Owen Arthur, Leader of the Opposition (l) Mia Mottley / Photo Credit – Nation Newspaper
… They are attacking Gadaffi’s body i.e. his coterie of Generals, advisors; hangers on all the flotsam and jetsam that pilfered from the Libyan people… Tighten the noose slowly until … Closer to home Mia is using that strategy in politics against Arthur, she is not going after Owen but she is going after his “body” … GWP… Attack the body and the head will fall  … – Sargeant

In less than a year Barbados has witnessed a chaotic political scene to describe it mildly. The death of a young prime minister and his wife voted as his replacement in St. John, Prime Minister Stuart’s taciturn demeanour and the perception in some quarters that he is not fully in control and last but not least  the deselection of Mia Mottley by her parliamentary colleagues and the elevation of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

Speculation is rife about what what happened at Roebuck Street to spur the revolt which saw Mia Mottley being replaced by Owen Arthur. Again one might assume given George Payne’s surprise support to Owen Arthur that Mia messed up in a big way. This is Barbados and at some point one can expect to be fully informed about what many Barbadians regard as a ‘Brutus’  move by the 2010 Barbados Labour Party parliamentary group – with the exception of MPs Cynthia Forde and Rawle Eastmond – meted out to Mottley.

With a general election looming the two major political parties will want to resolve perceived leadership issues. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) appears on the surface to be in better shape than the BLP but the adage a week is a long time in politics will give Prime Minister Stuart little comfort. The BLP’s internal challenges could potentially get messy if BU is reading the signals being sent in the public space correctly.

A few weeks ago Opposition Leader Owen Arthur made the declaration that he and Mia were in healing mode. What made the statement interesting at the time was the absence of Mia’s input from the communication, it was reported she was out of the island. BU was surprised at Mia’s response when she eventually commented claiming in essence ignorance to any peace pipe encounters with Arthur. Mia’s shot across the BLP bow last week about the need to reform the constitution of the party and her threat to challenge for the Chairmanship of the BLP at the next AGM to spearhead the effort if necessary has created a challenge for Arthur. Already party supporters are echoing disappointment by questioning her timing, others have suggested she had the chance as Chair of the party to move the reforms forward. In the coming days and weeks Arthur’s response to Mia’s recent salvo will be eagerly awaited. All may agree this matter if not managed well has the potential to divide the party.

At the heart of the matter for BU is the inference made by Owen Arthur back in January 2010 – in the Tyrone Barker Report – that Mia Mottley as Opposition Leader misused “the special trust fund the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) set up to meet the cost of elections”. As far as BU is aware Mottley has not responded publicly to the charge. Barbados needing to protect its reputation as a rumour mill there is talk about malfeasance making the rounds. It is a matter Mia should address head on at some point or could it be Arthur knows something which has not been landed in the public space to date?

The other issue which Mia Mottley must manage is the perception by some that there is an entitlement on her clan’s part to occupy Ilaro Court. No politician can be seen as perfect and whether such a perception is big enough to cause a drag on her aspiration to be the first female Prime Minister of Barbados is best left for the polls.

The question for the political pundits is whether the BLP significantly reduces its chance at the polls with a disaffected Mia Mottley in its fold.  The easy answer is yes. BU is prepared to state at this stage that the BLP will not give itself the best chance to win the next general election unless the Arthur Mottley tussle is neutralized.

219 responses to “The Mia Mottley Factor”

1. It appears everytime the DLP is put on the backfoot, they rebound with the Owen/Mia saga. We know these two individuals have got their problems but there are problems much more serious in Barbados ight now than that which the ruling party seems not to have a clue in solving. These problems are causing some ubeasiness among right thinking barbadians and regional governments are not just laughing at us but are taking advantage of our weakness. Let’s put the Owen/Mia matter on the back burner and concentrate on the rulinbg party’s governance, Why do we have the biggest cabinet ever at a time when we are in resession ? Why are there two Ministers of Drainage when that ministry could be returned to the Min of Communications and Works in the first place? and most of all why is the government so silent on the Myrie case and now the slap in the Barbados government’s face by T&T and JAMAICA with the dissing of OUR AIRLINE REDjet. These queries are much more important than Owen/Mia, trying to pull wool over our eyes at this stage will not work, time to come CLEAN DLP

2. Again this stressing on popularity and charisma. The Arthur/Mottley affair is not an issue thats affect the Barbadian pocket. They are still getting their income, there are thousands of people out there who have lost their income, some who have not been paid for over three months, some who income have been significantly reduced and cannot pay their bills, about to loose their homes. These are issues affecting Bajans not the damn Mottley/Arthur affair. Bajans need to start looking at the issues and how they will be solve and not the bloody popularity and charisma of politicians. It makes no sense electing a person on popularity and charismatic basis, with that perception that they are competent to look after the well being of a country and its citizens and yet two years down the line the standard of living continue to disintegrate.
    We the electorate need to start challenging these so called politicians who are fighting for these grand positions and make them accountable for the reckless and ruthless actions that are eroding our hard work and standard of living while they live comfortable and aloft from who they were elected to served.

3. @weary bajan

You are correct in theory ‘issues’ should be discussed but answer if you believe Obama was elected because of issues or the perception by the masses he was charismatic?

Charisma will win every time, it is what makes us human, someone who can create the feel good factor. Like it or not the Arthur Mottley tussle is a discussion point in the same way Thompson and Mascoll was at the time and it will be discussed.

4. Good looks and Charisma will win every time? ……….DLP??????….Stuart…..! #@_ Thompson……????

BLP??????????? MIA…..**** Owen…**

Me …..***************************************************

5. Barbados has two political parties.

Therefore a leadership issue in the BLP is relevant because they are the only party that can replace the DLP.

We BU bloggers can handle several issues simultaneously.

6. Let us clear up a couple matters raised in The Scout’s comment:

Minister Denis Kellman currently has responsibility for Drainage. Minister Lowe on return from sick leave was appointed to the PM’s Office, believe he is a minister without portfolio.

The governments of Jamaica and Barbados announced at press conferences that they would deal with the Myrie matter away from the public. The PM in his last press conference addressed the matter and it was easy to read between the lines, without cameras it is a he say she say matter. What do you want the government to do The Scout?

Some believe the cabinet plus parliamentary secretaries is too large a complement, how many do you want to go The Scout 5, 6, 7? We save 1.5 – 2 million a year? Yes a savings but a cut would be symbolic more than significantly material.

If you follow politics closely you must be aware there is more to the large cabinet story than you are making out. Stuart is a new PM who now has to build his team, you yourself have identified potential aspirants for leadership within the party.

Do you think Stuart is so stupid to commit political suicide by cutting people from the cabinet before he can solidify his position?

Simplistic reasoning The Scout, it is politics.

7. I think the reasoning of scout was why should they ask barbadian to tighten their belts, take new taxes, increase cost of government services when you have a minister without portfolio.

The latest of myrie case is that her lawyer is awaiting word from the government and he given them a time frame after that expired, well we see what happens next.

The mia/owen issue is still valid but to what extent. the bs and ds will vote as they always do. The swing is currently more interested in surviving with increase taxes/ no salary increase / increase cost of government services. If they get around that then owen/mia will of course be a defining point in next election till then their current economic track is what most people are worried about.

8. It was only a matter of time before someone saw the glaring disparity between how David Thompson became the leader of the DLP and what remains the status quo in the BLP. I spoke volumes about the parliamentary team being given carte blanche to pick the leader of the party, and Mia is using it to give voice to many who have a problem with it. Although her approach is self-serving, I am willing to look past that. The bigger picture is one where more and more ordinary people will have a direct say in who shall be the leader. Such is an end worth supporting.

9. @ David

Where has Obama’s charisma gotten the American people? They are still jobless, homes are still being repossess and their standard of living dwindling, and dont talk about Barbados, where has the late PM charisma gotten barbados people..look around and tell me?
    Yes its human nature to want to hear something good and feel good and its for these very same reasons that the policticians continue to play the electorate for j***asses instead of address the issues that is affecting the country and the people.
    Instead of Bajans holding the politicians accountable for the cesspool they have drag this country into, they find it more important to hear something good from charismatic politicians who are living healthy while the people and business continue to suffer.
    So tell me who benefit from the “charismatic politician” when elected? the people? the country? or the politican himself?
    I say to you the people of the country gains nothing except get a good feeling. Is that food? Can you go to the supermarket with that? Can you pay the bills with that good feeling? Tell me?

10. @Adrian

Actually when this news broke last week that Mia was using the autocratic selection process practised by the BLP you immediately came to mind because it is something you have been preaching for some time.

11. Arthur Must Come Clean First! Avatar
    Arthur Must Come Clean First!

When members of the Barbados Labour Party meet at Hilda Skeene Primary, this afternoon, they will do so cognizant that a mere three years and four months ago, their party was being pilloried with allegations of corruption. It did not help Arthur’s case when the DLP was able to produce a cheque, which showed that he had deposited hundreds of thousands, intended as campaign contribution, into his personal bank account.

Hardly anyone expected that even now in Opposition and again under Owen Arthur’s watch – the BLP would continue to be characterised by images of corruption. Given Barbados good name in the international community as a place where elections are free and fair, it was really not flattering when St. James North Parliamentarian, Rawle Eastmond, sounded the alarm that someone had paid the BLP headquarters $560 for 56 delegates to attend the BLP’s Conference, many of whom were unknown to him as the Parliamentary Representative for the area.

It was even more scandalous when people told the Media how very upset they are that they could have received letters from the BLP confirming their membership of that organization, in circumstances where they had never signed anything or indicated an interest in joining. There is a clear pattern emerging here and up to this point, Owen Arthur has been quite as a mouse on these developments.

Ask most members of the BLP and they would willing admit that Owen Arthur has become a puppet leader who serves at the pleasure of George Payne. That Owen Arthur could therefore be on any “crusade,” which is not authorised by George Payne, would therefore be hilarious.

The only way Owen Arthur could therefore be on any “crusade,” is if he will “come clean today” and tell the public about the details surrounding that: “Prior Park Accord,” or if as Leader, he will state publicly tomorrow that he intends to launch an inquiry into allegations of vote rigging and how people are mysteriously getting onto the membership role of the BLP, who have never made any attempt to join that party.

Let’s be frank! If Owen Arthur has some sort of “crusade” it has to start with him publicly stating to the ordinary men and women within the BLP that he has confidence and trusts their ability to add 2+2 and arrive at the correct answer. The country is already aware that if Arthur does not address the above issues tomorrow, it simply means that Gorge Payne would not have given him permission to. But as outsiders looking in, we will “wait and see!” No “crusade” here! This is not serious politics or even new politics but circus politics.

12. I disagree with anyone who says that Obama because president based on charisma. When he debated Hilary Clinton he did so on the issues and said all the right things, and likewise when he debated McCain. The idea that charisma will win every time is obviously note true when you consider that George W. Bush was president, and David Thompson became PM after losing two elections to the same person that he finally beat.
    The DLP certainly cannot win a second term based on their own merit, so it is in their interest to harp on the the OwenMia issue and hope that the public will vote against the BLP in the next election based on that issue. I’ve already made up my mind that I’m going back with Owen next election.

13. Peter Wickham’s suggestion in his column that Arthur and Mia share the leadership (Arthur as opposition leader and Mia as Chair of the party) going into the next election is flawed for the reason explained in the blog.

He has caste aspersions on her ability to manage BLP money and that is a key role of the Chair of the party, mange money.

14. As one man told me that “we wanted CHANGE and we got change up our asses widout de vassaline !

15. @The Scout

Because Barbados is facing those many challenges is precisely why we should focus on the political machinations and infighting in the BLP. Where else will our leaders come from if the DLP is found wanting?

That the same actors continue to “hog the show” for the BLP is disconcerting but sometimes the first flogging don’t take. Perhaps a second “cut ass” will do the trick

16. I forgot to add:

Hard ears yuh won’t hear Owenway yuh gwine feel

17. @David who said….
    Mia’s shot across the BLP bow last week about the need to reform the constitution of the party and her threat to challenge for the Chairmanship of the BLP at the next AGM to spearhead the effort if necessary has created a challenge for Arthur.

…………………………………….>
    Arthur called for reform of the party before Mia did; However, both called for reform when they were not enjoying the position of Leader. Arthur had better not deny, or dismiss this call by Mia now for the same. I have him in tape.

18. Colonel Buggy Avatar

What a pity that we cannot fit an outboard motor to the south end of Barbados ,steer and dock it somewhere in the middle east. Cause come 2012, all we will be doing is getting rid of one set of elected dictators for another set.

19. Unless there some extreme and dramatic worsening of the Barbados economy (and the present indices suggest otherwise), the DLP will be returned to Government at the next election. Thus, Owen Arthur and those candidates seen as part of his era will be permanently put out to pasture. Regardless of whether the BLP is perceived as united or not, it will lose the next election. It serves Mia Mottley’s future interest to be seen as NOT part of the Owen team and so gives her political life some more time such that she can make a serious challenge for the reins of the Government in 2018.

20. Everybody knows who contributed to the BLP losing the last election. Everybody knows who ‘sold’ trade secrets to the opposition DLP.
    Everybody knows who cooperated with David Thompson to undermine the BLP for the selfish reasons.
    I ask this question to all women Why do women bosses behave the way they do ? They can be a terror. Give me a male boss anytime.

21. @Ping Pong

BU has taken the liberty to bold the first sentence in your last comment.

We have too many variables at play here.

22. @Ping Pong

The only way the DLP can win a second term is if they reduce the cost of living and reverse the increased taxation (VAT, road tax, water rates, etc.). I expect that shortly before they call elections, they will bring an election budget, but I won’t be sold on it.

23. @Tina Roach
    Owen Arthur recently said that he is struggling to “save” the BLP. This I noted to be the complete opposite to his often stated “The BLP has been through the hottest fires and came out the finest steal.”

To Owen and his supporters, and inspite of glowing tributes to her at the last party conference, Mia is a cancerous tumor, that needs to be removed.

Mia, in turn has firmly wrapped herself up in and with the rank n file of the party; how do you extricate her from the membership without potential deadly significance for the party?

Will the Arthur Bees continue to attempt destroying Mia’s image with revelations about her? We have seen a return to comments about her lifestyle, revelations about her handling the party’s finances, her name being linked to the Arch-cot disaster, etc. yet the applause and acceptance within the BLP to her speeches and appearances continues to grow. Will the Arthur Bees continue or change tactics, or appear to accept Mia?

24. @Tina Roach | May 29, 2011 at 11:17 AM |
    I ask this question to all women Why do women bosses behave the way they do ? They can be a terror. Give me a male boss anytime.
    ===========================
    Though this may not be true of all female bosses, it certainly does apply to most of them. Refreshing to hear this coming from a female as well.

25. Things are getting so partisan that even union reps seem to be ignoring their workers’ call for assistance so as to avoid a conflict with a major corporation because the party in power is boasting about no major work disturbances. We are small talking about who is “greeing” with whom, NONSENSE, let us deal with the real issues and stop the chidishness

26. Again regardless of their tortoise-like approach to managing the affairs of state, the DLP is the only “game in town”. The BLP really does not present a credible line up AT THIS POINT IN TIME. Things may change and there are people like young Dwight Sutherland and Edmund Hinkson that bring talent and business acumen to the BLP’s slate but it is still not enough. So while Owen Arthur’s shadow still looms large, I don’t believe that the public is going to go back to him. Mia as a leading member of his administration must put some political distance between herself and Owen if she is to survive the transition to the “new” BLP. The leadership position is not even certain but the imperative of survival demands that she walks the tightrope of being seen as mid wife of the “reborn” BLP and not the “undertaker” or “Brutus” of the “old” BLP.

I agree with other posters that there are many issues that need addressing but this a period of great uncertainty in economic and geopolitical matters. It would take an individual of exceptional confidence and insight bordering on the reckless to put forward bold and even revolutionary proposals at this time. No one in any party is taking any such positions. Hence the tortoise-like approach. The mantras of the day is patience, deliberateness and moderateness. We are ironically back to the days of Erskine Sandiford who summarised his economic planning index in the form of a Dickens quote: “Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen nineteen six, result happiness. Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure twenty pounds ought and six, result misery.”

27. Interesting the analogy is being made to Sir Erskine, exactly!

Issues needed to be discussed for almost 6-8 months when the late PM Thompson was in absentia.

One thing is sure BU cannot* be accused of not discussing the issues.

28. Cut a long story short. Mia aint ready yet! That is why she was removed. Instead of all that posturing she should learn from her mistakes and work on her personality and style. Fighting Owen aint helping her! She should fall in line and wait!

29. @Jenny M

Your comment is moot because Mia has clearly signalled she is not going away. Owen your move!

30. It is not about Mia’s going away or not. It is about her stupid behaviour!

31. If she cant be the captain she want to mash up the game. Shame! Shame!

32. @Jenny M

Let us run with your position and say you are indeed correct, what next?

33. We need to free up the system. Other people need a chance. Some body will emerge. We have to get beyond the old elite class that want to control bout here at any cost. Nobody else matters. Owen slipped through and they still want to kill him. They cant tek it!. This country belong to all ah we!

34. Get serious! Mia is fronting for those people who did not want to see Owen lead the BLP. They feel that you have to have ‘class’ and lineage to lead them. So they want to retake the BLP for that elitist group. What reform what! Reform to go back to the Conservatives that BARBADOS HAS REJECTED YEARS AGO! She wants them to join up members in the thousands so that only people with money or backing by money people can control the BLP.

35. @Jenny M

Will repeat, let us say you are correct, what next for the BLP?

36. Only the future will tell. Owen is the leader right now. Let all contenders or pretenders stay in line! somebody with a mass image, not an elitist image will emerge. BLP should not go backwards. The mass image of Owen worked for them for over fourteen years. Some intelligent, decent, people-oriented, humble, sensible, positive and pro-active leader with a clean image will emerge! Wait and you will see. God aint sleeping.

37. @Jenny M

Do we still get people with those characteristics offering themselves to the electorate?

38. @Jenny M
    You said….
    “We need to free up the system. Other people need a chance. Some body will emerge. We have to get beyond the old elite class that want to control bout here at any cost. ”

WHAT IDEAS DO YOU HAVE TO ACCOMPLISH “free up the system” and “getting beyond the old elite class?”

You also said….
    “Only the future will tell. Owen is the leader right now. Let all contenders or pretenders stay in line! somebody with a mass image, not an elitist image will emerge.”

DOES THE FUTURE JUST HAPPENS? HOW DOES SOMEONE EMERGE?” Do you even understand how the Leader in WestMinster systems are CHOSEN? I do not know that Leaders “emerge” in existing political parties in the westminister system.

39. Strange things happen in electoral politics. The future leader may not even be around at this time. Situations present opportunities and in politics when the situation is dire people do what they have to do. Remember Owen was a relative junior in the BLP when he was elected Opposition leader. He had not even been a Minister before.

40. @Jenny M
    “We have to get beyond the old elite class that want to control bout here at any cost……. This country belong to all ah we.”

I agree with you on both points, and if you are hinting that Mia Mottley represent the interest of that elite I again agree with you. However, she is the only one stating what is needed to get us – ALL UH WE – to a point where we can look forward to having a direct say in who shall be the leader of the country.

It is at that time when our electorial system and our form of governance allows for a popularly elected leader that we can begin the process of being free from the overwhelming influence of the elites. Why do I say this? The elites only have to “convince” a majority of the parliamentary team of a Prime Minister for “they” to continue having things their way. Remember a PM or LOTO is only first amongst his equals, that he/she serves at the pleasure of his parliamentary party members. Do you recall the open letter written to Chris Sincler after he made some uncomplementary statements in his first Budget wrapup? David can recall those statements for us. It was a direct threat to a sitting minster of government reminding him of what most of us do not pay sufficient attention too. White-Shadows whether such is their real skin colour or not, are for real in Barbados.

41. Here is the threat (Minister Of Finance Chris Sinckler Warned In The Pierhead Halcrow Matter) to Minister Sinckler to which Adrian referred.

42. @Jenny M
    But Jenny, Owen did not emerge, If the leadership of the BLP did not feel that their back was against the wall, that the future of the party winning the government required the charisma of someone like Owen he could not have become the political leader.

Indeed they use the the national sentiment towards Arthur to give him the leadership from which they would benefit as he went on to win election after election.

This is why the dishonesty of people like Henry Forde who said that Barbados had not matured sufficiently to allow for a popularly elected leader should be exposed as opportunistic. Henry Forde would at later date suggest that our collective maturity was so perculiar and narrow that while not ready for a popularly elected leader, we could become a republic by “electing” a President, not by popular vote but by electorial college. These people want no part of a system that shares power with the people. They prefer to tells us what is best for us.

43. Now that Mia is reinventing herself she will want to speak to all the issues which resonate with the people.

All eyes are on her now*.

At the mention of Henry Forde’s name shouldn’t he have something to say about Integrity Legislation?

Isn’t he the one who last try with getting this legislation through the house?

Is he an elder in the party?

44. Adrian, it appears as if you are quibbling about the word emerge. This is unnecessary. We are saying the same thing. Circumstances create leaders.
    Don’t be fooled by the “one man one vote” system with a Party. It is not the same as”one man one vote” in a national Election . Within a Party only members vote in internal Elections. The same way they pay to join up members for those Nominations and inflate the list they will do for a Party-wide Election. Those that have a lot of money will pay ‘agents to enlist members for whom they will pay the membership fee. They may even pay people to vote. The people with money will triumph over those who have little. We will go back to the old planter/ conservative days. Don’t let Mia fool you. This system will benefit her and her backers and cronies. Then she will change the constitution and become Chairman for life. She will then proceed to pick all her friends for everything. This is about EMPOWERMENT OF MIA . FAMILY AND FRIENDS NOT ABOUT THE ORDINARY MAN AND WOMAN OUT THERE. We have come to far to be fooled this way. THIS IS MORE ABOUT A COUNTER REVOLUTION THAT ANYTHING ELSE.

45. @Jenny M | May 29, 2011 at 3:53 PM |
    Adrian, it appears as if you are quibbling about the word emerge. This is unnecessary. We are saying the same thing. Circumstances create leaders.
    ===================
    Adrian is known for quibbling over words rather than substance.

46. @Jenny M
    I have been a one trick pony on the issue of participatory democracy for the people of Barbados, for as long as I can remember. I know the difference between one man one vote at the party level and one man one vote at the national level. I also understand that any change to our political and election systems has to come via those who govern and therefore there is going to be some level of “self-help” amongst those in the political class who bring about any change that includes more participation by Bajans in the process.
    Case in point. In order for David Thompson to cement his return to the Leadership of the DLP he had to resort to a change in the DLP constitution to allow for a rank and file vote to pick or solidify his position as political leader against Kellman. Added to this, the notion of constituency councils in their current form is at best a self-serving process to further the interest of the DLP via a concept that Barbadians have been interested in since they were denied participation back in 1969, ironically by a DLP party who ended it then for political gains, against the demogue in Bridgetown.

So that what is being initiated at the party level can and will grow. Todays Barbadian will not be so accepting of any political party who attempts once again to take away the gains made to bring Barbadians into the democratic process in a meaningfull way. Therefore it can only grow and solidfy, culminating in a strong call for national participation to popularly elect the leader of the country.

There is little difference between Owen and Mia with regards to control by and working in the interest of the elites. Remember that the majority of Barbadians wants a Republic (removing the queen has head of state) and the elites do not. Today we are still a “constitutional monarchy” or whatever it is called.

Clearly the people of Barbados has a lot of say. However todate the BLP’s approach has been to massage that say to gain power only to serve the interest of the elites first and us after. The DLP via Thompson gave the impression that he enjoyed and relished his popular people support and was willing to work to further that link, which in turn grew his support as the leader of the country.

47. Agree with you Adrian, it is not unexpected however that any attempt to democratize the system and allow mass participation will be resisted by the establishment and those who represent it.

48. @Jenny M
    “Then she will change the constitution and become Chairman for life.”

She needs to channel any support she has amongst the rank n file to have a chance at leading the BLP. She has chosen to agitate for change of rules of the party to allow for that. If successfull she would have to change the rules again to make her chairman for life. You really think that such is likely? If according to you she is successful in so doing (blp rank n file would truly have to live up to the view I have of them lol!) How does she then translate that into popular national support? I think she still has a hurdle to climb in that regard, and I can gaurantee you that if and when she becomes the BLP leader, again, that the real anti Mia crowd will make life very miserable for her. The dossier on this woman is very large. lol!

49. Don’t be misled! The Mia Mottleys want no competition for leadership or control of power. They are about themselves and their crowd. The minions who accept promises and other tokens like food from old Mottley kitchen behave like deprived people of the past. We have come too far to turn back now!

50. @David who said…
    Agree with you Adrian, it is not unexpected however that any attempt to democratize the system and allow mass participation will be resisted by the establishment and those who represent it.

Indeed David. So willing are the elites to continue the status quo that I, on learning that David Thompson was sick, and not knowing at first it was cancer, wonder if “they” had in some way injured him. It was too ironic that once again the people of Barbados were to be denied a chance of political, economic infranchizement. The mutual affair being the first attempt to bring about economic enfranchizement; It was then we saw the who is who in Bajan elites.