Submitted by Ras Jahaziel

Click image to learn more

In Barbados, children of The Disinherited celebrating “Independence” day. In the USA, children of The Disinherited and the mis-educated celebrating Thanks-giving day.

What a happy people we are, PATRIOTIC TO THE LAND LORD, CELEBRATING OUR OWN ENSLAVEMENT, AND TRYING TO PROVE TO THE WORLD THAT THE NEGRO HAS THE MIND OF A CHILD.

The greatest success of The Colonizing Enterprise has been its ability to infuse amongst its subjects, by means of education, a false sense of nationalism, so that each slave would narrow his vision of nationhood to the confines of the plantation.

Such educated ignorance has kept the islands of the Caribbean clinging to midget-budget-oriented politics in the pursuit of sustaining the unsustainable, while nurturing the youth with self-delusionary myths that were bound to produce psychic alienation from any thought of calling to purpose and calling to destiny.

Failure to tell the children the truth is thus the main reason why so many of them have filled their spiritual vacuums with the wines of materialism, anarchy, and self-destruction.

So through all the clouds of celebratory euphoria what is this puzzling phenomenon that we are seeing today? Here on one side we see Slaves thanking the same White God that blessed slavery. And over yonder what else are we seeing? A creature of Colonialism called “a proud Bajan” singing anthems that mock his intelligence and seek to make of him a fool; and he stands at attention loudly proclaiming “these fields and  hills  are now our very  own” and never questioning WHERE ARE OUR FIELDS AND WHERE ARE OUR HILLS?

After being robbed of land and labor for four hundred years are we not entitled to have some fields and hills of our very own? Are we to be proud of being robbed for four hundred years and left behind here in these rented tenements where not even a yam or potato can grow and every single morsel is owned and controlled by The Inheritors?

How come we are supposed to be free and nearly every learned man with letters behind his name still has a master?

Haile Selassie warned African people not to be deceived by “Emancipation and Independence declarations” that exist on paper only. Here is what he had to say about independence that only exists in an anthem:

SEE VIDEO AND THE REST OF HAILE SELASSIE’S WORDS AT LINK BELOW

1. This submission was sent to a mailbox which BU accesses infrequently.

Our apology to Ras Jahaziel.

The submission remains relevant after Independence.

2. Relevant, David? Maybe there’s something wrong with me, but I don’t find the submission even intelligible…what’s Ras Jahaziel trying to say, exactly?

3. @Paul

Have a reread man!

4. I read it again, David. (three times more, actually)..still bemused at the whole thing…

I pick the following excerpt for special mention because the author used capital letters in one phrase, so I assume he considers it a particularly important point:

“A creature of Colonialism called “a proud Bajan” singing anthems that mock his intelligence and seek to make of him a fool; and he stands at attention loudly proclaiming “these fields and hills are now our very own” and never questioning WHERE ARE OUR FIELDS AND WHERE ARE OUR HILLS?”

Our fields and hills are in Barbados, right? Or is he saying they are in Ethiopia with Haile Selassie’s bones?

5. A very timely, poignant and refreshing article. Mr Paul Barnes I think what Brother Ras is alluding to is that here in Bim in essence we are still slaves in the modern sense. Because in my book any country where most of its productive lands and shorelines which are own by foreigners cannot be really free and that is the status of most of our caribbean territories.

6. Here is some more intervention from Ras:

As a prelude to the attached article that follows let us review Haile Selassie’s words about independence again:

"However, this achievement (independence) can not redound to the credit of African peoples if independence attained is one in name only. In such a situation, the emergence from colonialism is but illusory, and the use of the word "independence" would constitute not only a distortion, but also a disservice to the cause of African freedom by erecting a screen behind which  those same foreign influences which hitherto were revealed to the world as colonialist interests could, in disguise, continue to operate."

SEE article below that was written in 2009 

http://rastafarivisions.com/matrix2c.html

Included in the article is a reference to an earlier article that looks at the THE EVOLUTION OF SLAVERY in greater detail, Here is the link for those that are not too busy to unravel the colonial mystery.

http://www.rastafarivisions.com/wageslave2.html

7. Quote: “Failure to tell the children the truth is thus the main reason why so many of them have filled their spiritual vacuums with the wines of materialism, anarchy, and self-destruction”.

Having read the above, I waited with expectation, wanting the author to tell me these truths, but they did not appear, for that I felt sad. “This is not a criticism,” as my appetite was receptive, and the identification of “materialism, anarchy and self-destruction” as it applied to black people would have been helpful. Perhaps I am being pedantic, in saying do not tell me of the garden of fulfilment but show me “how to get there.”

I have always found the “images” on display with this “genre” a little disturbing. . . a place I don’t want to go, but that is personal.

8. What is this jackass presenting as an alternative? That we all bow down and worship Ras Tafari the black decedent of Jesus?

Anyone following a religion that is not built on logic cannot lead us anywhere.

Rah Jahaziel or whatever it chooses to call itself needs to go back to the bush and smoke some more weed (not to be taken literally of course – smoke tea leaves). Stay there and leave civilized peoples alone to get along.
    Start with personal grooming (wash that dirty smelly hair – it offends the public), stop thieving (civilized societies are run by the rule of law and order), believe in a real religion (if any at all); then you can present us with an alternative model of society.
    Until such time, you and your kind have absolutely no moral authority upon which to stand in criticism of modern civilized society.
    If Barbados is not good enough for you, try living in Ethiopia or Sudan and come back and tell us how welcome you were as a black warrior and follower of Ras Tafari (the biggest fraud in black history).

9. @ Cuddear

Wow, that’s a little harsh, don’t you think?

10. Written by someone uncomfortable in their own skin – poor creature.

11. One of the best articles written on this blog

Kudos to Ras
    This is the kind of stuff that we need
    Of course there will be those who are too blind to see the importance of the points put forward in this article.

12. @ David

Dave, when its convenient could you check your e-mails? I just e-mailed you an interesting message. Thanks.

13. @de hood

Thanks, will have a look.

14. This is a question that has always puzzled me. Just how independent are the “independent” countries of the Caribbean?
    How independent can we be when all we have done is exchanged one set of “colonisers” for another? Isn’t that what in reality we have done? These new “colonisers” that we call “government” can come and tell us, the taxpayers, who pay their salaries that “if we (taxpayers) don’t like what they (guv’ment) are doing then we can all lump it”! These new “colonisers” (political elites), as soon as the votes are finished being counted, arbitrarily appoint themselves our “Masters” to whom we are now expected to pay obeisance and to whom we are now also expected to defer! And we consider ourselves “independent”? Do we really need a guv’ment consisting of some 18 (or more) “ministers” to govern perhaps something like 130,000 adults? Can anyone imagine a private enterprise being SUCCESSFULLY operated with so may CEOs? What mass confusion will prevail, as does now, with the top heavy guv’ment that we are forced to endure? Just a few thoughts folk. I wonder what views my pal ROKie might have on this topic?

15. Cuddear
    wait soul, you like acid rain. wah happen wid ya? Loll
    As fa de smelly hair, sum bald heads does smell stink as ass too hear not ta mention de women dat like all de mockass donkey hair pun dem hed. so it in fair ta stigmatize me bred’ren so. i know a few a de bred’ren dat sexy as shoiteee. Seitu dat got de leather craff shop upstairs Eagle Hall market. evrytime we meet n greet wid lil hugs n lil smooches, i does get cole-bumps all ova. Certin parts a me dat i did nevva kno cudda get cole-bumps, does got dem.tawk bout a sexy dread-lox brotha.chawwwwwwwwwwwwww.

16. great article ras reflects alot of what is being said on th streets independence for african peoples is purely cosmetic the queen and her inbred kin have now been replaced by with tht imf, the world bank world death sorry health organization which are been run by her distant cousins

17. Let me tell wunna bout slavery in Barbados today.
    Yuh see that mortgage, now if I ain’t slaving to pay the bank I ain’t doing nutton.
    Yuh see de piece o car, every month I got to look for money to pay fuh um, every year I got to pay road tax and insurance. Every week um want gas or some part or de udder. How yuh think I does get the money? More slaving.
    Then I got de children to send school, got to feed dum, got to clothes dum, got to put down a lil something in case duh tek sick.
    Light bill, water bill, fone and gas, top-ups fuh de cell phone, internet, land tax….
    I don’t mek money, sell drugs nor thief, so I got to slave.

I could have taken my time and built a little house and told the bank where to stuff their mortgage. I could have fixed the raleigh and left the people’s car in the showroom. The two door fridge, flat screen tv and home theatre should still be in the store catching cobwebsLet me tell wunna bout slavery in Barbados today.
    Yuh see that mortgage, now if I ain’t slaving to pay the bank I ain’t doing nutton.
    Yuh see de piece o car, every month I got to look for money to pay fuh um, every year I got to pay road tax and insurance. Every week um want gas or some part or de udder. How yuh think I does get the money? More slaving.
    Then I got de children to send school, got to feed dum, got to clothes dum, got to put down a lil something in case duh tek sick.
    Light bill, water bill, fone and gas, top-ups fuh de cell phone, internet, land tax….
    I don’t mek money, sell drugs nor thief, so I got to slave.

Society would have said that I am nobody, but I should have taken my time and built a little house and told the bank where to stuff their mortgage. I should have fixed the Raleigh and left the people’s car in their showroom. The two door fridge, flat screen tv and home theatre should be still in the store catching cobwebs.

I confess, my slave mentality has me in this position. Today I am somebody, but oh how I wish I was a nobody.

18. Having read some of the other contributions, I’m starting to get a glimmer of understanding (I think) for Ras Jahaziel’s point. It seems to be that the day-to-day existence that we currently enjoy/endure is no better than the days of enslaved African labour in Barbados. If we accept this, I don’t know what that does to the fabric on which our society is built, but let’s say that we do accept it, for the sake of argument. What is the “solution”? Maybe Ras Jahaziel has created a problem for a solution that he wishes could be implemented? It seems that way to me, but maybe I am too cynical.

Rather than have us speculate, I wish he would tell us how we can become independent, in his view. Or maybe there is no nationalistic “we” in the first place…

19. @PAul

Rather than have us speculate, I wish he would tell us how we can become independent, in his view. Or maybe there is no nationalistic “we” in the first place…

Interesting point you have jumped off on.

20. The problem with articles such as this is that the authors are writing from a position of relative wealth and comfort and have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA about what it was like to be a slave. To be forced to work for nothing. To be aboslutely deprived of freedom of any kind, including freedom of expression. Cuddear, even the inhabitants of Dodds have that! Consider the plight of the Haitians right now. Do you think that they are thinking about mental slavery at this time when they would take the Bajan lifestyle in a shot? It really is time to get real and count your blessings rather than crab about abstract notions of “independence”.

21. Here we are discussing independence of State when as the CBC debacle indicates there is an absence of independent broadcasts on our state-owned television. Best & Mason is too expensive but the “DLPeople’s Business” is not.

22. Peltdownman, you are complaining about freedom of expression while blogging anonymously?
    @ Enuff,
    Personally I think Best & Mason was overrated, but I take your point. CBC will always be a political football. The newspapers were too…until the blogs came along. lol

23. Very interesting. If you look through history no people have ever been truly free; Just moved from one feudal system into another.

24. What is freedom?
    “Free will, the purported ability of agents to make choices free from certain kinds of constraints.

Political freedom, the absence of interference with the sovereignty of an individual by the use of cocercion or aggression.

Economic freedom, the freedom to produce, trade and consume any goods and services acquired without the use of force, fraud or theft”
    Wikipedia

If we use the above criteria, there are many countries whose citizens are not free. . .they have degrees of freedom. That is not surprising, because there is never “total freedom” in a society. The individual has to give up certain freedoms to be a part of society, the alternative is to live hermit like, to do as one wishes, without constraints.

Often those who say we are slaves – and we might be – are never able to show us examples of a people who are “totally free”, and who live a life most of us would aspire to. .I know not of that utopia.

25. @anonus
    I’m not complaining, the AUTHOR is complaining! By the way, is it Tony Anonus, David Anonus, or George Anonus?

26. I see some here trying to catch water with a sieve!

@Ras Jahaziel…….Your article is pregnant with stark realities, realities that are blinding to your average go-along-to-get-along bajan.