Submitted by Charles S. Cadogan

What is happening in Barbados is truly unbelievable in regards of the crime rate. When a group of guys can go to a football game with guns and behave stupid, creating problems for innocent people, it is very dangerous to not only the population but also to the visitors who come and want to come to Barbados.

Let’s review this situation logically. Where are the guns coming into the island from? If my memory serves me well, the person who told the story about the situation said one of the gunslingers was a kid or a midget. Just how many male midgets can there be in Barbados? So this means that he shouldn’t be that hard to find.  If you want to **STOP** your community from being terrorized by these kind of situations, YOU HAVE TO SPEAK OUT. As we say here at home that you have adopted, NO SNITCHING. Well for your information, you are protecting yourself and your community and that is giving well needed information.

Barbados was an island that showed more love than any other island in the region. Where has all the love gone to for the good of all? And to add insult to injury you are taking this madness to another level when you are endangering the lives of innocent children when you are robbing a Daycare Centre.  What is it going to take for you to step up and open your mouths to protect those whom you love for this crime spree that seem to be no end in sight?

Then you have the political parties shooting off at the mouths about situations that need to be addressed and not spoken about. Why would Mr. Arthur want Mia Mottley’s head a few months ago. But now he’s saying that she is needed?  Mia Mottley is a peoples person who gets things done and is trusted by the people that she represents. Mia I am quite sure that you have the interest of all Barbadians in your heart and mind. Whatever choice you make I am sure you are going to give it plenty of thought.  I am sure that you are a strong independent woman with a mind of your own.

All I can say is Barbadians need to come together as **A PARTY OF ONE**. You can agree to disagree but consider you are being placed in the positions to represent the people and it’s not about popularity and self. Work for the people, with the people, and by the people. Realize that you are servants for the people.  It will take all Barbadians to make the difference towards change.

Pay attention to even your health because you have changed your eating habits. You seem to eat more imported foods than ever before. Pay attention to all that you are doing as a Nation that is creating the difference in your lifestyle and make the changes for the betterment of **SELF**.

Wake up everybody, no more sleeping in bed. No more backward thinking, time for thinking ahead. The world is not as it used to be so you have to make that change.  May you remain Blessed and Highly favored. This back and forth as to who done or didn’t do whatever doesn’t resolve the problems for the folks in Barbados. Without any name calling, each and every one of you who are representing the communities that you were elected need to stop acting like kids and do what **MUST BE DONE** for the good of everyone in Barbados.  From what I am reading most of you have made bad choices. But none of you are perfect either but keep in mind that the money spent is the money you use belonging to the people who have to bear the burden for your choices.

Come together for the common good of all the folks in Barbados. DLP, BLP or whatever letters of the alphabet that you are. Do what has to be done and stop placing blame behind your mess all. Or should I say that most in Barbados, especially the little man is feeling it the most from whatever you do.

This is a new day that you have been blessed to be a part of, yesterday is dead and gone and you cannot bring it back, but you can do what has to be done now. I hope that you’ll pay attention to what I am saying and do what has to be done for the betterment of all in Barbados.  Regain the name you once owned **THE GEM OF THE CARIBBEAN**,   Push your own products and make Barbadians proud in knowing that they have something to offer visitors that come to the island and it’s made in Barbados, by Barbadians.

Be blessed and I hope that all Barbadians will sleep better knowing that you are going to do what has to be done.

1. The Wild Wild West has arrived in the East!
    This sign was recently spotted in Sea View Rd St. Philip.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1215.snc4/156742_156723241041032_100001100706674_281009_4846429_n.jpg

2. The indiscipline which has become endemic in our society is starting to manifest itself in all areas of how we life. A good place to look is how Barbadians drive on our roads and how we litter without a second thought. Gosh, we really need to do something. Of course we will be labelled by others as complainers, but we need to complain to provoke the attention needed to hopefully mobilize against this problem.

3. Come on man its not all that bad. Barbados next to the Dominica has one of the lowest crime rate in the region. Our murder rate is 7 per 100,000 of the population. Bahamas with a population of 300,000-comparable to us have seen a rapid rise in their murder rate … almost 30 per 100,000. I won’t even go there and mention Trinidad or Jamaica. So yes, we should be concerned but I am sensing a tone of panick and alarm here.We are still decent, loving and peaceful people, but dont forget it is also a sign of the times.

Over the past 10 to 15 years, we have seen where crime and violence have become a major threat to the Caribbean region.Even some coutries that have traditionally been a low crime destination have seen this monster rear its ugly head (eg St. Lucia.). But it is the dispropotionate of crime in Jamaica and Trinidad that drive up the caribbean rate on a whole.

4. @zion1971

Some things it is better to benchmark against your own standards and not those of others.

5. Zionman

“It only takes a trickle to start a flood” Tek yuh head outta yuh pooch man. When we start comparing how others are worst than us, we are ignoring our home grown problems. We always waiting for something to happen and never see the warning signs. Yuh blind or what?

6. @ David, Islandgirl. You guys are a bit unfair. Let us not forget everything in life is comparable to something else, because that is how we know if we are going up, down or stagnant. When we boast about our literacy, GDP, standard of living etc it is only possible because we compare it to other country in the region , USA, or OECD, etc. So let us not cherry pick the issue here. All I am saying is that while we should be concerned about the anti-social behaviour in our midst, however, when we compare our situation with others it is not all that bad. Let’s be real no country in the world will have zero crime. Even Singapore with their high fines, strict discpline and harsh capital punishment( drug pushers are electrocuted) has crime, but comparable to say USA Singapore crime rate is insignificant. Barbados is no exception.Remember everthing in life is relative.

7. Here we go again. It’s time for Africa to grow up.

8. Colonel Gaddafi my boy, wants Africa to pull together and maintain a standing United Armed force to stand up against the threat from … not International Terrorists, but NATO and China …! That’s my boy, man that’s my boy … I want to raise funds to invite the Colonel to Barbados for a lecture, perhaps at the Springer Memorial Lecture or something… lemetellya, it would be standing room only …!

9. While crime and violence in Barbados is increasing, I think that it is not out of control. I always said that Jamaica, T&T and then Barbados would see a drastic increase in crime and violence. However, St.Lucia, Dominica and St Kitts have outdone us here. We must also remember that within this country are citizens from all over the region and all of them are not decent citizens, therefore they too are joining in the increase in Barbados. Drugs is the biggest contributor to this increase in crime and violence. Note, I left out Guyana as they are in a catagory by themselves, their crime and violence is varied.

10. I smile every time I hear someone defending crime in Barbados with the well worn statement, “We are not as bad as …..”and I’ve been smiling for the last 20 years or so.We have allowed the politicians to brainwashed us that there were no gangs in Barbados.
    But the original point raised concerning groups of men going to football matches and shooting off guns,stems from the fact that many people, of all ages ,,no longer have respect for the police or the authorities. Do something wrong in this country,and pretty soon the politicians are going to bend over backwards to make that action legal. We have seen it with the Public Service Vehicles,and some squatters, now the Minister of Transport propose to meet with the illegal and dangerous car racers to find them a taxpayers public highway to legitimise their foolishness.
    This lack of respect for the police has partly come about by their failure to act on minor infractions of the law. The kid on a bicycle is a typical example. No one tells him that riding on the wrong side of the road, or without lights, or going through red lights and major stops and riding on the side walk is a criminal offence. In fact many adults have taken the lead from the kids, and Barbados has now become one of the only countries in the world, where bicyclist appears to have priority on our highways. When this bike kid upgrade to riding a motorcycle or driving a ZR van, he does the similar things ,and then we want to crucify him. There is an old saying about bend the tree. If the people of today find it so easy to disrespect the law and get away with it, what is the big thing about carrying a piece and shooting off,they think.

11. ”Drugs is the biggest contributor to this increase in crime and violence”

This is a worldwide phenomena, drugs are the root of much evil, witness Mexico, no more violent a place, all rooted in poverty and drugs.

12. ”David | December 18, 2010 at 10:42 AM | @zion1971

Some things it is better to benchmark against your own standards and not those of others.”
    ———————-

That was a beautiful cover drive. In all the years reading these blogs, one of the most pertinent, true and necessary words written.

13. As someone rightly mentioned before drugs are the major cause of crime in barbados. The two major type of drug use and related crimes are…

Poor people that hit dope resort to stealing, mostly petty things like cellphones dvd their only aim is to get get the next high as soon as possible. Rich people that hit dope usealy don’t have these problems.

And weed, the weed problem is way bigger but it does not stem from drug use, as people that don’t use weed think. The weed problem is complex but the solution is simple…

Because weed is illegal it is expensive, weed cost very little to produce as it grows like a “weed” the plant is very, very easy to grow.

This is the problem,

The young men that work hard, went to school and learn,(read labor force) come home at night and socialize with their old school mates, the guys that give trouble and ent learn nutting (read drug pushers).

Thing is the drug pushers got 100 times more money than the hard workers, and ent got to work for it.

So the “hard workers” don’t see value in working because it does not provide benefits when compared to the drug dealers, that is where the reluctance to work comes from.

And here is the tricky part…..

People need money to live and the drug dealer has money and lots of young men that don’t want to work but need money at his disposal.

Remember these drug dealers never learn nutting in school and never had respect for authority, yet they are now leaders of a group of young men that want money without working. So they buy guns and the violence begins.

The solution is simple, take the profit out of drugs.
    From the beginning we try to curb end use with jail time and fines, yet everyday we finding more people to lockup and fine.

The solution is simple: Take the profit out of drugs.

14. @ Nationalist | December 18, 2010 at 11:56 PM |

I salute you for your forthright evaluation on this subject. We are very myopic when it comes to self criticism. We all have plasters for every sore and every bruise.

Many of you all blame illegal drugs and not one has mentioned the legal one called Alcohol. The biggest pushers are the Government and Big business. Yes, all drugs have contributed to the rise in crime and that includes Alcohol.

Alcohol has contributed to many of the domestic violence crimes that occur in our homes. We see nothing wrong with getting drunk and driving. We see nothing wrong with drinking till we drop. We see nothing wrong in boasting how pissing drunk we were at the last fete. Many murders occur at the doorstep of rum shops.

It is a sign of class when we sip the latest signature drink, we have finally arrived to a place where others haven’t as yet.

We keep comparing ourselves with others, but remember they were once the same place were are today.

15. Correction

“We keep comparing ourselves with others, but remember they were once the same place we are today.”

16. Interesting to note that the young man who lost his life in the motorbike accident in Deacons last week was as a result of performing a ‘wheelie’, he slammed into a pole and as they say the rest is history.

17. @ David ,Even before any report came out of the biker doing wheelies, many had already come to the conclusion that he was doing so,as it is now another of those unchecked practices. My sympathy to the wall. Bicyclists are now following suit.
    What has become of the issue concerning quads? Has it been swept under the carpet after the usual 7 day bru-hah-hah? They are now riding at nights with little blue lights to the front in place of headlamps. And added to our worries as motorists, the Sedgeways are now being ridden on the highways. I saw some four of five of them traversing Baxters Road. How is the rider going to signal his/her intention to turn?.
    My point is if the authorities have not got the guts, the will, or the inclination to caution/report/penalise kids on bikes, and bigger kids on quads/scramblers and Sedgeways, how do they expect to tackle hardened criminals?

18. How can the Police penalise a person riding on the street with a Sedgeway, when they themselves do it. I saw one just a few days ago on the street in Ch.Ch. near to Trident Ins new building, riding away on his Sedgeway, quite honest, he liked so stupid. Alcohol contributes to the crime and violence but illegal drugs is the biggest bugbearer.

19. What can we expect in society, when large corporations and political leaders engage in obfuscation, questionable actions and generally unacceptable behaviour?

Here is a prime example from the AP.

Nigeria drops Halliburton bribery charges

AP

Thursday, 23 December 2010

Nigeria has has dropped charges against Dick Cheney, the former US vice-president, over bribery allegations involving the energy giant Halliburton after an out-of-court settlement was agreed.

Nigeria’s anti-corruption watchdog, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, said the charges were dropped on Friday after Halliburton agreed to pay fines up to $250m (£162m) over allegations it paid millions of dollars in bribe to Nigerian officials.

Halliburton, which has previously said the claims had no legal basis, confirmed that the charges had been dropped, but declined to further comment on the case.

The Nigerian commission said it received the settlement offer when it met with officials representing Mr Cheney and Halliburton in London last week after 16-count charges were filed at a federal high court in Abuja.

-Interesting, no?

In another article, the Nigeria Minister for Justice and Attorney General is quoted as saying ””As a result of government’s resolve to prosecute those indicted, Julius Berger, Siemens, Saipem, Technip, and Halliburton Inc. were charged to court. To avert prosecution, these companies approached us with various settlement options for consideration,” he said.”

– How can we expect developing countries to achieve, when alleged collusion between mulitnationals and political leaders strip these countries of their wealth, of their development?

While the companies are after one thing and one thing at the exclusion of all else i.e. profits, the nationals of these countries are ebtraying their nations by resorting to such practices in order to enrich themselves.

Maybe it is too Utopian an idea otherwise, but why must so many politicians be corrupt?

They can’t take the money with them to the grave, just like the business leaders who recieve those multimillion bonuses, for achieving ‘growth and profits’, which may or may not really exist.

In fact, chances are that growth and profits are not really sustainable, but enough to get each company by for a few years.

Unfortunately, the siutation now does not forgive too much manipulation, the economies are too weak.