Submitted by Charles Knighton

The Advocate’s  editorial of July 30th “Extremism, not Religion” attempts to persuade readers that religious extremists “…always distort the truth to their own ends, seeing threats where there are none, and abusing the scriptures to justify their wrongdoing.” I ask:”Are religious extremists abusing scripture or adhering to scripture?

” All scripture is rife with paradoxical conundrums  which allow those we label as “extremists” to see themselves as apostles, literally obeying God’s word. And isn’t that the problem when such mumbo jumbo is revered as truth by billions of people?

Muslims and Christians who both insist that theirs are religions of peace and coexistence find themselves attempting to leap very high semantic hurdles when we read “…wherever you encounter (non-believers),  kill them, seize them, besiege them, wait for them at every lookout post…” ( Koran 9:5). Not to be outdone the Bible offers the following to foster peaceful coexistence: Deuteronomy 13:6-9 flatly states that if anyone —” your very own brother, or son or daughter, or the wife that you love”—introduces you to a false religion, ” you must certainly put him to death.” Numbers 31:17-18 finds Moses telling the Israelites to ” kill all the boys” of an enemy tribe, and “kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.” In Matthew 10:34 Jesus, the Prince of Peace,   warns “do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

Are those who act in accordance with scriptural verses “abusing the scriptures to justify their wrongdoing”? Are they extremists or apostles? And isn’t it time we obviate the need for such questions by relegating religions and their scriptures to the dustbin of historical canards?

To the expert theologians in Barbados, whether real or imagined, who would employ their parsing legerdemain  to explain why the above cited verses should not be taken at face value, please stay your pens. I have always found it remarkable that scriptural verses redounding to the benefit of any religion are always so pellucidly  rendered that even such an unsophisticated rube as this writer can discern their intended meaning as “the words speak for themselves”, as many a reverend has exclaimed while waving the scriptures overhead. I agree completely.

The dustbin beckons.

1. Like the Apostle Paul, under the ‘ANOINTING’ of the Holy Spirit wrote in Romans 1:16, so likewise do I say!

“FOR I AM NOT ASHAMED OF THE GOSPEL OF CHRIST, FOR IT IS* THE POWER* OF GOD* TO SALVATION FOR EVERYONE WHO BELIEVES* FOR THE JEW FIRST AND ALSO FOR THE GREEK (GENTILE)”

Christ the POWER* and WISDSOM* of God.

“For the message of the Cross IS* FOOLISHNESS* to those (BU SCOFFERS) who are PERISHING* but to US who are being SAVED* IT* IS* THE POWER* OF GOD” ( 1 Cor 1: 18 Emphasis added)

To the BU SCOFFERS, and MALIGNERS of God’s Word, the Bible, hear this?

“Where is the WISE? Where is the scribe? Where IS* the DISPUTER of this age? Has not God made FOOLISH the (BU SCOFFERS!) wisdom of this world? (v. 20)

“For since, in the wisdom of God, the world (BU SCOFFERS!) through wisdom DID NOT* KNOW* GOD, it pleased God through the FOOLISHNESS of the MESSAGE PREACHED* to SAVE those who BELIEVE …Because the FOOLISHNESS of God IS* WISER* than men, and the weakness of God IS* STRONGER* than men.” (v.21)

Therefore, “For I DETERMINED not to know ANYTHING among YOU (BU SCOFFERS!) except JESUS CHRIST and HIM* CRUCIFIED*” ( 1 Cor 2: 2)

“Knowing this FIRST: that SCOFFERS* will come in the LAST DAYS, walking according to THEIR OWN LUST, and saying, ‘Where is the promise of His (Jesus) coming? ( 2 Peter 3: 2-3).

Today, right here on BU, we see these SCOFFERS, spoken of in God’s Word, divinly INSPIRED, 2000 years ago!

Therefore, “But if anyone IS* IGNORANT* let him/her BE IGNORANT” ( 1 Cor. 14:38).

To these BU SCOFFERS* “Professing to be WISE* they have become FOOLS” ( Rom. 1: 22You BU SCOFFERS* are FUTILE, ( mataioo) To make empty, VAIN, FOOLISH, USELESS, CONFUSED. The word denotes the PERVERTED logic and idolatrous presumption of those who DO NOT HONOUR God or show Him any gratitude for His blessings on humanity.

So it be, you SCOFFERS!

2. Sin leads to death

Jesus came and delivered followers from sin. In so doing he has saved his followers from death.

Death has no power over the believer.

Rom 6:22 But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.
    Rom 6:23 For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord

3. To preempt your question islandgal246, we all will go to the grave, but some of us will not die.

Sorry for the confusion:)

4. @Anon…..To preempt your question islandgal246, we all will go to the grave, but some of us will not die.”

Ha ha ha …waaiit have been there before? Yuh ole aunt dat dead come back and tell yuh? What a load of crap! Sounds like witch craft or voodooo yuh practicing!

5. @Zoe……….Blah blah blah…blah blah blah …blah blah blah blahzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz mumbo jumbo

6. “Frankly, most of the mudslingers on BU have hardly ever taken time to have a “SYSTEMATIC”* Bible study on any real serious area of DOCTRINE* or disputation…”

Why should anyone open themselves to SYSTEMATIC BRAINWASHING? Look around are these people any better off walking around believing in an invisible person and quoting words written by men saying they are the invisible man’s words? And the invisible man speaks to these people too.It is an eerily reminder of a place in Black Rock where persons like these are being treated for psychotic disorders.

7. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Charles Knighton

why would u use the old testament,when those laws was for the jews only and only for a time. if Jesus meant a physical sword, where in the bible is there proof of he and his disciples using them?

if u want to really understand God’s word, why not read the new testament instead of picking out things and attempt to bring interpretation to them? u urself, i am sure have more maturity than that…ur pathetic at the least

8. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@islandgal246 | August 4, 2011 at 11:25 AM |

none so blind as he who will not see. the bible is laced with stories of faith in an invisible God. u expect that that when u turn on a light switch, light would come, that is faith. well that is what christians use too when talking about the invisible God, FAITH that He exist, that same faith, u and everyone else practice everyday, in everyday things. He is not a man, He is a God. so don’t try bring him down to the level of something created. u or i are not expected to understand everything about God…but that is where FAITH comes in, the same faith u use to turn on ur light bulb each night

9. “He is not a man, He is a God. so don’t try bring him down to the level of something created. u or i are not expected to understand everything about God…but that is where FAITH comes in, the same faith u use to turn on ur light bulb each night”

So how come you all pray to a him, you have made him a god because he was a man who once walked this earth. You are not making any sense at all. I do not use faith to turn the light bulb on I use my hands.

10. […] Does Obeying Scripture Define Followers As Extremists Or Apostles? |Aug 1, 2011 … 56 Responses to Does Obeying Scripture Define Followers As Extremists Or Apostles? Agnostic | August 1, 2011 at 3:22 PM | … […]

11. @ smooth chocolate

when we turn on a switch we expect light because a wire runs into our house that is connected to a power generating plant. We pay dearly for this service. So THERE better be damn light when we turn the switch!!!

@island gal

it won’t be long now before Zoe labels you a ‘daughter of satan’. Rest assured you will be in good company. We have all been down this road before. Zoe and his ilk are brainwashed. Give me Grimms any day.

12. Charles Knighton Avatar
    Charles Knighton

Pat …Grimms was one of my favorites as well. That is why Harry Potter has been so popular and made a billionaire of the author.

13. @Pat..it seems that Grimms is still popular today. BTW where is TB these days? The devil got him?

14. Wunna better pray that this one miss

1. SHOWERS AND THUNDERSTORMS CONTINUE IN ASSOCIATION WITH A TROPICAL
    WAVE LOCATED ABOUT 950 MILES WEST OF THE CAPE VERDE ISLANDS.

APPEAR CONDUCIVE FOR A TROPICAL DEPRESSION TO FORM DURING THE NEXT
    DAY OR SO. THIS SYSTEM HAS A HIGH CHANCE…70 PERCENT…OF BECOMING
    A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS IT MOVES WESTWARD AT
    20 TO 25 MPH.

15. Hi Pat
    When you turn on your switch you expect light because in your experience you have almost always got light with that action. On the very first occasion that you did, or if you do after a very bad experience, there must be some faith involved.
    …how do you know you won’t get lightning coming into your home one day through those wires instead…? 🙂

With respect to Zoe’s classification of Islandgal (who is secretly Bushie’s main squeeze) …it is one of the few things that Zoe gets right… 🙂

16. LOL Thank you Hants our in house meteorologist

17. Bushie tek care I doan squeeze de life outta yuh ! Leff muh outta yuh adulterous thoughts.