Austinโ€™s 2012 Q1 Blog Poll

Austin

The people of Barbados spoke loud and clear in the last election for change they could touch and feel, however in 2012 Bajans still find themselves “touching” and “feeling” in the dark created by the current DLP administration.ย  Their vote came after hearing all the โ€œright stuffโ€ as detailed in the DLP manifesto. However what was lost in the excitement of the historic moment was an analysis of whether the promises in the DLP manifesto could actually be fulfilled. At this point in 2012 the answer appears to be clear, honest and a disappointing โ€œNOโ€, but donโ€™t take my word for it go review the DLP manifesto and see what was accomplished to date โ€œnot much at allโ€. The blaming of the global recession for all our challenges in Barbados as a reason to โ€œnot actโ€, “not lead”, โ€œwait and seeโ€, in defence of Bajan families got weaker by the minute in 2011, now it gets weaker by the second.

Forgetting politics for a second (just a second) the fact of the matter is that our “ROOT” crisis as a nation is one of “POOR LEADERSHIP”, sad but true.ย ย  The current PM is a great Barbadian as history will show, but he is not the natural leader, at a time we need a natural leader.

The question that โ€œSTILLโ€ comes to mind is whether โ€œtodayโ€ the peopleโ€™s choice of a DLP administration to bring about desired chance was a good choice, again the answer has been proven to be โ€œNOโ€, just as it was last year.

Whether you like it or not the BLP has put Barbados back on track historically at key moments, we are at one of those โ€œmoments NOWโ€ and we simply need the BLP running this country again.

Iโ€™m not a political strategist but the BLP had healed it’s internal wounds, produced quality candidates, taken on a visible people first oriented campaign, and has demonstrated compassion for the struggles of the average Bajan family.

1. The elections machinery is being prepared, voters lists are out and everything is being put in place, yet for a very long time there has not been a properly constituted survey done, is somebody scared of the results of such a survey? Mr P.M are you going to come at the last minute and FIRE Mr Broome from AX, just to get the teachers’ vote? Are you going to come at the last minute and pass some cocker-bull integrety legislation that does do worth the paper its written, just to get votes? We are not children that can be fooling constantly with promises. It is sickening when big people can behave like immature children. The DLP would have be well positoned has the “KING” not gone to the great beyond, even with the dark shadows that now hangs over his head. The DLP has been like a chicken without a head, since the terminal sickness to the King, and eventual death. If it was not for the sweets being lavished on many of them now, they themselves would prefer to lose the next election. many of them, however, will lose weight, plus they, like the former P.M would realise people who used to give them great respect would treat them as ordinary people. They should start getting used to being ordinary people again

2. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar
    Observing (not to be confused with Observer)

@Austin
    “Forgetting politics for a second (just a second) the fact of the matter is that our โ€œROOTโ€ crisis as a nation is one of โ€œPOOR LEADERSHIPโ€, sad but true.”

Wow, really unbiased there.

What constitutes good leadership? And which is more important, the quality of the leader or the quality of the team? do you mean political leadership or national leadership?

Just observing.

3. Scout,

I think the Nation is scared to conduct a poll right now. Can you imagine the scorn and derision the Dems especially those on this blog would pour on Kaymar Jordan’s head. And you see the way they went after her during the GANG of 11 letter plot. Can you imagine how they would behave if the poll showed that the DLP would lose??

The PM cant touch Jeff Broomes. If he, the PM attempts to fire him, Jeff and his lawyers would file injunctions that would prevent the order from taking effect. Mark my words.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Wait another poll….who this is this time Wickham ?…I taught he did in UK wid D am am….How comes Wickham doan spell he name in here doah ? Like he is shy…Wickham tell the boys n girls who gine get D boot and who might get shoot. wid a mock gun..I hear ______holding nuff blanks and got D Eager 11 frighten.But who would B frighten fa dumb boy…… ac wanna musse hear dis joke already…..dumb boy report card had ..under conduct..TOO TALKATIVE……Dat aint we dumb boy fa sure now!.

5. @Prodigal Son

You are being unfair. BU pointed out that Kaymar Jordan promised Barbadians a ‘signed letter’ to support the story. She never had a signed letter, it was unethical, some might suggested dishonest. It had nothing to do with the content of the story. We have to learn to separate the issues.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son : 9:04 p.m. | The PM cant touch Jeff Broomes. If he, the PM attempts to fire him, Jeff and his lawyers would file injunctions that would prevent the order from taking effect. Mark my words.

Prodigal Son

You have a fundamental misunderstanding of the operations of the Public Service. The Prime Minister has absolutely no authority to fire a public officer. The only authority that can dismiss Mr. Broomes or any other public officer is the Governor-General acting on the advice of the Public Service Commission. If he is dismissed, the appeal is to the Privy Council not by way of injunction to any court.

7. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar

I notice the AX flares are going up in the air again. Discomfort? Dispatch? Disillusionment? Discontent? Dis again???

Go figure, BSTU plastered videos all over their with Redman pontificating on her “interpretation” of what the PM said and what was “supposed” to happen. The internet is a timeless repository, a word to the wise.

8. Cynthia Forde raised the AX matter in the Estimates Debate today suggesting that all is not well at the school.

9. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar

It was raised in last week’s Nation too by Redman (Week 6). She sounded slightly “deflated” if the reporting is anything to go by. Been hearing rumblings in other places too. again, like CLICO AX is lose lose. Best for leaders to soar above the fray with these ones.

@Caswell
    By getting intimately involved in the process the PM has set a potentially wound inflicting precedent. You are right on procedure and protocol but a bigger picture has been painted on that canvas.

10. WHY are you asking this question when the answer is obvious ??
    YOU think that somebody gwine vote for Freundel and his nonsense for another five years???
    CAN you really take another 5 years of the foolish foolishness?

11. BY the way –who is um that dropped Ryan Hinds from the BARBADOS team ?
    WHA GOING ON in Barbados with cricket ??
    WHO um is that want –no-balling ???

12. Austin, that article is bare sh**e. How come you aint blame the government for Greece, the Eurozone, the world price of oil,the fact that European tourists aint spending any money, the war in Afghanistan,the APD and every problem in the world.
    Austin you right about one thing you are not a politcal strategist – you are an idiot talking about the BLP healing its wounds- Man hush do.
    You are a certified BLP lackey and like most BLP sympathisers you are trying to fool people that Barbados is the only country in the world battling a tough economic climate.
    Your article was devoid of any reasoning and sounded more like Beresford Leon Padmore regurgitated crap.Piss Poor JUST like the current crop of BLP candidates.

13. !
    The silly season is really on and the party yard fowls are on the paling doing their thing. Would I be asking too mucg if we refrain from cussing each other and deal only with facts. I know it is difficult when one has to defend the undefendable but either try in a humane way or shut up, it will blow away very soon when a new topic arises. The days of ” mama tell she bout she big foot before she tell you bout yours” gone through the edoes long time. We are too educated, i almost said intelligent, for that.

14. Caswell,

Thanks for correcting me. I am not so naive as to believe that the PM can fire someone personally! Dont you know that he can have it done through the very same channels you mentioned? People will not see his hand at work in the matter.

Knowing the way the PM has been operating, why did you not advise Mary Redman not to trust him?

15. Scout,
    Once a story appears on this blog criticising the DLP, the Dems get cruel and begin to curse like hell. Hey, you Dems this is the season of Lent, show some restraint.

On other matters coming out of the Estimates Debate, I could not believe my ears when I heard Dr Esther Byer Suckoo saying that they cannot understand how government documents and files are ending up in the hands of the BLP.

Hello, Dr Byer………do you suffer from amnesia?? Remember the dead king at Haggatt Hall?? He had all the government files from the Ministry of Transport and Works on the SSS (3S) contract with the government and the dead king cried “May day, May day”,
    CORRUPTION, CORRUPTION, the BLP is corrupt. And most Barbadians believed the BIGGEST LIAR that ever graced the political landscape of Barbados.

Dems have no shame at all…. and then there was the Minister of Health shouting the BLP has offered no solutions only alarming Barbadians. I remember him in his first Budget Debate shouting across the floor to Mia…”we dont want to hear nothing from wunnah, wunnah had 14 years and now is we time, we dont want no suggestions from wunnah.” Chris Sinckler then joined him…”we ent want no suggestions from wunnah, we doing things we way, this is we time”, while David Thompson sat there smiling.

……and Donville Inniss now has the gall to say the BLP offer them no suggestions….hello, we know you all suffer from amnesia!

16. What are the political implications for government if the Alexandra matter flares, again?

Based on press reports today all is not well at the St. Peter school.

17. Based on the way the PM has been operating as PM since he assumed the office, did the BSTU really expect him to deliver phase 2 far less phase 3,4,5, or 6 any time soon???

The teachers had to know they would have to wait whilst Freundel took his own time. He said in an interview with Gercine Carter that he makes decisions whilst washing his socks. Maybe he has not been washing lately, hence no decision. LOL.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | March 14, 2012 at 10:30 AM |

Good piece of wood up the fiery DLP hypocritical backside.
    Keep stoking the fire until they go up in smoke. The Bees need no longer fear the DLP smoke. But the stench from the CLICO poison gas is backfiring so heavily as to fumigate those rats out of the corridors of bay street and send them back to their george st. stink hole.

If the cabinet knows that there are certain civil servants feeding the Opposition with “classified’ information then they are in breach of the official Secrecy Act and should be disciplined accordingly.
    Why get up in Parliament and levy such damaging and disparaging remarks that are, by deduction, casting serious aspirations on the competence, professional ethics and integrity on senior public officers.
    I rather predicted that the public workers would become the DLP whipping boy and scapegoat to hide behind for their abject failure in fulfilling manifesto promises and pledges. The BLP is now punch drunk from the DLP imaginary blows levied by the likes of ac and โ€œ!โ€. So go after the people who canโ€™t stand up for themselves in public. If only the phoney marshal(l) can have a โ€œroad to Damascusโ€ moment and tell the truth for once.

But a word advice to the good doctor lady who accuses the civil servants of sabotage and spying for โ€œthe members on the other sideโ€: When there is an outbreak of any virus or communicable disease the first likely place to look for the source of the outbreak is right in oneโ€™s own back yard, or more relevant to the current epidemic, the kitchen cabinet in your own house where the most dangerous bacteria can be found. There are known quislings from the marina, backstabbers, under-miners and termites of a viral nature already eating away at the wooden puppeteer at the front of the cabinet.

Stop attacking those who can defend themselves other than via the ballot!

19. david the DLP may well lose. What I want to say to you that as a man who does move round the country I see a disconnect. The blogs and the newspapers are having what i call an upper middle class debate that really not cutting it with the rest of the country.

You see David boy, on this blog and the newspapers I read nothing about housing. But as I move round the rock, that is still a huge issue for people and they see the government trying in that area. maids, clerks, admin officers and so on are seeing hope in this area. whether they will vote on this or not I dunno, but that is one of the things they talk a lot about that does not show up on the blog and in the newspapers.

20. I see a lot of tiny houses all around the country but not many are tenanted.

The cost of these houses are prohibited to those who really need them. You would agree that the people who really need houses have large families and sometimes the grown children bring in their boyfriends/girlfriends which adds to the household. For the government to build these tiny houses which they claim are for the “poor man”, is laughable.

I dont know with whom you speak but those I come in contact with on a daily basis say that this government has been the worse they can remember. A staunch Dem told me a few weeks ago, ………….man, my party in power but I do better under the Bees than Dees. When the Bees are in power, I have money in my pocket now things hard as hell and I will have to vote in my interest, not party.

21. @ Businessman
    a huge issue for people and they see the government trying in that area. maids, clerks, admin officers and so on are seeing hope in this area. whether they will vote on this
    Man Businessman
    You is BARE BOO…you come in here wid that poor rakey talk fa trute ?
    We talking bout a MAID or a Clerk ?….Can they buy a lil pokey house fa $347,000…and pay fa it how wid what ?Are you aware of the repayments on a $347,000 or the requirements fa that matter..

Reel and come again business man..D boys in hay is from D TOP DRAW ya hear..dat shit can’t fly.

22. @ miller
    There are known quislings from the marina, backstabbers, under-miners and termites of a viral nature already eating away at the wooden puppeteer at the front of the cabinet.

Hear Miller d boss….eloquent work…..tell them bout D stench too

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

old onion bags | March 14, 2012 at 12:24 PM |
    “Reel and come again business man..D boys in hay is from D TOP DRAW ya hear..dat shit canโ€™t fly.”

Especially those “Cawmere” mafia crew who attended the Hill in the late 70’s.
    KK & Tony K would be proud of you! Even โ€œRubber Nutโ€! ;()

Ya think we could get A. Downsey or M. Howard the professors to teach the “trained economist’ a few basic elements of economics to help out your gf “ac”?

24. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar

Business man
    This vote (lower class housing) would have already gone to the DLP

@DAvid
    If it flares up again it makes FS look weak, exposes the “perceived” fissues between him and RS, and casts doubt on the ability of the leader of the land to deliver, even if the promised delivery was conceived by a shrouded and questionable “process”

It will also raise the ire of the BSTU (again) and set the lady in red on a mad rampage. If history is anything to go by she should be calling for FS head next.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | March 14, 2012 at 12:24 PM |:
    “We talking bout a MAID or a Clerk ?โ€ฆ.Can they buy a lil pokey house fa $347,000โ€ฆand pay fa it how wid what ?Are you aware of the repayments on a $347,000 or the requirements fa that matter..”

A top draw card for the businessman: Can a maid or clerk buy food and pay bills and still manage a mortgage of $347,000 plus legal fees? A mortgage loan of$347,000 works out to monthly payments of $2,546.16 PER MONTH over a 30 year period at an interest rate of 8% .

Businessman can suggest any variable he wishes but a ” low income” person still can’t afford the “lil pokey” house. BTW, a “lil pokey” is a treasured asset and might be worth not a $347 but a $743 grand house. (LOL!!)

26. old onion bags Avatar

@ miler
    a woman in a jail…a woman in jail…and she got she…..you baddie boy you Miller…lol

27. Lashley clearly has a very good pr team. Since 2008 you been hearing about Marchfield, Greens, Workhall, Four Hill over and over and over again but repeating locations doesn’t increase the number of houses. Over 1000 houses supposed to be built at Coverly but less than 100 sold and now they are being sold overseas by the developers. Ask the poor women of this country who ask him for a house what he say to them. Find out how many of the women who got units at Country Park Towers actually working and can pay the $800 and $900 dollar rents. Find out how many tenants there already in arrears when rent supposed to be paid by salary deduction. Where are the 500 lots at $5.00 a square foot that they say in the manifesto already identified and would come in 500 days? Where the VAT off the building materials? Where the housing fund for public workers?

So Mr. Business Man, people would have to be talking about housing, cause Lashley barely talking too.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ mystified | March 14, 2012 at 2:11 PM |
    “Find out how many of the women who got units at Country Park Towers actually working and can pay the $800 and $900 dollar rents.”

I pass there often and notice many cars with “P” registrations.
    I though these houses were earmarked for the people in the city who- as the Minister of Housing recently pointed out- suffer some of the most depressing housing conditions in the Country and totally embarrassing to a so-called developed Barbados with its boastful claim of enjoying the highest standard of living in the region.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Why dont you offer yourself as “leader”, it would be nice to see if you have the courage to mount a Political platform and face the electorate, we would all know in no uncertain terms what they think of you.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(May2012)

One has take everything you say with a pinch of salt.
    You certainly dont let the truth get in your way.

Then again you are a Barbados Labour Party supporter and that speaks for itself.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Under the DLP we will make sure that all who want a house gets one.

Unlike the Crooked Barbados Labour Party whose goal was to increase car ownership.

32. Arthur in his response to the Estimates recommends that the government enable domestic spending. His premise is that 70% of Barbados economy depends on local spend.

33. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C. Brathwaite

That is a point that most economists in the world, and persons who understand the workings of an economy especially in small developing countries have advised and would do. In fact, Errol Barrow also suggested that as far back as 1974 (although he did not do anything to stimulate domestic spending). The professors and economists that were critical of last year’s DLP budget have said the same exact point. This government fails to listen, ask the bulk of the private sector.

34. old onion bags Avatar

@G.C.Brathwiate

Onions concur…but some of these lesser equals won’t understand….that’s why the BL&P cash flows were so important…$14 million a month out through the tundra CDN…..imagino

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We want no “advice” from Seethru.

He can put his “advice” where the monkey put the nuts.

36. Polls on BU are meaningless unless it relates to the use of Viagra or blood pressure medication.

The majority of the regular bloggers on BU are over 50 years old.

37. old onion bags Avatar

Carson boy…it looks like the WILDERNESS once more BECKONS….hold ya head high boy…..the troubles were out you faithful’s HANDS….I will not LIE CHEAT or STEAL…..let you guys down….and his replacement was a total_____________.ouch…What do you do in these instances ?Look forward to 2027…hope it will be a good year….We feel your pain.

According to Hants..(.50+)….some of we may not B around.

38. Congratulations to Senator Kerry Ann Ifill ( Barbados’ first female President of the Senate )

Only the great visionary Democratic Labour Party is capable of such a magnificent appointment.

Appointment also in order to new Senator Verla Depieza

39. This Blog is A hot bed of BLP propaganda! ands de Poll LOL it like the devil voting for he self. I am outta here Stinks like hell here PROPAGANDA! AX on the hit list again . Now BLP has TWO issues to talk about.LOL

40. Prodigal Son said at 10.30 am this morning :
    “CORRUPTION, CORRUPTION, the BLP is corrupt”
    Well said Prodigal, ya now seeing the light.

41. Mia getting some hot lashes is she ” mocka zema ” from Chris Sinckler in the House at the moment .

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | March 14, 2012 at 2:37 PM |
    “One has take everything you say with a pinch of salt. You certainly dont let the truth get in your way.”

Neither do you allow a bitchโ€™s tail to get in the way even with vaseline or baby oil to groom. One wonders if there is a salty tang left on the loverโ€™s lip. Only CCC can confirm.

One is aware that you CCC have been exposed as a โ€˜bitch loverโ€™. To use your own words โ€œmy female dog at homeโ€. So if you think I am a BLP lover, so be it. I rather โ€œbeeโ€ a sweet โ€œBโ€ee lover than a โ€œDโ€oggie with fleas abuser.

Now leave me! Bow wow!

43. “Ask the poor women of this country who ask him for a house what he say to them”
    Wake me up if I dreaming, The BLP yardfowls on the blog complaining about the situation with women asking fa houses and their solution is to bring back Gline Clarke!
    The BLP left 26 000 people standing up at The NHC after 14 years , man find another smokescreen. The DLP record on housing is very impressive.
    Only a blind partisan would not admit that. This government has done more in 4 years of global reccession than the BLP did in 14 years.
    Wuk fa Wuk was too busy looking fa wuk to build houses.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 14, 2012 at 4:02 PM |
    “Polls on BU are meaningless unless it relates to the use of Viagra or blood pressure medication. The majority of the regular bloggers on BU are over 50 years old.”

Just a mirror of the intellectual elite in Bim. Look in the Parliament and you would see a similar representation.
    Are you one of the norm or a deviation?

45. This is the worst performance by a BLP parliamentary group that I have ever seen.
    Mia took the bait and clearly showed herself unprepared. She was definitely not up to her usual standard.
    The rest of the BLP team was truly poor-rakey at best. No memorable presentations, no economic exposition. The BLP needs to find a way to bring back Louis Tull and Johnny fast because to put the future of Barbados in the hands of this inept BLP group is laughable at best.
    It is obvious that the BLP is not serious about national development.

46. @ac

The lashes too hot?

The tables seem to have turned from last general election.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chris was brilliant.

48. And that was a paid political announcement.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(May2012)

You are like a drowning man catching at a straw.

When are you going to get tired being wrong? You are just an empty vessel just making a lot of noise. Nothing you say makes much sense.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | March 14, 2012 at 6:21 PM |
    “Chris was brilliant.”

So what about Freundel? Is he not your cup of tea. Is he a salmon tot retriever of Tudorian pedigree not worthy of your love and adoration?