Submitted by Yardbroom

The word “corrupt” in reference to politicians in Barbados has become so entrenched in colloquial usage, the seriousness of that charge has almost become irrelevant.  This presents dangers in that cases of “genuine” corruption will escape public scrutiny and secondly, hitherto unblemished politicians can easily become besmirched.  It also allows politicians not to give an adequate or timely response to questions posed about corruption, even if there is a “prima facie” case to answer.  The over-use or inference of corruption, often by men thought wise and even learned, particularly by those with party affiliations to massage, is most unfortunate.

It is wise before aspersions as to bribery/corruption are cast on individuals to ask, what is the evidence?  “It is a common law offence for an officer who has a duty to do something in which the public is interested to receive a bribe either to act in a manner contrary to his duty or to show favour in the discharge of his functions.”  Do note that even when a “prima facie” case can be made this is not always enough for a successful prosecution.

By way of example when “South Africa’s – then deputy – President Jacob Zuma came under investigations for allegations that he attempted to solicit a bribe from the head of the South African branch of the arms company Thomson in return for protecting the company from investigation and giving it “permanent support”.  The case was brought to an end when the director of prosecutions, Bulelani Ngcuka, announced in August 2003 that Zuma would not be charged because although there was a strong “prima facie” case against him, the government could not be sure of winning the case in court.”

Directors of prosecutions are often loath to prosecute high profile politicians for a fear they will lose.  They also know there is a possibility that the local defence barrister is likely to be in the top bracket, also questions could be asked about their political reasons – although there might be none – for bringing the prosecution.  These reasons are of particular import when there is perceived political bias in the judiciary.

Where the judiciary take their responsibilities seriously are are as eager to stamp out bribery/corruption as the over-burdened electorate; strong signals can be sent to unscrupulous politicians.  Only this year “Janos Zuschlag one of Hungary’s best known politicians was sentenced to eight and a half years in prison for embezzling state subsidies.  This corruption case the first time ever in Hungary for a member of the ruling party – in this instance the Socialists” is evidence of that.

“The timing of the Zuschlag ruling raises more questions – the case ended just before the April 11 general elections.  The court may have wanted to send a message to politicians and the public about corruption”.  It also signals you are never so mighty that the justice system “properly administered” will not hold you to account.  I have always been in favour of Integrity Legislation, but I believe it is the “Judiciary” who will decide the success or otherwise of it.

Politicians before entering politics must seriously ask themselves why are we entering the political ring…because their actions should be accountable and subjected to public scrutiny.  Do they see politics as an avenue to quick riches? because as a politician you must be at arms length away from practices which otherwise would not have constrained you, if only for propriety’s sake.  For those who enter politics with the bland statement…”I want to help the poor”.  I am often minded to ask, how?  For I believe that those who have an ideology with fairness at its core, with the required element of altruism are often best placed to do good.

Even great nations have been brought to their knees by bribery/corruption.  In “186 AD in Rome the army strangled the new emperor, the practice of corruption began of selling the throne to the highest bidder.  During the next 100 years Rome had 37 different emperors – 25 of whom were removed by assassination.  This contributed to the overall weakness  decline and fall of the empire”.

We have a lot going for us in this little island of ours Barbados; we should not see ghosts where there are none, neither should we allow for Political Parties to hold aloft a collective umbrella under whose cavernous shadow politicians can hide their nefarious activities.

I seek not to draw an analogy here; where it is not merited but it would be un-wise for us not to reflect on the road where others have laboured, particularly when the the message is from a literary giant:

“Rome was originally, when it was poor and small, a unique

example of austere; then it corrupted. it spoiled, it

rotted itself by all the vices; so, little by little we have

been brought into the present condition in which we are able

neither to tolerate the evils from which we suffer, nor the

remedies we need to cure them.”

Titus Livius (59BC-AD17) Know as Livy in English

38 responses to “Politicians: Camaraderie Caprice And The Craft Of Corruption”

1. Love wears a painted smile.Love and honor are for sale. In a world too decadent without wars but time is running out! Pompei 79AD.
    Barbados and the entire world order in not innocent of political sleight of hands, corruption and the works!Perhaps the ‘grabbers’ are thinking “What the hell, there is no grattitude in politics!”

2. In the final analysis, most of us are susceptible to the temptations of bribery and would do no better than the various politicians -past and present.

The general line taken by most commentators is really short sighted. Bushman gets the impression that we feel that we somehow DESERVE to have honest, smart leaders, and that the problem here is that few seem to pass that test.

How will we have honest leaders coming from a crooked society?

THAT IS NOT THE REAL CHALLENGE!!

The real challenge is how we can arrange to get the most effective leadership while minimizing the crookedness, waste and graft.
    ….and the answer is in the PROCESSES and SYSTEMS that we employ.

Take the current NHC business.

This is one of the best things that have happened in this country in the last 30 years. It shows a level of balance within the government where the right hand is watching the left.

If the DLP was a tightly knitted and controlled party, such that chairmen would be afraid to challenge ministers etc, then the final losers would be taxpayers…(as was the case with VECO, 3S and the various land deals that went down under the BLP)

If there is a problem to be addressed, then it is this policy where a minister names his own boards and can dismiss them at will…..
    THIS IS IDIOCY. All it does is create a class of lackies and stooges who bring nothing to the table but lapping up the minister’s brown stuff.
    Boards should have some level of tenure and persons be appointed based on advertised qualifications for the various positions.

Because of this NHC public difference of opinion, this minister – effective as he has been in producing results, will now know that he needs to watch his Ps and Qs. Additionally, the public gets to understand a lot more of what goes on behind the scenes.

This is what transparency is all about.

Bush Tea says “long live the differences of opinions in the DLP” that is exactly why they got the bushman’s vote. If the BLP had a few chairpersons like Rice-Bowen and the QEH chairman, one suspects that we could have saved a few millions in cost over runs…… and if the DLP leadership was really smart, they would value the role of such chairmen.

3. The problem we have is that politicians have to police Politicians on corruption issues. It is tantamount to who is guarding the guard.

Once upon a time, the ordinary man could place his confidence in Trade Unions which had the power to control the politicians (Sandiford can tell you about that), and the Private Sector.

The politicians, and the private sector realized this, and decided to pull the Trade Unions into their bossom. They decided to play a master stroke to the envy of many around the world. This master stroke referred to here is the euphemism, the social partnership.

ILO STUDY HAILS BARBADOS SOCIAL PARTNERSHIP

4. You were doing quite well……………..until you got to the fourth line from the end. This silly sacerdote with intial testicular hyperplasia (now atrophy) is a square peg in a round hole.

There is a feeling that people should not come out and tell the truth , generally because it can cost one dearly, but I respect folk like Ms Rice-Bowen who spoke out and told the truth, even if it rocked the boat.

She differed from Rev ball-istic in that he lied to the people on radio and television, and then sought to prevent the BAMP doctors from revealing the facts via thir advetisement. He demonstrates the truth of John 3:19 et secq. He does not like the light and he did not want the people of Barbados to see the light also.

5. @Bush Tea
    “Take the current NHC business.

“This is one of the best things that have happened in this country in the last 30 years. It shows a level of balance within the government where the right hand is watching the left.

“If the DLP was a tightly knitted and controlled party, such that chairmen would be afraid to challenge ministers etc, then the final losers would be taxpayers…(as was the case with VECO, 3S and the various land deals that went down under the BLP)

“If there is a problem to be addressed, then it is this policy where a minister names his own boards and can dismiss them at will…..
    THIS IS IDIOCY. All it does is create a class of lackies and stooges who bring nothing to the table but lapping up the minister’s brown stuff.
    Boards should have some level of tenure and persons be appointed based on advertised qualifications for the various positions.”

Yuh know, Bushie, corruptshun [literally shunning being corrupt] is something that we should all practice. However, if we accept Lord Acton’s dictum, we can only achieve this by being absolutely powerless.

Being on board a board is an interesting experience which can leave you unbalanced [and possibly mentally unhinged] if you don’t know how to surf the political waves. That is why I accepted the chairmanship of the BAMCL only because it is an LLC (though arguably bankrupt).

I found your comments perceptive, for a citizen of a kleptocracy!

6. He used to stroll about in full daylight with a lamp; when asked what he was doing, he would answer, “I am just looking for an honest man.”[16] Diogenes looked for a human being but reputedly found nothing but rascals and scoundrels (Wikipedia)

Hey BT

Your optimism is misplaced, do you really think that current or future Chairpersons of any Board will challenge the Minister? Even in countries ( like the one where I reside) where Boards exercise some autonomy in areas in which the Gov’t has some control or interest the Gov’t still ensures that the majority of appointees toe the Gov’t’s line. When the Gov’t of the day changes and the new Gov’t inherits Boards with Chairpersons and members whose terms have not expired the Gov’t can make it very difficult for the Board to function.

The Gov’t (read elected party) always reward its foot soldiers, they have to otherwise when the bell is rung for the next election their soldiers would have deserted them. There’s an old saying that goes (You gotta dance with the one that brung yuh”

That’s the way it is and that’s the way it always will be unless you do better than Diogenes and find “an honest man”

7. Bush Tea writes fanciful poop worthy only of a hungry political yardfowl!! The tax payers are still the “losers” despite Rice-Bowen’s protestations. The DLP have closed ranks to protect their own. The same ‘interests” that were able to have their way under the BLP have an even freer hand under the DLP.

8. If anyone feel we can’t have this conversation here, come again.

When US President Bill Clinton was impeached by the House of Representatives in December 1988, it was done for malfeasance in office, perjury and obstruction of justice.

In layman’s terms, when Clinton had a sexual encounter with willing White House intern Monica Lewinsky, he did it in his official capacity as president, plus he did it in the precincts of the White House. That covers the malfeasance bit, if not the quality of the encounter.

GOLDING… should resign.

9. @ BushTea

What a load of excrement. Marilyn Rice is fired and Michael Lashley has not been asked to given an account, render an apology, has not been fired, explain his ‘corruption’ in the Coverley scandal, he has yet to justify what principle of governance, fairness and value was achieved for the betterment of Barbadians that Jada has received 1026 houses to build at a profit of 100,000 or more per unit of a 600 sq. ft house, and a cheaply built one at that. With land provided by gov’t at 3.00 per sq.ft. Lease for a hundred years at 100 dollars for 220,000 sq.ft of land. That is rape. That is a criminal act.

All this NHC scandal has achieved is to show that honesty and integrity is only a buzz word to win a gov’t; it is not a guiding philosophy of the DLP, never was. They have chosen not to clean house, to uphold integrity; they have not even sought to pursue the previous administration for corruption, despite all the mouthings and shoutings. Please grow up and don’t be a jackass for DLP ‘criminals’ to ride and impune your integrity. DLP has betrayed the trust of the people and the hope for a change. Do you know what people are saying: The only thing we got was a change in gov’t that is now worse than the former – more incompetent, more lied and now apparently more thiefing. 2 1/2 years stupseeee.

10. @Bajan Truth

Let us grasp the bigger picture. It is what both* political parties do. What is sad is that the DLP won a campaign on a platform of instituting change and it appears to be business as usual. The big picture Bajan Truth. Not partisan nonsense.

11. The truth is integrity is public life is not possible with citizens willing to overlook violations when they have proof, when politicians are unwilling to do the necessary investigation to back up charges. You mean to tell me if there were unjustifiable overruns that those costs cannot be exmained. You have to say what the overrun is about, the quantity surveyor has to sign off on the expenditure, the import costs are obtainable from the port records. You can prove corruption. The auditor can show it up either ? What de shite I reading. If the BLP are corrupt do the damn investigation and bring the evidence so they can be hung out to dry. Or shut up.For aqll the balsted talk about intergrity, the only gov’t that has taken any steps towards it is BLP. Legislation passed to make ministers criminally liable for mismanagment of gov’t resources; ordered their own audit of units that PM Arthur felt were not operating prudently – UDC, RDC,and another one, can’t remember which; first draft of integrity legislation not completed or brought to Parliament.

There is no commitment on the DLP side to any genuine integrity. Did no work with the Public Accounts Committee. Have done no audits and certainly submitted no reports of audits on any BLP project; protected Michael Lashley and the infelicities at NHC at the expense of the taxpayers, because they wishto continue with them; can’t finish an integrity legislation bill and get it to parliament, even if you starting from scratch, 2 1/2 years later no bill.

It remans to be seen if the BLp will on taking office put in place the integrity legislation and ENFORCE IT. That will not happen until we Bajans insist on it to both sides, and stop excusing lapses and actions such as this current scandal at NHC with Lashley. If we are vigilant, insistent and deal promptly with wrongdoing it will discourage the vagabonds from taking office; discourage the opportunists form taking chances, and it will encourage more reputable citizens to come to political life.
    Stop all the blasted talk and let us decide how we are going to insist on this gov’t that they bring Michael Lashley to book and clean up this corruption; let us insist on the integrity legislation; put pressure on them to bring evidence to prosecute the BLP; put pressure on the Bees that if we fail to get the above done, THAT THEY MUST DO IT.

12. Robert Deshappé Avatar
    Robert Deshappé

@ Bush Tea
    “If the DLP was a tightly knitted and controlled party, such that chairmen would be afraid to challenge ministers etc, then the final losers would be taxpayers…(as was the case with VECO, 3S and the various land deals that went down under the BLP)” and “This is what transparency is all about”.

It is very interesting to note the above statements made by the author in his contribution.

(1) Mrs. Rice-Bowen said that she was concerned about the lack of a contract with CLICO, then information was given to the media about the insurance at NHC taken from ICBL and given to an insurance brokerage managed by her son. An attack on her integrity.
    An attempt at damage control was undertaken by CBC’s “Talk-ya-talk” call-in-programme, by two known DEMS, producer John Lovell, and moderator, Peter Wickham. Wickham sought to question her integrity, while placing his spin on the situation. Results: callers lambasting Rice-Bowen.
    (2) Mrs. Rice-Bowen explained and proved that she was not involved in the decision making process relating to the insurance matter. Party supporters on the call-in-programmes want her to shut up, and her character comes under the microscope (ask Hartley).
    (3) Lashley told parliament that a contract existed and was signed by Rice-Bowen, a copy of which was printed in the Nation. Lawyers opined that what was printed was not a construction contract, but a term paper. DEMs: the lawyers who said so are BLP supporters. Lashley LATER confirmed that no contract was existed.
    (4) Board members came out in public support of Lashley, but board minutes suggested otherwise. Conclusion: Board members “lapping up the minister’s brown stuff”.

Come again Bush Tea, this whole scenario is no different than when the last lot was in control. WHERE IS THE TRANSPARENCY.

13. Bajan “Truth”

For aqll the balsted talk about intergrity, the only gov’t that has taken any steps towards it is BLP.
    Perhaps we were pulling a “Rip Van Winkle” when the BLP took those steps or we are all suffering from amnesia. Fourteen years!!! All those majorities and no legislation; Fourteen years with MPs increasing their assets far beyond a Minister’s or MP’s salary ( well except in one case I know of where an MP was borrowing money from one of his constituents).

When the dust settled after the last election the Sheriff and Deputy saw which way the parade was going and rushed to get ahead of the band by declaring their “assets” They could have saved the paper who can corroborate truth from fiction? Fourteen years!!!!

As to your point about prosecution, isn’t that what YB was making in his post? What is the probability of conviction if there is no evidence? It is still a democracy so show trials are out and some politicians may be greedy but they are not fools. In this jurisdiction it is easy to cover your tracks so you can bet those tracks are well covered.

So stop all these incessant postings about Integrity Legislation, you and you Party have as much interest in Integrity legislation as wolves have for lambs and that can’t be good for us “lambs”.

Bajan “Truth” or should I say Bajan Fiction, I’m afraid “the lady doth protest too much”

14. Well said Sargeant!

Those who read William Duguid’s comment to Kathleen Davis on one of the other blogs know politicians on both side fear IL.

15. @ David
    Support for a party does not mean partisanship. Partisanship is the position taken by Bush Tea where he is trying to defend the actions of Minister Lashley and the government yet support Marilyn Rice-Bowen, good governance and integrity. These two positions if liquefied could only create an emulsion.

@ Sargeant
    A 14 year tenure would earn a PM and Minister approximately $2.5 and $2.0 million gross respectively (excluding allowances) based on the current salary scale. You should now start identifying those that have more assets than they should own.

16. @ David
    Let us grasp the bigger picture. It is what both* political parties do. What is sad is that the DLP won a campaign on a platform of instituting change and it appears to be business as usual. The big picture Bajan Truth. Not partisan nonsense.
    =========================
    Again David does what you say make sense? When you do not agree with something or it varies with your conclusions taking a different set of facts, note facts, not claims, that does not make it partisan nonsense; . Is there something there that was not FACTUAL. Or a conclusion drawn from facts that don’t merit the conclusion. After all the talk, who did the most do. If you can point these things out, we would both be wiser.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“What a load of excrement”

You can agree without being disagreeable. That is the problem with you Barbados Labour Party members, you have no class!

18. @ Sarge and David
    Your charge is that in 14 years BLP brought no legislation.
    =============================
    History lesson: The first integrity legislation bill was brought under Tom Adams. It was defeated by the Dems, they DID NOT WANT IT THEN AND DO NOT WANT IT NOW.

Louis Tull signed Barbados to an int’l agreement to put integrity legislation in place during the last administration. A draft bill was done, and was strongly resisted as it includes civil servants and charimen and board members. They continued the drafting, put it on hold……gov’t changed. This was no campaign promise, there was no push from the populace.

I do not know if it was lack of testicular fortitude to implement despite protest; however they might have felt that they could massage the legislation and the resistors to get it done. Don’t know which? BUT IT WAS NOT COMPLETED. These are facts not mouthings or claims.

Now Sarge if you could only prove the claims then we could work together. I will not argue with you on this point because wise people are advised not to argue with people who do not wish to be confused with facts, because they have drawn conclusions already. I however am quite prepared to shift mine when you present the facts.

I am not sure where David is sending you to search for the corruption because after my statement that it can be traced, he said people can cover their tracks, so apparently it can’t be traced. If omnipotent David is right, he does not need facts he knows, you will need his qualities to trace this corruption. I still maintain it can be traced by checking for the evidence because Bee or Dee perpetrators of wrongs against Barbadians must be brought to justice, regardless of party. We must insist on it.

19. @Bajan Truth

Our recollection is that Henry Forde introduced draft* IL legislation and it died a painful death somewhere deep within the bowels of government. BU would be interested if this matter can be clarified.

20. Enuff

A 14 year tenure would earn a PM and Minister approximately $2.5 and $2.0 million gross respectively (excluding allowances) based on the current salary scale
    Maybe in your world politicians are not like the rest of us “working stiffs” so they manage to save every penny they earn over the period in question. That means no mortgage; car or other loan payments ; no utility payments- their electric, water and phones free; they don’t pay any taxes; they don’t go on vacation they don’t buy clothes; food etc. No family responsibilities etc….I could go on but I hope that you get my drift, one truism is that the more you earn the more you spend.

If you don’t know any politicians with significant assets over and above what they could reasonably be expected to accumulate during their time in office I am not about to enlighten you but the phrase “you can fool some of the people all the time” is applicable.

Did you make a point about fourteen years? I missed it

21. @ GP
    Thanks for the feedback.
    …Can’t understand why you are so incensed at the priest GP….LOL
    Why do you think that everyone who fails to understand things in exactly the same way that you do- are evil?
    We need to give persons the benefit of any doubt until we understand where they are coming from. You may well find that the priest, (and even Bajan Truth) is a genuine patriot with just a different perspective than yours……LOL

Bush Tea is admittedly partisan. That has been openly declared on numerous occasions on BU.
    BT is a BBE yardfowl!!
    It matters ZERO to the bushman personally, whether the DLP or BLP controls government – this is why it is so easy to assess the characteristics of the two parties. My vote went to the party that offered a more honest and open approach, and AGAINST the one that clearly operated dishonestly for years.

The PRINCIPLE being expounded here therefore is not about partisanship, but about differences in approach. Clearly one can excuse Bajan Truth and his BLP crowd for feeling offended by the analysis….

Nowhere does the Bushman’s position suggest that the minister is ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ – just simply that the ENVIRONMENT where differences of opinion (or of approach) are possible, is BETTER for the people’s interest than a closed shop system where all the dirty linen are hidden inside the party walls.
    …which part of that is poop?

@ George Reid
    “…if we accept Lord Acton’s dictum, we can only achieve this by being absolutely powerless.”
    Lord Acton is only half correct. Another way would be to assign appropriate power, but then to enforce absolute OPENNESS.

@ Sargeant
    Optimistic? BT!!?? …… rotfl … ask MME.
    ……Not at all Sir, the bushman is simply comparing two approaches and preferring the lesser of the two evils.

Actually the main point that I was trying to make was that Bajans are crazy to EXPECT that honest politicians should rise up from among a DIShonest society. THEREFORE we need something in place to neutralize the corruption….. either by removing their power or (my preference) by ENFORCED openness.
    As you have pointed out, this still leaves itself open to corruption, but nothing could be worse than another closed shop, gang-like clique plotting against the public……
    The lodges are enough already.

22. @ Sargeant
    Your first para confirms acknowledgement of my point.

@Bush Tea
    ‘…ENVIRONMENT where differences of opinion (or of approach) are possible, is BETTER for the people’s interest..’

Differences of opinion or of approach ARE not applicable to matters where the LAW explicitly outlines the correct administrative procedures to follow. Furthermore, a calculated plot to discredit a fellow party member’s professional and political credibility by leaking Board minutes to a reporter just because of ‘difference of opinion or of approach’ seems a tad extreme; and certainly does not portray the DLP as a party of transparency as you attempted to convey. It in fact indicates the opposite. Your attempt to glamourise the NHC debacle as being a watershed moment in our political history is tres baffling.

23. Vote them all out next election,form a party that is actually for the people and start bringing charges against their corrupt asses for robbing bajans blind for years.

24. @ enuff
    “Differences of opinion or of approach ARE not applicable to matters where the LAW explicitly outlines the correct administrative procedures to follow”
    RU Serious?
    What LAW what???
    What do you think happens in court every day?
    In any case, ‘THE LAW’ is simply one particular party’s idea of how things should work.

NOTHING trumps the OPEN DEBATE of differences in opinion or approach, as a means of achieving fairness and justice.

WRT the release of minutes of meetings. Why exactly do you think that these minutes should be so secret?
    Indeed, the bushman is inclined to suggest that when my party (BBE Boys) gets around to dealing with this matter, these minutes will be PUBLISHED routinely in an official publication like the Gazette.

Evil and wickedness loves darkness and secrecy, but truth and justice loves openness and the light.

Let me again say that the bushman is NOT seeking to ‘glamorize the NHC issue as any watershed’.
    Simply saying that it is a lesser evil than the secrecy and cliquishness that you apparently wish to institutionalize.

25. Bajan Truth/Fiction

History lesson: The first integrity legislation bill was brought under Tom Adams. It was defeated by the Dems, they DID NOT WANT IT THEN AND DO NOT WANT IT NOW
    Did you write the above with a straight face? Or were you on cheap drugs? I suspect that you were having a great Bajan belly laugh when you submitted that post. Since you referred back to the days of Tom did HG Cummins also introduce some type of Integrity legislation also? When was the last time a Barbados Gov’t failed to get assent on a bill that it favoured? You must have a dim opinion on some of the folks who read the blogs.

Well at least you are consistent first you blamed Civil Servants for the VECO decision ( nothing about Gov’t or Ministerial responsibility) now you blame the Opposition for the BLP Gov’t’s failure to pass Integrity legislation when it had the opportunity to do so.

Your comment about Sir Louis proved my point if a BLP stalwart like him couldn’t get agreement from his colleagues what interest did the BLP have in Integrity legislation?

26. Bush Tea | August 27, 2010 at 8:25 PM |
    I am not incensed at the silly sacerdote, I am mocking the square peg in a round hole. In a time when folk are requiring that I have a PhD and a master’s degree to teach basic A level stuff, I should be allowed to mock the political positioning of this priest, who is clearly out to sea. There is no way that he can understand the needs and the positions of the doctor.

Folk who do not understand things in exactly the same way that I do- are not evil- JUST VERY SLOW! I would have thought that a man of your great wisdom would have got that more quickly! LOL. Clearly a man that is a smart as you pretend to be must understand that the bullying “bull in the China shop” approach of the sacerdote is clearly unsatisfactory and unseemly.

I can not understand that you think that I should give persons the benefit of any doubt when I can see exactly where he is coming from. I have read the man from the hand and through the air—long before his balls hit the pitch. The man is a bully.

I can not understand why you can not give me the benefit of the doubt. After all I have the tract record of having in the past resolved an impasse between Government and the doctors of much greater proportions quietly and behind the scenes; to the benefit of the populace.

I can not understand that you can not understand that what is needed is to improve conditions for the doctors so that they will have a better incentive to give of their best…..a little longer. They will then have no excuse for not hitting the mark.

I can not understand why you continue to try to adjudicate without the facts.

27. @ Bush Tea

‘The Board/Minister shall’ is not open to debate or differences of approach.

My argument was not about the release of minutes, it was the intent of doing such which was not done for ‘truth and justice’ BUT to cast aspersions on the woman’s character.

28. @ Enuff
    Man let’s drop this nuh!! …you have NO case.
    What “minister /Board shall” what??!!
    …even “thou shall not commit murder” seems to be up for debate- and you talking bout ‘minister shall’?…..
    Stupseee

….and you know the facts about other peoples intentions???
    …you know that the minutes were released to cast aspersions? ..just like you are casting some here?

Unless you are the one who released those minutes you CANNOT know the intent of the person doing so…… These could well be just persons with nothing to hide who are genuinely seeking to defend honestly held (even if mistaken) positions- for all you know.

If we had benefited from such public ‘discussions’ during your party’s time in office, we may well have gotten a true picture of what was going on at Greenland…. and saved ourselves a cool 60 million; we may also have had concerns raised about starting the ABC flyover scam with 3S without a design, a firm plan or even a firm price….. and saved ourselves a cool 300 million.

The way BT sees this NHC thing, Ms Rice-Bowen probably just saved Barbados 100 million by exposing yet another ‘BLP-like’ arrangement with no contract in place, but with large sums of money already changing hands -under questionable circumstances.

….unlike Gline Clarke with the ABC scam, the bushman notes with interest that Lashley has committed to ‘having a contract in place shortly’.
    …..and you want Bushie to condemn Ms Rice-Bowen and the DLP approach??

29. Have a good time spinning in the mud.

30. Yardbroom’s submission hits the mark. The culture of Barbados is one which perpetuates the view that our politicians are the most squeaky clean in the world. The system lends itself to making it very difficult to build evidence which questions politicians and prominent others. In fact one could easily say there is a heavy reluctance to even embarrass prominent others.

31. @ David
    Our best approach is to assume that they are ALL crooks- who need to be watched closely.
    We should therefore ignore those like Hartley Henry, Bajan Truth, Enuff and CCC who would have us believe that THEIR side can be trusted – but not the other side.

Bush Tea therefore likes any scheme which allows DIFFERING views to be given PUBLIC voice within the system…. thus my liking for outspoken Chairmen -even if they are wrong, have insufficient evidence, or just over-cautious.

Some time ago, the bushman suggested that the senate should be abolished and replaced with a National Supervisory Committee (Cooperative style) with the power to delve into ANY and EVERY aspect of government business to review PROCESS and legality…. and with the power to intervene if warranted.
    …that would be BT’s ideal approach.

32. Bush Tea people like you really ought to stop trying to confuse people. You made it clear that you voted for the DLP and your rants on this topic confirms your support of the party. Yet you want to differentiate yourself from others on the blog who have ‘THEIR side’. Personally, the issue is not who you support, but WHAT you support.

You are now stuck in the mud as this statement proves:
    ‘thus my liking for outspoken Chairmen -even if they are wrong, have insufficient evidence, or just over-cautious.’

33. @ Enuff
    Please accept my apology if the draft is a bit high.

Bushie recognizes that many of us operate at the level where, having aligned ourselves to a Party, religion, sport etc, we suddenly don blinkers which make everything on our side ‘right’ and everything else ‘wrong’.
    This is why GP have issues with the bushman too….. He real bright – but cannot see beyond his religious blinkers..LOL

Now voting in Barbados is a choice between B and D.
    Ideally, Bush Tea would like to vote for BBE, but since that is not an option yet, one looks at the better of the the two BaD options -and from BT’s analysis, that better option was (and continues to be) the DLP…..mainly for reasons of GRAFT.
    Which exact part of that do you find confusing Enuff?

With respect to the part about the role of outspoken chairmen your confusion is even more baffling – that is so obvious….

There is a clear conflict between the roles of Minsters and Board Chairmen. Both actually have the same job of POLICY formulation.
    When a politician therefore decides to build his profile by taking on the political role, the policy role AND the management role too – what else can a good chairman do but take on an audit role?

Of course the BLP solved this problem by appointing mice to chairmanships and management – they only squeaked at cocktail parties after a few drinks….. so ministers had free rein to get on with Greenland, Veco, 3S and Hardwood….and unexplained $75Ks…..

Do you get the difference yet?

34. This is a naive comment but the rabid political partisan positions taken by educated Barbadians continue to be a puzzlement.

The ideal position of course is to be able to dissect the issues and take a position accordingly.

An ideal position indeed!

35. @David,”rabid political partisan positions taken by educated Barbadians continue to be a puzzlement.”

Really David ? You is a Bajan? ever hear de ole people talk bout a educated idiot.

Also, You expect people who benefit directly from a political party to non partisan ?

Neva happen bout hey!

36. @ David
    There is nothing rabid about my posts. I am not emotive, may have a preference for one party yes, but not biased. I merely seek to highlight the hypocrisy and unfactual, illogical cuntery some people post. There are too many uninformed experts on BU. They too often write what they FEEL rather than what they KNOW.
    @ Bush Tea
    Yes your draft was too high for me because I am convinced you were high when you wrote it. By the way you should also tell us why the people resigned from the BTI board since you are an expert on corruption.

37. @Enuff

It was a general point actually but the cap appeared to have fitted you snugly 🙂

38. More info, a reading of the contract between Jada (Housing concepts) and NHC, shows and confirms that the land was sold to the project at $3.00 per square foot. That Lashley also agreed to the following:

a. Allow Jada to use the land as collateral to raise the capital to do infrastructure;
    b. Jada was given power of attorney over the land to
    execute various tasks in relation to the project;
    c in addition to that legal fees and a share of the advertising costs were to be subtracted from the land payment for NHC.
    d. NHC would set the price of the units
    e. Collection of garbage and such services would be allocated by the developer at a fee of $100.00 per month.

Amazing. In any project it is normal that if one owns the land it acts as contribution to the project; the other party provides infrastructure and the improved value which is usually twice the cost of land and infrastructure is shared between the two parties. NHC signed away several millions of dollars to Bjerkham and picked up some of the costs, because they ONLY get the unimproved price of land. well, well, well.