Chris Gayle (l) Sunil Narine (r)

Cricket loving fans in the Caribbean have been reacting to the news that a solution to the Gayle WIBC impasse is imminent. Reports in the regional media indicate that a high level mediation led by Prime Minister Ralph Gonzales [Chairman of the Caricom sub-committee on cricket] and President of the WIBC met with Gayle in St. Vincent last week. The fact that Gayle will need time to mull over a proposed deal continues to illustrate to those of us not intoxicated by the emotion this issue has generated that the underlying problem for the WICB and the West Indies team remains.

The real problem for the WICB is to recognize that the foundation of the problem is money and greed. Defenders of Gayle’s position suggest that loyalty cannot be taken to the supermarket. It does not matter that Sir Viv Richards and other prominent cricketers of yesteryear spurn attractive money offers to play in South Africa as one example of principle trumping money considerations. To think they were paid far less than present day players by the WIBC! There was a time when individuals were prepared to stand on a principle, any money consideration although important was not the ‘over-weight’ consideration factored to arrive at a final decision.

The leadership (used loosely) in West Indies cricket needs to reconcile what are the overriding perquisites to building a cohesive team now and the future. One does not have to be Peter Drucker to appreciate that a team requires members to committed to team objectives, as important, is the need for team members to manifest behaviours which lend to the team achieving optimal cohesion. All other considerations must be weighed secondary if the West Indies team is to achieve success.

Ironically it is the WIBC who has to give permission to players to sell their services to bidders like the IPL and BPL. How can team members like a Gayle and emerging star Sunil Narine be loyal to the ideals of West Indies cricket if there is the lure to become multi millionaires in less than 3 to 5 years? In his first year in international cricket Narine has been ‘auctioned’ for US$700,000 in the IPL. It is instructive that the numbers 1,2 and 3 teams in the world do not have the problem of their best cricketers taking flight, why? How does the WIBC and other bottom of the ladder teams affected by the new order in world cricket, ring fence the potential of their cricket programs to achieve success, a success which is a requirement especially for the good health of the national psyche of English speaking West Indian countries.

The recent concession by the WICB, in the spirit of compromise, demonstrates that the WIBC has surrendered its leadership role in West Indies cricket at the altar of political expediency and public opinion. The underlying issue remains. The West Indies cricket team cannot sustain success if its best players are allowed to peddle their services to the highest bidder. If they want to be individual contractors then they MUST surrender their right to be part of a team. The folly which currently exist where the WIBC routinely issues NOCs (No-Objection Certificates) because it is intimidated by the legal implications makes a classic example of the need to dismantle this monolithic structure which has surrendered its leadership role in the sport.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) which is responsible for governing world cricket must accept that the time is now to intervene. How can a body responsible for the oversight of world cricket ignore the effect businessmen with deep pockets continue to compromise the strength of the sport? Surely the Kerry Packer experience can be used to fashion a win win for all stakeholders?

1. How long before these deep pocket franchises start recruiting non test players, thereby removing them from the dictates of the WICB? Should this happen; those players are now further removed from developing the West Indies, why not look for a way out for all concern. While we are all great full that Sir Viv and others took a stand against playing in apartheid South Africa, I don’t think a comparison can be made. The situations are not the same, i.e., making a decent sum in the IPL vs. playing in a country that thought Viv then was scum. I do remember, however as a boy many W.I. cricketers missed matches, because they were away honoring their English contracts/county cricket…………they made money while honing their skills.

2. Viv Richards and others’ deciding not to go to South Africa was a moral issue, since apartheid was abhorrent. This is not the same as going to play in the IPLor any other T20 tournament, for which you can’t blame players, given the way the WICB has treated their colleagues in the past. Remember how the same Viv was treated when he indicated his desire to play in the World Cup? And this was a man who always put West Indies cricket first!

3. Why would any cricketer ( Narine ) turn down 20 years salary ( for six weeks work ) to play for the West Indies under the current WICB ?

West indies cricketers are picked base on the whims of the Board and selectors and players are not paid like the Australians.
    Australian cricketers are patriotic because they are very well paid by their Board and have lots of job opportunities after cricket.

What exactly is the ” West Indies” ?

4. I would like to congratulate the West Indies” team for beating Australia and wish them well tomorrow.

I would like to see Tino Best play but it is not looking good for him right now.

5. Do we think the moral fiber of all the players who turn down the offer to go to South Africa did so on moral grounds?

Do you understand that we have to look at a solution to the issue of financial tycoons destroying cricket as we know it?

Do you understand it is the same WICB and other country board which hone the kills of our crickters from school level only to have the same cricketers trot off to far away land because of the lure of money?

Think big? This is a cricket governance problem.

where is the ICC?

6. I’d rather Gayle not get back into the WI team.

He is making his money and is happy.

Let him continue to do so …. and be so.

We are happy too without him.

Everybody’s happy!!

Is it really that PM’s of the many ramshackle economies in the region really don’t have anything better to do with their time than champion Gayle’s cause?

7. David the ICC and the Boards that govern cricket should negotiate with the IPL, ,Australian Big Bash and other T20 tournaments to create schedules that do not conflict with each other.

I would like to see a “West Indies” team that includes Gayle and Narine but I would never ask anyone to turn down opportunities to make life changing income.

Why you think Hants still in Canada?
    eff yuh doan know leh muh tell yuh.
    Cause I does mek mo money in dis “freezer” dan I cuh eva mek in beautiful sunny Babadus.

8. Is the Barbados vs Leewards match being broadcast?

Tried CBC and VOB but no luck.

9. Everything I’ve just read here, as one would expect, is reflective and experienced. But Hants raises a question which is fundamental – and fundamental questions are so often ignored. His question was ‘What is the West Indies?’ To which I want to add what I regard as an equally fundamental question, which is ‘What is meant by “West Indian Cricket DOMINANCE”?’ – that is, what does the title to this post mean? I’ve not read anything about that but, rather, about the perceived problems for the team and it’s individual players relating to the lure of money which, of course, for discussion purposes is entirely proper – though it has nothing inevitably to do with ‘dominance’.

10. @robert

Yet again you seem to have problems understanding the big picture? With respect of course.

Why do we play cricket as a unit in the West Indies?

Do we play to win or lose?

Why do we persist with the UWI model anyway?

Given the investment in cricket as recent as CWC2007 how does this translate to judging the commitment of the political directorate to the importance of cricket?

The directorate if we can interpret correctly is representative of the people.

In the wake of Packer what did we learn?

Cricket can change but opposing sides must appreciate the benefit of being conciliatory so that all might benefit.

The ICC is responsible for planning future tours, the private initiatives like IPL, BPL and Big Bash would become even more exciting if players who turn their backs on these 20/20 competitions because of commitment to country or contractual obligations were made available to be auctioned.

We need to examine the big issue. Whether Gayle or Narine should command big salaries is not the issue.

11. @Hants

Until you find a link you can follow updates here:

http://www.bcacricket.org/2010/articles.php?link=2982

12. @ David

Equally respectfully, the question about ‘dominance’ IS the big picture. It’s actually bigger than winning or losing, about who gets what and how. Remedies for this and that may vary you see in accordance with how we see WI cricket in relation to the rest of the world, or how we want to see it. All of the matters you raise are self-evidently matters for discussion about the ‘state’ of cricket – it’s management, it’s players and all the rest – but set against what over-arching precept?

13. @ David

Yes, I looked at the link and it confirmed what I had suspected.

Of course, in those years the WI had a marvellous team – outstanding opening bats, a battery of devastating fast bowlers, a super wicket-keeper, a captain with great authority. But now, the post caption is “Dominance threatened” – as if to say that only recently has this “dominance” been thrown into question. In fact, it was lost a long time ago – and you know that.
    Are you in fact saying that this ‘dominance’ is something which is inevitably ‘ours’ by reason of divine right? As if to say that that is something which defines ‘us’? And this because at a particular moment in history we were ‘on top’? No, surely not. Yet that, I suggest, IS the over-arching precept of the post and why I said it was a fundamental question.

For years people have scoffed at and belittled the team for its failures with this same sense of disappointment that things were not as they once were and as they ought to be – somehow, as I say, by divine right; and yet have simply failed to understand the movements of history, the rise and fall of nations and cricket teams, that nothing ever remains static. For a time Australia is ‘on top’ – at that moment they have they right mix of this and that; at another it might be Zimbabwe or even (gee) poor old England. But none of this ‘defines’ anything like the truths of mathematics.
    None of this is to disparage any of the questions which you and fellow bloggers have raised. Quite the contrary: they are relevant and purposeful – and they boil down to this – how can we best secure the talents that are on offer
    in this game of cricket, with all the challenges that there are, at the present moment? In a sense, the rest takes care of itself and not least because we have no control over it. To obfuscate that issue by reference to an illusory on-going historically orchestrated ‘dominance’ I think is to suffer from a self-inflicted wound which only winds up the ego with an entirely false sense of self-hood.

14. @robert

Dominance becomes relevant if you accept that the West Indies is the only team which dominated a team sport for 15 years.

The fact that we are at the bottom of the ladder today speaks to a failure which must be viewed against what we have achieved in the sport.

History continues to record the West Indies as a premier cricketing nation.

It is therefore incumbent on the present leadership not to betray our history.

15. This is one of those issues which glaringly point out the biggest problem in the Caribbean / West Indies.

Federation failed, Caricom failing,Trinidad exploiting Barbados (Investment,Business and property ownership) but would not allow 50 Bajans to fish in their water.

When Bajans stop getting arrested for fishing in Trinidad waters and a Jamaican can get on a plane and come to Barbados looking for work, or when
    I can come to Barbados, go to Trinidad and tell their Immigration that i will be there indefinitely then “West Indies” will have meaning.

When “all uh we is really one” then we will be “West Indian”.

Wheel an come again allyuh. “learned that phrase from a Trini back when I was trying to show goodwill to “West Indian” females without consideration of insularity.

16. What you say maybe true based on how one defines Caricom/West Indies integration.

The flip-side is that one can promote functional cooperation through agencies like the UWI, WI cricket, CXX,CDB etc.

It is all in the definition driven by what is practicable.

17. @ David

While I agree with much of what you’ve just written, it is still nuanced to confirm what I have been trying to suggest. ‘Must not betray our history” – what on earth does that mean? Is the next move to demand reparations? But if you mean that administrators and others must use their best endeavours in the service of cricket in the region and that they are accountable at the bar of public opinion, then of course. And yes, I still regard Hants’ question as fundamental. It raises all sorts of questions about loyalty – to what? A team? A country? A mythical entity? Self-interest?
    But David, please understand I am NOT questioning anything that has been written here about the problems NOW or the way to address them. I have only addressed the possible mindset, insinuated by the post title, which may lie behind our discussion. And – in the light of what you’ve said to me – that was an entirely proper thing to do.

18. @Hants

In case you are interested Winwards at 4.35PM is 37/6 chasing 145 to win.

Yes indeed, mock cricket.

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

SUCH LOUSY CRICKET AT THE REGIONAL LEVEL IS THE REASON WHY WE ARE NO LONGER DOMINANT

20. Thanks David. I have been following on cc.com.

Proves your point. Why schedule a regional series to coincide with the Australian tour?
    Regional teams weakened because their best players playing for West Indies.

21. @Hants

In the case of Barbados we are missing Roach and Best, bowlers!

22. “we are missing Roach and Best,”

Luck for leewards. lol

23. 45 for 8

24. 72 all out.

Must have been a really bad pitch.

25. @Hants

What about when Barbados was bowled out for 58 at Kensington Oval recently?

26. John Cumberbatch Avatar
    John Cumberbatch

Greetings BU family:

This article is an interesting piece but it is not very factual in my opinion at all. The problems with WI cricket were manifesting themselves long before T20 cricket came to the fore, so this nonsense about cricketers running behind money is a non issue. Did they not run for money in the Packer days when 50 overs cricket became the craze of that era? What is the difference now? The game has become more commercialized, more money to be made by the players and they are seizing their more beneficial opportunities in similar systems, that are all using them for the same purpose of financial benefit at the end of the day. It is all business.

The main performance problem in WI cricket is a culture has evolved over a long period which has embraced talent but not rewarded professionalism. This has resulted in inconsistent/mediocre team results for some time now. Chris Gayle is not the heart of the problem either but just a part of a sick system that spoke out and has been ridiculed/ostracised by those whom he spoke out against, who unfortunately for him are the ones who hold the power in WI cricket. It is unfortunate he has to be a sacrificial lamb, but he appears to have accepted his role as martyr on behalf of his colleagues on the field of cricket.

Why is it that WI cricketers can go into professional leagues and perform like the most consumate professionals, but when they return to our system where they should continue to emulate these characteristics, we see the opposite in most cases? A the end of the day it all boils down to poor leadership at the top. If the head (WICB) is not functioning effectively, everything else will be in continued turmoil until the situation is resolved, or everthing simply will wither away to nothing eventually. If the WICB is accepting mediocrity consistenly from players, how will they ever improve? The WICB itself seems to be more concered with maximising financial gains out of the mess rather than accept some losses to improve the peformance on the field, and the professionalism of our cricketers on and off the field.

The cricketers I must say have a responsibility to be professional first and foremost, and maintain a high fitness level at all times as professional sportsmen who are paid a lot of money for doing as such. That being said, it is difficult to watch dedicated, loyal, professional cricketers being pushed over the edge. Chris Gayle is the first to come to mind due to the present circumstance, but what better an example than Chanderpaul. Who has been more loyal, dedicated, committed (I could go on and on) to WI cricket, but yet he is treated like a doormat by the board and shown little respect. He has been the most consistent WI cricketer over the last 15 years easily, with a lot to offer, but was discarded in the most callous manner from the ODI side because of age and not underperformance. Nonsense, he would have to play for me till he dies if he could maintain his levels of committment and consistency to the team, especially under the circumstances during this period. If you are developing the team, going in the direction of youth, keep your performing elders in the ranks to guide the youngsters. If recycling the like of Marlon Samuels as an elder to guide the youngsters with his poor attitude because he is younger than Chanderpaul is considered a step forward, that is not good enough. We are rewarding the player who did the wrong things, and punishing the player who carried the burden through thick and thin. What can a young player learn from Marlon Samuels versus what he will learn from Chanderpaul? This is taking me places I did not intend to go so I am signing off for now BU readers. I look forward to some positive and negative feedback from you.

27. Don’t play for them Gayle. West Indies cricket is dead. Let ignorant Otis Gibson and Julian Hunte and Darren Sammy play for West Indies.

28. @John Cumberbatch

Perhaps you should reread the blog.

@Baje

Is it not interesting to note that if you speak to 50 West Indieas they offer 50 different solutions?

What does it say?

How can you have a system in the Caribbean which breeds amateur cricketers and expect them to graduate to the international stage where their opposites have forged their skills in a domestic system which is semi or professional?

Yes you can blame Gibson et al but the root problem remains.

29. @David

Is your sense of humour working overtime? What West Indies cricket “dominance”? I didn’t get the impression that you were speaking in the past tense. The current crop of cricketers are mere shadows of those who preceded them, they have ceded the bit to others who will not surrender it without a fight.

So save those tales of “dominance’ for your grandchildren, they may wonder why some people continue to play the sport.

30. however as i read these comments one questions comes to mind :would the greats play under the same conditions of back then given the same scenario of today.Does it mean that today’s players are less dutiful because of the trappings which embodies the game ? or are we all so trapped in the past that we somehow forget that the challenges of the new breed of cricketer was never a force to be reckoned with for those of the past?time has change everything and the world of cricket as we knew it has been revolutionised by money and greed ,Something we must think about!

31. Sargeant wrote “The current crop of cricketers are mere shadows of those who preceded them”.

I disagree. We do not have as many as we did in the “glory days” but there are still very good cricketers playing in the Caribbean today.

32. WHY isnt this article about congratulating the Windies for beatin’ the Aussies for the first time in 6 years and in a position to win a series against the Aussies for the first time in 17 years ??
    WHY all this shite about Piss Gayle aka Chris Fayle ??

YOU think that Piss Gayle really want to play cricket for the West Indies??
    WHAT is a cricket Mercenary ???
    YOU dont know this a big trap the men just set for he because they know that he didn’t really want to sign and that they will get the last laugh ???

JUST ASKING along with
    JUST OBSERVING -(GRANNY)

33. i do believe the cricket alumni and all have congratulated the westindies anyhow it might only be shortlived that is why the response is kinda luke warm and not as highly received as much back in the glory days. however it was well noted of you to hightlight that win again!

34. @ David

An ‘honest’ question…what is the UWI model you referred to?
    I understand that there is a UWI cricket academy – but I have never understood what it means or what it does or how, precisely, it’s supposed to further the interests of West Indian cricket. Does it mean reading books about the past? Or reading a sort of ‘Trevor Bailey’s Book of Cricket’ which shows you how to play strokes? Or is it about being gentlemanly on the pitch? I suppose I should go in one day and ask. I suppose Herod-Beckles had it very much in mind when he sneered at Gayle in St Kitts some time ago and got us all such a bad name with the Jamaicans.

@ Hants

I’m sure I remember you saying that the wheel will turn – and I’m sure you’re right. How can we help it turn I wonder?

35. @robert

Going back to the issue of dominance. The article was the view that a WI team having achieved the greatness derived by being 15 years a champion does not lose that greatness despite a losing record. What that team was able to achieve has made WI, a criketing country, great forever and hence the descriptor ‘dominance’. You and others may disagree but is does not detract from the point.

Regarding the UWI model is meant to empasize the fact the UWI organ is regarded as a regional symbol which although not perfect is one of the better examples of cross border sharing. The West Indies cricket team is one other example. It is about ‘holding up’ the few examples we have as regional success many which continue to define who we are as a people. Sir Hillary would have to dymystify what he is doing with the academy because he alone seem to be championing it.

36. @ David

Oh I see. Thankyou. I thought you had in mind some kind of cricket model coming out of UWI and naturally assumed you referred to the Academy which, as I say, I know nothing about.

But on the UWI model as you explain it – you are right to mention its imperfection and, in fact, increasingly that august institution is making Hants’ point for him. You will know that Jamaica now has its own Faculty of Law and that Trinidad will shortly follow suit. It’s basically about national identity. I’m not sure whether the other territories still operate the quota system – but at least at one time, for example, something like six students a year only came from Antigua into law. Guyana has its own university (though its activities are imperiously monitored from Barbados) and I’ve no doubt we shall see the same in Jamaica in just a few years. Meanwhile medicine is now also in Barbados. Before too long I’ve no doubt that Barbados will have its own professional law school since, apart from the point above, the others are bursting at the seams.

In short, David..there’s not very much left of this model, is there?

37. @ David

I think your blog went haywire towards the end..but I think you’re saying that cricket defines who we are as a people. That is the root, I suppose, of our disagreement. You see in saying this, I think you’re selling us all short.

38. @robert

What it means then in much the same way we are discussing WI cricket we need to do the same concerning the UWI and its continuing role. It was interesting to listen to Opposition Leader Arthur recently speaking during the Estimates Debate about the business model the UWI plans to build out that will result in increase revenues for the UWI and country. Who is responsible for articulating the vision of these regional institutions? One would think if the government of Barbados has to heavily subsidize the institution on the Hill that it is a partner at the table when strategy is being mapped.

39. @robert

Do you accept that our history defines who we are as a people? If the answer is yes…

40. hants keep all the money you got in the freezer and allow me to continue enjoying life in the sun with the little i got. wouldn.t swap with you for nothing in this world.

41. @ David

If we keep meeting like this…..

(1) Note in the first response you speak regionally one moment and then refer specifically to UWI in Barbados. In other words, the plight of UWI here – the consequence of massive and arguably irresponsible capital expenditure – is not really a regional question at all.

(2) Yes of course history is a defining feature though not the only one. But 15 years of history (to use your figure)? But what I think our exchanges have shown is that as much as anything the post is about how best to keep the regional dynamic in our cricket team – and, actually, I have no problem with that at all – since, at root, it goes back to the question Hants raised. Neither would I quibble if the question be put ‘How do set about restoring WI cricket to its former greatness?’ – because great it was for a time.

42. @robert

BU rarely post about matters of a cricketing nature for obvious reasons. Hopefully the fact that the blog provoked some useful exchanges satisfied the effort it took 🙂

43. @ David

Of course it did…and I don’t think it’s finished yet. This is only day one and Zoe hasn’t chimed in yet.
    Can I tell you a story? It relates to the lecturer I mentioned on another post in the Poverty Law class. A student, who happened to be a social worker, gave a lecture to the class on the legal implications of aids. She brought with her a collection of condoms, a femdom (?) and some sort of table in the shape of a bookmark which she distributed to the class including the lecturer. Some while later, and just before another class/clinic the lecturer looked at this bookmark/table and found it was a table about the size of the male member in different races. Now remember the lecturer was white. Apparently the table suggested that the average size of the white male member was a fraction more than the black. The lecturer was flabbergasted at this and so was seen mounting the stairs to the class muttering to himself that it simply could not be true. Outside the class he met two Jamaican female students and told them what the table said. Seemingly the girls went ballistic insisting that the table was ‘lies, lies, lies’. Now affronted by their own assumptions and unwillingness to evaluate the information, the lecturer stormed off and was heard to say “For Christ’s sake. Is that all we’ve got here – Big Ones and Cricket”. So you see……

44. We all should be practcal here, there’s life after cricket, hence I believe that Gayle and Narine has the right to honour their IPl contracts

45. @robert

Getting back to your 12:31 comment. Are you saying that UWIs in the four countries do not collaborate on curricula? Are you suggesting there is no cross pollination and sharing of best practices? Are you telling us that our regional centres of excellence have become 100% autonomous?

46. @balance wrote, “wouldn.t swap with you for nothing in this world.”

If I didn’t have family to support I wouldn’t be in the freezer.

I am happy for you. Barbados is one of the best places in the world to live.

47. In the normal working world people have expectations of continuous employment and personal development.

How can you expect people to play cricket for the West Indies for a few years and fend for themselves when they are dropped.

Until the West Indies can MATCH the level of FEES and structure of the Australian cricket Board, they will lose the best players to the IPL and the Australian Big Bash.

Who would turn down $700,000 for 6 weeks work?

Should Gayle turn down the $2million he will make?

For the record I don’t remember ever using the term “West Indies” other than when referring to cricket.
    When asked “where are you from?” I say Barbados. if next question is where is that? I say it is in the Caribbean and if necessary describe where it is relevant to the USA and South America.

48. @Hants

The issue is not that these players should not make money. It is that the cricket boards and the ICC should work with the IPL etc to find a win win. If the situation continues teams from the WI and others with less ressources will never achieve success because the best players would always be snatched away by the lure of big bucks.

49. this is a different ball game the rules are different the younger generation is not playing for the love of the game or country but for the love of the money and family. but who are we to judge them. recently i heard a minister begging to have one of the greats name be placed in historical perspective . Look the past cricketers were seen as heroes but many did not get respect due from their country today’s bunch look back into the past and makes a decision that the bottom line trumps all else and in a way even though it may be selfish it may be the way they see how the past crop of cricketers were abandon and left to fend for themselves and has made a real decision it is not going to happen to them. First we must look at the way we have treated our greats before harping and chastising the newer generation of cricketers for it is the past that might have been the final arbitrator in forming their decisions

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply