Owen Arthur, Leader of the opposition (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

If is expected that it would be a hard job for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) to hold on to government next general election, the recent downgrade by Standard & Poor’s just made it a whole lot harder. Even if the government was known for its top notch communications strategy, it would still struggle to convince a public whose pride has been battered in a way that it has never been. BU Election Picks currently has the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leading the race to win the next government 17 to 7 with 6 undecided.

Tonight’s assault by the BLP at a political meeting held at Deacons,  the heart of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler’s constituency, was more than a symbolic act. It was at the same location the late Prime Minister Prime Minister David Thompson, Sinckler et al  prosecuted BLP’s chief spokesman on economic matters Clyde Mascoll.  Many political pundits opine that it is the Hardwood issue which has relegated Mascoll to light-weight status in the local political space.

The make up of the political platform at Deacons should also be a warning to all that politics can be an unpredictable business. It was not long ago a rift between Arthur and Mottley appeared to be irreconcilable. Now the BLP speaks with one voice as they sense the real possibility of regaining the government.  Should the Arthur led government succeed, it would make for political history. The Stuart government would  become a one term government for the first time in post-Independence history.

The political battle being waged on the government is reminiscent to the epic boxing encounters between Joe Frazier and Muhammad Ali of the 70s. The government appears to have adopted Frazier’s role by taking what seems to be punch after punch. In spite of the fighting words issued recently by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart that Arthur should expect the battle of his life come next election, many are wondering if the government has what it takes to deliver the counterpoint punch for which Frazier was known.

The countdown to the next general election has begun bell or no bell!

1. A couple years ago Dr. Robinson presented on the beast we know as Credit Rating Agencies.

2. @ onions

ASk MIA and OSA they both have a bread basket full of money to give away . Crazzzy Fuh TRute . Think people suckers The BLP suckered punch the people and the economy for 14 years knowing full well that a day would come the piper would have to be paid in true BLP style they orchestrated a whopping budget of over i billion dollars and hung it on a BANNER to “REBUILD and UPLIFT the ECONOMY” Crazzzyyyyyyyyyyy!

3. @ onions

Speaking of Junk . Check outr MIA budget enough Junk that not even a renewable energy plant would want it. now thats JUNKKKKKKKKKKKK! you guys go and tell OSA that no time time for yesterday poitics the country had enough junk.

4. old onion bags Avatar

A honest answer now ac …..what will you do on receiving the inevitable news come elections night ? I hope you have plans…because Hon ..its ALL OVER FOR THE DEMS….How we dont go CRAZZZYyyyy!

5. miller,
    ac is delusional and cannot deal with reality, the mere thought that they will be back in the political wilderness is sending her and CCC crazy. For him the thought of not being a deputy chairman, a bullshit artist in the halls of George Street and at the head table for the craving up of the fatted calf, is just too much to bear. That’s why he is going crazy on this blog.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has given your boy Seethru a new and well deserved name.

“the modern merchant of alarm and distress”.

You cant do a thing with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

7. ac
    You keep saying the BLP was stealing for 14 years, do you remember how a party gets into government? For your information, the electorate, in free and fair elections voted for the BLP for 14 years, during that period, namely the second term, there were only two of you (the DLP ) in parliament, therefore in truth you are like S&P downgrading the electorate, who almost unanimously voted out your party. Shame on You. Maybe, just Maybe, it will happen again.

8. @ onions

it aint over till ac sing

9. David,
    Can you ask Dr Robinson if there is any truth in what is being said in academic circles that he co-authored the 2008 manifesto? We would like to know! We know that Maxine McClean admitted that she played a part after admitting to David Ellis that she was not political. Hypocrite!

10. @Prodigal Son

Dr. Robinson monitors BU and he is free to jump if he wants.

11. stupse, anybody but that old tiefing bastard to run de country. fix what?. the only thing owen and his cronies know to do besides running the country in the ground, is selling all the damn land, to the highest bidder. nevertheless we as bajans make sure that we get what/who we want and soon we shall be under the autocratic rule again

12. Seems the bell has been rung.............. Avatar
    Seems the bell has been rung…………..

What was the size of the crowd at Deacons last night?

13. onions,
    You were asking for the Irene on this blog. She was/is in New York along with Adriel Brathwaite and George Pilgrim. The AG up in New York and the Police Force imploding. I hope the DLP paid for this trip and not the taxpayers.

They are all over the place begging, CLICO monies gone. This is the first election that the DLP is scampering for money. They could ask Ronald Jones to communicate with the dead king to find out where the rest of CLICO’s million that he had gone. In the heat of the by-election campaign to make DT sound like he was some king or the other, Jones said that he communicates with the dead king on some long road going up St John. For real!

Let’s hope Jones bring back the message from the dead king that the Mona Lisa should give up what’s in Families First and they wont have to beg so badly!

14. Stephen Harper got elected on a campaign that included attack rich Canadians like Paul Martin using Barbados to avoid
    Consequently Canadians started moving their Investments from Barbados.

What is the BLP going to do to reverse this?

Rich Canadians prefer Bermuda and the Bahamas and Barbados does not want the Canadian T shirt Tourists who are flocking to the Dominican and Cuba.

What is the BLP going to do to reverse this?

South America is flooding North America with cheap food. Pastuerised coconut water from Brazil is in Supermarkets and drugstores.
    What specialty products the BLP Barbados government is going to export?

What magic potion does Owen have to rescue Barbados?
    First he has to rescue the UK and Europe.

Yes the BLP may win the next election but there will be no glory days of conspicuous consumption. Wunna belt gine be tight fuh de nex 10 years till wunna learn live within wunna means.

@Onions uh buy 4 tins a Brunswick Sardines with Tabassco peppers fuh $3
    but doan tell nuhbody cause we Bajans in Canada ent suppose to be eating dem poor man tings. We is supposed to be eatin smoke salmon.

15. bk | July 23, 2012 at 7:14 PM |

stupse, anybody but that old tiefing bastard to run de country. fix what?……………………

Your mother did not tell you that people who live in glass houses should not throw stones? Do you know what is going on in the DLP? Or you choose not to notice? Well, you Dems are helping yourselves as you know you not getting back in. The fatted calf is almost a carcass now!

16. old onion bags Avatar

ac | July 23, 2012 at 6:57 PM |
    @ onions

it aint over till ac sing
    I wonder what ac going sing……”Lord we heading home yonder.”….OR
    “A woman in jail…..a woman in jail…….”

17. JUNK ! and then some roll the tape please! yersteryear politics boy oh boy. those were indeed the JUNK YEARS!

18. old onion bags Avatar

TAKE A HINT ….ac..ITS ALL OVA…..Help a fella

19. i saw a big mout BLP man on DLP TV telling de people how he gonna give them this and dat but not telling them how he going find the money to do all these things. Wuhloss. truth or TRUTE!

20. Do these exchanges make sense?

21. Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 6:53 PM | onions
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has given your boy Seethru a new and well deserved name. “the modern merchant of alarm and distress”. You cant do a thing with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart
    —————-

Hmmmph. Has he read the S&P report, has he read the Clico report?

Interesting that he now has time to comment, now that elections are on the verge, pity nothing much has been done in terms of action. That is the whole issue why the BLP will win the coming election.

S&P, despite its faults, has issued downgrade and yes, it means that we must garner our fundamentals, action on which has been lacking thus far.

How does that make the Opposition leader and alarmist?

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 6:53 PM |
    “You cant do a thing with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart”

Seems you are easily impressed!
    What a pity that neither his colleagues nor the electorate share your enthusiasm and adulation of mediocrity.

What is the common denominator between the following statements?

“the modern merchant of alarm and distress”.

“the estimable gentleman is a highly rated executive managing a very successful business organization. He is a pal of mine not a leper. We all should be embracing and supporting the worthy hardworking and honest gentleman from a poor village in St. John and holding him up as a role model.”

Now which one is true and which one is false, sponge head?

23. @ David
    What do you expect when people tell lies rather than bring facts?

24. @ David
    What do you expect when people tell lies rather than bring facts?

@ enuff!
    Lies ! LIES ! check the BLP Budget!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 23, 2012 at 8:16 PM |

Lies ! LIES ! check the DLP 2008 manifesto!
    Well, if you “ac” can go back 14 years ad nauseam what’s so boring in going back just 41/2 years?

26. @miller checkthis out mor LIES!

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“That did not get any front page treatment in the newspaper because that was supposed to be the biggest secret in Barbados. Five years later, when the World economy was still performing at full throttle the same S&P downgraded Barbados from A to B with a stable status. That did not make any front page either. There was no outcry in Barbados.

That did not happen under Freundel………that was when the current opposition leader was PRIME MINISTER. One year later in 2005, S&P changed Barbados outlook from stable to negative. There was no excitement or adjuration.”

PRIME MINISTER FREUNDEL STUART

So we are where we are as a result of the dishonest, crooked Barbados Labour Party.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“We have now got to the point where we have an Opposition party that is angry because the country has not been collapsing. They are angry because we have not laid off thousands of civil servants, because we are looking after over 10,000 children in the summer camps, because we are managing the foreign reserves of Barbados competently, because we are doing all of the things that are required of us as a serious Government in a difficult situation. These people are angry and wish that things were worse, because had they been worse, it would give them an opportunity, they think, to excite the people of Barbados, spread more distress, alarm and despondency and so achieve the narrow political objective of getting back into office.”

There you have it folks, The news the crooked Barbados Labour Party don t want Bajans to hear or know about.

29. @ miller

How about OSA talking solutions intead of giveaways, good fuh de bossman integrity. not so?

30. Poor ac and CCC………….wunnah desperate,desperate,desperate. That meeting have you all pretty disturbed, right?
    I feel your anxiety! You have got to accept the fact that the Dems are out of their depths and cannot get the job done. Grow up!

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

‘….DLP representatives at that time(downgrade by S&P during BLP administration) rallied behind the country because they were aware of the dangers in sullying Barbados’ reputation further, ”

What do we find today? Rejoicing in the BLP to bad news by that party and manufactured bad news.

The Democratic Labour Party is head and shoulders above the crooked Barbados Labour Party.

32. David Thompson never had “time” for Freundel Stuart. DT actually treated FS rather badly especially when he was deputy to Clyde Mascoll. So much so Freundel had to do 17 point indictment on DT at the party’s conference. So how comes these Dems now think Fumble is oh so good. He talking a lot now that he has to call an election! Too late!

33. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

David | July 23, 2012 at 7:51 PM |

Do these exchanges make sense?

what a really good point.

call the damn elections and let us get this crap out of the way.

34. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“The Democratic Labour Party is head and shoulders above the crooked Barbados Labour Party.”

everytime i see comments like this i really have to laugh. brace ya self CCC, brace ya self. LOL

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

Go and buy a rum and coke with your Barclays money.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 8:29 PM |
    “So we are where we are as a result of the dishonest, crooked Barbados Labour Party.”

So where are we, My Dear Carson?

As far as we been told by the PM, MoF and the GoCBB every thing is OK; there is nothing to panic about; our foreign reserves- the blood of the economy- are healthy despite falling from $2.8 billion to $1.4 billion; things are stable and set to take off as a result of the turbulence caused by the international recession.

Now you, CCC, are telling us that the dire straits we find ourselves in are entirely due to the “dishonest, crooked Barbados Labour Party”.
    When are you guys going to sing from the same hymn sheet? What is the real state of the economy? Did you guys fix up things and did the necessary restructuring of the badly managed economy left by the BLP in 2008?

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | July 23, 2012 at 8:45 PM |
    “How about OSA talking solutions intead of giveaways, good fuh de bossman integrity. not so?”

But why are you expecting solutions to come from an old incompetent thief. If OSA is the caused of the problem stretching over 14 years how can he be the solution for 4 1/2 years?
    He is just learning from the DLP 2008 manifesto titled “How to fool an electorate by lies, deception and broken promises”.
    Are you not convinced that Sinckler & Stuart have all the answers and solutions to the problems created by OSA? People, don’t panic every thing is under control! Now there is your solution in the heads of two gunfighters.
    Question is: who is going to draw first?

38. The BEES Swarming DEM

Let them gather.

39. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

de AG gone now an open he mout

40. But why are you expecting solutions to come from an old incompetent thief. If OSA is the caused of the problem stretching over 14 years how can he be the solution for 4 1/2 years?
    @miller
    good your above comment is so truuuu! but i never said i expected any solutions from OSA any how i agree with your above comment

41. I SHARE YOUR VIEWS SCOUT IN YOUR POST OF JULY 23RD 5,56.AM. YOU ARE A VERY BALANCED COMMENTATOR.

42. WELCOME BACK ROBERT WOULDN’T ASK WHERE WERE YOU

43. ac, you realise miller being sarcastic, yes? Or are you being tongue in cheek?

44. “Can you ask Dr Robinson if there is any truth in what is being said in academic circles that he co-authored the 2008 manifesto”
    and if he would again be the campaign manager for michael carrington

45. Why do ministers in government often feel this irrepressible urge to speak out on topics which expose a lack of a communications strategy by government?

In fact what it does is to show a lack of cohesion in the team.

This is something Stuart has to manage better but it is probably too late.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/hands-off3/

46. old onion bags Avatar

Why every morning that I come in here like clock work ..it is the same old, same old thing…..cheezon..ac ,Aarson…
    Why every line is BLAME…..BLAME….nothing on what they did..absolutely nothing..but
    blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming …..Is this what DLP Govt is really all about?…..Why i just can’t get it understand….

47. old onion bags Avatar

Did you get the skeleton thread I sent you last night?

48. @Onions

Yes