Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Submitted by Porridgeboy
Senator Orlando Marville, Chairman of Governance Advisory Board

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) came to power on what is known and clearly established as a myriad of EMPTY promises. This country was promised an accessible and transparent government. In his 2008 Budgetary Proposals, page 25, the late Prime Minister David Thompson spoke about a Governance Advisory Board that was set up under the Chairmanship of Independent Senator Orlando Marville, former Central Bank Governor Calvin Springer, Professor Dr. Eudine Barriteau, Attorney at Law Monique Taitt, the Very Reverent Frank Marshall, Dean of St. Michael and Shantal Munro-Knight a leader and policy–advisor in the NGO movement.

This board was to prepare draft legislation in the following areas:

• Integrity (to include declaration of Asset by Public officials, and a code of conduct for Ministers
  • Defamation
  • Freedom of Information
  • New Constitutional Provisions to rationalize the power of the Prime Minister.

Hence I am forced to ask a few question:

• Where has this board disappeared to?
  • Did it die with the late Prime Minister?
  • Was this just another promise to capture the vote of the people?

Folks, I am only asking.

In it’s 2008 declaration of principles, policies, and objectives, commonly known as a Manifesto, the Democratic Labour Party stated on page 6, under the caption “Putting the People First” that lowering the cost of living was its objective. It stated factually that the BLP was responsible for ordinary Barbadians not enjoying a comfortable living in this country. Because of their failure to correct the imbalances in the wholesale and retail sectors, hence forcing small and medium size business (including black businesses) out of the sector.

It further stated that a new DLP administration will use the power and patronage of the government not to disadvantage existing participants in the distribution sector. Instead to allow for new and efficient players to come into the sector and through increased competition contribute to the creation of a fair market structure. Also to liberate the sector and spread options and opportunities to Barbadians creating a new environment for lower prices.

The question once again goes a-begging. Has this administration done anything different since taking office in 2008? Is it not the same distributors that the DLP accused the BLP of giving monopolies?  Are we still not waiting for businesses like Cost U Less that was promised by the late Prime Minister, if the distribution sector did not pull up their socks? We are then left to conclude that the statement “to liberalize the sector and level the playing field by spreading more options to Barbadians” was just the same old rhetoric by the DLP.  Simply put, a whole set of emptiness to fill the minds of the people. One thing for sure and that is, life has not been made any easier for Barbadians as promised by this DLP administration. Inflation has soared since 2008 -2011 and the erosion of the middle class is well on its way to being extinct.

This Caring For The Poor government also stated in its 2008 Manifesto under the caption Improving Access to Property Ownership, page 8 that Barbadians from all sectors of society, especially those now starting out on life’s journey a piece of this rock. They promised to maintain the plight of pensioners with “a roof over their heads’’. The manifesto goes on to say that “decent housing is the key to good family life,” and that every citizen has the right to decent affordable housing.

But what has this administration done? The Coverly Project which was to be a pilot project of fifty (50) houses has turn into one large concrete jungle. These houses were built by the private sector and government at a cost of over $300, 000.00 each. For whom are there built? Not the poor.  Over one thousand houses and very few are sold, and serious inquires are dwindling by the day (More on this later),  while those who are really in need of a piece of the rock can only drive-by and look over the walls.

The poor and those who are now starting out on life’s journey are required to rent two and three bedroom houses at places like Country Road Towers at $600 and $830.80 monthly, Tweedside project  three bedroom home rented at $590.80 monthly, to whom? These minimum wage workers are required to meet the high cost of utilities and high cost of food in the supermarkets and pay these exorbitant rents on their little minimum wage. Let us not forget that most of these are very young people with two or three children. Do the math. What about those single mothers and fathers who can’t  find work and will never qualify for any of these homes. What has this caring Government done for them and the poor, NOTHING. Sadly those who were able to elevate themselves through the programs that were put in place by the BLP in the fourteen years they held government now find themselves slipping back down the ladder under the pressures of this idol Government (What humour).

Who has reaped the sweets from this administration?  The little work generated by this administration has largely gone to the private developers that kept all the work for themselves thus avoiding any crumbs falling off the table for the poor to get. The jury is still out on the amount of work small contractors would have received from the developer at Covertly.

This is the Government that boast that they are doing so much for the poor? All this DLP GOVERNMENT has done since it as come to power is to make the poor poorer and is on the verge of bring the middle class to their knees by taxing them here, there and every were,  however they feel like .The DLP conviction leaves a lot to desire .

If this the fulfilment of some of the promises in the DLP Manifesto to the people of Barbados, then I salute them. But did the administration think that we would let them get away with a do nothing cabinet? Ooops I forgot, a Manifesto is not a social contract between the people and the party.

292 responses to “The Democratic Labour Party Caring For The Poor”

1. @ Bajan Fa Death
    Wake up onions- check Valerie, Marchfield,Country Towers, Deans Town, Stuart’s Lodge,Four Hill, Work Hall, the lots in the West Terrace extension, I could go on and on.

Oh please don’t, at your own peril…
    Them monkey houses?……You would live in them.? But we know what the DLP thinks of what’s good for poor people..(Coverley.. have you yet figured out how two neighbors can each open their windows without hitting each others ?Price: $347,000)…. but the poverty report says it all.
    Come elections the people shall tell you what they think of you all’s doll houses at exuberant prices..Watch !

2. but wait now in 2007the DLP had NIR of over 1.5billion dollars enough to build new houses for all the poor at low interst rate in any shape of size .so wuh happen.

3. correction on above comment “the BLP” not DLP.

4. ac
    Girl I tell you …you fighting a losing battle……things don’t look good from your end babes..I hope you not attempting to go there life BRAVE Bajanfalife….No sir…not with those doll houses ..ask the people who stupsing at them ..they are a DISGRACE to humans beings. (like animal pens)…Enuff said

5. The original post can adequately be described warmed over sour onion porridge soup.
    The only housing the BLP apologists like to focus on is Coverley where the private contractor put up the money, and people are buying the houses at that price .But the BLP never talks about Stuart’s Lodge,Four Hill, Work Hall,Constant, the lots in the West Terrace extension,ETC,- You cannot please these Affa yardfowls- The man who they are holding up- Affa sat in a cabinet for 14 years and left 26 000 people waiting at NHC – WUNNA FA REAL! Housing was on PAUSE!
    This DLP government’s Housing Every Last Person (H.E.L.P) Rent-To-Own Pilot Project where 70% of the rent would be credited to the purchase.That is a caring and people centred policy.The Manifesto spoke of persons living in Government uinits over a specified period would qualify for ownership – that is well underway.
    Apparently a lot of this BLP poverty money never made it to Cats Castle, Greenfields and many parts of rural Barbados. I can tell you however of nuff BLP members who suddenly became contractors mashing up schools and claiming to build houses which people had difficulty finding-please – The BLP record in good world economic times on housing is a joke compared to what this government has acheived in a tough climate-

6. so onions but when the BLP had a chance to build the poor mansion They Stupse and look the other way ! stupse! real hard!

7. @ bajan Fa life
    “This DLP government’s Housing Every Last Person (H.E.L.P) Rent-To-Own Pilot Project”

The primate reserve used to house the Green Monkey too ..before extermination…. I could just now hear them also squeeling for HELP !

8. yuh mean after all these years the BLPites got the nerve to complain about poor people getting house and what not! Well let me ask ! Wuh happen to all them good ole days Wasn’t the poor around then ? Were they not good enough to share in the pie ? yuh guys need to shut up!

9. How could a ‘Governance Advisory Board’ thus composed possibly prepare draft legislation in the areas suggested? What does Frank Marshall know about defamation or Barriteau about freedom of information? It all sounds like froth and if nothing happened it’s obvious why. It simply couldn’t.

10. @ ac
    Ya know ac this fellow BajnFaDeath is not really a good sidekick as Onions used to be, when we were a successful tag re ; Jeff Broomes & Co, back on the AX blog.What I don’t understand is why you would associate with such shallow.
    He is not knowledgeable on facts nor proper semantics, more importantly the clever art of tact.
    You are being rather disingenuous to yourself tagging with this fellow as all he ever mumbles is AFFA,like a pugnacious little school boy.
    Take my advise disassociate yourself from the diatom.

11. @Porridge
    Now that we know what the DLP has not done, tell me why I should vote for the BLP.

What about their record or who in their midst should inspire me to believe that they can increase our circumstance as a country given prevailing conditions?

Just observing a question that will be asked.

12. @ ac
    CASE to point>>>BajanFA life
    “warmed over sour onion porridge soup.” ?????

13. Memories dont leave like people do,. They always stay with you .. The work of the BLP in housing in the 14 years it held power is unmatched, without parallel when compared to the DLP This is not to say that I dont think the DLP should not be commended for its work even though it has been unable to fulfil its lofty promises in housing. In the fourtenn years of BLP rule the was the concept of a building boom in this country. Have we heard of that in this period? The BLP had a multi pronged attack on houing in this coiuntry and it even caused great demand in cement and you can check with Arawak to see the production during the years of the BLP Arawak was on a reduced work week last year. But let us get to the multi pronged approach of the BLP with respect to housing. 1. reduction in mortgage rate in housing Bajan were borrowing over many millios than when the DLP was in power. This initiative saw many Bajans building their own homes not having to depend on the $350.000 houses built for the working class and which many have now abondoned because of the price..2 Offering many small contractors work on many projects which allowed money to circulate in this economy to the benefit of many rather than give ONE man all the work which can neither build the society or economy. 3. have a resaonable large land bank for which many housing solutions of many types could be formulated eg, rent, build with community help, and establish housing developments. 4 Build houses at London Bourne, Infilling at many places, land at Stuart Lodge amd Country Road Many lower and middle income settlements dotted all over this country.. These were BLP projects and many more . UDC ansd RDC houses for the poor and indigent. many people then and noow still thank a government for caring. The attack on housing was for all sectors of the economy. The BLP gave many contractors a chance to live and the poor and dispossessed were able to reduce their poverty unlike now when Blackett is admitting to a rise in poverty. and with no solution in mind or in the future. The Dems believe that PR will get them out and they believe that because a contrator is build ing houses they can make a lot lof false claims. The truth , the whole truth must be told ln housing and you can bet it will be told . Think on these things

14. An Election must be in the air, there are so many BLP surrogates criticizing the Gov’t that one senses a pre emptive Pavlovian response to the possible ringing of the Election bell. And what a difference 5 years make, whatever became of “Waiting in Vain and Royal Rumble? Those two were the standard bearers for the DLP and BLP respectively. Five years ago the stench of corruption permeated the atmosphere so much so that subjects like “Integrity; Conflicts of Interest & Freedom of Information” were staples of both blogs. Thompson saw which way the wind was blowing and quickly committed his Party to following a path which would ensure that legislation covering those subjects would be introduced if they were elected.

That strategy must have worked because after the DLP was elected, the BLP was so off kilter that the once and future leader and the then leader presented documents to the House of Assembly detailing their “Assets”, so far they are the only Parliamentarians to have done this, however any list of “Assets” could not be independently verified. The proposed legislation seemed to have died in committee no doubt because the politicians of both parties were not anxious to declare any Assets to the General public.

Fast forward to today, the “Integrity” issue is no longer on anyone’s radar, today the problem as framed by the Opposition is Gov’t inaction in the face of Economic challenges. The issue is also of a Gov’t leader who does not engage with the Bajan public in a manner to which they have become accustomed, it seems that Bajans like their leaders in the image of a “father” figure who provides advice or direction daily, some may even say that they prefer a leader akin to a benevolent dictator.

Those concerns aside, the issue of Integrity of Public Officers should not be allowed to wither and die, if one is familiar with Barbados one will know that there are many Public Officials with Assets far in excess of anything they could have accumulated from their official employment.

Whatever decision Bajans make they should ensure that whomever they elect does not subscribe to the dictum that “a politician who is poor is a poor politician”.

15. Amazing to see that the issue of integrity legislation is now being used to place the DLP government on the defensive. It must be true that certain ministers swore that they would not be declaring any assets. MP William Duguid do warn that it would never happen in Barbados.

16. @Sarge
    Good to see you old fellow. We thought you having seen all the present foul-ups, bleeps and blunders, decided to hide face and PAUSE IT OUT(like your contemporaries) til the coast clears.Never the least, as you know Onions and Co. remained in the vanguard to broadcast all the DLP present bleeps and blunders as they occurred .
    Now like a true sentinel, we will correct all your present misgivings in this here your submission, to which no one takes serious anyway.
    You speak of:
    (1) the dead king’s proposing of legislation to stop corruption…..after 4 yrs where is it ? probably like the Hard Wood forensic audit…..”lost and can’t be found”. bling!….talk-aholic time again.

(2) DLP was elected on a promise to fight the cost of living Priority #1, 2,and 3 (Sarge sweats now)… far less keeping this promise, the poor people of Barbados got such a draconian regime of tax assaults and pricerates increases in tandem,unprecedented by any administration (either D or B) and ALL AT ONE TIME…that they still have not recovered after 4 years. bling ! …food for thought come next elections in 10 mnths.

(3) The Integrity Issue yes Sarge.. for that we go to CLICO (been told recently, that findings may point to prosecution soon)..tell us why (a) the dead king had to pay $10 million into Clico coffers as soon as he got in office (b) Elboy Parris could continue to break our Laws issuing a further 800 policies, when told not to by Layne & co…..why Parris could take out his $6 Million in commissions, while monies were on freeze for evabody else (c)Why our good and timely PM could blurr out “Leave the man (Parris), I see nothing wrong with him,,Is he a leper ? “…….bling ! We the good people will soon have answers for you and contemporaries on this dear Prime minister..fa sure… come elections, rest assured. Watch !

17. @Onions

(1) the dead king’s proposing of legislation to stop corruption…..after 4 yrs where is it ? probably like the Hard Wood forensic audit…..”lost and can’t be found”. bling!….talk-aholic time again.

BEAR IN MIND THE BLP KILLED SIMILAR INTEGRITY LEGISLATION IN TOM ADAMS TIME, SAME OLD SAME OLD. NOW BOTH PARTIES HAVE THE HONOUR OF KILLING THE LEGISLATION.

(2) DLP was elected on a promise to fight the cost of living Priority #1, 2,and 3 (Sarge sweats now)… far less keeping this promise, the poor people of Barbados got such a draconian regime of tax assaults and pricerates increases in tandem,unprecedented by any administration (either D or B) and ALL AT ONE TIME…that they still have not recovered after 4 years. bling ! …food for thought come next elections in 10 mnths.

REDUCE COST OF LIVING IN A GLOBAL RECESSION WHEN WE IMPORT EVERYTHING. WHEN OUR DOLLAR IS PEGGED TO THE USD DOLLAR WHICH HAS BEEN DEPRECIATING? PROPAGANDA!

(3) The Integrity Issue yes Sarge.. for that we go to CLICO (been told recently, that findings may point to prosecution soon)..tell us why (a) the dead king had to pay $10 million into Clico coffers as soon as he got in office (b) Elboy Parris could continue to break our Laws issuing a further 800 policies, when told not to by Layne & co…..why Parris could take out his $6 Million in commissions, while monies were on freeze for evabody else (c)Why our good and timely PM could blurr out “Leave the man (Parris), I see nothing wrong with him,,Is he a leper ? “…….bling ! We the good people will soon have answers for you and contemporaries on this dear Prime minister..fa sure… come elections, rest assured. Watch !

DIDN’T THE SUPERVISOR OF INSURANCE WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR MANAGING THE AFFAIR OF CLICO GAVE THE GREEN LIGHT ON CLICO? BEAR IN MIND IT IS THE EFA THAT IS THE PROBLEM. ALL OTHER CLICO COMPANIES HAVE BEEN SOLD.THE GOVERNMENT HAS SINCE ESTABLISHED THE FSC WHICH IS SUPPOSE TO STRENGTHEN THE REGULATORY FRAMEWORK FOR INSURANCE COMPANIES.

18. According to today’s Nation newspaper, a forensic audit by Deloitte found that the law firm of Thompson and Associates was paid $3.3 million by CLICO in Jan 2009. This money it is alleged was actually destined for the CLICO chairman Leroy Parris. This is the same firm that recieved $10 million of taxpayers money in 2009 on approval by tnen Minister of Finance David Thompson, who was the former head of Thompson and Associates.

19. @ Sarge
    OH BOY…its started…READ AND WEEP !

20. @ David

Cheez on Breds David man…I thought you din partisan…… in bold ? lol

….that was meant for Sarge.

21. @Onions

Relax, it ws typed in bold to separate from your verbiage.

Here is the link to which Ping Pong refers:

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/news/breaking-news/02/22/criminal-charges-filed-against-barbados-clico-officials/

By the way BU has a view like the other person.

22. If Onions looking for a RICH WIDOW WIFE……he gine St.John
    and he don’t got to walk wid no parachute neither.

23. What D rastafariia….
    PUNISHMENT DON”T SUIT THE CRIME>>>NO WE UNDERSTAND WHY
    WHEN WILL POOR PEOPLE STOP BEING TAKEN FOR A RIDE?
    a $1000.00 ?? Cheese ZON !

(Barbados Nation) Criminal charges have been filed in the magistrates’ court against former executive chairman of CLICO Holdings (Barbados) Limited, Leroy Parris, and current president Terrence Thornhill.

Official police sources have told the MIDWEEK NATION that the two executives are to be served with summonses to appear in court.

They are accused of contravening an order by the Supervisor of Insurance in August 2009, which prohibited the company’s subsidiary CLICO International Life Insurance (CIL) from selling new business.

The two have been charged under Section 185 of the Insurance Act, Cap 130, which states that anyone found guilty is liable to a fine of Bds$1 000 or a year’s imprisonment “and where the offence is a continuing offence, by a further fine of Bds$250 for every day which the offence continues”.

24. @Onions

Like Sarge stated you have obviously just discovered BU to judge by your writings. BU is on record criticizing the closeness of Thompson to the CLICO transaction given his intimacy to the principal. We are on record criticizing Sinckler drinking champagne at the Garrison in Sandy Lane’s Box on Gold Cup day. We are on record criticizing PM Stuart for referring to Parris as his friend, an insensitive statement in the circumstances. BU is also on record criticizing the government for inviting Parris to the opening of the Valerie Housing Complex.

All the foregoing does not change the fact that the CLICO matter was made a political football by all and sundry.

25. $ 1000 is but a fly hair for a billionaire.

but you see a poor man would get 1 year…where is the Justice ?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ping Pong | February 22, 2012 at 6:43 AM |

The spokespersons for BIPA are going to see who are the real stumbling blocks to justice being meted out to the aggrieved policy holders. Do we really believe that anyone would be charged for these infelicities and downright “wrongs” identified by the forensic audit. Nothing new that was not known on the ground has been revealed. This kind of “official” revelation would expose the past major funding sources of both political parties, especially in the last general election campaign where humongous money was spent.
    Do we expect the men at the top to do a Judas and Peter on Greenverbs?
    Le Roi has too many “secrets” on these “takers” to be allowed to confess in a Court of law and let his mouth run like it has diarrhoea.

We will wait until the Twelfth of Never for the FSC & CoP to act.
    You can expect an initial promise to proceed then like a true game of ping pong matters would be sent from one agency to the other and files would eventually get lost in translation and transportation.
    You want to wager a bet? Heads I win, tails you lose! We have been here before! Bajans have short memories and soon all will be forgotten and forgiven. Just wait until after the coming general elections and see how this would be put to rest just like the one of the major players.

27. I would just like to say in the mist of all this….READERS, you be the judge..its being all UNCOVERED….YOU BE THE JUDGE
    WHO IS WHO…and WHO IS NOT…..its all there..bajans..the pen once more proved mightier than the SWORD !

28. $3.3 MILLION DOLLARS paid to David Thompson & Associates??? That is mere chicken feed!!

Mr. Judicial Manager, let us know about the REAL McCOYS e.g…… the election campaign money paid into the coffers of both the dems and “families first” – allegeded by squealer Peter Wickham to be $34,000,000., (THIRTY FOUR MILLION DOLLARS)

How about the million-dollar St.John property bought for cash in the names of the rich widow and the wife of the green-verb giant?

Did the forensic audit reveal the paper trails?

I am not too clear on that $3.3 Million though. Are the JM Managers saying that it was authorized by PARRIS, paid to THOMPSON, and alleged to be destined for eventual payment back to PARRIS?

PLEASE shine some light on this transaction.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

To compound matters and spit in our faces T T (Greenverbs sidekick) is still President of CLICO drawing thousand of dollars a month with perks from the poor suckers called policyholders who religiously continue to pay into the trough every month.

Get rid of this man, Deloitte! He can be a major hindrance in any criminal or civil investigation. Would ICAB move to disbar this fellow?

30. The plot thickens…….But I ent hear about the St. Lucia connection yet when and where a Golden parachute deposited in a company named consisting of part names on the wives of ElBoy and the dead king….of $10 million in event….shit hit the fan.
    To think such a calm subdued St.Lucia face could be behold behind such secrets …..besides its down right dishonesty .. madam, CLICO got St.John policy holders too ya know… ask Kern.

31. Sarge , Optimum Ac BajanFa life, Clone…where are YOU ALL HIDING….we need you in here…….come and provide some answers

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Minister Donville Innis has eventually let the cat out of the bag.
    He said that Barbados is NOT experiencing any economic recession but an “Intellectual” one.
    Intellectual Depression, more like it and starting with his colleagues!
    Do you agree with the Minister, Canadian Sargeant?
    How about you bajanfuhlife and ac?
    Old Onions, you really got these fellows on the run especially now that the CLICO/Thompson nexus has been officially established.

If I were any of the women involved I would walk away from the cursed material trappings. The god you believe in does not like evil and wickedness. What wickedness is done in the night (behind office and boardroom and bedroom doors) must come out in the day.

33. You all see why this can’t pass the platform come ELECTIONS…..by the way the HIGH DEFINITION SCREENS have arrived……could show details of cheques, documents etc…

TINGs LOOK BLEAK FOR DLP ….fa Trute

We go have a field day !

34. @ Sargeant

In your post above you made a very interesting point about how Bajans like their political leaders, ie that we want father figures who are ‘hands on’. Leaving aside the obvious point that ‘hands on father figures’ might just be child molesters, it does mirror the average Bajan’s conception of God, ie as the old man up in the sky, pretty nasty a lot of the time, issuing orders backed by threats, pontificating about life style and everything else and incorrigibly judgemental. And that so often seems to be US….made in the image and likeness of the BIG HIMSELF, a piece of Old Testament nonsense we never grew out of. It explains primitive attitudes to the Raul Garcia story and some of the responses to the earlier post about Mia Mottley’s plans for changes to the law on consent. As a people, we cannot ‘grow’ until we ‘go A.D.’ So thankyou for that comment.

35. @Miller
    They GONE boy ..they’re GONE…not a fellow to answer the call

true to form..

Cops song: (chorus) Bad boys , bad boys what you going to do, what you going to do when they come for you…lol

36. Here is another example for educated Bajans to read the Nation report with a discerning eye. The snippet from the Deloitte Report mentions 3.3 million dollars paid to Thompson & and Associates and the payment was acknowledged to be a gratuity payment to Leroy Parris. The question here is whether Chairman Parris at the time of signoff on the transaction possessed the authority.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | February 22, 2012 at 8:40 AM |
    “They GONE boy ..they’re GONE…not a fellow to answer the call”

You see how Carson C. Cadogan and the likes of business man and uneducated have also gone back under the slimy rock in george street!
    Night really runs until day catches it, right old onions?

Now ac and Bajanfuhlife who is the bigger crook? Affa or the dear departed?

38. And only to think…this is how it started…..
    Sargeant | February 22, 2012 at 12:40 AM |
    “Five years ago the stench of corruption permeated the atmosphere so much so that subjects like “Integrity; Conflicts of Interest & Freedom of Information” were staples of both blogs. Thompson saw which way the wind was blowing and quickly committed his Party to following a path which would ensure that legislation covering those subjects would be introduced if they were elected.”

WHERE IS SARGE NOW ?……only this morning before News broke, you were on the attack…..
    Thompson my ass..have you ever heard of conflict of interest…fraud,…IMPEACHMENT…”he is not a leper-ism ?”

Oh boy…Is this what it has come to ? Elect these fellows? Me think not..

One TERM ONE TERM..people they deserve no more..

39. Ole Onions ..sand papering boy …lol

40. @David
    ironically both parties promised integrity legislation in their 2008 Manifetos. The DLP are the unlucky ones to be caught not enacting it. Re. CLICO it’s about time. Again unfortunately for the DLP the key person who could help them weather the storm (from a PR view) is gone to the great beyond, and, most of the damaging information will be readily accessible to the public. 3.3 million? there’s much more where that came from.

The tide was already turning, I think it’s reaching a crest. The DLP won because of “change” and a promise of integrity. I’m awaiting a rational reason why they should be given a second chance. Liekwise, It’d still be nice to get a reason why the BLP should be voted in.

41. I am glad that the Judicial Manger’s report and forensic audit is here for all to peruse-
    We must look at all the facts and not be buried with innuendo.
    I cannot wait to hear the official response from de opposition leader or maybe that is onion’s role.
    However, a word to de wise onions – they will be giant screens at both parties political meetings – on that you can rest assured!

42. Old Onions/Miller et al

Let the chips fall where they may, I may have my political preferences but I am not here to defend anyone. I noticed that both of you declined to endorse my wish that the cause of Public Integrity in public life should not be allowed to wither and die. I realise it is to your advantage to make political hay of recent events however the Elephant in the room is still Integrity in Public life. The payment alleged to have been made to Thompson & Co. may not have been made if we had laws with teeth on the books with respect to disclosure of Assets by Public Officials.

This recent news about CLICO should be a mobilizing event to insist that our politicians pass Integrity laws no matter which Party is in power, but perhaps you are politicians who are part of the group that believes that people in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones and “a politician who is poor is a poor politician”.

To be continued…….

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | February 22, 2012 at 9:21 AM |
    “However, a word to de wise onions – they will be giant screens at both parties political meetings – on that you can rest assured!”

We have been down this road before and we the independent voters are not interested in the theatrics and entertainment. We will not be breaking up our night sleep or exposing ourselves to madmen on the road or gunshots to listen to crap from you lot. Neither would the young people! So forget about it? Who would be financing the propaganda? Broke CLICO?

If the DLP have evidence of maladministration or corrupt dealings against the BLP then as promised by the dead chief conduct forensic audits and bring charges in the law courts against the perpetrators. While you are at it spend the time bringing the much and long (going back to BLP days) promised Integrity and FOI legislation so that ordinary citizens can monitor how their tax dollars are being spent.

A repeat of the Hardwood play would not be attended by intelligent Bajans. We have had enough of this crap from you fellows. There are still intelligent and independent thinking Barbadians around, you know!

44. This will go on and on and on and on …..
    Let the facts come out – let us see where the real problems were – Was it a case of inadequate regulation and when, etc, etc, etc. Let all the facts come out.

I support the integrity legislation and it should be enacted but if the integrity of the party leader (The Hon . Freundel Stuart or Owen “Two Timing” Affa) is the main issue in the next election-
    Then Freundel winning by a landslide!

45. Did Deloitte find any transfers to Family First Account?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Now that the CLICO scam has been “officially” exposed one wonders if the Barbados government would be held accountable to and liable for damages resulting from the losses suffered by CLICO policy holders in the other East Caribbean Islands. The PM of St. Kitts can no longer protect his pal and has already started to distant himself from the Le Roi and the dead king association.

What implications does this scandal have for Barbados’ ratings in the
    Transparency / Corruption Perceptions Index?

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | February 22, 2012 at 9:52 AM |
    “I support the integrity legislation and it should be enacted but if the integrity of the party leader (The Hon . Freundel Stuart or Owen “Two Timing” Affa) is the main issue in the next election-
    Then Freundel winning by a landslide!”

How can a man that publicly professed to be a friend of a conman and so to be alleged criminal be more morally appealing than that of a man who only innuendo and rumour can be levied at? if he is a crook then charge him up like his brother?
    Well if you are so ‘cocksure’ then advise the man of no or limited action to call elections next week when the Royals leave. What is he waiting for? Allowing the memory of DT and his ex-associates to be badly stained by the the CLICO crap would only further hurt the DLP given its woeful record in managing the economy. The quicker he calls it the better for his fast disappearing chances.

Bajans can’t take it no more!

48. @ BajanFa life
    Let the facts come out – let us see where the real problems were – Was it a case of inadequate regulation

Glad to see you and ole friend Sarge show face…..the real problem is integrity down right and hypocrisy out right…..Thompson’s family today must be ashamed after the reverence given to the king….its down right theft and scandalous shame for the Caribbean as a whole. We are not known for this type of corruption and robbery of the people’s purse.
    Those funds owed to policyholders were mainly to pensioners and sick benefits thru insurance……not what we are accustomed.If Ms. Thompson is truly sorry she should do the right thing .

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 22, 2012 at 9:24 AM |
    “Let the chips fall where they may, I may have my political preferences but I am not here This recent news about CLICO should be a mobilizing event to insist that our politicians pass Integrity laws no matter which Party is in power, but perhaps you are politicians who are part of the group that believes that people in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones and “a politician who is poor is a poor politician”.

Thank you so much Sargeant for finally joining this most important democratic discussion regarding the future integrity o f this small but once great nation:

The following is an extract of the DLP 2007/2008 manifesto for which the majority of people in Bim (including foolish me) voted for on January 15, 2008. This is the piece that attracted most Bajans hook, line and sinker, after the scandals and accusations levied at the BLP who appeared tired and in need of a rest. They have been put to rest for the time being so the ball is in DLP court to live up to their promises without the need of foreign exchange or FDI.

(22) GOODGOVERNANCE pages 46-48

The DLP administration’s attitude to accountability
    will be based on the understanding that as servants
    and representatives of the people there can
    be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the
    population. Consequently, a DLP administration
    will be accountable for its actions and policies
    and take the public into its confidence.
    Under a DLP government, the people will be kept
    informed of what the government is doing on their
    behalf through:
    Regular press briefings following meetings
    of the Cabinet of Barbados
    Press briefings by Ministries/Departments
    to inform Barbadians of major developments
    and changes
    The publication of details of agreements
    and contracts involving the government
    and its agencies
    Formal Ministerial statements at regular
    intervals on the progress of ongoing programmes
    and projects
    A revision of and adherence to the rules
    regarding Parliamentary questions

The Democratic Labour Party will also:

Immediately introduce integrity legislation
    requiring
    a declaration of assets by public officials,
    a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
    a new Freedom of Information law,
    amendments to the Defamation laws and
    new constitutional provisions to rationalise
    the powers of the Prime Minister.

50. Wait i wake up this morning to find the POT calling the Kettle black. With all the theifing the BLP did in 14 years and all tbe cuzillions unaccounted for you guys got to be kiddingand least we forget The 75 thousand dollar check Affa stached away in his account and you guys talking about DLP corruption.Go pull the mote out your own eye first you guys have no authority to crictise any thing about corruption when for 14 long years The BLP was deep in doo doo with corruption. don,t make me laugh