Submitted by Looking Glass

That Pickering might not be starting soon because NRDC is unable to attract investors to raise the $1.7bn needed (Arthur: Nation August, 1, 2010) is untrue. The amount cited is loose change for the real owners of NRDC. The reason(s) for seeking an investor, which is not at all unusual, is beyond the comprehension of the economist. Involvement with companies like Cellate is nothing new. Look back at similar projects you facilitated in the last decade or so. Is the pot calling the kettle black? And what about the hospital in St Peter that was sold some years ago (I believe in 2005). Check out how many blacks are on staff and the last time a Blackie was treated there.

First let it be understood that I am not opposed to foreign investment per se, but against projects not in the better interest of the country. Lands at Long Beach, St. George and Brighton acquired by Americans to build homes for Americans and other foreigners can hardly be said to constitute sustainable development. Our most famous soul, recognized by Her Majesty, was denied access to the American owned golf course and nothing was done about it. It is foolish to believe that nig-nig will have access to the homes and or the surroundings.

The Pickering plan did not come off the drawing board overnight. It is a minor version of a massive Ontario project– 450 room hotel, 5000 seat performance venue, movie theatre, residential, office retail centre etc– schedule to begin later this year and be completed in five years which is four years sooner than Pickering.

Related Link

Correct me if I am wrong. As I understand it negotiations with the North American bank to purchase the land began last January. The Bank’s focus was never “on developing the Nestfield site” as suggested (Nation 20/06/2010). The Bank not NRDC purchased the property. The company was created and registered about five months ago, after agreement to purchase the land had been reached. No wonder doubt was said to be disappearing, the economy ‘strengthening and turning around.” (Advocate 4, 27,19).

That NRDC is a “group of Caribbean and United States entrepreneurs” (Nation 5, 25, 10) is falsehood. No Americans were originally involved. It is a trifle misleading to say the project was a private sector initiative by “local and overseas investors.” The original owners of the company are the Bank, two foreigners from up North and a Saudi. The latter, connected to the Lime (Holetown) project, is reported to be interested in building a Dubai style offshore hotel.

One of the two Northern investors, a holder of dual citizenship, has done more and continues to do more for the country than most of you probably will ever do. I have no problem with that person being considered a local. But to state that the owners “had refused to pander to the policy of tribalism that had been encouraged in Barbados,” (Advocate, 20,06,2010) is insulting and requires an explanation. Is this from the PM or the angels of mercy? Either way, if loyalty to ‘tribal values’ is a sin then enticement (golden handshakes) is a virtue most worthy of investigation.

It is unwise to tie development to building ‘cities’ and homes for foreigners. In resource thin countries emphasis is placed on growing food and related products for local consumption and export. Collectively the projects are not value-added and will contribute little to job creation, consumer spending income and sustainable development. The demand for utilities, imports etc will increase and so too the cost to locals. Yes Pickering if completed will complete the transformation of the North, and along with the other projects transform the country socially and culturally and induce social instability. Like Kellman the PM is convinced the region “may get a long overdue airport and cruise terminal.” The second airport will not be located there.

The Merricks project–3 hotel blocks, 8 apartment blocks, 18 plantation houses, 42 one-bedroom cabanas, 500 seat conference room, restaurants, shops and spa village– required Town Planning permission (Nation 10,07, 2009). Pickering was said to be consistent with “agreed planning regulations…and the right of every parish to a share of the international development cake.” (Advocate 20,06,2010). This suggests that the plan was evaluated and approved in its entirety.

It is hard to believe that Town Planning assessed and granted permission to Pickering in just a month or two. If so it says a lot about the department. A few questions:

1) Among other things the business of land sale calls into question Lend Lease. Has this been factored into the land purchase agreement(s)? Do the purchasers now own the land in perpetuity?

2) Was the Pickering (and Lime) project assessed and approved by Town Planning and or ‘evaluated’ by other sources as should normally be the case. And who determined the projected revenue(s).

3) Would the projects intended for Long Beach, Brighton and St. George be approved?

4) I take it the purchase came with conditions attached to the agreement. There is good reason to believe that the Pickering project might not be completed if at all in the stated time period. If so will the company be held liable and penalized for non-completion and or for damage to environment and property etc?

5) Does the Physical Development Plan, the one said to be “consistent with the agreed planning requirements” really exist in written form?

6) Are we going to facilitate hotel building in the sea to accommodate friends?

It appears that smaller parcels of land went for more and or are being offered at prices much higher than Pickering. It would be nice to know the prices were determined, the true cost of the lands, the party and or parties involved and who got what. To him to whom it was promised a golden handshake and Constant P are underway.

16 responses to “Coming To Barbados: A North American City (11)”

1. Forgive me. I am somewhat confused as to the main point Looking Glass is making. What is the thrust of the article?

If lies have been told in the Newspapers then what is the truth?
    Are there villians in the piece (besides Arthur of course)?
    Are you congratulating the TCPD on its swift decision making or ridiculing them?
    Is the Pickerings project on stream or not?
    Have the investors been secured?
    Are you suggesting that only Bajan investors should have been considered, despite declaring the ongoing contribution to barbados of one of the investors?

Is it just the style of the article that is confusing or is it just late at night and my brain is not firing on all cylinders?

2. Oops
    I just read the link in article (II) and now have a slightly better understanding of where looking glass is coming from. It might still be useful however if he would clarify if he is for or against the Pickerings project and provide some of the independant information he hints at on its current status.

3. Bottom line-My country dun sell out!

4. I bet u that most of these investors will have to run from Barbados when u know what hits the fan…it will not be nice and the riots of 1932 will be a picnic for little children compared to the coming collapse of my beautiful country.

5. These people know bajans fah trute though…wah we does don’t even like to see one another get through and wunna alone want to have it…..hahahahaha.

6. With regret I see today’s news on Barbados Today online, that two Trimart branches have been seized by bailiff’s for non-payment of rent.

While we can understand the landlord position in needing rent, I wonder if enough was done to avoid this, at such a time.

I hope this is not the first of many around the island and indeed, that landlord’s actually have tenants to pay rent in say, a year and a half.

In recessionary times, normal rules do not play. But, I ask whether this indicates that banks, landlords etc, may not be flexible enough in such a difficult time?

Who will they rent to, when no one can pay rents?

We shall see.

7. Further on this, sometime ago I suggested that the Government (of the people) implement legislation protecting homeowners who have mortgages but lose jobs, such that banks cannot merely seize homes for non-payment, but must adhere to a strict re-negotiation per legislation.

Such legislation should also include rules on any eventual sale, such as price, independent valuation and conflict of interest re real estate individuals.

Thisprotects the homeowner, this protects the market from sudden collapse as happended in the US, where multiple instances occur and it also prevent sharks waiting with bated breath to leap upon opportunities where others have hard times.

Such legislation has not been fortcoming, but would go a long way to protecting citizens in rfecessionary times, rather than lip-service.

That said, now that the Oppositon leader is so vocal, perhaps she can commit, on behalf of the Opposition BLP, to fully and unequivocally supporting such legislation?

Such committed support would show good faith that her action are for the people of the country, moving forward.

However, without support on such developmental legislation, any other vocalisations are merely posturing without aim?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This rent money represents how many months unpaid rent?

9. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

who’s that famous soul that was denied entry to the American golf course? was it Sir Gary? if so well……..hmnnnn

10. I am amazed that this has happened rather than an accommodation found. What about the jobs and the ripple effect? This is a sad day in the history of Blacks in Barbados. Who benefits from this misfortune? The greedy lawyers and the receivers who wait like vultures, for these occurrences to make fees on the back of entrepreneurs. As an entrepreneur who paid in excess of a $500,000 in 15 years. I must say that high rents are one major major causes of business failure..

11. @Kammie

Neville and all who buck the establishment should know they do it at great peril.

12. Seems to me some fellas both local an dforeign with money are planning to build at Pickering and as is common with land developers they are doing it on specualation. They hope to build and they hope to sell. If they can do both they will make some money.

But no. It is not about housing for poor people. Housing for poor people is the government’s job. Or the government can withhold development permission until private developers can show them how their development plans include poor and middle class people.

In other words any sensible government will hold the developers feet to the fire until the developers show them their plans for poor people.

13. David not paying your rent is not bucking the establishment.

In December 2007 tenants ran off owing me $1,696.23 and I ent get my money yet and tomorrow morning I have to get up and catch the ZR van to work while the tenants are driving their car to work.

You think I feel sweet about that?

14. Prince of Barbados/Bajan Prince/I LOVE BARBADOS!!! Avatar
    Prince of Barbados/Bajan Prince/I LOVE BARBADOS!!!

Pickerings is just another way for the government to quickly gobble up tourists’s dollars. Why do you think a hotel is included in the plan? The St.Lucyians believe it will make the parish more active and introduce a new lifestyle to the country, but all in all if not managed right, the Pickering development will be the beginning of the overdevelopment of the countryside!

15. Have a look at what the recent rains NOT caused by a storm or hurricane has done to Barbados. The unplanned physical development of our island is coming back to bite us in the ass.

16. humm in second vid the drains seems to be on the wrong side of the road to collect the water.