Owen Arthur, Leader of the Opposition (l) Mia Mottley / Photo Credit – Nation Newspaper
… They are attacking Gadaffi’s body i.e. his coterie of Generals, advisors; hangers on all the flotsam and jetsam that pilfered from the Libyan people… Tighten the noose slowly until … Closer to home Mia is using that strategy in politics against Arthur, she is not going after Owen but she is going after his “body” … GWP… Attack the body and the head will fall  … – Sargeant

In less than a year Barbados has witnessed a chaotic political scene to describe it mildly. The death of a young prime minister and his wife voted as his replacement in St. John, Prime Minister Stuart’s taciturn demeanour and the perception in some quarters that he is not fully in control and last but not least  the deselection of Mia Mottley by her parliamentary colleagues and the elevation of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

Speculation is rife about what what happened at Roebuck Street to spur the revolt which saw Mia Mottley being replaced by Owen Arthur. Again one might assume given George Payne’s surprise support to Owen Arthur that Mia messed up in a big way. This is Barbados and at some point one can expect to be fully informed about what many Barbadians regard as a ‘Brutus’  move by the 2010 Barbados Labour Party parliamentary group – with the exception of MPs Cynthia Forde and Rawle Eastmond – meted out to Mottley.

With a general election looming the two major political parties will want to resolve perceived leadership issues. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) appears on the surface to be in better shape than the BLP but the adage a week is a long time in politics will give Prime Minister Stuart little comfort. The BLP’s internal challenges could potentially get messy if BU is reading the signals being sent in the public space correctly.

A few weeks ago Opposition Leader Owen Arthur made the declaration that he and Mia were in healing mode. What made the statement interesting at the time was the absence of Mia’s input from the communication, it was reported she was out of the island. BU was surprised at Mia’s response when she eventually commented claiming in essence ignorance to any peace pipe encounters with Arthur. Mia’s shot across the BLP bow last week about the need to reform the constitution of the party and her threat to challenge for the Chairmanship of the BLP at the next AGM to spearhead the effort if necessary has created a challenge for Arthur. Already party supporters are echoing disappointment by questioning her timing, others have suggested she had the chance as Chair of the party to move the reforms forward. In the coming days and weeks Arthur’s response to Mia’s recent salvo will be eagerly awaited. All may agree this matter if not managed well has the potential to divide the party.

At the heart of the matter for BU is the inference made by Owen Arthur back in January 2010 – in the Tyrone Barker Report – that Mia Mottley as Opposition Leader misused “the special trust fund the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) set up to meet the cost of elections”. As far as BU is aware Mottley has not responded publicly to the charge. Barbados needing to protect its reputation as a rumour mill there is talk about malfeasance making the rounds. It is a matter Mia should address head on at some point or could it be Arthur knows something which has not been landed in the public space to date?

The other issue which Mia Mottley must manage is the perception by some that there is an entitlement on her clan’s part to occupy Ilaro Court. No politician can be seen as perfect and whether such a perception is big enough to cause a drag on her aspiration to be the first female Prime Minister of Barbados is best left for the polls.

The question for the political pundits is whether the BLP significantly reduces its chance at the polls with a disaffected Mia Mottley in its fold.  The easy answer is yes. BU is prepared to state at this stage that the BLP will not give itself the best chance to win the next general election unless the Arthur Mottley tussle is neutralized.

219 responses to “The Mia Mottley Factor”

1. Before talking about “one man one vote” she should talk about rules similar to the rules for General Elections to prevent corruption of the system. Besides has she given thought to the costs of setting up a system such as is done the General Elections? But then again she does not give deep thought to anything. She usually has an idea that sounds good at first but usually proves unsustainable or even unworkable. Check her track record. Instead of being strong headed and intractable she should work on her weaknesses and hope the future treats her kind

2. But Jenny, you said we must change the system. The current system allows for Owen to lead, while denying popular participation. Here we have the “devil”according to you, agitating for change, change that you have not argued against, or denied is needed, you only argue against the messenger, fearful without giving detail reason, that the devil/messenger will fool us, and like “hitler” gain power via democratic means only to then change the system to be dictatorial. Do you really want change? tell us how then; because it would seem that you, like, Owen and the Arthur bees have no use for the BLP rank n file. The mere mention of Mia “fooling” us with a call for popular choice in the party leadership can be construed as an attack on your fellow BLP membership. Are they not “matured” enough to choose the leader of the party in whom they are well pleased? Talking about elitist! lol!

3. @Jenny M
    Now I know you are regurgitating Arthur Bee-lines. Cost has been a red-herring in returning to some form of local governance to include the people of Barbados in the governance of themselves. It is now being used to deny the very rank n file membership of the BLP, why would anyone seek to remain a member of an institution that treats to them as incapable of making informed decisions? How insulting is this?

4. The answer is simple Adrian, the rank and file has been conditioned to follow.

5. Adrian, don’t let sloganeering mislead you. this “one man one vote” is more about flooding the membership list with people who will be directed to vote a certain way…a way dictated by those who have money to do so. Put simply join up as many people as would give you enough vote to win…you and your team. Pay for their membership and maybe even pay them to vote(there are no rules against this now..ethics don’t matter, expediency is the name of the game). This then becomes a fight among those with money to spend to gain power. Those planter days done. The delegates system can be manipulated too but not as easily.
    THIS IS NOT ABOUT THE ORDINARY MAN. THIS IS ABOUT WAR AMONG THE MODERN -DAY PLANTERS.

6. @Jenny M

How is that any different from what obtains now at the national level?

Don’t we have eligible voters who by age qualification, status etc are entitled to vote but whose vote can be easily swayed by a whisper in the ear, a job, some corn beef etc?

Does that mean we should scrap the system of democracy which labels Barbados as free?

7. Those who are wishing and hoping for reform in the electoral system so that the public has a vote in electing leaders of the political parties, need to do much more than just blog. They need press the incumbent gov’t for that reform using all avenues available. Agitate for a referendum on the issue.

8. By the way, the Leader of the Opposition has always been elected by the members on the opposition benches. Majority rules. The Chairman of the Party(BLP) by the members(delegates) at Annual conference. The DLP’s President is also picked by delegates at the Annual Conference. Delegates are usually 10 % as I have been told. I understand some branches don’t even have a full delegation. There is something rather strange about this proposed Mia reform. She too hungry for power and she aint ready. Let her haul and come again! Stop confusing the Party that did so much for her! Stop being a spoilt sport! She needs no encouragement with this nonsense. What reform what!!!. She had twenty years to SEEK REFORM but was too busy trying to be PM to realize an old Mottley dream! THIS WHOLE THING IS ABOUT CLASS, DYNASTY AND NOTHING ELSE!!

9. Sad thing is that the incumbent gov’t isn’t even making good on its promise of integrity legislation, so pressing them for electoral reform might just be a waste of time.

10. @Jenny M

It remains mind boggling doesn’t matter how legitimate the reason why you and your party would resist an attempt to democratize the selection process within the party.

11. @ Adrian Hinds
    All this talk about the late PM changing constitution still seems to have left a deficiency in the internal election process of the DLP if Peter Wickham is to be believed:

“Presumably she anticipates moving the BLP toward a popular selection of their leader instead of the present “delegate” system that both the DLP and BLP maintain.”

12. Dis is too sweet. Lord knows dat dis better than ANIMAL FARM.One side claiming “we brek cause Mia squander de money”yet dey wont ask de “white knight” bout de big cheque. And where is de press in all a dis? Dem journalist won’t answer de call, dem aint ask de question at all. Not one ask…….Which bout of silence lasted longer? Frundel’s on his vision for the country, or “de white knight’s on weh de big cheque gone?Lord come fa ya world, fore dis ting kill de Scout ,and mek Jenny M madder dan she is aready.Um is tooo sweet .

13. My Grand mother says that years ago there was a Queen of the Bees Show at the Globe. She says that Mia like she want to be the real queen of the Bees. QUEEN OF THE BEES

My Grannie has been around for many moons, She also talks about Mottley the old man, somethng bout a Vestry system and Mottley being Mayor and breeding sow, hog and pig. I have to find out the significance of these things because I cant read about them anywhere. Can somebody on this Blog bring me up to speed on these matters.

Granny has been a BLP all her life it seems and has influenced me and my dad in this direction but I support nothing. I dont care bout B,D nor C
    I dont like Mia Mottley as a person but that has nothing to do with politics. If she politics is what I like . I will support her but somehow I dont trust Mia Mottley.

I like people like Clyde Mascoll, Chris Sinckler, Ronald Jones, Owen Arthur, Dennis Kellman and such persons. I would like Hammy La but he funny—grasshopper style.

I like Stephen Lashley but he needs to grow up (LoL)
    I like Irene Sandiford Garner -not Byer-Suckoo-She talks too much shite–should be the minister of Toilets.
    I like a few others , I dont care bout no party. I just want good people in the House, i dont from which Party.
    I respect all 30 parliamentarians because we can criticize them but how many of us capable of doing the job ?

14. i dont dare from which party

15. @Jenny M ya killing muh. Yuh like yuh running scared. Why yuh don’t ask your boys George and Owen about padding membership rolls.
    Rawle Eastmond complained that someone padded his membership roll and not a word from either the Political Leader or Party Chairman.
    They could be telling anybody anything about corruption?
    IF Owen Arthur had anything on Mia Mottley and any malfeasance you really think he would be sitting on it and pretending to be in healing mode?
    And one more thing, if you doubt that Mia Mottley has mass appeal and support check her election results.
    Me personally I would much rather an honest elitist leader than a corrupt populist leader any day. What say you?

16. @David
    Very good points in your response to Jenny M. whom seems to be linking the delegate padding in St.James North and South to Mia. I thought it was George Payne who engineered that, but what do I know.

@Enuff
    I saw Wickham’s musing and I am somewhat confuse. I can clearly recall Ronald Jones making the perculiar case for choosing the person who would lead the DLP into the next election, and I can also recall Thompson after persuading the parliamentary team to repose their loyalty to him, making him the LOTO, sought to solidify his position by calling for an in-party election to choose the political leader of the party. The only two names on the ballot were Chris Sincler and his. Dennis Kellman was not amuse and threw a tantrum on national TV. David Thompson suggested that this election which gave the DLP rank and file the privilage of having a say in who should be their leader as a watershed moment in political party politics of Barbados. Maybe it was a special election as in a one time thing and not a permanent change to the DLP laws. I will have to find out.

17. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

* “Tina Roach | May 29, 2011 at 11:17 AM | Everybody knows who contributed to the BLP losing”

Wait Tina????

I din’ expect to see you here.

I thought that you were raptured last Saturday.

18. As soon as the Dems are on the back foot and under real pressure, someone brings this tired story back on the blogs.

Frankly, I am sick and tired of this Mia and reformation. Why did we not hear of her crusade to reform the system during the 8 years she served as one of the longest general secretaries of the party? Did she try to reform the system when she was leader of the opposition?

Isn’t the system in place the very same one used by the Dems? Do you hear any of the Dems taking about reforming their system? Does not the great United States of America use the same delegate system to elect their President? So who the hell is Mia Mottley that she thinks she and she alone wants to change the BLP’s system put in place by the party’s founding fathers. How can one woman want to change the party’s constitution?

Give me a break, I agree with Jenny M. This is about Mia and Mia alone. For months now, no one was taking her on, so she now want noticing. I tell you, I support the BLP but if Mia ever gets back the leadership again, I finish with party politics.

She is a selfish, spoilt brat that cares nothing about the party she claims to want to reform. This is all about her. If the others had gone along with her to pull a Richie Haynes on the BLP, she would be leader of her own party now and not causing problems in the BLP. Let her go along and form her Barbados Liberal Party.

I think for the BLP to survive, she needs to be expelled from the party, there will never be any peace in the BLP with that cantankerous woman!

19. @Prodigal Son

The story is tired? You must be living on Mars.

Was it not all over the newspapers last week and today as well?

Was it not discussed on the talk shows last week?

Expel Mia at your own peril.

20. The BLP does not belong to Mia, the party can expel her if she continues to be a liability. Do you hear anyone else supporting her in this nonsense?

The story is raised whenever she opens her mouth, no one else and then people react. I am going to write to the party and suggest that they expel her before she further damages the party. Better that they take their licks now.

Every time she comes around the party, it is with an entourage and she enters in the middle of the meeting as if to say………….look me here. Do you think that this is appropiate behaviour?

She does not act as a team player and her behaviour is un-BLP like. Never in the history of this party has any member behaved like her!

21. @Prodigaal Son

Are you in the majority as far as feelings towards Mia is concerned?

22. I think so judging from what I am hearing and seeing at branch meetings weekly!

23. @Prodiga; Son

Well if that is the case you will have to hold your breath when the poll is done about who has national appeal and who is perceived as leader, most important is the feedback about the female vote.

Interesting times!

24. Peter Wickham will probably make the poll say that she is more popular than Owen, seeing that he was trying to defend her position in today’s Sun.

All of a sudden she is a poster girl for him and the Dems. I will never forgot the shabby way he carried her on on Tell like it is the Friday night the judgement was handed down on the fishing dispute with Trinidad. He told her …………………….you call this a victory, Ms Mottley with all due respect, at a cost of 11 million dollars this is a hollow victory…….

I dont ever remember one of his polls ever giving her a huge lead!!

25. […] Tighten the noose slowly until … Closer to home Mia is using that strategy in … Continue reading → This entry was posted in Top stories and tagged Body, closer to home, Continue, coterie, factor, […]

26. @Prodical Son………..There’s room at the cross for you .Come on home my son,mend your wayward ways and come on home. Home is where folk such as yourself will recognize the dastardly deed of vote-padding was if nothing else,an affront to the rank and file of the the party. For that no one faced expulsion , and you see this as the course of action for Mia? The “white knight” and the “Bald Eagle” in the cork hat know that this spells DOOM for the party that soon will face the hottest fire. Let me allay your fear as it relates to CADRES. The single most inaccurate poll in the history of elective politics in Barbados emanated at U.W.I. Do you know who has an office up there? Ask Tina Roach. Oh What A Terrible Web We Weave, When First We Practice To Deceive.

27. So what is it in Barbados that we who live here should be concerned about? Is the BLP where the DLP wants it to be ?
    O paradise! oh paradise! oh paradise!
    “Head ain’t brain Braff”. Ah quoting myself ask Kellie about , I like the idea of two deputies prime ministers one in the North and the in the South.

28. Interesting dialogue on the Bees but not sure how this will help with the problems of the country. I wonder how practical it is though to have everybody vote. They do not have it in the US. The expense would be enormous. Based on reports of St. George South there were 1800 persons eligible to vote. I do not know if this is a characteristic size of constituencies. But if they are 1000 then by 30 it is 30,000. Annual vote of 30,000 people, even if 10,000 turn up must be humumgous exercise. Could any party afford to do this? National elections are held every 5 years and at great cost. Does not seem practical to me to hav eannual voting of 10,000 people. Based on other posts if you can pay to join up people what a major problem. The parties would end up in the same problem as Barbados where money bought an election and it is hell to pay now. Seems this requires more thought and greater consideration of the mechanics. While desirable it will not improve or guarantee the results. I think a better approach is whatever system you choose as a party, the party should put mechanisms in place to prevent corruption of the result. This seems to be the problem,building and safeguarding integrity of the system.

I am also not certqain why this needs to be a public issue. Surely Miss Mottley could have dealt with this internally at their meetings and put her plan in place to run. I am rapidly coming to the view that her real intent is to constantly juck at those she feels did her something wrong. Most unfortunate. Pouting and sulking does not reflect mature leadership. Dealing with loss is not easy but if you playing in politics you need to be tough, take a loss and get back up and work not destroy. Men take these things and move on. It would be a shame if this issue really blocks Bajans from voting out the Dems. Ms. Mottley will be seen by party supporters as responsible for it. This willl injure her in the long run with the same people she needs support from for her stint as PM. Shame.

29. HH,

Come on home where??? Are you kidding me?

The awful situation between the dead king and Mascoll did not break up the DLP why should this Mia tirade break up the oldest party in the Caribbean? She will be put in her place soon, mark my words! She does not own the BLP, it is not hers to change. Have you ever heard that no one is bigger than the party?

When the UWI poll was conducted, was who you are referring to had an office up there then?

30. Bajan Truth,

I totally agree with you.

It was mentioned at the meeting in St Philip that the dead king bragged afterward the last general election at the dinner table in Parliament that he got his agents to pay to sign up a lot of people in the St George South constituency so that Cupid could win the nomination as he knew that Esther Byer-Sukoo could easily beat him.

Therein lies the problem of signing up people to win a nomination! You dont know what motives people have!

31. As usual Mia is running on a hunch and has not taken time to explore the possibilities. She is articulate, has a good memory and lots of spunk. Leading a Party or a country requires more than this. Remember Eric Sealy was also articulate,had a good memory and lots of spunk. The only difference here is that he did not have lineage or ‘class’. Bajans don’t be fooled! The higher the monkey climbs the more he/ she shows the tail!

32. David | May 29, 2011 at 9:59 PM |
    Expel Mia at your own peril.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Not really any of my business, but surely you jest.

Even in the absence of the one man one vote principle currently, no one individual is bigger than the party.

With regards to this issue being in the news; is this not the the same Fourth Estate that is constantly belittled on the blogs?

When where their standards upgraded or are we now expected to lower ours?

33. @Raw Bake

Follow the logic if you will, given the national profile of Mia if you expel her there will be a consequence to suffer as a result of the decisionm. Of course it doesn’t mean that she is bigger than the party just that you will* have to pay a price for the decision.

34. Question:
    Did the BFA also received a US$40,000 ‘gift’, and if so who were the representatives at the meeting?

35. In spite of what the political party diehards think, Barbadians can discuss multiply issues at the same time. This issue is no less important that the economic issues facing the country. It can be argued that if we have more citizen participation in the governance of this country we might have had a better handle on things or in the least feel a shared sense of responsibility to bring the country through this period.

All of a sudden what pertains in the US is being used to guide the debate on one man one vote at the party level. Here is what pertains in the US. One man one vote is indeed part of the US political party approach to picking a candidate for presidential elections. Arthur who sought to defend the delegate system used by the BLP by stating that the US has such a system is partly correct. He forgot to tell you that for the most part delegates are awarded base on the results of one man one vote. Delegates do not vote in the place of rank n file voters. However there are certain circumstances where delegates can change their vote or go to the national convention as uncommitted. Since what the US does is seemly being use to guide and or legitimize what the BLP does, how about a popularly elected leader? The US has this too.

It is disgusting to use cost as a hindrance to democratizing party elections. If it is a “huge “number what is the real cost? What is the cost of a general election?

36. @Jenny M
    People want a say in who will be their consituency candidate, – Christ church west BLP, wanted Duguid, Arthur did not – Like-wise the people want a say in who becomes the political party leader and clearly they also want to vote directly for the person they wish to be leader of the country. The BLP/dlp will be brought screaming and kicking to this reality.

37. The people don’t only want a say, they want to feel that any ordinary man can rise to the top. They want to feel that leadership is not only for Mia, her family and their connections. The people want genuine empowerment. Ernest Mottley missed out, Elliot Mottley missed out, Elton tried too (he thought he was the people’s king ) now Mia of “She’royal’ fame would do anything to realize this family’s dream. This is what you call PANIC. Barrow was smart and stopped the elder Mottley in his tracks…..NOW THE FIGHT IS ON. IT IS MIA FOR LEADER OF THE BLP OR IT IS WAR FOR A LONG TIME. DON’T BE FOOLED BY ANY RHETORIC. IF YOU ARE PART OF HER DYNASTY ENLIST NOW. BUT WE HAVE COME TOO FAR TO TURN BACK. THIS IS NOT A MONARCHY!!!!!

38. Jenny M “The people want genuine empowerment.”

Which people?

Bajans want chicken ,pork, Nike’s, name bran clothes an car to drive bout.

39. Leader of the Opposition Party Owen Arthur appears to be taking a statesman’s position:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/bee-one/

40. @Prodigal Son | May 30, 2011 at 9:18 AM | The awful situation between the dead king and Mascoll did not break up the DLP why should this Mia tirade break up the oldest party in the Caribbean? She will be put in her place soon, mark my words! She does not own the BLP, it is not hers to change. Have you ever heard that no one is bigger than the party?
    ====================
    DLP supporters are wishing and hoping that the rift between Owen and Mia will have the same type of effect on the BLP, as the DLP’s internal problems had on their poll results in 1999 and 2003. There are sadly mistaken. . .the situations are completely different. Despite whatever “wrongs” the BLP may have done, they have a proven track record with regards to the economy, and this will stand out most in the minds of people.

41. I hope you all realise that there will be no economic recovery in the western world and the standard of living will not improve for working class people.

42. Didn’t Mascoll leave the DLP which would have greatly assisted in that party moving forward?

If Mia intends to fight certain issues which puts her on a collision course with Owen then dynamic is different.

43. Agree, Zack.

44. Every day that passes without action on specific issues and clear explanation by the PM, pushes the balance towards the Opposition.

Despite this scenario, Minister Jones made a statement about wanting 15 years to implement the manifesto.

Methinks Minister Jones does not realise the current impression of leadership, or lack thereof and of the stakes.

I now strongly suspect a move will be made by a certain individual with strong support to make a move on the leadership, prior to the next election.

Because if anyone, he at least will see the stakes as high.

My advice to Arthur, Mascoll and Mottley is to hastily but surely bury the hatchet and come to an agreement and genuine one, on the way forward.

My advice to the PM is…to hold a snap election, much longer and I am very uncertain of a renewal of mandate.

45. Does Mottley want to bury the hatchet?

46. Or does she want to be the Leader real bad?

47. What I am shocked at, is how such a huge Parliementary majority can be so quickly squandered.

The thing is, the administration promised transparency and accountability, promised a watch on overruns.

Instead, changes are being made to areas that were not perceived as the biggest problem.

No the drug service did not need the overhaul, it just needed auditing, yes the hospital needed overhaul and auditing.

Where is the transparency and accountability legislation, where is the access to published financial information?

Even as two new major public contracts have been issued?

Where is the Chief Justice, the third highest office in the land unfilled? Is that an acceptable scenario in a democratic nation?

No, the Parliamentary majority has been squandered, sadly.

One can only throw up one’s hands.

48. @Crusoe

Agree with the point that Stuart should have called elections last year, he truly missed the boat on that on.

In an austere and fickle climate why would he not have played the hand he inherited which was to his advantage?

Maybe we are just dumb to the political game.

49. Hi David,

Maybe he was not yet si sure of himself, wanted to get a ‘feel’ for the issues, maybe he was not so sure which way the elections would go, with the former PM passed on, maybe he either was hoping or actually expected an economic upturn, which would have left him home and dry.

However, now the economy is still an issue, he has other mendings and issues to deal with and the road is long.

One thing that Thompson listened to and acted on, was the point on communication and maintaining a ‘dialogue’ with the nation.

This is imperative for any leader and is dangerous to ignore.

As an extreme example of this (just as a point), see how dictators ensure that their face and voice are seen everywhere and they take every opportunity to speak to their country.

50. Good points Crusoe, his communications mode is reminiscent of Erskine Sandiford which does not bode well for the government.

As you say he is being given time because of the perceived fracas in the opposition ranks.