Hal Austin

Introduction:
When finance minister Chris Sinckler rises at the despatch box on Tuesday to deliver his Budget statement, it will be the speech that will determine the future of this DLP government and define its vision. The proposals will give Barbadian voters a clear idea of what this government could do if re-elected and, just as important, if Sinckler has the ability to replace Freundel Stuart as leader of his party and a potential prime minister.

Sinckler has to account to parliament, and through members to the people of Barbados, for the near five wasted years in which he and his colleagues failed to do anything meaningful about the badly crippled Barbados economy. Equally, he has to explain why he has failed to make the last government account for the fourteen years in which it failed to put aside enough surplus to see us through a period of economic famine – the fourteen most prosperous years ins the economic history of mankind (I have written a longer essay on this which is available to those who email me).

I will restrict myself to one missed opportunity, one that does not trip easily off the lips of public intellectuals, who often prefer to drift in to tribal party politics.

Innovation:
Obama has rightly reminded Americans that the long-term success of any economy depends very much on successful innovation and entrepreneurship. And, in case it is not common knowledge, some organisational cultures stifle innovation, which is about the structured use of bright ideas, looking for new opportunities in unexpected places, encouraging constant change, renewing and invigorating the way we do things.

Innovation is down to processes, but most of all it is about the organisational culture and leadership. Quite simply, if a project is not important to the CEO then that message goes down to the most junior employee. Further, innovation can only take place outside the usual place of day to day work. So, it is a waste of time and effort to expect the very senior and middle managers responsible for an operational system to be the architects of its destruction.

To overcome this, as I have said in previous Notes, any dynamic leader, including prime ministers, must have a policy delivery unit in his department with the power to intervene in ministries if the government’s programme is being frustrated. There are risks, of course, in research and development in that after spending huge sums on training staff they can often leave for higher paid jobs with rival companies, but that is the gamble a forward-looking company must take. The challenge here is to work out a strategy to hold on to key people. One way of doing this is by allowing key staff time off to work on their own ideas, since innovators are by nature optimists. To succeed you have to compete at every level in which you believe you have a competitive advantage. This applies to individuals, firms and governments. If you retreat or runaway, or become just lazy, time and opportunities will pass you by. More particularly, you allow rivals a free-run to out-perform you. Just look at the Barbados rum industry, our only potential world beater, if you want an example of how an entire industry can wither and die. A cottage industry, run by a few small families who prefer to stifle a potentially lucrative industry rather than bring in bright, young people to drive it forward, the Barbados rum industry has allowed others like Bacardi, and producers such Diageo and the entire Scotch Whisky industry to leave them back in the 17th century.

Even a simple enough suggestion that we must give legal definition to Barbados/Bajan rum, in a political culture dominated by lawyers – to the extent that there is a ratio of one to every 300 people, one of the highest in the world – this simple suggestion has not even come on the radar. So, we have a government and industry, crippled by their stubbornness and arrogance, from even protecting their own long-term future, their intellectual property rights.

As the founder of Sony has said, emphasising a firm’s finances, is to focus on the past; but by emphasising research and development, is to focus on the future. We need forward-looking people.

It is true, there are economic and organisational obstacles to be overcome, but to genuine innovators and good leaders, these are just challenges. In the 1980s, General Motors had a research and development budget of US40bn, while the entire global venture capital budget was only $28bn.

There are different kinds of innovations: departmental versus organisation-wide innovation, renovating existing products and processes versus the disruptive or completely ‘new’ innovation. Some people believe there should always be a new consumer dimension in any innovative product, while others believe there should be a connection between new ideas and commercial viability on the principle no matter how good an idea unless it pays for itself it would not survive. But circumstances may also force change; for example, a food manufacturer producing products with too much salt or sugar in a health-conscious age may be forced to innovate to survive.

Analysis and Conclusion:
Government is about change, not business as usual; and when a people put their futures and their children’s futures in the hands of government, then that responsibility must be taken seriously. Politician are self-selecting, they put themselves forward as capable and able to lead the nation, as the guardians of the nation’s future. The prize is very big; if they fail, it is not only personal, it is a national disgrace. More than that, there is a truth in the saying that a people get the government they deserve. Ability is nothing without opportunity and it is the principal role of government, apart from protecting its citizens, to provide those opportunities for its young. This government has sacrificed the young unemployed on the altar of expediency.

Government is about strategy, not implementation. Prime ministers and Cabinets outsource the periphery to the ministries but keep the core – strategy and brad policy – to themselves. The Cabinet should be about policy implementation, not micro-managing.

It is the role of government to create the fiscal and legislative environment which will encourage local and foreign direct investments in sectors apart from tourism and to identify and encourage suitable talent pools and to provide them with the right competencies. Providing them with the skills training and sound purpose-led education – not generic academic learning – are the key ingredients in preparing a young force for the new global challenges.

We need a business culture in which innovation is seen as problem-solving, rather than shunting individuals out of a job. In addition, we must not forget that most innovative ideas come from people who have been doing the job for a length of time, so creating an ideas culture – and one that tolerates failure since most new ideas are a waste of time – is central to good government.

Start by encouraging customer feed-back, after all they are the people paying the bills.

Remember that so-called market segments are really people, who have ideas about how they are served and the kind of service they want to receive.

Innovation does not only come from Silicon Valley, but from every corner of the world and from all levels of society – even from ordinary Barbadians.

Remember, innovation is about changing the world, about getting up in the morning and looking with fresh eyes at things you do every day.

The workplace is not just the place you pass the time of day to get a wage packet, it is about making a difference.

In Britain, about 1000 new medium enterprises, geographically and industrially distributed, created 50 per cent of new jobs; 25 per cent of all British university dons are from overseas, implying that when looking for staff universities are prepared to look far and wide for the brightest and best. We too can follow that path: identify potentially successful sectors, scenario planning, exploring new frontiers, create a business growth fund to finance innovation, encourage clusters which would become centres of excellence.

Government has failed to introduce enablement technology, which drives down cost, improves efficient and makes overall management more modern. A good example of this failure is having a modern $70m court building with the registry using old-fashioned books and pens to register births, marriages and deaths, in much the same way they did at the end of the 19th century. It is what we used to call icing on ginger bread. The sparkling new building does not an efficient administration make. It will be a big mistake to see innovation only in terms of technology; fundamentally, it is mostly about people, how they are selected, how they are trained and how they communicate with customers/public. It is about competence, putting customers first.

We must allow bright, young staff ownership of innovation, rather than see them leave because of boredom or frustration. In journalism we do that by giving our brightest titles, columns, authority. But we know that Barbados is not an innovative society; all we have to do is check on the number of patents that have been registered over the last year, no make that the last fifty years. Where is out patent court?

Finally, this government has failed because it did not realise the extent of the challenge it faced. However, for an economy to grow there must be a supply of money and credit. Just ask Al Barrack what he thinks.

Hal Austin, London (June21, 2012)

124 responses to “Notes From a Native Son – Politics is about Change and Renewal, Stupid”

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ Aarson
    For a moment..I thought I saw you in company of the PM…in Rio de Janerio…licking out we bajans’ $275,076.13 in hard earned taxes and levies….D bald head fellow in the photos Dale sent back bare a close resemblance….I wonder what you going do come elections morn ?No more OSA to criticize….no more corny jokes about the BLP or its people. Aarson and I fear you may go mad….studying your foolishness that you have levied at the BLP…No more Old Onions to post videos at…chezon Aarson have you given ant thoughts to those things yet ?Your best bet is to marry ac ..cuz she will be in the same predicament…lol

2. I’m not in a habit of getting down to somw people level, but this blog is getting so nasty already, and general elections have not yet been called. It appears the DLP supporters are so desperate that they are willing to play dirty, in an effort to gain vote.Well if this is so they would have to play VERY VERY dirty since most people I’ve spoken too are eagerly awaiting the elections, so that they can remove this unsteady government from office. What might happen is they might cause some still undecided voters to be turned off by their behaviour. I’ve told CCC before, he is causing more damage to the DLP than good, now he has some other supporters following his nastiness., this is too modern an era for us to be still stuck in 1950’s politics

3. I heard the DLP has done its own poll, which is to be released soon, the poll shows the four safest seats for the DLP are, St.John, St. Lucy, St. Michael South and St. Michael N.W in that order. This means the two DLP front runners have done a lot of work in their constituentcy, or the poll is a fraud.

4. Remember the BLP also had a poll in 2008 which said they would have won the then general elections.

5. old onion bags Avatar

I agree with you Scout….Cardboard and some are just overly wham-junctious.There is no need to hit out at people’s family and use dirty derogatory comments to other politicos….make it light…like Black bird soup and candle sales….but not of the officious types of some..Come on fellows DLP owls….lets keep it clean…still good fun to be had..

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

scout

“I heard the DLP has done its own poll, which is to be released soon,”

You are in position to know of anything the DLP is doing in advance.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am sure all will remember Seethru telling the large crowd in Oistins before the last election, ” I know wunna want me but wunna have to vote fuh my team as well”

……….and as they say the rest is history.

8. St John (why ???)), St PHILIP SOUTH, St Lucy, St Michael NW. I think you made a slight error there Scoutie …!

9. The Dems are a sorry, sorry bunch!

Why Arson dont go back and do his doctorate and free BU of his filth, though? This blog was relatively free of the filth and slime, now he is back and has brought along another one just like him, Rational Son. Why dont you liars be consistent when you are lying? But you know a liar should have a good memory and RS does not have one. You Dems used to say $6million now it is down to $5million, sometimes it used to be $75000.00, then it went up to $750,000. This just proves that you Dems are LIARS. The morning after elections, we do not want to hear you all again on this blog……

We have news for you all Dems, no amount of lies you bring can change the minds of the people of Barbados. They have their minds made up like in 2007, they realisenow they made a mistake and will correct it whenever the slow man calls the elections, he has to,he can dealy it all he wants but he has to call the election, you know!

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I agree with you Onions the BLP is great fun.

I remember when Seethru was getting up on the platform in Carlise carpark, drunk as a fish. Supporters had to steady him. The first few words out of his mouth was like Greek, Chinese or some foreign language. Then he realised that people were watching him and he pulled himself together.

It was hilarious!!!!!

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

I dont miss BLP meetings, bare fun.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have a couple of red shirts can’t wait to put them on.

13. Many BLP supporters like to point out the economic growth of 1995 – 2007 while obviously conveniently neglecting to point out that in those years our trading partners and most countries in the English speaking Caribbean were also growing. They told the world that it was because of some magic by a BLP leader while not pointing out that the Trinidad Prime Minister of that period seemed to have more magic as the Tand T economy took off and dominated the Caribbean.
    There is nothing special about the BLP leader on economic policy , actually his record taken in context of the global situation during his tenure is quite ordinary.
    Look at the context Barbados – the US was growing, England was growing, the Caribbean was growing. We do not pull tourists out of some BLP storehouse and an international recession would obviously have consequences for international business and capital inflows.
    The DLP and the current finance minister can defend its record on the economy as every fair minded person can see and acknowledge that the world of 2012 is not the world of 1999.
    Intelligent Barbadians can recognise this fact.

14. @!

ref your comments:no body listening to the “one trick pony” the BLP gallops across the blog about the economy and come budget day Chris Sinckler would have kicked.that pony to the curb

15. @ Appollo

How embarrassing that a former PM OSA can have left so much filth when in office that anyone can have access to on the Internet. How EMBARRASING! and then people like you want to inflict this disgusting inexcusable character to represent Barbados on the world stage among World Leaders and dignitaries of other Nations. Have you got no Shame!

16. BAFBFP
    St. Philip South? How did you get that constituency in there? I understand Adriel has already conceded defeat to Anthony Wood. The poll I’m talking about has St. John, St. Lucy, St. MICHEAL South, and ST MICHAEL N.W as the DLP safest seats.

17. ac
    This Owen Arthur that is not respected on the world stage, is the same Owen Arthur who headed the Commonwealth team to the Commonwealth Conference in Australia? The only reason Stuart went to Australia was to see some of the world leaders, they didn’t even talk personally with him, if they did it was not reported.

18. @ Enuff

‘It has become tiring’

You got that right. Now if David wasn’t quite so tetchy we might be talking about university recruitment which I accept may be of no interest to you but is still – in the sense of the H Austin article – a significant topic. But.instead it is same old same old same old…….going nowhere.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Folks, Budget Day is just around the corner.

I expect to see you in Parliament Seethru, we wont be accepting any sick certificates!!

Walk up the stairs of Parliament and earn your huge taxpayers salary.

20. IF Seethru addressed a meeting drunk, I applaud him for it. It means he is a poet and there is hope. Plain drunk is better than drunk on self-importance – and THAT is a quality which no-one can say Seethru suffers from. Bankowski was always drunk at poetry readings and he will be remembered. The self-important, being essentially little people, are soon forgotten.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RR

Somehow I cant agree with you.

22. @ Carson C

LOL…I didn’t think you would for a moment! There was an element of tongue in cheek – as with the last thing I said in response to yours as I hope you understand.

23. Mr. Austin, first let me say outstanding, outstanding, outstanding and beyond outstanding insight. Sir your ideas are so crystal and will fit an Island of the size of Barbados well. Friend i can give you a hug for your brilliance and if you were to run for Prime Minister, you will completely have my vote. In America they say voting makes a difference. however it will never make a difference when those who are running for office are both evil. Barbados should never base its economic growth on tourism, but in the Barbadian people. Tourist have a home to go to after the vacation, the Bajans people have Barbados as home. If home is not taken care of first, who will want to visit your house. Mr. Austin you are correct, Barbados have critical need and must clean house NOW.

BRING THE THIEVES AND CRIMINALS ALL TO JUSTICE AND WEIGHT THE EVIDENCE AGAINST FOR A CONVICTION.

Roger (Bajan)

24. Six years ago and still relevant.