life, so everyone has the equal opportunity to be a part of something good. The Calabash Literary Festival in Jamaica is free…villagers attend and enjoy with a seriousness and a passion that warms the heart. There is much. Much that can be done.

It is how it is done that is important.

The Arts cannot be seen as something that only the rich and famous can attend and afford…the Arts are for everyone…and this is about OUR Arts not someone else’s….OURS. Has anyone really, really taken the time to see what so many of us are doing…the quality of the work…the immense potential…and I mean ALL of us, not just a chosen sad few because they have friends in the right places…The creatives of this island have been treated with scant respect and this is yet another reason why we are slowly going under. But it is time to get real. I do believe that 1000+ creatives and people who love the arts joining under one voice within hours of the Facebook group going up, all with one thing in mind, to ensure that the Cultural Industries Bill works for ALL..there is no reason under this earth why a Minister of Culture (and I mean no disrespect here and this is not a political cry) and the National Cultural Foundation that answers to the Minister anyhow, should have the kind of autonomy that the Bill in its present form seeks to give them. This will indeed be the ruination of what little real culture we have left.

“There is no doubt that creativity is the most important human resource of all. Without creativity, there would be no progress, and we would be forever repeating the same patterns.” — Edward de Bono

26. yeah miller with SPRING BREAKERS coming in droves annually. maybe it will give reason to privatise our RBPF. what yuh think. we have to be pro active and not overly cautious it took a recession for barbados to have casinos on cruise hopefully it would not take twenty or more years before barbados becomes inclusive and open its tourist market to all and sundry there is more to gain than there is to lose. we need people on our shores and not just hopes and dreams.

27. in early summer mia had a music festival the city was littered with people of all ages races and groups restaurants were jammed pack and yes it was originated with the young in mind the concept was that of bringing people to miami and it worked. getting people to our shores should be the starting point and in order to accomplished that there must be a product presented that is fun easy and simple.and everything else would fall in place,

28. Apologies…my posting should have read:

I do believe that 1000+ creatives and people who love the arts joining under one voice within hours of the Facebook group going up, all with one thing in mind, to ensure that the Cultural Industries Bill works for ALL, tells a big big story. We are NOT sleeping any longer. We are very much AWAKE.

29. yes do try to bring the crazy drunken young girls to be raped and the drunken boys to be locked up or beaten.
    don’t you see that your culture ,so called is one of sex and violence…period
    full stop.
    and while ya at it
    enjoy this.hah
    http://youtu.be/pv2TZMQ6Wlo

30. now tell me why the same English that enslaved us ,murdered us,raped our children,took us in shackles whipped us to death,sold us as dogs
    give a flying funk about[especially the nasty mob types of the UK]
    do anything different now.
    you are fooled by them again.and again,
    will you open your eyes some day?
    barbados and bajans?
    will you see what they have done and are doing to your island with the brutal
    and greedy intent that they had 375 years ago.
    you really think they care ?do you?really?
    they just like to have people to look down on.
    and that is you.

31. Never mind everyone…last night on CBC News…not once but also repeated on the Late Night News in case we did not get it the first time…an absolutely brilliant idea from a gentleman who shall remain nameless…we now have the answer to all our problems. “We are trying to link agriculture with tourism by boiling eggs and taking them to the beaches to show the visitors how they can eat our eggs in the sea – sea eggs, you know.” Lawd help me! And there I was getting all hot around the collar as to how we can save the island….and there it was…all the time…simply…by boiling eggs. Moving forward Barbados…moving forward!

32. When I heard that, according to the same gentleman that we will also have no more problems with export, I realized I have absolutely nothing to worry about…for according to him, we will also be exporting eggs quite soon in all forms such as chicken and in drink. I wondered what planet I was on. Ha ha ha haaaa….eggs in all forms such as chicken and in drinks…actually makes perfect sense to me…boil the eggs, with flour and water as a paste, glue together in the shape of a chicken.. apply for export licence, receive big funding, ship chickens. Neeehxt. In a large container whip eggs, add Sorrel. Apply for an export licence, receive plenty money, ship out drink…

Barbados will soon have no more problems….just remember the operative words…eggs!

And people do not believe it when I say that I am sure there has been no oxygen in the birth canal for awhile ’bout hey!

33. i would say this is a good answer to above suggestions.
    http://youtu.be/EPSxTDJeQ9I