The coat of arms depicts two animals which are supporting the shield. On the left is a “dolphin” which is symbolic of the fishing industry. On the right is a pelican which is symbolic of a small island named Pelican Island that once existed off the coast of Bridgetown. Above the shield is the helmet of Barbados with an extended arm clutching two sugar-cane stalks. The “cross” formation made by the cane stalks represents the saltire cross upon which Saint Andrew was crucified. On the base of the Coat of Arms reads “Pride and Industry”  – Wikipedia

There is a lot Barbadians can fathom from reflecting on what our Coat of Arms defines. It seems appropriate in the month of November – Independence Month – we should examine those three words which are emblazoned at the base of our Coat of Arms which state ‘Pride and Industry’. If only we could re-embed into the psyche of the Bajan the importance of what Irvine Burgie penned so many years ago with the same ease with which it has been allowed to fade: We loyal sons and daughters all, do hereby make it known, these fields and hills beyond recall, are now our very own, we write our names on history’s page, with expectations great, strict guardians of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate – [Audio http://www.navyband.navy.mil/anthems/ANTHEMS/Barbados.mp3%5D. The message emitted from the words of our National Anthem should always*serve as the guiding light to how we develop our small and proud nation.

Here are the web definitions of pride and industry which resonate the most with BU in respective order: “the specific mostly positive emotion that is a product of praise or independent self-reflection” – the organized action of making of goods and services for sale.” The amalgam of the two definitions given where Barbados finds itself in history creates reason for pause and provokes some on the eve of celebrating 44 years of Independence (whatever that means) to reflect.

While it is true a tiny country cannot operate immune from the vagaries of the global environment, Barbados must hold true to the rallying cry of our nation. Our expectations must always be great. We must always be strict guardians of our heritage while being proactive by being firm craftsmen of our fate. If we are able to instilled in our people what our Coat of Arms was meant to represent by the crafters, the forfeiting of all things Barbadianna for everything which is foreign would become greatly diminished.

“Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise: Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler, Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest” – Proverbs 6:6-8

It is 2010 and many would agree Barbados has achieved more than most especially if we measure in economic terms and against the several indices published by global agencies. However policy formulation by our leaders to ensure we sustain success must be informed by the exigencies of the moment. The recent collapse of the Irish economy should serve as a gut check for Barbadians. A matter which was recently highlighted by BU family member Adrian. How easily a service based economy can get screwed given the volatility of the global economic market. We live in a period where former colonies are fully exposed to shark infested economic waters. Our value to the former colonial masters is no more. Even the quotas and other preferential hand outs have been replaced by EPAs, OECD, WTO, IMF, IADB and other global institutions which are designed to feed the manufactured mendicancy well entrenched in developing countries.

The current state of Barbados tosses up a country which is one of the highest import nations of commodities in the world. Food security is not a national priority. In 2010* we are being informed that our government negotiated financing from the IADB to pursue options to promote the use of alternative energies.

What are we doing to mitigate against the many risks? What would our forefathers using only commonsense have to say about the design of our service-based economy? We should not place all of our eggs in one basket maybe?

1. What percentage of the food import bill comprises ‘goods’ that we simply cannot produce i.e. oil, cars, wheat products etc ?

2. What are the natural resources of Barbados?

What do we have and what can we produce that the rest of the world cannot buy from China,India or South America?

3. Remember when sugar was king? They were saying that we should not put all our eggs into one basket. We developed Tourism to go along with sugar. Sugar died and Tourism became the major player if not the only one. ALL Our eggs were back in the same basket. We also tried to open up another basket with the offshore sector. Now Tourism is having some serious health problems , might even be terminal, the offshore industry is dying and the basket falling apart from old age. De eggs dropping and brekking up and we scrambling to catch dem.

We tried with manufacturing with very little success because our high costs made it impossible to export. We even send our jobs over and away because it cheaper. So since the various governments decided to encourage people to become business people and become self employed, they went into retailing goods from over and away. Tom Dick and Harriet became Business men and women. The big merchants were VERY pleased, now that they could import anything and sell wholesale to some of these businesses to peddle it in Bridgetown. Things we couldn’t buy before was available, mind you we were living quite well without them. Any kind of food stuff was available. Melons with fancy names like Crenshaw was selling for about $40.00 a piece. Things that can grow here were imported and the poor farmers had to hope that the suppliers run out to get a piece of the action. Everyone is buying and selling. It is cheaper to buy clothes than to get them made. The fabric shops in Bridgetown many have disappeared leaving only one big player on Swan St. Boutiques sprung up and many at home ones opened up. The barrel trade is still hot business.

Recently there was some talk about health Tourism….I had to laugh. We can’t even fix our Health Care, Doctors and Lawyers can operate with very little impunity. And when the politicos get sick dem gine pon a plane. So this talk bout Health Tourism is bare talk.

Burnham made Guyanese learn to use what they have, mind you they have lots more than us in natural resources. Guyana devalued their currency and it worth nutting……Nah dat way too hard fuh wee. Dem exporting nuff lumber, Nuff rice , vegetables, fruit, furniture, Gold and Diamonds though. Dem economy growing too.

Jamaica….dem devalue their money and lawd tings like dem en getting better nuh…ah lie…dem got nuff manufacturing and dem exporting …tings including ganja, it aint suh bad. Just de people getting kill and the drug lords doing as dey like.

Trinidad and Tobago……dem devalue dem dollar, dem manufacturing and exporting , and we buying nuff from dem. The criminals like dem want to be in charge if dem aint dere yet. Dem got Oil so dem all right fuh now.

Barbados………”We are the envy of the Caribbean” quoted by many. Oh I forgot our motto is Pride and Industry. At least we got the PRIDE, NUFF OF IT! We exporting de illegal Guyanese! LOLLLLLL and De Tourist got to come here because we say so. WE ARE IN DE LATRINE PIT AND REFUSE TO SMELL THE SHOITE!

4. I just saw “Nu Pak Barbados Hot pepper sauce”. product of Costa rica.
    in a major Canadian Supermarket.

No “product of Barbados” in the Caribbean section.
    Wha happen to Windmill an Aunt May?
    Yes I know yuh cuh get dem in West Indian grocery stores but eff dey lookin to expand ,Loblaws an Metro would gih dem shelf space.

Ivest Babadus shud be able to help.

5. @Hants

It all comes back to quantities that can be supplied. It is nice to get a big chain to carry our stuff, but we cannot supply the quantities they want. Our raw materials are limited in supply, our manufacturing plants may not have the capacity to produce those quantities and the logistics of getting them there is another costly input. We can supply niche markets where we can get a better price for our product. What we can do is work with producers in Brazil and Costa Rica to manufacture for us in order to sell to the big boys. If they can put the name Barbados on their label to sell their pepper sauce we need to get in there with other manufacturers out there to work with us. We are a global economy now so let us get global.

6. @Islandgal,

Your point is well made but it begs the question.

If a Jamaican company can get a Costa Rican manufacturer to copy a Barbados product,put “Barbados” on it and sell it in the Canadian market they don’t need to include “Bajans”.

http://www.niceysfoodmart.com/nupak.html

Uh wunda wuh wud happen ef Miller start producing a product for export called “Jamaica Jerk sauce”.

7. Message to Miller from Hants.
    Start producing a premium brand of hot sauce with fresh tumeric in it.
    Any uh wunna dat ole enough remember de ol time home made pepper sauce wid tumeric poun in a morta pessul ?

sweet fuh days.

8. @ Hants
    “Uh wunda wuh wud happen ef Miller start producing a product for export called “Jamaica Jerk sauce”.

Nutting wrong wid dat at all if that brand is not copyrighted. . Because it has the word Barbados it does not mean that we have to have any imput. It could be a Bajan who is married to a Costa Rican making this pepper sauce. I wonder if the brand “Barbados Pepper sauce” that is copy righted if it is, our fowl is cooked. We are to be blamed, we are too slow on the uptake.

9. “Ivest Babadus shud be able to help”

Invest Barbados is the flag ship institution that furthers the cause of our elite professional class (who of course have a strangle hold on Parliament) that says that Barbados must SERVE and frown on anything Productive …!

Point about Nu Pak is well made …

Island girl say that we exporting Guyanese … ha ha … no no, I believe that we are refusing their exports in human capital … I glad island girl cause your garden sah big dat yah could use some WELL PAID quality Bajan help, not nah cheap Guyanee

10. BAFBFP | November 20, 2010 at 11:20 PM |

You want a job? I cud only hire yuh fuh two days a week, but yuh gotta work. Hey the last Bajan I hired I ketch sleeping in my hammock and say de sun too hot. The one before tell me that he does only do me a favour by coming to work after ah ketch he smoking ganja pon de job. I does pay more dan somma dem people in Sandy Lane. Yet many say I live too far, even doe ah does collect dem and bring dem back to Speightstown. Suh lemme know eff yuh want to wuk or not. P.S. And If yuh still passing gas ….stay home!

11. Sorry Island Girl,

I am a producer … I frown on serving… The thought alone makes me want to … oh no, I just made a mess!

Saw your pic though, I suppose I could bend a personal rule or two, after all you say that you’s a divorcee (hope ac ain’ listening …)

12. BAFBFP | November 21, 2010 at 1:40 AM |

Like yuh becoming a real village ram now. I am sorry but I do not poach on other people’s property. Ah ent want Bonny to ring muh neck not AC to poison muh. Yuh can look from a distance doe. LOLLLLLLLLLLLL

13. @BAFBFP

Why you messing wid me sista island girl. you take”fambli furst to a new level” I goonna deal wid you later!

14. Right on islandgal. Just about everybody has a Doctorate in this island or some sort of Degree from the factory on the hill,and yet we still can’t seem to get pass a lot of pretty talk,with very little action. Maybe our next export should be Professional Squawkers,the kissers of the blarney stone.

15. Assistant economic planner and then chief economic planner National Planning Agency Jamaica 1974-81 economics director Jamaica Bauxite Institute 1979-81 chief project analyst Ministry of Finance and Planning Barbados 1981 elected to Barbados House of Assembly 1984 taught at University of the West Indies late 1980s became leader of opposition Barbados Labor Party 1993 became prime minister when party returned to power 1994 strong re-election victory 1999. Life s WorkOwen Arthur elected prime minister of the Caribbean nation of Barbados in 1994 is perhaps the most visible representative of a new breed of Caribbean leader that emerged at the end of the 20th century. Nationalistic without being leftist-oriented professionally trained as an economist and of but not hostile toward the United States and other First World countries Arthur gained popularity with the ordinary folk of Barbados.