Austin

The DLP had a meeting in St. Michael for five constituencies and it is reported that only 130 persons attended total for all five constituencies. Now compare that to the BLP Dwight Sutherlandโ€™s St. George South Branch meeting held on Sunday the 25th March at St.Lukeโ€™s Brighton Skills Training Centre which featured Opposition Deputy Leader Dale Marshall and former political leader Mia Mottley where over 100 persons attended.

What is happening in St. George South is beginning to happen all over Barbados as the election grows near, finally the people of St. George South will get the kind of representation they deserve in these challenging times from its BLP candidate Dwight Sutherland.ย  Dr. Suckoo has โ€œnotโ€ served the people of St. George South well, and she has done a โ€œpoorโ€ job as Minister of Labour.ย ย ย  The labour force in Barbados and the people of St. George South want more that seeing their representative โ€œcheesing in the newspaper every dayโ€ saying and doing absolutely nothing tangible for her constituency in St.George South, or bajan people.

Bajans are starting to see through the smoke screen of poor governmental leadership and under performance coming from the current DLP administration and does like Dr. Suckoo.ย  To make matters worse our nation is suffering from a โ€œPM LEADERSHIP CRISISโ€ which no one is talking about but many Bajans know it, including some DLP supporters.ย  I call him the โ€œAccidental PMโ€, which may be a good title for a book or movie after he is out of office, but in โ€œthese timesโ€ with โ€œthese challengesโ€ PM Stuart is not the โ€œoneโ€ to lead Barbados.

Fortunately, Bajans are beginning to understand that the current DLP has โ€œNOโ€ socio-economic strategic vision for Barbados, NONE AT ALL.ย  The DLP slogan of โ€œthey are trying to build a societyโ€ in the midst of an economic crisis is simply โ€œpure nonsenseโ€, and you donโ€™t need to be an economist to know that (mark my words that slogan is going to come back to bit the DLP).ย  The best evidence to date of this lack of a strategic vision is the 2012-2013 Barbados Budget Estimates.ย  The DLP budget shows NO evidence of the kind of comprehensive fiscal vision needed to slow our growing national fiscal deficit, it does nothing to get government expenditures under control, and adversary impacts economic growth.

โ€œMAN CALL THE ELECTION, YA KILLING WEโ€

1. The above post really belongs in the Emmerton Sewerage Treatment Facility. What a load of Shi*te for one man to sit down and write. Give up Austin- ya killing we wid your crap!

2. The BLP neglect St. George South consistently, Owen Arthur refuse to give Louis Tull any roadworks so much so that Tull publicly complained that his constituency was being ignored. Now the same BLP coming back after 4 years talking about roads…….what a joke just like Sutherland.Dr. Suckoo will wipe the floor with this joker Sutherland.

3. While I’m not as adamant as the writer about the removal of the DLP,, I must admit that they have disappointed me BIG TIME. I was not looking for the “pie in the sky” the manifesto marketed but I was not looking for the amateurish behavor exhibited especially after the death of David Thompson. It seems he was the “in all” and “with all”, within the party and his absense caused a void that the DLP seemed never to be able to recover from. It would be best if they would lose the government, and this would allow them to re-group and re-focus, because right now they are like chickens without heads.

4. Dr Suckoo is among the poorest ministers in this “poor-raky” cabinet. I understand there was talk about dropping her from the cabinet but certain people begged for her. Nuff tall and No action.

5. Mrs Sookoo aka sarah palin is a dismal failure as us the DLP regime. It’s time to go. These nei-liberal right wing capitalist have no answers for the economic and social issues facing Barbados. A simplistic slogan will not do.
    Stuart remind me of a statement made by a French politician: ” there go the people, I must follow them for I’m their leader.”

6. I think that the Goverment has done well in an extremely vicious regional and global economy.
    Our economy is built on Tourism from England and International Business. Both of these pillars are under severe attack with the US and other World economies doing everything they can to shut down the IB sector.
    You can cut taxes and let people spend like crazy but that is only sustainable with consistent foreign exchange inflows. The selling of land and villas to UK residents which occurred in the Arthur period cannot be the model for this time because the UK and European economies are in trouble.So to tell people that to get the BLP in office,manna will drop from heaven is a promise and comfort to a fool.

7. Given a choice in cabinet between Dr. Suckoo (Barbados exhibition winner who returned to her roots after outstanding academic acheivement) and Wuk Fa Wuk, Dale (Bajan / US dollar Prison)Marshall, Dr. Suckoo wins hands down.
    This piss poor group of BLP candidates cannot take Barbados anywhere.
    There are no Louis Tulls or Bree St. Johns in this BLP group just a bunch of low acheivers looking to capitalise on the global recession led by a man whose only motivation is to stop the woman he hates from getting power of the party.
    A vote for The BLP is a wasted vote in the next election. The BLP aint ready!

8. !
    No-one expects maana to fall from heaven, but we’re looking for a more stable government. What is happening now is like putting a very high powered car in the hands of a very recent driver We know things will be hard for a while but we’re more confident with some-one who is more experienced. this government started out spending money like if it was going out of style. remember, the late night celebrations for independence, the money that was spent for two years until they realise it was not sustainable. Even now, the DLP is still trying to get David Thompson to get up and come back, they are still spending thousands of dollars on granite for his grave, football tournament, cricket tournament, vodka drinking tournaments and more to come, just to keep him the the memory of the voting public. Bajans have short memories, many have even forgotten about Barrow who did so much forthwm, Thompson did little or nothing , poor fellow he wasn’t even given the chance. However, he died a happy man because in his latter days, he admitted he has achieve one of his objectives, that was to become PRIME MINISTER of BARBADOS.

9. “A vote for The BLP is a wasted vote in the next election. The BLP aint ready!”

why don’t you let the voting public decide that? or are you scare of that? the one thing i hear everyday is the DLP will lose the election. you hear is from all kind of people across this country.

what i don’t hear is persons lining up to vote back in the DLP. yes you hear it on this Blog and on the radio but outside of that in my daily movements, i don’t hear it. i do hear persons who will tell you that they voted for DLP and will never vote for the BLP but they are sitting out this coming election and they list the reason why and more often than not, they talk about a leadership problem within the DLP.

i think, personally think when you look at the issue we face as a country, persons would debate who would be better to fix them and the DLP could make a case there but where they fall down is leadership. you hear how nice a man the PM maybe, but he is not leader.

! you can put you head in the sand all you like the only question is when will the BLP win the next election?

10. Fortunately, Bajans are beginning to understand that the current DLP has โ€œNOโ€ socio-economic strategic vision for Barbados, NONE AT ALL. The DLP slogan of โ€œthey are trying to build a societyโ€ in the midst of an economic crisis is simply โ€œpure nonsenseโ€, and you donโ€™t need to be an economist to know that
    Everyone including the Eager 11 knows and understands that the DLP bit off more than they could chew. The last 2 years has been filled with messed up patch work and stop gap fiscal measures as the’ inepts ‘ try to hold on until GEN.ELECTIONS.
    Along came the CLICO Watergate scandal… so far, what has come out the JM Report has brought jaw dropping emotional responses, that have totally vilified a once ‘larger than life’ held in highest of esteem. Again I reiterate so far..
    The word on the street now and for sometime.. is ONE TERM and for obvious reasons. The DLP party is totally out of its depths and drowning rapidly.One often wonders if the country can last out the next 9 months, til elections.

11. !
    I’ve got news for you, there will be many many wasted votes next elections, enough to out-number by far the good votes the DLP will get. I’ve seen the voting public kick out the BLP to the point where they were just three “blind mice.” I’ve also seen the same voting public almost destroy the DLP where they were two handicapped mice, the mood for a wash out of the DLP is very strong, unless the party can do something drastic within the next few months to turn things around.

12. The Scout wrote “No-one expects manna to fall from heaven,”

Very true. They are waiting for BLP manna.

13. DOES everyone understand that the coming election is the most eagerly awaited election in the last 50 years in BARBADOS???

DONT YOU KNOW THAT PEOPLE want dem to call elections NOW !!!

DONT you know that if the DLP win two seats , they win nuff ??
    DONT you know that you should mark my word???
    WOULD you believe that Froondull Stuarrrrrt is going to play that he aint calling elections until 90 days after the due date ???
    WHERE is the Eager 11 when you need ’em ???

14. @ those overseas and AWAY…
    Even now, the DLP is still trying to get David Thompson to get up and come back, they are still spending thousands of dollars on granite for his grave, football tournament, cricket tournament, vodka drinking tournaments and more to come, just to keep him the the memory of the voting public.
    TRUE TRUE TRUE !

15. Just Asking
    The longer the P.M takes to call elections, the longer he will GLORY in his unexpected elevation to the highest office in the country. However, win or lose he will be sitting pretty for the rest of his life, thanks to the passing of a man he didn’t like David Thompson. Fruendel Stuart is ONE LUCKY POLITICIAN. Lose twice, win twice and yet because of the luck of the draw became Prime Minister. Politics have served him well.

16. The BLP is trying to tell the public that you must blame the DLP for everything that is perceived as wrong in Barbados. If people are so gullible,then they would be inclined to believe that.
    I even heard one BLP supporter on the radio a few weeks ago blaming the DLP because the tourists were not spending. It never occurred to him that some of the HALF MILLION PUBLIC SERVANTS to be cut from the English government are tourists or their families.
    Please! The entire region is hurting – in Jamaica, the energy Minister Paulwell only last week told the public that the days of cheap oil are over- It is a global trend.
    But such is politics- The BLP continues to tell people that there is a magic solution that noone else knows but them,not Barack Obama or Freundel Stuart- Only the opposition. Therefore, you have people on this blog clammering for an election.
    Then WHAT?
    The BLP does not own any oilfields in the middle east to bring cheap oil to Barbados and many tourists do not even know who the PM of Barbados is.The tourists planning a vacation to Barbados does not first check to see who is the PM or attorney general- Get real folks.

The BLP will fool who they want to and who allows themselves to be fooled.There is no magic solution but the BLP will continue to deceive.

17. ! but isn’t this the same strategy the DLP used to win the last elections? I said then and I’m saying it now, the Global crisis was upon us when the DLP won government, yet the offered bajans a multitude of goodies that were not possible. The DLP was telling the public, and the public believed it, that the BLP government was in a partnership with the merchants to keep prices high, hence their slogan Cost of Livibg, Cost of Living, Cost of Living. This government was to break the shackles of the merchants by introducing new players in the market to force the local merchants to reduce their prices. What has happened, instead of cost of living coming down, cost of living has skyrocketted to heights unknown in this country. These are the things that are going to haunt this government next elections.

18. The Scout you talking so much rubbish. well that is what ! would have people believe. the BLP and they operatives can’t tell me nothing. i have eyes to see and i’m felling it and it has nothing to do with workers in England. the DLP is taxing me to death with no relief in sight but person like ! would want me to believe the DLP is doing its best?

best of the worst. i could careless who running the country, i just know i don’t want the persons who are doing it now. they have no ideas and that is clear for all to see.

call the damn elections and let the people decide, what does the DLP have to fear? they are doing a great job and should win by a landslide, not so?

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Old Onion Bags

I must disagree with you: you claimed that the DLP has bitten off more than it can chew, not so Mr. Bags, they have not bitten off anything: they are chewing on more than they can bite off.

While I have my doubts about Arthur and Mottley, this group of misfits that currently hold the reigns of Government are making the BLP look attractive. They seem not have to the answer to any of the problems that plague this country. Just imagine, on Tuesday, March 27, 2012, they wasted a day in the House of Assembly abusing the people of this country who have old relatives that they are unable to maintain. Some of these old people remain at the QEH after they were discharged because of various reasons. However, without determining these reasons, these lame excuses for MPs jumped on their bandwagon and abused everyone as though all of the circumstances are the same.

Some of these relatives would dearly love to take care of their older relatives. They simply do not have the resources to do so. In some cases these relatives have to work and maintain their own children and are barely able to fend for themselves. Some of these old people cannot be left at home alone. What should the younger relatives do, resign from work to babysit the old folk, and eat what? Most households need two salaries just to make ends meet. Everything has gone up since these dimwits took office in 2008, even water went up illegally by 60%.

They were not elected to abuse the people: they were elected to find solutions to the problems of this country. Something they have consistently failed to do. They have resorted to abusing law abiding Barbadians whose only “crime” is that they are too poor to supply the needs of their elderly relatives.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

David (not BU)

I extracted the following statement from your last comment:

the DLP is taxing me to death with no relief in sight but person like ! would want me to believe the DLP is doing its best?

I agree with “!” that the DLP is doing its best. However, its best is just not good enough. Let me state clearly that personally, I prefer Freundel Stuart but the problem stems from the fact that he is almost completely surrounded by idiots, and these idiots are the raw material from which he is forced to constitute the Government. I wished him luck before, but luck can only go so far and no further. It is the something else that they need that is missing.

21. @ self…whimsically

I thought the PM did a noble thing going to see Raul Garcia. But what’s happening now, I wonder? Was it just a publicity stunt like the CJ’s email?

22. Observing (and disbelieving) Avatar
    Observing (and disbelieving)

@!
    Can you tell us what the DLP has done (in the affirmative and without mentioning the BLP) that should cause us to vote for them when the bell is rung?

@scout
    What would constitute “something drastic” that might get them back in?

Just observing

23. Observing (not sleeping ) Avatar
    Observing (not sleeping )

I shud also add that I believe a constituency by constituency approach would give a better guage of either party’s chances. Nationally the DLP is weak, yes. The swing has started to shift away from them, yes. But, a majority of 16 is needed, full stop. It is not and will not be an easy “romp” for the opposition.

24. Win or Lose history will show that the austere methods taken by this government were the correct ones in preventing the country from impeding doom. yes people are feeling the remnants of a BLP government who if they had a vision for the country such austere methods would not have to been put in place because during the TIMES of PLENTY Much more would have been SAVED! However bear in mind that the austere methods which have been put in a place would stay in Place under the BLP if they win for the alternative would indeed be more catastrophicto the public for indeed as hinted by many would impact social programs and job loss in the public sector.

25. How is the DLP trying to build a society? They are taxing the life out of the people and telling you we will give you this free and that free. We gave you free bus fares for your children so don’t mind we tax you some more. We give you free summer camps never mind we will tax you some more. We give you some sonstituency councils run by DLP hencemen aka Patrick Gollop, Bobby Morris,etc; so we can give you the cheaper food we promised you. Honestly I can live without the kind of society that the DLP is trying to build that is a society that the government tax the kivung hell out of you and then give the people a little freeness here and there and everything is ok. I prefer the society where I’m not taxed as much and I can have my allowances and let me pay my child busfare to and from school. This freeness mentality that the DLP is cultivating is not good

26. It seems they are taxing so that the country can continue to render the social services and keep public sector jobs in position. Have we reconciled if we want to send home public sector workers yet?

27. Day after day the comments here reveals the mindset of those who are selfish instead of thinking about the overall needs of a country there only focus is on themselves for surely when in the good times they were among the many who received but now in the bad times the are the last to give that is give back to a country they said was GOOD to them. DT words rings so true at time with lots of meaning for those who have ears to hear’ Barbados is not only an economy but a society ” meaning We as a people in times of crisis must become as one for the Good of our country and put away our selfish and wanted Needs ! Or put another way ” Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your COUNTRY

28. @BAJE – Nonsense
    You are beleiving the BLP lies that the majority of expenditure is on constituency councils and summer camps.
    That has been the most consistent BLP lie of the past 4 years.
    The big money in government spending is health, education and the public sector wage bill.
    You could eliminate all councils and summer camps tommorrow and it would have negligible impact on the deficit.
    The BLP is blatantly trying to mislead Bajans.

The choice is tax increases or start paying for your education, pay for the QEH OR SENDING HOME thousands of government workers – That is the choice in an environment when the foreign exchange is not rolling in and you need to cut back demand.
    Either drastic cuts in government services or tax increases.There is no pie in the sky.Ask David Cameron in England.
    Ask Jamaica, St.Kitts, St. Lucia, Antigua,- all in IMF programmes.

Wake up and stop swallowing the BLP lies – There is no magic BLP solution and the BLP know it. They just will never admit it publicly.

29. @AC
    Quote: Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your COUNTRY.

This is “EXACTLY” what I am doing a bajan patriot who puts country first. I am for what is best for Barbados period, and the current DLP administration is NOT IT.

It would be OK if these where typical times we were in but we are not … when you (AC) put your partisanship aside you will see the DLP is doing total non-sense under a weak PM.

We need to get Barbados back on track, I am not a RICH MAN …. I am a POOR MAN …. so my positions are from that perspective as a bajan patriot.

just keeping it real AC (respectfully) …

30. – I am not one of the “quite” class that is OK driving by the increasing numbers of bajans peddling on our streets, or rising unemployment.

– I am not one for watching to poor get poorer

– I am not one for watching the middle class evaporate.

– I am not one to look under performance in the face and beacuse my “mummy” and “daddy” are DEMS, then I’m just going to vote DEM.. (NOT) … We can no longer afford this kind of thinking as “under performing politicians depend upon it, just ask Dr.Suckoo”.

31. @Scott
    quote: While Iโ€™m not as adamant as the writer about the removal of the DLP,, I must admit that they have disappointed me BIG TIME.

– And you want more years of disappointment ? this is where the bajan patriot should kick in against poor leedership and under performance coming from the DLP.?

– Putting country first means getting rid of PM Stuart, sad but true…

32. Observing (and musing( Avatar
    Observing (and musing(

No one on government’s side has bluntly and clearly “connected” the dots (for the layman) between high taxation and keep public sector jobs. Always a circumspect roundabout conversation of “revenues and deficits” or “society and social net.” A blunt “we have to tax or we have to send home” would be a nice way to start a conversation or debate. This is one of my points about inefficient (or absent) messaging, PR and communication by the DLP.

@ac and !
    I’m still waiting for either of you to tell us why we should vote for the DLP (in strictly affirmative language without mentioning the BLP).

Also, are Barbadians mature enough to temporarily do without “some” services and “perks” if it means saving us and making us good for another day? My thoughts are that they are…if shown properly, if guaranteed that the sacrifice is worth it and if leveled with honestly, fairly and with facts. The electorate though somewhat fickle is also more intelligent that politicians give them credit for. Remember, it wasn’t the 8% alone that floored Sandi, It was the no-confidence motion. Likewise, it may not be the economy alone that floors this government, but the swirls of “impending chaotic issues” that exist and persist and are not being dealt with.

33. old onion bags Avatar

@Caswell
    Mr. Bags, they have not bitten off anything: they are chewing on more than they can bite off.
    TOP SHOT !…Lol..”Class is class form is but temporary.:…So much so for the LIME settlement.

34. Stay positive Barbados we have a brilliant Prime Minister and a competetent cabinet- In the face of a category 5 global and regional economic hurricane, Barbados is standing.
    Tourists while hit by downturns at home are still coming, our social safety net is strong, We can still send our children to UWI without big fees, our public sector has not been decimated as has happened in England.
    A competent government has ensured this. We are exploring alternative energy sources with the government providing incentives in the budget,major cultural policy bill to be presented shortly as we enter new frontiers for development.
    We are strenthening our Financial sector regulation and oversight with the Financial Services Commission in place and running.
    The world and the region are hurting but our government has done well in the circumstances.
    Let us not fool ourselves with nostalgia of a bygone era. The World of 2012 is not the world of 1999- 2000.
    There is no economic messiah on a white horse to rescue the world. No politician with rich spending tourists waiting for after an election to come.Let us be real now.
    Barbados is pushing ahead and will continue to be the best place in the world and the Caribbean to live.

35. old onion bags Avatar

Caswell states,,,,,
    They were not elected to abuse the people: they were elected to find solutions to the problems of this country. Something they have consistently failed to do. They have resorted to abusing law abiding Barbadians whose only โ€œcrimeโ€ is that they are too poor to supply the needs of their elderly relatives.
    Article for a good posting on the elderly by Caswell. No other introduction needed ! What do you think…Caswell ?

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    In the face of a category 5 global and regional economic hurricane, Barbados is standing.
    When will the DLP get tired of this over used phrase…..GLOBAL recession ? We had recessions before and they will come again….and we will continue to stand… (your words )..so what ?

37. Observing (and asking) Avatar
    Observing (and asking)

@!
    Everything you have said would apply under any government. So I have to ask again, specific to the DLP and any action(s), why should we vote for them when the bell is rung. (First without mentioning the BLP, but feel free to contrast after)

38. old onion bags Avatar

@ austi
    This is โ€œEXACTLYโ€ what I am doing a bajan patriot who puts country first. I am for what is best for Barbados period, and the current DLP administration is NOT IT.
    Yet another shot from the top draw….

39. “Just imagine, on Tuesday, March 27, 2012, they wasted a day in the House of Assembly abusing the people of this country who have old relatives that they are unable to maintain. Some of these old people remain at the QEH after they were discharged because of various reasons. Some of these relatives would dearly love to take care of their older relatives. They simply do not have the resources to do so. In some cases these relatives have to work and maintain their own children and are barely able to fend for themselves. Some of these old people cannot be left at home alone. What should the younger relatives do, resign from work to babysit the old folk, and eat what? Most households need two salaries just to make ends meet.”

Caswell what do you want the government to do? Some of these families don’t have a problem cashing these old peoples pension cheques and keeping the money for themselves. Some of these same family members have taken over these pensioner homes and have put the owners out. Isn’t this abuse of the elderly? Those wutless families need to be bused and charged. What if it was that their children that got ill? Will they leave them in the hospital as well? BUT because they won’t even try to find a solution to solve their problems they abandon their problems and expect the government to solve them. Stupse……. like every thing else on this piece of rock everyone cud do as dem like with impunity. We lack empathy as a nation and that is one of the foundations needed to build a better society. Animals are mistreated and it comes as no surprise that older citizens are mistreated. Perhaps we are reaping what has been sowed for the last 45 years. Education has replaced common decency, honesty, empathy and common sense. What a sorry society and Nation we have become!

40. @ JUST ASKING

You ever thought to sit and ponder for a moment and then ask:-

Who owns Barbados Correction Corporation, an International Business Company registered in Barbados and which collects a cheque for US$30.0 million dollars every January and will continue to do so for the next 20 or so years?

Where does the US$30 million dollars annually end up, in who’s account and where, Guernsey, Turks & Caicos, Isle of Man, Zurich?

I JUST ASKING

41. old onion bags Avatar

@ Islangal
    Did you listen to Brass Tacks yesterday ? Care for the elderly is no easy undertaking even for those totally committed to keeping home their parents.Have you ever heard the phrase…” Once a man twice a child”….the lady on the call in program related the horrors she encountered while attempting to provide this care..
    Another side is that sometimes these senior citizens turn totally belligerent and attacks the caregiver with weapons…as they are no longer thinking right. Another side given today’s nuclear family with both parents working…it is difficult to find care givers..or those willing to put up with some bad cases far less.
    It is a major problem IslanG….that as David Ellis states needs to be handled delicately rather than was……point fingers at hard working caring Bajans….I personally know of a case where the elder refuses to go home for fear of ALIENS from space. No one in their right minds ill treat seniors..and the Senator’s( Irene) sensationalism yesterday…was a poor PR attempt at drawing sympathy to the plight of this administration.
    We need to build more geriatric homes period as the aged are living longer and yesterday’s infrastructure can no longer accommodate them. Stop the theatrics and alienating voter.

42. “We need to build more geriatric homes period as the aged are living longer and yesterdayโ€™s infrastructure can no longer accommodate them. Stop the theatrics and alienating voter.

For these people to get more bad treatment from the same john public who are employed there? What was fly doing before dog ear got stink?

43. Not everyone is a stay home MOM..ya know..people struggling as is to make ends meet.

44. @old onions
    “When will the DLP get tired of this over used phraseโ€ฆ..GLOBAL recession ?
    During 1994 – 2007, the global economy was expanding and the growth in the Barbados economy was lead by “INTERNATIONAL” tourism and “INTERNATIONAL” business.
    Barbados does not exist in a vaccum. To suggest that overseas economies do not have a MAJOR impact on what happens here is to blatantly try to mislead people.I am sure that you would never try to do that right?

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@old onion bags | March 29, 2012 at 9:50 AM |

Instead of all the hot air and finger pointing the government (whichever party administration holding the reins) MUST act and stop the long talk. Every year we hear the same old in and out of Parliament. Just like the Minister of Health and his yearly threats levied at property owners who refuse to keep their vacant land lots in a condition that donโ€™t pose a danger to public health or present as an environmental eyesore.

What is needed is that the hospital (QEH or Geriatric) inform the National Insurance or the Treasury to suspend all pension and benefits payments while the old folks are under the care of the hospital at the public expense. While the old person is under the long-term care of these public care giving institutions a social worker should be assigned to the case. If no family member is prepared to act as power of attorney then the social worker would be responsible for handling the financial and other affairs of the very old or incapacitated person.
    Stop the long talk and look after those who have made golden contributions to the development of this country. Here is where the overused remark โ€˜Barbados is more than just an economy, it is foremost a Societyโ€™ should be put into practice.

46. @ Miller
    I am all for that as well..some are abusing the system…that too we know.

47. Regarding the care for the elderly,like anything else there is good and bad.
    Who sacrifice more than some of these old people who suffer so that the children can have a better life.The ones the MPs were speaking about was those persons who can go to every show, every cat fight, travelling, the latest in everything but have no time for the old person who raise them. They are some like that . Downright ungrateful!
    While I know the stress of dealing with persons suffering with Alzheimers, for some the first choice is abandonment. It is never too much work after the old person has died to be up and down paying a lawyer tying to get the old person property though!

48. Ole onions…Were you ever trained to be a parent? Were you trained to wipe you child’s behind? Mop up its vomit? Clean its body? Feed him/her? Cook for a family? We have become a fcuking bunch of LAZY SOBS whose interest is having the latest Iphone, Blackberry, BIG screen TV and shiniest car/SUV. Than to assist or help pay someone to help take care of the ones who took care of you when you were helpless.

49. @ IslaG
    I am loss or miss your above point……LAZY ?
    So what you want people to do …give up their jobs and mind the elderly.. Where is the $$$ now go come from ?…go on welfare….live off the state.?
    .. OR…put them in a home ..private if you can….public otherwise….you tell me Brainzy ?

50. @Observing (and asking)
    Let me give you a few out the bag:
    Tourism
    At the outset of the recession, the government took the immediate step of setting up the Tourism relief Fund to assist our biggest foreign exchange earning sector.The BHTA president has said without that step, there would have been an almost total decimation of our hotel sector.Diversification of tourist markets and tourism product – Heritage Tourism, medical tourism at former St. Joseph Hospital site,yachting tourism- Fireball tournament, education tourism – new medical school at Wildey etc.

Alternative Energy- the development of a waste to energy complex at Mangrove which is currently being prepared and the fast tracking of the natural gas pipeline with Trinidad and Tobago to move us away from heavy oil dependence. This is essential to mitigate the role of fluctuating oil price shocks on our economy.

Education-The expansion of sixth form education and additions to the primary school plant(Blackman/ Gollop) with projects coming in on time and on budget.The expansion of National development scholarships.

Health – The physical upgrade of the QEH with the new electricity generating plant on site , upgrade at Polyclinics and national focus on prevenative care with the Chronic Disease commission. The much needed reform of the Barbados Drug Service.

Social Safety Net-
    A caring government strenthened the social services sector with increases in welfare payments, food vouchers. The Energy Fund was established to assist the elderly and disabled in dealing with high utility costs.

I would need another hour to talk about Housing,Agriculture, cultural policy,etc . All this while dealing with tourists who are feeling the economic pinch at home, the death of the leader , Hurricane Tomas and reccession and anaemic growth in your biggest trading partners. The Government has done well.