Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus, however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who is [sic] going to support average Barbadians who have [sic] their life savings in CLICO ? My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking re-election[sic] after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why he was so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honestyย ย  expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing out โ€“ Watching

BU is on record that Prime Minister Fruendel made an error by not calling a general election after the death of David Thompson. His explanation as to why he did not rings of political naivetรฉ which does not bode well for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) heading into a general election in a recessionary climate. If the political landscape gives an advantage then is should be accepted and exploited with the ruthlessness that it deserves. The irony for some is that Stuart represents himself as a student of history, recent history supports the view that if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had called the general election when Thompson and Mascoll were warring the DLP would still be warming the opposition benches.

With a general election constitutionally due in two years Stuart would have been forgiven if he had called a general election to refresh the mandate. The analysis of the last general election suggests that the public profile of David Thompson loomed large. Six months after Thompsonโ€™s death Stuart continues to manage a cabinet handed to him by Thompson. The longer he remains inert on the issue of manhandling his men the more it becomes fodder for the opposition and stokes the perception he is dithering on the job.

Up to now the electorate has been sympathetic towards the governmentโ€™s management of the economy in a global recession.ย  Is it unreasonably though for the people of Barbados and particularly the 38,000 CLICO policyholders to expect a caring government to reciprocate? The CLICO issue continues to be a difficult one for the country economically and politically for the government. The relationship between the Thompson family and perennial CEO of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris has been part of the national conversation since the news broke about CLICOโ€™s financial problems that Friday afternoon. The Thompson led government took the decision then to reassure the public that CLICO Barbados was largely a well managed company and there was no need for panic. The Mia Mottley led opposition at the time seized on the political opportunity and as they say they rest is history. The life insurance part of the business has been a problem for the government because of an annuity product which CLICO Life Insurance had been given permission to sell. The bottomline is, CLICO has now become a big problem for the Fruendel Stuart government.

During the Estimates Debate in parliament yesterday (16 March 2010) Stuart made his biggest gaffe to date by indicating he did not regard Leroy Parris as a โ€˜leperโ€™. He further statedย ย  โ€œI donโ€™t agree with everything he does. I have never agreed with everything heโ€™s done, but like all other Barbadians he has worked his way up and he has had his ups and downsโ€.

Prime Minister Stuart has a right like his predecessor to be loyal to Leroy Parris. Most Barbadians however will have a problem with the political correctness of the statement at this time. It smacks of an indescribable insensitivity. The CLICO issue is a hot potato issue for the government, it has the potential to add 200 million to the national debt. The national โ€˜feelingโ€™ index for Leroy Parris at this time is at an all time low given his surprising action to sue CLICO for 10 million dollars, a company which is unable to honour its financial commitment to policyholders. Why on earth would Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart utter the most insensitive statement to date which is sure to stoke political debate and alienate support is incomprehensible. Following the recent error in judgement by Minister of Finance to be seen publically socially cavorting with Leroy Parris in the Sandy Lane Box on Gold Cup Day makes one wonder if the government has an urgent need for a political strategist to be part of the setup, or do they? Bear in mind all through this fiasco Leroy Parris remains Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation.

It will be interesting to see how the CLICO matter unravels. It would be foolhardy for the government to enter the general election which is on the horizon with this matter in tow which must drag like an albatross. The dilemma for the government by placing the matter in the purview of the Court, it will make decision making a protracted affair.ย ย  It means the call by the Nation newspaper for the government to speak to the issue is asking it to violate the protocol of sub judice, something they (Nation newspaper) should understand very well.

Some where in the sweet bye and bye there is someone lounging on the beautiful shore who bears a contented smile.

1. to ac- this is supposedly a serious forum of enlightenment. what is there to like about a contributor spinning comment to suit himself? it is true that one does have the right to express thire views but that does not mean it is a license to misinform.

2. anthony,
    Agree, sometime ago I felt that we should totally ignore him but the man blogs so much rubbish that it annoys like hell. But ignore him, I will. He will then disappear and let serious discussion continue.

3. Even Mr P a diehard DLP supporter today on Brasstacks condemned what is going on in CLICO. He wanted to know how one man could get 3.5 million dollars and small people begging for theirs cannot get a cent.

I have said already that Leroy Parris, Jeffrey Brewster and Terrance Thornhill need to be held accountable for the CLICO mess, they were Leroy Parris lieutenants, they are the educated ones. At some point, they should have stood up to the uneducated Parris and refused to sign the cheques plundering CLICO. Phony Marshall was on this board, he likes to tell callers… tell the peple of Barbados… I would like him to tell the policyholders what he did to stop Parris from raping the company. To resign when the shit hit the fan is not enough.

Who allowed Parris back on the board, did he ever leave? Do these Trinidadians have any right to be on the board in Barbados? These questions need answers. This government will pay dearly for their complicity with Leroy Parris. Maybe he has too much dirt on them , no wonder they have to stick with him…he is not a leper, Fumble says.

He has been dithering and fumbling since Thompson took sick and this is the first time he did not fumble but defend his friend.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

The Barbados Labour Party has been wrong on so many issues that it is difficult to take them seriously.

Hence people like you need to come on this blog to try and mislead others into believing that a 6 is a 9. You are so afraid that electorate will continue to see The Barbados Labour Party for what they are. A party of GANGSTERS whose only interest is to return to office and resume the plunder of the Barbados Treasury.

LIE after LIE after LIE. One LIE to cover the proceeding LIE is the method of choice of the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party.

The Govt. continues to exposed these LIES on a basis that is really becoming quite monotonous. Hence the desperation of PRODIGAL SON and the like minded. As I have said many times, THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND.

The Hon. Richard Sealy is the latest Minister to poke holes in another Barbados Labour Party LIE.

Let us wait and see what new LIE the Barbados Labour Party will come up with to cover the LIE about GOL Airline.

5. @CCC: “The Barbados Labour Party has been wrong on so many issues that it is difficult to take them seriously.

Could you (or anyone) update us all as to the status of the promised Freedom of Information Act and the Integrity Legislation?

6. mr stuart might have inadvertently put his foot in his mouth to his own detriment; but the clico problem is not of his making but of his much loved revered squeaky clean predecessor. i suspect the sudden tendency to use mr stuart’s gaffe to fling the wrondoing on his doorstep is to deflect blame and crticism away from mr thompson who signed away millions of policy holders’ savings to mr parris in the most adverse of circumstances.

7. @ruth arnetta: “…the sudden tendency to use mr stuartโ€™s gaffe to fling the wrondoing on his doorstep is to deflect blame and crticism away from mr thompson who signed away millions of policy holdersโ€™ savings to mr parris in the most adverse of circumstances.

And, let us please not forget that the Right Honorable David Thompson (Ret.) spent a great deal of time on CLICO’s jet — both before and after his illness.

May he rest in piece….

8. Carson C Cadogan… you are in the wrong job…you should be the official spokesperson for the DLP. In fact you should also be their official yarn weaver, so far you have woven thousands of miles of pure yarn for them. keep it up and the next election will show how much your yarn is worth. Stuuuuuuupse

Scoutie….. I agree that we need a third party badly, but it seem that many are afraid of taking on the two parties. It seems that instead of putting Families first the government should PUT BARBADOS FIRST!

To Mr PM….. when you lie with dogs you will get fleas and when you show us your friends and it will show us who you really are. Remember WE the PEOPLE elected your government to work on our behalf, not on the behalf of your friends.

9. YOU ALL BETTER CEASE AND DESIST TROUBLING LEROY NOW….I NOT STANDING FOR THIS NONSENSE ANY LONGER…I MADE MONEY WITH HIM AS HIS LAWYER AND HE IS MY PAL…NOT A A LEPER….AND WE MADE HIM CHAIRMAN OF CBC TOO…SO STICK THAT IN YOUR PIPE!!!

NOW CALL OFF YOUR CANINES OR I’LL LOOSE MINE….DOC GLOCK ESTWICK WITH HIS PIECE….
    now where is my security detail to take me back to Ilaro court?

10. @ruth arnette.

It is ccc right to free Speech whether we agree with what he says or not. Enlightenment only comes about when we are free to agree or disagree with each other. Unfortunately most people sees “enlightenment ” only when others agree with their point of view. Whatever information or misinformation he gives can only be corrected by discussion. Arguably his comments are presented in a way to support the party of his choice and in his defense i will say that he takes an issue and move the goal post forward and others to follow.

11. to ac- that is your opinionn however skewed it is. to enlighten, one must be logical and sensible in argument and debate.

12. to christopher halsall- i was not aware of his incursions on the jet of clico; i thought it was the jet of SOl of whom it is reported to be receiving payback for campaign contributions to mr thompson’s coffers by way of the annoying fluctuations in petroleum prices to the disadvantage of the consumer.

13. HA HA HA HA ….. Murdah …. HA AHA AH ahum…

FS …

… Yah gun kill mah HA HA HA AHA HA HA HAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

AC

I never in my life been afraid to be the lone voice.

On this blog I am the person maintaining sanity. The people of Barbados must be protected from these Barbados Labour Party revisonists.

I know that I am right, these jokers are just hanging onto FANTASY. I am on the side of TRUTH.

There is an old Jewish saying:

If everyone pulled in the same direction, the World would keel over.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Corrupt Barbados Labour Party members and supporters on this blog are all perplexed.

How is it we can all hang onto to every LIE and FALSEHOOD emanating from the lips of Owen”seethru”Arthur and the other Gang of 5 and accept it as GOSPEL and Carson C. Cadogan does not? Why can’t he be more like us and drink every drop of VERBAL SEWAGE being dispensed by the Barbdos Labor Party ?

If he had any sense like us he would accept that white is Black and left is right and LIE is Truth. After all we are so “intelligent!

Like us he ought to be in the forefront misleading the Bajan public so that the Barbados Labour Party can be returned to office and its members can get their greedy hands back into the Cookie jar.

What is the matter with this Guy?

16. Ruth,

The dead king used the CLICO jet until CLICO went bust. The two of them treated the officers at the jet centre with disrespect, would come in and throw their passports in the officers’ faces. When their wives were with them, they too said not even good day. How the mighty have fallen.

When the CLICO jet could not take to the skies anymore, the dead king tu rned to SOL’s jet and when he got sick, it was at his command. The plane used to bring him in at 2 am to avoid the public’s view. On the final time the SOL jet was summoned from Miami to bring the king home when he allegedly walked off, when the jet got to New York, it was sent back as the docs said the king could only go home on an air ambulance, hence the government had to pay up front for it, some US$88000.00. Not that I had a problem with that as he was PM.

But yes, SOL is being repaid by the illegal sale of diesel at the Transport board etc.

17. Eh,eh, I heard on DLPTV news tonight that the fraud Leroy Parris has resigned from the board of directors at CLICO. Omigosh, I am stunned. I wonder when he will be back on again through the back door when no one is watching.

18. @ac” annoying fluctuations in petroleum prices to the disadvantage of the consumer”
    —-

What? No, the fluctuations are because the GOVERNMENT is not longer paying for the consumer to drive about burning foreign exchange.

Or put another way, the taxpayer is njo longer paying for other taxpayers to driver about, burning foreign exchange.

Consumers must pay economic value for the gas burned, especially in a time when both our fiscal deficit and foreign exchange are in deep doo-doo.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“But yes, SOL is being repaid by the illegal sale of diesel at the Transport board etc”

Another Barbados Labour Party LIE. Who started it? The BLP Arch DRUNKARD, “Seethru”.

20. How many times that man resign? Like a duppy that would not stay in the grave? He resign from CBC though? he will rise again.

21. Reading between the lines, it is not inconceivable that sometime in the future most of the underhanded dealings by David Thompson re. the CLICO affair and other matters will come to light in a way that cannot be denied nor spinned.

CCC and arguably Stuart, will be the only ones left on deck then. But even they might realise that it is hopeless defending the indefensible.

Leroy Parris is the key. He made DT and FS. His vanity and greed are likely to destroy their trumpeted accomplishments and memory in one case. Just consider what is the most likely reason for LP still being on the CBC board?

It might be in FS’ best interest to beg him to stop litigating as FS has no real power over LP. Events suggest that he, and much of the DLP hierarchy, are too compromised by past largesses and perhaps excesses to have any clout over the man.

22. Thank you all … Now I am fairly clear in my mind what the P in DLP stands for … thank you all, thank you..!

23. The pressure is on with the resignation of Parris from the CLICO board of directors. BU expects his resignation from the CBC board to follow.

24. Maybe clico lawyers informed him that he can’t sit on the same board who he is suing. And only then relinquish power yet again. Of course at the end of suit we will see parris back on the board unless the jm stop it.

@ david

I don’t think he will give it up. Are not the board position are suppose to be changed this year ? He will simply not be given it back with the explanation that it hand nothing to do with clico or the suit, that just wish for “Fresh” new management to have a chance.

25. @Checkitout

Reading between the lines, it is not inconceivable that sometime in the future most of the underhanded dealings by David Thompson re. the CLICO affair and other matters will come to light in a way that cannot be denied nor spinned
    Why limit it to Thompson and CLICO? We just went through an election where there was great perception and verbiage about corruption within the last Govโ€™t particularly with two deals which will cost the Bajan public directly and indirectly for several years

I wish that the details and origin of these deals would come to light, Thompson promised forensic audits etc. but it was a politicianโ€™s promise to a gullible public.

I wish, I wishโ€ฆ but as the old saying goes โ€œif wishes were horses beggars would rideโ€

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I will continue to say to the day that I die,
    “t takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!”

Barbados Labour Party supporters have no shame at all. In the early days of Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press, the members and supporters of the Barbados Labour Party were strident in their efforts to close down both blogs. They used all methods at their disposal in an effort to discover the identities of the blog owners and commentators. Both blogs were considered as enemy number one of “Seethru’s” Govt. at the time. Mia Amor Mottley said that the blogs were undermining Parliament and must be controlled, Owen said that the blogs were unpatriotic. I spoke to a former BLP Minister and he said to me at the time that Bajan Blogs are not for sensible people. To this day the nation and Starcom avoid mentioning the names of the blogs like the Plague.

Now all of a sudden the blogs belong to the members and supporters of the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party. The very people who vainly sought to close them down in an attempt to keep the People of Barbados in total and complete darkness.

It was the blogs which were in the vanguard of enlightening the darkness of Bajans. People like me were there from the beginning.

The JOHNNY-COME-LATELIES such as:

BAJAN TRUTH
    PRODIGAL SON
    ISLANDGAL246
    RUTH ARNETTA
    TRUTHMAN BURTON
    JOSQUIN
    anthony
    and the few other nincompoops were too busy PLUNDERING THE TREASURY.

In our efforts to stop them we prevailed.

All of a sudden they are here to save Barbados. Don’t make me laugh.

Now the blog owner DAVID is siding with these CROOKS. These are the same people if not for support from people like me probably would have succeeded in shutting him down.

JOHNNY-COME-LATELY Barbados Labour Party supporter RUTH ARNETTA is saying that the blog is a forum for enlightenment. you think, ruth? When did you discover this?

27. Captain your ship is sinking, Captain the seas are rough but I think it too late to undo the damage. If someone was to conduct a survey it would show how discontented the population feels about the ruling party and how helpless they feel about life in Barbados. The government has to do what is right and just and that is just not happening. There must be an investigation into CLICO here and the wider world.

Duprey in Miami has several companies within companies under Colonial Development Group, LLC one of them http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0OQD/is_1_8/ai_n11843195/?tag=content;col1
    another is http://www.answers.com/topic/colonial-development-group-llc This is the DYL group http://www.thedylgroup.com/company.html

CLICO has many faces and I am sure there is a paper trail but who will have the gumption to take them on. A forensic audit should be a priority.

28. Carson you are a desperate crazy wild man shooting at every one and every thing. You are missing the whole point. You have labelled me a BLP supporter but I beg to differ. Like religion I do not support any one party. I can think for myself and will make decisions based on what I see in front of me, behind me and down the road.

29. Sargeant;
    I might appear to be limiting it to the current administration for now because they had three years to do something about the perceived infelicities of the last BLP administration and so far have done zilch. They are the ones who are in the driver’s seat now. They are the ones in whose administration the CLICO sh*t hit the fan. They are the ones that are implicated by the revelations coming out of Parris’ lawsuit for his several millions from the CLICO enterprises not the BLP.

It is clear that people in the past BLP administration (read Owen Arthur here) took significant campaign funding from Parris and it may be possible that they looked the other way and committed some infelicities themselves. But the evidence so far suggests that the current administration is deep in the CLICO doodoo by itself.

I am suggesting in my post above that the likely coming revelations will show more about infelicitous dealings with CLICO by the current administration than the BLP one.

Where any revelations pinpoint the BLP, let the law deal with them or the individuals involved also. It will be interesting to see how the new CJ will handle this ball if it ever comes before him.

30. Slightly off topic but related to previous posts:

Parliamentary Secretary in the Prime Ministerโ€™s Office Senator Harry Husbands says Barbadians must get used to competing with international and regional workers for jobs on the island.

Speaking in the the Upper House as the Estimates Bill 2011 to 2012 was debated, Senator Husbands conceeded that his view may not be government policy, but he suggested that if the country wants to grow its International Business sector and the tourism industry, then the process of granting work permits has to be flexible.

31. @islandgal

CCC is beyond help. Let us just ignore him so he can a continue on ranting to himself . He can’t see truth in front his eye so until he does let ignore him all.

32. @CCC (March 24, 2011 at 9:15 AM): “I will continue to say to the day that I die, โ€œt takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!โ€

Please correct me if I’m wrong here CCC, but I don’t believe you answered my question about posted at March 23, 2011 at 12:58 PM.

Let me please repeat the question here and now so you don’t have to look it up:

Could you (or anyone) update us all as to the status of the promised Freedom of Information Act and the Integrity Legislation?

@CCC… News flash…

One does not have to be a BLP supporter or a DLP supporter, nor a Republican nor a Democrat, or a Communist nor an Socialist (or even a Christian nor a Buddhist)…

…to be fed up with the bovine excrement most of us face from most of our so called “leaders”.

I promise you this: We will keep asking the questions.

And we will keep track of when (and by whom) the questions are not answered.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

chris

As I told already do your own research. I do mine.

That is the main reason that I can not be fooled the supporters and members of the Barbados Labour Party on this blog and it has them and you mad as hell.

34. @CCC: “As I told already do your own research. I do mine.

That’s funny…

Because, without a Freedom of Information Act (something promised by the Retired David Thompson to be delivered within 100 days of his election) I (and all others) can’t do our own research on serious matters.

We are all at the sufferance of who we know; who we’re related to; how much money we have; and those so connected — etc. It simply doesn’t scale for the People. (It is, however, very profitable for those few so very well connected.)

@CCC… For the record, I have no party affiliation.

I would simply like to see the politicians of Barbados keep their promises to their People.

(Or is that too much to ask, of both the BLP and the DLP???)

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chris

What is promised will be delivered.

36. @CCC: “What is promised will be delivered.

So, then, where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson to the People of Barbados (read: the electorate) within 100 days of his being made the Prime Minster of Barbados?

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chris

Please put on your glasses.

again:
    What is promised will be delivered.

38. @CCC: “What is promised will be delivered.

Not according to most observers…

But then, maybe everyone is stupid, except for those few who have special connections and/or special beliefs….

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chris

………….will be delivered.

What tense is that?

40. @ CCC
    Why is it that you so remind me of the guy who arrived at home in a real terrible state and told his wife that while he was on his way home he was the only driver going the correct way on the highway. All the others were going the wrong way. His wife calmly told him she was only just hearing on the evening news that there was this lunatic driving the wrong way against traffic on the highway and was hoping that it would not have been him. Time for you to go take your meds, CCC.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

de hood

I will only say this once:
    One can not be on the right way and be a member or supporter of the Barbados Labour Party at the same time.

42. @CCC: “โ€ฆ…..will be delivered.

@CCC: “What tense is that?

That would be the future tense. Answer given.

On the other hand, I have now asked you the following at least four times. Might you answer?

Where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

chris

I was beginning to think that your glasses were in need of changing.

My answer:
    What is promised will be delivered

44. “What is promised will be delivered”…… you all don’t have much time left Carson, you are such a cacca hole you are leaving a trail, look behind !

45. Ref to comment by enufff
    Somebody please tell Parliamentary Secretary. Harry Husbands”Home Drum Beat First” and bajans not going to stand idlly by while the jobs are given to foreigners. Hell No!

46. @CCC”: “I was beginning to think that your glasses were in need of changing.

Excellent. So, now that we have established that my eyesight and my comprehension are nominal.

Let me please ask you et al for the fifth time:

Where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson during the last election?

A reply of “What is promised will be delivered” isn’t an answer to this question, by the way.

It comes across a bit like “soon come; soon come…

47. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Christopher Halsal “Where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson during the last election?”

Chris you won’t get it because David Thompson was NOT right and he was NOT honorable.

48. @Random Thoughts: “Chris you wonโ€™t get it because David Thompson was NOT right and he was NOT honorable.

But, but, but… He promised a FOIA.

Next you’re going to tell me that there isn’t actually a Santa Claus (or, should that read, clause?)….

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

chris

btw I really enjoying this, โ€œWhat is promised will be deliveredโ€

50. @CCC: “btw I really enjoying this…

I as well.

It’s healthy when adversaries are able to laugh with each other while fighting…

More should try it (IMHO)….