Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus, however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who is [sic] going to support average Barbadians who have [sic] their life savings in CLICO ? My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking re-election[sic] after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why he was so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honestyย ย  expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing out โ€“ Watching

BU is on record that Prime Minister Fruendel made an error by not calling a general election after the death of David Thompson. His explanation as to why he did not rings of political naivetรฉ which does not bode well for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) heading into a general election in a recessionary climate. If the political landscape gives an advantage then is should be accepted and exploited with the ruthlessness that it deserves. The irony for some is that Stuart represents himself as a student of history, recent history supports the view that if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had called the general election when Thompson and Mascoll were warring the DLP would still be warming the opposition benches.

With a general election constitutionally due in two years Stuart would have been forgiven if he had called a general election to refresh the mandate. The analysis of the last general election suggests that the public profile of David Thompson loomed large. Six months after Thompsonโ€™s death Stuart continues to manage a cabinet handed to him by Thompson. The longer he remains inert on the issue of manhandling his men the more it becomes fodder for the opposition and stokes the perception he is dithering on the job.

Up to now the electorate has been sympathetic towards the governmentโ€™s management of the economy in a global recession.ย  Is it unreasonably though for the people of Barbados and particularly the 38,000 CLICO policyholders to expect a caring government to reciprocate? The CLICO issue continues to be a difficult one for the country economically and politically for the government. The relationship between the Thompson family and perennial CEO of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris has been part of the national conversation since the news broke about CLICOโ€™s financial problems that Friday afternoon. The Thompson led government took the decision then to reassure the public that CLICO Barbados was largely a well managed company and there was no need for panic. The Mia Mottley led opposition at the time seized on the political opportunity and as they say they rest is history. The life insurance part of the business has been a problem for the government because of an annuity product which CLICO Life Insurance had been given permission to sell. The bottomline is, CLICO has now become a big problem for the Fruendel Stuart government.

During the Estimates Debate in parliament yesterday (16 March 2010) Stuart made his biggest gaffe to date by indicating he did not regard Leroy Parris as a โ€˜leperโ€™. He further statedย ย  โ€œI donโ€™t agree with everything he does. I have never agreed with everything heโ€™s done, but like all other Barbadians he has worked his way up and he has had his ups and downsโ€.

Prime Minister Stuart has a right like his predecessor to be loyal to Leroy Parris. Most Barbadians however will have a problem with the political correctness of the statement at this time. It smacks of an indescribable insensitivity. The CLICO issue is a hot potato issue for the government, it has the potential to add 200 million to the national debt. The national โ€˜feelingโ€™ index for Leroy Parris at this time is at an all time low given his surprising action to sue CLICO for 10 million dollars, a company which is unable to honour its financial commitment to policyholders. Why on earth would Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart utter the most insensitive statement to date which is sure to stoke political debate and alienate support is incomprehensible. Following the recent error in judgement by Minister of Finance to be seen publically socially cavorting with Leroy Parris in the Sandy Lane Box on Gold Cup Day makes one wonder if the government has an urgent need for a political strategist to be part of the setup, or do they? Bear in mind all through this fiasco Leroy Parris remains Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation.

It will be interesting to see how the CLICO matter unravels. It would be foolhardy for the government to enter the general election which is on the horizon with this matter in tow which must drag like an albatross. The dilemma for the government by placing the matter in the purview of the Court, it will make decision making a protracted affair.ย ย  It means the call by the Nation newspaper for the government to speak to the issue is asking it to violate the protocol of sub judice, something they (Nation newspaper) should understand very well.

Some where in the sweet bye and bye there is someone lounging on the beautiful shore who bears a contented smile.

1. 3.5 Million … Jesus H Christo

2. No the police reported it as a ak 47. please get your facts right just as it is 3.5 million stated on the court documents.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony
    Ok, so your nation just publishes whatever is given to it without checking.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

who provided the nation with those photo shopped “court documents”?

Was it you, as you knew that they don’t check anything, they just print whatever is given to them?

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

I was just about to write that the Police would not not make such an infantile mistake.

6. No ccc you just getting shutdown on every point. first it was bushmaster not it police got it right. try to stick to one story ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

here is another “accurate” piece of information from the the nation:-

“The sophisticated radiance class cruise ship Jewel of the Seas made its inaugural visit to the Bridgetown Port today docked with approximately 21 000 guests and 850 crew”

You see the misinformation yet?

8. lol ccc your just mad you can’t get a decent point . You miserable on an extra 0. 3.5 million was written in word ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

Your “reliable” nation said that it was an AK 47 not the police. They would not make such a mistake. Don’t get tie up.

Anyway as you know better than most, the nation is wrong with monotonous regularity.

10. @CCC

Your just showing the desperation the dlp wanting the parris matter hushed up ๐Ÿ™‚

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

you have not answered my question yet.

Do you see the misinformation in the paragraph I quoted?

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

Let me put you out of your misery, the nation article stated that:-

“The sophisticated radiance class cruise ship Jewel of the Seas……………….docked with approximately 21 000 guests and 850 crewโ€

The Jewel of the Seas which was built in 2004 has a Passenger capacity of, wait for it, 2,501 passengers.

Yet the nation stated as FACT that if docked in the Bridgrtown port “with approximately 21 000 guests”.

How do you fit ” 21 000 guests” on a ship built to carry 2,501?

Oh, you nation newspaper is so accurate!

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

Another thing to note. No one challenged the nation, the “information” was accepted as FACT by almost all and sundry.

“As the nation hasnโ€™t been sued or been force to make a retraction i think it is true donโ€™t u ?”

14. CCC
    The Late P.M David Thompson stated at the opening of parliament at the Oval that AS HE SPOKE, the P.M of Dominica was sitting there with him and the first shipment of fruit and vegetables would be arriving in Barbados within two months. This announcement was recieved with GREAT CHEERING. That shipment has not yet arrived and no-one sued the .M. Why should someone sue the Nation for a simple misprint? I must admit though that there are too many in that newspaper, like there are too many mis- announcements by this government.

15. @CCC

Your argue for misinformation. If wasn’t true parris lawyer would be uprage and chastizing them. to compare that to simple typographicall error is hilarious. Just admit it you lost all your marbles now.

16. Negroman writes….” This government has not contributed to the troubles in CLICO Insurance and I see no reason why heat should be put on the government to come up with measures to save CLICO.I believe once the policy holders are guaranteed to get their principle investments in the company back,I think that will satisfy those policy holders”

Are you for real?

Dont you know that the DLP had MILLIONS of CLICO’s policyholders money during the last general election and millions more before that. Did you think it was Leroy Parris’ money? He seemed to believe that the policyholders money was his. The corporate jet that Parris and Thompson jetted around the world with was financed out of CLICO’s policyholders money not Thompson’s or Parris’ money. They raped that company. Thompson by way of the massive legal fees and money Parris gave him to put in FAMILIES FIRST account and now Parris wants more to finished off the company.

No wonder the Dems have to stick with Parris.

Policyholders, rise up.

17. Scout,

I agree with you, David Thompson knew (or if he he did not know then he was more fluff than I realised) that you cannot import fruit or flowers out of Dominica because of a dangerous fruit insect. As he was announcing that to the blind DLP supporters that day, I said this man is lying to the people, how can he not know that you cannot import fruit from Dominica just so?

This was a Hartley Henry scam as you know he, Thompson and Skerritt are good friends. It was also to fool their blind followers that they were on the job from day one. Remember that the DLP had all the answers and they were going to bring down the cost of living.

I hope the people of Barbados have awoken out of their sleep and have seen the DLP for what they are…a DAMN LYING PARTY.

We may not like the BLP all the time but they do deliver to the people of Barbados and sadly enough no third party seem to survive here. I had hoped that the NDP would have survived but alas, that too failed.

I was most disturbed while reading the Business Authority that Mr Horace Cobham was talking about the banks having so many delinquent loans. I have noticed many houses being sold out in Sunday’s Sun.

Signs of 1991 again.

18. Brother Scout, greetings,I am an unapologetic supporter of the Democratic Labour Party and as a consequence, my bias for the party will be apparent.However when I see it fit to criticize the Parry,I will do so with out any fear.
    CLICO is a Trinidad owned company.Trinidad had a general election last year and CLICO was not a mayor political issue in that election.CLICO has subsidaries in many other Caribbean countries including Guyana.There is pending presidential elections in Guyana later this year and the CLICO issue is not going to be a major political issue in those elections.Right here in Barbados there was a bye-election a few months ago and the CLICO issue did not came up as a significant issue in that election.
    I will maintained the CLICO issue is a storm in a tea cup that this government will address & resolve in an amicable way to the satisfaction of all concern.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

As I said before It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!

You have my permission to continue to embrace FANTASY and oppose to TRUTH.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“the DLP had MILLIONS of CLICOโ€™s policyholders money”

How do you know that? ………………and don’t tell me you saw it in the nation, that does not count.

21. @ Negroman

What the DLP has to do for you to criticise them? Answer a few questions, did or did not the gov’t of Trinidad take swift action against Cilco, had it iunder JM in short order? Did or did not the Guyana gov’t take swift action in putting Clico under judicial management. So why should it be an elction issue. Did Bissessar defend Duprey and drink champagne with him> Did Manning defend him as his friend, lied and dragged his heels in dealing with them? While dealing with them efficiently does not help you win an election, handling them as badly as this gov’t has, lying to the people and protecting your friend will cause you to lose it.

22. Josquin Desprez Avatar

@ Anthony

It must be tiresome to trade punches with an incoherent moron like Carson. He has taken issue with printing mistakes that were made by the Nation newspaper. So what?

March 12, 2011 at 10:29 AM
    โ€œI have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.โ€

March 21, 2011 at 7:51 PM
    โ€œThe majority of Bajans donโ€™t trust insurance companies.โ€

Is Carson saying that he does not trust insurance companies as well, and his previous statement about him having money in CLICO is indeed untrue?

Incoherence at its best.

23. CCC
    Don’t be an ass, when Clico made contributions to political parties whose money you think they were spending. That ain what Thompson meant when he spoke in Parliament about contribution ot BLP.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

JOSQUIN

Lord have mercy.

I must repeat: As I said before It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!

I will tell you what I have told SCOUT.

“Engage your brain before putting your mouth in drive.”

I am going to have to get a series of cookie cutter answers for you Barbados Labour Party people. It is quite tiring pointing out the obvious to you.

Re-read the comment again, SIR.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

Good lord. You too!

I hear that Organ transplants are being touted in Barbados. As Soon as they start I will recommend that all Barbados Labour Party supporters get Brain transplants. That is the only way to cure their blatant folly.

I will have to take out one of my cookie cutter questions for you. I will start with you.

“How do you know that? โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆand donโ€™t tell me you saw it in the nation, that does not count.”

26. CCC is as annoying as the man they call Mr P on Brasstacks. Even Dems say he is annoying and they hate to hear him. The only difference with Mr P and CCC is that Mr P will on some rare occasion criticize the DLP, like today. But for CCC, the DLP is always right and has never done anything wrong even when all the facts indicate that the Dems lied through their teeth to win the last elections and now cannot get the country manage.
    It is useless engaging CCC, he does not deal in facts or reality, only what he believes.

27. Truthman Burton Avatar

@islandgal246 | March 21, 2011 at 9:44 PM | โ€œIt takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!โ€

“CCC it also take a very special breed of a bow wow like you to be a DLP supporter! A pit bull like you should know!”

Island Girl 246, you have given Carson a most undeserved pedigree. Carson in no measure could be classified as a Pit Bull! Can’t you see that this brain-dead moron, is worst than a starving salmon tot retriever. Please call the RSPCA and compassionately ask them to put Carson out of his misery. Mr. Wayne Norville … uh beg yuh …. send the dog-catcher van for Carson quick … and besides he might even be rabid. a real danger to society!

28. Bajan Truth,

You are so right.

Trinidad, upon Lawrence Duprey coming to the government with cap in hand, took decisive action and placed CLICO under judicial management. The Trinidad government began forensic audits of the companies, halted all the power of Lawrence Duprey even though he protested and went to court even.

The Bahamian government took immediate action and liquidated the company.

Guyana took immediate action also and people got back their principal deposits. I have a relative there who got back their deposit.

Barbados under David Thompson, dilly-dallied because Leroy Parris was his friend. David Thompson assured Barbadians on the Friday night after the collapse was made known earlier in the day that CLICO Barbados was separate from Trinidad and that the company was well managed. On the Saturday morning following this assurance, he took $10 MILLION dollars of taxpayers money and gave it to a well managed company without even going to Parliament for permission.

When Mia Mottley started to whip up things and alert the public on what was going on, David Thompson tried to appease the public by appointing an Oversight Committee, knowing full well he had no plans to implement any of the recommendations or to extend its life.

But the grim reaper took him away.

I maintain that all the monies still in FAMILIIES FIRST account should be handed back to CLICO to pay some poor person like the 80 year old man who the agent ran down to invest his money in CLICO and who now has to hide from the bailiffs because he cannot get a cent out of CLICO. Poor man, he will soon die of stress, this cannot be easy for him at 80 years old.

But in the mean time, corrupt officials still in CLICO still find it possible to allow Leroy Parris to come back on the board (as if he ever left) and gave him 3.5 million dollars and three payments of $30,000.00. Who are these Trinidad persons on the board? Are they lackies of Lawrence Duprey?

Jeffrey Brewster and Terrance Thornhill also have to be held accountable as well. They have profited largely too from the policyholders’ monies. They were Leroy Parris’ accomplices, they are the educated ones in CLICO and received large salaries and bonuses as well.

Do you think that had this happened to a company to with Bees had a close connection that the Dems would not have made heyday of the situation? The Dems are good at opposition politics, I give them that.

29. Carson C, Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C, Cadogan

PRODIGAL SON

You still have not answered my question.

โ€œthe DLP had MILLIONS of CLICOโ€™s policyholders moneyโ€

How do you know that? โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆand donโ€™t tell me you saw it in the nation, that does not count.

30. CCC
    You got the guts to tell someone they need a brain transplant, even for someone to gey a brain transplant means there was or is one there, poor thing, in your case there is nothing to transplant, there is just a big hollow space between your ears. I told you that before, but I forgot you were too dumb even to understand that, you’re worse than I though. To say you are brain dead would be paying you a compliment.

31. Negroman @10.31A.M
    I agree with your first paragraph, I too am in a similar vein, but this new DLP has fallen FAR from what the original or old DLP stood for; I have lost faith in this party that I would have become a martyr for, and that hurts me. The old DLP had a man just like Parris, who Barrow cut loose after he lied and stole his way to great riches, yes, Barrow empathised with him, I saw him almost cried but in the interest of the party and this country, he disassociate hinself from him, the difference is that Barrow dids not allow himself to be the creature of anyone. I’ll continue to say, only if there was twenty-four hours more of Errol Barrow.
    Negroman
    This cannot be a storm in a teacup issue, the late P.M was too involved and I was somewhat concerned during the last elections where the money for both parties came from. The DLP didn’t have to play into Parris’ hand to win that elections, or maybe, they were too involved already. There are too many policyholders suffering, while Parris and Co. are living LARGE. What we have heard so far is just the tip of the iceberg, there is a lot more to come out and many persons will hang their heads in shame. There wasn’t much talk about the Clico issue in the last elections because that was a by-elections, like a true distance runner, the BLP is keeping a lot of information for the sprint home at the finish at the finals. I have said before , he who laughs last laughs best and the DLP is giving the B’s a chance to laugh at them too close to elections; it took them over fifteen years to regroup and this time it is going to take longer, this country can’t take another three terms of the BLP, WE NEED A NEW PARTY, dedicated to the upliftment of Barbados and not themselves.

32. Truthman Burton

I second calling the RSPCA for that rabid Carson Cadogan. I have never come across such a pompous assinine individual. He is such an idiot who likes to let everyone know that his family are university educated and that he has money to loose in CLICO and that doesn’t bother him. He is a DLP stooge. The day may come when he may be on the bread line and we will see if he will still feel the same way about CLICO and his money. What an ass#%le!

33. correction….. lose

34. I think we need to take collection for ccc to get a ct scan for his brain something is obviously wrong in it. One cannot be this foolish without brain damage. Normal dlp do understand that what parris has done is ludicrous. That support for him will kill the party. ccc of course way beyond the normal dlp support he is the alpha supporter. they can do no wrong in his eyes. lol

as for the case in trinidad. while the bailout for clico could be massive they have the oil reserves they can count on and failing that the country heritage & stabilization fund. we have no such luck of any massive oil reserves here. the added burden of extra debt with put government services at further strain.

35. anthony
    Your head hard? you giving CCC a lot of credit, the man can’t have a brain transplant because there is no brain to transplant, there is just a empty space between his ears.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

YOU ALL STILL NOT ANSWERING MY QUESTION.

Why is this so difficult to do?

That is the same attitude the Barbados Labour Party took with the DLP when they were in office. They refused to answer Parliamentary questions and now out of office you are continuing in the same vein.

37. Carson it you who don’t like the answer and keep asking the same question over and over. How about this. Go and prove us and nation wrong. Go to court registry and ask for the writ. I sure you find out some interesting things that Thompson witnessed in it.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

What is needed is a proper answer.

39. @ccc

what is need is you showing us we are wrong since your not understanding our answers :).

40. @Prodigal Son,

unfortunately it seems that it is one particular bank that is selling off these houses more than the others.

@ Island Gal, et al
    Carson is like a man on a ship that sinking, the water coming over the hull filling up the ship and Carson still saying it can’t sink. A fool has no delight in understanding.

41. Somebody told me a joke about something Arthur said at a political meeting sometime ago. They said that Arthur said of Kellman that if his head was an apartment for rent, it would have to be rented unfurnished. Roflllll. That exactly describes Carson.

42. to ac- you seem to be speaking in riddles and as a result giving ccc a measure of comfort he does not deserve. ccc is a purblind partisan political jackass who should bury his head in shame rather than trying unsuccessfully to defend a party illequipped to run a shop far less a government.the blp was thrown out because of allegations of corruption successfully sold to the country by the dlp; but at least they seemed to know how to run a govt. let him speak of the corruption we are seeing before our eyes now with the clico debacle, the honest thompson signature and all and the operations of the families first account. what goes around, comes around.speak or ccc or forever after hold your peace.

43. Ruth i was not speaking to ccc. In part there was a hidden message for the Blp. I do like the way CCC is able to take an issue and comfortably spin it in what ever direction he sees fit while others followed. He is being himself whether we like it or not.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can not say it enough,

It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter! (cookie cutter statement)

There is nothing too bad, to UNTRUE for Barbados Labour Party members and supporters.

First they were saying that Barbados is seeing a big reduction in visitor arrivals. When the statistics were realeased, what was the TRUTH? Extremely good visitor arrivals. Another BIGG LIE of the Barbados Labour Party exposed for all the World to see.

They followed that LIE with another LIE in order to remove the egg from off their faces. The Govt. is paying the Brazillian Airline to bring Tourists here the Barbados Labour Party said from the floor of the House last week. LIE, yuh hear LIE that is LIE from the CORRUPT Barbados Labour Party.

ANOTHER LIE which was exposed today by the Hon. Richard Sealy.

The Barbados Labour Party is so desperate it is unbelieveable.

45. During the Estimates, Ronald Toppin gave facts and figures on every flight by GOL to Barbados.

The DLP members jeered him but could not refute the facts.

Richard Sealy comes on DLP TV tonight to refute the charges but brought no facts. What kind of clown is he? If you are refuting charges, you HAVE to produce figures and facts to contradict what Toppin said not only saying you refuting charges and that what Toppin and Kerry said is wrong.

Tell the people if the government pays GOL one dollar, two dollars or three dollars but you cannot say they are wrong when they produce evidence out of Sealy’s ministry with the facts and figures.

Sealy also needs to tell the people of Barbados too how much the government is paying JET BLUE and American Airlines for that flight out of Dallas.I have a contact in that ministry who confirms that government is paying GOL, JET BLUE and American Airlines. Lies, lies and damned lies.

And only another idiot like you would believe Sealy.

46. There is a simplicity in CCC to be found in most DLP supporters, and at toxic levels in parts of the country. A statement with no claim of evidence with no foundation in fact is readily accepted. Even when actions do not match words the depth of the political ignorance of some Dems is that the words are indeed fact despite the truth of their reality. We building a society not an economy. The paper today makes interesting reading on the hypocritical position of this gov’t that when it comes to the critical things, the society is not their priority.

47. My Biggest disappointment with Seally is that he is an engineer and not one of the regular members of the Jackass community… Now how do you refer to the likes of Seally (and Boyce for that matter)?

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RIGHT ON CUE.

Laurel(Prodigal Son)and Hardy(Bajan truth) in a their mad rush to convert TRUTH into FANTASY.

There is something to be said for people who can’t stand the TRUTH. It is not pretty.

49. Maybe we should start an ignore ccc policy since he can’t seem to understand that he so far gone that there seems to be no help. Who say agree say aye.