Submitted by Charles Knighton

The Advocate’sย  editorial of July 30th “Extremism, not Religion” attempts to persuade readers that religious extremists “…always distort the truth to their own ends, seeing threats where there are none, and abusing the scriptures to justify their wrongdoing.” I ask:”Are religious extremists abusing scripture or adhering to scripture?

” All scripture is rife with paradoxical conundrumsย  which allow those we label as “extremists” to see themselves as apostles, literally obeying God’s word. And isn’t that the problem when such mumbo jumbo is revered as truth by billions of people?

Muslims and Christians who both insist that theirs are religions of peace and coexistence find themselves attempting to leap very high semantic hurdles when we read “…wherever you encounter (non-believers),ย  kill them, seize them, besiege them, wait for them at every lookout post…” ( Koran 9:5). Not to be outdone the Bible offers the following to foster peaceful coexistence: Deuteronomy 13:6-9 flatly states that if anyone —” your very own brother, or son or daughter, or the wife that you love”—introduces you to a false religion, ” you must certainly put him to death.” Numbers 31:17-18 finds Moses telling the Israelites to ” kill all the boys” of an enemy tribe, and “kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.” In Matthew 10:34 Jesus, the Prince of Peace,ย ย  warns “do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

Are those who act in accordance with scriptural verses “abusing the scriptures to justify their wrongdoing”? Are they extremists or apostles? And isn’t it time we obviate the need for such questions by relegating religions and their scriptures to the dustbin of historical canards?

To the expert theologians in Barbados, whether real or imagined, who would employ their parsing legerdemainย  to explain why the above cited verses should not be taken at face value, please stay your pens. I have always found it remarkable that scriptural verses redounding to the benefit of any religion are always so pellucidlyย  rendered that even such an unsophisticated rube as this writer can discern their intended meaning as “the words speak for themselves”, as many a reverend has exclaimed while waving the scriptures overhead. I agree completely.

The dustbin beckons.

1. I’m not a practicing Christian, but that is an abhorrent misquotation of scripture. That makes about as much sense as taking military orders issued during warfare and presenting them as if they were standard civilian practice during peacetime.

In fact, that’s pretty much what was done above.

Sensible secular criticism of religion is crucially important in these times of rising fundamentalism, but it should be done from a place of informed intellectual honestyโ€” which means that we should know what we’re talking about, and we can’t just grab convenient verses without context.

2. @Agnostic

The bible is replete with verses which should make the non violent among us shake their heads in disappointment.

3. @Agnostic …you have definitely missed the boat on this one. Please reread the post carefully.

4. Depends on what our expectations are.

The Bible is an ancient historical document. Within it are records of wars, rapes, famines, kidnappingsโ€” a tapestry thousands of years old that spans several cultures and religionsโ€”ย several flavours of Judaism, Kabbalistic symbolism, and Christianity.

Expecting it all to neatly fit our current snapshot is folly.

Practicing fundamentaliteralist Christians may feel the need to pretend that every verse is perfect to every situation, but agnostics, atheists, and those of other religions should feel no pressure to set such unreasonable, fairy-tale expectations.

In the same way that prep schoolchildren might be disappointed to hear that their favourite teacher failed non-core subjects at university, but adults should shrug off such news with nary a flinch.

Adolescent rebellion isn’t true maturity, and anti-religious screeds are no more insightful than religious pabulum.

5. @islandgal, I read it quite carefully. The “but it’s obvious!” is nothing but handwaving. It has perennially been the cry of those who want to dismiss further scholarship without cause.

Now please understand. Bible scholarship is certainly unnecessary for most irreligious people. But it doesn’t seem unreasonable to say that some amount of actual research is necessary if one seeks to critique religion!

Such an approach is clearly nonsensical for Shakespeare, or Anthony Trollope; why should it be acceptable for religion?

6. “The Bible is an ancient historical document.”

And it should remain there. To base ones life and belief on books written by a group of men many thousand years ago is ludicrous. However many believers do follow the holy books word for word. Many commit atrocities in the name of God because of what they have read in the books. Many use these books for instructions on how they should live even if it means ostracizing family members who would not follow them.

7. Sometime ago the Right Reverend Bishop of Barbados referred to the Bible as a collection of allegories, parables and some theology.

8. Found! King Solomonโ€™s Wall, Remarkable archeological discoveries in Jerusalem are challenging critics of the Bibleโ€™s account of 10th-century Israel.

Have a read:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/kingsolomon.pdf

9. Charles Knighton wrote, “even such an unsophisticated rube as this writer”.

Thou knoweth thyself very well and it shows in your ability to copy passages from a Bible to support an illogical theory.

De BU triumverate gine deal wid you but then again yuh might get lucky an dey may ignore yuh cause dem doan always respond to lesser mortals.

10. @Hants…”Thou knoweth thyself very well and it shows in your ability to copy passages from a Bible to support an illogical theory.”

Such hypocrisy Hants, don’t you all Christians do this as well?

11. @islandgal246,
    are you married?

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ENLIGHTEN ME DAVID
    WHERE IS KING SOLOMON’S WALL DESCRIBED OR DISCUSSED IN THE BIBLE

13. @GP

Actually was hoping you and the other learned in the doctrines of the bible could enlighten us.

14. The posting shows how followers use the Bible /Koran / Torah to their own advantage by quoting what they have read in these books to carry out their actions. It also shows how dangerous these so called GOOD/HOLY books can be. The Christians are offended because the author has used their MO to accentuate his point of view.

Hants why do you want to know my marital status?

15. islandgal246 asked “Hants why do you want to know my marital status?”

So that I can respond to you appropriately.

16. Please enlighten me.

How many Bajans kill somebody because the Bible tell them they should do it?

17. islandgal will do

18. Hants you like agnostic don’t get it at all. Keep drinking yuh milk yuh ent ready yet to be weaned.

19. Charles Knighton, and other BU scoffing ‘Bildge Pumpers’ pose as paragons of wisdom, and commiserates the deluded followers of Christ, and His Word, the Bible, in gross ignorance. These men/women of intellectual gifts are patently benighted, uninstructed, unlettered, re God’s Word, the Bible, and also so, in the study of ‘Comparative Religions’ so they stupidly talk unlearnedly, and patronisingly about such matters, things of which they are densely empty-headed, illiterate, know-nothing, uninformed, literally, in the DARK*!!!

20. Zoe said “. . . . . ..illiterate, know-nothing, uninformed, literally, in the DARK*!!!”
    And I ask, why does that claim remind me of the commenter known as “ZOE”?

21. @CK
    “Are religious extremists abusing scripture or adhering to scripture?”

Firstly, the question begs itself!!!!

The broad, sweeping brush you use tars and feathers those whose religious modicum is “moderation in all things”…

The fringe, lunatic fanatics who are being used by Satanic influences and forces to undermine the work of CHRIST* does precious little to halt the work of righteousness in the lives of countless millions…

Were you to read the earlier BLOG* posted on the REFORMATION* and its ill-effects upon the NOW-KNOWN* religious world, it would be patently clear why those of your ilk believe that “RELIGION” (not sure whether you also mean the “true” followers of Jesus Christ) should be assigned to the “DUSTBIN” of hell…

There are many who shy away from religious confrontation because it proffer nothing – yet they are others who seem to think that to off-load a bunch of subjectively-based nefarious findings within RELIGIONS* (without a proper EXEGETICAL or EISEGETICAL understanding of religious HISTORY) allows them some spiritual fiduciary responsibility to decide what goes where!!!

Again the age-old argument is correct – for when feeble, mortal men allow other to read, write and spell for them without taking time to (STUDY) for themselves, the end-result is deeper (to use ZOE’s terminology) DARKNESS*, slight-of-hand and comatose individuals running on life-support…

22. @ DAVID

I took a few secs. to read the piece in the ADVOCATE – and I must ask you: “WHO WRITES THIS STUFF*?” (withal due respect, pls excuse my French)… but it is CRAP*…

Has the Advocate just caught up with Anders Breivik? The issues has not even been brought to the fore!!!

Half truths are complete LIES*!!!

C’mon y’all…

So because someone uses the word CHRISTIAN* as a PROP* or a justification to perpetrate insidious acts of violence against innocent people in the name of “SOME” god* – due in part or the whole because they are pissed off because of some notion that IMMIGRATION* of Muslims into Norway/EUROPE poses some morbid threat to the barbarian way of life is frankly political & sociological ponerology at its possible worst.

First of all, Breivik is a “FREEMASON” and a JESUIT*** (commentary on this in my next piece forthcoming)…

These people give the name of CHRIST* far less “Christ -anity) a bad name choosing to defy the tenets of the GOSPEL* in some rancid search to find excuses to wreak havoc in the name of a false god…

Consequently, as was posited in an earlier BLOG* on the REFORMATION* – the Bible remains and continues to be soaked in the BLOOD* of the MARTYRS* and the innocent while justifications are found for the guilty…

There’s much wisdom in my dear ‘ole grandmother’s statement folks:- “THERE’S A LOT IN A LITTLE, BUT THE MOST IS IN THE MIDDLE”…

Time for you guys to get off the fence… the sidelines and the periphery is just that guys (spectator-ship)…

23. the writingsw in the bible enunciate violence but enunciate love too. it is left to yout to choose ye this day the one which would bring value to your life.amen

24. Many of you are stringing words together that makes absolutely no sense at all. The author has asked a question yet no one has had the intelligence to answer it. He asked “why the cited verses should not be taken at face value”, yet many of you have shown your ignorance and arrogance in your responses. It seems that many of you call yourselves Christians and can’t even answer a simple question. It speaks volumes about you FOLLOWERS.

25. Christianity was born in Palestine and BECAME* a “Movement”*; Moved to Greece to become a “Philosophy”; Overtaken by Rome to become an “Institution”; Dispersed into Europe to become “Culture”; Landed at Plymouth Rock in the United States to become a “Business”…

Sadly, a proper knowledge of God and the interpretation of His Word has been lost over the generation because the blind continue to walk in darkness…

@ CK in the blog states (in referencing) Deuteronomy 13:6-9 flatly states that if anyone โ€” “your very own brother, or son or daughter, or the wife that you loveโ€โ€”introduces you to a false religion, โ€ you must certainly put him to death.โ€ Numbers 31:17-18 finds Moses telling the Israelites to โ€ kill all the boysโ€ of an enemy tribe, and โ€œkill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.โ€ In Matthew 10:34 Jesus, the Prince of Peace, warns โ€œdo not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.โ€

To clear up the MISCONTEXTUALIZATION* involved in Deut. 13:6 -9 which was referenced in the main body of the text without having read the entire chapter in context does dis-service to the quotation…

However, for a layman understanding of what MOSES* was instructing the children of Israel (some 3 million SLAVES* who were in bondage for 430 years) – time and open-mindedness permitted READ:

http://bible.org/seriespage/false-prophets-part-i

And also PART 2…

In Numbers 31:17-18 deals with why were only the virgins left alive among the Midianites? If we are careful to study how God dealt with ancient Israel – we will see that in order to break them free from the tentacles of mental/spiritual SLAVERY after 430 years was no mean feat (hence all of them died in the wilderness except Joshua & Caleb and an entirely new generation who entered the Promised Land).

God wanted to have a pure people inhabit the land and they were to stay separate from the contamination of false gods, idolatry and all other mesmerisms caused by the heathen nations in the surrounding countries…

The Midianites were descended from Abraham and Keturah (Gen. 25:1). They inhabited the land of Moab and were apparently involved in seducing Israel into going after false gods. Because the Israelites fell into idolatry this way, God told Moses to order the deaths of all who had bowed to the false gods in that land.

“While Israel remained at Shittim, the people began to play the harlot with the daughters of Moab. For they invited the people to the sacrifices of their gods, and the people ate and bowed down to their gods. So Israel joined themselves to Baal of Peor, and the Lord was angry against Israel. And the Lord said to Moses, “Take all the leaders of the people and execute them in broad daylight before the Lord, so that the fierce anger of the Lord may turn away from Israel.” So Moses said to the judges of Israel, “Each of you slay his men who have joined themselves to Baal of Peor,” (Num. 25:1-5).

God later instructs the Israelites to deal harshly with the Midianites: “Be hostile to the Midianites and strike them; for they have been hostile to you with their tricks, with which they have deceived you in the affair of Peor, and in the affair of Cozbi, the daughter of the leader of Midian, their sister who was slain on the day of the plague because of Peor,” (Num. 25:17-18). [This was a SMALL POX plague that killed many and the avoidance of the plague completely destroying Israel was paramount – so obedience was incumbent on the people]…

Later, when Moses meets the returning Israeli army he was angry because he saw the Medianite survivors. “The Midianite women, he said, should have died because they were directly culpable in Israelโ€™s sin at Baal of Peor. All the women except the virgins were then sentenced to death along with all the boys. This insured the extermination of the Midianites and thus prevented them from ever again seducing Israel to sin….The virgins were spared because they obviously had had no role in the Baal of Peor incident nor could they by themselves perpetuate the Midianite peoples.”

Some may object that the Israelites then married the virgins, the daughters of those whom they had killed and that this would be a horrible thing for the virgins.

Perhaps it was a horrible thing for them. But, their lives were spared.

Also, in that culture at that time, warfare and plunder was a necessary evil.

The reality of taking women as wives was unfortunate but true.

Why was God so harsh with those in idolatry?

We must understand that God dealt very harshly because it was through the people of Israel that the Messiah would later come.

Satan, in his perpetual effort to oppose God, sought to have the people of God fall into false worship and through intermarriage with other people, to destroy the Messianic line and make not only the promises of God null and void, but destroy means by which the Messiah could be born.

If this could be accomplished, then none would have any hope of deliverance from sin. Therefore, we see in the Old Testament God being very harsh and strict according to the Law. (ref: Christian Apologetics & Research Ministry ยฉ Matthew J. Slick, 1995 – 2011)

In Matthew 10:34, Jesus knew that FALSEHOOD*, LIES & religious intrigue would infiltrate the principles of sound doctrine and men would rather believe a LIE* than the truth…

This would fulfill what He had said for LIGHT* & DARKNESS cannot co-exist!!!

He knew that there would be no PEACE* on the earth because DARKNESS* and EVIL** would fight to overcome GOODNESS & LIGHT*…

Hence the symbolism of the “SWORD” of truth would rule supreme in the heart’s and lives of His true followers to be used to sever the bile and gall of lies and damnable heresies taught by men as a truth…

The Word of God is still the “SWORD* of the SPIRIT”… It is a 2-edged Sword – it cuts but it also heal!!!

26. @TB… that was a whole lotta shittum you have just written.

27. It takes NO knowledge or intellectual veracity to write the kind of ‘Bildge’ we see here on BU, coming from the HATERS* of TRUTH* God’s truth, which TB so correctly outlined, re the OT verses so maligned by CK!!!

Knighton, in his arrogance and ignorance, uses what is known as the statistical scatter plot, where an attempt to draw a line that runs through the middle of a cluster of points, is then taken by Knighton to scatter the plot of Biblical history, erases the data in the middle points to the edges, and then pontificates about how unreliable and indefinite the Bible is!

Further, it is blatantly obvious, that Knighton et al here on BU, have taken up the mistaken epistemological view, that if one can object* one may then easily dismiss. Not so at all, for this is self-referentially in-coherent selective hyperskepticism!

Before one can justifiably claim to know that ‘A’ or to know that not-‘A’, alike
    Knighton et al, MUST be subjected to the same duty of warrant* in defending his CRAP theory, for not-‘A’ is just as much a commitment as ‘A’ i.e., those of us who demonstrate with sound historic and biblical exegesis and hermeneutics. And, for things that are really important, “I don’t know so I dismiss” as these ‘Bildge Pumpers’ vehemently do, is even less defensible, as IGNORANCE, ARROGANCE, and FOLLY, as seen here on BU, is becoming a past-time.

But, then again, what can one expect from such HATERS* of Truth!!!

28. @balance | August 2, 2011 at 6:33 AM |
    “the writingsw in the bible enunciate violence but enunciate love too. it is left to yout to choose ye this day the one which would bring value to your life.amen”

Balance you are the only one who has made some sense on this post. This post shows how and when these Holy books get into the wrong hands what can happen. When the mentally unstable and the ignorant zealots like TB and Zoe get hold of these books look at the crazy individuals they have become.

29. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

A breech of common sense is a breech of the rules.

If your holy scripture seems to be telling you something dangerous or wicked such as for example “slaves obey your masters” then let common sense rule.

30. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Have a good friend who worked in the Middle East for decades – the Middle East that unholy place that is always at war.
    Anyway she told me that parents would bring their toddlers for medical attention and the question would be asked “how old is this child” and the parent(s) would fumble for the answer and say “Ahhh!!! I think the child was born last ___ (insert favourite religious festival). Yet these same parents who could not accurately recall the birth of their own toddler would swear that some scripture, first recorded in oral history, written down hundreds of years later, edited umpteen times by various self interested parties, these parents would swear for the unerring accuracy of their particular scripture.

If you doubt me ask any man on this blog to tell you the exact date of his mother’s birth, or father’s (or each of his children)

Human memory is biss poor.

31. @Islandgal. I agree with you wholeheartedly. All the christian believers really miss the boat on what the author is alluding to. Zoe, the taliban christian fundamentalist , is devoided of any intellectual perspicacity to been taken seriously. TB, like any good lawyer, tries to “lawyered” away the interpretation of the scripture. The bible is the only book where christians use all manner of semantics and hermeneutics to jusitfy the unjustifiable.Go figure.

32. Intelligent Design – A Message from the Designers http://www.rael.org/home

33. The above post by the author wanted those of you who claim to be knowledgeable on the bible to come forward and answer his question. It seem many of these so called theologians and self appointed ones have a problem comprehending the above post.

Look at it this way, if guns are given to anyone without checking their mental state, those who were unstable would create havoc and mayhem in the society. If the guns were given to those who were mentally stable would the results be the same? Isn’t it the same with these holy books? It is all about being responsible.

34. In the beginning God created man and said if yuh sin yuh gine die.

Once sin is committed someone or something has to die.

Jesus came and died and changed this, and therefore blood does not have to be spilt. Therefore followers of God will no longer be spilling the blood of those who don’t follow God’s commandments.

The bible urge followers to live peaceably with all men if it is at all possible.

What will happen though, is that those who do not accept God will die when God returns.

35. @Anon please go and have a mental check up. We all have to die, it is part of life.

36. @Anon. Where were you before you were borned? Were you not dead then? Because if you don’t exist, it means you are figuratively or literally dead. For most of us mortals, it is the inability of our minds to grasp the notion that we past this way only once, why people cling to the delusional belief that we will someday meet again in some paradise.

37. TB, has already dealt with Charles Knighton’s UNCONTEXTURALIZATION
    of the OT text, I’d like to deal in more detail with Knighton’s partial quotation of Jesus’ discourse in Matthew 10: 34-39, where he again, lifts the text out of its ‘context’ thereby rendering it a ‘pretext’ for his own devious means.

Knighton’s partial, ‘pretext’ quote:
    “In Matthew 10:34 Jesus, the prince of peace wars, ‘do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

Let us now hear the full narrative account of what Jesus said and meant in proper ‘contextual’ analysis, not Knighton’s parital, out of context quote.

“Do not think that i came to bring peace on earth. I did not come to bring peace but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and a man’s ENEMIES will be those of his own household. He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. he who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.”

Jesus did NOT come to destroy family relationships, not at all, BUT, clearly indicates that NO earthly tie, however intimate, should detract from agressive loyalty to Him. This loyalty may even result in certain family members being shunned by others.

The Old testament spoke of the Messiah’s peace-making. Isiah called Him the Prince of Peace ( Isa. 9:6) and spoke of His reign of Perfect Justice and Peace (2:4) Solomon wrote of the Messiah’s worldwide rule of PEACE* and ABUNDANCE* (Ps. 72)
    Jesus’ disciples had already experienced inner peace and bliss, I can also TESTIFY to the reality of this PEACE and BLISS, that passes all understanding, than can only COME* from the PRINCE OF PEACE, Jesus Christ.

However, lest they misunderstand the true nature of His first coming and of their own ministry, Jesus began early to prepare them for His own REJECTION* and SUFFERING*, and also theirs. The Gospel IS* indded a Gospel of PEACE*, because it offers the ONLY* WAY* for having truly peaceful relationships between men and other men. BUT, becuae the world system is EVIL* and man’s fallen nature is sinful, God’s offer of peace continues to be REJECTED* and to be OFFENSIVE* to most of the world’s people. This, therefore, brings CONFLICT* into most intimate of human relations, so that a man’s ENEMIES* WILL BE THE MEMBERS OF HIS HOUSEHOLD.

“AGAINST” is used three times in verse 35, it is from the Greek word ‘dixazo’ which means to cut in two, to rend asunder, and is used only here in the New Testament. It denotes complete and often permanent separation. Somtimes the rift between believers and unbelieving relatives is lifelong and irreconcilable. Yet, a true disciple must be willing to pay that price.

I am a living WITNESS, martyr, to this reality, at the very deepest level of personal family relationships!

Je

38. maybe all religion(s) instructions is just one of the many personal ways to reach levels of higher spirituality, everyone has their own individual calling or purpose in life, some might reach enlightenment through meditation, others through providing help to poor or sick

39. maybe all religion(s) instructions is just one of the many personal ways to reach levels of higher spirituality, everyone has their own individual calling or purpose in life, some might reach enlightenment through meditation, others through providing help to poor or sick others through music or arts etc

40. Isaiah chapter 50 verses 10 & 11 speak to this generation in very stark terms: “Who among you FEARS* the LORD* and obeys His servant? IF YOU ARE WALKING IN DARKNESS, WITHOUT A RAY OF LIGHT, TRUST IN THE LORD AND RELY ON YOUR GOD. But watch out, YOU WHO LIVE IN YOUR OWN LIGHT AND WARM YOURSELVES BY YOUR OWN FIRES. This is the reward you will receive from Me: YOU WILL SOON LIE DOWN IN GREAT TORMENT.”

So what is the Holy Word of God admonishing?

Is this about me or ZOE* or anyone who hold the line of Biblical truth?

Is this a contestation as to who can “SPIN” (in the eyes of the blind) the Word of God as if this is a battle of WITS, INTELLECT or KNOWLEDGE?

Which of us is being PAID* to stand in the firing line to be ridiculed, cajoled, harassed, harangued, maligned, castigated and said ALL* manner of evil against us FALSELY* for HIS* Name sake?

But out of sincere, genuine, heart-felt LOVE* and compassion, we bear the CROSS* as did our SAVIOUR* as it is the right thing to do… For we are our brother’s keeper!

Zoe is no more Taliban (or fundamentalist) in his deportment than the FIRE & BRIMSTONE preachers of the past – actually ZOE* is quite a MODERATE (and I say that with all due respect)…

For those who with an accusatorial penchant ratcheted up as a tool and used to stoke the fires they use to keep them warm – those of us who read and understand the Biblical injunctions given in CONTEXT* recognize that we too “MUST GAIN WARMTH FROM THE COLDNESS OF OTHERS”…

It is easy to vilify and condemn what you do not understand but moreover, REFUSE* to allow yourself the room or time to STUDY* so that you are in a position to posit an irreducibly logical argument for or against…

Frankly, most of the mudslingers on BU have hardly ever taken time to have a “SYSTEMATIC”* Bible study on any real serious area of DOCTRINE* or disputation…

Let me throw out a “sprat” (no pun intended) on the said religious fishing line and let’s see who bites:

In the Book of Genesis 9:20-24 – King James Version (KJV)

“And Noah began to be an husbandman, and he planted a vineyard: And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent. And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without. And Shem and Japheth took a garment, and laid it upon both their shoulders, and went backward, and covered the nakedness of their father; and their faces were backward, and they saw not their father’s nakedness. And Noah awoke from his wine, and knew what his younger son had done unto him. And he said, CURSED BE CANAAN; A SERVANT OF SERVANTS SHALL HE BE UNTO HIS BRETHREN.”

Question: – What is the proper exegetical and eisegetical understanding of this Scripture given the nonsense FOLKS* have coughed up on this issue year after year since this passage has been written and has been wrongful used as justification to perpetrate all kinds of atrocities?

41. The real question is folks: If your son or daughter was GUILTY* as hell of doing you something – would you “CURSE” your grandchild?

Would that make any kinda’ sense at all?

So why did NOAH* curse his grandson Canaan* when he ought to have cussed* HAM*?

Let’s hear your hermeneutical positions!!!

42. @FAAAM

“For most of us mortals, it is the inability of our minds to grasp the notion that we past this way only once, why people cling to the “DELUSIONAL” belief that we will someday meet again in some paradise…”

My dear BRUV* – the delusion is in your mind!!!

They are your words and your self-conceptualized BELIEF* based on a SINGLE SHRED OF EVIDENCE…

Moreover, your dismissive stand is characteristic of most who without the value of being intellectually “HONEST” enough to say – “I DON’T KNOW”, hold to ransom this idea that there can’t be an afterlife because I say so…

How pathetic a post to perch on!!!

Here’s some LOGIC* my dear one:

The reasons why some people do not believe in life after death is rather poignantly clear-cut and patently simplistic…

1. Those who donโ€™t believe in life after death think this because they believe there is no God โ€“ for if there is no God then the Holy BIBLE* that say there is an afterlife are also FALSE… ( a pretty rationalistic argument with some measure of weight)…

2. They would also argue that if there were an afterlife then all religions would agree on what it was…(this too, though SIMPLISTIC* does hold some merit)…

3. Space exploration has shown that there is nowhere for an afterlife to take place given the remote snap-shots of the farthest reaches of unknown galaxies…(this by far reaches into the bowel QUANTUM DISCOVERY* and the unraveling of the UNKNOWN* – a place where most mortal fear to tread, lest they end up finding GOD* behind the VEIL***)…

Though these said reasons to the “SKEPTIC”, the ATHEIST* and the AGNOSTIC** may have logical bearing in their minds – to discount something because there is no visible empirical evidence to hand is almost like throwing out the baby with the bath water… And many of us do that because we refuse to allow our minds to REACH* higher and DIG* deeper!!!

The reason why we CHRISTIANS*** (true followers of Christ) believe in life after death is PLAINLY* because:

1. Jesus himself testified to His coming resurrection from the dead…

2. The tomb was empty on that Sunday morning…

3. The disciples were almost immediately transformed from men who were hopeless and fearful after the crucifixion (Luke 24:21, John 20:19) into men who were confident and bold witnesses of the resurrection (Acts 2:24, 3:15, 4:2)…

4. Paul claimed that, not only had he seen the risen Christ, but that 500 OTHERS*** had seen Him also, and many were still alive when He made this public claim…

5. The sheer existence of a thriving, empire-conquering early Christian church supports the truth of the resurrection claim…

6. The Apostle Paulโ€™s conversion supports the truth of the resurrection…

7. The New Testament witnesses do not bear the stamp of dupes or deceivers…

8. There is a self-authenticating glory in the Gospel of Christโ€™s death and resurrection as narrated by the biblical witnesses…. (cf: John Piper. ยฉ Desiring God)

There are also other PROPHETIC Scriptures (in Ezekiel, Jeremiah, Daniel & Revelation), which point to and ALLUDE* to the authenticity of JESUS as Messiah and RISEN KING!!

We can trust the Word of God because no other BOOK* in all of human history so ACCURATELY* predicts and PROPHECIES* the RISE* & FALL of world empires; the ascension and diminution of great men; and the GLORY* that will be revealed by those who LOVE, trust and believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ…

So there’s a partial argument for you!!! So much more can be said on the abovementioned…

43. TB is trying to hijack this blog with hi maniacal rantings. He is spinning verses of the Bible like always to his own advantage. This is when holy books gets into the hands of maniacal Christians. Zoe is spewing vitriol on the author like a good Christian should because their holy books tells them to do that. This is exactly what CK is addressing. They will call themselves apostles but wouldn’t extremist be more appropriate?

44. Jah Is Always There
    Never Go Where Pagans Go
    Never Do What Heathens Do

45. Charles Knighton’s ‘miscontextualization’ of God’s Word, the Bible, have been soundly and properly dealt with, exposed for the folly and foolishness it IS*.

As a result of correctly ‘dividing’ rightly interpreting His* Word* foolish, unlearned, IGNORANT* scoffers, are up in arms AGAINST the TRUTH* BUT, this is entirely consistent with such ENDARKENED MINDS* who ‘true’ to form, castigate those of us, that stand UP* for HIM* The Lord Jesus Christ, as He told us they would do.

Hear Jesus on such matters:

“It is not enough for a disciple that he be like his TEACHER, and a servant like his master. If they ( Scoffers!) have called the MASTER ( Jesus Christ) of the house of Beelzebub, how much more will they (Scoffers!) call those of HIS household.” (Matt. 10:25 Emphasis added).

Keep it coming Scoffers, keep it coming, as our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ was CALLED worst, and those of us, His true followers, WILL be persecuted by the LIKES of YOU BU HATERS* of Almighty God, and His SON* THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, and His Word, the Bible!

46. From one accusation to another… LOL!!!

Surely there must be another plan of attack from you guys?

“Hijacking” is now the latest claim…. ROTFLMBO

What most have not recognized is the “FACT” that I retain my RITE* to silence on most other issues on BU so as not to be accused of wanting to “HIJACK” from a lofty MORALISTIC position when it comes to issues of social commentary…

But, be under no illusion, I have a myriad of “RADICAL” views which have proven to make FOLKS* rather uncomfortable especially those who feel that Scripture has no place in the modern narrative discourse…

So as the ‘ole bajan lyrics go: “COME AGAIN”…

47. This piece leaves feeling sorry for the writer and I wonder what on earth he was thinking!!

48. @TMB: “So as the โ€˜ole bajan lyrics go: โ€œCOME AGAINโ€โ€ฆ

So then, sir, COME AGAIN.

If you can.

***PLEASE***.

49. @Raymond….. why would you feel sorry for the writer? He wrote clearly and intelligently. The self appointed theologians Zoe and TB made no sense and never answered the author’s questions intelligently. They wrote long rants but did they really make any sense? That is the problem with these zealots, they make no sense with the garbage they write. Because someone quotes passages from the bible and punctuate them with a Jesus here and a God there gives the credibility and legitimacy. We have to beware of these extremists they are a danger to mankind.