Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (l) Mia Mottley MP (r)

BU has to confess the politics on the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) side at the moment is puzzling. With just over a year to go to a constitutionally due general election the commonsense strategy for both parties is to agree to a competitive slate of candidates and settle any grievances between members – especially if they are prominent – have them resolved quickly.

The recent DLP general conference appears to have Jack and Jill lining up behind Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. If there was plan to hatch a Chris Sinckler plan it seems to have been placed on the backburner for the moment. What is shaping up to be intriguing is unravelling on the BLP side.

We all recall how Mia Mottley was taken out by the so-called gang of five. It came as a surprise if for no other reason it required George Payne to throw his hat behind Arthur. All kinds of reasons have been floated why Mia Mottley lost the support of parliamentary colleagues – the fear of Mottleyism, concerns about how party funds were being spent, the profile of persons she had following her which crowed out the ‘regulars’, her lifestyle, and the list is long.

After a quick bloodletting Mia Motley seems to have come to terms with the role she intends to play in the party. She will play the waiting game. With a couple 60 something old MPs in Owen and George her only potential  threat  to regain the leadership of the BLP  is from Dale Marshall, a no contest. All of her public statements have been delivered using a studied approach and her positions have taken a people-centric flavour, on some occasions at the expense of the party position.

What has muddied the issue in the past week is Arthur’s public cry that the BLP and Barbados need Clyde Mascoll. It will be interesting to observe how Arthur, who many still regard as a master tactician, will deliver Mascoll to the BLP and Barbados. If it were that simple!

During the last general election Arthur created tension in the party when he described Mascoll as a co-leader although he had previously endorsed Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley as his heir apparent. How will Mia, George and former schoolmate Dale Marshall cotton to the idea of Mascoll possibly entering the parliamentary group to bat at 2 or 3 in the batting order?

We know Duguid will not be standing for re-election and there is a question mark around the tired and sick looking  Rawle Eastmond. Whatever happens the dynamics of the BLP parliamentary group is about to change. Again BU asks, how will Arthur deliver Mascoll to the House of Assembly?

To add to the intrigue there seems to be an attempt from the BLP party machinery to flex its muscle by supporting Jerome Walcott for the Chairmanship of the BLP, sending a clear message to Mia Mottley who has indicated her interest to contest the position. Todays press quotes Mia Mottley as being surprised at seeing press ads which by accident or design describe Walcott as the incoming Chairman.

What is clear is that Arthur will have to cut a deal with Mia and soon. He cannot continue to alienate her with a general election looming.

1. Sargeant wrote,”his latest gambit is to try to parachute Jerome Walcott into the position of Chairman of the BLP but Mia still ain’t going away.

Jerome,Mia, Mia, Jerome. mmmmmmmmmm.

Both well educate Barbadian politicians.

2. @Truthman
    You haven’t riled up anyone; your arguments and position are very very typical and flat. My position has not changed; what is occurring with Taan is identical to what Arthur tried in the same constituency with Duguid and Kerrie Symmonds the then carpet-bagger.
    Mascoll finds himself in the same boat as Kerrie Symmonds; unfortunately Arthur is not in a position to “create” a constituency for him; although I think his personality wouldn’t make him a one term parliamentarian like Symmonds. There is nothing worse than an perpetually unmannerly, and persistently angry man with a girly voice such as Kerrie, who has “lost” in more ways than one.

3. @David
    Taan: Is this that thing that surface during the last election -documents and all- or is it something more?

4. @Caswell Franklyn | September 15, 2011 at 10:58 AM | Zack & Obediant

Politicians need to come out and tell the whole truth: they would be respected, instead we often see them trying to protect the party’s image.

I happen to have intimate knowledge of the BLP, but it is not my place to reveal things that I learned when we were on good terms. Sometimes, I might have disagreed but turned a blind eye for the “good of the party”. I can assure you that Arthur can reveal things that might give the country reason to pause.
    =====================
    So it is not your place to reveal what you know. Is that due to some code of ethics? Afraid of being called a traitor or something like that? Afraid of being treated like Peter Wickham? If you have knowledge that you think the citizens of this country can benefit from, then aren’t you doing us all a dis-service by not revealing it…just as Owen may be doing?

5. @ Adrian
    I grasp the subtlety, the inference in your insulting comments. You are one of those who believe that I am Kerry Symmonds. You will always describe my position as flat and typical, but I know that is your style of evading the truth.,

6. The very same Adrian.

7. @Burton(not the one who was in the house and was involved in crooked activiteis) if that waht you want to potray by using that blogging name.

Sometimes people like you believe that is your way or the highway, but forget that some of these bloggers have intimate knowledge of what goes on in cenrtal government and statutory boards, and thereofore in a postion to counter people like you,
    I am capble of holding a sustained debate with you and defeat you hands down, You, enuff and lemuel cannot run me from this blog. So go and come again you trio

A fool and his money will part company. What about you, since you are a fool are you going to part with the blp.

@Adrian

Dont be dismayed by him, his form of defense is to attack in a vulgar way, thats him to be agressive,beat and fight and destroy.

@Caswell

you have changed, didnt you spill your guts about the uniopn which had empyed you, so saying what you know wouldn’t be nothing new

8. @Caswell
    When it come to Mia, it boils down to what type of leader people perceive her to be…the types of policies she would seek to implement. Perception is reality, and she scares some people.

9. @Truthman
    Don’t know who you are; don’t care, and all the more so if you are a policitian. The Kerrie reference is relevant to the Taan Abed’s unfolding situation, same constituency, same approach of candidate making, and my consistent opinion on both; different party notwithstanding, for they are separated by their party colours only. De insult to kerrie is also consistent; never liked him, and harden my view of him after he “bullied” his then wife. What truths of yours am I ignoring?????

10. Obediant

You got me all wrong. What I wrote about NUPW was not confidential: it was available to all members in accordance with the union’s rules.

I obtained the information that you want me to reveal because I was an assistant secretary of the party and also a personal assistant to a minister. You would not want me to be a traitor by revealing confidential information? Would you trust or respect me if I did? I would not be able to look at myself in the mirror without puking.

11. MIA FOR PM… that should be the slogan for the BLP. Owen trying to beg a spot for Mascoll, Mr. Mascoll please take your family’s advice and don’t run. If Owen feels that the BLP can’t do without Mascoll well he blind as bat. The BLP can’t do without MIA. MIA FOR PM. MIA FOR PM ! Wunna hypocrites out there better listen to what this brillant woman has to say. We are not without faults so eff wunna want a Virgin to be PM dem ent born yet. But wunna wutless rass Klats want a man whore to be PM, a unwed father to be a PM and feel that MIA ain’t good enough because wunna menz cahn poke she wid wunna ice pick s wunna got problems wid MIA. Right now with all what is going on in both parties I can’t see any person of QUALITY with the exception of MIA , to lead Barbados. The only problem is that the rest of candidates don’t add to too much. We got problems, real problems.

12. Zack | September 15, 2011 at 12:03 PM | @Caswell
    When it come to Mia, it boils down to what type of leader people perceive her to be…the types of policies she would seek to implement. Perception is reality, and she scares some people.
    ===============================================

I have no fear of giving someone an opportunity to implement things they have offered up publically and that I think is needed. I remain no fan of Mia Mottley, but my personal view of her has to take a back seat to what is good for the country economically, socially, and with regard to governance change. Mia is the only living politician that has spoken with much detail about these things.

13. @David

I don’t get involved in the cussing of people I know and worse yet, people I don’t know. I read all 147 comments so far and boy oh boy, Baje loves to hang you out to dry even when the rain is falling. lol
    My contribution differs. I read Mr. Mascoll’s article in Today’s Nation and as a economics novice, I am confused. Can you or any of the other BU economists help me understand the logic in the article captioned ‘WHAT MATTERS MOST – Why high local gas prices still?’

He is quoted as saying inter alia,

“This is a simple matter that needs a simple explanation to the following question. Why are local prices for gasoline, diesel and electricity rising when international oil prices are declining?

This week’s Barbados Business Authority carried a story headlined Us Trade Deficit Narrows To US$44.8b. The explanation for the narrowing of the deficit was: “A record level of exports and a drop in oil prices narrowed the United States trade deficit in July to its lowest point in three months.” What matters most here is “drop in oil prices” and “July”.’

BNOCL’s clear-the-air notice stated: “The public is aware that the retail [pump] price of gasoline and diesel is set by Government based on the purchase invoices of the previous month. There is therefore a time lag between the time of purchase on the international market and an adjustment to the local price.” What matters most here is “based on the purchase invoices of the previous month”.

………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Paragraph 1 of the above extract deals with price at the pump and electricity cost in Barbados.

Paragraph 2 deals with the world market price of oil,(nothing to do the retail price at the pump in US) and Trade deficit in the US.

Paragraph 3 returns to the retail price of gas and diesel at the pump in Barbados.

My question is why didn’t Mr. Mascoll mention the price increase of gasoline at the pump in the US ,over the same period as Barbados although the world market price of oil decreased.

I believe that the answer lies in the following URL’s

http://www.mercurynews.com/business/ci_18900882

http://www.canadianbusiness.com/article/45350–us-consumers-paid-more-for-gas-food-rent-and-other-items-in-august

http://www.bls.gov/news.release/pdf/cpi.pdf

I hope you can open all three sites but in case you can’t , the respective topics are. You should be able to Google the data.

Consumer prices, unemployment claims rise

US consumers paid more for gas, food, rent and other items in August

CONSUMER PRICE INDEX – AUGUST 2011

14. @Caswell
    You are caught between a rock and hardplace. Political parties and public sector Unions have been a persistent drain on the public. Time for you to find a new cause that puts on the side of the people, away from these two blood sucking institutions. Why do we need public sector unions in a social decomcracy such as Barbados? chuspe!

15. @Chuckles
    good for you. Fruendel once said that Bajans no longer needed politicians to tell them what is going in the world. Why do we need Mascoll as appose to someone else in parliament again?

16. Mr. “OBEDIENT” (correct spelling) …. Seems I have influenced you, because you are tagging along in my lead by trying to refer to me as a fool. You stupid man, I will repeat to you:

Talk sense to a fool and he calls you foolish. I am also aware that brilliance is typically the act of an individual, but incredible stupidity can usually be traced to an organization ….. You a DLP member?

@Adrian …… I see that you are still holding to your illogical position. You want Mascoll to actively canvass St James North, without the support of the imcumbent, who has not yet made a decision …… but consider how untenable Verla’s position is in Christ Church West, where she is canvassing the area WITHOUT the support of the Constituency Branch. As a matter of fact, they actually want her REMOVED!

Before you start talking about the other Burton, the former speaker, the person you should talk about, (if you want to discuss former speakers) is that Gentleman, former DLP Speaker Maxwell, and Publisher of the DEMS RAG, The Democrat.

The DLP, true to form, utterly destroyed the man many years ago. They ran and left the poor man in despair, such that he died sad, sick and miserable.

17. To Obediant:
    I had quite a laugh about the Mia thing in an open forum; I am not Truth Burton , he interfered with you. I was just trying to help. Didn’t I say that you with your bright bright analysis you would do him in. by the way I am neither B or D.

18. @Caswell Franklyn | September 15, 2011 at 12:07 PM | Obediant

You got me all wrong. What I wrote about NUPW was not confidential: it was available to all members in accordance with the union’s rules.

I obtained the information that you want me to reveal because I was an assistant secretary of the party and also a personal assistant to a minister. You would not want me to be a traitor by revealing confidential information? Would you trust or respect me if I did? I would not be able to look at myself in the mirror without puking.
    =======================
    Wouldn’t you be doing it for a bigger and better cause? Wouldn’t you betray a few to save thousands? It’s called doing the right thing. Politicians are hired to do the people’s business, so why should anything in the line of that work be hidden from the people? Here’s your chance to show that you’re a bigger man than Owen (literally and figuratively).

19. To Obediant:
    I f i were a D like you , I would get here and stroke Mia’s foolish ego too. Because come elections and the voters have to deal with leaders and their intentions, it would be very easy to see Mia’s plainly down the road. Can you imagine your daughter having to get “feel up” by another woman to acquire a job or your son doing things against his will, for Mia do not let you chose ask the young girl who ran the apartment with Mia in tow with the dildo.

20. @Adrian Hinds | September 15, 2011 at 12:11 PM |
    I have no fear of giving someone an opportunity to implement things they have offered up publically and that I think is needed. I remain no fan of Mia Mottley, but my personal view of her has to take a back seat to what is good for the country economically, socially, and with regard to governance change. Mia is the only living politician that has spoken with much detail about these things.
    ==========================
    The DLP spoke alot about integrity legislation before they got elected too. It’s the nature of the political beast.

21. @lemuel: “by the way I am neither B or D.

If you say so.

But it cannot be denied (based on the empirical evidence) that you are actioning an agenda.

And thus everyone should take everything you say as being questionable.

No?

22. To Chris:
    I really am not Bor D, bur my friend Obediant has lumped with some fellows here. Like the typical political follower, he believes that i am against his party. My position is that Mia Amor Mottley at any level of leadership in barbados shall be a disaster waiting to happen. Some of the most heinous things done by her was when she was the ATTORNEY GENERAL of Barbados. By the way what are you doing over here, I left you serenading Kiki.

23. @lemuel et al… Believe it or not, we Bajans are smart enough to know when we’re being lied to.

Particularly by foreign agents who pretend to be beside us.

And don’t worry about Kiki and me — we have an understanding. “Friends with Benefits” I believe it’s called….

24. To chris:
    If you want to know about foreign agents , check the man Peter the spy Wickham. He may not have any more use for his spying tools as he has been outed. But before he goes I am sure the embassy shall be trying disparately to replace him. This spying this does not stop; he exposure was only a hic cup.

25. @lemuel: If you want to know about foreign agents , check the man Peter the spy Wickham.

To the best of my knowledge, Peter Wickham is Bajan.

Who are you Lemuel?

26. To Chris:
    I baje too.

27. @Lemuel

People like you jump to conclusions so easily, i am not a supporter of the BLP or PEP, I will support the DLP until i die and not Enuff’s party, so you go and come again.

I still maintain that mia is a bright woman and intellectually, you cannot handle her,

For your information, i voted for the DLP seven times and when i have to criticize the party i will, and if I have to give praise to any mrmber of the oppposition that I consider BRIGHT i will.

What you have not said some better than what you have said. Bring it on,

28. @Lemuel

If u have the facts about what she has done spell them out, facts can not be refuted so dont thing you can make statements like that and get away with it. You cannot be preosecited for stating facts.

29. To Obediant:
    Why are taking a sledge hammer to murder a fly. I am but a simple minded person with an opinion on Mia Mottley and her sordid behaviour. Yet, you want to through all of that WEIGHT on poor me; call BAFBPF I understand that he like them that heavy. About you being bright bright, I agree whole heartedly. But check with MIA she may have a difference of opinion she does not like man.

30. @lemuel: “I baje too.

If you were actually Bajan, you would have been able to state it.

It’s not that hard. “I am Bajan. I am proud being Bajan. Deal with it.

31. @Lemuel

I had thought you said i was a B, so now that i have corrected that, i will respond further. I hear about the rumours about MIa and what about the males who do likewise to young boys and girls, that is use their positiona power to exploit them sexually.
    The rules should be the same for all person. A person 18 years can make a decison for his/her self. I believe you should always have self esteem.

Why have you chosen Mia to talk about her sexual escapades, what about others in the blp and my party there rumours too about some of them. You fortgot that i said that i am not a supporter of mia, i admire her brighness thats all, I dont have to stoke her ego, i am sure she knows how to get it done or do it herself. Why not look at the sordid behaviour of some of the men of the cloth. I mean all the denominations.

your response, i await

32. @Adrian …… I see that you are still holding to your ILLOGIAL POSITION. You want Mascoll to actively canvass St James North, without the support of the imcumbent, who has not yet made a decision …… but consider how untenable Verla’s position is in Christ Church West, where she is canvassing the area WITHOUT the support of the Constituency Branch. As a matter of fact, they actually want her REMOVED!
    ===========================================
    Logic is only required when the truth is unknown, and fallacies are incorrect arguments that leads to misconception or presumptions.

The truth is….
    Chartered accountant and BLP treasurer, Douglas Skeete has previously canvassed the constituency in the company of his cousin, BLP chairman and St. Andrew MP George Payne.

The logical approach is to be prepared no matter what….
    Do you know of any test cricketer who begins preparing himself only after being selected to the team?

Verla’s approach is the right one. Hit ground while things with the exec and branch are worked out, if it works in her favor, she is ahead of the game; it if does not swing her way, it is simply the price you pay for being ready.

You remind me of those people who start storm preparations when the rain starts to fall.

33. @Burton, the crooked one

I have got under your skin, which was my intention.

@caswell

I went back to some of your blogs about the Union, didnt you talk about things you and the GS would hade discussed in the execution of your duties. You had held a position of trust in the Union and you spoke about things you would have known about in the emply of the Union, Correct me if i am wrong.

@all

politics is about perception, that is what the electorare perceive that you can do as politicians . Politicians are actors, they tell us what we want to hear and make us hysterical and go and support them, They are no fools, yes some of them are foolish and some are bright, like mia.

34. I’m but a simple minded bajan with limited commonsense but I would like to know which DLP candidates will be campaigning on the CBC 8 News tonight. I would like to know why every night the said news is dominated by this DLP campaigning, is this now the offical DLP station? I would like to know if the BLP would get equal coverage of their conference that was given to the DLP? Mind you I’m neither B or D, I’m a simple bajan voter that will weigh the two parties when the time comes and then decide which one to vote for, THIS IS MY CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT.

35. Sometimes it is better for people to keep their mouths shut,did Donville Inniss think before he spoke about Arthur trying to get Mascoll as a candidate? If he did, maybe is memory is quite short, if it is let Abed and Husbands remind him what his party did to them. This don’t mean that two wrongs make a right, they are both guity of “cherry-picking” candidates against the wishes of the constituents.

36. A simple check will show that Larry Mayers won the nomination in St.Michael South Central and was replaced by Richard Sealy. Nothing new here. What is though, is Truthman Burton resorting to name calling. Backed into a corner,what was a bee turned into a snake.Seems to me that the Rattlesnake’s cage has been rattled.

37. @Hamilton Hill
    Truth Burton as a rattle-snake? really? Clearly not someone with substantive arguments in this thread. lol!

38. To Obediant:
    You would never hear me say that Mia should not be prime minister. If the populace are inclined so be it, but they need to know what baggage comes with that decision. The men of the cloth are not running for office; my earlier posts would indicate to you that I do not have a beef for people with the alternative lifestyle. But I have a beef with someone who I know would be a despot if ever given a chance. You thought tom adams was bad; he pales in comparison with your bright girl Mia Amor Mottley.

Remember when I am discussing Mia I am not just talking about the escapades of of her sexual orientation; i am speaking to her life style and philosophy as evidenced in the escapades and her sexual exploitations. I do not dislike her. But she is BAD BAD for barbados. You know why she is running the football tournament, she likes to smoke and generally there is smoking at those things. Mia then is clearly in her element and smoked up to the hilt.

39. A blind man can see that the Gang of 5 wish to alienate and malign Mia. It shows a mysogeny, dishonesty and disregard for what is best for the country. They are facing their aging and inevitable and eventual irrelevance with fear and an ardent lack of dignity.

40. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@random thougths and @lil boy: grow up Mia DOES NOT care what u think. she is well loved and admired in her constituency as well as outside. be that as it may. no one give’s a rat’s tail what u think

41. @Jennifer | September 16, 2011 at 12:32 PM |
    A blind man can see that the Gang of 5 wish to alienate and malign Mia.

I would say she’s doing that all by herself, and behaving like a spoilt child.

@chocolate city husssle
    CCH, go hustle somewhere else. Mia may not care what others think, but others are concerned about her behaviour!

42. your comments to obediant (sept14)well said were courageous but truthful’ i observe the usual red herring from david when he cannot respond adequately but the truth is the truth. the bowels of the dlp are not genuinely grassroots and there will never be leadership positions for the kellmans, mascolls, morrisons, whitakers, hammie-las and those without pedigree. at least, the so-called conservative blp was able to present the son of a shopkeeper son from behind god back to lead this country; and what the dlp rejected might one day lead the country too as a member of the blp.who knows?

43. @balance

To be ‘balanced’ Arthur’s father was no ordinary shopkeeper, he earned enough to send both his sons overseas to study no?

44. @Balance

how do you knoq lemeul’s comments about Mia were truthful?

@Lemuel

I have deducted that you have a personal vendatte against Mia and want to hold her not to the same standards of all politicians. I will close off any further discussions with you baout her and end by saying what good for the goose is good for the gander, Ploticians and persons in public life should confrom to the same standard of behavour. They are all in position where they can use their positional power to coerce people to do things if they want to derive benefits. In management it is called power dominance and there must be at least two willing parties.

I gone off of this topic, and leave my bright Mia alone, as you cant have pins with her yah hear.

45. What will be Mia’s next move?

46. DICK HARDING aka STONES Avatar
    DICK HARDING aka STONES

Well Well Well –not surprising at all
    An examination of why BLP lost last election would tell why it would not be surprising.
    Mia’s fraternizing with the enemy might be in question

47. To Obediant:
    Yard fowls like you are so taken up with BLP and DLP things that you do not even recognize when someone is positing a position. My position goes for any other politician. I must admit as a yard fowl you pretend to be bright bright.

48. @David:
    Why David as if you did not know, it is football. lol! I guess they will have to tell Mia to her face that Arthur actually lied when he once said “The BLP needs you.”

49. Mia has withdrawn from vying for the chairmanship.

Leave a Reply to The ScoutCancel reply