Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank/ Watchdog Group
Owen Arthur, Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley MP, Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

The so-called silly season is upon us. Once more, sooner or later, Barbadians will elect a new BLP/DLP government. Or a new DLP/BLP government. It’s six of one and half dozen of the other.

We can predict that none of the manifestos will contain any of the following:

(a) Radical reform of the educational system and the abolishment of the elitist Eleven Plus Exam, which continues to condemn our children to the equivalent of social and economic gas chambers.

(b) Neither will contain the slightest reference to genuine worker/employee participation in company profits. We have mega businesses that either giving the workers peanuts or nothing at all in terms of real ownership.

(c) Neither will touch land reform that will guarantee perpetual state ownership by the citizens of Barbados. The BLP/DLP has sold our prime land to the highest bidders. On the other hand a few rich locals control most if not all arable land.

We can expect more of the same from the BLP/DLP collective. Mottley has been made to eat humble pie because she so badly wants to be Prime Minister. She has yet to demand that Arthur says publicly exactly, why in his opinion, some citizens may find her “unacceptable” as our Prime Minister.We are forced to ask: Is Mottley a threat to national security?

In the midst of all the drama, we have calls to privatise the Transport Board, Grantley Adams International Airport and our Deep Water Harbour. These deals will further enrich the foreign and local investors and present lawyers from both sides with hefty paychecks for legal services. Heading the list of auctioneers are the BLP/DLP collective and pollster /call in program host, Peter Wickham.

After a thorough review of recent events, the Mahogany Coconut Watchdog Group has concluded:

1.The reason Mottley has to suck up to Arthur is because she wants power;

2.The reason Arthur came back is because he wants power;

3.The reason that Stuart cannot touch Sinkler, and the Eager eleven is because he wants power;

4. The reason that Broomes (Alexandra School) acted the way he did is because he wants power;

5. The reason that Leroy Parris (CLICO) can walk about freely is because he is very close to the power brokers.

The BLP/DLP can now be justifiably branded neo-colonialists and both have become: incompetent, visionless and corrupt. They are no longer fit to govern our island state.

1. Observing (...) Avatar

“The BLP/DLP can now be justifiably branded neo-colonialists and both have become: incompetent, visionless and corrupt. They are no longer fit to govern our island state.”

amm, ok.. now what? lol.

2. Transparency, please..... Avatar
    Transparency, please…..

So power is the route of all evil ?!?!

3. I am convinced many people who post on BU…..just refuse to think before engaging their finger tips…..e.g… BLPDLP or DLPBLP jaga…so must we form a third alternative then? I seriously believe that this recent posture of “6 is half dozen” theory is intended to encourage people not to vote….”same as them tief too” ……So if no one voted MCTTWG…how do we go forward?….dont tell me you din think of that

4. In the midst of all the drama, we have calls to privatise the Transport Board, Grantley Adams International Airport and our Deep Water Harbour. These deals will further enrich the foreign and local investors and present lawyers from both sides with hefty paychecks for legal services. Heading the list of auctioneers are the BLP/DLP collective and pollster /call in program host, Peter Wickham.

and to think socalled intelligent like onions and miller buying it all.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 3, 2012 at 9:46 PM |

Buying what, ac?
    The miller has long promoted divestment and privatization. Both Wickham and those bandwagon hoppers are followers. If you doubt me ask David BU.
    Or I will reproduce my manifesto of divestment for reiteration.
    The Government of Barbados is fiscally broke and like most persons on the road to bankruptcy must sell its assets to survive. 1991/92over again but this time with greater intensity.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bags(FRIGG YOU DAVID)

“I am convinced many people who post on BU…..just refuse to think before engaging their finger tips”

You just describe yourself to a “T” right there.

7. Fiscally broke or not we should not let Trinidad own our seaport and Airport as is being proposed by the BLP and Peter Wickham

8. @ac
    I am sure you have heard from Mr.Tony “the truth must be known” Marshall via his investigations, that most of the escalated HIGH prices on imported goods originated at the Port.
    This is so due to the inefficiencies at the institution, that would not be accommodated if the Port was privately owned.
    Do you not see therefore, that its within the interest of Barbadians as a whole, for the Port to be privatized…. or would you rather continue to pay high food prices? We would still be able to exert pressure on the new owners thru regulatory body like FTC…if that is your fear..Good example BNB…see how profitability has risen…we therefore are receiving more returns NOW… that when we owned it….

9. yeah people like you would sell yuh mudda if the price is right to pay the bill. whatever. wickham don;t give two rats ass about the barbados electorate. privitization does not mean a way to and end .a nations strength is in its security when all the bills are paid and hell breaks out and govt has no way to turn to protect its people then what. even the greatest nation amerika holds on to its transportation Airports and Water services and post office and america national deblt is off the chain yuh think the ameican gvt dumb like you and wickham and miller to sell off their nation interest to some unkmown entity. to pay a bill..

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“1.The reason Mottley has to suck up to Arthur is because she wants power;

2.The reason Arthur came back is because he wants power;”

You hit the nail on the head.

I could not have said it better myself.

11. The major problem in the formation of a government is that the best brains do not seek political office coupled with the fact that the best brains are no longer promoted to hold the top jobs in the Public Service. What we have now could only be described as a second eleven team emerging as the Government. When they assume office, they ensure that their half wit friends are promoted to the senior ranks of the Public Service. Consequently, the country is saddled with a set of incompetent persons forming the Government who don’t know what to do, and a set of incompetent senior public officers who are incapable to advise the Government. This is what we have today, and if you look at the slim pickings on offer on both sides of the political fence that is what will emerge after the next general elections. Six or half dozen whosoever forms the Government that is my prediction.

12. Onions
    Where in Barbados does THE PRIVATE SECTOR drop prices. The electric company is a monopoly and keeps killing us with high electrics bills but the service is poor.
    Electricity goes off on a regular basis for two minutes and comes back on while damaging our equipment.

13. wickham now belives that the poll gives him a special right to influence policy in the country over the nation’s security putting it at risk. . bajans need to look around and not be complacent and having a false perception and assumption that the only certain countries have political unrest and it cannot happen in barbados., .

14. inefficiencies does not mean sale the BLP had fourteen years to correct the “inefficiencies” and they did not. now in a quick fix scheme at the risk of barbados national interest the BLP is having a FIRE SALE ! DESPERATION! any body with one ounce of common sense would figure that is dangerous territory to step on getting short term results with deadly long term consequences.

15. Would Guy Fawkes be considered a terrorist today or a hero …?

16. Some free advice to DLPites. It is clear Thompson’s strategy is not being followed by Stuart. Leading up to the 2008 general election the DLP controlled the narrative in the social space. BU had requests to repost Hartley Henry’s articles which did not always mirror what was posted in the Advocate, there were articles from George Pilgrim and others. This time around the BLP has compiled that approach with the DLP abandoning it.

Amazing!

17. Hi David,
    Can you confirm that Owen Arthur was arrested for possession of drugs while his brother Richard Arthur, has been arrested for possession of firearms and ammunition today at GAIA ?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Anon | October 4, 2012 at 9:46 AM |

Hi, Anon.
    Can you also confirm that the FBI has issued an arrest warrant for Lashes on money laundering charges while Dennis his lowedown colleague in crime is on the run and suspected of hiding in a dump where he has stashed his cut of the loot?

19. (B) damned right not going to happen however thank god for the emploment legislation which gives workers support and not having to be treated like disposable papercups

20. Observing (...) Avatar

“This time around the BLP has compiled that approach with the DLP abandoning it.”

The DLP seems to have abandoned alot of things.

21. Hi Miller,
    I cannot help you with your questions !

But the ones I POSED Bajans would recall :

1. Owen Arthur publicly owning up to a $ 750,000.00 cheque he deposited into his personal bank account.

Interesting news for you and others, Owen admitted that the proceeds of that cheque was not part of his salary as PM of Barbados !

UNFORTUNATE NEWS for you as well , there are more evidence of such cheques in the hands of the man that has the screels on Owen !

2. Richard Arthur was publicly paraded in the press for illegal possession of guns and ammunition.

Interesting news for you and others , what did Owen Arthur know about Richard’s activities from 7 years ago ?

As PM Stuart tell wunnah…….the BEES can keep Owen Arthur !

I hope you noticed how the press showing PM Stuart as cool as a cucumber !

Miller, you need to grab hold of Owen and ask HIM

1.Why he told Barbadians Mia Mottley is not fit to be PM of Barbados ?

2. Why he has failed to call the PAC to meet on the Bridgetown Marina project after threatening to do so ?

Owen Arthur hoping for a CRISIS to get back in power……..PM Stuart knows what causes Owen Arthur sleepless nights !

Take it easy…the campaign ain’t start yet .

22. So miller what you think that selling barbados to the highest or lowest bidder is the way to go. And decapitating the pblic sectors having heads rolled downbroadstreet in a fit of frenzy and the living masses like dutiful citizens once again clean up the BLP mess or if there a better an affordable plan the BLP have in mind.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Anon | October 4, 2012 at 10:30 AM |

“Hi Miller, I cannot help you with your questions !
    But the ones I POSED Bajans would recall :
    1. Owen Arthur publicly owning up to a $ 750,000.00 cheque he deposited into his personal bank account.”

Get you facts straight. You start wrong so every thing that follows can be assumed to be wrong too:

Is the cheque in the amount of $750,000; $75,000; $3.3 million; $10 million or $34 million?
    When you are able to clarify the situation we will try to answer the other questions. Comprenez?

24. Hi Miller,

I always knew that figure $ 75,000.0 was stuck in your throat like a FISH BONE !

And why Owen put it into his personal bank account ?

I know you are not a lawyer – neither am i – so the million $$$ questions you posed would have to be answered by those in the legal fraternity !

25. @ Anon
    Go and rest your SOUL……LIES CHEATIN n STEALING is why you all losing the ELECTIONS….you all silly enuff to feed us more ? GO AHEAD….

26. Anon……you is D Trindad Woman right…man you cant hide D writing style..A lawyer too RIGHT? GO FIGURE

27. Hi Onions,

You tired tormented soul. Which election we losing ? The BLP out there every weekend campaigning and only 5 % ahead of the DEMS ?
    40 % of the electorate regard the Mia – Owen mek up as window dressing ? The BLP calling on the DEMS to call elections ?

If the BLP is such a credible alternative to be in OFFICE…….the BEES are the ones to shut down the country to demonstrate that the Barbadian electorate are dying to have them back in POWER !

Hi……those Onions in yuh bag are ROTTEN !

28. Hi Anon
    I feel your pain playing Catch Up……Deep down inside now…we being reeeeaaal……honesty den ..no games…no like Irene sandi..G
    you done know DLP is yesterday food….sad part is each day…(and we both know it.).IT GETTING WORSE…cuz Commanda n Chief…want HEADS TO ROLL….that is the truth, whole truth and nuttin but the truth….DLP DONE til.. 2027, and you can quote me on that…

29. Hi Onions,

You calling for the election date and it will come…….but only on the DEMS terms !

We know that bothers you….but here is the truth…… if the CADRES poll says you will win in September 2012 ( and according to you the longer the PM waits to call it the WORSE it gets for the DEMS )

Then your LOGIC….which you clearly seems to DOUBT…..would mean that when the election date is announced within the first 3 months of 2013….that the BEES would clearly be the WINNERS !

So the BIG question is…….why wunnah cannot wait ?????

30. Look, Donville Inniss is now majority share holder in Bay View Hospital. He has also used his position as Min of Health to avail himself of opportunities to side with generic producers of pharmaceuticals (out of China, he was in China just four weeks ago with tax payers money) in a deal that will reward him as primary suppliers of these drugs to the drug service.

Now I say to you political hacks, which among these f4cks do you actually believe are involved with elective politics because they have a dire need to serve you … Uh …? Onions, ac, CCC, (Miller ?) are you all so f#cking blind?

31. @Anon
    Sorry Anon
    It don’t work like that…..the discretion option like it get tek way from the Fundy Boo and now but a limited limited window….Like you din READ my buddy Miller n Harold Hoyte article (see Dear Dear Oct 4th .8.35am) he could now only play around until to Jan 22 the max…….hehe…TIME SOON UP ….

Oh boo hue..

32. Hey Baffy
    Now I say to you political hacks, which among these f4cks do you actually believe are involved with elective politics because they have a dire need to serve you … Uh …? Onions, ac, CCC, (Miller ?) are you all so f#cking blind?
    Wait wha happen? What you calling my name for ?I look like a F#kng Donville whippin boy to you?

Do Get a grip Bud…!!!

33. Anon get shocked….and gone to check…LOL

34. @Onions
    This is so due to the inefficiencies at the institution, that would not be accommodated if the Port was privately owned.

The inefficiencies at the Port are the result of a cosy mutual back-scratching between the management and the union. No privatisation will change that without the country being prepared to be without a port or an airport in operation for a prolonged period of time. I believe that the practices there are so entrenched that they can never be changed.

35. @ Baffy
    The expression is: “Come back, Guy Fawkes, all is forgiven!” Makes a great bumper sticker

36. @BAFBFP

What is sad is that 90% of the population don’t know or couldn’t care.

37. @BAFBFP

You sharing some hot lick today. Gallop on! You see why we can never have integrity legislation in Barbados. Nothing will change until we burn some people in Bridgetown

38. @ Peltdownman
    You are welcome to continue that belief….DAYS ARE CHANGING FAST…you can only hold out such presto in good times….Unions will also go thru transitions, its a negotiation right? ….Have you not realized the settlements of recent? The one time big hauncho attitude of the Port will too. Could you picture a box of cornflakes landing for $8.00 final, but on the self price $19.00 if common sense fails to prevail?

There is too much wastage of manpower and duplication at the Port. They are so lazy in there, that employees are given bicycles to ride around. You see three men employed to do medial work ..that one man can do.. Do you think a private enterprise will accommodate such excess ? No sir, the power of market forces and level playing field will sort that one out. Why should Barbadians continue to pay thru their backsides while Port workers get exorbitant overtime and ride bicycles all around ? We know its working in luxury and backing of threats of” gine shutdown the country”…once they don’t get their way… BEFORE privatization.

( Hope you not a Port worker) LOL..Str8 talk brudds

39. @Onions

Did a similar situation at the Port obtain when the BLP was in office? If the answer is yes what will you do different this time around.

40. We were talking ANTE and EX privatization…..David

41. @BAFBFP
    “Look, Donville Inniss is now majority share holder in Bay View Hospital. He has also used his position as Min of Health to avail himself of opportunities to side with generic producers of pharmaceuticals (out of China, he was in China just four weeks ago with tax payers money) in a deal that will reward him as primary suppliers of these drugs to the drug service”………………………………………….

I heard of this a few weeks ago but was waiting for confirmation before I mentioned it. Thanks for the confirmation. The man is smart looking after himself and storing up for when he is no longer minister. Can you imagine how rich he will become if all or most of the generic drugs coming into Barbados in the future will have to come through him!

Carson and assie anon, did the minister pay for this trip to China?? You can curse me all you want, I will not lower myself to your gutter standards, anon! How can you still come on this blog and justify a minister going to Utah for sports when I cannot get my tax refund.

You low life Dems always like to be up in people’s bedroom business!

42. Who on BU ain’t tricking somebody like the politicians? lmao Products of our society peoples. Wunna wont listen to me, so let me repeat: it must star from within, standing on the outside and pretending to be the second coming of Christ will change zilch.

43. Life on Farmville

Farmer Brown inherited a thriving farm from a noble benefactor. Brown was elated. His pigs were plump and healthy.Hens laying eggs by the droves.Living in the barn was a wise old owl called Olie.He also had geese, ducks and a team of work horses, he called Taxes. Taxes was a robust five horse team that worked day and night if asked never refusing Farmer Brown’s ask. Farmville was so lovely a sight to see, that it became a tourist attraction, with visitors paying good money to see the geese and sheep n hens do their thing. money was flowing….
    All in all life on Farmville was sweet. Brown was most pleased and one day said “Whatever could ever go wrong on my farm, I say to you come, for you shall be punished with laughter, or your mountain I shall give way to my mice.” Oh what a mistake that turned out to be as the Sun Goddess Ula heard foolish Farmer Brown challenge. So too did wise owl Owlie in the barn and he was astound.

Next day Ula decided not to look the way of Farmville, instead the Rain Goddess Ravish saw this opportunity to open the flood gates on the fields below. It rained for two days non stop and Farmville turn almost to a sponge. None of the visitors accustomed visiting could no longer make the trip and Farmville was losing money. Farmer Brown knowing this, the next day woke up the team of work horses Taxes, and said somebody got to pay for this, and with that he drove them into the fields to do some most onerous work.
    Wise owl Olie saw what had happened and called Farmer Brown aside and warned him of his follies. ” Brown, what kinda poppet ask you is doa? Like you wanna kill these work horses. Look that ent the problem….working Taxes so hard…you need to apologize to Ula above for your stupid ways…you is a mad man or what? Farmer Brown knowing Olie was right but being the proud pomp he was said..” I have nothing to apologize for….don’t you know who I am? I am Nero….look that up you stupid ass Bird you. With that he resumed over working Taxes, until one day the team could take no more and just so, up and dead like neblett goat..BLAm. Just picture twenty foot up in the air. Farmer Brown could not believe his eyes…sorrowful but unremorseful, he decided to hold til the sinew,… and went a bought a new tether and an accompanying new team of work horses.Wise Olie saw again and stupess…He aint listening to nobody…D same thing gine happen again…Sweet Life duz don’t Last too Long…..when your ears hard….You know she was right. By year end the mountain labored and gave birth to a mouse… Farmville was taken over by new owners.As to ex Farmer Brown, he says he aint want to talk to nobody cuz a nice big fat cheque still comes home eva month on the front house table, so he good.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | October 4, 2012 at 11:54 AM |

Let us get this straight with no bullshit strings attached.

You are telling us that Donville is the major shareholder in a private sector medical facility that would facilitate the importation of second rate medicines out of China like some of the poor quality consumer goods found in the stores. Isn’t this against the ministerial code of conduct and an integral part of the oath sworn before the GG? So why is this being allowed by Freundel who is trying to convince the naive voters that he is not corrupt but full of honesty and integrity?

But why are we surprised at Donville the Porn King. If he is capable of making money from promoting flicks portraying bestiality, pregnant women involved in sexual explicit scenes and other morally left-field sexual portrayals why would he think twice of selling fake drugs to innocent naïve Bajans? Never mind the hypocritical annual parade of denouncing Bajans who abandon their old family members at the door steps of the QEH. The “Families First” is a just a slogan just like a façade to get rich as the expense of the jokers who buy into the devil’s ponzi scheme.
    Look at Donville and see that he is unable to look people direct in the eyes. His cock-eyed look is not one of genuine concern but that of a devil wanting to sell his own people drugs to powder their faces and make quick money along with the doctors and undertakers. This new drug baron, a former Business Development Officer in a statutory corporation, is now a multimillionaire on a ministerial salary. How could this be unless he won the national lottery and someone like his wife was a front to collect the winnings? Who will guard the guards?

45. @ onions… You said that you are convinced that many people who post here refuse to think before engaging their finger tips.Most introspective.Ah done.

46. Hill
    You orange bowl of crap….If all you can do is come in here to post insults…why bother.? .PO

47. @ Prodigal Son …..in Barbados the term Conflict Of Interest means having another woman with your wife.Everything else passes as status quo….why? we like it so.

48. My point is that Inniss is doing what every other member of Cabinet has done or tried to do while in office. You people who back political parties are either benefiting materially at a personal level or are accustomed to waiting on a calabash tree to bear breadfruit ….!

49. Hi David,

Is it true that Owen Arthur just wring a slap in Mia Mottley’s face outside the Opposition Leader’s office in Parliament yard ?

Word has it that Owen sought to chastise Mia for declaring to the Nation News ” We all don’t agree with each other in the Barbados Labour Party……”

Apparently Owen Arthur, wanted her to side with him and fool the Barbadian public…..that he and Mia mek up !

What a sad day for the ” United Bees “