Governor General Sir Clifford Husbands (l) Opposition Leader Mia Mottley (c) Former prime Minister Rt. Hon. Owen S. Arthur (r)

There is the saying a week in politics is a long time. For several months Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has led her troops to push the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government on a number of issues. The more notable have been the CLICO Affair and governmentโ€™s housing program managed by Minister Michael Lashley. A recent CADRES poll has given Arthur a narrow lead over Mottley in national popularity, according to pollster Peter Wickham this is to be expected given Arthurโ€™s profile as a former Prime Minister. The margin of error in the poll makes the difference irrelevant anyway. Although it has come as no surprise to BU the move by Arthur and cohorts to jettison Mottley as leader of the Opposition, the question arises why has it surprised Mottley and her supporters?

In October 2009 former Prime Minister Owen Arthur staged a press conference at UWI. The level of criticism which Arthur directed at Mottley during that press conference should have sounded the alarm. Dr. George Belle when asked to comment on what was an early sign of Arthurโ€™s perspective on Mottleyโ€™s leadership stated the following, โ€œthe party decides who is the leader and a leader emerges. If a leader emerges who is a genuine leader, they will sustain their leadership and that is also politicsโ€.

The Arthur cabal has issued Mottley a summons to attend a meeting on Monday at 10 AM. If we are to judge from the utterances of Arthur, Payne and Clarke this week, the decision has been made by a majority of the parliamentary group to support Arthur. Miaโ€™s attendance (under protest if she decides to) would be to receive her job description to list her new role. Mottley has the option to play along, take the matter to the annual conference, cross the floor, resign from active politics or โ€ฆ. Barbadians should know very soon which path the embattled leader of the opposition will take.

BU finds Arthurโ€™s push for the leadership at this time intriguing. They are some who have opined that the serious illness of Prime Minister Thompson has precipitated the grab. Arthur has never been a fan of Mottley and it was confirmed in his UWI press conference. Being forced from the leadership of the BLP after the defeat in the last general election has served Arthur well. He has had time to recharge hopefully and at the same time wait for the opportunity to pounce. He would not have anticipated less than three years into a DLP first term that opportunity would have appeared, it has and the cagey politicianย  that he is, he has pounced!

Political pundits who want to remain dispassionate would be reminded of Dr. George Belleโ€™s observation –ย  โ€œthe party decides who is the leader and a leader emerges. If a leader emerges who is a genuine leader, they will sustain their leadership and that is also politicsโ€.

Interestingly a similar scenario affected the DLP when Thompson won over the support of his parliamentary colleagues to trump Mascoll. At that time Mascoll to the consternation of many crossed the floor.ย  BU believed then that it was a โ€˜cheapโ€™ move by Mascoll and one which must still cause him sleepless nights given the events unfolding. Mottley, the political student she must be and a member of the Mottley Clan will not make the same stupid mistake. She has BLP blood coursing through her veins which blocks any idea of crossing the floor.

The rupture of the Mottley BLP relationship does afford her the opportunity to establish a credible third party, the country is ready but does she have the political capital?

80 responses to “Are We About To Witness A Political Watershed Moment In Barbados? Mia Mottley Holds The Answer”

1. Owen Seymour Arthur (I too love Owen) is a cunning fox. Do not under estimate Owen’s strategic powers. This move by the BLP will have devastating effects on the DLP —yes the DLP .Watch what KISSMYA says , watch it carefully.
    Remember that over a year ago I predicted Chris Sinckler’s ascension and elevation up the political ladder. NOBODY can dispute that. It is there on BU for all to see.
    Some serious rumblings will soon come upon the DLP. Kellman is a key man. Do not underestimate another short man from the North.——Bacchanalia in the DLP . Keep yuh ears to the ground and eyes to the sky

2. But look what da gone ( Dale Marshall included) and do to Mia Mottley. Was not Mia the same person that intervened between Eswtick and Marshall in the gun incident in parliament?

But look how stauchly Pressie defending Mia. Wonder if it got to do with Pressie and the criminal case he had recently when she was one of his legal counsel???

3. KISSMIA
    I recognize that you do not know who to support in this BLP mess. You are trying your best to create spin about the DLP but it is not working.
    On Monday evening your girl gone through the eddoes. I think that Owen Arthur may have to wear a helmet because last time it was said that Mia locked off Owen Arthur neck real tight and pelt about a lot of chairs.
    The spin that the BLP do not air their dirty linen in public was always nonsense. It was because they were in Government and therefore any position could be offered for a compromise. Not in opposition, nothing to give.

4. Mia should resign on principle.

There is no good reason to remove her as Leader.

The geriatric brigade wants another feed at the trough.

5. @Hants

What they are doing, is it illegal?

Did you feel the same when Thompson took over from Mascoll?

6. In the other blog some commentators are writing that Miaโ€™s gender is the reason that the โ€œboysโ€ have ganged up against her, nothing could be further from the truth; this is a power grab pure and simple. Arthur was never comfortable with Mia as Opposition leader and her margin of victory when the Parliamentary group elected her was paper thin. Arthur also thought that she would be unacceptable to the public as PM and tried to groom Mascoll as his successor thus his statement on the political platform that Mascoll was โ€œco leaderโ€ of the BLP infuriated Mia.( I am sure others have heard the same stories about the altercation between Mia and Arthur over his comment).

I think Mia was looking at the past (as in Mascoll and the DLP) when she announced that she was contesting the post of Chairman of the Party. She wanted to cement her position as leader and was aware that Mascoll was not the Party Chairman when he was dumped as the de facto Leader of the DLP and Mia wasnโ€™t about to let that happen to her. Perhaps that over reaching sealed her fate as the cold war between Arthur and Payne ( the Chairman) had given way to dรฉtente and the rest is history. Arthur who had been contemplating writing his memoirs is now on the attack as he envisions being PM again when he observes a weakened DLP Govโ€™t without Thompson at its helm, a Govโ€™t filled with green horn Ministers who are no match for him when it comes to economic and fiscal matters (the key concerns of Barbadians today).

To repeat a well worn clichรฉ โ€œItโ€™s all over bar the shoutingโ€ the knives are unsheathed and the bell canโ€™t be โ€œunrungโ€ so its up to Mia as to how she will make her exit, will it be โ€œbloody and unbowedโ€ or will it be just bloody?

7. @Sargeant. Excellent analysis. You are probably right. We certainly live in very interesting times.

8. Meanwhile, the bimmyconomy continues to run(?) on autopilot…?

9. A few things on the main topic and then one on Sargeant’s analysis.

Firstly, I think it is inappropriate how the matter has been dealt with in the public eyes, the attempt to remove Mottley coming across as a ‘night of the long knives’, ‘et tu Brute?’.

Albeit, maybe none of the ‘involved’ are in the role of Brutus.

There is also the reported attempt to weaknen Mottley’s Parliamentary power base by undermining one of her ‘support group’ i.e. Eastmond.

This indicates a clear ‘conspiracy’ to remove her fully and certainly.

Her only recourse now, if she wishes to ‘attempt’ to maintain control, is to take the matter to the BLP conference for a calling by the members. While this will not change the fact that the Parliamentary group has the calling on their leader, it will bring the matter to the conference forum and force a hearing by the general BLP membership.

However, this will be a ‘do or die’ action and could very well cement the future.

The other course of action is to back off, smile and let the ‘power men’ take control and very possibly, self-destruct in the next election.

Then her way will be fully clear and she will still be fairly young for 2018.

This appears to be Peter Wickham’s view, if news reports are correct.

Personally, taking a leaf from the Navy Seals ‘Who Dares Wins’.

So, its up to her.

That said, Sargeant above commented ‘vโ€™t filled with green horn Ministers who are no match for him when it comes to economic and fiscal matters ‘.

That is largely irrelevant, particularly as it was the last administration who borrowed both directl;y and via BOLT arrangements to bring the current high level of debt and relatively inflexible fiscal position asit is now, that was not clever by any means.

Further, there are many highly qualified and experienced individuals in Ministry of Finance and the Central Bank tod raw on, economics does not have to be a prerequisite for the leader.

IF, yes ”IF’, as a result of PM Thompson’s possible resignation, the current DLP members owrk cohesively and as one, there is no reason why Chris Sickler cannot lead the party to a 2013 victory.

However, one suspects that any resignation from office of the PM will result in at least one challenge, that even when fails, will nevertheless depict discontent in the ruling party, that could cause consternation and impact also on any election.

Hence, the DLP members must take stock carefully and well, before actions that result from leadership structuring.

What the scenario does show however, is that no one has the automatic right to lead, but must earn it, their own party members demand that, now we as the average Barbadian must demand accountability, to ensure that such governance is on our best interests, no matter who ascends to the lofty position of PM, in eaither party.

10. If I were in a position to advise Miss Mottley – which I am not – but as a person not affiliated to any Party, I would say.

(a) Do not cross the floor.
    (b) Do not start a third Party.
    (c) Do not resign from politics.

Smile politely just say if that is what you wish, I agree. . . over to you. She has the support of her constituency – important – she can afford to wait. If she is to be Prime Minister of Barbados “her time will come.”

Do nothing to obstruct, just wait.

In a few years almost all of Barbados will be rolling at her feet.
    She will reappear with stature; more formidable and be then “known” for putting the wishes of the BLP and therefore the concerns of the Nation before self.
    No one could stand in her way , yes no one.

But hey, what do I know, but I have been right quite a lot in the past.

(1) I said David Thompson’s tactics were right – even before the election date was set – when he was being severely critised before the last election, and subsequent events would prove it.

(2) I said the DLP would win by a landslide and was called a fool and a dreamer.

(3) I said Owen Arthur is a “master tactician” and he would return for leadership..and it would be said, how could I refuse a call from my people.

This issue is not finished by any means, the reverberations will be cataclysmic

11. Politic all ’bout impressing stupid masses no? Appeal to lowest common denominator, claim “voice of people”. No man/woman who crave significance through popularity not velly worthy … never be my leader. Whole thing blasted foolishness… so many educated people commenting on foolishness… Foolishness no?

12. Give me an O
    Give me a W
    Give me a E
    Give me a N

Uncle O, O want his share of the action. Say what you want, you got to agree this man has politics running thru his very veins. But he look like a real young boy in yesterday paper. This man just take off 2 and a half years and decide he ready now for a rumble. What I cant get over tho, is how politically he got Mia grabble up, biting out she swallow pipe and all the while saying ” I am trying to be civil about all this”.

Hilarious but nevertheless typical of Owen. The DLP will have a fight on their hands if he takes over the powerful position of leader of the opposition. Notwithstanding that, he is going to have a hard time against PM Stuart and Deputy Sealy or Deputy Sinckler.

13. Funny thing these BLP people Avatar
    Funny thing these BLP people

George Reid, You know what you and that line of crap is no longer relevant much like you Mia and Owen fighting to stay relevant is your problem.

14. Dr R is being cussed because he is reminding everybody we have an economy to manage? To build a society does it not have to be done on the backside of a buoyant economy?

15. Sherlock Holmes Avatar

Cynthia Forde is Mottley’s one true ally but she is a lightweight. Mottley getting unfaired. Why did Owen endorse her taking over leadership after BLP kicked out in 2008 then turn around and tear her character to shreds in that infamous UWI interview? This is a no win situation for Mottley, Arthur and BLP. None will emerge from this looking good. The Dems simply need to stay united and they have a long reign ahead.

Like some one else said DLP loyalists should keep an eye on Kellman and Estwick to a lesser extent. Kellman is not a team player and his Napolean ego way outsrips his intelligence. Thompson had his number. Lets hope Stuart and Sinckler does too.

16. What are the issues in this desperate male grab for power.

Had David Thompson not taken ill, would this leaderless gang of 4 and its want-to-be leader be now making this last ditched grab for power? NO!

So what does Arthur really want? It seems obvious that he wants to rule but he does not want to be leader of the opposition, at least not for a long time.

Is it the glory and bragging rights that (I own arthur) for the second time has had to save Barbados. Is that what he craves? But, is he the only person who can do the jobs? If so, is Arthur the past and the present at the same time?

HASN’T OCCURED TO YOU THAT THE REASON WHY THERE IS NO CLAMOUR FOR ARTHUR, IS MIA MOTTLEY. Think about it! If there was no arthur, Mia Mottley would be the undisputed leader of the BLP, plain and simple.

As I recall Mia Mottley became Opposition Leader because 6 persons voted for her . She did not have to vote for herself. Arthur now does. That is your answer right there.

As I read in the newspapers, arthur did not attend the meeting last November because he expected to have been coordinated. IT DID NOT HAPPEN. As I understand from rumour, one persons abstained from voting then and Mia Mottley got 7 votes to Arthurโ€™s one.

It is no question that Rawle Eastman seems to be the most respected member in Parliament today, far more so than even arthur. Isnโ€™t Mr. Eastman on the side of Mia Mottley? Why are the most respected people in Barbados gravitating towards Mia Mottley?

I read yesterday that george pain said that the elders are not provided for in the constitution? What is his point? Doesnโ€™t a persons become an adult at age 18? But is there any legal document that tells them to respect senior citizens, intellectually superior people in society, their parents or old people in general?

In the recent Wickham Poll, Arthurโ€™s rating was 22%, Mia 18. Donโ€™t you feel that in the worst recession since mankind could speak that being an economist should be of great currency? Therefore, shouldnโ€™t Arthurโ€™s ranking be more like 60+%?

Now back to the hostile male take-over of the BLP.

In this scenario, Arthur will have to vote for himself to become the political leader and leader of the opposition. That seems weak for a 3-term PM? Where is the clamour for him when he will have to vote for himself?

But who is with Arthur: judging from the nation newspaper archives, George pain who won his seat by 49 voted. toppin by 120 votes, dale marshall by 44 voted and gline clarke by a little more that 700. They have less than a 1000 vote majority between the 4 of them. Mia Mottley won in a traditional DLP constituency by 1655 votes.

But how can anyone say that Arthur is best to lead when Barbados has never had a female leader before? Arenโ€˜t we then comparing apples and oranges? Does this issue have anything to do with leadership or power and bragging rights.

In essence what do you have. A group of four men who scrape home in a pan-cart at the last election, and a man (arthur) who HH said before only attends Parliament to get his name mark and collect a salary – now seeking to go back in the same โ€œpoor-rakeyโ€ parliament that will now be even more poor-rakey with PM Thompson who is ill.

Here is my final point. Are you telling me that even with a masters degree, I cannot become Prime Minister of Barbados because I am a woman? Does arthur accept that his two daughters should never become prime minister of Barbados? If so, then I see what the real problem is.

But what would cause a man to do that? I mean, go back in the same poor-rakey Parliament that will now be even more poor-rakey with the absence of PM Thompson?

This is what this issues is about.

17. @ Bajan Panday

Spare us the long drawn out non-sense you typed above. The fact that everyone is failing to accept is that politics is not Sunday school. Mia was given the position of Leader of the Opposition and performed that role. Having done so for nearly 3 years it is obvious she has NOT impressed the parliamentary group sufficient so as to cause them to believe she is the fastest and easiest way back to office. Mia was elected my the parliamentary group and she can and probably will be unelected by the parliamentary group. Her best bet is to salvage her political career by doing the right and proper thing, that is to resign.

18. @ Laeppa

“Mia was given the position of Leader of the Opposition and performed that role. Having done so for nearly 3 years it is obvious she has NOT impressed the parliamentary group sufficient so as to cause them to believe she is the fastest and easiest way back to office.”

Here is my response:

The fate of Mia Mottley is being decided by arthur who does not go to parliament because it is too poor-rakey for him; george pain who seldom goes, duguid, who does not live in Barbados, gline clarke who PM Thompson said you don’t know if he is speaking for the dlp or blp and two others who do not contribute a lot.

The BLP like to say that the slide in the Barbados economy stated after the 2008 inflationary budget. If so where was arthur? The only voices heard was Mia Mottley, Cynthia Forde and Rawle Eastman.

19. @Laeppa
    So correct, cut and dry. Whatever the motive, the rules, and accepted processes are in play. Mia has no choice than to abide by them, or resign in protest, for it is by said rules and processes that she gain her position. It was up to her as LOTO to use patronage to maintain her leadership. That she may have, neverthe less the parliamentary team giveth and it can taketh away.

20. @Panday
    Arthur has one vote in the process of deciding who leads the BLP parliamentary team. It is also within his right as it is with all the other members to canvass and solicit the support of their equals should they decide to challenge for the leadership. We are either a people that regulate of interactions with each other via stated laws, practices and conventions or we are react with our emotions to our whims and fancies. The man has done nothing wrong.

21. @ Adrian Hinds

Yes, but I think my point still holds. Rawle Eastman is the most respected person in the House and he seems to be with Mia Mottley and has a deep respect for women.

The five including arthur, seem to have a problem with a woman leading.

My second point is – for the past 2 1/2 years the voice of arthur, pain and toppin was silent on the radio during debates from the House.

What did Mai Mottley do wrong: carry the fight for the BLP in the House; expose Clico and the NHC fiasco or made a brilliant reply to the budgets and the Estimates?

What!

Do we in Barbados now fire people for doing excellent work? What next? Will the five fire Cynthia Fode?

Don’t tell me the people of Barbados fired the BLP because as I recall – the performance of the then BLP government was not the issue: cost overruns and corruption was, especially that $750,000 cheque.

22. @ Bajan Panday

If those same people you accuse of non-involvement made an overt effort to be more involved then you would have accused them of not given her (Mia) room to prove herself. You can”t have both ways.

“Rawle Eastman is the most respected person in the House and he seems to be with Mia Mottley and has a deep respect for women”
    That is the equivelent of saying that menthol cigerettes are better for you than regular ones, or that beer is better for you than rum. None of them are good for you, you have to pick which is the least bad.

I don’t support either the BLP or Owen but look, the man has been asked to lead the parliamentary group and he is obviosly trying to do so with as little dislocation and humilation as possible. Mia should take the high road, her time will come, she does not have to burn down the house in an attempt to prove a point. The best points are proven by accompliments and recognition thereof.

23. Interesting that the invective is being hurled at Arthur but what about the BLP MPs who have removed their support for MAM to RHOSA?

24. @Panday
    Your point does not hold. To do so it must be supported by facts. Rawle Eastmondโ€™s so called โ€œmost respected personโ€ title, does not change the sum, product, or quotient of his singular vote.

The remainder of your submission is your opinions, and herein lays the problem you and I will have. I am responding with ideas based on facts to the realities of these past events and those to come, you on the other hand are reliant on your feels and beliefs.

25. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

You know my political affiliation; I have been loyal to the BLP and that is where my support lies — with the political party as a mechanism for ensuring our continued liberties as well as the social, economic, and political development of all Barbadians.
    I do not need to be caught up in the euphoria of political transitioning, but I will say, that my political party is not necessarily acting in a manner that I would have thought enlightened persons who should know better would respond to whatever challenges that exist.

26. @ Laeppa | October 15, 2010 at 12:38 PM | @ Bajan Panday

You said:

If those same people you accuse of non-involvement made an overt effort to be more involved then you would have accused them of not given her (Mia) room to prove herself. You canโ€t have both ways.

My response:

I am just saying that their respective constituents sent them to the House to represent their (the people’s) interest. Some are said to have tunred up ONLY to get their names mark while others just did not bother to stay. But on both occasion, accepted pay even though not having worked for it.

Yes. People seem to be focussion on arthur because were he not leadin the 4-man power grab squad of men who did not work for for the people for the past 2 1/2, while Thompson was well – but now want power and are making a sudden dash for power, people would hardly mind.

Would those five be making a power grab if Thompson was well – NO. Because they feel it would have been 10 years in Opposition. So they are merely seeeking to benefit and profiteer on the ill-health of PM Thompson.

That seems vulgar.

27. @ Adrian Hinds

What you are saying does make sense. Do not get me wrong. All I am saying is that even in China or Cuba, a persons would not be convicted and sentenced and that invited to a trial.

That is what five men have done to Barbados’ female Leader of the Opposiiton.

It is being said that those five men were absent from debates in the House for close to three years and had PM Thompson taken ill, those five men would not now be ganging up on Mia Mottley because they felt it would have been 10 years in opposition.

What is her charge.

Is it doing a good jobs for the people of Barbados when those same five men were silent for the past three years or is it that she is capable of outlining a vision for development, as we read on HERE that she did at the recent BCCI luncheon without (I believe) any input from those 5 men?

So Mia Mottley is being fired for doing good work.

28. It is incorrect to say OA was silent for the past three years. At every sitting of the estimates he took a stance and made his reply. People might recall that at the second sitting last year, although he was present in Parliament but was not in his seat a time during the estimates, the PM tried to wrap up the debate without him. He has also been attending branch meetings on Sundays. Most Mondays we saw some report of what he said at a branch meeting the night before.

29. It would be interesting to find out how many times Parliament actually met since January 15 2008 and how many times thor 5 BLP men who now seek to replace Mia Mottley were present (not simply to get their names mark) but were actually present.

30. @ David

george pain said in the press recently that owen arthur did not attend the meeting at BLP headquarters because he suddenly fell ill.

This seems like a cause for great concern as Mr. arthurs suddent brief illness (as confirmed by george pain) comes at a time when PM Thompson is also ill.

Should person who want to become PM have first to see a panel of doctors? Would that be legal or reasonable.

Just asking since george pain said recently that Mr. arthur suddenly fell ill and could not attend a meeting.

31. quote above”Like some one else said DLP loyalists should keep an eye on Kellman and Estwick to a lesser extent”

The issue here is ‘Parliamentary Majority”, surely neitherKellman nor Estwick could command such, probably not even muster more than three other Parliamentary supporters?

Any attempt to refute Sinckler’s expected rise to leadership will only serve to indicate their angst at not being ‘the One and also indicate their unsuitability for the leadership anyway, Thompson’s act in putting Sinckler in charge of Finance was deliberate and effectively put an end to any ‘effective’ squabble.

A squabble by either of these two, or both, will froce the DLP leadership to cut them off, to prevent election fallout, otherwise these two surely could cause some seat losses, which is the only impact and does not assist their own causes.

The real question is whether Stuart is willing to play right-hand to a young leader in Sinckler.

If Stuart is unwilling, that in itself may cause the potentially most troublesome issue.

However, he may have no choice, if he wants to see 2013 success.

32. It is a pity Hendeson Bovell or Sylvan Greenidge have been MIA of late. Is it not true that at the last BLP annual conference Mia publicly requested the parliamentary group to meet to reconcile the leadership issue? Even then she knew there was some doubt in the camp, therefore why the outrage? Why was there not the requested meeting asked for by MAM?

33. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

9 + 12 =21 or 10 + 11 = 21. Looks like we are not sure who will emerge as a clear leader in the DEMS. Personally, a more appropriate equation looks something like this: 7 + 6+ 5+ 2 + Kellman = 21. I do not think we are any closer except to suggest that the BLP may have 2 main factions, but they are multiple in the DEMS at present and likely to intensify should, God forbid, sad news rock the country.

34. @G.C. Brathwaite,
    The BLP has a leadership crisis. Focus on your party.
    Explain how 5 respected MPs in your party can make a move to get rid of your leader without consulting stalwarts like you.

Forget the factions in these political parties. Let us focus on the honourable?Owen and his band of renegades who are trying to satisfy their lust for power and wealth.

Trying to divert attention away from the issue will not work on BU.

GCB You have a problem. Deal with it. We want to hear from you how the BLP leadership crisis is likely to end.

35. @ Hants

If you are to be believed that: “Owen and his band of renegades who are trying to satisfy their lust for power and wealth” and I have no reason to doubt you, then it does seem (using your accurate analysis) that the BLP really does not have a leadership crisis.

It is a question of the BLP’s past (arthur and his gang of 4) clashing with the future of the BLP (Mia Mottley). Based on what HH wrote in his column on Thursday and given your accurate analysis above – the BLP’s past is corruption while the future seem to be about change and a new politics as Mia Mottley said on You Tube.

Now, who will be lead speaker for the BLP when the prevention is corruption Bill is debated in the House. Will it be arthur (the $75,000 man) or pain (the rigger of the BLP internal poll for chairman)

Hants, there is no need for the gang of 5 to fire Mia Mottley because the DLP will bring the promised anti-corruption Bill on Monday, unless the gand of five plan to repeal the Prevention of Corruption Bill within the first 100 days in office – if they were to ever rule Barbados again.

36. Ravin' Craven Raven Avatar
    Ravin’ Craven Raven

Bajan Panday | October 15, 2010 at 4:03 PM |

“george pain said in the press recently that owen arthur did not attend the meeting at BLP headquarters because he suddenly fell ill.”

Is being blind drunk an illness? Just asking.

37. Efforts have been made to find out from those in Mia’s and Arthur’s constituencies what they feel about their leaders at this time. Why has no one sought to find out what St. Andrew constituents feel about George Payne, in the midst of this confusion? After all, he is doing more talking than either Mia or Owen.

38. @ Justice Seeker

What does it matter what the constituents feel or think about Mia. Owen or George, all of that is irrelevant. Either Mia can and does comment the majority support of the parliamentary group, recent events suggest she does NOT and can NOT. The majority rules especially on something as important as confidence in leadership. SHE MUST RESIGN or she will do untol, immeasurable harm to future political aspirations.

39. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

No Laeppa,

I think that she is right to fight for what she wants did she not fight to keep her female friends in order and in check ?

Her fight for leadership is also one to abort his White Knights commands and prevent Barbados from falling under more DANOS 3 ‘S and VECO and CAGE TYPE ARRANGEMENTs THAT SPELL CORRUPTION.

40. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

This charge against George Payne and the BLP is deeper than we first believed, this charge as was just reported to me is that George Payne is known to have forged signatures to register these people in favour of Owen in various constituencies.

With this being the case why would any of us not feel concerned by these developments that if the leadership of the BLP sees it fit to pad a voters list and forge signatures of persons for an internal BLP matter why would you feel that they would be honest and not pad a voters list or commit fraud and theft for a NATIONAL ELECTION ???

41. The hares are running and some bloggers have tossed their thinking caps in the air.

The DLP have no crisis, except one “manufactured” in the minds of some. They have a Prime Minister David Thompson, who has delegated the responsibilities of his office for an interim period to a properly elected Deputy Prime Minister, who is discharging his duties as and when necessary.

What will happen in the future, or is likely to happen is pure conjecture. When that time arrives, the problem if there is one can be dealt with.

The problems for the BLP are of a different magnitude, I said some days ago the end product of this will be “catalysmic” for them. . . I stand by that early asessment of their situation.

42. Yardbroom; Has the PM, now he is in Barbados, delegated the responsibilities of his office ….. to a properly elected Deputy Prime Minister? Is that gazetted somewhere? or is the PM, through officers in his Office, managing the duties of PM and Minister of National Security from his sick bed?
    It would be interesting to know what is the true position. Reports in the Newspapers over the past few days since the PM has been back, refers to The Honourable Freundel Stuart as Deputy PM, not acting PM, as would have seemed to be appropriate to the situation if the PM had temporarily devolved his ministerial duties to Mr. Stuart.
    Perhaps you can clarify the matter.

43. Yardbroom; I was wrong in my post above. I have just seen in today’s Saturday Sun a front page article that refers to Freundel Stuart as Acting PM. Therefore the PM has apparently delegated his duties at this time to Mr. Stuart.

44. Hi checkit-out,
    To be honest I have no inside information and it would be dishonest to give the impression I do.

From my take of the situation Mr Freudal Stuart is Deputy Prime Minister; he would only be acting Prime Minister in “special circumstances” as certain responsibilities are only the remit of the Prime Minister. . . but as always there is a caveat I could be wrong.

45. โ€œThe BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where thereโ€™s not a contest for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party.

โ€œI would like to see Ms Mottley succeed in politics . . . I made Ms Mottley my Deputy Prime Minister . . . I also stepped down voluntarily as leader of the party.

โ€œ. . . The challenge facing Ms Mottley and the party is not within the parliamentary group. The challenge is to have a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society, and wide acceptance in the parliamentary party.โ€ โ€“ Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur speaking about Mia Mottley on Tuesday, October 27, 2009.

46. @ David

Your above does not seem to hold, as regards the Parliamentary Group of the BLP, because arthur only seem to be able to get the four who it would appear – have a diffulty being led by a woman, to support him.

I tend to recall that in the recent Wickham Poll, Mia Mottley was more popular within the BLP than arthur.

In contrast, without a scandal manufactured within their own party or by elsewhere against them – Sinckler was 6.0 and Stuart 6.6., while Mia Mottley was at 18%.

As an Economist and a 3-term PM, arthur was a mere 22% but should have been much higher than Thompson who was at 42%, in circumstances where he was unable to function effectively because of ill health.

As I recall, the Won’t Say/ Don’t Know was some 42%. The DLP lost ground but the BLP with Mia Mottley whom the country was told would not be acceptable – gained impressive ground for the BLP.

Analyse that?

Let us look at what arthur said in relation to the findings of the recent Wickham Poll.

That arthur is clearly off the mark, as regards whether Mia Mottley will be acceptable – is your answer. Is his forecasting skills diminishing?

I am saying that PM Thomspon being ill has sharpened men’s appetite for power.

47. @opposition at sea

The only thing Mia is going to get on Monday is a toss through the provebial political window and the only question need be asked thereafter is whether she will bounce on not? She should resign (thats what everyone is telling her) ask H. Hoyte if you doubt me. I fully expect to read her resignation in the Sunday Sun tomorrow.

48. @ Bajan Panday

Don’t you think politicians are the most highly skilled readers of polls? If yes, don’t you think that majority of the parliamentary group has interpreted the poll and determinded that Owen S. Arthus the quickest way back to government?

SHE CANNOT EXPECT TO LEAD IF SHE DOES NOT HAVE THE MAJORITY SUPPORT. NO MAJORITY = YOU DON’T LEAD, SIMPLE.

49. What is far more interesting that the present BLP fight is the building tension within the DLP especially as it becomes clear the current PM won’t be able to continue. Stuart, Sinckler, Estwick and Sealy must all fancy their chances notwithstanding what the recent poll suggest. It is alleged that the two men with the most support is Stuart and Estwick with Sealy and Sinckler picking up the minor support here and there. Lets look at the possible combinations;

1. Stuart PM – Sealy Deputy = Very possible
    2. Stuart PM – Estwick Deputy = Possible
    3. Sinkcler PM – Stuart Deputy = Remotely Possible
    4. Estwick PM – Sealy Deputy = Very Possible
    5. Estwick PM and Stuart Deputy = Possible
    6. Sinkcler PM and Estwick Deputy = Impossible even in the reverse.

50. @ Super Glue

And you are right.

If PM Thompson was well, “nobody” would have challenged Mia Mottley for anything because they would have felt it would have been 10 years least in Opposition.

Secondly, they would have been doing everything possible to avoid PM Thompson in debates in the House.

I have been reading the same Nation Newspaper as you and to me this issue does not seem to be about Leadership. It seems to be about corruption.

Every day, yet another list seems to be appearing where someone is engaging in electoral fraud and election rigging to the extent that money is being paid to register delegates in Rawle Eastmans constituency.

If someone would do such a corrupt act in Rawle Eastman’s constituency (who is not voting with them to remove Mia Mottley as LOO) then what do you think they are doing or would have done in the constituencies of their four buddies who oppose Mia Mottley?

Therefore by logical deduction, the issue facing the BLP does not seem to be leadership but corruption – manifesting itself as: “electoral fraud, election rigging and engaging in behavious which offends the constitution of the BLP *based on what I read in today’s Sun on Saturday.