Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

April 08, 2011

Dear Ms. Theodore:

Usually I am very keen to engage fellow academics. On this occasion, I am reluctant, yet I feel that I must. It is most unfortunate that you chose to ‘undress’ in public leaving all to see the types of bigoted behaviour that can sometimes emerge from the Caribbean. What is your agenda, and what gains do you hope to receive in relation to your commentary, ‘Is Barbados an apartheid state?’ Are you attempting to ‘blacklist’ Barbados through the use of grossly misleading statements and invectives? I am shocked and very disappointed that you are studying at the doctoral level and would resort to the lowest gutter in order to spew a load of intellectual diatribe.

All I ask of you Ms. Theodore is to support the assertions that you make because I will be sure to expose not only your weaknesses in writing, but the sordid contempt that you have for us in the Caribbean as whole. Perhaps you are shocked after having received more than you have bargained for from the outset. Maybe, just maybe, you are your own worst enemy because it is you who fit the build of having “the seed of distorted perception [wherein it] finds new meaning in a glowing age of literacy.

Ms. Theodore, are these your words and can you support the following claims with facts and evidence?

1. Although recent developments in the world at large mark the end of legislated apartheid, it seems that its entrenched social and economic effect operates covertly on Barbadian shores.

2. While opponents consider the analogy of apartheid defamatory and reflecting a double standard when applied to Barbados, it cannot be denied that in light of recent discriminatory practices towards their own Caribbean brothers and sisters, apartheid is practiced both internally and externally in Barbados. It is true that Barbadians have protected themselves with an aggressive nationalism.

3. In Barbados’s struggle to present to the rest of the Caribbean the picture of a perfect society or the Utopian dream, covert segregation among its own people prevails, denying the ordinary working class the historical legacies that they had overcome since the days of slavery to their present day liberation.

4. Supermarkets in Barbados only cater for tourists — another exchange that deliberately conceals the truth that Barbadians are treated unfairly on their own shores by the white bureaucracy — an exchange that prompted local calypsonian Gabby to reclaim Barbadian heritage for all in song and poetry.

I contend Ms. Theodore that the concluding words in your commentary are most apt; you wrote that “words have taken over my realism but the chaotic and baroque practice of apartheid in Barbados must be examined.” I am sure that any sane and practicing clinical psychologists or for that matter any reasonable psychiatrist is likely to conclude as I do that you are suffering from illusions of grandeur and really, your thinking has long left reality. In fairness, should you provide the facts to support your claims, I may have to apologise to you.

An additional point for you to consider Ms. Theodore; on what grounds will the CCJ be able to make an intervention and, how does one bypass all of the systems in the Caribbean to reach an International Court on Human Rights? I remind you finally, that the very country that you live in has a policy of strict adherence to its laws preventing discrimination on the grounds of racial hatred. Moreover, Canada, like Barbados, is a signatory to several UN conventions against the perpetuation of racist remarks. I consider the following remarks of yours to be racist, criminally intended, and invoking a subtle hatred not here in Barbados, but in Canada. Here are your inciting words that threatens the security of Barbadians and Barbados Ms Theodore: “As this matter transcends to an international human rights investigation, they will notice that with a tarnished reputation as a people strangled from within and one that discriminates against their own colour, they will in time be treated the same by immigration officials on the international scene and their tourist industry will suffer as well.”

May the Caribbean continue to produce intellectuals of the highest calibre; I hope Ms. Theodore that you may amend your ways of intellectual dishonesty for the sake of Dominicans, Barbadians, Jamaicans, and the wider Caribbean at home and in the Diaspora.

1. BU is on record chastising the academics of the region. Indeed there is an old saying that a little learning is a dangerous thing. BU is waiting to see if the yellow bellied, weak kneed media in Barbados is going to remain passive and allow the whole Caribbean to heap their bullshit on Barbados.

2. Caribbean Man Avatar

I am pleased to note that I have lived and worked in BDS for about 30 years – at a regional institution. There are individuals, here in Barbados, who have tried to use the issue of nationality to fan the xenophobic flames of extreme nationalism. However, I am happy to say that not only are such elements few and far between, they have been relatively unsuccessful in achieving their agenda.

We do not have to look too far to find an example of a non-Bajan being resoundingly elected to the third oldest Parliament in the Western Hemisphere – Mrs. Mara Thompson, the widow of the late PM David Thompson.

Mrs. Thompson was only elected as the representative of the Lower House of Parliament, she was elected by the widest margin ever since the advent of adult suffrage and furthermore she received the most votes ever bar none, inclusive of ALL former PMs or Premiers – Barrow, Adams X 2, Sandiford, Arthur or her late husband – David Thompson.

Therefore I would strongly encourage Ms. Theodore to get her facts together before presenting them to the public as facts. As a matter of fact this is the first time that I am reading an anything written by this writer and my initial impression is that she tries to use the weight of her words to substitute for her credibility. I think that she owes Barbados an apology.

This response is not meant to justify the unprofessional and neophytic manner that the finger-search issue was handled by none other than the Barbados Minister of Foreign Affairs, however, this is a separate issue and I do suspect that Minister McClean because of her rush to a conclusion, having only heard one side of the story, will have to eat some humble pie once the facts come to light. Be that as a may Theodore in this article is an embarrassment to this publication and I do hope likewise she is asked to “swallow some crow”.

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bajans

I hope you are waking up and realising the envy and hatred directed to Barbados.

11 % our population non-national – they are here eating and drinking and enjoying the best we have to offer yet they hate bajans with a passion and would like to see this country destroyed.

If I got a 5 cents piece for every guyanese,vincy,jamaicans,lucians,trinis,antiguans etc who speak about looking forward to the daywhen Barbados fall and is humiliated, I would be rich by now.

And you know what ain’t funny a lot of them that saying so live right here in barbados and would not leave for hell.

4. Is there one white person in the Barbados bureaucracy? Has there been one over the last 40yrs? Is Ms. T suggesting that lil bad whitey controls the black run Govt of BIM, which is probably the BEST run Black dominated country on this Earth. Does she seriously believe that one of the best educated and wealthiest black run countries over the last 44yrs has an APARTHEID policy, with a bunch of self-loathing Uncle Toms and Uncle Errols formulating discriminatory policies that are against black people?
    I have never been overawed by persons holding or in the process of attaining a PhD and her diatribe confirms that there is absolutely no need for me to reconsider my view.

5. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

I saw this article on the Dominica news online site. For what it is worth I will copy my response here to add to the discussion…..

I have to admit, I have been educated to the postgraduate level and I had to struggle to get through the above article. As a suggestion for the future I would ask Ms. Theodore to consider one of the most eloquent sentences ever written; “Jesus wept” , one of my old professors used to hold that as the gold standard in writing.

Ok on to the above article, I think wrapped up in all the jargon Ms. Theodore attempts to pin the blame on some nameless faceless white person or bureaucrat. Easier to blame a “colonial legacy” or “elite” than to look at the actual evidence on the ground.

Barbados has always been in the forefront of the regional integration movement, when one looks at the track record of Caricom endeavors that were actually implemented you will see that Barbados is near the top of the table. This includes the CCJ which actually is a final court of appeal for Barbados unlike most of the Caribbean. To suggest that it “has authority to set policy and make decisions about accusations of criminal behaviour.” betrays a fundamental lack of understanding of its role and function both in Barbados and in the wider jurisdiction.

Yes there is a xenophobic backlash in Barbados but I would submit that it is not driven from the top down as Ms. Theodore seems to indicate, but rather it stems from the bottom up. The Barbadian electorate has punished politicians who got “too far ahead of the curve” where regional integration is concerned, and continues to be fiercely nationalistic.

In most circumstances, the most vocal cases are in the working class who see more “foreigners” coming in and feel that they should not have to compete for jobs in their native country. Reasoned arguments about the benefits of a single market space have little comfort for someone who is trying to put food on the table.Similarly, the comment reported by Ms. Myrie about “foreigners” “coming in and taking the Bajan men” is often heard in certain female circles. Why should a Bajan woman have to compete with outsiders for a Bajan man? (or so the reasoning goes).

From a macro level the influx of qualified immigrants is only a benefit for Barbados, at a personal level for a working class Bajan with no qualifications and limited options they represent a real threat to the future.

Further… while the vast majority of immigrants are decent people who are simply seeking a better life, very often immigrants who are not decent find their ways to our shores. Almost daily one can see immigrants in the newspaper in Barbados before the court answering charges related to theft, drugs etc. They are a small minority, but a very visible one. One Guyanese or Jamaican before the courts for theft or drugs, is far more visible than a hundred immigrants (with work permits) holding down jobs and paying taxes.

So in summary, yes there is xenophobia in segments of Barbados society, but Ms. Theodore has completely missed the mark in her opinion on where and why it exists. To get into statements about “supermarkets that serve tourists” just shows how fundamentally off base her understanding of the situation is.

The existence of the xenophobic mindset represents the failure of the policy makers to explain the benefits of the Caribbean Single Market and Economy in terms that have a resonance with the man in the street. Certainly the concept is popular with the Business Classes and the Middle and Upper Classes (they feel equipped to compete in the new reality) however until the grass roots man in the street can see a benefit to him or her the mindset will persist.

6. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

I urge Barbadians not to demonstrate their worst behaviours nor do I think Barbadians should believe that they are beyond criticisms. I think we ought to put truth and facts in place. There is no need to descend and be painting all non-Barbadians with the same brush. Barbadians have faults, in instances we have erred and illustrated behaviours that we would not condone for ourselves. But I cannot or would not entertain the lies and dishonesty that this supposed academic wants to put over. It is one thing to say things in anger or be moved with emotion, but blatant dishonesty by someone studying at the doctoral level amounts to criminal intent.

7. ”they will in time be treated the same by immigration officials on the international scene and their tourist industry will suffer as well.”
    —–

One must wonder that these are similar words and threats made by one commenter on another blog title…I think the poster was titled ‘Carol Boethe’.

Interesting.

8. Nice to see you around notesfromthemargin, a pity you stopped updating your blog, a pity indeed even though we had our differences from time to time which is natural of course.

9. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

I still read BU and BFP regularly. Sometimes I even miss the work involved in keeping a blog going 🙂

10. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

You long know that I am not afraid to call a spade a spade, nor will I bury my head in the sand. At the same time, I shall not let people tarnish my country’s reputation with willful lies. I will be all over this Rebecca Theodore until she concedes that her agenda was never about truth, justice, or maintaining the academic protocols that she must be aware exist. It makes me wonder how many acts of dishonesty has she been involved in when it comes to her studies? Plagiarism maybe, or despicable stealing? This woman has no academic or any other credibility for me.

11. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Moneybrain

You wrote: “I have never been overawed by persons holding or in the process of attaining a PhD and her diatribe confirms that there is absolutely no need for me to reconsider my view.”

I am almost to the end of my PhD sojourn and I have no problems with your opinion or the measure for which you would want to place as your standard (I hope honesty and integrity are considered). However, I hope that you too do not make the error of taking or citing 1 example and suggest that it makes for reasonable argument and general conclusions. To me that would be counter-productive.

12. Why do you people treat the opinions of academics so seriously?

But one thing that cannot be denied is that in this neck of the woods, “Separate but Equal” still obtains

“Is there one white person in the Barbados bureaucracy? Has there been one over the last 40yrs? ”
    Hell yeah, permanent secretaries, board members, consultants, in fact the big businesses that drive big decisions that the governments make are predominantly White owned

“Govt of BIM, which is probably the BEST run Black dominated country on this Earth.”
    Now that is NOT a compliment to the other Black Governments in the world and I reject that statement.

“Does she seriously believe that one of the best educated and wealthiest black run countries over the last 44yrs has an APARTHEID policy”
    Hell yeah, and those who have benefited from this education are the ones who are most guilty of promoting, and being rewarded for the protection of such a policy.

Hypocrite …

13. “From a macro level the influx of qualified immigrants is only a benefit for Barbados, at a personal level for a working class Bajan with no qualifications and limited options they represent a real threat to the future” – notesfromthemargin

From a macro level the influx of qualified immigrants is NOT a benefit for Barbados as most of them will require high paying jobs, spend unearned foreign exchange and produce very little or nothing. Now who the hell needs more consultants? Maybe the it is the working class Bajan that truly has a clear grasp on the situation

14. This lady ‘academic’, Ms. Theodore, is in verbal pain…I diagnosed this after reading about two of her sentences. Whilst we all have a right to opinion…this attack on the very core of our society is obviously a plea, a shout, a bawling, a begging and a real cry for attention during silly season. Sadly the editors of the various news media gave it to her. Perhaps we need to focus on the professionalism of editors who should be able by virtue of their training, to discern an opinion as opposed to an attack, so that before the battle begins, the war can be halted. I wish I was near this poor dear lady, so I could put my Bajan arm around her, hug her tightly and let her know that a few weeks at Clarke’s in Toronto might help ease the horror of that dictionary she swallowed – helping her at the same time through psychological evaluation to understand that she is indeed loved and needs not seek any more desperate attention through her misguided and tragic writings.

15. Ms Theodore would probably do better were she to put some energy into investigating the experiences of Native Canadians. Barbados has the best kept National Archives in the region and the social history is pretty well preserved in the oral history as well as the otherwise recorded passage of almost five centuries. Barabdos has nad has had its racial and racist issues but no more than many other former colonies in the Caribbean and further afield. There is much that can be said to this academic whose expertise seems to exclude the subject about which she has written. I say “seems” because some people do sacrifice many things including but not limited to morality and ethics so that they may gain in other areas, however transient that may be.
    I enjoyed your harsh but well oiled editorial reply.

16. “Supermarkets in Barbados only cater for tourists”

If Ms. Theodore wrote the above statement she is an unmitigated falsifier of veracity.

When I am in Barbados I shop at Jordans,Super centre warrens,Supercentre in sunset crest and Emerald city.

What Ms. educated phd candidate did not consider is that for several years Barbados has had a fairly high standard of living and the Supermarkets are stocked with a variety of items on par with those in the USA and Canada.

Does she think a supermarket in Barbados could survive catering to Tourist the majority of whom eat in hotels and restaurants?

When a person claims “higher learning” they should not have to lie to present a point of view.

I will resort to an old bajan saying. She mussee a educated idiot.

17. The song that David wants you to sing bears out the point about separate but equal, in fact it all too well demonstrates the facade that such a policy really represents. The people are so duped that a song that purposely ignores Black (the colour of the majority) becomes something to embrace. When I first heard that song I called Shontelle’s father, my good friend and told him how pissed I was about this omission. He said that I was not the first to point it out and that they were planning to include Black at the end of the song because there was no where else to put the word. Well that was the biggest insult of all. Of course what he should have said was that they (the writers) did not want to offend the local descendents of our original elites.

18. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Does anybody take this joker seriously! Well, if she can b an academic, i can b one too!! 🙂

19. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

airy-fairy bollocks is wha i call it!! 🙂

20. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Most people, not surprisingly, tend to regard commodity brokers as the carion-crow of international finance! i wonder woi?!!!!

21. In light of the recent events that have transpired over the past weeks and the constant bashing Barbados has endued it is only fair that that Leadership of f Barbados the PM address this matter sooner rather than later. We are a country of laws and lawbreakers would be dealt with accordingly. What we are seeing now is an attempt to soften up our system by anyway means necessary MR PM it is time for you to bring this serious matter under control.

22. A Proud Barbadian Avatar
    A Proud Barbadian

Ms Theodore, I do not make it a habit to reply to articles such as yours which seek to cast aspersions on my country, but on this occasion I feel it is my civic and moral duty to do so. The boldness of your assertions, and the fact that some people may repose confidence in what you say given your stated level of academic accomplishment necessitate that I set the record straight. I have read your article and am frankly stunned either at the level of misinformation or the malice intent I see oozing from your words. I will be charitable and assume that you have been grossly misinformed. As a fellow academic, you should know that words have meaning and that the word apartheid refers not just to social segregation, but institutionalized and legalised segregation. Ms Theodore, blacks in Barbados are not kept down or oppressed. I am a young black middle class Barbadian woman and the free education that my black-run Government gives to ALL of its citizens (black, white or other) has given me just as much opportunity for social advancement as my white friends. It is these strategic social policies of our government which account for Barbados’ being classified as a developed country in terms of social advancement on the UN Human Development Index (2010). I therefore, ask where is your evidence that there is apartheid in Barbados? There is no business in Barbados that has refused to hire me or grant me service because I am black. Ms Theodore, how have you arrived at the conclusion that all supermarkets in Barbados cater only to tourists? Have you conducted an empirical study to ascertain this? If so, please state your methodology and give us a copy of your findings so we may learn from them. What you say is patently untrue. Another false assertion you make is that of an oppressive white bureaucracy in Barbados. Ms Theodore, a modicum of research would have shown you that Barbados’ bureaucracy has not been lily white since colonial times. Our civil servants are predominantly black from the police force to the government ministries and agencies. What I believe you mean is that there is a white economic elite. It is true that whites (and non-blacks) in Barbados continue for the most part to own the majority of big businesses. However, this is slowly changing as more blacks move into entrepreneurial activity. Moreover, this phenomenon is not unique to Barbados. Across the Caribbean, non-blacks, due to cultural and other societal factors, tend to typically be the ones to gravitate towards entrepreneurial activity, while blacks usually enter the civil service or established professions like medicine and law. I encourage you to read the book “Entrepreneurship in the Caribbean: Culture, Structure, Conjuncture” by Ryan and Stewart (1994) for more substantive discourse on this subject. While I myself have been annoyed at times at the way SOME, though, not all, service providers in Barbados treat whites and tourists as against how they treat persons of darker skin, this inequality of treatment again is not unique to Barbados and I have encountered it in other Caribbean islands as well. It is symptomatic of mental slavery born of centuries of brainwashing to believe black is inferior, and white superior. The shackles of mental slavery, of which Bob Marley had sang so poignantly, strangle the minds not just of some Barbadians but many Afro-communities across the Caribbean and the world. I also take issue with your suggesting that Barbadians all ill-treat our fellow CARICOM nationals. We do not. I am aware that there is this false perception by some in the Region, particularly given the alleged incident with Ms. Myrie, that Barbadians do not like non-nationals. While I agree that there is a very small minority of Barbadians which may harbour some xenophobic sentiments, this is by no means the majority and in every country, one can find these kinds of ignorant people. I consider myself fortunate to have friends across the length and breadth of the Region. Lastly, you argue that we Barbadians have protected ourselves by pseudo-nationalism. What you call false nationalism, we call national pride. It is pride that arises from our high standard of living, our never having a civil war, our rule of law. A pride that we can vote freely in elections and not worry about being shot or victimized if we support the “wrong” party. It is a pride that no matter where we go, Barbados is recognized as a country that cares about its people. Barbados is not perfect. No country is. But the Barbados of which you speak, is a Barbados that does not exist and I find your use of the term apartheid to describe my country as highly irresponsible and malicious. I leave you and other people in this forum like yourself who seek to take pleasure out of spewing untruths about my country with the sterling words of the second verse of our anthem: “The Lord has been the people’s guide for past three hundred years. With him still on the people’s side we have no doubts or fears. Upwards and onwards we shall go inspired, exulting, FREE. And greater will our nation grow in STRENGTH and UNITY!”

23. Theodore’s article brings to the fore the question of the role of academics in .

The fact that she resides comfortably away from the Caribbean already clouds her credibilty to venture opinion on these matters.

It is her right to freely express herself but it does not mean she is credible on the issue given where she is nested.

BU maintains academics should see their roles first and foremost as a filament of enlightenment between the stakeholders in society.

24. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

‘A Proud Barbadian’, an excellent reply except for one or two grammatical errors. However, it always amazes me how a pretty well educated Barbadian like you, so often writes a long piece without regard to the obviousl paragraphs which you should insert.

Anyway, on the main subject, I mostly agree with you. I think these detractors won’t be happy until we open our borders and allow every Tom, Dick and Harry to enter our country freely without control. Hopefully, that’ll never happen. Again, it seems to amount to jealousy, plain and simple – jealousy!

25. PROUD BAJANS EVERYWHERE!

There has already been a case in london with the jamaicans spying on a young woman of bajan decent. the jews – venessa feltz (from bbc london radio) edwina curry(MP) and (sir)Alan Sugar were helping them to spy on, phone tap and abuse Ms.BOLMIN the inventer of the alternative treatment for cancer in october 2008. They did this for over 30 years from the time she was a child and into her forties.
    The jews stopped her education by telling her she couldn’t take exams(the teachers in her primary and secondary school were irish), got an asian dentist to destroy her teeth and a zionist jew to drill her son’s teeth too, tried to set her up with jamaican boyfriends and followed her into every job and education facility with an illegal nasty video the jews made of her. It all went down on the airwaves and everyone was exposed and caught including rastas from galaxy radio 99.5 in london. Sir micheal caine, grace jones and all the people from BET TV in america heard it so they can’t deny it at all. Some very prominent people got exposed so they are now attacking barbados.
    Then they killed her cousin recently in barbados – Denroy Davis with a bullet to the back of his head last week. its all related to what they are doing right now and on the web -its the same assholes.
    All this thing with myrie and allegaions of sexual abuse is set up by jews and executed by jamaicans who are no doubt running the guns and drugs crimes everywhere on behalf of the CIA(jews) and IRA(irish terriost gang )
    I would encourage every bajan to be ever watchful of strangers on the island no matter what nationality they are.
    I am proud of this retort to ms theodores inflammatory article which i had the misfortune to read, pure garbage!
    I want all bajans to look up all the articles past and present on jamaica’s problems and why they are trying to break down barbados and her peoples everywhere.
    The jamaican press and others will no doubt kept threshing out lies about barbados in an attempt to kill our tourism and good custom and track record. The CIA and IRA are the international terrorist and they look to recruit the young via music and talent shows.
    The jamaican economy as well as europes has fallen so there will be SABATEURS walking amongst you all.
    They use the PHONE TAPPING to stir arguments and hatred amongst neighbours and tell one or the other not to say anything about who told them so. A nasty business! Britian is currently exploding over phone tapping scandals that all lead to Ruppert murdoch -austrialian JEW(media mogul and owner of most of the imflammatory newspapers in reporting untruths about people and places)
    This is why jamaica has the highest murder rate in the caribbean along with rapes,drugs and gun crime, child abuse, child trafficking and porn and no where to go but to destroy others.
    When there is unusual murders in barbados its time to chuck all non-nationals out because we have other caribbean nationals on the island , when they commit crimes on our island barbados will still get the blame, so when its not a national of barbados we should say, even if they have been naturalised or given citizenship.
    Every country is tightening security, so why shouldn’t we in light of the other island crimes?
    The jamaican press will only look more foolish the more they hype this case or any other, the desperation can be seen and heard and its beyond embarrassing.
    If you look at the arguments put forward by them apart from the useless bragging, they don’t make any sense in regards to their present problems. They sold out and are now paying the price for it.
    When they complain about our island or our people its time to throw them out, bajans study in canada and cuba etc we don’t need jamaica and her outrageous problems, caused by sex tourism since the sixities.
    LET EVERYBODY READ ABOUT THEIR PROBLMS EVERYWHERE! then we shall see whose talking garbage.
    All BAJANS STANDUP AGAINST GARBAGE, WHORE WAR MONGERS – EVERYWHERE!!!!!!!

26. George C. Brathwaite: Gentle Response To Ms. Rebecca Theodore’s Commentary: Is Barbados An Apartheid State?

Laws don’t do-away with apartheid no more than law do-away with common criminality and criminals
    When it comes to legislation you cannot write into the heart of people what you have written on paper
    The US civil rights Bill is a clear example…yes fifty years later it made possible a half-white half-black president but one swallow doesn’t make a summer. The majority of black people have not gotten any further than from the plantations to the Ghetto. Prisons are still full of black people who are there 13 to 1 for the same crimes as whites and the ‘plantation overseers’ are now prison administrators and the ‘whipping boys’ prison guards. Look at South Africa…the (Anti-Apartheid) settlement agreed with the ANC (African National Congress) had cleaned-up and sanitized the white racist to the extent that they are more powerful and are now in possession of greater parts of continental Africa. In the UK and Europe as a whole apartheid keeps thousand of black youths in prisons instead of university.
    Whilst I do no support Ms Theodore’s total analysis regarding the matter of ‘Apartheid I think that it is you who (to use your very words) ”…are suffering from illusions of grandeur and really, your thinking has long left reality.”
    It is a fact that people internalise suppression and oppression and then practice it on to others (usually themselves) Similar to the case of the ‘whipping boy’ in slavery. There many present day whipping’ boys present in the Americas today needless to say that includes the Caribbean.

27. Is Barbados National Anthem flawed…can it do with an overhaul?

28. PROUD BARBADIAN you almost convinced me that there’s nothing wrong with Barbadians attitude towards the any of the Caribbean neighbours. However when you started to talk about ‘National Pride’ the cat-jump-out-de bag “vote freely in elections and not worry about being shot or victimized if we support the “wrong” party. It is a pride that no matter where we go, Barbados is recognized as a country that cares about its people.” Well PROUD BARBADIAN, one does not have to be a Psychoanalyst to understand what your statement is implying. Let’s be honest most the pleasurable and pleasurable places in Barbados, the average Bajan don’t know, has never seen, and most likely will never (in the near future) see unless they work in the ‘service industry’

In some cases, laws are no better than a ‘disclaimer’ The root of apartheid is buried deep in the psyche of Barbadian people like myself i.e. African descendant Bajan (Please note I did not use your favored and often used term ‘black.’ The last time I looked on a map I couldn’t find it. Anyway I thought you might qualify the term ‘black’ with the dignified qualifier ‘people.’) That Barbadians have internalized apartheid ism is a fact; a fact of historical circumstances that does not deserves criticism no more than flawed elections
    If the barriers are now down then I hope the fishes in the aquarium perceives this and know that the glass partition that, once, prevented them from swimming the full length of the aquarium no longer exist. CONDITIONING is a SERIOUS thing.

29. PROUD BARBADIAN you almost convinced me that there’s nothing wrong with Barbadians attitude towards any of their Caribbean neighbours. However when you started to talk about ‘National Pride’ the cat-jump-out-de bag “vote freely in elections and not worry about being shot or victimized if we support the “wrong” party. It is a pride that no matter where we go, Barbados is recognized as a country that cares about its people.” Well PROUD BARBADIAN, one does not have to be a Psychoanalyst to understand what your statement is implying. Let’s be honest most the pleasurable and leisure able places in Barbados, the average Bajan don’t know, has never seen, and most likely will never (in the near future) see unless they work in the ‘service industry’

In some cases, laws are no better than a ‘disclaimer’ The root of apartheid is buried deep in the psyche of Barbadian people like myself i.e. African descendant Bajan (Please note I did not use your favored and often used term ‘black.’ The last time I looked on a map I couldn’t find it. Anyway I thought you might qualify the term ‘black’ with the dignified qualifier ‘people.’) That Barbadians have internalized apartheid ism is a fact; a fact of historical circumstances that does not deserves criticism no more than flawed elections
    If the barriers are now down then I hope the fishes in the aquarium perceives this and know that the glass partition that, once, prevented them from swimming the full length of the aquarium no longer exist. CONDITIONING is a SERIOUS thing.

30. @George C Brathwaite
    Thanks for challenging me to provide examples of why I am not in awe of Phd s, candidates for and indeed holders of Masters degrees including all of the above from the very best Universities eg Harvard, Stanford etc.
    I am in the investment business and have built up my knowledge from practical experience, reading what very successful people have written as well as business degree level academics in my youth. I am tired of the nonsense spewed by so called highly educated eg In 2007 I asked my neighbour who is a PhD Econ (Harvard), Prof Econ UofT what his opinion of Fed policy and the US Economic situation was as I thought it was heading for deep trouble. He was in no way concerned. Many other academics were blissfully happy on this topic too! We all know the result.
    Portfolio managers with Masters regularly come into my office spouting BS and it gives me great pleasure to blow them out of the water.
    PhDs in Math who have designed Portfolio Insurance and other programmmes in the investment markets that make ridiculous assumptions about markets that have little resemblance to reality and eventually prove faulty eg Black Swan events that should occur once in 10,000 yrs happening with considerably more regularity, like 3 times in 3 years.
    Please forgive my skepticism but at 54 life has taught me that there are many educated idiots in the real world but dont get me wrong, because if they were all truly clever it would have been much tougher for me to have accumulated$ millions coming from a lil boy on the cliff and in the village on the Rock.

31. As a Barbadian who lives in the UK, I would like to comment on the discussion on Apartheid Barbados.but first I’d like to give some context regarding myself so you know where i’m coming from. I can trace the European side of my ancestry back to 1630 when they emigrated to Barbados from England. I am of mixed African and European descent and was born in Barbados but went to study in the UK when I was about 15 years old. I continued studying in the UK, met my wife there and have had children who now see themselves as English. My ancestors have come from both slave and planter stock.

Anyhow, enough of me. I think Ms Theodore’s article is essentially rubbish. What she is really reporting is the fact that, due to the relative wealth of Barbados in the region (Per capita GDP of c$USD22k for Barbados vs c$USD9k for Jamaica, c$USD27k for the Bahamas, c$USD46k for the Cayman Islands and c$USD70k for Bermuda), the government of Barbados is restricting immigration from the rest of the Caribbean to individuals of greater net worth. I agree with others that economic power is still disproportionately in the hands of white people and non-black people reflecting the greater capital base that these groups started out with as well as certain cultural differences. However, there is a growing black entrepreneurial class which in time will lead to a dimunition of economic differences.

There may also be something in the self deprecating attitude of black people which can translate into favouring white culture.

Anyhow, the main point i want to make is this: Barbados has come along way since independence and it needs to continue with its excellent economic and educational policies (Barbados education is far superior to UK education). It needs to guard against corruption, however. It also needs to develop into a regional financial centre as that is where the real wealth lies.

32. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Frank Talk “most the pleasurable and leisure able places in Barbados, the average Bajan don’t know, has never seen, and most likely never will.

And can you name some of these “pleasurable and leisure able places” That average Bajan like me know nothing about and have never seen.

33. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting “bajan on April 9, 2011 at 10:04 AM | PROUD BAJANS EVERYWHERE!…There has already been a case in london with the jamaicans spying on a young woman of bajan decent. the jews…”

Run along dear and take your medication or make an appointment with your pschiatrist right now. Your paronia is showing.

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Some damn mad Bajan in England

34. Ms. Theodore’s surely touched a nerve. But it would be dangerous of us to simply suggest ” another one bashing poor us again” so let us wrap ourselves around the flag, discredit the messenger and her credentials, and beat the home drums.
    Time and time again on this very blog, complaints of black on black discrimination, selling out of the principles that our foreparents have instilled in us, the merchant class gouging the middle and poor class and the list goes on.. nothing to do with illegals or a different race or culture but what happens in the every day life of Barbados.. even Scout in one of his stranger assertions.. that foreigner lawyers working here is preferred because of accents. and by whom ? sounds idiotic but there is some truth to it.
    Barbados has been hammered for the last 3 weeks but one has to honestly ask the question : Is there some truth in all of this ? Are others seeing what we don”t want to see or unwilling to admit ?

35. @BAFBFP
    Thanks for answering some of the questions I raised. I have not lived in Bim for over 30 yrs and dont claim to be aware of all the details of socio-political life there. However, it would be interesting to learn names of White Permanent Secretaries over the last 40 yrs, please enlighten.
    You suggest that the large white owned businessies have tremendous political sway, please dont hesitate to provide actual examples of how this works and how/ why this is to the detriment of Bajans in general.
    You take displeasure in my contention that Bdos is probably the best black/ African run country on Earth but you did not say why or provide a ranking or alternatives or even layout criteria.
    You did seem to use the word hypocrite which may have been directed at me. Since a hypocrite acts contrary to their beliefs or feelings and since you do NOT know me how can you classify me as such?

36. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

When I was very young I had a friend who talked like Ms. Theodore writes. He had a master’s degree, but he’s spent the last 40 years in and out of Jenkins, and has been unable to maintain relationships with his wife, children, parents or potential employers. I am sorry to say but he was and is a nice guy but mad as a shad.

37. @if

What is your opinion?

Don’t you think the issues you have identified are the day to day challenges of managing a society which is dynamic?

Certainly if you compare our political and social stability, per capita income, HDI index ranking etc Barbados has done well comparatively speaking.

Having pointed out such it does not mean the job of build our society is done.

38. @ FrankTalk
    You say that Bajans dont know the most pleasureable and leisureable places in Bim and by that I assume you mean places like high quality hotels eg Sandy Lane, best Golf Courses etc.
    This is true of any country even communist places like China. So What? In Bdos you can come from the very poorest family and make very good eg the son of orange cart vendor went to HC and became a top lawyer and very rich, he could certainly take his wife to Sandy Lane for dinner. On the other hand your average white Bajan could not afford to pay for such an expensive dinner. Personally, I have no desire when I holiday in Bim to go to such places because being a true lover of my homeland, I love what is available for all to enjoy eg the beach, cricket at Kensington, beautiful scenery, interacting with Bajans from all walks of life etc.
    You talk about conditioning, which people certainly use to oppress others and worst still many people use against themselves as in I cant achieve I am being held back.
    What Bajans need to do is focus on how they personally can achieve because that is how the successful ones progress regardless of colour. Does anyone think a poor white Bajan is welcomed at the Yacht Club? Should they care?

39. To be honest we Bajans are a little arrogant and certainly sometimes resent, dislike and will discriminate against other CBean peoples. This probably comes from our British roots. It also results from our knowledge that we have been more successful in many ways than other countries with far more natural wealth eg JA, Guy.
    Mix in the fact that many Guyanese have moved to Bim and compete for jobs in some cases in desperation and therefore low pricing and voila trouble brews.

40. Barbados an Apartheid state! what will they think of next?

41. – Some jobs not accessible by part of the population
    – Some establishments not accessible by part of the population
    – Some justice not accessible by part of the population
    – Some …

42. and the beat goes on!

43. Manasseh U king Avatar
    Manasseh U king

In Barbados there is no apartheid like what had obtained in South Africa or the then Rhodesia.

There is enough evidence to suggest that there is still some element of racism practiced by those who control the economic power in Barbados. How often have we heard that the imported white chefs in the hotels are paid much better than the black chefs. How often have we seen advertisements for work permits and who normally end up with those jobs?

How often has a local white ( European Barbadian)taken an afr0-barbadian as his wife, and if that happens how much pressure is placed on the same individual?

Afro-barbadians are willing to accept persons of european extraction into their space, but normally meet a great deal of resistance when the table is turned.

Dont be fooled, there is racism in Barbados. I could recall reading sometime ago when there was so much furore about renaming Farely Hill Park after Manadela and there was great deal of oppostion from Sir Charles Williams. It was around that time an article appeared in the Nation stating that there is definitely racism here. I thiink the research was undertaken by someone of European extraction.

Lets us be realistic, barbadain society has been structured on racism and there has not been any meaninful changes to those structures.

The social scientist will tell you that the changes made are to keep the system in equilibrium and those who control the walth control how the systems are tinkered with.

I suggest that people should get hold of the book written By Sir Hilary Beclkes, I thinks it is titled :White Power in Barbados: the Mutual Affair.

I gone

44. What about the black on black racism that exists. Being told not to marry blacker than them, marry someone with soft hair and that they must not stay out too long in the sun cause they will become too black.

45. Why don’t many local whites attend public primary and public secondary schools other than Harrison college and Queens college. In a country that is 95% black not one black face can be seen on many white owned companies board of directors. That doesn’t happen by chance.

46. M anasseh all societies where there are people of colour and lower economic levels are structured on racism. That is no secret. It seems that some comments are attempting to come close in agreement with Ms. theodore by introducing racism .

47. If we define racism as one race feeling superior and consequently that superiority is institutionalized then it is impossible to have Black on Black racism. What we confuse in Barbados is the thin line between classism, prejudices and racism. We live in an imperfect world and they will always be pockets of racism however to condemn a country where the White and Indian population is single digits is ludicrous,

48. Manasseh U king Avatar
    Manasseh U king

racism deals with the belief that one reace is supperior to another race . There is a difference between racism and discrimination.

49. There is no doubt that there is racism in Bdos, and classism, eliteism etc. All racial groups in Bdos and all over the world believe they are better. In Bdos there are racists of every colour. There are people who discriminate against people of their own race because they are richer or poorer than themselves, the ones above love to kick down the ladder.
    This is all normal human behaviour, although it should be unacceptable.
    Alien says that certain jobs are not accessible by part of the population, why not? Certain establishments, where and why? Justice why? Justice surely is in the control of the dominant racial group?