The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School – Photo credit Barbados Advocate

It was evident to the most discerning when the Alexandra School issue reared its head – Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children? – that the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) had reached the end of its tether fuelled by how past grievances were managed by the ministry of education. Many Barbadians became outraged that the ministry of education would have allowed the Alexandra dispute to become so protracted, six years and counting. Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Trade Union who possesses an above average knowledge of the workings of the public service posited that the – Alexandra School Impasse: [was] A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration. He produced the PUBLIC SERVICE ACT 2007 – 41 with Amendment to support his view.

In fact when the BSTU departed from the heavily trodden path of grievance procedure and withheld labour which resulted in 30 Alexandra teachers on the picket line, acute discernment was unnecessary as to what was required. When the BSTU mobilized around a cry for the separation of Principal Broomes from the school it was obvious Houston had a problem. If that was not enough to spur all concerned into action, information revealed last week that the ministry of education was in possession of an inspection document for several months only served to confirm the lethargy and incompetence with which the fractured industrial relations climate at Alexandra Secondary School was allowed to descend.

Finally when a ministerial committee was constituted chaired by Minister of Education Ronald Jones, BU commentators knew it would have been in vain – “If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything”. The BSTU had travelled that road before and  was known to have lost confidence in Minister Ronald Jones. The Prime Minister would have to intervene which is consonant with how IR disputes are resolved in Barbados anyway.

After 20 days of strike action Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart finally intervened on the weekend. The objective was to get the striking teachers teachers back to work. He achieved the objective a result complimented by Caswell Franklyn.  It was obvious from early in the impasse – confirmed by Sir Roy Trotman after the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) gave its support to the BSTU – that there would be no perfect solution to the Alexandra dispute. Prime Minister Stuart got the teachers to return to work and more than hinted that the job of righting the wrongs at the school had to be started. It is regrettable that many Barbadians have not seen Stuart’s action for what it is i.e. getting the teachers back to the classroom.

BU agrees 100% with the Prime Minister that we live in a barbecue pig tail era where form too often seems to trump substance. Imagine BU’s surprise to hear President Walter Maloney expressing concern about the students being roped into the dispute. Why the hell did he not come out when it was happening and condemn it at that time? Why did Winston Crichlow, the head of the principals association feel constrain to comment after the Prime Minister got the teachers to return to the classroom, a prerequisite to moving the matter forward? Why did the Alexandra Parents Teachers feel they had to issue a statement to the press and demand that teachers and the ministry of education make an action plan available to them about making up the lost hours?

They all need to shut the hell up and allow Prime Minister to deliver what he has promised!

394 responses to “Alexandra School – The Way Forward”

1. Yardbroom …just answer one little question

not might….or how lucrative.. or not hiding behind D bamboo

..IS HE GOING ????

(@ac lol)…silenced…what silenced

2. @Yardbroome
    The “image” that stands in my mind is Mr. Broomes at the gates of Alexandra School after the strike, welcoming the students and others in….what a sight.

No WAY……what it says is how brazen this gully boar is ..feeding off publicity to the end….kids shite…is all about me Jeff Broomes…this is my school ..you hear me wanna out there THIS IS MY SCHOOL…
    I is the big dog bout here…ok

3. @old onions

You have been asked kindly to desist from using multiple usernames, would appreciate your cooperation.

4. @ Teacher and David

“THIS IS MY SCHOOL…..”
    ….and the reality is, that in many ways it is! That is the point in having a Headmaster. Just as this is Stuart’s country until such time as elections are called….

Some of us may not like either of these realities, but the MATURE approach CANNOT be to sulk or go on strike calling for a ‘separation’ just because we dislike the head honcho’s style.

This is why there is supposed to be a judiciary in place to ensure that the LAW is enforced – no matter what our emotional rantings are…

So David’s repeated point about the BSTU not ‘trusting’ the MOE is difficult to understand. You don’t trust your boss so he must separate? LOLOLOLOL

…you don’t trust your Boss – so you either look for another boss who you can trust, or you lodge specific charges OF ACTUAL BREECHES and have Boss change his behavior or disciplined…. . “we can’t get along” or “I don’t like you” is not an adult charge….

5. @ david
    Cheese on bredcDavid….onions not the only one in hay guilty on more than one name

6. @old onions

BU has always given latitude to a few who for legit reasons post using a different usernames, to do it willnilly is not one of the reasons 🙂

7. @ Bush Tee

Where you get that from ?Look to JapanUSA….modern styles of management TEAM involvement…days of Massa Slave …English viz
    have served their usefulness….authoritative rule … a headmaster is but a teacher manager for the school ..its not his school..school is for everybody..That’s why Jeff went wrong….is the same reasoning you Bushie misconstrue..maybe that worked in days of old…when a headmaster was look up to ….cant say the same for some of these nowadays.(.Ellerslie & T&T)…

So Bushie…oh how things change .and for the better

8. @ David
    Ok gotya

9. @ David
    “The BSTU can withold labour at any time”

True David but that is nothing new, a Union always has that option with or without a Broomes dispute, but if they have to with reference to this dispute it would only prove they failed to achieve a set objective.
    – – — – – – – – –

Hi old onion bags
    “….IS He Going ????”

I do not know. If you do please tell me when?
    – – – – – –

Hi Teacher

I prefer not to refer to Mr. Broomes in those terms because I treat him with the same respect as the lady who led the BSTU team.
    ———————————————————
    The dispute was about “RESPECT” we must be consistent in what we do, when we ask it of others.

10. @Yardbroom

But the point you are missing is that labour is only withheld by a responsible union in situations which appear to be dire.

11. @ Yardbroom
    Cadear…where is ac ..I want her to see this… the benevolent YardBroom.
    Respect ?…..ask the teachers if they got that ..not onions an outsider…
    Yardie .. we got to learn not to be a Stetson Babb sometimes .. and learn to concede ..with grace..When I see him going thru that very gate you enjoyed seeing at.,I will be the first to write it in BU..

As for..Bushie he is from the ole school…can’t change him.He wants to live in the past.

12. Hi old onion bags
    You have failed to answer my question. When is he going?

Yes David

A “responsible” UNION

13. @ Yardie

On another matter….that is if the ole plumbing still working..@ the top of this blog…that Alexandra teacher who the student hugging so snuggly…
    THAT IS ONE SEXY LOOKING TEACHER….every time onions open this blog…onions does have to look twice….Broomes you had a GOLD MINE and you blew it…
    SEXY TEACHER…who ever you are Bup Bup Bup!!!!

( onions D yung boy)

14. Bush Tea | January 28, 2012 at 9:40 AM |

@ Teacher and David

“THIS IS MY SCHOOL…..”
    ….and the reality is, that in many ways it is! That is the point in having a Headmaster. Just as this is Stuart’s country until such time as elections are called….
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This speaks volumes.

Just listen.

I am going to beat around the bush just once more.

There is no Civil Service or Political solution to this.

It is about common sense and listening.

When you re read the column, close your eyes and remember when you were at school.

You will see (even with your eyes shut) what is going on and what needs to be done.

The PM is no genius.

He is an adult who is acting like an adult because this is the only way to act.

15. Bushtea; Sometimes I wonder if John is Chris Halsall. Same style; Similar non-sequiturs; Similar reasoning; Same Private Sector outlook; Similar love of technology. But one went to HC and one did’nt.

16. @David

how do u define dire, i have seen the BWU resort to strile action when there was no solid case and had to retreat.

17. @ john and Checkit
    THAT IS ONE SEXY LOOKING TEACHER….every time onions open this blog..

Yardie plumbing like it aint working ..wha you think ?

18. sexy teacher..

I ent asking Blogger nuttin..I doan kno if e male or female

19. Blogger

Let us discuss the BSTU which over its 65 year tenure one can count the strike action it has take on one hand.

Now to answer Yardbrooms quip does that describe being responsible or what?

20. @David

You either respond to the question or ignore it, but please dont try to duck by telling me what i should discuss. When u lef openings, people will exploit them.

21. @Blogger

Carry on smartly.

22. The “technical”aspect of the “separation did indeed occur on Wednesday Broomes being present was only a formality. how many schools in barbados resume classes with the chief education and other MOE in tow.with most of the input and decision making going forward and directedto AX being handle by them if one think that the MOE present was to see only that the school teachers and Broomes would be presentAnd that was the end and Broomes would have a hands on in the day to day activities you guys are indenial

23. @David

you know i am not smart. Have a wonderful day.

24. @blogger

Why do feel you have to personalized most of your comments?

Make you contributions and let others agree or disagree with you always guarding the option to rebut.

25. Hi old onion bags,

I see a teacher who is loved by a student. The student is delighted to welcome the teacher’s return to Alexandra School. It is a very good photograph and full praise to the photographer who captured the moment.

In all this carry-on no one has said Mr. Broomes is not a good educator.

Oh the grand old Duke of York
    He had ten thousand men,
    He marched them up to the top of
    The hill and he marched
    Them down again.

26. Hi ac
    January 28, 2012 at 12:49pm

Now the SEPARATION has an inbuilt “technical” component, pity no one knew of that before.

You are brilliant, you have the courage of a lion.

27. @David

i do not persoanlize my comments, go back to any thing i have written on, and u would recognized that i only attack, if i think i am being belittled.

I Have no problem with u, sometimes i just like throw a little jab, but please ignore me.

28. @Blogger

No worries all part and parcel of blogging 🙂

29. @ Yardie

Did anyone hug up the ole musky broom?? I think not…or I am sure he would have missed that photo op.Or the media the photo

@ ac When is Broomes going to make his final act..Yardie pestering me all the time although I sent him to digress ona beautiful young lady to no avail.

30. @AC

didnt u see the CEO was besides the principal. There will be no separation, technical or otherwise. Yah hear.

31. @ Checkit-out

…Bushie has had to give up trying to follow John’s logic….
    Maybe theOnion Bag is right and Bushie is just out of date, stuck in the time when logic, order and respect for authority were in vogue.

David is headmaster of this blog. It seems now that if a large enough group of bloggers become upset with his style (and especially his unreasonable and autocratic rule about using multiple handles, ) we can call on the FTC or somebody to separate him from BU. LOL

…frightening times….
    Bushie had that same problem with a headmaster at BFP some time ago and ended up looking for a new school called BU…., had the Bushman been more hip, all like now so, the idiots running BFP would have been happily retired with a handsome payout – while an Old Onion Bag would be running things at BFP….LOL.
    Another Consequence would be that a certain blogger would have to look for a new name cause he won’t have been Banned Again from BFP…. LOL

32. @Bushie
    You logic is flawed..if David headmaster of BU was continually doing foolishness.(.3times now) and boasting about it in public (speech day like a mad man) and telling lies about a letter(MOE)…surely David would be a prime candidate for separation by who ever runs BU….
    As David does not OWN BU….as JEFF Broomes does not own AX…
    Bushie what is so difficult to comprehend here…..? Logic 101

@ about that Sx teacher…..she laughing at we,,,she says bring it on..imagino (news travels)

33. Bushie , Yardie //you all got anything to bring ??
    Onions brek

34. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

it must be a source of great amusement to Hal Gollop ( if he reads the blogs) how some commentators have sought to twist the issues at stake in the Alexandra matter. As i understand it he has been doing no more than trying to give his client the BSTU the best possible representation. It is not true that he drives ” an old BMW “; in fact he drives a spanking , black AUDI; I saw it the Wednesday when he drove by as the teachers were on strike and demonstrating in front of the Humphrey Walcott building . He was a teacher of some experience and spent a significant part of his career at the St michael School were Broomes once served as a deputy principal. Maybe Gollop still has the facility to check out Broomes’ record of service at that school. And yes, it is known that he and the Prime Minister are longstanding friends. So what ?? It is also known that he was a longstanding Bee.
    But what has all of this got to do with a professional’s capacity and right to work towards achieving the best possible result for his client ? have we lost track of that level of objectivity that should be brought to bear in discussing general issues like the present in spite of the huge education bill that the country now services?
    I am not enjoying watching and listening to this kind of debate. Debate on issues is now giving way to a discussion on personalities.

35. @David – 8:52
    The BSTU’s actions were/are much more “convoluted” than how you describe.
    also
    “the BSTU can withhold labour at anytime in the future if they feel their grievance is not being addressed as discussed.”

Again, not clear cut if one chooses to get into the technicalities of “what is the current grievance.” The recent saga had very little if anything to do with grievance and grievance handling procedure.

@Bush Tea
    Ya ain’t alone. I coming to grips with being “outdated” too.

@Watching
    “Debate on issues is now giving way to a discussion on personalities”

Someone needs to communicate and frame the issues properly. Or at least provide facts so we can decide…We (country and government) lack on both these counts immensely.

36. @ old Onions

Last time Bushie checked, Broomes bosses had no problem with him… It was some of his reports who took action to have him separated.
    If you don’t understand the analogy just say so…

37. @bushie

u wasting so much time on old onions, there isnt anything u can do with an old onion except dump it.

38. @Yardie
    Deal with it. I don/t care who Broomes stand next Too . The fact is he is only there because the laws and rules dictate such. But in reality he is defunct Principal with little or no input in AX . all technicalities being driven by rules and regulations which is keeping jeff there if not he would be out the door.look who was doing all the talking and answering all the questions in relation to AX for sure it was not “The Principal” Jeff Broomes and why not? after all he is supposed” to be “Principal and in charge according to YOU supporters. All the question and answers pertaining to AX on Day ! was answered by Joy Adamson who clearly said in one of her answers ‘We have to sit down and now as a Ministry and work out a plan of action . Why wasn’t Jeff Broomes voice not heard in such matters. look don’t make me laugh . I gone you all could keep fighting among wunna self until the last tyrant dies that being Jeff Broomes

39. Bushie>>> Last time Bushie checked, Broomes bosses had no problem with him…
    Oh Oh …How come then the arrangement this week was vastly different ?
    Look .. see you and Blogger…..all ya just cant be honest with yourselves..when Broomey start his walk of shame ..which is SOON..you two will come up with some other lame excuse for him …What is known for sure now. IS HE GO WALK… That we all know ..unless you are a (blindman): take that in your pipe like crappo and smoke it.

40. @ Blog Blog Bushie
    See>> ac could lend you her glasses….the writing is all over the walls, all over the corridors and now all over this blog……Jeff poor Jeff..has started to put on his shoes.Like Barbados Today says,,,The PM on FIRE… fire Broomes that is… and all the slackers and demons whose days are numbered.
    A NEW MAN IN CHARGE…..site

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

old onion bags | January 28, 2012 at 7:45 PM |
    ‘A NEW MAN IN CHARGE…..site”
    But not in charge of his Cabinet, copy!

42. @millertheanunu

Dat 2 soon ….stay tuned….the man on a crusade.
    Heads rollin

43. But the Board of Directors had a big problem with Broomes – aren’t they his bosses?

44. it seems like some people dont understand pr. The education act makes it very clear who is in charge of a school. No employee of the Ministry can dictate to a principal how he is to run his school. The dce is ins the s3 grade and the principal is in the s4 grade. Think about that.

45. DOES having a problem Broomes means that Broomes must be moved ???
    WHY not work on resolving the problem ??
    DO you realise that within every work place that somebody will have a problem with somebody else ???
    WHAT does it mean anyway _”having a problem with Broomes” ?
    AND is it a question of dislike for a person based on personal traits ???

JUST ASKING

46. Blogger 2012
    If I were to go by your S3’s an 4s,,,I would be a blindman too..
    But no, I went to HC and while there, the teachers taught me not to be an ass ..as a matter of fact…they taught me also never follow a multitude to do (conceive) anything stupid…like what you Bloggie have attempted to present.here with your gaga.
    Look Uncle Bloogie if i may call you that ….Step 2 has started…the education act….in suspension..Jeffrey in detention…and Freundel doing all these magnificent things and got everyone’s attention.
    Can you dig it ?

47. @Brutus

There is a Board of Management and its role in a nutshell is, according to section 17 of the education act ,is responsible for implementing the minister’s policy and for that purpose may give directions of a general nature to the principal.

Section 20 states that every board of management shall submit to the minister within six months after the end of each school year or such later date as the minister approves a report on the activities of the board during that school year.

48. @ Just asking
    DOES having a problem Broomes means that Broomes must be moved ???

Chew on these statistics 8 out of 9 Heads of Departments @ AX
    4 out of 5 Form Heads
    The Board of Management of AX
    The Commissioned King’s Report on AX
    All had a problem with Broomes…..that is 95% of Ax Management by my calculation.
    To you now want to retract your statement ?

49. ac
    Officials from the MOE can only OBSERVE, they CANNOT direct operations at AX,ONLY the PRINCIPAL .To over-ride the authoritry of the principal would mean deminishing his responsibilies and this is against the law. What can be done is to send him on FULL pay leave but even then he would have to agree to that, because his non-particitation in the affairs of the school can also be consider deminishing his job.

50. Only the P.M and the BSTU personel present at the meeting knows the terms for the return of the striking teachers, therefore the BSTU CANNOT say things the P.M promised them that he did not carry through on. It would he foolhardy on the BSTU to stike again if Mr Broomes is not separated. The P.M would simply say, he didn’t promise a seperation, but an investgation. In the mean time, I understand, Mr Broomes is dotting his I’s and crossing his T’s and referring ALL matters to his two attorneys.