Tony Marshall, Chairman of the National Insurance Board

One issue which has resurfaced coming out of the recent miscommunication by the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) to pensioners is the unavailability of a recent NIS certified financial report. A check of the NIS Website shows the most recent financials posted as at 2007.  Governments over the years have always borrowed from the NIS fund but the current economic hardship has forced the government to lean on the fund in an unprecedented way; or so it seems.

The importance of the NIS to the stability of a Barbados society cannot be underscored enough. Why should Barbadians in 2011 not expect our government to implement necessary systems to ensure a timely certified financial statement of the NIS fund? Barbadians need, as a matter of urgency, to leverage the education provided to us. One way which we can do so is to hold our government and others who hold public office more accountable.  The fact that this government and others gone before continue to hoodwink Barbadians by dillydallying over the implementation of Freedom of Information (FOI) and Integrity Legislation are two good examples.

Barbadians should note carefully the strategic goals of the NIS:

1. To ensure timely processing of benefits
  2. To maximise compliance in terms of collection and achieve full compliance
  3. To maximise return on investment for the Fund
  4. To ensure efficient world-class customer service
  5. To establish a cadre of competent, efficient and highly motivated work force
  6. To improve internal and external communication at the Board

Item 6 is of special interest in light of the recent communications fiasco which has embarrassed the NIB, Minister Byer-Suckoo and by extension the government. More importantly the role of the NIS Board to realize item 3 is difficult for the public to measure because of the unavailability of current certified financials. The explanation offered by government spokesmen that in the low interest rate environment which is prevailing investments in public projects offer the best opportunity for better yields is a risky policy.

The  NIB is headed by retired banker Tony Marshall, head of management studies at UWI, Cave Hill Justin Robinson and others who are highly qualified to know what is required of managing Barbados’ most important fund. We need more transparency in how the NIS is being managed and if the public is to judge by the fiasco which reared its head last week, we should become very concerned.

1. @David

point out where my argurment is partisan viz a viz the NIS

2. @ anthony
    Those numbers are mass confusion. Do they account for employees at statutory boards as well?

@ Balance

A party is its MEMBERS, NOT NAME, and its success dependent on the quality and objectives of that membership. So the same type of people in another party or parties will bring the same results. I maintain that for both the BLP and DLP to improve, people need to join and stop treating political parties as lepers. The change you seek MUST come from within not through venting on BU.

3. @enuff

There is no exclusivity on what it will take to commander change. Maybe we are all playing a part.

4. No doubt Neal & Massey have carried-out their own examination of Almond, and although private companies don’t make it public, I am sure that there are some parallels between that company and CLICO. Let’s go back to when that hotel was built. The cost was so high that no small hoteliers would take on the rent, so it was leased as a complete entity at a HUGE loss to the taxpayers, before the eventual takeover by BS&T and the forming of Almond. Now the NIS is being asked to cough up again to rescue this boondoggle that has been mismanaged for the last 15 years, with a loss in shareholder value, though some of the more senior management have done very nicely, thankyou. Neal & Massey should have done due diligence when they took over BS&T, so let them stew in their own juice.

5. @Random Thoughts

The position on reverse mortgages is that no only shall the banks indenture the parents, but the children as well, and the children’s children

Please don’t go back to your old sobriquet, your name is well chosen as your thoughts are so “random”.

No Bank ever forced someone to apply for a reverse mortgage or a loan for that matter. There are many people who have worked all their lives and on retirement their income is unable to sustain them, they want to travel and do things which they may not have been able to afford when they were working to shelter, clothe, feed and school their offspring.

On retirement they find themselves sitting on a valuable asset but not enough income to sustain them comfortably and while Reverse Mortgages are not a panacea for the cash crunch that they may face, for some they may be an answer to their prayers.

As to your concern about the “children”, too many children sit and wait for their parents to shuffle off this mortal coil so they like vultures can feed on the remains, parents need to enjoy the fruits of their labour. I refer to the Billie Holiday classic “God Bless the Child” which contains the lines “Mama may have, Papa may have, but God bless the child that got’s his own”.

Billie accompanied by the Count expresses it so much better

6. @ David

I agree, but 45 Davids in Parliament is better than 45 commenting on BU.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cup Cake

There is an old saying –“it takes a thief to catch a thief”. This is more apt where a bigger thief is figuratively stabbed in the back by the lesser but ambitious thief. Back stabbers or quislings are candidates for a visit from Nemesis.

I am sure OSA & Co will move heaven and earth to expose this pending 3 card trick to be played on the taxpayers. OSA knows that any thing or person smelling of the VECO perfume must be stink and covered by the dung of corruption.

8. @ millertheanunnaki

I hear you loud and clear. I think you are being cheeky in referring to it as a three card trick, the more apt description is probably something more sinister.

I refuse to accept that Barbados and Barbadians have sank so low that it is common day practice to spend $40 million to “redesign” something already designed and paid for by the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc.

If I was the 4 directors who resigned from the board, I would be contacting OSA to give him a secret copy of the Peer Review which found absolutely NOTHING wring with the original design of the marina.

9. I smell a Commission of Enquiry coming.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cup Cake

Of course, I was being a bit ‘tongue-in-the-cheek’ with reference to the 3 card game. More like a major swindle to me!

A commission of enquiry under this Administration? It’s like expecting LP (aka Greenverbs) to be investigated by the Inland Revenue for under-reporting his earnings over the years?

11. lets be careful about comments suggesting the NIS is being told what to do.

The structure of the board suggests that there should be some level of independence from the government.

There are only three government appointees on the NIS board, The Chairman, deputy and one other, and they are in fact outnumbered. Alan Fields and John Martineau are there asrepresentatives of the two Private sector bodies, Sir Roy and Dennis Clarke are there as representatives of the two major trades unions, they are not appointed by the government.

12. What is beginning to bother me is that Owen Arthur and others seem opposed to every project. The Marina, the Cruise Terminal, Four seasons, these were the very types of projects we were told could take the country forward, now these projects are all bad. I am too old to take that seriously.

I hazard a bet that if owen wins all three projects will go ahead. Owen and the BLP’s beef seems to be with whom is getting the contracts, I guess they want their cronies to get the contracts instead.

If I were them I would jump on the transparency band wagon too. Will not fool old, experienced people like me.

13. In an attempt to appear statesman like owen said in the last budget debate that his administration would also have made adjustments to the drug service. Of course, sensing political opportunity the BLP columns for the last two week have gone back to flogging the issue.

Long life can often result in cynicism

14. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aseqbfk-363sdDdPUWdvMjFWdjltZEhlbG1lUDZSOUE&hl=en_US

I put the figures in google docs to make them easier to understand.

@obediant

they are there just confused in the whole post check the google document

@enuff

They are bss figure for government you have to ask them if they account for the statutory boards. The transfer and subsidies have been included in the document which show the rise over the years

15. Cool, the spread sheet is something that I could look at… thnx.

Re Commission of Inquiry … for what, so that guilty people could avoid prosecution? Do you people not realize how these things work?

16. What is next for these fellows, lying in wait at the post office for old people to cash their pension cheques and tripping them up on the steps to get their money?

17. @obediant

From the figures is shows that revenue are at worst only slightly down 3% the problem is for pass few year they been pushing current expenditures to new level that has been the source of the problem. revenue will never catch up at the rate we are going at unless something is done.

18. @ BAFBFP

Yuh know…the culprits will be deemed to have acted unethically but not unlawfully.

@ OLD SCHOOL
    Because the projects can take the country forward does not justify ignorance!! Was Dodds necessary to take us forward and did your kind not criticise the cost, contractor etc?

19. Remittances to Barbados (not including Hants) amounted to almost US$500 million in the years after the global financial crisis struck countries.

20. Hants how much did you remit ..?

enuf

Commissions of Inquiry are therefore unethical …

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@BAFBFP re OLD SCHOOL:

Excellent counter! They are employing the same go-between (mafia negotiator) and the same much malign financing arrangement (B.O.L.T) for this marina project as was done with the prison project.

What do you say, OLD SCHOOL?

22. BAFBFP | October 4, 2011 at 6:00 PM |Hants how much did you remit ..?

More than I should.

23. So Hants

How much should you have remitted ..? Just asking …

@ millertheanunnaki

For the benefit of people like me who have developed the habit of forgetting unpleasant arrangements, what does the “T” in BOLT stand for?

24. BOLTransfer

25. @ obedient

There is nothing to be ashamed of if I were a supporter of the Barbados Labour Party.

There are persons who, in their quest to support a political party, would respond in a rational and coherent manner, as well as to bring facts to substantiate and further articulate their points on the matter being discussed. You, my friend, always seem to reply without critical analysis of the matter, hence there is never a complete train of thought, that is why you always reply with political diatribe.

If you had done proper research, you would have known that the BLP was the first party to present integrity legislation before parliament, and the then DLP opposition opposed the idea.

If you had read my contribution thoroughly and understood what was written, you would have seen that I clearly stated that the DLP had at least six of the fourteen years in opposition to draft some sort of integrity legislation, and if they were serious, they could have introduce it within the first 100 days in office. The six years could have been used to, in your terms, wait on the drafters.

I never stated that the DLP was involved in corruption, I stated that in the ABSENCE OF INTEGRITY LEGISLATION, some of the decisions made by the DLP could be interpreted as being corrupt. There is a difference.

26. “If you had done proper research, you would have known that the BLP was the first party to present integrity legislation before parliament, and the then DLP opposition opposed the idea.”
    The above statement is erroneous, and I must apologise for misleading the members of this blog’s family, as well as not living up to the expectations I placed on obedient, and not checking the facts before placing my comment.
    Actually, both parties were toying around with the idea for a long time now, with the BLP promising, in their 1976 manifesto, to introduce integrity legislation.
    In 1975, the then, Leader of the Opposition, Hon. J.M.G.M. Adams, tabled a resolution in Parliament calling upon the Government to introduce legislation to compel members of Parliament to disclose their assets. Adams subsequently made charges that members of the Government were corrupt, and when he became Prime Minister in a Barbados Labour Party administration towards the end of 1976 he instituted a commission of enquiry into the financial activities of the previous Democratic Labour Party government during the period 1961 to 1976. The report of that commission which was undertaken by the Hon. Justice Duffus, a former Chief Justice of Jamaica, concluded that there was no evidence of loopholes in the constitution, and procedures for the proper administration and control of the public finances in Barbados.

Again, I offer my apologises for presenting misleading information.

27. Oh Lord look at me, and I thought the “T” in BOLT stood for Tax … Shite I feel like a real idiot ..!

28. WHY is Stuart still Prime minister and not Sinckler ?
    WHY dont Stuart do like Bruce Golding and hand over to Chris ?
    Doesn’t he know that Everybody Loves Chris ?
    WHY should my questions bother some people on this Blog who I inten to IGNORE ?
    HOW can a question be analytical ???
    ISNT a question a question to be answerd and information and analysis take place IN THE ANSWER ?

29. i am not speaking about change in the system in governance in political parties. the comments on the blog about poliyical parties point toweards tghe deficiencies of these institutions which has become cancerous. ask clyde mascoll. ask mia mottley. i am speaking of finding a cway to make parliament work for the people and for the people to hve confidence in governance again.

30. @ JUST ASKING

Both you and the man you seek to be Prime Minister are novices. Do you really think that Chris Sinckler is PM material, after all he hardly inspires confidence with the non-sense which comes out of his mouth.

31. We talk about establishing first world principles here is an example to show we are not serious if we judge by how we are managing the NIS Fund.

32. With all this money passing hands thru ansa & iabd with no government guarantee what is the collateral being put up for that loan? What collateral will be left when it nis turn to get piece after injecting it capital?

33. I make a general point that all of a sudden every project is being rubbished , with the charge coming from politically motivated persons and a very inept main stream media.

rather than having a discussion based on the details of the project, we are allowing the debate to revolve around swipes by arthur and his team, glibly reported by the main stream media with no fact checking or any context.

It seems to me like a mash up and buy back approach. Rubbishy everything, nothing gets done and you can then win an election. I see the same tactic being employed in the USA. Getting rid of Obama takes precedence over the country, getting Arthur back in office seems to now be taking precedence over the country.

Should the government of bim let four seasons remain as a blot on the environment?

Should we not be doing a port development project/

Is the re-designed marina a worthwhile project?

what wrongdoing has been proven against bannister in relation to the prison? Some folks seem to have problems with successful black people.

34. @Old School

You make a good point about the political tenor of the narrative which is only possible because of the lack of transparency of how the NIS fund is being managed.

No audited financials since god knows when? Unacceptable!

35. I agree its unacceptable but if financials for 2003 to 2007 are outstanding that suggests a problem from way back, that will take a while to bring up to date.

Anthony:

I thought investments were based on the expected cash flows, what is all this talk about collateral?

What collateral was there for the NIS investment in the Hilton?

36. You know what, it might be systemic, there maybe blockers but for too long successive governments have been adding to the problem or so it seems. We want to see more disclosure and transparency about the fund. It is not the guvment’s money, It belongs to the people.

37. 1 No.

2 No as the benefit from such a project right now don’t outweigh cost. The some of the cruise ships have are leaving and heading to Mediterranean next year.

3 Currently would this provide over saturation for marina market as port Ferdinand would be wholly up for sale while they would be trying to sell these spot as well.

4 none but then again has anyone ever proven any wrong doing with any government project. They never had any teeth the do proper digging and find stuff.

38. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

In an economy different projects or investments carry different types of risks. In more developed economies a range of financial institutions with different risk appetites exist. You have from regular commercial banks to venture capitalists, so a variety of projects with varying risk profiles have access to funding.

In barbados the financial landscape is almost exclusively dominated by commercial banks. Commercial banks typically have a relatively small appetite for risk, hence they can be expected to shun certain types of projects, and typically want collateral. For a variety of reasons Barbados got rid of the barbados development bank, and we now have no sizeable financial institution to look at the more risky type projects, that have a greater potential to fail, but also the potential to be transformative and developmental.

It seems to me that the NIS fund, with its large pool of capital and a long term perspective has been playing that role in the economy for the last decade or so. The NIS fund has been a major investor in BNB, barbados Light and power, Enterprise Growth fund, Fund access and the hilton to name some.

Barbadians may now want to have a debate on whether or not they want the fund to play this role. What I would say is if it does not play such a role the funds will either sit on the bank and be lent to projects that fit the risk profile of the banks, or be exported overseas to fund developmental projects in other countries.

39. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Now it might just be that a lot of “developmental” projects are bad projects and should not see the light of day.

40. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

One of the tough realities for this administration is that when a lot of projects were undertaken and investments made in the past, there was no forum like BU to debate issues, and in a growing economy people tend to ask fewer questions.

They must now feel like everything they try to do is put through a ringer, like never before.

I mean has the NIS ever seen a return or is likely to see a return on the funds invested in Fund Access and Enterprise growth. What has been the success rate of the these two entities? To use financial jargon, while the Financial rate of return to the NIS might not be great, has the economic rate of return to the country justified such investments?

41. @OLD School

1 Obviously you never tried to get a loan from any bank.

2 It was government guaranteed.

42. If the fund is playing a venture capitalist role by default or taking high risk or developmental projects then the NIS Board and the government owes it to Barbadians to ensure the investment strategy is well defined and known and relevant analytics to measure and evaluate performance is established.

43. The NIS Fund is there for the people of Barbados who have worked hard and contributed to it . I believe that the Four Seasons project should not be funded by the NIS. This will be the biggest mistake and will become another catastrophe like CLICO. It will become another debacle sanctioned by Government. Let the Four Seasons stew in their mess. We the tax payers did not create it, we were never shareholders and will never allowed to be.

44. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Anthony, I hope you would accept that its only your view on the viability of these investments. I am always intrigued how some can pronounce on a project in the absence of detailed knowledge of business plans.

As far as I am aware the NIS’ investment guidelines are public information. But I think a public debate is worthwhile.

I am not sure “high risk” is accurate, I think it would be more accurate to say investments that may not fit the risk profile of the commercial banks.

45. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

So it seems to me that all the Owen disciples no longer believe in the concept of the “Entrepreneurial State.”

Where would Barbados be if the state had not take this role at strategic points in the country’s history?

46. @ Trained Ecnomist

Yes their other view and I would accept them.

Unlike most i think if the government really want to push four season leave nis out and do it thru the fx reserves. The reason the villa owners stopped is they want the amenities that where promised in the hotel. By taking over the whole project all excess profit goes to straight back into the fx reserves thru the villa sales. The reason why four season is now high risk is because each investor is worried the other might pull out again and it back to a standstill. Government complete takeover avoid this.

Might you provide a link to the NIS investment guidelines ?

47. Would be very interested to read the investment strategy/policy of the NIS Fund. The nature of what the fund serves means that it must of necessity have a mild appetite for risk. If we want to allocate a % of funds to accommodate high risk and developmental if there is determined to be incremental benefit to the country sure but it should be done away from the NIS Fund which so fare has shown an inability to produce audited financials.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Old School:

“What wrongdoing has been proven against Bannister in relation to the prison”!

None so far! At least, none that can be proven in a local court of law. Neither can the myriad wrongdoings and corrupt practices allegedly purported by the former administration. This current administration went across the length and breath of Barbados (including Parliament) accusing the Arthur administration of corruption and nefarious activities. Remember the ABC Highway Extension project? Based on the public accusations of corruption and competence which person has been prosecuted or fired to date? Remember Hardwood and the forensic audit? What is the outcome? Malicious charges that sullied the integrity and political aspirations of a young Barbadian who has the interest of the country at heart. But the instigator of these Machiavellian strategies received his ‘just desserts’ in a most timely fashion.

Everything about the prison was criticised by this administration, both in opposition and in government. From the cost and financing arrangement (Build/Operate/Lease/Transfer ) to the alleged kickbacks organized by the same players involved in the so-called marina project.

What applies to the BLP should also apply to the DLP, as far as integrity and honesty in public administration. “What is good for the goose is also good for the gander”.

The re-design of the marina is not a real project in itself. What we want to see is information on the foreign investors who will be executing the BOLT contract. We want to know the expected start date and the credentials of the contractors involved in the actual building of the marina. All Bannister and his inside man DB will do is to superficially adjust the existing design and resubmit with a massive bill attached to rob taxpayers.

No right-thinking person would be against “black people becoming successful”. Of course intelligent and fair –minded Bajans are all for greater economic enfranchisement of black Bajans. But this economic and financial success should be earned through hard work, sacrifice, integrity in business dealings and respect for the law. Not underhand dealings, bribing bureaucrats and arranging kickbacks to influential and bent politicians and total disrespect for the law; with CLICO being the epitome of this vile culture that perpetuate the notion that defrauding honest, hardworking people and taxpayers is the quickest way to get rich.

And don’t come with the argument that whites and other non-black ethnic groups do it, so it is OK for blacks to do it. Please do not follow this line of thinking that only reinforces the image of blacks (albeit false) as monkeys aping other people’s actions.

49. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

The 2007 report on the NIS site (with no financials) says on pg 22.

Money market = 10%
    Local and regional equity = 10%
    International equity = 10%
    real estate = 5%
    Fixed income = 65%

50. Is the current chairman of the National Insurance Board in a position to tell BARBADOS the facts relating to the NIS exposure to Paradise Project?
    What is the NIS exposure to CLICO?
    Kindly express in BARBADOS DOLLARS please.
    Do not allow us to imagine that what is 250M BARBADOS DOLLARS IS 790M BARBADOS DOLLARS.