Owen Arthur, Leader of the opposition (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

If is expected that it would be a hard job for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) to hold on to government next general election, the recent downgrade by Standard & Poor’s just made it a whole lot harder. Even if the government was known for its top notch communications strategy, it would still struggle to convince a public whose pride has been battered in a way that it has never been. BU Election Picks currently has the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leading the race to win the next government 17 to 7 with 6 undecided.

Tonight’s assault by the BLP at a political meeting held at Deacons,  the heart of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler’s constituency, was more than a symbolic act. It was at the same location the late Prime Minister Prime Minister David Thompson, Sinckler et al  prosecuted BLP’s chief spokesman on economic matters Clyde Mascoll.  Many political pundits opine that it is the Hardwood issue which has relegated Mascoll to light-weight status in the local political space.

The make up of the political platform at Deacons should also be a warning to all that politics can be an unpredictable business. It was not long ago a rift between Arthur and Mottley appeared to be irreconcilable. Now the BLP speaks with one voice as they sense the real possibility of regaining the government.  Should the Arthur led government succeed, it would make for political history. The Stuart government would  become a one term government for the first time in post-Independence history.

The political battle being waged on the government is reminiscent to the epic boxing encounters between Joe Frazier and Muhammad Ali of the 70s. The government appears to have adopted Frazier’s role by taking what seems to be punch after punch. In spite of the fighting words issued recently by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart that Arthur should expect the battle of his life come next election, many are wondering if the government has what it takes to deliver the counterpoint punch for which Frazier was known.

The countdown to the next general election has begun bell or no bell!

1. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@David…man it sounding like de dees gine use some of de left over ammo from last campaign ya just got to listen to fundy and sinkler cause ya know chris like to talk bout toffee papers. but seeing that that they won in 2008 i believe after being in opposition so long it went ta dem head and they tried to do too much in ah short space of time forgetting, according to them that they “were facing the worst economic crisis the world as ever seen” they should have been very careful how they were spending when they got in but when they catch them self they brought the taxes to make up ground and help to fulck up domestic spending and that help slowed growth

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

How do you know that “$593,000 expended SO FAR?”

Is it really $593,000 or is it really $598,000 or is it $5.93?

and how would you know?

3. David (not BU) Avatar

it is truly amazing to see some of the comments here.

its not often Owen and Wickham sing from the same page but call the damn elections and get this shite done. it sounds to me that the DLP thinks they can make the case they did last election and win.

why keep the country in limbo? why don’t DLP supporters want the elections called now? what can you do in 5 to 8 mths to win the elections that you have not done in 4. years?

i will say here and now that both the DLP and its supporters know they don’t stand good in the eyes of the voting public and what is funny about the issues facing us is that the longer the DLP takes to call the election, the worst the country is getting.

we as a country and a people are in a sad state and the DLP government don’t see anything wrong. everything is fine.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(neitherDnorB)

“the Greenland ‘waste’ project cost $80 million.”

Ask Seethru the next time you see him!

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 9:31 AM |
    “Not everyone has no memory or poor memory like you.”

My memory might be poor but good enough to remind you to tell that you have not explained to BU why the poor old woman has remained homeless and in need for the last 41/2 years. What have you done as deputy Chairman of the Constituency Council to help the old lady?
    We know your restaurant caters to a lot of the parties and fetes put on by the constituency councils to feed the DLP yardfowls. We hope you did not charge the little old lady for the measly and meager food you sell at exorbitant prices.

6. old onion bags Avatar

@ Carson
    Man you head like a sieve…..yung boy you must add up the cheques written so far spent to accommodate the savings…..get it ? That is EXPENSED,,,

7. But Miller I slow…..I never made the connection between restaurateur, catering contracts, constituency councils and Cadogan.

8. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    Help a fella nah (carson) ! Help two fellas now….lol….Maths boy sum just can’t handle..he can’t see sense in a Moody rating…WOW !

9. Roundabouts or explosion of costs at two Roundabouts. Boarded Hall and Coral Ridge, is it not a fact that these two took three times longer than projected?
    Is it not reasonable to assume that the projected costs of the two would be multipled by 3?
    Would the Minster of Transport give the real costs of these projects.
    In the underworld this might appear to be a sinking fund for another season.
    Facts please.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

how would you know what was spent?

11. old onion bags Avatar

Submission>>>by
    Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 3:39 AM |
    Why every line was BLAME…..BLAME….nothing on what they did..absolutely nothing..but
    blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming blaming …..Is this what DLP Govt is really all about?…..Why i just can’t get it understand….

12. David (not BU) Avatar

Carson C. Cadogan all you have said here show how scared you and your party are. as seen on CBC TV and radio by the actions of John Lovell, the DLP is in full campaign mode but can’t call the date because they know once the date is set, CBC TV and radio would have to be a level playing field for both parties. getting people to call in on the programs don’t work anymore. people are turn off the TV and radio.

Colin Spencer was right, “we don’t want you back” just that he go the subject who we don’t want back wrong.

blast jokers.

13. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

In 1976 an Anglican priest the Very Reverend Dean Harold Crichlow )stood in his pulpit at St Michael Cathedral and spoke into the microphone of Barbados Rediffusion for all Barbados to hear saying “Mene ,mene,tekel upharsin” which is to say ‘You have been weighed in the balances and found wanting.’A certain senator Matthews was loud in his condemnation of the Dean and suggested to the Barrow administration”tek way Reddifusion license stop this man from talking to the public every first sunday because he is a very popular priest and faces controversy head on.He ‘n frighten for nobody”(VOB subsequently stopped the first sunday live broadcasts in 1987 after the same Dean praised the NDP led by Richie.)
    An Anglican priest the Reverend Canon Andrew Hatch,chaplain to the House delivered a stinging prayer in the House and had his appointment revoked by the Barrow administration.Where are the voices of the Anglican priests of today in respect to the current situation in Barbados?

14. Folks, many on BU have been shouting that we would end up where we are today. No surprises. Carry on.

15. old onion bags Avatar

@ Gabriel
    Ex -Dean Harold Chrichlow is now a Senator….and to which side now ?
    Says wonders don’t you think…..

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions
    I am still waiting to hear from you how you know what is being spent on the Alexander inquiry?

Not only that at least five of your points as regards spending by G’ovt in your post above are completely artificial.

This brings me to the point that I am always making. The stock-in-trade of the Barbados Labour Party members and supporters is LIES.

This squares very well with the strategy of the Barbados Labour Party, LIES, LIES, AND MORE LIES.

You have come to realise that you are on a blog where the blog owner will not question anything that you write so you think that you can have a field day

Unfortunately for you not everyone is easily fooled.

17. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

@Onions
    As far as I am aware Decanus Emeritus Crichlow is an independent senator appointed at the pleasure of Her Brittanic Majesty

18. old onion bags Avatar

Gabriel
    We got a lot to learn…….

@Cardboard
    I am still waiting to hear from you how you know what is being spent on the Alexander inquiry?
    Now you are not really a dumb boy are you?…..Who mekk you Deputy Chairman of the Rass Brigade doa ?.BTW if you could be a Deputy Chairman…..why Onions can’t be the Chancellor of the Ex Checker.?….Aarson…you really expect me to tell you dat doa?But really C…they sent you in here to ask your buddy n friend Onions THAT? What ever became of loyalty…..look tell Chris, Onions like Irene got a Nu Gu Nu obeah man that duz look into a crystal ball….and he see the cheques and knowing how good he is wid numbers…he add them up quixs…I only mekk them $583,000 doa….

19. old onion bags Avatar

@Cardboard
    Now you are not really a dumb boy are you?…..Who mekk you Deputy Chairman of the Rass Brigade doa ?.BTW if you could be a Deputy Chairman…..why Onions can’t be the Chancellor of the Ex Checker.?….Aarson…you really expect me to tell you dat doa?But really C…they sent you in here to ask your buddy n friend Onions THAT? What ever became of loyalty…..look tell Chris, Onions like Irene got a Nu Gu Nu OBH man that duz look into a crystal ball….and he see the cheques and knowing how good he is wid numbers…he add them up quixs…I only mekk them $583,000 doa….

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

You and your bogus figures. what about the other five fictitious amounts that you have as well?

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 2:22 PM |
    Have you given some H.E.L.P to the old lady yet? Or are you waiting for her to die from starvation and neglect.
    No talking about numbers and figures and do what a constituency councillor is supposed to do.

BTW, it is rumoured that the Ministry of health has been notified about the many rats seen running from your restaurant. Is it true or bogus that your restaurant serves dog meat instead of lamb?

22. a brief response on this blog submission and a similar topic in today’s Advocate:

The BLP is “NOT” rejoicing about the recent Standards and Poors “DOWNGRADE” as PM Stuart wants the bajan public to believe, to suggest that was total non-sense coming from the PM, as we get often from him…

We Just Want PM Stuart and Sinckler “GONE” before they totally FRIG up Barbados MORE ….

We are all getting an early view of what will be to come if we re-elect the weakest DLP administration EVERY.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Austin

We Just Want PM Stuart and Sinckler “GONE”

Speak for yourself.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 3:11 PM |

Here is Sinckler reinforcing his confidence in the governor:
    “Both Prime Minister [Freundel] Stuart and myself have repeatedly said it . . . and I will repeat it here: I have absolute confidence in DeLisle Worrell as Governor of the Central Bank.
    “I have absolute confidence in his intelligence. I have absolute confidence in his integrity, and therefore I don’t have to repeat that every time the Opposition goes on a frolic,” the Minister of Finance said… ”

Would you say CCC, that he is brave and honest enough to express similar sentiments in public in his own Boss, the PM?

If he does, Thompie would come back from the dead!

25. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@MILLER i like that one …..i would like to hear Chris say de same thing bout Fondle

26. old onion bags Avatar

STABLE …..means a Down Grade to JUNK STATUS…High Unemployment…STABLE ..means IBC’s exiting….maybe no earthquakes..maybe…STABLE….. means little or no commercial activity….STABLE means stagflation and a NO Ball Budget….Economics according to Worrell…..Have no fear STABLE WILL BE TESTED AGAIN …and soon watch !

27. The DLP likely will not win in the next general election. I think they know this. Owen Arthur and the BLP before 2008 did not do an awful lot better than the current government. Arthur and the BLP likes spitting at the DLP government and does this consistently, though it OFTEN backfires at them. The S&P recently downgrades Barbados into junk bond status but Barbados during the days of Arthur and the BLP received several S&P downgrades. The DLP while campaigning for the 2008 general election promised a lot of cake and ice cream. Those promises were not kept. Arthur and BLP are promising cookies and candy, lots of it. They today vow to Bajans WE WILL FIX IT. They will fix Clico. They will fix it. They will fix the economy. They will fix it. They will fix the national debt. They will fix it.

Interesting, Al Barrack originated during the days of Arthur and the BLP. David Thompson and the DLP in 2008 accepted the Al Barrack problem WITHOUT CHOICE because Arthur and the BLP simply did not and would not fix it. Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley awarded Al Barrack a thirty four million dollar contract WITHOUT TENDER. Al Barrack built the complex at Warrens in St. Michael although FACT, he had never built a project that size. Here, in this instance, Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley exposed to Bajans their INCOMPETENCE.

The VECO Corporation, home based in Alaska was awarded a government contract via Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall WITHOUT TENDER. The VECO Corporation built the prison at Dodds in St. Philip. Surprise, The VECO Corporation had no track record of building prisons. Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall associated themselves with a corrupt company to build the prison at Dodds in St. Philip and the Barbados Oil terminal. Here, in this instance, Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall exposed to Bajans their INCOMPETENCE.

Owen Arthur in 2006 invested 2.4 million dollars in a Nigerian Water heater project. No water heaters were produced and the 2.4 million dollars were lost and or unaccounted for. Here, in this instance, Owen Arthur exposed to Bajans his INCOMPETENCE.

According to Arthur, Redjet might still be flying if government [the DLP] had honored its financial commitment to the colapsed airline. If the BLP had just fixed the Al Barrack problem, it would not STILL be standing in the face of Bajans. Bajans, today owe REDjet nothing, absolutely nothing; they today owe Al Barrack seventy five million, maybe more.

The BLP says [it] has a record of keeping promises. Whatever happened in the past cannot be changed. The DLP government is guilty of GREED and INCOMPETENCE. Truth is that both parties the BLP and the DLP had paries with GREED.

It is fact NOT myth that Arthur invited a 75,000 campaign cheque into his personal banking account. It is fact NOT myth that the Mottley family linked to Mia Mottley purchased the Arch Cot land that could not be built on because it was caved and within six months got planning permisson whereas the previous owner couldn’t. The Codringer family totaling five died at the Arch Cot, Brittons Hill. Their home fell into a cave beneath it. Someone was responsible. Those deaths could have been avoided. No building on that land should have been allowed. Someone was responsible. Someone has to be accountable. Yes, of course, those BLP clowns. Interesting, the BLP lays claims that the DLP government is guilty of GREED and INCOMPETENCE. The pot is calling the kettle black. Right???

28. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I was able to watch the BLP Team Rebuild Restore Barbados on the live stream last night.Clyde,Mia,Kerry and OSA were fearless,forthright and articulate .The MC Rudy Grant was in a devasting form.The BLP’s message seem to resonate with the crowd .If one is to grasp the BLP’s perspective,the unrefined,crass individuals who seem to be the economic and moral inferiors of the BLP brigade,should be replaced post haste by a thoughtful,confident,assured,
    mature,insightful, intellectually strong and secure BLP government.

29. @CCC

You are going to have some “HARD” times ahead on BU defending the folly of the weakest more ineffective DLP government and PM Barbados has ever seen.

” In these critical times “Blind Party Loyalty” Has No Place In the Next Election if We are To Get Barbados Back On Track”

The DLP must Go …. And should call the elections

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ Austin
    Asses are made to bear…..Austin… the modern day version of the UK…comes in mini to lorry bus..

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ msjjj | July 23, 2012 at 4:18 PM |

So now you are through with the lecture in History of the BLP wrongdoings, how are you going to advise the DLP to fix the problems we are facing?
    The governor of the CBB is telling us everything is fine except for a minor fiscal problem that would soon sort itself out. Now you are telling us that the roof is falling in from the weight of financial and economic problems caused by the BLP 14 years of mismanagement and corruption.
    What is it “Ms Just Jiving and Joking”, is the governor right in his assessment or are we being confronted by the four BLP horsemen of the economic apocalypse?

32. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@msiii what are we to do? …all of what u said was said in 2008 and the ppl voted so what are we to do? put back fumble ?? all i am asking are u going to use to the same charge sheet try to convict de opposition twice ?? why don’t use post 2008 record?

33. ms!!!
    Most of what you said I agree with, the difference however, is the BLP DID pull Barbados out of a sticky hole. Remember, just before the No-Confidence motion that causaed the downfall of the DLP, the then P.M Sandiford had taken 8% cut from the civil servants pay, to, in his word avoid a currency devalkuation, yet having taken it, he then announced that this alone wiill not stave off a devaluation. The Blp administration is awarded for returning the civil servants’ money and returning Barbados to a stable government. This my friend, is why the electorate WILL vote BLP next elections, they have atrack record,; COME Mr Arthur, Come Mia , Come BLP prove to us bajans that what you did in the early 90’s was not a lucky draw, that you are capable of doing it again. It is unfortunate that after the last term of the BLP administration, we have to go back to them but the DLP has given us NO CHOICE.

34. new slogan on the bock is ” DEM Gone”.

35. old onion bags Avatar

@ Scout
    Don Quoite rides again…..make way

36. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

wha ya say is true scout all in ah nut shell de DLP aint really give de ppl na choice to fight for them,they promise to much and lied to win de govt and when de ppl put them in just could not deliver on their promises and now it come ta bite them in de ass all ya hear from fumble is “this is de worst crisis de world as ever seen ” man they should have tell de truth and said they would try and then let de ppl choose

37. How foolish were we as Barbadians to have voted for this pack of misfits? This is the worst set of government ministers in the history of Barbados. Lowe open a new cell at a dump and for his legacy he leaves a plaque to commemorate its opening. A 20% rise in water rates but absolutely no improvements. This incompetent shameful bunch is really distressing to Barbadians and Barbados as a whole. STUPSEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

38. BTW: The new QEH is going to cost near a billion dollars. Since we cannot borrow on the external market due to junk bond status, where will we get the money from? Yet, another trick by the DLP, similar to the duty free cars and NO VAT on building materials.

Please I beg yo please Freundel just call elections and let us be done with you!

39. @miller,
    “So now you are through with the lecture in History of the BLP wrongdoings, how are you going to advise the DLP to fix the problems we are facing”?

miller,
    It would be also been helpful if “msjjj” had fast forward to recent years, not dwelling in the long past and for balance and not come over as a DLP hack.

msjjj should also have included the long list of nonsensical decisions that made no economic sense made during the years 2008 until the present which have brought us to this sorry past……..including the “inaugural investiture of new citizens who were previously held to scorn just to impress the sitting of the CCJ, parties galore at Illaro Court and Government House, madness at Warrens, over the top car park at LESC, lavish swearing in at Kensington, free bus fares and summer camps not budgeted for, constituency councils, unnecessary COI, expensive junkets all over the world, lavish independence concerts, Paul Volcker’s unnecessary visit etc, etc.

All of these did not add one iota to help the medium term fiscal strategy they are always talking about!

40. old onion bags Avatar

2Dbone
    BTW: The new QEH is going to cost near a billion dollars. Since we cannot borrow on the external market due to junk bond status, where will we get the money from?
    NOW we can understand why Donville Inniss was in such a HURRY TO MAKE CHEAP milage BEFORE news of the Down Grade to JUNK BOND STATUS was revealed…….nice one Donville but ya exposed…Cheap politics

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@old onion bags | July 23, 2012 at 5:39 PM |

So Onions, why you think the man ran off the BU blog so fast?
    He realised he was not dealing with the same intellectual cadre of persons he addressed at the Unity Bar in George Street. I even find Irene to be a tougher cookie than the Don. I respect the woman intellectual “esprit”; that fighting spirit that allows her to take her licks and share some in return. Unlike the Don who is just a wind-up sorry blow up doll bought from an Anne Summers shop in Pornville.

42. Equal Rights and Justice/ 2debone
    If you had read my earlier submissions, you would have heard me say, Barbados is NOT KNOWN for giving any political party four terms in office, plus in the last term of the BLP, things didn’t go too sweet for barbados. Therefore it was obvious the DLP would have won the 2008 general elections, that’s why DT returned to the helm. However, in his quest to become Prime Minister, DT offered too much and things that were not possible. I voted for the DLP, but I didn’t vote for all these promises that were offered, I voted for an investigation into some shaddy deals done by the BLP party and the fact that three terms was enough for any one party, be it B or D. However, to date, no one has been brought to court for all these alleged corruptions that was brandished around, the Integrity Legislation that was promised immediately on winning the government is still only a promise; incedentally, only recently P.M Stuart said it would be passed before the next general election.Also remember the recession really started in 2007, and in credit to the then Pm (Arthur), he told the nation we should return to backyard gardening to stave off some hardships that was on the horizone; the people laughed him to scorn. We all level thinking people would have known the DLP could not have deliver on many of those promises but had they deliver on those that would have cost the government little or nothing, things would have been much better now and we would have had some confidence in them, all they did was full theit pockets and divide the “fatty calf’ among them, while blaming the BLP and the global recession for our demise.WE HAVE NO CHOICE BUT RETURN TO THE BLP. UNFORUNATELY. What Barbados really needs is a serious, patriotic third party

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

” So it is not as if everybody was saying let us run from Barbados because Barbados has a very good reputation abroad”.

“……our children will still be educated, health services will continue to run as usual, the Transport Board will keep going, social security will be available and all public servants will continue to be employed and be paid every month.”

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

The man is making a lot of sense. I prefer to listen to him rather than “whats his name” who is making no sense at all.

44. @ Gabriel Tackle

Where HAVE you been? The Anglican Church has been in the van fighting for social change, social justice…..

there is the dress code issue and YES the funeral wear issue and, well, what about the tattoos in church issue? PLEASE BE FAIR.

45. The QEH going cost billion dollars if so money well spent . when you count the cuzzzillion dollars wasted in the 14years when some of it could have been spent on building a new and modern hospital instead of patching it up the same way method use to patch the economy which is why now the patches are opened up and gaping holes are left exposed. then we have a BLP budget with billion of dollars with freebies and give away. the Blp must be think people CRAZY !

46. old onion bags Avatar

Where the $1billion will COME FROM NOW ? affa affa affa the DOWN GRADE to JUNK bond status ……..NOW WHO CRAZY ?…they really went to play we fa asses….DLP CALL D F-NG ELECTIONS DO…..find some PRIDE…….

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Let me tell you what we should have been ashamed about, In 1999 when the global economy was performing at full throttle and all was wetness and light , the same Standard and Poor changed Barbados’ credit rating from positive to negative because of the modern merchant of alarm and distress, the present Opposition Leader”.

I could not have said it better.

Well said, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 23, 2012 at 6:04 PM |

Shut up ac! The DLP never promised a new hospital only a refurbished QEH. Ask Dr. Estwick why he was slapped down in Cabinet for reviving the BLP new hospital proposal; and that is when Bim still had money, and could borrow on the international market (no junk status then).
    Show us where in the DLP manifesto they promised a new hospital. Deal with that you hypocrite!
    You want to be it turns up in the 2012/2013 book of lies and broken promises.

49. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    NOW THERE IS WORSE NEWS…….I hope FUNDY is aware that the longer we waits…I HOPE the economy starts SOME UPWARD TREND……BECAUSE…in ANOTHER 3 MONTHS…..IF MOODY SEES NO UPWARD RECOVERY…….another DOWN GRADE IS POSSIBLE AND THAT WILL BE CLOSER TO ELECTIONS……a calculated risk FUNDY MUST BE WILLING TO TAKE……Oppps !

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 23, 2012 at 6:19 PM |

Let the DLP big boys and their lackeys like you continue to blame the BLP for the current downgrade to junk status.
    Just remember Chris Sinckler made it abundantly clear that there are no debt servicing problems, foreign reserves are healthy and there will be no pressures to devalue the currency in the foreseeable future. No need to borrow from overseas so the junk bond status does really impact on us.

Read my lips, CCC: the current MoF has taken full credit for the healthy financial state of the economy. We will hold him totally responsible for all future events and don’t you forget it with your good memory of convenience.