Tony Marshall, Chairman of the National Insurance Board

One issue which has resurfaced coming out of the recent miscommunication by the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) to pensioners is the unavailability of a recent NIS certified financial report. A check of the NIS Website shows the most recent financials posted as at 2007.  Governments over the years have always borrowed from the NIS fund but the current economic hardship has forced the government to lean on the fund in an unprecedented way; or so it seems.

The importance of the NIS to the stability of a Barbados society cannot be underscored enough. Why should Barbadians in 2011 not expect our government to implement necessary systems to ensure a timely certified financial statement of the NIS fund? Barbadians need, as a matter of urgency, to leverage the education provided to us. One way which we can do so is to hold our government and others who hold public office more accountable.  The fact that this government and others gone before continue to hoodwink Barbadians by dillydallying over the implementation of Freedom of Information (FOI) and Integrity Legislation are two good examples.

Barbadians should note carefully the strategic goals of the NIS:

1. To ensure timely processing of benefits
  2. To maximise compliance in terms of collection and achieve full compliance
  3. To maximise return on investment for the Fund
  4. To ensure efficient world-class customer service
  5. To establish a cadre of competent, efficient and highly motivated work force
  6. To improve internal and external communication at the Board

Item 6 is of special interest in light of the recent communications fiasco which has embarrassed the NIB, Minister Byer-Suckoo and by extension the government. More importantly the role of the NIS Board to realize item 3 is difficult for the public to measure because of the unavailability of current certified financials. The explanation offered by government spokesmen that in the low interest rate environment which is prevailing investments in public projects offer the best opportunity for better yields is a risky policy.

The  NIB is headed by retired banker Tony Marshall, head of management studies at UWI, Cave Hill Justin Robinson and others who are highly qualified to know what is required of managing Barbados’ most important fund. We need more transparency in how the NIS is being managed and if the public is to judge by the fiasco which reared its head last week, we should become very concerned.

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t care who or what mandated institutional strengthening. The politicians saw an opportunity to furthur politicize the public service and they jumped on it. Let me tell you the regulation of the credit union movement has not been strengthened beyond what existed prior to the FSC. As conceptualize the FSC is ca complete joke.

2. @ BAFBFP
    Are you not, like Caswell, ignoring the most important thread of hope for a man made institution to come good?

Basic common sense of ordinary people!

You of all people should be wary of expecting some institution to look after your best interest – be it government, church or court.

Look! Bushie, (being quite liquid at the time,) was advised to invest six figures with CLICO some years ago at impressive rates.
    No problem – until one day the bushman heard the ‘Chairman’ on TV….clearly monkey playing with bushie’s cash…
    Result – Money out ASAP.

Think Bushie waiting on some other idiot to protect his ass(ets)?

Same logic with the credit union bank thing – for years now Caswell talking bout what ‘should be’ and CIBC and them fellows making a killing off the same credit union money…..
    Stupssss

3. Oh Shite man, the over whelming majority of Barbadians score well below the median score (50%) at eleven plus and well below the median number (5) of O’ level subjects attained in a year. Frankly I don’ know of any test for national common sense average, but if standard tests are anything to go by, I will not bank on any concept referred to as good ol’ Bajan basic common sense, even though I will never be so liquid as to entrust a local insurance company with my worth… nat me … The “Basic common sense of ordinary people” is not provable and surely is not very obvious in our hyper conservative neck of the woods. Change my mind on that …

4. Congrats to the BU family, it seems you are helping mainstream media to shape the narrative in Barbados.

Today our leading local journalist David Ellis interviewed Peter Booth on the proposal to use NIS monies to fund the Four Seasons project and Booth took the opportunity to highlight the fact the fund has not produced an audited statement since 2007.

Of course we have pointed to the inaccuracy of this statement and they were a few others but it is a start.

A pity back in times of plenty we never subjected the fund to the same scrutiny but it is understandable given governments low cash flow position at this time.,

We must work to avoid the double standards.

We would love a copy of the NIS internal balance sheet to appear in BU’s inbox.

5. @BU.David: “We would love a copy of the NIS internal balance sheet to appear in BU’s inbox.

Should this not be publicly available?

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The Governor’s report on the 3rd qtr economic performance does not make for cheerful reading. When all the spin, fudging of numbers and embellishment for political purposes are set aside one sees a very grim picture emerging. The governor’s report is the first shot of anaesthetic to the Bajan psyche for the inevitable visit to the IMF surgery.

But expect Mr. Big mouth ,the dentist with his cocaine to sweet talk (numb) Bajans by telling them not to worry, everything will be alright; all you will feel is a little prick in the gum.

IMF in town so no hanky-panky this time, Guv!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CH:

Do you expect such provisional info will be made available as long as the pseudo-management guru (time & motion) marshal is in town?

8. Why blame Marshall, lack of audited NIS financials strikes back to mid-2000 no?

9. I believe that millertheanunnaki deservs a direct response to his pointed question.

The answer is, emphatically NO

10. @BU.David: “Why blame Marshall, lack of audited NIS financials strikes back to mid-2000 no?

So then the question must be asked…

Why has this EVER been acceptable?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    The marshal always gives the impression that he is a perfectionist and things are doable only if the will exists and a strong boss man is around.
    Remember his constant harpings about reducing the COL by making the Port more efficient. Has he been able to get his accountant friends to move accordingly?

What about unaudited (draft) info even for 2009 with the necessary proviso / warning that the info contained therein is subject to change and should not be relied upon as a true and fair view of the NIS financial position. At least we will have some idea of what is going on with our money!

12. @Chris

The answer is simple.

It was the boom years and we were busy gorging ourselves at the table of consumption.

13. Is someone insinuating that Marshall is a farce?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@BAFBFP:
    Like the old cartoon character Deputy Dogg!

15. Here is the illogical position of Minister Chris Sinckler’s because the IADB favourably assessed the Four Seasons project therefore it would be foolhardy for the government to disregard.

Here is a foolish question, was the assessment done before the world’s economy went into the toilet?

16. @David: “It was the boom years and we were busy gorging ourselves at the table of consumption.

But this is a closed system.

Surly everyone knows this.

Don’t they?

17. @Chris

What difference does it make what the system is if the people are engaged in relativist behaviour?

18. @David…

It makes a big difference.

One must understand the rules of the game if they are going to play.

19. David

The question is if the project is so great why can’t they find any other investors other than quasi government agencies : iadb, nis.

20. No No … The question is in an environment like we have what other investment options does the fund have? Safety deposits, sugar cane in a warehouse somewhere? Do you have any idea what is install wrt imported inflation? Do you really think that Luther and his people have the luxury of holding onto cash for any period of time…? Face up to it gentlemen, there might very well be NO choice …!

21. The following was an exchange on FB this morning:

David King
    Bajan FB posse we need to ask for transparency in how the NIS Fund is managed. Do you know that the fund has no produced audited financial statements since the mid-2000s? Check out the NIS website and see for yourself. This is our most important fund and we need to curb the political gymnastics which successive governments have played with the fund.
    Like · · Share · about an hour ago

David King Minister of Finance Sinckler was reported in the Barbados Today defending his position to invest in Four Seasons (it will happen). We need to get more info. To say the fund is in surplus and can satisfy draw downs for 8 years if it stopped collecting contributions is not addressing the issue of transparency. The minister must stop taking ‘educated’ Bajans for fools.
    about an hour ago · Like

David King http://www.nis.gov.bb/

National Insurance Scheme – Barbados, West Indies
    http://www.nis.gov.bb
    about an hour ago · Like ·

Denis Kellman the beauty of investments in nis funding in Barbados is that nis gets 20.1% of every dollar paid in wages, and that is the minimum.
    about an hour ago · Like

Denis Kellman the biggest beneficiary of four seasons is NIS.
    about an hour ago · Like

David King Minister the ask here is for greater transparency. If we can’t see audited financials then give us what is used internally with a comment. We are asking for transparency, most Bajns are aware how the NIS earns it money.
    about an hour ago · Like

Denis Kellman it is another problem that was left for us that we will correct.
    about an hour ago · Like

Denis Kellman point taken.
    about an hour ago · Like

David King But minister I am not asking you to solve, I understand that getting audited financials means that the integrity of the source info/docs must be in place. However you can give the people what you have with comments, your internal reports. Remember, and I shouldn’t have to remind you of this, the DLP government ran on a platform of promising greater transparency in government.
    about an hour ago · Like

David King Back in times of plenty Bajans were busy gorging themselves at the table of consumion. Now that things hard the DLP government will not get it so easy.
    about an hour ago · Like

David King All of you media practitioners and politicos this NIS matter is even more important than the politically charged CLICO because it affects ALL Bajans.
    59 minutes ago · Like

Denis Kellman NIS can afford to invest in any project that is creating jobs, but must be careful of the ratio of investment to other financing.
    57 minutes ago · Like

David King Of course NIS can invest and it should which is different from the call for transparncy.
    55 minutes ago · Like

Denis Kellman we must be careful how we create stagnation, and also of sweet talking men who behave like chinks.
    54 minutes ago · Like

Denis Kellman point accepted ,again.
    53 minutes ago · Like

Denis Kellman we have to be careful of tomorrow men, because tomorrow never comes.
    51 minutes ago · Like

David King Minister I am sure you are aware of a fundamental of the Westminster System of government which is the collective responsibility of Cabinet. This government promised transparency as a policy and practice which it would pursue to separate you (DLP) from the BLP and so far you have not delivered.
    50 minutes ago · Like

David King http://bajan.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/transparency-by-the-national-insurance-board-a-must-in-2011/

Transparency By The National Insurance Board A Must In 2011
    bajan.wordpress.com
    One issue which has resurfaced coming out of the recent miscommunication by the …See More
    47 minutes ago · Like ·

David King The biggest irony is that a key deliverable of this government, Integrity Legislation and FOIA, will probably not be proclaimed before the next general election and the government in waiting – the Barbados Labour party – is as silent as a church mouse on it. Sometimes to say nothing is to say a lot.
    11 minutes ago · Like

22. Yesterday’s man indeed!

23. Mr Kellman is yet to meet with the BIDC board which is disintegrating. Still can’ understand why an effective campaigner like Estwick was swapped out to be replaced by the likes of Kellman who has never responded to a direct question with a direct answer in his entire life. This whole thing about swapping Ministers is a ploy to mark time and a way of clearing the way of potential leadership challenges

24. The NIS Website appears to be ‘down’.

25. NIS Doubt - the Marshall is in town Avatar
    NIS Doubt – the Marshall is in town

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/nis-doubt/
    By Kaymar Jordan | Sun, November 06, 2011 – 12:10 AM
    It is not yet a done deal!

After weeks of toing and froing, the investment committee of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) meets on Wednesday and is expected to issue its verdict on the $50 million Four Seasons investment proposal within the next two weeks.

But already, there is strong indication that the stalled hotel project will not get the jump-start it needs from the Tony Marshall-led NIS board.

Yesterday, the NIS chairman, who is off island, was unavailable for comment but internal sources, with intimate knowledge of the Four Seasons discussions, told the SUNDAY SUN that from a board perspective, the project was pretty much a non-starter.

Read the full story in today’s SUNDAY SUN.

26. Random Thoughts Avatar

How come being “off island” makes the NIS Chairman unavailable for comment.

Doesn’t the NIS with its 3 billion Barbados worth of money give its Chairman a Blackberry?

Just asking you know.

27. Random Thoughts Avatar

Or is it that the Chariman doesn’t want to talk to the media qho are only asking on behalf of the people of Barbados who own the 3 billion Barbados and whose hireling the Chairman is.

28. WHY is Frrerdel still Prime Minister of Barbadsos – yes BAR-BAD-SOS?
    WHY is mealy mouthed ( I CANT STAND HIM YUH HEAR ) still Chairman of the NIS ??

29. The real question is, if the NIS refuses the loan, will Sincklar authorise it? I think the DLP needs to come clean to the public on these matters.

30. From the pervious article it was stated 80 million by nis. the professor said 30 million us. today article had 50 million. so what currency ? I think the former figure is one initially started with. so is that 50 million us now ?

31. Does 20 million dollars extra mean anything?

It is NIS money, a bottomless pit, deep pockets.

32. The Marshall is in town - NIS likely to say no Avatar
    The Marshall is in town – NIS likely to say no

33. If the report is true this is an affront to Ministers Sinckler and Kellman who have given the project their blessings.

No word from Minister Byer-Suckoo who has responsibility for NIS though.

34. Next money stop – credit unions, perhaps?

35. could be but their member would kick up a fit for such a project. probably get a loan from nis to buy like cmfc.

36. Absolutely not, the credit unions don’t have that kind of money.

37. Dear Minister of Finance, do not be disheartened – there is still hope. We look forward to the IPO of the Barbados Port.

38. the credit union do have enough assets to support such david. though that would eat into their reserved portion of assets. at which time central bank should kick up a fit.

39. Four Season need US money .. no? How would Credit Union fit … not sure how NIS money fit … Central Bank still have to approve US money for project at end of day so it be Central Bank money and Central Bank decision … no? Comrade Stinkler and Comrade Kellram not understand US money … always on plane flying some damn place … no?

40. @anthony

The issue is not about whether they have enough assets but how it would impact their liquidity ratios as required by PEARLES.

41. @BAFBFP

Agree it will always comeback to forex availability.

On 13 November 2011 09:12, David wrote:

> @anthony > > The issue is not about whether they have enough assets but how it would > impact their liquidity ratios as required by PEARLES. > >

42. the doomsday crowd want 4 Seasons to rust away no jobs no tourists only inertia well thats not the right decision for barbados’ development.
    put in the nis loan set up locked in legal guarantees for moneys return on investment get bajans back to work and use 4 seasons international marketing reach to induce tourists here with their forex.
    I dont trust Avenish Persaud.
    I dont trust Tony Marshall and posters like BAFBFP should be completely ignored.

43. @NIS Contributor

The most important factor in the government investing in Four Seasons should be that it will employ people? How does one guarantee return on investment in a competitive environment affected by the recession?

44. Simple Seasoning.

Build luxury villas. Sell them.

Put profits in the bank until you have enough cash in hand to help finance the construction of the Hotel.

45. 40yearniscontributor@gmail.com Avatar
    40yearniscontributor@gmail.com

Quoting anthony | November 7, 2011 at 12:12 AM | “From the pervious article it was stated 80 million by nis. the professor said 30 million us. today article had 50 million. so what currency ? I think the former figure is one initially started with. so is that 50 million us now ?

and

David | November 7, 2011 at 12:21 AM | “Does 20 million dollars extra mean anything? …It is NIS money, a bottomless pit, deep pockets.”

It worries me a lot if the numbers are shifting. Are shifty people involved in this? I ask because it is MY national insurance money. I’ve put in my money for 40 years and have only claimed 3 weeks of sick leave. No unemployment claims, no maternity claims, no disability claims. NIS has $3 billion because of people like me, not because of Tony Marshall or Chris SInkler, or Owen Arthur, or Avinash Persaud, or Freundel Stuart NONE of whom have contributed to NIS for 40 uninterrupted years.

And none of whom can say they have only made 3 weks worth of claims in 40 years.

Less we forget who the money belong to.
    David you can call me today 40 year NIS contributor

46. Hants

You not been following the story. the villa owners have said they not paying another cent unless the hotel being finance independently and ready to open when i they get their villas. That is one the reason the whole project shut down.

yes the figure keep on changing all about. orginally they suppose to get 52 million form iadb now it 65 million. no change of asking amount document on iadb but that can take sometime to go online. the nis was asked to fund 80 million bds. avanish said it was 30 million us. now it 50 million is that bds or us. dominica social security board is also suppose to pump in 30 million but given the fund total net 329 million ec that would make their invest 13% of the gross fund amount. kinda of putting alot of eggs in single basket for a small social security board. would they actually do that with a government guarantee.

47. @ David

Is it me or has Dr. Avinesh Persaud AND fOUR sEASONS refused to tell the people of Barbados how much money is need to complete the project? We keep hearing how much more money is needed to restart the project, NOT A WORD ABOUT HOW MUCH MONEY IT WILL TAKE TO COMPLETE IT.

I suspect that if the Minister of Finance, the Cabinet or the line Minister, Dr. ester Byer Suckoo instructs the NIS to fund this project against their will and good judgement, then there will be political consequences.

48. Hants |

No … I say raise money and build a ship building yard and then start building medium sized cruise liners as opposed to hotels and villas. Cruise liners are after all the hotels of the present and future … And not for sale either, but for use by a socialist government for the betterment of ALL Barbadians … (But please ignore me, as advised …)