Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler will deliver his first budget

A recent KPMG’s Individual Income Tax and Social Security Rate Survey 2010 Report exposes a reversal in a global seven year trend of decline in top personal income tax rates. Barbados was not part of the sample group of countries used in the survey but there is enough food for though tossed-up by the survey’s findings. Of interest in the survey is a review of social security contributions when combined with individual taxes collected.

Barbados along with many countries across the globe (developed and developing)continue to battle the issue of how to effectively allocate dwindling national resources in the face of a protracted global economic slowdown. Managing an economy which is dependant on tourism, offshore sector, inflows from remittances and foreign direct investment makes the task more difficult compared to other economies which own natural resources and are export oriented.

The recent announcement by the government to present the budget on Monday (22 November 2010) will be followed by all and sundry with a heightened interest for several reasons.

In the prevailing environment where countries have been running cap in hand to the international financial agencies, Barbados has resisted, but it has come at a price. The expanding deficit as a result of government’s policy of building a social safety nets while maintaining our army of occupation in central government and statutory corporations, has been reflected in a higher deficit than desirable. To be expected credit rating agencies have not reacted well to the current state of affairs and Barbados has suffered the indignity of a downgrade in our sovereign rating. One peg above junk status.

The budget will be presented by rookie Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler. He will have to face off against former Prime Minster Owen Arthur who is an economist by training and was at the helm of government during the boom years. For many Barbadians there is a warm feeling which comes from the memory of the BLP years in government. Sinckler’s unenviable job to present what will have to be an austere budget will challenge the most loyal DLP supporter in the prevailing economic circumstances. His political stock is sure to rise or fall after Tuesday night.

Early in 2010 the embattled former Minister of Economic Affairs David Estwick went public with the view “the economic situation in Barbados is so bad that there is need for a wage freeze and the sale of state assets to help Dr. David Estwick the government ride out the situation.” Subsequent statements by Late Prime Minister David Thompson appear to distance himself from Estwick. His subsequent transfer to the Ministry of Agriculture confirmed what was leaked into the public domain, key stakeholders in government were (are?) not singing from the same song sheet on the appropriate economic policy to implement. Sinckler was anointed by late Prime Minister David Thompson and his economic pronouncements are likely to conflict with those held by Estwick. Of interest will be to what extent Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart has exerted a contrary view on the compilation of the budget now that he has the full reins of government. Only then will the public get a sense of whether David Estwick will assume greater influence in the financial decision making of a future Stuart cabinet.

On the other side of the divide independents will be listening to Arthur carefully to discern whether he offers an economic prescription relevant to the unprecedented times at hand. Some will evaluate how Mia Mottley, Cynthia Forde and Rawle Eastmond have assimilated into the Arthur regime.  How quickly Arthur can give the appearance his team is a cohesive group two years from a constitutionally due election becomes critical if the BLP wants to be taken seriously as the government in waiting.

Will Barbadians see a government continuing to implement Thompson’s economic plan? Will we see Fruendel Stuart emerge as the Aristotle of his time? Appropriate given his penchant for the classics.  It is noteworthy Aristotle is believed to be the one who discovered logic, a desirable characteristic to possess in troubled times.

1. @ BAFBFP | November 23, 2010 at 10:15 PM |

Robin, my friend, my very good friend, back down man, this discussion’s a lil’ bit beyond your sighting kit… seriously, try another day perhaps
    Please expand, good buddy, not sure I am reading you right. Help mih out,nah?

2. “I want to know from you who has the passwords for the Barbados Labour Party website and would not turn them over to Owen?”

I want to know from you who has made Chris Sinckler a Minister of Finance or who wrote the presentation for him which he read so poorly?
    Was he nervous?
    Owen doesnt need the passwords to a website. This country needs his genius and expertise, now more than ever.
    Or you know what, maybe the electorate should give the DLP five more years and let them screw things up COMPLETELY.

3. @ Carson C. Cadogan | November 24, 2010 at 3:46 PM |

de hood
    I want to know from you who has the passwords for the Barbados Labour Party website. . . . .
    Well “Sir”, seeing as how I am not privy to any politician’s information I would believe that I would be just about the last person that could be sought out for any such information. However, if you were to ask me to take a guess I might suggest that only a good political pimp would know such and I would then call to mind someone with the initials “CCC”! So tell us CCC could it be you who has that information?

4. @ Cuddear | November 24, 2010 at 4:15 PM

You asked quote:- “I want to know from you who has made Chris Sinckler a Minister of Finance or who wrote the presentation for him which he read so poorly?” End quote.
    May I suggest to you that dead men tell no tales, so it would be futile to go that route now. However, Mr. Sinckler would also have had the assistance of the technocrats from the MOF along with the one who cannot tell any tales now! 🙂
    BTW, did you say “read”? Perhaps you meant to say “bumbled through”?

5. I score Owen A, Mia B+, Chris Sinckler B, Toppin B. The rest would get from C to B-except for Kenny Best D-.
    Owen was thorough and you could follow his line of reasoning, you did not feel to fall asleep. Mia was at her best, more focussed except for that last part that was out of place and should have been ruled out-had nothing to do with budget (she should cry at home and support her party in public)
    Chris was disappointing. I expected to see him more on top of his game; he appeared to be just reading and not doing it well except for the occasional piece. He looked like an amateur but gets a B because of the task he was required to face.
    Toppin was well researched and stuck to the issue( except for some of his rash statements up front which spoiled his performance
    Richard Sealy spent too much time “cussing” Owen and lost focus; his spunk was out of place; that wild swinging is for a tailender.
    Rawle Eastmond could have been better if he did not come with those trite proposals which he knows have limited practicality; seemed to have issues that should have been left outside-did I hear him make a snide attack on his leader?
    Believe Freundel will come good. Did not hear Estwick but heard he was good.
    Dr. Sookoo looks good but still naive and should bring substance and leave out the wishwashy stuff; needs to read more and get into the deep issues.
    As for Kenny Best , he should speak the language of Parliament, English and put his brain in motion.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

JennyM
    I just wasted two seconds of my life reading your post. It won’t happen again.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anonymous | November 24, 2010 at 3:58 PM |

“I hope you’ll still be around here making all your silly remarks after the next general elections.”

Whether in Government or in Opposition, the Barbados Labour Party is more fun than a barrel of monkeys.

8. @ CCC

Just one question of you, “Sir”? Am I supposed to believe that you take yourself seriously with the drivel you post here? And you are supposed to be the manager of an hotel in Barbados! What level of manager though! I did say one question but let ask just one more. Are your employers aware of the real level of your IQ?

9. This country is in a sorry state. We have an economy which is in trouble and this gov’t has presented a budget, which was misguided. People from all around applauded the budget without thought or expertise; would be economists with no practical experience have sought to justify the provisions no doubt contributed to its design. But we had a budget that cast the burden of the pain on the poor and working classs people aided and abetted by a union tied by the tail and joined at the hip to the Democratic Labour Party. I could not believe it. I waited to here what Owen Arthur had to say. As I thought he could have dealt it with this blindfolded. That was a class act of demonstrating his mastery of the B’dian economy and the expertise of over 20 years of managing this economy. Succintly and with ease of the expert identified the folly of the proposals, its danger to the livelihood of Barbadians and offered an approach. It will make the difference to hardship and further loss and easing through these difficulties with minimum damage to the economy.

Our immature politics will not allow for this gov’t to take the advice and change course. If only hard ears yuh wont hear, own way yuh gine feel applied to this situation, but unfortunately hard ears, incompetent and ignorant DLP will not hear but it is Bajans who gine feel. So Barbadians will have to suffer and lose homes, businesses and God knows what else.

10. And to think this methodology was documented by Machiavelli back in the 1500s (in the year of our lord).

For anyone interested, the language and thoughts are public domain.

http://www.constitution.org/mac/prince00.htm

11. @ C halsall And to think this methodology was documented by Machiavelli back in the 1500s (in the year of our lord).

Typical whitey. Typical whitey huff-puff.

12. @bajantodebone: “Typical whitey. Typical whitey huff-puff.

Thank you for that.

Anyone else wish to speak to my points, rather than simply insult me because of my colour?

13. Negroman
    I hope you have heard the reply from the main speakers from the BLP. I was at a funeral yesterday evening and I was out today, so I didn’t get to hear any of the main speakers from the BLP i.e Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley. Give me your opinion of the situation and a balanced position of how the reply went.

14. @ Chris Halsall

So CH you really “white”? Would that be “Bajan White”? Or “European White”?

15. @ The Scout

You a comedian or what? You asking Negroman for a what? A “balanced position” on the budget reply from the BLP? Man you really good with your “stand up act”! Why you don’t ask him if he gine vote BLP next year too?

16. @de hood: “Would that be “Bajan White”? Or “European White”?

Canadian. Big difference.

We cross the road to get to the middle. (No matter what our skin happens to reflect or absorb….)

17. JC
    I wid you girl. Doan mind de BLP magicians. Dem cud tawk til de cowz cum home, dem in got de ansa ta nutton. So wunna all BLP yardfowls including de traitor Scout, hush wunna ass do.

Yardbroom
    Well said, as usual. Respect to you Sir.

Carson C
    Doan leh dese khunts silence you. Tawk ya tawk ma boy.

Owen look n sound even mo deada dhan my beloved D. T. He could really go up by Downs n Wilson n lay down in a coffin n beg dem ta embalm he.
    stupseeeeeeeeeee.

18. de Hood
    Who should I ask You? I don’t know you, I ask who I want to,you have a problem with that too? Who-ever negroman votes for is his business not mine not yours, all I would ask any of you to do is whenever elections are called excerise your rights that my ancestors fought hard for, the rest is up to you.

19. @ CH

You said:- “Canadian. Big difference.”
    Yeah OK. If you say so. Last time I checked though people of your complexion were “pinkish”. And dem “Bajan Whites” only get fool if dem think dem “white” after all de centuries of interracial mixing here in Bim. But I guess dem is more dan welcom’ to dem opinion. 🙂

20. @ The Scout

You said quote:- “. . . . all I would ask any of you to do is whenever elections are called excerise your rights that my ancestors fought hard for . . . . .” End quote.
    So, Scoutie, wuh you tink, we lookin at February or March fuh de vote?
    BTW, no need to get so abrasive wid ol hoodie yuh know. I jes hey enjoyin’ l’il fun.

21. I turned to Ch 8 for a few moments just now, and my P.M was on, to me he was the same drab Freundel Stuart, no wonder the party insiders are clamouring for Sinckler. He asked a question “If the BLP was doing such a good job, why did the people vote against them in 2008? Mr stuart, let me try to answer you, because the BLP ran out of ideas and their leader became vindictive and started to become a white man puppet or poppet. My question to Stuart is, why did the people vote against the DLP in 76 ? The answer is because the DLP ran out of ideas. I believe no party should have more than two terms in office unless there is a redical change within the party including a new leader. I also believe that Owen Arthur only won one term on his own steam. His first term , the people voted against the DLP because of the fiasco they had. The second term is the only one Owen really won and it was reflected in the amount of seats the party won. Again the third term, a new controversy between Thompson and Mascoll resulted in the people having to return to the BLP. I am convinced that had the DLP not have their problems then, the people would have voted for them then and we would have had five more years of David Thompson. I am glad that Owen didn’t call elections in 2006 because he would have won and only God knows what would have happened to this little country. I see a refreshed Own Arthur now and if he and Mia can get their problems solved, then the DLP have a fight on their hands.

22. de Hood
    P.M Stuart and the DLP would be mad to call elections in early 2011. Bajans will start feeling the austerity of the budget from the 1st Dec and it is going to effect their christmas and new year’s shopping. Jan. is usually the hardest month in the year and next Jan. is going to be particularly difficult, so for P.M Stuart to call elections in Feb or March would be saying , he can’t handle the job and handing it back to the BLP on a silver platter. Since P.M Stuart didn’t call a snap elections now, his best bet is to run a full term. One must also remember that the estimates for the next financial years will have to be brought to parliament around that same time and judging from the budget, it would not be a pretty sight.

23. Immediate above Scout

Agree with everything except the refreshed Own Arthur bit. I too just can’ get Freundel Stuart like … and I trying real hard tah be fair …!

24. Five more years of a David Thompson led government!! Folk, I don’t know how many of you may be masochists but surely I ain’t one. All I have to say about that is that the Good Lord in His wisdom really knows what He is doing! Amen to that, people.

25. @ The Scout

But Scoutie what other choice he gine have wen de cats get amongst the pigeons in de DEMS camp? Yuh tink de BLP got problems now, jes wait fuh de new year to open & then yuh gine see circus time when the DEMS all want to be “Big Chief” with all the squaws and no braves (warriors).

26. Bonny Peppa
    Why did you call me a traitor? I NEVER pretend to be a supporter of any particular party. I praise or criticise both parties for things they both do. I would be untruthful if I told you that any one party didn’t do well for Barbados. We have been blessed with good leaders from both parties, that’s why we are the envy of the caribbean. I stand guity to you or anyone else for giving a balanced view, AS I SEE IT, I may be wrong but I’m only human. The true traitor is the one who was a B when the B’s were in and is now a D now the D’s are in. For me I take the middle road and see developments from both sides, and it feels goooooood, because I can look any of them in their face and tell them honestly how i feel and know that none of them can hold anything against me. That’s why I LOVED David Thompson, we could have some strong disagreements but at the end of the day we were still friends and he liked it so. He once told me that whenever I criticise him about something, he always went back and reflected on it because he knows I’m genuine.

27. de Hood
    As I’ve stated before, P.M Stuart’s biggest problem is in the reshuffling of his cabinet, and it has gotten worse now after Sinckler did a reasonable job as a first timer in a difficult situation.
    Stuart has to put some space between himself and Sinckler, plus he must elevate his friend David Estwick back to economics. Then David and Sinckler will mix like water and oil, so Stuart has to tread softly but mash a few corns if he wants to succeed. Again as I’ve said before, the BLP is having their problems now, but if the DLP get theirs too close to elections, you would see how quickly Owen and his group will merge with Mia and her group. Traditionally, the DLP take a much longer time to resolve their differences.

28. I just listened to Chris Sinckler’s wrap up speech. It was the best political speech of this debate. Freundel Stuart’s speech was OK but not for a Prime Minister. Chris Sinckler’s speech had passion, humour, depth, great knowledge. It lacked only the refinement that comes with time. Again if I were to give grades. I rank it with Mia Mottley’s A+. Freundel Stuart’s would be a B.

I think this Budget debate has identified the two great leaders of the future. Chris Sinckler and Mia Mottley.

29. I am of the opinion that FREUDEL STUART IS NOT TOO WELL

I SEE THAT HE PUT ON WEIGHT around the middle –always a bad sign
    When I looked at the previous PM . I saw certain signs and I made a prediction that has come to pass. At that time I saw Chris as PM –we shall see what we shall.
    to you GYPOCRITES–DLP roadfowls –not yardfowls-roadfowls are worse than yardfowls –roadfowls go into the gutter
    Freudel is 61 YEARS OLD; OWEN IS 61 too ———dont talk about age with one and not the other.

30. KISSMYA
    You din see de ‘signs’ to forewarn Mia ’bout de eminent danger ahead? you crystal ball lenz like um cloudy ya. careful.

Scout
    when i compare previous posts with recent posts you have me concerned. you never were a fence-sitter, you were for DLP. you never denied or disowned that fact. but of recent, i am wondering. i have a problem with persons who ‘run with the hare n hunt with the hound’. you either are or you aren’t. your democratic rite. and you seem to be looking for every opportunity to discredit us. yes, i am one. and proud to be. i will sink with the ship. i don’t support half-hearted. just like de west indies cricketers, i support them when they’re winning and when they’re losing. I don’t selll my birth-rite sa easy.
    just my observation but i still respect you muchly.

BAF
    What is it about him that you hate? His demeanour? He’s not a charasmatic leader but that doesn’t make him any less a leader. give my PM a chance pleezeeeeeee. he’s a gentle-man, Sinckler is more ‘rough round de edges’.

de hood
    you endure all dem years unda Owen and if ya had ta do um unda David, ya woulda till God call ya. doan mek sport. trus me. party allegiance is just dat, party allegiance. fa real.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Before trying to take on Chris”The Lion” Sinckler,
    Owen should have listened to
    Johnny Clarke’s “Don’t Trouble, Trouble”.

I am sure he would have remained in Antigua.

32. Bonny Peppa
    You said I never denied nor disowned that I’m for the DLP, you’re right. When challenged, I made it clear I was a active member of the DLP, very active, but after the death of Eroll Barrow and the foolishness that went on afterwards I lost interest and over the years I have matured and stop seeing politics through the eyes of the DLP. I will NEVER be a member of the BLP but I remain nutural with a slight bias towards the DLP. Idon’t know why that is so hard to understand, and I make no apologises to anyone for the position I’ve taken, my conscience is clear, I can say things the way I see things and feel no committment to any party or person.

33. CHRIS SINCKLER has only become Arthur with a nasty stinging tongue. When you get rid of one here comes another. A speech only to impress the ignorant, biased and intellectually challenged. But it proves three things. Sinckler is not ready, nor is Stuart. Sinkler is given some advice to relieve the pain he is about inflict on the Bajans the DEMS love to say they love. What does he do, ignore one half and to the other half we going to be ‘looking at it’. Both he and Stuart shrug their shoulders there has to be pain, but you can reduce the pain. No. Their response: ‘Many countries having pain and Bajans need to get some too. We gine make sure they get it. ‘Like if it is a blasted fashion. Indifferent bastards, and uncaring jackasses.

Ignorant as billy goats tied to a pump. Well how much is 2.5% increase in the VAT, says Stuart. Are you a mass murderer or a blinking lunatic. It is 150m dollars out of pockets reducing spending from the economy, which is already happening. Corporation tax fell by 240m this year, yu joke. What will it fall by now. Can you not think? How does it make sense to say you do not want to do layoffs in the public sector when the increased costs, taxes and resulting inflation will fold businesses in the retail sectors, resulting in major private sector job losses. Those aint jobs too. Those losess affect the economy too. If you sell the shares as suggested by Arthur, take care of this year, and growth you project will take care of deficit in subsequent years. Stuart shrugs, Sinckler bulldozes ahead without pause. SO WHAT. WHO CARES ? Obviously not them.

Cynical and uncommitted. Could you imagine that the gov’t and private sector is spending money on the NISE initiative and they are trying hard to raise the level of service, critical to our productivity and profitability as a nation dependent on tourism. Now more than ever needed as part of our strategy to increase GDP growth. Sinckler with the callous indifference that characterises his style and character, utters disparaging remarks about NISE. How do you recover confidence in the programme, what signal did you send the nation. They can never take NISE seriously after this. In one statement, crippled. What an arrogant destructive fool. I could never take this lot of DEMS seriously as people who will handle this economy and provide the necessary leadership to build a society.

This abuse of the blind affection some Barbadians still have for theDLP, you have their soul but you abuse that trust and confidence engendered by their ignorance. You make a political calculation, that they will still love you. The DLP has become like a man who beats his wife, knowing she is too dumb to leave him; too lacking in self-esteem, who will say I know he does beat me but I know he loves me.

People who could listen to that and feel that they can still support this gov’t , deserves the pain they will undoubtedly get next year. It is a pity I have to share it.

34. BAJAN TRUTH
    Ditto to you on all counts.
    DITTO.
    (de circus lookin fa klowns, ga long)

Scout
    Mawnin hunny-bee. Life can be beautiful. ‘doan worry, be happy’.

35. Of course the greatest irony of all is that David Thompson invited Owen Arthur to breakfast meetings.
    Oh dear.

36. @ Bonny Peppa

Good to hear from you again, Bon. Let me tell you now that ol hoodie ain’t any “party man”, literally nor figuratively. I don’t smoke, take alcohol, nor inject, nor sniff any substance, so that would prove I ain’t in no “party” thing.
    What I want to draw to your attention though is that since the 1970s any time the DEMs party ran the government, Barbados always ended up being pushed to the edge of the precipice financially. I don’t know the reason why or who may be responsible but that is just what happened each time the DEMs were in charge. The facts are there for anyone who wants to do the research. Now, don’t fly off misunderstanding me, it is your personal business to support whomsoever you so wish (and I fully support you or anyone else for so doing) but at the same time do not be ready to rush off to denigrate anyone else who wishes to make other choices. You following me so far? What I am saying is that we can all agree to disagree with no offense meant and, I hope, none taken. Capiche?

37. de hood
    and we are entitled to our opinion of who is better to lead the country everytime. party allegiance will take precedence. Sandy made some serious structural adjustments which made him unpopular and then the ‘other’ side benefited from said adjustments. we have had good governance over de years from eitha side, if truth be told.
    Kapish?

38. @ BP
    “we have had good governance over de years from eitha side, if truth be told.”
    Yes, but only because Bajans are a bit more docile than a lot of others. 🙂

39. @Bonny Peppa | November 25, 2010 at 1:22 PM | de hood
    and we are entitled to our opinion of who is better to lead the country everytime. party allegiance will take precedence. Sandy made some serious structural adjustments which made him unpopular and then the ‘other’ side benefited from said adjustments. we have had good governance over de years from eitha side, if truth be told.
    Kapish?
    ———————————–
    Sandiford was an idiot. From the time he took office in 1987 unemployment began to rise and foreign exchange reserves began to drop. Sandy was like a deer in the night staring into the headlights of an oncoming truck and just waiting to be ran over. The S&L crisis in America then made things worst for Barbados. If Sandy had any sense he would have arrested the situation much earlier by implementing VAT, and avoid the pressure that came later from the IMF where he then had to cut wages by 8%. Furthermore, Sandy was a bully in his own camp which led to some of his own members voting against him in the “no confidence motion”. Finally de idiot decided to call elections and the Bees took over. Now you kin like dat or lump it.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“What an arrogant destructive fool. I could never take this lot of DEMS seriously”

We all know that, you prefer the crooked Barbados Labour Party. I am positive that you benefited from the “lick out” money of the crooked Barbados Labour Party and now you miss it badly. Your cash flow must be a mess.

We know, we know!

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

I feel your pain. The gravy train stopped and now you are at your wits end.

42. Goodnight Irene. Avatar

Senator Irene is reported to have said that what happened to Mia was a gender bias issue. She allegedly went on to say that a MAN would never be removed in that way.
    Where you bin all this time Irene?

You remember a man called Clyde Mascoll? Clyde not only had the DLP leadership confiscated from him in the most unkind way, but he was literally hog-tied, chased to the door at George Street and thrown into the road. Wuh kinda gender bias that is Irene?

43. Anonymous
    Tanks fa de His’try lessun. You’re brilliant. Oh my Gawdddddd. We can’t be all rocket scientis like you. I tip my hat to you Sir. wowwwwwwwwwwwwwww, and you said it all in one breff. Amazinnnnnnnnnnnn.
    You watch de ‘idiot’ from you side las nite get he ballz rub? ouchhhhh, dat had ta hurtzzzzzz. We like we got idiots full-circle. Watchyaaaaaaaa.

Goodnight Irene
    I sorry a nuff I din passin thru George St. dah nite dat I coulda gih he a good hard kick in he ass too.
    Mia get sympathy from all circles but he get boo so you do de maffs.

44. Here’s a question for Loveridge. How come Sinckler, did not go public with the fact that accommodation VAT was increasing to 8.75%. Why did min Hutson lie to the public when he said it was not being raised. Yet Ministry of Finance PS Layne has been heard to confirm the increase

Is it that Sinckler is not really in charge but is a puppet on a string.

45. @ Serenity

Please, I dont care about journalists who do not report, but just regurgitate what is published in other media, days later. Avinash may be respected in your neck of the woods, but not in mine. Where I am, he is a nobody.

I know all about the BLP. I WAS one of them. Pure laine! Dyed blue, until the great waste, patronage, selling land to foreigners for peanuts, displacing the locals, feeding at the taxpayers trough, buying luxury condos and plantations on MPs salaries, cost over-runs, etc., etc.

The final straw was when Owen sent that lick mout piggy Glyne Murray overseas as a diplomat. That man does not have one diplomatic bone in e body. He talk official confidential business with he whoremonger and rum drinking frens (one man had 8 offspring from 6 women – deze being de ones e own). Another mistake was discussing business with another fren who would talk things e wife tell e in the matrimonial bed. I call e de “waterboy”. Went to Commmermere fuh a hole 8 years and came out wid two long hands. Lived abroad almost 50 years and never upgraded eself.

Just tell me weh I kin sen wunna muh copy of the BLP constitution which still upstairs in a drawer. Um rale ole like me, um is an antique from 1966.

By the way, me from St. Joseph and um does tek a lot fuh we tuh change parties. To tell you de trute, I tired and sick uh wunna. Teck Owen to de Dr. quick, quick, quick! I have an alligator purse, but me not coming. Me tinks he gots cirossis uh de liver. Tummuch white spirits.

46. @Bonny Peppa | November 25, 2010 at 6:45 PM | Anonymous
    You watch de ‘idiot’ from you side las nite get he ballz rub? ouchhhhh, dat had ta hurtzzzzzz. We like we got idiots full-circle. Watchyaaaaaaaa.
    ———————————
    Unlike you I don not have a side Bonny. I assess both sides, give credit where is due, and licks where licks is due. At election time my vote can go either way depending on how I judge the performance of the sitting goverment, and the what ideas the Opposition may be proposing. I think it is folly to be tied to any one political party.

47. Anonymous
    but sum a we is be ‘die-hards’. you kno dah too. you yaself is one but ya only tryin ta be dan’grus now. is awrite ta belong. doan feel shame. fa 14 ears, i did walkin de rode n cryin n dribblin den i see a lil lite at de enna de tunnel. n when dah lite ga out, i gun walk n cry n dribbl again. such is life, dah tell me.

48. @Bonny Peppa | November 26, 2010 at 10:26 PM | Anonymous
    but sum a we is be ‘die-hards’. you kno dah too. you yaself is one but ya only tryin ta be dan’grus now. is awrite ta belong. doan feel shame. fa 14 ears, i did walkin de rode n cryin n dribblin den i see a lil lite at de enna de tunnel. n when dah lite ga out, i gun walk n cry n dribbl again. such is life, dah tell me.
    ————————-
    I would never tell you or anybody else who to support. The problem I have with some of you on BOTH SIDES of the fence is that you your party can do no wrong…whatever it does is well done. Therefore, there is no point in discussing of debating anything political with such persons. I have lots of respect for persons who can say, “I am life-long supporter of party X, but I don’t always agree with every decision that they make. That’s the kind of person I can have a decent conversation with.

49. Anonymous
    it would be a waste a you good time tryin ta tell me who ta support causen accordin ta you, ‘my party can do no wrong’. so here’s where we end our conversation. was nice meetin you. LOLLLLL

50. A concern arising from the recent budget has been the need to adjust VAT for the tourism sector,allowances for MPs and now we are hearing UWI Guild asking for an extension on the rule to not pay for students after the stipulated time.

Wasn’t there consultation between stake holders pre budget?